FOrRM MO-1120
GENERAL INFORMATION

This information is for guidance only and does not state the complete law.

WHO MusT FiLe FOrRmM MO-1120

Corporation Income Tax:

Every corporation, as defined in Chapter 143, RSMo, is required to file a
return of income in Missouri for each year it is required to file a federal
income tax return and has gross income from sources within Missouri of
$100 or more. The tax on corporations will not apply to:

(1) A corporation, which by reason of its purposes and activities is
exempt from federal income tax. The preceding sentence shall
not apply to unrelated business taxable income and other income
on which Chapter 1 of the Internal Revenue Code imposes the
federal income tax or any other tax measured by income;

Note: Any corporation filing a Federal Form 990, 990EZ, or
990PF should not send a copy of the federal form or any Missouri
income/franchise tax form to the Department of Revenue.
(2) An express company, which pays an annual tax on its gross
receipts, in this state;
(3) An insurance company, which pays an annual tax on its gross
premium receipts, in this state;
(4) A Missouri mutual or an extended Missouri mutual insurance
company organized under Chapter 380, RSMo; or
(5) Any other corporation that is exempt from Missouri income
taxation under the laws of Missouri or the laws of the United
States.
Corporations reporting taxable income on a federal return other than a
Federal Form 1120 or 1120A (such as Federal Forms 1120POL, 1120H,
1120F, 1120REIT, 990T, or 990C), shall attach a copy of the appropriate
federal form and make the computations on Form MO-1120.

Corporation Franchise Tax:

Every corporation must determine if their assets or apportioned assets
are greater than $1,000,000. If their assets (in or apportioned to
Missouri) are over $1,000,000, the corporation must complete and file
Schedule MO-FT and Form MO-1120. Attach a copy of the balance
sheet and any supporting schedules. If assets (in or apportioned to
Missouri) are equal to or less than $1,000,000, the corporation must
check Box A on Form MO-1120 and sign the return.

Note: An S corporation, as defined by Section 1361(a)(1) of the
Internal Revenue Code, is not subject to income tax. S corporations
must file a Form MO-1120S, if Federal Form 1120S is required to be
filed and the S corporation has: (1) a shareholder that is a Missouri
resident; or (2) any income derived from Missouri sources (Section
143.471, RSMo). S corporations required to file corporation fran-
chise tax must file Form MO-1120S with Schedule MO-FT.

MISSOURI REGISTRATION

Every corporation and S corporation must register with the Department of
Revenue to receive a Missouri Tax Identification Number. To register,
please contact: Missouri Department of Revenue, Division of Taxation
and Collection, P.O. Box 3300, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3300, visit
our web site at www.dor.state.mo.us/tax, or call (573) 751-5860.

TIME AND PLACE OF FILING AND PAYMENT

Corporation Income Tax:

Corporation income tax is due on or before the 15th day of the fourth
month following the end of the tax year. Example: Taxable period June
1, 2002, to December 31, 2002; due April 15, 2003.

Corporation Franchise Tax:
Corporation franchise tax is due on or before the 15th day of the fourth
month following the beginning of the tax year. Example: Taxable

period of January 1, 2003, to December 31, 2003; due April 15, 2003.
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Note: When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal
holiday, the return and payment will be considered timely if made on
the next business day.

If you have a balance due, mail your return and payment to: Missouri
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 3365, Jefferson City, MO 65105-
3365. Note: Include the Missouri Tax Identification Number on the
check or money order.

If you are due a refund or have no amount due, mail your return to:
Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 700, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0700.

CONSOLIDATED FEDERAL RETURN/SEPARATE MISSOURI

RETURN

A corporation, which is a member of an affiliated group filing a consol-
idated federal income tax return, shall (if no Missouri consolidated
return is filed) determine its federal taxable income as if it had filed a
separate federal income tax return for the year.

The corporation must enclose a pro forma Federal Form 1120, with all
pertinent schedules, wherein its separate federal taxable income is
computed with Form MO-1120. The first four pages of the actual
consolidated federal income tax return and an income statement, or a
summary of profit companies for the year, must be attached. The
complete consolidated federal return may be required upon an audit
of the Missouri return. The corporation’s federal income tax deduc-
tion will be the amount from the consolidated Federal Form 1120,
Schedule J, Line 11 plus Line 6a multiplied by the ratio of the indi-
vidual profit company divided by the total profit companies of the
corporation. This amount will be multiplied by 50 percent to arrive at
the Missouri corporation return’s federal income tax deduction. For
further clarification, see 12 CSR 10-2.090. The computed federal
income tax deduction must be multiplied by 50 percent. See Form
MO-1120, Part 3.

SUBSIDIARIES INCLUDED IN THE FILING OF THIS RETURN

If the corporation is filing a consolidated Missouri return, attach a
separate schedule that lists the names of the subsidiaries, Federal
Employer Identification Numbers (FEIN), and Missouri Tax Identifica-
tion Numbers. Subsidiaries must file a separate Form MO-1120 and
Schedule MO-FT for franchise tax and attach their separate balance
sheet.

ADDITION MODIFICATION

Effective June 19, 2002, Senate Bill 1248 which modified Section
143.121.2(d), RSMo requires corporations to add-back as an addition
modification a net operating loss deduction which is carried back more
than two tax periods.

NET OPERATING LOSSES

Corporations that file a Missouri return with a federal net operating loss
(NOL) must treat the loss under the provisions of the Internal Revenue
Code. Corporations that file a consolidated federal and separate
Missouri return shall compute the separate federal taxable income as if
each member filed a separate federal return. The corporation is bound
by the federal return election to carry losses forward or back, (i.e., if
the loss is carried back on your federal return, the separate company
loss must be carried back).

If there is a consolidated gain, the corporation may elect to carry the
federal separate company loss forward or back pursuant to the Internal
Revenue Code on a separate company basis in Missouri.

The only net operating loss subject to carry forward or carryback is the
loss from your federal tax return. Missouri does not have provisions
for a state net operating loss deduction. A negative number on Form
MO-1120, Lines 8,9, or 12 is not a net operating loss.

