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TITLING A REBUILT MOTOR 
VEHICLE/OBTAINING A VEHICLE 
IDENTIFICATION NUMBER PLATE

When you purchase a motor vehicle and a Salvage
Certificate of Title has been assigned to you, you
must have the vehicle examined by authorized 
law enforcement after you have completed the 
rebuilding process (see item four below). In some
cases, the examination may reveal that your vehicle
needs a new or replacement identification number
plate. The requirements are outlined in this brochure.

You must submit the requirements outlined below
before you can title your rebuilt vehicle. The new
certificate of title that issues in your name will be
designated as “Prior Salvage” on the face of the
title. If you have any questions regarding the 
information outlined in this brochure, please call
(573) 526-3669.

TITLING REQUIREMENTS
1. A Salvage Certificate of Title assigned to you;

NOTE: If the title is not a “conforming” title
that meets federal odometer disclosure requirements,
you must attach an odometer disclosure statement
to the salvage title for a vehicle less than 10 years
old. You can obtain an Odometer Disclosure 
Statement form at the department's website at
http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/3019.pdf).

2. A bill of sale indicating the purchase price of 
the vehicle;

3. An Application for Missouri Title and License
(DOR-108) completed and signed;

4. A Vehicle Examination Certificate (DOR-551);

NOTE: The white copy must accompany your
application. The applicant should complete the top
half of the form and the Missouri State Highway 
Patrol Inspector or other authorized officer must
complete the bottom portion. 

You may purchase this form for $25.00 with a
$2.50 processing fee applied from a license office,
or from the Motor  Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 2076,
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076. Upon receipt of 
the form, you must make an appointment with an
authorized law enforcement agent to inspect the
vehicle.

5. Notarized bills of sale in the applicant’s name
for all major component parts listed in item 8
on the Vehicle Examination Certificate 
(DOR-551);

NOTE: On the reverse side of the form are 
definitions of major component parts. Each 
descriptive bill of sale must also include the purchase
price, year, make and vehicle identification number
of the motor vehicle from which the parts were 
obtained.

1. APPLICANT’S NAME (VEHICLE OWNER)

2. STREET ADDRESS

3. CITY 4. STATE 5. ZIP CODE 6. TELEPHONE NUMBER 7. SALVAGE BUSINESS NO./DEALER NO. (IF APPLICABLE)

(_ _ _) _ _ _ – _ _ _ _

DISTRIBUTION: WHITE — APPLICANT SUBMIT TO REVENUE CANARY — EXAMINING OFFICER
PINK — CUSTOMER GOLDENROD — OFFICE AUDIT COPY

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU
PO BOX 2076, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105-2076
(573) 751-4509 www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl

VEHICLE EXAMINATION CERTIFICATE

MO 860-0113 (4-2009)

FORM

551
(REV. 4-2009)

ALL BILLS OF SALE FOR PARTS LISTED MUST BE IN

APPLICANT’S NAME AND MUST ACCOMPANYTHIS FORM

WHEN SUBMITTED TO THE MISSOURI DEPARTMENT

OF REVENUE FOR TITLE. THIS FORM MUST BE

SUBMITTED TO THE CENTRAL OFFICE ONLY.
VALIDATION ONLYAPPLICANT

8. MOTOR VEHICLES — LIST BELOW ANY OF THE FOLLOWING MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS (AND THE CORRESPONDING INFORMATION) THAT WERE REPLACED: COWL, REAR CLIP, FRAME,
BODY, CAB, FRONT CLIP, FRONT-END ASSEMBLY, MOTOR, OR TRANSMISSION. MOTORCYCLES — LIST BELOW ANY OF THE FOLLOWING MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS (AND THE CORRE-
SPONDING INFORMATION) THAT WERE REPLACED: MOTOR, FRAME, OR TRANSMISSION. YOU MUST PROVIDE A NOTARIZED BILL OF SALE AND A COPY OF THE FRONT AND BACK OF THE
CORRESPONDING TITLE FOR EACH PART REPLACED. A COPY OF THE TITLE IS NOT NEEDED FOR A MOTOR OR TRANSMISSION THAT IS REPLACED ON A MOTOR VEHICLE. SEE REVERSE
SIDE FOR MORE INFORMATION ON PARTS.

