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Page 1 Totals .............................................................................
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This return must be filed for the reporting period indicated even if you have no taxable purchases to report.
r I do not have cumulative taxable purchases totaling more than $2,000 this calendar year and do not owe consumer’s use tax at this time.

Office Use Only

Address Correction: r Mailing Address  r Reporting Location

Office Use Only t

Pay this amount 
(U.S.Funds only) ..........................

Subtract: Approved Credit .............

Add: Interest for late payments 
(See Line 2 of Instructions) ............  

Owner Name  Business Name    Reporting Period

Mailing Address    City  State Zip Code

Business Phone Number Due Date

Select one if:
r Amended Return     r Additional Return 

Visit dor.mo.gov/business/creditinquiry to determine if you have a credit for which you may be entitled to a refund.

RETE

Missouri Tax Identification Number 

       |        |        |        |        |        |        |        

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

      |        |        |        |        |        |        |        |        

(___ ___ ___)___ ___ ___-___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___

Form

53-C
Missouri Department of Revenue
Consumer’s Use Tax Return

Mail to: Taxation Division Phone: (573) 751-2836
 P.O. Box 840 TTY: (800) 735-2966
 Jefferson City, MO 65105-0840 Fax: (573) 751-7273
  E-mail:  salesuse@dor.mo.gov 

Visit http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/ 
for additional information.
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Taxpayer or Authorized Agent’s Signature Title Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Printed Name Tax Period (MM/DD/YYYY) though (MM/DD/YYYY)S
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Under penalties of perjury, I declare that the above information and any attached supplement is true, complete, and correct.  I have direct control, 
supervision, or responsibility for filing this return and payment of the tax due.

__ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __      through    __ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __

__ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __ 

Instructions are updated annually and are provided on our website 
at dor.mo.gov/forms/.

Final Return: If this is your final return, enter the close date below and 
check the reason for closing your account. Missouri law requires any person 
selling or discontinuing business to make a final use tax return within fifteen 
(15) days of the sale or closing.

Date Business Closed: ___ ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___

       r  Out of Business r  Sold Business      r  Leased Business

1

Address Correction:  Check the 
appropriate box for the address you are  
correcting.  If mailing address is checked, 
enter the  correct address in the preprinted 
business identification area.  If the  
reporting location is checked, enter 
the correct address for the reporting  
location(s) being corrected in the  
BUSINESS LOCATION column.  If 
mailing address and business address 
are the same, please make both 
corrections.

Cumulative Taxable Purchases: If you do 
not have $2,000 in cumulative taxable 
purchases, indicate this in the box 
located at the top of the front page.

Business Location:  This page lists up 
to thirteen registered locations in which 
you have a history of making purchases  
subject to use tax. 

If you make purchases from more than 
thirteen locations, they will be listed on 
additional pages.  If you make purchases 
subject to use tax at a Missouri location 
not listed on your return, add it to the 
return.

Code:  This code is the combination of the 
city code, county code and site code of 
each location you make purchases subject 
to consumer’s use tax. The codes are 
already preprinted in this column. 

Taxable Purchases:  Once you have 
made cumulative taxable purchases of 
$2,000 or more during the calendar year 
subject to consumer’s use tax, you must 
remit consumer’s use tax on all of your 
purchases, including the first $2,000. 
Enter the dollar amount of your taxable 
purchases for each location.

Rate:  The percentage rate indicated in 

Detailed Instructions for Department Preprinted Consumer’s Use Tax Return Form 53-C
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this column represents the combined state, education, conservation, parks and soils, and local option use tax for this “reporting 
location”.  Tax rates for city reporting locations include the applicable county use tax rate. 

If you do not know the correct tax rate, access the following web site:  http://dor.mo.gov/tax/business/sales/rates/ or contact the 
Department of Revenue, Taxation Division, at (573) 751-2836.  Certain community improvement districts also impose a local use 
tax and can be found on our web site.

Amount of Tax:  Multiply the taxable purchases times the rate to arrive at the Amount of Tax for each location.  Compute totals for 
each column on each page of the return.

Consumer’s Totals (Page 1):  Enter total purchases and consumer’s use tax due for Page 1.

Consumer’s Total (Additional Pages):  Enter total purchases and consumer’s use tax for additional pages (if applicable).

Line 1 - Consumer’s Total (All Pages):  Enter total purchases and consumer’s use tax due for all pages.
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A Business Identification:  Please use the return which has the Missouri Tax I.D. Number, owner’s name, business name, mailing 
address, reporting period, and telephone number preprinted at the top of the return. Correct any incorrect information.
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53-C Instructions (Revised 01-2017)

SAMPLE

http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/rates/


2

Line 2 - Interest for Late Payment:  If the tax due is not paid by the due date, multiply Line 1 by the daily interest rate.  Then multiply 
this amount by the number of days late.  See the example below:

Note:  Number of days late is counted from due date to postmark date.  For example, if the due date is March 20, and the postmark 
date is April 9, the payment is 20 days late.
Example:  If interest rate is 4% and Line 3 is $480.00

	 (a) Divide the annual interest rate by 365* to get a daily rate.
		  (.04 / 365 - .0001096)

	 (b) Multiply Line 3 by the daily rate.
		  ($480 x .0001096 = ..05261)

	 (c) Multiply the result by the number of days late.
		  (.05261 x 20 days late = $1.05)

	 $1.05 is interest for late payment

*Use 366 for leap years. 

