
Missouri Tax I.D. Number

Business Location

Tax Period (MM/YYYY)	 Due Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

This sales tax return is designed for taxpayers reporting for one 
business location only.

Important: Returns must be filed for the reporting period 
indicated even if you have no tax to report.  Your filing  
frequency is determined by the amount of state tax due. State 
taxes collected of $500 or more per month are to be filed on a 
monthly basis. State taxes collected over $100 per quarter, but 
less than $500 per month should be filed on a quarterly basis. 
State taxes collected less than $100 per quarter should be filed on 
an annual basis. Do not round your figures on the return.

If you report your sales tax on a cash basis (you report tax at the 
time payment is received) and you do not receive payment for a 
sale until after a rate change occurs, you will need to report this 
sale differently from your other sales.

This type of transaction is considered a “time sale”.   
To report time sales:

1) � Fill out a separate return indicating on the return the filing  
period in which the sales were actually made.

2) � Write “Time Sales” on the face of the return.  (If “Time Sales” 
is not written on the return, there is a possibility that the  
return could be processed as a late filed additional return.)

3) � Calculate the tax due using the rate that was in effect at the 
time of the sale and include that rate on the return.

Line 1: Gross Receipts — Enter gross receipts from all sales of 
tangible personal property and taxable services during the reporting 
period. If you had no receipts, enter zero. 
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Missouri Department of Revenue
Sales Tax Return

	 1.	 Gross Receipts....................
	 2.	 Adjustments
		  (+ OR –)..................

	 3.	 Taxable Sales......................

	 4.	 Rate.....................................

	 5.	 Amount Due. .......................
	
	 6.	 Timely Payment 2% ......... –

	 7.	 Total Tax Due................... =
	 8.	 Interest for 
		  Late Payment.................... +

	 9.	 Additions to Tax................ +

	10.	 Approved Credit................ –
	11.	 Pay This Amount
		  (U.S. Funds Only).............  =

	 Department Use Only...................

	 Department Use Only...................
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Signature	 Date (MM/DD/YYYY)

Instructions for completing the sales tax return

Line 2: Adjustments — Add or subtract total qualifying  
adjustments for the location you are reporting. Indicate a 
plus or a minus sign for the adjustments. Refer to Detailed 
Instructions (Form 4789) for adjustments authorized under 
the sales tax law. Instructions are updated annually and 
provided on our website. 

— Enter taxable sales. Line 1 (Gross Receipts) plus (+) or 
minus (–) Line 2 (Adjustments) = Line 3 (Taxable Sales).

Line 4: Rate — The rate percentage indicated on this line  
represents the combined state, education, conservation, parks 
and soils, and any applicable local sales tax rates. The  
Department of Revenue will notify you if there is a 
change in the tax rate. The Department will also send you a new 
sales tax book containing returns with the updated sales tax 
rates for your location.  Failure to be notified does not relieve 
you of the tax. Access http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/rates/ 
for current tax rates.

Line 5: Amount of Tax Due — Line 3 (Taxable Sales) multiplied (x) 
by Line 4 (Rate) = Line 5 (Amount of Tax Due).

Line 6: Two Percent Timely Payment — If you file your return 
and payment on time, enter two percent of the amount 
shown on Line 5. If not filed or paid by the due date or if 
Line 5 is not greater than zero, leave blank or enter a zero.
Example:  �Line 5 is $480 

$480 X 2% = $9.60 
$9.60 is the timely payment allowance

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 
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Did you know you could e-file this return?  Visit our website at http://dor.mo.gov/business/payonline.php for 
more information.  E-filing provides a fast and secure way for you to transmit your return and any applicable 
payment to the Department of Revenue.  All transactions provide a confirmation number, which you can keep for 
your records to verify that your filing has been received.  E-filing also eliminates the need to physically mail your 
return and payment.

By signing this return I am authorizing the Department of Revenue to issue any 
potential refund(s). Under penalties of perjury, I declare that this is a true, accurate, 
and complete return. I have direct control, supervision, or responsibility for filing this 
return and payment of the tax due. I attest that I have no gross receipts to report for 
locations left blank. 
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Line 7: Total Tax Due 	     
Line 5 (Amount of Tax Due) minus (–) Line 6 (Timely Payment)  
= Line 7 (Total Tax Due).

Line 8: Interest for Late Payment — If tax is not paid by the 
due date, (A) multiply total tax due by the daily interest 
rate* (daily interest rate is calculated by dividing the annual  
interest rate by 365 days) and (B) multiply this amount by 
number of days late.

Note: Number of days late is counted from the due date to the 
postmark date. For example, if the due date is March 20 and 
the postmark date is April 9, the payment is 20 days late. 
The following example is based on an annual interest rate 
of 3% and a daily rate of .0000822.

Example:  Line 7 is $480:
(A) �$480 X .0000822 = .03946
(B) .03946 X 20 days late = $.79
$.79 is the interest for late payment

* The annual interest rate is subject to change each year. 	
Visit our website at: http://dor.mo.gov/intrates.php to 
access the annual interest rate. 

Line 9: Additions to Tax — For failure to pay sales tax on or 
before the due date, enter 5 percent of Line 7. For failure 
to file a sales tax return on or before the due date, enter 5 
percent of Line 7 for each month late up to a maximum of 25 
percent (5 months late in filing = 25 percent).

Note:  If additions to tax for failure to file applies, do not pay 
additions to tax for failure to pay.

For example, if a return due March 20 is filed any time  
between March 21 and April 20, the rate would be 5 percent; 
if filed any time between April 21 and May 20, the rate would 
be 10 percent; and so on, up to a maximum of 25 percent.
Example: �
Return is due March 20, but is filed (postmarked) April 10 
	 Line 7 is $480 
	 $480 X 5% = $24 
	 $24 is the additions to tax

Example:
�Return is due March 20, but is filed (postmarked) April 21
	 Line 7 is $480
	 $480 X 10% = $48
	 $48 is the additions to tax
Line 10: Approved Credit — Enter any sales tax credit 
for which the Department issued you an approved credit. 
An approved credit application must accompany the sales 
tax return. Access the online Credit Inquiry System at 
http://dor.mo.gov/business/creditinquiry/ to determine if 
an overpayment exists on your Missouri sales tax account.
Line 11: Pay This Amount — Line 7 plus Line 8 plus Line 9 
minus Line 10. Make remittance payable to Missouri Director of  
Revenue (U.S. funds only). If you pay by check, you 
authorize the Department of Revenue to process the 
check electronically. Any check returned unpaid may be 
presented again electronically. Do not send cash or stamps.

Sign and date the return.  

 
If you have questions concerning your registration, please  
contact:

	 Missouri Department of Revenue
	 Taxation Division
	 P.O. Box 3300
	 Jefferson City MO 65105-3300
	 (573) 751‑5860
	 businesstaxregister@dor.mo.gov

If you have technical sales tax questions, please contact:
	 Missouri Department of Revenue
	 Taxation Division
	 P.O. Box 358
	 Jefferson City MO 65105-0358
	 (573) 751‑2836
	 salesuse@dor.mo.gov
Persons with speech or hearing impairments may use 

TDD (800) 735-2966 or fax (573) 526-1881.

Mail to:	 Taxation Division	 Phone: (573) 751-2836
	 P.O. Box 3360	 TDD: (800) 735-2966
	 Jefferson City, MO 65105-3360	 Fax: (573) 526-8747
		  E-mail:  salesuse@dor.mo.gov  
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Visit http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/ 

 for more information.
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