Your corporation may owe tax on your Missouri return from additions
(Form MO-1120, Line 4) when your federal taxable income is a loss.
The state taxes deducted on Line 17 of your federal return increase
your NOL available for carry forward or carryback; the state taxes
based on income included on your federal return must be reported on
Form MO-1120, Line 2. Your federal taxable income is the starting
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point for computing Missouri taxable income. Form MO-1120, Line 1,
may not be less than zero or a negative number.

If your corporation is required to file an amended Missouri return to
carryback a federal NOL, please provide the following information
with your amended Form MO-1120:

e If your consolidated federal income is positive and you are carrying
back a separate company loss, attach a copy of the consolidated
Federal Form 1120 to document that there is no consolidated loss to
be carried back.

e If your consolidated federal return is a loss for 2002 and the previous
tax periods are consolidated losses, attach a copy of the consolidated
Federal Form 1120 for 2002 and the consolidated Federal 1120 for
the tax period being amended on a separate company basis.

e For tax periods that your consolidated and separate company incur a
NOL that is carried back, attach a copy of the consolidated Federal
Form 1139. Also include a revised income statement for the loss year
and the amended tax period and a schedule showing the calculation
of the federal income tax deduction on the amended return.

Note: Your corporation may need to file an amended return to adjust the
federal income tax deduction for any tax period that the consolidated tax
liability changes due to a NOL carryback, even if no loss exists to be
carried back on a separate company basis.

DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED TAX

Every corporation subject to income tax in this state must make a
declaration of its estimated tax for the taxable year on Form
MO-1120ES, if its Missouri estimated tax could reasonably be
expected to be at least $250 (Section 143.521, RSMo).

If an affiliated group of corporations file a Missouri consolidated income
tax return for the taxable year, its Missouri estimated tax payments may
be combined on Form MO-1120 (12 CSR 10-2.045(39)).

Estimated tax payments may be applied against a franchise tax liability.
A corporation may amend its declaration on Form MO-1120ES.

Mail declaration of estimated tax payments to: Missouri Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 3020, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3020. Make
check payable to Director of Revenue and include your Missouri Tax
Identification Number on your check.

EXTENSION OF TIME TO FiLE AND PAY

If a corporation has been granted an extension of time to file its federal
income tax return, the time for filing the Missouri income/franchise tax
return is automatically extended for the same period of time. A copy of
the Federal Extension, Form 7004, must be attached to the Form MO-
1120 when filed.

An extension of time to file an income/franchise tax return does not
extend the time for payment of the tax. The corporation must pay, on
or before the original due date, the amount estimated as its corporation
income tax and corporation franchise tax for the taxable year. Submit
this amount with Form MO-60 and mail to: Missouri Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 3400, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3400.

If a corporation files a Form MO-60, it should attach a copy of the federal
extension. To obtain a Form MO-60, access the Department of Revenue’s
web site at www.dor.state.mo.us/tax/forms/ or call (800) 877-6881.

FILING AMENDED RETURNS

Form MO-1120 and Schedule MO-FT must be used for amending tax
years beginning 2000 and forward for Corporate Income and beginning
2001 and forward for Franchise Tax. Check the box to indicate that it is
an amended return and check applicable box b, ¢, or d. The corpora-
tion must complete the entire return using the corrected figures. Do
not write, “see attached.” Complete each line using the corrected
amounts.

The corresponding tax year Form MO-1120 must be used for
amending corporation income tax for tax years 1993-1999.

The corresponding tax year Schedule MO-FT, must be used for
amending franchise tax for tax years 2000 and prior.

If the corporation is filing an amended corporate income tax return for
tax year 1992 and prior, the corporation must use Form MO-1120X.

Note: Form MO-1120, Parts 4 and 5 must be completed when applic-
able.

A corporation must file an amended return within 90 days of filing an
amended federal income tax return. The corporation must also file an
amended return within 90 days after the final determination of changes
made by the Internal Revenue Service (12 CSR 10-2.105 and Section
143.601, RSMo). Attach a copy of the amended federal return with
applicable schedules (e.g., Federal Revenue Agent’s Report, Form 1139,
Form 1120X) or if the federal return was not amended, explain why the
corporation is amending the Missouri return and accompany the expla-
nation with applicable schedules. For Missouri forms, visit our web site
at www.dor.state.mo.us/tax/forms/ or call (800) 877-6881.

ROUNDING ON MISSOURI RETURNS

You must round all cents to the nearest whole dollar on your return.
For cents .01 through .49, round down to the previous whole dollar
amount. For cents .50 through .99, round up to the next whole dollar
amount. For your convenience, the zeros have already been placed in
the cent columns on the return.

INTERNET
To obtain informational materials and Missouri tax forms, access the
Department of Revenue’s web site at: www.dor.state.mo.us/tax.

TAx FORMS AVAILABLE BY FAX

Blank Missouri tax forms are available by fax. To access the Forms-by-
Fax system call (573) 751-4800 from your fax machine handset. The
Forms-by-Fax system will take you through the steps required to receive
a fax copy of the forms you need. If you are speech or hearing impaired,
please call TDD (800) 735-2966 or fax (573) 526-1881.
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FORM MO-1120
MISSOURI CORPORATION
INCOME TAX

LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS

At the top of the return, fill in the blanks indicating the beginning and
ending dates of the tax period. The corporation’s accounting period
and method for Missouri income tax purposes must be the same as for
federal income tax purposes (12 CSR 10-2.030, 12 CSR 10-2.035, and
Sections 143.271 and 143.281, RSMo).

NAME AND ADDRESS LABEL

A pre-addressed label was provided on the postcard you received. If
you are using a preparer or you are downloading forms from the
Internet, attach the label from the postcard to guarantee accurate
processing. Please be certain that all information is correct before
attaching the label to the return. Place the label in the space provided
on the form. If any information on the label is incorrect, do not use the
label, type or print the corporation’s name and address in the space
provided. The corporation’s Missouri Tax Identification Number, Mis-
souri Charter Number or Certificate of Authority Number, and Federal
Employer Identification Number (FEIN), must be entered in the spaces
provided. Failure to include the Missouri Tax Identification Number
and Charter Number will delay the processing of the return. Please
contact the Division of Taxation and Collection at (573) 751-5860 if you
cannot locate or do not have a Missouri Tax Identification Number.