PART REPLACED YEAR MAKE SERIAL NUMBER TITLE NUMBER STATE

9.MOTOR VEHICLES — LIST ANY OTHER ESSENTIAL COMPONENT PARTS SUCH AS BUMPER, DOORS, FENDER, GRILLE, HOOD, OR TRUNK LID.MOTORCYCLES — LIST ANY OTHER ESSENTIAL
COMPONENT PARTS SUCH AS DRIVELINE, FENDERS, GAS TANK, FRONT FORK ASSEMBLY, OR SUSPENSION PARTS. ATTACH CORRESPONDING DESCRIPTIVE BILLS OF SALE IN THE
APPLICANT’S NAME. TAXES ARE DUE ON PARTS UNLESS PAID AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.

9A. IF NO PARTS USED, INDICATE REASONS NO PARTS USED: STOLEN/RECOVERED FLOOD/HAIL DAMAGE ONLY OUT OF STATE VERIFICATION

ABANDONED PROPERTY OTHER (EXPLAIN): ________________________________________________________ DOR REJECT LETTER: # _________________

9B. IF NO PARTS USED, DESCRIBE REPAIRS:

9C. LIST THEYEAR, MAKE, ANDVEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER OFTHEVEHICLE BEING REBUILT.

IF THE MOTOR VEHICLE QUALIFIES AS A MOTOR CHANGE VEHICLE AS DEFINED ON THE
REVERSE, A SEPARATE NOTARIZED AFFIDAVIT SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT MUST BE SUBMIT-
TED IN ADDITION TO THIS FORM EXPLAINING THE MOTOR CHANGE.

10. SIGNATURE OF OWNER OR AUTHORIZED AGENT OF BUSINESS

X

I DO HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE INFORMATION IS
TRUE AND CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

DO NOTWRITE BELOWTHIS LINE
TO BECOMPLETED BY AUTHORIZED PERSONNELOFTHEMISSOURI HIGHWAYPATROL, OR ST.LOUIS CITY/COUNTY AUTOTHEFT.
11. COLOR 12.YEAR 13. PUBLIC VIN YEAR

14. MAKE 15. CYL. 16. POLICE VIN YEAR

17. MODEL 18. HP 19. ENGINE VIN YEAR

20. BODY STYLE 21. GVWR 22. TRANSMISSION VIN YEAR

23. MILEAGE 24. FEDERAL LABEL YEAR

25. CHECK WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING PARTS WERE CHANGED 26. THIS IS A NON-USA STD MOTOR
VEHICLE

COWL REAR CLIP FRAME BODY CAB FRONT CLIP FRONT-END ASSEMBLY MOTOR/ENGINE TRANSMISSION

28. REMARKS OR ANY DISCREPANCIES NOTED (USE ADDITIONAL SHEET OF PAPER IF NECESSARY).

27. CONDITION OF ABANDONED PROPERTY
DAMAGED/UNREPAIRED — SALVAGE TITLE

NO APPARENT DAMAGE DAMAGED/REPAIRED (EXPLAIN IN BLOCK 28.) RECOMMENDED (EXPLAIN IN BLOCK 28.)

VERIFIED VEHICLE BEING REBUILT (SEE #9C) RECOMMENDED DOR ISSUE: REPLACEMENTVIN DR #29.

30. I CERTIFY TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE THAT MY PHYSICAL INSPECTION OF THIS VEHICLE ON ___________________ ,
20 ______, DISCLOSED THE INFORMATION IN ITEMS 11 THRU 28 AND THAT NO PERTINENT SERIAL NUMBERED PARTS OR
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS CAME FROM OR BELONG TO STOLEN VEHICLES.

31. LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY 32. FILE NUMBER

33. EXAMINING OFFICER’S SIGNATURE 34. EXAMINING OFFICER’S PHONE NUMBER 35. BADGE NUMBER

(__ __ __) __ __ __ – __ __ __ __

__ __ __ __ __



6. A copy of the front and back of the Certificate
of Title for the vehicle(s) from which the MAJOR 
COMPONENT PARTS were obtained that are 
listed in item 8 on the Vehicle Examination
Certificate (DOR-551);

7. All invoices, receipts, and bills of sales for 
any parts listed in item 9 on the Vehicle 
Examination Certificate (DOR-551);

8. A $2.50 processing fee and either an $8.50 title 
fee, or a $13.50 quick title fee, and,

9. All state and local taxes on the purchase price
of the vehicle and any parts that do not 
indicate that sales taxes were previously paid.

IF THE DOR-551 INSPECTION FORM
REVEALS THAT A REPLACEMENT 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 
PLATE IS REQUIRED, YOU MUST SUBMIT:

An Application for Replacement of Vehicle/
Vessel/Trailer Identification Number Plate 
(DOR-5062) completed in full, a $7.50 replace-
ment plate fee, and a $2.50 processing fee, in 
addition to items 1 through 9 as previously listed.

