Instructions to Applicant: This form is to be used by insurance companies applying for a Missouri Certificate of Title after acquiring a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel, watercraft, outboard motor, or all-terrain vehicle from an insured as the result of a settlement of a claim for loss due to damage or theft. Insurance Companies will also utilize this form when applying for title in the name of and for use by the insurance company.

Applicant address must be the insurance company's physical address, not the salvage lot or auction. Junking Certificate Vessel, Watercraft, or Outboard Motor - Original Title only Original Title - To qualify for an Original Title, the vehicle model year must be more than six years after the manufacturer's model year designation and the total cost of repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to its condition immediately before it was damaged for legal operation on the roads or highways is eighty percent or less of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately preceding the time it was damaged. Original Title Due to the Recovery of a Stolen Vehicle Insurance Company Name **Business Email Address** Applicant Information Street, Rural Route, or P.O. Box Telephone Number City State MO State Based Systems Number (SBS) ZIP Code County Identification Number (VIN/HIN/OBIN) Year (YYYY) Body Style Title Number State of Current Title Date of Acquisition(MM/DD/YYYY) | H.P. K.O.V Mileage Acquisition as the Result of: Percent ☐ Theft ☐ Accident ☐ Casualty Loss Other Damaged Hail Flood % Total Loss Statement Issued Insured Name Claim Number Information Yes No City State Street Address Zip Code **Fees** Mail title to the address below, if different from applicant address. Title Fee Name ဥ Sales Tax Mail Street Address ZIP Code City State **Local Tax Processing or Agent Fee** Street or physical address of unit location -ocation of Penalty City ZIP Code State Total I understand this certification will be used to apply for a title in the insurance company's name for this motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel, or watercraft and that any false statements in this certification will subject me to civil and criminal liability. I certify under penalty of perjury that the facts herein are true to the best of my knowledge. The signatory is an agent of the insurance company indentified above. Signature of Authorized Agent or Owner Printed Name Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Mail to: Motor Vehicle Bureau P.O. Box 2076

Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076

Phone: (573) 526-3669

Application for Title by an Insurance Company Instructions

Motor Vehicle/Trailer

Insurance Company & Vehicle Is Titled In Missouri - No Title:

- Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) completed by insurance company & signed;
- Copy of proof of claim payment:
- Copies of 2 notification letters to the owner(s) and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044;
- Copy of 1 notification letter to the lienholder and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044 or lien release.
- \$14.50 title & processing fees for Salvage or \$6.00 processing fee for Junk.

Insurance Company & Vehicle Is Not Titled In Missouri - No Title:

- Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) completed by insurance company & signed;
 - Insurance company must have a Missouri address, or if the insurance company is out of state, the vehicle must be located at a salvage pool in Missouri.
 - * If the insurance company or vehicle is not located in Missouri, the insurance company will need to apply for title in the state where the vehicle was last titled in, or in the state where the insurance company is located.
- Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) authorized by Missouri State Highway Patrol, St. Louis City or County Autotheft;
 - Form 5062 inspection for trailers;
- Copy of notification letter to the owner(s) and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044;
- · Copy of notification letter to the lienholder and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044 or lien release; and
- \$14.50 title & processing fees for Salvage or \$6.00 processing fee for Junk.
 - An insurance company may apply for a Salvage title without payment of the title fee on a stolen vehicle when the application is made within 30 days of settlement. A signed statement from the applicant that total loss was paid due to theft must be submitted.

Insurance Company Applying With Title:

Vehicle no more than six years after the manufacture's designation for such vehicle:

- A completed Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) with the Salvage or Junk box marked, when applying for title in the name of and for use by the insurance company, or model year must be more than six years after the manufacturer's model year designation and the total cost of repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to its condition immediately before it was damaged for legal operation on the roads or highways is eighty percent or less of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately preceding the time it was damaged.
- An assigned Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), Original, or Salvage title.
- State and local tax, if applicable; OR
- Insurance companies are tax exempt (for total loss vehicles, only).
- Title penalty does not apply (for total loss vehicles, only).
- \$14.50 title & processing fees for Salvage or \$6.00 processing fee for Junk.

Insurance Company Applying With Title:

· Vehicle more than six years after the manufacture's designation for such vehicle:

- A completed Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) with the Original, Salvage, or Junk box marked.
- An assigned Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), Original, or Salvage title.
- State and local tax, if applicable; OR
- Insurance companies are tax exempt (for total loss vehicles, only).
- Title penalty does not apply (for total loss vehicles, only).
- \$14.50 title & processing fees for Original and Salvage or \$6.00 processing fee for Junk.

Vessel or Watercraft

Insurance Company & Vessel, Outboard Motor Or Watercraft Is Titled In Missouri - No Title:

- A completed Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) with the Original marked.
- · Copy of the proof of claim payment;
- Copies of 2 notification letters to the owner(s) and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044;
- Copy of 1 notification letter to the lienholder and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044 or lien release;
 - Evidence of the notices being sent include the tracking documentation from an established national postal or parcel delivery service (including but not limited to, the US Post Office, Federal Express, or United Postal Service).
- State and local tax, if applicable; OR
- Insurance companies are tax exempt (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- Title penalty does not apply (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- \$7.50 title fee; and
- \$6.00 processing fee.

Insurance Company & Vessel Or Watercraft Is Not Titled In Missouri – No Title:

- A completed Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) with the Original marked;.
- Insurance company must have a Missouri address, or if the insurance company is out of state, the vessel or watercraft must be located in Missouri;
 - * If the insurance company or vehicle is not located in Missouri, the insurance company will need to apply for title in the state where the vessel or watercraft was last titled in, or in the state where the insurance company is located.
- Form 798 for inspection of Vessel or Watercraft;
- · Copy of the proof of claim payment;
- · Copy of the notification of the insurance company's intent to apply for title and evidence that such notice was sent to owner.
- Copy of 1 notification letter to the lienholder and proof of 30 day notification, Form 5044 or lien release;
 - Evidence of the notices being sent include the tracking documentation from an established national postal or parcel delivery service (including but not limited to, the US Post Office, Federal Express, or United Postal Service).
- State and local tax, if applicable; OR
- Insurance companies are tax exempt (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- Title penalty does not apply (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- \$7.50 title fee; and
- \$6.00 processing fee.
 - An insurance company may apply for a Salvage title without payment of the title fee on a stolen vessel or watercraft when the application is made within 30 days of settlement. A signed statement from the applicant that total loss was paid due to theft must be submitted.

Insurance Company Applying With Title:

- A completed Application for Title by an Insurance Company (Form 5042) with the Original box marked.
- An assigned Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO), Original, or Salvage title.
- State and local tax, if applicable; OR
- Insurance companies are tax exempt (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- · Title penalty does not apply (for total loss vessel or watercraft, only).
- \$7.50 title fee; and
- \$6.00 processing fee.