RETURN TYPE

Consolidated Missouri Return — Check this box if filing a consolidated
Missouri return. In order to file a consolidated Missouri return, the



corporation must be part of a consolidated federal return (12 CSR 10-
2.045 and Section 143.431, RSMo). Form MO-22 must be included for
each member of the consolidated group when filing the initial consoli-
dated Form MO-1120 and for each new member added thereafter.

Note: This return is for Missouri Consolidated Corporate Income Tax
and the parent company’s separate franchise tax. Subsidiaries will
need to complete a separate Form MO-1120 and Schedule MO-FT for
their individual franchise tax liability and attach their own balance
sheet. For each subsidiary, Form MO-1120 must have Box C checked
to indicate “franchise tax only.”

Consolidated Federal/Separate Missouri Return — Check this box if
filing a consolidated federal return and a separate Missouri return. The
following information must be included with the Form MO-1120: (1)
pro forma Federal Form 1120 plus schedules; (2) consolidated Federal
Form 1120; (3) consolidated Schedule J; and (4) income statement
showing the income and loss of all corporations included in the con-
solidated group.

Amended Return — Check the box if the corporation is filing an
amended return. Also, check Box B or C, if applicable.

Name Change — Check this box if the corporation’s name has
changed since filing the previous Form MO-1120, Corporation Income
Tax Return.

Address Change — Check this box if the corporation’s address has
changed since filing the previous Form MO-1120, Corporation Income
Tax Return or if the address shown on the label is not correct.

Final Corporate Income Tax Return — Check this box if the corpora-
tion ceased doing business during the tax period for which this return is
being filed.

Bankruptcy — Check this box if the corporation has filed for bankruptcy
since filing the previous Form MO-1120, Corporation Income/Franchise
Tax Return or if you are still in bankruptcy.

990C — Check this box if the corporation filed Federal Form 990C. Per
Section 143.511, RSMo, the effective due date for entities filing Federal
Form 990C is the same as the federal due date. For calendar year filers,
this is September 15, 2003. For fiscal year filers, the due date is the
15th day of the ninth month following the close of the taxable year.
Franchise tax is always due the 15th day of the fourth month follow-
ing the beginning of the tax year.

990T — Check this box if the corporation filed Federal Form 990T. Per
Section 143.511, RSMo, the effective due date for entities filing Federal
Form 990T is the same as the federal due date. For calendar year filers,
this is May 15, 2003. For fiscal year filers, the due date is the 15th day of
the fifth month following the close of the taxable year.

Balance Sheet Date — Enter the ending balance sheet date.
A. Zero Franchise Tax Liability — Check this box if your assets in or
apportioned to Missouri are less than or equal to $1,000,000.

Complete Form MO-1120 if applicable and sign the return. You do not
owe franchise tax.

B. Income Tax Only — Check this box if the return is being filed for
income tax only. This box should not be checked if Box A is checked.

C. Franchise Tax Only — Check this box if the return is being filed for
franchise tax only.

D. Both Income and Franchise Tax — Check this box if the return is
being filed for both income tax and franchise tax. If this box is marked,
Box B and Box C cannot be marked.

COMPUTATION OF
INCOME TAX

LINE 1T — FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME

Enter the total amount of federal taxable income (but not less than zero)
from Federal Form 1120, Line 30 or Federal Form 1120A, Line 26. The
line numbers for federal taxable income will differ on other federal
forms (1120A, 1120POL, 1120H, 1120F, 1120REIT, 990T, and 990C).
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By federal definition, federal taxable income cannot be less than zero.
Therefore, per Section 143.431, RSMo, Line 1 cannot be less than zero.

LINE 2 — MISSOURI CORPORATION INCOME TAX &
CORPORATION INCOME TAX OF OTHER STATES DEDUCTED IN

DETERMINING FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME

Enter the amount of Missouri corporation income tax deducted in
determining federal taxable income (Section 143.141(1), RSMo), and
the amount of corporation income taxes from other states, their subdi-
visions and the District of Columbia deducted in determining federal
taxable income (12 CSR 10-2.160 and Section 143.141(2), RSMo). Do
not include St. Louis or Kansas City earnings taxes. A schedule must be
attached showing the breakdown of taxes on Federal Form 1120, Line
17 or from Federal Form 1120-A, Line 17.

LINE 3 — MISSOURI MODIFICATIONS — ADDITIONS
Enter the net amount from Page 2, Part 1, Line 5. See instruction for
completing Part 1.

LINE 4 — TOTAL ADDITIONS
Enter the total of Lines 2 and 3.

LINE 5 — MISSOURI MODIFICATIONS — SUBTRACTIONS
Enter the net amount from Page 2, Part 2, Line 9. See instructions for
completing Part 2.

LINE 6 — BALANCE
Enter the total of Lines 1 and 4 less Line 5.

LINE 7 — FEDERAL INCOME TAX — CURRENT YEAR

Enter the amount from Page 2, Part 3, Line 3. See the instructions for
completing Part 3. Consolidated federal/separate Missouri filers must
compute the federal income tax deduction per 12 CSR 10-2.090.

LINE 8 — MiSSOURI TAXABLE INCOME — ALL SOURCES
Enter the total of Line 6 less Line 7.

LINE 9 — MiSSOURI TAXABLE INCOME

If taxable income is 100 percent from Missouri sources, enter the
amount from Line 8. If taxable income is not 100 percent from
Missouri sources, complete Schedule MO-MS. Enter the apportion-
ment method number used (such as apportionment election 1, 2, 3,
4,5, 6, 0r7) and the percentage (rounded to three digits to the right of
the decimal point, such as 12.345 percent), in the boxes provided.
These boxes must be completed even if Missouri taxable income is
zero. Multiply Line 8 by the percentage and enter the result on Line
9. Nonbusiness income will only be considered if Schedule MO-NBI
is attached. Non-Missouri source income will only be considered if a
list itemizing the source of income is attached. See Schedule MO-MS
instructions for additional information.

LINE 10 — MiSSOURI DIVIDENDS DEDUCTION

If income is 100 percent from Missouri sources, calculate the net
dividend deduction by subtracting Federal Form 1120, Line 29b from
Federal Form 1120, Line 4.