Access http://dor.mo.gov/calculators/interest/ to help you calculate the appropriate interest.

The annual interest rate is subject to change each year.  You can access the annual interest rate on the Department’s website at 
http://dor.mo.gov/intrates.php.

Line 3 - Additions to Tax:  For failure to pay use tax on or before the due date, 5 percent of Line 3.  For failure to file use tax on or 
before the due date, 5 percent of Line 3 for each month late up to a maximum of 25 percent (5 months late in filing = 25 percent).

Note: If additions to tax for failure to file applies, do not pay additions to tax for failure to pay.

Code Amount of Taxable PurchasesBusiness Location Rate (%) Amount of Tax

 
 
Add: Additions to tax .........................

Page 1 Totals .............................................................................

Page        --          Totals  ............................................................

Totals (All Pages) .......................................................................
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5.

1.

This return must be filed for the reporting period indicated even if you have no taxable purchases to report.
r I do not have cumulative taxable purchases totaling more than $2,000 this calendar year and do not owe consumer’s use tax at this time.

Office Use Only

Address Correction: r Mailing Address  r Reporting Location

Office Use Only t

Pay this amount 
(U.S.Funds only) ..........................

Subtract: Approved Credit .............

Add: Interest for late payments 
(See Line 2 of Instructions) ............  

Owner Name  Business Name    Reporting Period

Mailing Address    City  State Zip Code

Business Phone Number Due Date

Select one if:
r Amended Return     r Additional Return 

Visit dor.mo.gov/business/creditinquiry to determine if you have a credit for which you may be entitled to a refund.

RETE

Missouri Tax Identification Number 

       |        |        |        |        |        |        |        

Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

      |        |        |        |        |        |        |        |        

(___ ___ ___)___ ___ ___-___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___

Form

53-C
Missouri Department of Revenue
Consumer’s Use Tax Return

Mail to: Taxation Division Phone: (573) 751-2836
 P.O. Box 840 TTY: (800) 735-2966
 Jefferson City, MO 65105-0840 Fax: (573) 751-7273
  E-mail:  salesuse@dor.mo.gov 

Visit http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/ 
for additional information.
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Taxpayer or Authorized Agent’s Signature Title Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Printed Name Tax Period (MM/DD/YYYY) though (MM/DD/YYYY)S
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Under penalties of perjury, I declare that the above information and any attached supplement is true, complete, and correct.  I have direct control, 
supervision, or responsibility for filing this return and payment of the tax due.

__ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __      through    __ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __

__ __ /__ __ /__ __ __ __ 

Instructions are updated annually and are provided on our website 
at dor.mo.gov/forms/.

Final Return: If this is your final return, enter the close date below and 
check the reason for closing your account. Missouri law requires any person 
selling or discontinuing business to make a final use tax return within fifteen 
(15) days of the sale or closing.

Date Business Closed: ___ ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___

       r  Out of Business r  Sold Business      r  Leased Business
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For example, if a return due May 20 is filed 
any time between May 21 – June 20,  the 
rate would be 5 percent; if filed any time 
between June 21 – July 20, the rate would 
be 10 percent; and so on, up to a maximum 
of 25 percent.

Example: 	�Return is due May 20, but is filed 
(postmarked) June 10 
Line 3 is $500.00 
$500.00 x 5% = $25.00 
$25.00 is the additions to tax

Access http://dor.mo.gov/calculators/interest/ 
to help you calculate the appropriate 
additions.

Line 4 - Approved Credit:  Enter on Line 
4 any approved use tax credit for which 
the Director of Revenue issued you an 
approved credit.   Note:  The Director may at 
anytime, without prior notice, apply the 
approved credit amount toward a delinquency.

Line 5 - Pay This Amount:  Enter total amount 
due (Line 1 + Line 2 + Line 3 =  Line 4). 
Send payment for the total amount. Make 
check, draft, or money order payable to 
Director of Revenue (U.S. funds only).  Do 
not send cash or stamps.  You may also pay 
electronically by accessing our website at 
http://dor.mo.gov/business/payonline.
php.

Sign and Date Return:  Taxpayer or  
taxpayer’s authorized agent must sign 
return.  Mail to:  Missouri Department of 
Revenue, P.O. Box 840, Jefferson City, MO 
65105-0840.
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http://dor.mo.gov/calculators/interest/
http://dor.mo.gov/intrates.php
http://dor.mo.gov/calculators/interest/
http://dor.mo.gov/business/payonline.php
http://dor.mo.gov/business/payonline.php