NOTE: The application must be certified by an
authorized law enforcement officer as noted on the
reverse side of the form.

IF THE DOR-551 INSPECTION 
REVEALS A STATE ASSIGNED 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 
IS REQUIRED, (DR NUMBER)  

YOU MUST SUBMIT:

A $7.50 fee and $2.50 processing fee for a state 
assigned vehicle identification number plate in 
addition to items 1 through 9 as previously 
outlined.

MAIL APPLICATION AND ALL 
REQUIREMENTS TO:

For a regular title: Motor Vehicle Bureau
Special Titling Unit
P.O. Box 2076
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076

IF THE VIN PLATE OF A VEHICLE 
NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE 

THE NUMBER IS ALTERED, DESTROYED 
OR MISSING, YOU MUST SUBMIT:

1. An Application for Replacement of  Vehicle/ 
Vessel/Trailer Identification Number Plate
(DOR-5062) completed, signed, notarized
and certified by an authorized law enforcement
officer as noted on the reverse of this form.

2. A copy of the front and back of the Missouri
Certificate of Title in the applicant’s name.

NOTE: If the title is assigned to an applicant,
he or she must also apply for an original title, and
pay all sales taxes, a title fee and a title penalty, if 
applicable. A registered dealer is not required to
apply for a title in the dealership’s name, but must

submit a copy for the title assigned to them,
comply with inspection requirements and pay the
appropriate fee.

3. A $7.50 replacement identification number 
plate fee and $2.50 processing fee.

MAIL APPLICATION AND ALL 
REQUIREMENTS TO:

Motor Vehicle Bureau
P.O. Box 2076
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076

The Missouri State Highway Patrol must affix the 
assigned or replacement vehicle identification 
number plate (“DR” Number) to the rebuilt vehicle.
When application for title is made in conjunctin with
the identification number plate request, the title will
not issue until the plate is affixed and the officer 
sends a signed verification of affixation to the Motor
Vehicle Bureau.

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES BUREAU

APPLICATION FOR REPLACEMENT OF VEHICLE/VESSEL/
TRAILER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER PLATE

MO 860-0315 (2-03) DISTRIBUTION: WHITE, CANARY, PINK - DEPT. OF REVENUE; GOLDENROD - INSPECTING LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY

FORM

923
(REV. 2-03)

REPLACEMENT PLATE CONTROL NO.

SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE

APPLICANT

MOTOR VEHICLE/TRAILER

VESSEL/OUTBOARD MOTOR

SIGNATURE

NOTARY INFORMATION

FOR AUTHORIZED LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY USE ONLY - DO NOTWRITE BELOWTHIS LINE

VALIDATION ONLY

REGISTERED OWNER (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE) DEALER NUMBER COUNTY TELEPHONE NUMBER

( )
STREET, RR, OR P.O. BOX NUMBER CITY STATE ZIP CODE

YEAR MAKE BODY STYLE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER MISSOURI TITLE NUMBER LICENSE NUMBER

LOSS OF VIN. PLATE REPORTED TO: DATE COLOR REASON REQUIRED

LOST STOLEN MUTILATED DESTROYED

YEAR MAKE MODEL NUMBER HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER MISSOURI TITLE NUMBER REGISTRATION NUMBER

HP COLOR LENGTH MATERIAL TYPE OF PROPULSION

LOSS OF VIN. PLATE REPORTED TO: DATE REASON REQUIRED

LOST STOLEN MUTILATED DESTROYED

I certify that the statements above are true and that I am the registered
owner of the above described unit(s).

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE

NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)
BLACK INK RUBBER STAMP SEAL

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS

DAY OF YEAR USE RUBBER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION

EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

I certify that on _____________ I physically inspected the above described vehicle/vessel/outboard motor after the applicant provided
satisfactory proof of ownership and found the vehicle/hull identification number(s) to be:

I certify that on _____________ I did affix the replacement plate, control number ______________________________ issued by the
Department of Revenue to the above vehicle.

The outstanding VIN plate listed above has been surrendered and forwarded to the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Auto Theft Unit.

PUBLIC VIN

POLICE VIN

The VIN plate listed below must be
surrendered at the time a new
replacement number is issued.
_________________________________

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY FILE NUMBER EXAMINING OFFICER’S SIGNATURE TELEPHONE NUMBER BADGE NO.

( )

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER BADGE NO.

REMARKS AND DISCREPANCIES NOTED
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