Single Factor Apportionment — Complete Schedule MO-C and
allocate dividends according to the location of payor. If payor is
commercially domiciled in Missouri, the dividends are Missouri source
dividends. The total Missouri dividends shall be multiplied by a
percentage factor. This percentage factor is from Schedule MO-MS,
Part 1, Line 7. After multiplying the Missouri source dividends by the
apportionment factor, enter this amount on Schedule MO-C, Line 22
and on Form MO-1120, Line 10.

Three Factor Apportionment — Calculate the net dividend deduction
by subtracting Federal Form 1120, Line 29b, from Federal Form 1120,
Line 4. This amount is then multiplied by the apportionment factor
from Schedule MO-MS, Part 2, Line 4. Enter this amount on Form MO-
1120, Line 10.

Note: If you are claiming nonbusiness dividends, determine the
nonbusiness dividends from Missouri sources by allocation and
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include on Schedule MO-MS, Part 2, Line 12. Determine nonbusiness
dividends from all sources and include on Schedule MO-MS, Part 2,
Line 9. Determine business dividends from Missouri sources by multi-
plying business dividends by the apportionment factor from Schedule
MO-MS, Part 2, Line 4. The dividend deduction entered on Form MO-
1120, Line 10, is the sum of business dividends from Missouri sources
and nonbusiness dividends from Missouri sources.

LINE 11 — ENTERPRISE ZONE INCOME MODIFICATION
Enter the amount of modification as approved by the Missouri Depart-
ment of Economic Development.

LINE 12 — MISSOURI TAXABLE INCOME
Enter the total of Line 9 less Line 10 and Line 11.

TAX

LINE 13 — CORPORATION INCOME TAX
Enter the amount of Line 12 multiplied by 6.25 percent.

Muissouri tax cannot be prorated or annualized.

LINE 14 — RECAPTURE OF MISSOURI LOW INCOME

HoOUSING CREDIT

If your corporation is required to recapture a portion of any federal low
income housing credit(s) taken on a low income housing project, your
corporation is also required to recapture a portion of any Missouri
credits. The Missouri recapture amount is equal to the proportion of the
Missouri credit that equals the proportion the federal recapture amount
bears to the original federal low income housing credit amount subject
to recapture (Section 135.355.2, RSMo). You must attach to your
Missouri return a copy of your Federal Form 8611.

LINE 15 — CORPORATION FRANCHISE TAX

If your corporation is required to pay corporation franchise tax, enter
amount from Schedule MO-FT, Corporation Franchise Tax Schedule,
Line 7C.

LINE 16 — ToTAL TAX
Enter the total of Lines 13, 14, and 15.

CREDITS AND PAYMENTS

LINE 17 — TAX CREDITS
Enter the total from Form MO-TC, Line 12. Visit our web site at:
www.dor.state.mo.us/tax to download Form MO-TC.

You may be eligible for certain tax credits. The total amount of tax
credit is computed by completing Form MO-TC, Miscellaneous
Income Tax Credits. (Corporation franchise tax credit information is
listed in the Schedule MO-FT instructions.) The following is a list of
available credits for corporation income tax and the agency to contact
for information, forms, and approval to claim each credit:

* New or Expanded Business Facility Credit — contact the
Incentives Section, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0118, call (573) 751-0717, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

e Development Reserve Credit — contact the Missouri Develop-
ment Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0567, or call (573) 751-8479

e Infrastructure Development Credit — contact the Missouri
Development Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, Jefferson City, MO
65102-0567, or call (573) 751-8479

e Export Finance Credit — contact the Missouri Development
Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0567, or
call (573) 751-8479

e Missouri Low Income Housing Credit — contact the Missouri
Housing Development Commission, 3435 Broadway, Kansas City,
MO 64111, call (816) 759-6668, or via the Internet at:
www.mhdc.com
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Missouri Business Modernization and Technology (Seed Capital)
Credit — contact the Office of Business Finance, P.O. Box 118,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, or call (573) 522-5829
Neighborhood Assistance Credit — contact the Community
Development Group, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0118, call (573) 522-2629, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

Affordable Housing Assistance Credit — contact the Missouri
Housing Development Commission, 3435 Broadway, Kansas City,
MO 64111, call (816) 759-6662, or via the Internet at:
www.mhdc.com

Special Needs Adoption Credit — contact the Missouri
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 371, Jefferson City, MO 65105-
0371, call (573) 522-2089, or via the Internet at:
www.dor.state.mo.us/tax

Enterprise Zone Credit — contact the Incentives Section, P.O.
Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 751-0717,
or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

Small Business Incubator Credit — contact the Office of Business
Finance, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573)
751-0295, or send an e-mail to: Ischenewerk@ded.state.mo.us
Small Business Investment (Capital) Credit — contact the Office
of Business Finance, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0118, or call (573) 751-0295

Community Bank Investment Credit — contact the Community
Development Group, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0118, call (573) 751-9051, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

Qualified Research Expense Credit — contact the Office of
Business Finance, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118,
or call (573) 522-5821

Higher Education Scholarship Fund Credit — contact the Missouri
Department of Higher Education, P.O. Box 6730, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, call (573) 751-3940 or (800) 473-6757

Brownfield “Jobs and Investment” Credit — contact the Missouri
Department of Economic Development, Incentives Section, P.O.
Box 1157, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 522-8004,
or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

Youth Opportunities Credit — contact the Community
Development Group, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0118, call (573) 751-4539, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

Processed Wood Energy Credit — contact the Missouri Energy
Center, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176, call (573)
751-3443, or via the Internet at:
www.dnr.state.mo.us/energy/homeec.htm

Missouri Business Use Incentives for Large-Scale Development
Build Tax Credit (BUC) — contact the Missouri Department of
Economic Development, Incentives Section, Business Expansion
and Attraction, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or call
(573) 751-0717

Maternity Home Credit — contact the Missouri Department of
Social Services, P.O. Box 88, Jefferson City, MO 65103, or call
(573) 751-8934

Shelter for Victims of Domestic Violence Credit — contact the
Missouri Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 749, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0749, or call (573) 751-4905

Historic Preservation Credit — contact the Missouri Department
of Economic Development, Community Development Program,
P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 522-
2635, or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

Sponsorship and Mentoring Program Credit — contact the Mis-
souri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O.
Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480, or call (573) 751-4192
Charcoal Producers Credit — contact the Missouri Department of
Natural Resources, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0176, or call (573) 751-4817

