Landowners that have abandoned property on their real property may apply for title by submitting
the following documents:

[ 1. A title application in the landowner’s name:
a. An Application for Missouri Title and License (DOR-108) for motor vehicles or trailers; or

b. An Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (DOR-93)
for marinecraft.

[0 2. The General Affidavit (DOR-768, Line 4) can be used to identify the following abandoned
property information:
a. The circumstances by which the abandoned property came into the landowner’s possession;
b. The landowner’s name;
c. Location of the abandoned property (street & city);
d

. Description of the abandoned property (include year, make, vehicle/hull identification
number and any decal or license plate that may be affixed to the property);

e. Retail/fair market value of the abandoned property;

f. Signature of landowner.

[ 3. The appropriate inspection:

a. Original title on a vehicle, ATV or trailer - a DOR-551 completed by Missouri State Highway
Patrol or St. Louis Auto Theft.

b. Salvage title on a vehicle, ATV or trailer - a DOR-551 completed by any law enforcement
officer.

NOTE: If application for title is not made within six months of the inspection date documented on the
DOR-551, the unit must be reinspected.

c. Junking Certificate on a vehicle, ATV or trailer - An Identification Number Verification and
Abandoned Vehicle Inspection (DOR-5062) completed by any law enforcement officer.

d. Boat, motor, or boat trailer - A Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership
and Inspection (DOR-798) completed by Missouri State Water Patrol.

[0 4. A copy of the signed certified mail receipts (green card), at least 30 days old, indicating the
owner/lienholder were sent the notice as required by law. If the certified letter is returned to
sender, submit a copy of the envelope stamped “returned to sender”.

[1 5. A copy of the 30-day notice sent by certified mail to any owner/lienholder (DOR-5227).

[J 6. Appropriate title fee, processing fee, and state and local taxes based on retail/fair market value.
Junking certificates are exempt from taxes and title fees.

NOTE: Title penalties do not apply.
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http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5227.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/768.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/93.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf

