What is the Graduated Driver License (GDL) law?

Missouri's Graduated Driver License law requires that all first-time drivers between 15 and 18 years old complete a period of driving with a licensed driver (instruction permit) and restricted driving (intermediate license) before getting a full driver license.

Frequently Asked Questions

If I am 16 and driving on an instruction permit, may I drive with my 17-year-old friend who has an intermediate license?

No. If you are driving on an instruction permit at age 16, the person beside you when you are driving must be at least 21 years old and have a valid driver license. If the adult driver has restrictions on his/her driving, then those restrictions must be followed when accompanying the teen driver.

Will the time that I drive with a qualified driver training instructor** count towards the 40 hour behind-the-wheel requirement for an intermediate license?

Yes. When you apply for your intermediate license, a qualified person*** or grandparent must accompany you to the contract office and sign your application, stating that you have completed 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training while operating on an instruction permit. This 40 hours may also include any time that you have operated a vehicle with a qualified driver training instructor**.

If I am under age 18 and I have a full license from another state when I move to Missouri, what type of license will I get?

If you are eligible to receive a Missouri driver license, an intermediate license will be issued. However, if you apply within the 30 days immediately preceding your 18th birthday, a full driver license may be obtained.

Who must accompany me to the contract office to get my instruction permit and intermediate license?

In order for you to obtain the instruction permit, a qualified person*** must accompany you to the contract office and sign your application stating that he or she will provide you with at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training. In order for you to obtain the intermediate license, a qualified person*** or grandparent must accompany you to the contract office and sign your application stating that you have received 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driver training.

If my intermediate license expires on the weekend or holiday, can I still drive?

If your intermediate license expires on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you may continue to drive for a period of five business days. This will allow you to legally drive to your local contract office to renew your license.

Is it illegal to drive while sending, reading or writing a text message?

Yes, it is illegal for you to drive while sending, reading or writing a text or electronic message by means of a hand-held electronic wireless communication device. (Refer to Section 304.822, RSMo.)

Is the test paper I receive from MSHP used as a permit?

No. The test form is only proof of testing. You must submit the test form to your local license office along with other verification documents to get the actual Temporary Instruction Permit card.

Learn more at dor.mo.gov or call 573-526-2407

MISSOURI'S GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE LAW



Instruction Permit

Eligible Age: 15 (*Valid for 12 months*) Cost: \$7.00

To Obtain:

- You must pass vision, road sign and written tests.
- You must present the test form to a local license office to apply for the temporary instruction permit. The six-month permit term begins with issuance of the instruction permit, NOT the test form. Your test form from the Missouri State Highway Patrol is not legal for driving.
- A qualified person*** must accompany you to contract office to sign a permission statement.

Permit Notes:

- Under age 16, you may drive only when accompanied in the front seat by a qualified person***.
- At age 16 or older, you may drive when accompanied in the front seat by a person who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license.
- Seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers.
- Your test paper alone is not legal for driving.
 Be sure to carry your permit with you.

To Graduate to Intermediate License:

- You must have an instruction permit for a minimum of 182 days (beginning the day after issuance).
- You may not have any alchohol-related convictions in the last 12 months and no traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
- You must have received 40 hours of driving instruction with a qualified person***, grandparent or qualified driving instructor**.
 The driving instruction must include a minimum of 10 hours of behind-the-wheel nighttime driving.

Intermediate License

Eligible Age: 16-18 (Valid for 2 years) Cost: \$11.00

To Obtain:

- You must hold the instruction permit for at least 182 days (beginning the day after issuance).
- You may not have any alcohol-related convictions in the last 12 months and no traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
- A qualified person*** or grandparent must accompany you to the contract office to verify you have received 40 hours of driving instruction.
- You must pass vision, road sign and written tests if previous results are more than one year old.
- You must pass the driving test

License Notes:

- Your test paper alone is not legal for driving. Please carry your intermediate license with you.
- Seat belts must be worn by everyone in vehicle.
- Passenger restrictions outlined below may not be applicable to a holder who is operating in agricultural work-related activities.
- During the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger who is under 19 years old and who is not a member of your immediate family*.
- After the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more than three passengers who are under 19 years old and who are not members of your immediate family*.
- You may not drive alone between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 am except to and from a school activity, job or for an emergency, unless accompanied by licensed driver 21 years old or older.

To Graduate to an Under-21 License:

- Your driving privilege cannot be suspended, revoked, or denied at the time of application.
- You may not have any alcohol-related offenses or traffic convictions within the last 12 months

Under-21 Full Driver License

Eligible Age: 18 (Valid for 3 years)

Cost: \$13.50

To Obtain:

You must submit one (1) of the following:

- Successful Missouri written and driving test results, no more than 1 year old
- A valid instruction permit (or one that expired no more than 6 months ago) from another U.S. State and successful Missouri skills test results
- A valid Missouri instruction permit (or one that expired no more than 6 months ago) with successful Missouri skills test results
- You must have no alcohol-related offenses or traffic convictions in the last 12 months.
- Your driving privilege may not be suspended, revoked, or denied in any state.
- You must pass the road sign recognition tests and vision examination.

*Immediate family shall include parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, stepbrothers, stepsisters, and adopted or foster children residing in the driver's household. Parent shall include a foster parent, stepparent or adoptive parent. Grandparent shall include a foster grandparent, step-grandparent or adoptive grandparent.

**Qualified driving instructor is defined as an instructor who has a valid driver education endorsement on a teaching certificate issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, or a driver training instructor employed by a private driver education program.

***Qualified person is a parent, legal guardian or certified trainer with a federal residential job training program.