Film Production Credit — contact the Missouri Film Commission,
P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102, call (573) 751-9050,
contact the Incentives Section at (573) 751-0717, or via the
Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

Wine and Grape Production Credit — contact the Office of
Business Finance, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102, call
(573) 522-5821, or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us



* Rebuilding Communities Credit — contact the Business Incen-
tives Section, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102, call (573)
751-3181, or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

e Skills Development Credit — contact the Employer Relations
Section, P.O. Box 1087, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1087, call
(573) 526-8254, or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

* Advantage Missouri Credit — contact the Missouri Department
of Revenue, P.O. Box 3365, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3365, call
(573) 751-5819, or via the Internet at: www.dor.state.mo.us/tax

* Dry Fire Hydrant Credit — contact the Department of Economic
Development, Community Development Group, P.O. Box 118,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 526-5417, or via the
Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

e Agricultural Product Utilization Contributor Credit — contact the
Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority,
P.O. Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630, call (573) 751-
2129, or via the Internet at: www.mda.state.mo.us

e New Generation Cooperative Incentive Credit — contact the
Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority,
P.O. Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102, call (573) 751-2129, or
via the Internet at: www.mda.state.mo.us

e Bank Tax Credit for S Corporation Shareholders — contact the
Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 371, Jefferson City,
MO 65105, call (573) 526-8733, or via the Internet at:
www.dor.state.mo.us/tax

 Family Development Account Credit — contact the Department of
Economic Development, Community Development Group, P.O.
Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102, call (573) 526-5417, or via the
Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

e New Enterprise Creation Credit — contact the Department of
Economic Development, Office of Business Finance, P.O. Box
118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 522-5821, or via
the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

* Remediation Credit — contact the Department of Economic
Development, Incentives Program, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0118, call (573) 751-0717, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

e Disabled Access Credit — contact the Missouri Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 371, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0371, call
(573) 522-2089, or via the Internet at: www.dor.state.mo.us/tax

e Mature Worker Childcare Program Credit — contact the
Department of Economic Development, P.O. Box 1087, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, call (573) 526-8254, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

* Rebuilding Communities and Neighborhood Preservation Act
Credit — contact the Missouri Community Development Group,
P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0118, call (573) 522-
8004, or via the Internet at: www.ded.state.mo.us

e Transportation Development Credit — contact the Missouri
Community Development Group, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0118, call (573) 751-7542, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

e Demolition Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Eco-
nomic Development, Incentives Section, P.O. Box 1157, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-1157, call (573) 522-8004, or via the Internet at:
www.ded.state.mo.us

e Bank Franchise Tax Credit — contact the Missouri Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 371, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0371, call
(573) 751-5819, or via the Internet at: www.dor.state.mo.us/tax

LiINE 18 — ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT(S)

Enter the total 2002 estimated payment(s) made with Form
MO-1120ES. Include any approved overpayment(s) credited from
2001. If the requested overpayment(s) credited from 2001 has been
adjusted, you must use the adjusted amount.

If filing a consolidated Missouri return, a complete list of subsidiary
payments must be attached to Form MO-1120. The list must
include each corporation’s Missouri Tax Identification (MITS) Number.

If you are part of a consolidated group and filing a separate Form
MO-1120 for franchise tax only, and claiming payments made by the
parent company, indicate payments on Line 18 and enter parent
company’s MITS number to the left of the amount shown on Line 18.
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Enter on Line 18 the total amount withheld from 2002 gross earnings as
a nonresident entertainer, as shown on Form(s) MO-2ENT, Line 5.
Attach copies of Form MO-2ENT or a schedule showing the date and
place of the performance(s), and the amount of the withholding at each
performance.

LINE 19 — PAYMENTS ON FORM MO-60
Enter the total payment(s) made with Form MO-60.

LINE 20 — AMENDED RETURN ONLY: TAX PAID WITH (OR

AFTER) THE FILING OF THE ORIGINAL RETURN

Enter the amount of tax previously paid by check or money order on
the original return and any previously filed amended return. Do not
include any previous interest, additions to tax, or penalties.

LINE 21 — SUBTOTAL
Enter the total of Lines 17, 18, 19, and 20.

LINE 22 — AMENDED RETURN ONLY: OVERPAYMENT, IF ANY, AS
SHOWN ON ORIGINAL RETURN OR AS LATER ADJUSTED

Enter the amount of overpayment received (or expected to be received)
or the amount to be credited to estimated tax, as shown or adjusted on
the original return. Any refund due on the original return will be
refunded separately from any additional refund claimed on the
amended return.

LINE 23 — TOTAL
Enter Line 21 less Line 22.

REFUND OR TAX DUE

LINE 24 — OVERPAYMENT
Enter the overpayment if Line 23 is greater than Line 16.

LINE 25 — TRUST FUND CONTRIBUTIONS

Enter on Line 25a, 25b, 25¢, and 25d any portion of your corporation
income tax overpayment you wish to contribute to the following trust
funds. If you file a balance due return and wish to contribute to the
Children’s Trust Fund, Veterans Trust Fund, Elderly Home Delivered
Meals Trust Fund, or Missouri National Guard Trust Fund, enter the
amount on Line 25a, 25b, 25¢c, or 25d and attach a separate check
for this amount. The amount contributed must be $2.00 or more for
each trust fund.

v, Children’s Trust Fund — Children’s Trust Fund, Missouri’s
Foundation for Child Abuse Prevention, is a non-profit organiza-
tion dedicated to the vision of children free to grow and reach

their full potential in a nurturing and healthy environment free from

child abuse and neglect. Rather than reacting to abuse after the fact,

Children’s Trust Fund provides funding for education, public awareness,

training, and community-based prevention projects statewide that help

support and strengthen families to prevent child abuse and neglect.

