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INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANT

This application is to be used when applying for a Documented Vessel Certificate of Registration.
It must be submitted with the proper fees to the MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,
DOCUMENTED VESSEL REGISTRATION, PO BOX 2076, JEFFERSON CITY MO 65105-2076.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM (DOR-4398)
1. Complete the owner’'s name and the address of where the vessel is normally housed or located.

2. The following documented vessel information must be shown: model year, make, hull identification
number, model number, horsepower, color, fuel type, length, material, boat type, engine drive type,
and type of propulsion.

3. If the owner's address is different from where the vessel is housed or located, the mail to
information must be completed showing the owner’s home address. The Certificate of Registration
will be mailed to this address.

4. One owner must sign the application in the space provided.
Note: The personal information in your vessel record is protected as provided by law.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

This application must be accompanied by the following:

1. A copy of the Certificate of Documentation issued by the United States (U.S.) Coast Guard.
2. Proof of ownership as follows:

« If new or previously titled: the Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin (MSO) or the original title.
(NOTE: If the MSO or title was surrendered to the U.S. Coast Guard, a statement from the
purchaser outlining this fact and a bill of sale completed by the seller must be submitted.); OR

e If previously documented with the U.S. Coast Guard; a certified copy of the “ABSTRACT
OF TITLE” in the new owner's name; AND the Missouri documented vessel certificate of
registration properly assigned by the seller to the purchaser, if applicable.

3. Your paid personal property tax receipt or statement of non-assessment from the county (or city
of St. Louis) assessor or collector for the previous year. The property tax receipt or statement of
non-assessment must be in the owner’'s name.

4. $10.00 fee ($7.50 certification fee and $2.50 processing fee).
5. A registration and processing fee based on the length of the vessel as follows:

LENGTH OF VESSEL REGISTRATION FEE PROCESSING FEE

UNDER 16 FEET $ 25.00 $3.50
16 feet but less than 26 feet $ 55.00 $3.50
26 feet but less than 40 feet $100.00 $3.50
40 feet and over $150.00 $3.50

6. The “in-lieu” watercraft tax based on the purchase price of the vessel (see chart below) or proof
that applicable taxes have been paid (trade-in-credit is NOT allowed).

PURCHASE PRICE TAX DUE PURCHASE PRICE TAX DUE
$ 15,000 or less $500.00 $300,001 to $350,000 $5,500.00
$ 15,001 to $ 30,000 $650.00 $350,001 to $400,000 $6,000.00
$ 30,001 to $ 50,000 $1,000.00 $400,001 to $450,000 $6,500.00
$ 50,001 to $100,000 $1,400.00 $450,001 to $500,000 $7,500.00
$100,001 to $150,000 $2,000.00 $500,001 to $550,000 $8,500.00
$150,001 to $200,000 $3,000.00 $550,001 to $650,000 $9,500.00
$200,001 to $250,000 $4,000.00 $650,001 to $750,000 $10,500.00
$250,001 to $300,000 $5,000.00 $750,001 and above Add an

additional $1,500.00 for each $100,000
increment in the purchase price.
7. Penalty fees as noted below, if applicable.

Note: The Missouri Department of Revenue may electronically resubmit checks returned for
insufficient or uncollected funds.

PENALTIES

A Missouri resident shall make application for a documented vessel certificate of registration within 30
days of acquiring the vessel. A nonresident shall make application for such registration within 60 days
after acquiring a vessel in this state or bringing a vessel into this state if the vessel will be kept in this
state for a period in excess of 60 consecutive days. A delinquent registration penalty fee of $10.00
shall be imposed for each thirty days of delinquency, not to exceed a total of $30.00. Additional
penalties may also apply.

TEMPORARY VESSEL CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION

A temporary vessel certificate of registration authorizes the operation of a vessel documented by the
United States Coast Guard by a buyer for not more than 60 days from the date of issuance. This
vessel certificate of registration is not transferable or renewable. The fee for a temporary certificate of
registration is $5.00 plus a $3.50 processing fee.

Listed below are important facts to remember about documented vessels:
v The state of Missouri cannot issue a certificate of title to a documented vessel.

v You must display one decal in a clearly visible location on each side of the forward half of the
vessel.

v You must renew your documented vessel registration every three years.
Visit the department’s web site at: www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl.
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