
 

•   Important Reminders for Dealers        
 DEALER RENEWAL NOTICES 

Dealer renewal notices were mailed out in early 
August.  Please mail all renewal-related 
documentation as soon as possible and no later than 
October 30, 2015 to: 

Dealer Licensing Section 
PO Box 43 
Jefferson City, MO 65105 

 
Each application for a dealer license, driveaway 
plates, additional or replacement dealer plates, etc., 
will be processed in the order in which it was 
received.  Prompt and correct completion of your 
renewal application will help avoid any interruption 
in licensure and allow time for dealer license plates 
to be produced and received.  A common reason 
a dealer application is rejected is due to 
missing sales reports.  Therefore, it is important 
that all sales reports are filed with the Department 
prior to submitting your renewal. 
 
NOTE: All dealer licenses expire on December 31 of 
the designated license period.  Any dealer who 
continues to maintain or operate the business 
without a license is in violation of Section 301.559, 
RSMo, and guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.  Any 
person committing a second violation for operation 
as a dealer without a license shall be guilty of a 
Class D felony. 
 

 HELP YOUR CUSTOMERS BY COMPLYING 
WITH THESE REMINDERS 
Below are the most frequent reasons why customers 
are turned away from the license office at the time 
of titling when a Missouri dealer is the seller. Please 
help us help customers by complying with the 
reminders below: 
• The net price on the title application or invoice 

must match the Notice of Sale that the dealer 
files and the title assignment. 

• The net price must be recorded on the title 
assignment. 

• The Application for Missouri Title and License 
(Form 108) must be signed by the dealer to 
certify a trade-in. 

• The dealer invoice must be signed by the dealer 
to verify purchase price and trade-in information 
if there is no dealer certified title application. 

• The dealer must provide the customer with a 
copy of the traded in vehicle’s title or a power of 

attorney (POA) to be submitted with their title 
transaction. 

• Ensure that all title assignments have been 
completed properly and that all required 
signatures have been completed. 

• If there is a lien on the previous owner’s title, 
ensure that a completed notarized lien release is 
provided to the customer at the time of sale. 

• Remind your customers that they must: 
o Title and pay sales tax within 30 days of 

purchase to avoid title penalties; and 
o Submit the following items upon registering 

the vehicle: 
 Valid proof of insurance; 
 Proof of personal property taxes paid for 

the year prior to purchasing the vehicle 
that they are registering or submit a 
statement of non-assessment; 

 A safety inspection less than 60 days old 
(if applicable); and 

 An emissions inspection less than 90 
days old (if applicable). 

 
 CORRECT ENTRY OF NOTICE OF SALE (NOS) 

AND NOTICE OF LIEN (NOL) INFORMATION 
When entering a NOS or NOL, please verify the 
information is accurate before submitting the 
application.  Also, verify the purchaser’s last name is 
entered first (“Jones, David” for example).  Incorrect 
entries may cause the transaction to be rejected and 
delay the issuance of the title. 
 

 TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PERMIT OWNER 
AND VEHICLE INFORMATION 
When processing a temporary registration permit for 
a vehicle sold by your dealership, please ensure that 
all owner and vehicle data are correct before 
submitting the permit for issuance. 
 

 RELEASING A LIEN 
On a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, 
vessel, or outboard motor, Sections 301.640, 
306.420, and 700.370, RSMo, require the lienholder 
to release the lien on a separate document within 
five business days after the lien is satisfied.  The 
released document shall be notarized.  Once the 
owner receives the lien release they may either 
apply for an original title submitting the lien release 
and title, and paying the appropriate fees; or apply 
for a duplicate title submitting an Application for 
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http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3010000559.HTM
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3010000559.HTM
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/30100006401.html
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/30600004202.html
http://www.moga.mo.gov/mostatutes/stathtml/70000003701.html
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf


 
Missouri Title and License (Form 108), copy of the 
lien release, and paying the applicable fees. 

 
 •           Legislative Updates         
 HOUSE BILL 111 INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING 

PROVISIONS: 
 
 SALES TAX FOR USED MANUFACTURED 

HOMES 
• Eliminates ALL tax on used manufactured 

homes. 
 
 HOUSE BILL 524 INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING 

PROVISIONS: 
 
 ELECTRONIC LIEN RELEASE 

• Allows the Director of the Department of 
Revenue to adopt rules and regulations allowing 
specified motor vehicle or trailer lienholders to 
electronically release a lien. 

 
 SENATE BILL 254 INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING 

PROVISIONS: 
 
 LICENSE PLATE MOUNTING 

• Allows trailer and motorcycle license plates to be 
mounted horizontally or vertically on the left 
rear of the motor vehicle. 

 
 ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE FOR TITLE 

TRANSFER 
• Changes the requirements for a notice of sale to 

allow for an electronic signature of the 
transferor. 

 
 SENATE BILL 456 INCLUDES THE FOLLOWING 

PROVISIONS: 
 
 NEW PROCESS FOR MOTOR VEHICLE 

DEALERS TO BUY AND SELL MOTOR VEHICLES 
WITHOUT A MISSOURI TITLE 
• Modifies the process for a motor vehicle dealer 

to buy or take a vehicle on a trade (used 
vehicle) and subsequently sell the vehicle 
without having obtained a title.  The new 
requirements, prescribed in 301.213, RSMo, only 
apply to dealers who have filed a $100,000 bond 
with the Department and are selling a Missouri-
titled vehicle without a title. 

• Allows the operation of a motor vehicle with 
transferred license plates for 90 days and 
allows the issuance of a temporary permit 
authorizing the operation of a motor vehicle or  

 
 
 
 
 

trailer for not more than 90 days if the selling 
dealer is selling the motor vehicle under the 
provisions of section 301.213 and the title is not 
readily available at the time of the sale. 

 
Details of the process are found in the Missouri 
Dealer Operating Manual.  See Section 10, Buying 
and Selling a Vehicle without Title, and Section 10, 
90-Day Permit. 

 
 PROVIDES OPTION FOR ACCEPTANCE OF 

ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES 
Expands the authority for electronic signatures to be 
used on a power of attorney document, without a 
notary requirement, when an insurance company 
has paid a total loss on a motor vehicle and is 
changing ownership of the vehicle from the owner 
to the insurance company. 
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