Your contribution may be applied to the annual $25 donation needed to

acquire a one-year logo use authorization form, which is required to

purchase the popular “prevent child abuse” license plate featuring the
handprints logo. For more information, please contact: Children’s Trust

Fund, P.O. Box 1641, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1641, or call (573)

751-5147.

souri Veterans Commission’s ability to provide quality healthcare

at its seven veterans homes, and to assist veterans and dependents
through its Service to Veterans Program. Because of the availability of this
fund, nursing care staff receive specialized training and assistance for the
treatment of residents suffering from Alzheimer’s, dementias, and other
extraordinary ailments; and Veterans Service Officers and Assistants
receive comprehensive training relating to veterans benefits. Contribu-
tions may be made at any time directly to: Veterans Trust Fund, c/o The
Missouri Veterans Commission, P.O. Drawer 147, Jefferson City, MO
65102-0147.

IE Veterans Trust Fund — The Veterans Trust Fund expands the Mis-
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Y. Elderly Home Delivered Meals Trust Fund — The Elderly Home
@ Delivered Meals Trust Fund provides an opportunity to support
the home delivered meals program for Missouri’s senior citizens.
Over 5.8 million meals are provided each year to home bound senior citi-
zens. These nutritionally balanced meals, delivered to the homes of
seniors on the average of one meal per day, five days per week, help them
live independently in their homes. The need for home delivered meals
increases yearly as persons are living longer and may need assistance.
For more information, please contact: Elderly Home Delivered Meals
Trust Fund, c/o Division of Senior Services, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, or call (573) 751-3082.

Missouri National Guard Trust Fund— The Missouri National Guard
ﬁ Trust Fund expands the capability to provide/coordinate Military

Funeral Honors Ceremonies for veterans of Missouri and veterans
buried in Missouri who have served their country in an honorable manner.
Military Funeral Honors may be composed of “Two Member Detail” who
may render honors, fold, and present the United States of America flag to
primary next-of-kin, and sound Taps; “Four Member Detail” who may
render honors, fire volleys, sound Taps, and fold and present the United
States of America flag to primary next-of-kin; or “Veterans’ Organization
Detail” who may render honors, fire volleys, sound Taps, and fold and
present the United States of America flag to primary next-of-kin.
Contributions may be made at any time directly to Missouri National
Guard Trust Fund, ATTN: NGMO-CMH, 2302 Militia Drive, Jefferson
City, MO 65101-1203.

LINE 26 — CREDIT TO NEXT FILING PERIOD
Enter the amount of overpayment to be applied to the next filing period.

LINE 27 — REFUND

Enter the total of Line 24 less Lines 25e and 26. This is the amount to be
refunded. No refund of less than $1.00 will be made. If there is any other
liability owed the state of Missouri, the income tax refund may be
applied to that liability (Sections 143.781, 143.782, 143.783, and
143.784, RSMo). The corporation will be notified if any debts are offset
with the refund.

LINE 28 — UNDERPAYMENT
Enter the underpayment if Line 16 is larger than Line 24.

LINE 29 — INTEREST, PENALTY, UNDERPAYMENT OF
ESTIMATED TAX

Interest

Enter the amount of interest computed. Simple interest is charged on
all delinquent taxes from the due date of the return until the payment is
received. The simple interest rate, effective January 1, 2003, is 5 per-
cent per annum (Section 32.065, RSMo).

Penalty / Failure to File — Corporate Income and Corporate
Franchise Tax

Enter the amount of penalty computed. If the return is not filed by the
due date, including extensions of time to file, a penalty of 5 percent per
month (not to exceed 25 percent in the aggregate) is charged during the
period of such failure.

Penalty / Failure to Pay — Corporate Income Tax

If the tax due is not paid, unless an extension of time to pay has been
granted, penalty of 5 percent is charged with respect to that part of the
total tax for the year which is not paid by the original due date of the
return. The penalty will be waived if: (a) the amount of tax paid on or
before the original due date of the return is at least 90 percent; and (b)
the balance of the tax due is paid on or before the due date of the return,
including extensions of time (12 CSR 10-2.060 and Section 143.751,
RSMo).

Penalty / Failure to Pay — Franchise Tax

Franchise taxes not paid on or before the due date are subject to a
penalty of 5 percent per month or fractional part thereof until paid, not
exceeding 25 percent. Penalty will not be assessed if at least 90 percent
of the tax is paid on or before the original due date.

Underpayment of Estimated Tax

Enter the additions to tax for underpayment of estimated tax from
Schedule MO-2220, Line 26. If the total payment and credit amount on
Line 23 is less than 90 percent of the amount on Line 13, or if the
estimated tax payments were not paid in full or timely, additions to tax
for failure to pay enough estimated taxes may be owed. However, the

corporation may be able to meet one of the exceptions explained on
Schedule MO-2220. Attach a completed Schedule MO-2220. If there
is an overpayment on Line 24, the Department of Revenue will reduce
the overpayment by the additions to tax amount (12 CSR 10-2.067 and
Section 143.761, RSMo).

LINE 30 — ToTAL DUE

Enter the total of Lines 28 and 29. Attach a check or money order for
the amount due payable to the Missouri Director of Revenue. Include
the corporation’s Missouri Tax Identification Number on the check or
money order (U.S. funds only).

AUTHORIZATION

Check the “yes” box for authorization of release of confidential infor-
mation. This authorizes the Missouri Director of Revenue or delegate to
discuss this return and attachments with the preparer whose signature
appears on the Form MO-1120 or with any member of his/her firm or if
internally prepared, any member of the internal staff. If the authoriza-
tion box is checked “no”, or if no box is checked, the Missouri Director
of Revenue or delegate can only discuss this return with an officer of
the corporation. Refer to Section 32.057, RSMo.

SIGNATURE

The Department of Revenue requires the return to be signed by an officer of
the corporation. Enter the date signed, the title of the officer whose
signature is affixed, and the corporation’s telephone number. Lines are
provided for the preparer’s signature (other than taxpayer), Federal
Employer Identification Number (FEIN), telephone number, and date.
Failure to sign the return will cause a delay in the processing of the return.

Form MO-1120,
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LINE-BY-LINE INSTRUCTIONS

MisSOURI MODIFICATIONS (ADDITIONS/SUBTRACTIONS)
Modifications are allowed only per Sections 143.121, 143.141, and
143.143, RSMo. Any modifications taken that are not related to these
sections will be disallowed. A detailed explanation of any modification
must be attached to the return. Failure to attach such explanation will
delay the processing of the return.

