01

66

## 2022 Form MO-1040ES Declaration Of Estimated Tax For Individuals - General Instructions

- Filing requirements You are required to file a declaration of estimated tax if your Missouri estimated tax is expected to be \$100.00 or more (Section 143.521.1, RSMo).
- Missouri estimated tax Your Missouri estimated tax is the amount estimated to be the income tax under <u>Chapter 143</u> <u>RSMo</u>, for the tax year, less the amount which you estimate to be the sum of any credits allowable, including tax withheld.
- 3. Farmers If you have an estimated Missouri gross income from farming for the tax year that equals at least two-thirds of the total estimated Missouri gross income, you may file a declaration of estimated tax and make payment at any time on or before January 15, or file an income tax return and pay in full on or before March 1.
- 4. Payment of estimated tax Your estimated tax may be paid in full with the first declaration voucher, or in equal installments on or before April 15, June 15, September 15, and January 15. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the voucher will be considered timely if filed on the next business day. Actual due dates are printed on the vouchers. The first installment must accompany the first declaration voucher. If no declaration was required to be filed during the tax year, no declaration need be filed on January 15, if you file a voucher and pay the tax on or before January 31.
- 5. Nonresident If you are a nonresident, your estimated tax requirement is the same as a resident. A nonresident's tax is based on the proportion of the adjusted gross income from Missouri sources. Example: An individual has Missouri tax of \$400 on all income, with 90% of the adjusted gross income from Missouri; the Missouri estimated tax is \$360 (90% of \$400).
- 6. Changes in income Even if your Missouri estimated tax on April 15 is such that you are not required to file a declaration at that time, the Missouri estimated tax may change so that you will be required to file at a later date. The time for filing is as follows: June 15, if the change occurs after April 15, and before June 15, September 15, if the change occurs after June 15, but

- before September 15, January 15, if the change occurs after September 15. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the voucher will be considered timely if filed on the next business day.
- 7. Amended declaration If, after you have filed a declaration, you find the Missouri estimated tax substantially increased or decreased as a result of a change in income, an amended declaration should be filed on or before the next filing date. Please complete the Amended Estimated Tax Worksheet and show the amended Missouri estimated tax on Line 1 of the next Form MO-1040ES filed.
- 8. Addition to tax for failure to pay estimated tax The law provides an addition to tax, determined at the present applicable rate of interest from the date of the first installment underpaid. Interest will be charged on all delinquent payments. Visit /mytax.mo.gov/rptp/portal/home/addition-tax-int-calculator for the current interest rate. The charge does not apply to you if each installment is paid on time and the total amount of all payments of estimated tax made on or before the last date prescribed for payment of such installment equals or exceeds:
  - a) the tax shown on the preceding year's return if that return was for a 12 month period and showed a tax liability; or
  - b) 90% (66 2/3% in the case of a farmer) of the total amount due for the current year.
- 9. Rounding on Missouri returns -You must round all cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return. For cents .01 through .49, round down to the previous whole dollar amount (round \$32.49 down to \$32.00) on the return. For cents .50 through .99, round up to the next whole dollar amount (round \$32.50 up to \$33.00) on the return. For your convenience, the zeros have already been placed in the cent columns on the returns.



## Form MO-1040ES Tax Rate Chart

Use the amount from Line 9 (Missouri taxable income) to calculate your Missouri tax. If you are filing combined, you must calculate separate tax amounts and enter the amounts on 10Y for yourself and 10S for your spouse. The total amount should be entered on Line 10T. Single filers should enter the tax amount on Line 10T.

If the Missouri taxable income is:	The tax is:
\$0 to \$111	\$0
At least \$112 but not over \$1,121	1.5% of the Missouri taxable income
Over \$1,121 but not over \$2,242	\$17 plus 2.0% of excess over \$1,121
Over \$2,242 but not over \$3,363	\$39 plus 2.5% of excess over \$2,242
Over \$3,363 but not over \$4,484	\$67 plus 3.0% of excess over \$3,363
Over \$4,484 but not over \$5,605	\$101 plus 3.5% of excess over \$4,484
Over \$5,605 but not over \$6,726	\$140 plus 4.0% of excess over \$5,605
Over \$6,726 but not over \$7,847	\$185 plus 4.5% of excess over \$6,726
Over \$7,847 but not over \$8,968	\$235 plus 5.0% of excess over \$7,847
Over \$8,968	\$291 plus 5.3% of excess over \$8,968

- Example 1: If Line 9 is \$4,000, the tax would be computed as follows: \$67 + \$19.11 (3% of \$637) = \$86.11 The whole dollar amount to enter on Line 10 would be \$86.
- Example 2: If Line 9 is \$12,300, the tax would be computed as follows: \$291 + \$176.60
   (5.3% of \$3,332) = \$467.60. The amount to enter on Line 10 would be \$468.