PART 1
MISSOURI MODIFICATIONS —
ADDITIONS

LINE 1 — STATE AND LocAL BOND INTEREST (EXCEPT

MIssOuRI)

Enter on Line 1a all interest from state and local bonds, excluding
Missouri (Section 143.121.2(b), RSMo).

Enter on Line 1b the amount of expenses associated with the state and
local bond interest shown on Line Ta. The expenses must exceed
$500. Refer to Section 143.121.2(b), RSMo, for further explanation.

Enter on Line 1 the net amount of Line 1a less Line 1b.

LINE 2 — FIDUCIARY AND PARTNERSHIP ADJUSTMENT
(FROM FORM MO-1041 AND FORM MO-1065)

Enter the share of fiduciary and partnership adjustment as shown on
Form MO-1041, Page 2, Part 1, Line 18, and Form MO-1065, Line 18
(Section 143.121.4 and 5, RSMo). A copy of Forms MO-1041 and
MO-1065, must be attached to the Form MO-1120.




LINE 3 — MISSOURI DEPRECIATION BASIS ADJUSTMENT

Enter on Line 3 the difference between the Federal and Missouri
depreciation calculated on assets purchased between July 1, 2002
and June 30, 2003. See Section 143.121.2(c), RSMo for more infor-
mation. For examples and more information, access the Department
of Revenue’s web site at www.dor.state.mo.us/tax.

LINE 4 — NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION

Enter on Line 4 the amount of net operating loss deduction disal-
lowed and required to be added-back, when carried back to more
than two tax periods. See Section 143.121.2(d), RSMo for more
information.

LINE 5 — ToOTAL
Add Lines 1 through 4. Enter the amount on Line 5 and on Form
MO-1120, Page 1, Line 3.

PART 2
MISSOURI MODIFICATIONS —
SUBTRACTIONS

LINE T — INTEREST AND DIVIDENDS FROM EXEMPT FEDERAL

OBLIGATIONS (MUST ATTACH SCHEDULE)

Enter on Line 1a the amount of interest and dividends from federal
obligations to the extent they are exempt from Missouri income tax, but
subject to federal tax (12 CSR 10-2.150 and Section 143.121.3(a),
RSMo). A detailed list showing the amount of monies received or the
percentage of funds received from direct U.S. Government obligations
must be attached to Form MO-1120.

Enter on Line 1b the amount of interest on indebtedness and expenses
associated with the production of interest and dividend income on
federal obligations shown on Line 1a. The expenses must exceed
$500. Refer to Section 143.121.3(a), RSMo, for further explanation.

In arriving at the amount of related expenses, the taxpayer may use
actual expenses or a reasonable estimate. In general, the taxpayer
should use the same or similar method to that used to compute related
expenses for federal income tax purposes, provided that the method
reasonably reflects related expenses for Missouri exempt income.

If a taxpayer fails to compute reasonable related expenses, the Director
of Revenue will make adjustments based on the best information made
available. If sufficient information is not made available or if the
taxpayer’s records do not provide sufficient information, the Director of
Revenue will use the following formula to compute related expenses:

Exemptincome Expense items = Reduction to exempt income
Total income

The principal expense item in this formula is interest expense; however,
the Director of Revenue may include other expense items because of
their direct relationship to the production of exempt income. The
taxpayer may propose an alternative method provided that it properly
reflects the amount of related expenses.

Enter on Line 1 the net amount of Line T1aless Line 1b.

LINE 2 — FEDERALLY TAXABLE — MISSOURI EXEMPT

OBLIGATION

The amount of any bond issued by the Missouri Higher Education Loan
Authority (MOHELA) including interest or proceeds resulting from the
sale of the bond is exempt from Missouri tax. If the amount is included
in federal taxable income, the amount can be subtracted from federal
taxable income for Missouri tax purposes pursuant to Section 173.440,
RSMo. Enter the exempt amount on Line 2 and provide documentation
with the return.

LINE 3 — REDUCTIONS IN GAIN DUE TO BASIS DIFFERENCE

Enter the amount of reduction in gain due to basis difference. If a
taxpayer’s federal taxable income prior to January 1, 1973, included
any gain from a sale or other disposition of property, which had a
higher adjusted basis to the taxpayer for Missouri income tax purposes
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than for federal income tax purposes, a modification must be made to
adjust for the difference in basis (12 CSR 10-2.020 and Section
143.121.3(b), RSMo).

LINE 4 — PREVIOUSLY TAXED INCOME

Enter the amount of any income or gain included in federal taxable
income to the extent it was properly reported as income or gain on a
prior Form MO-1120, Corporation Income Tax Return, filed under
Missouri laws in effect prior to January 1, 1973 (12 CSR 10-2.025 and
Section 43.121.3(c), RSMo).

LINE 5 — AMOUNT OF ANY STATE INCOME TAX REFUND

INCLUDED IN FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME

Enter the amount of any state income tax refund for a prior year that
was included in the federal taxable income for the current year (Section
143.121.3(e), RSMo).

LINE 6 — CAPITAL GAIN EXCLUSION FROM THE SALE OF

Low INCOME HOUSING PROJECT

Enter the excludable amount of gain resulting from the sale of a low
income project subsidized by the Federal Department of Housing and
Urban Development to a nonprofit or governmental organization,
agreeing to preserve or increase the low income occupancy of the
project. A copy of Federal Form 4797 must be attached to verify credit.

For those owners whose low income project has at least 40 percent of its
units occupied by persons or families having income of 60 percent or
less of the median income, the exclusion shall equal 25 percent of the
capital gain.

LINE 7 — FIDUCIARY AND PARTNERSHIP ADJUSTMENT
(FROM FORM MO-1041 AND FORM MO-1065)

Enter the share of fiduciary and partnership adjustment as shown on
Form MO-1041, Page 2, Part 1, Line 19 and Form MO-1065, Line 19
(Section 143.121.4 and 5, RSMo). A copy of Forms MO-1041 and
MO-1065 must be attached to the Form MO-1120.

LINE 8 — MISSOURI DEPRECIATION BASIS ADJUSTMENT

Enter on Line 8 the difference between the Federal and Missouri depre-
ciation calculated on assets purchased between July 1, 2002 and June
30, 2003. See Section 143.121.2(c), RSMo for more information. For
examples and more information, access the Department of Revenue’s
web site at www.dor.state.mo.us/tax.

LINE9 — ToTAL
Add Lines 1 through 8. Enter the amount on Line 9 and on Form MO-
1120, Page 1, Line 5.

PART 3
FEDERAL INCOME TAX —
CURRENT YEAR

Enter the amounts of federal income tax on Lines 1 and 2. The instruc-
tions for entering the federal income tax are found on each line
number. The line numbers will differ on other federal forms (1120A,
1120POL, 1120H, 1120F, 1T120REIT, 990T, and 990C). Add Lines 1
and 2; multiply total by 50 percent; and enter the result on Line 3 and
on Form MO-1120, Page 1, Line 7.

If filing a consolidated federal and separate Missouri return, the
federal income tax deduction must be computed as follows:

Enter on Part 3, Line 1, federal tax from the consolidated Schedule J,
Line 11 or Federal Form 1120A, Part 1, Line 6. Enter on Part 3, Line 2,
the foreign tax credit from the consolidated Schedule J, Line 6a. Enter
on Part 3, Line 3, half of Lines 1 and 2. Enter on Part 3, Line 4, the
numerator (the amount of separate company federal taxable income).
Enter on Part 3, Line 5, the denominator (total of all positive separate
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company federal taxable incomes; companies which incurred a loss
must not be included in the denominator). Divide Line 4 by Line 5
and enter the percentage in the box on Line 6 (round percentage to
four digits to the right of the decimal point, such as 12.3456 percent).
Multiply Line 3 by the percentage and enter on Part 3, Line 6 and on
Form MO-1120, Page 1, Line 7. Refer to 12 CSR 10-2.090 and 12 CSR
10-2.165 for further explanation. Attach the consolidated Federal
Form 1120, consolidated Schedule J, and an income statement or
summary of profit companies.

PART 4
REASON FOR AMENDMENT

Check the box that indicates the reason for filing this amended return.
A separate Form MO-1120 must be completed for each reason. The
applicable Federal Form 1139, 1120X, 4549, 4549A, 870AD, and/or
5278 must be attached.

A separate Form MO-1120 must be filed for each loss year carryback.
For example, if you have an IRS audit or federal correction that in-
cludes a Net Operating Loss, one amended return must be filed for the
federal audit and a separate amended return must be filed for the NOL.

PART 5
Loss CARRYBACK OR TAX CREDIT
CARRYBACK—AMENDED RETURN
ONLY

Complete Part 5 when there is a loss carryback and/or credit carryback.
A loss would include a net operating loss, capital loss, or product
liability loss. A loss carryback is required to be filed by the 15th day of
the 39th month following the end of the loss year (Section 143.801.6,
RSMo). Lines 2 and 3 should reflect the total net operating loss/capital
loss carryback.

Line 4 should reflect the difference between the original and amended
federal income tax deductions for Missouri Form MO-1120, Line 7. A
separate Form MO-1120 must be filed for each loss year carryback.

Note: Missouri does not allow a net operating loss carryback to apply
to any tax period older than two years (Section 143.121.2(d)). See
Form MO-1120, Part 1, Line 4.

ASSEMBLE YOUR RETURN

Assemble any forms and/or schedules behind Form MO-1120 in order
of the “Attachment Sequence No.” shown in the upper right corner of
the form and/or schedule. Put forms without an attachment sequence
number next. If you have supporting documentation, arrange them in
the same order of forms and/or schedules they support and attach them
behind the schedule they support.

RELEASE OF INFORMATION

The Department of Revenue can only release confidential information to
corporate officers, authorized individuals having power of attorney, the
preparer, or any member of his/her firm, or if internally prepared, any
member of the internal staff, when the authorization box is checked.
When the authorization box is checked, this authorizes the Missouri
Director of Revenue or delegate to discuss this return and attachments
with the preparer whose signature appears on the Form MO-1120 or with
any member of his/her firm or if internally prepared, any member of the
internal staff.

The Department of Revenue strives to assist taxpayers in their inquiries;
however, the Department of Revenue is bound by confidentiality
statutes dealing with the release of confidential information. If you are
contacting the Department of Revenue regarding financial information
of a corporation, refund issuance, or filing status of a corporation, you
will be asked to identify your position with the corporation. If you are
an officer of the corporation, an authorized individual having power of
attorney, the preparer or any member of his/her firm, or if internally
prepared, any member of the internal staff, the authorization box on
the form must have been checked for us to release financial informa-
tion. To prevent delays in answering questions, you should provide the
Department of Revenue with a Form 2827, Power of Attorney, prior to
making the inquiry. This also applies to employees of the corporation.
This form should list the tax type, the tax form, and tax year(s) in
question.

The corporation should try to ensure the Department of Revenue has an
updated list of officers on file and any changes to officers’ status should
be filed with the Division of Taxation and Collection as soon as the
change takes effect. To update corporate officers, send the information
to: Division of Taxation and Collection, P.O. Box 3300, Jefferson City,
MO 65105-3300. These procedures are to protect the taxpayer from
unauthorized disclosure of financial records.

Final Checklist Before Mailing

[J Was the Form MO-1120 signed by an officer of the corporation?

Did you review your completed return?

Did you use the label provided on the postcard?

exempt from filing or paying franchise tax?

Have you verified all math calculations?

7004)?

Have you addressed your envelope to the proper address?

(573) 751-5860.

0 OO0 oo ogogoo

If not, are the corporation name, address, and tax identification numbers correctly shown on the return?
Did you complete the Schedule MO-FT, if liable to pay corporation franchise tax?

Did you check Box A on Form MO-1120 if your assets in or apportioned to Missouri are less than or equal to $1,000,000 and you are not

Are your beginning and ending filing periods shown on the Form MO-1120 and Schedule MO-FT? (They cannot be the same.)

Did you receive a federal extension of time to file your return? If so, have you attached a copy of the federal extension (Federal Form

Have you attached a copy of the federal form and supporting schedules?

Did you attach a copy of your balance sheet and any supporting schedules?

Did you enter your Missouri Tax Identification Number? If you do not know your Missouri Tax Identification Number, an officer must call

Did you enter your Missouri Charter Number? If you do not know your Missouri Charter Number, call (573) 751-4153.