## Estimated Tax Worksheet

Married persons, each having income and filing a combined estimate, use Columns Y, S, and T. All others use only Column T.

- Line 1 Enter your expected adjusted gross income from your federal return after subtracting and adding any modifications you may have; subtract exempt U.S. government bond interest and the state income tax refund included on your federal return and add interest on obligations of another state or its political subdivisions, the amount of your net operating loss eligible for carryforward or carryback and partnership and S corporation state income tax addback.
- Line 2 Enter your and your spouse's percentage of combined adjusted gross income. Example: If Line 1, Yourself (Column Y) is \$14,000, Spouse (Column S) \$6,000, and Total (Column T) \$20,000, then Line 2 is: Yourself - 70% (\$14,000/\$20,000) and Spouse - 30% (\$6,000/\$20,000).
- Line 3 Enter the amount of your estimated pension and social security or social security disability or military exemption. Form more information about pension and social security or social security disability or military exemptions visit dor.mo.gov/taxation/individual/tax-types/propertytax-credit/pension.html.
- Line 4 Enter the amounts of your deductions. Visit dor.mo.gov for more information.
- Line 5 Reserved
- Line 6 Enter the amount of your Missouri standard deduction or estimated Missouri itemized deductions. If you were claimed as a dependent on someone else's tax return, enter the same standard deduction as entered on Federal Form 1040, Line 12. Missouri standard deductions are:
- (1) Single \$12,950; (2) Head of household \$19,400; (3) Married filing joint federal and combined Missouri or Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child - \$25,900; (4) Married filing separate returns (or) Married filing separate (spouse not filing) - \$12,950
- Line 7 Add the amounts on Lines 3, 4, and 6. Enter the total on Line 7.
- Line 8 Subtract Line 7 from Line 1 and enter on Line 8.

- Line 9 Prorate the combined taxable income on Line 8 based on the percentages on Line 2 and enter on Line 9. Example: If Line 8 is \$13,000 and the percentages on Line 2 are 70% for Yourself and 30% for Spouse; Line 9 amounts should be \$9,100 for Yourself and \$3,900 for Spouse.
- Line 10 Enter on Line 10 in Columns Y, S or T, the tax amount determined from the tax rate chart. If you are filing combined, enter the total of Columns Y and S in Column T. Note: A nonresident should determine Missouri estimated tax due by multiplying the tax from the rate chart by the percentage obtained by dividing Missouri adjusted gross income by the total adjusted gross income derived from all sources.
- Line 11 Residents: Enter on Line 11, the total of the estimated amount of Missouri income tax to be withheld, approved overpayment applied from last year's tax return, the amount of income tax to be paid to another state, miscellaneous tax credits or property tax credit, if any. Nonresidents: Enter on Line 11 Missouri tax to be withheld and approved miscellaneous tax credits.
- Line 12 Subtract Line 11 from Line 10 and enter the total on Line 12.
- Line 13 If you anticipate receiving a lump sum distribution from a retirement plan, and you will use the 10 year averaging method, enter 10% of your estimated federal tax on the distribution on Line 13.
- Line 14 If you anticipate that you will be required to recapture a portion of any federal low income housing credits, you will also be required to recapture a portion of any state credits taken. Enter your estimated recapture of low income housing credit on Line 14.
- Line 15 Add Lines 12, 13, and 14. Enter the total on Line 15.

S - Spouse

Y - Yourself

Line 16 - Divide Line 15 by the number of installments and enter on Line 16.

00 %	00	1	00
%	!		
1 170	%	2	100 %
3. Estimated pension exemption and social security/social security disability/military exemption			00
home deductions (s	ee instructions).	4	00
		5	00
		6	00
		7	00
		8	00
00	00	9	00
00	00	10	00
		11	00
12. Estimated tax (Line 10 less Line 11)			00
13. Estimated tax on lump sum distribution (see instructions).			00
14. Estimated recapture of low income housing credit			00
		15	00
		16	00
determine the amen	ded amount to be	entere	ed on the declaration voucher.
Worksheet			
Amended estimated tax (after credits and approved overpayment)			00
			00
			00
4. Amount to be paid (Line 3 divided by number of remaining installments.) Enter here and on Line 4 of Form MO-1040ES			00
	emption home deductions (s  00 00 state, miscellaneo niscellaneous tax o	emption home deductions (see instructions).  00 00 00 state, miscellaneous tax credits, niscellaneous tax credits.	### amption ### amended amount to be entered with the amended amount to be entered with the amended amount to be entered as a worksheet ### amended amount to be entered as worksheet ### amended amount to be entered as worksheet ### amended amount to be entered as worksheet #### amended amount to be entered as worksheet ###################################



T - Total Or One Income