Tithing Tips

Important Reminders for Dealers

HELP YOUR CUSTOMERS BY COMPLYING
WITH THESE REMINDERS

The Department of Revenue surveyed a few license
offices to determine why customers are turned away
from the office at the time of titling when a Missouri
dealer is the seller. Below are the most frequent
reasons. Please help us help your customers by
complying with the reminders below:

1. The net price on title application or invoice
must match the Notice of Sale that the
dealer files and the title assignment.

2. The netprice mustbe recorded on the title
assignment.

3. The Application for Title and License
(DOR-108) mustbe signed by the dealer
to certify a trade-in.

4. The dealer invoice mustbe signed by the
dealer to verify purchase price and trade-
in information if there is no dealer-
certified title application.

5. The dealer must provide the customer
with a copy of the traded in vehicle’s title
or a power of attorney (POA) to be
submitted with their title transaction.

6. Ensure that a//title assignments have
been completed properly and that a//
required signatures have been completed.

7. If there is a lien on the previous owner’s
title, ensure that a notarized lien release is
provided to the customer at the time of
sale.

8. Remind your customer’s that they must.
o Title and pay sales tax within 30 days of
purchase to avoid title penalties; and
e Submit the following items upon registering
the vehicle:
0 Valid proof of insurance;
0 Proof of personal property taxes paid for
the year prior to purchasing the vehicle
that they are registering or submit a
statement of non-assessment;
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0 A safety inspection less than 60 days old
(if applicable); and

0 An emissions inspection less than 90
days old (if applicable).

» LICENSED DEALERS MUST RECORD PRICING

INFORMATION ON ALL RETAIL TITLE
ASSIGNMENTS TO AVOID JEOPARDIZING THE
DEALER’S LICENSE

The Department of Revenue continues to receive
Missouri titles, out-of-state titles, and Manufacturer’s
Statements of Origin (MSOs) with applications for
title in which the Missouri dealer failed to record the
pricing information on the assignment. The
Department of Revenue has notified dealers on
several occasions of this requirement. Dealers who
do not record this pricing information on the title
assignment are actually perpetuating sales tax
fraud. A/l Missouri dealers must:

1. Record the sale price, trade-in amount (or
“None” if no trade-in), and the net price
when completing a title assignment on a
retail sale.

e If the ownership document (i.e., non-
conforming Missouri title, out-of-state title,
or MSO) does not have a pre-printed area
for recording the pricing information, the
dealer should record the words “Net Price’
and the corresponding net price on the title
assignment.

e Leaving the amounts blank on the title
assignment could jeopardize the dealer’s
current license or renewal of a future
license.

2. Enter the purchase price, rebate, trade-in,
and net price on the dealer-certified title
application.

e If there is no trade-in, record “None” in the
space provided for the trade-in amount and
check the “No” block in the Dealer
Information area of the application.

3. Report the net price correctly when filing
sales information electronically and
completing Notices of Sale.

e The net price on the Notice of Sale, title
application, and title assignment must all
match.




e Accuracy of all pricing information is critical.

Thank you for helping the Department of Revenue
to ensure that all vehicle purchasers pay the correct
amount of state and local taxes as required by
Missouri law. Your assistance is greatly appreciated!

» HELP YOUR CUSTOMERS BY INFORMING
THEM OF THE REQUIRED INSPECTIONS
Missouri law requires the dealer to provide the
purchaser with a current safety inspection (and
emissions inspection, if applicable) upon the sale of
a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is exempt from
the inspection requirements.

When an application for title is accompanied by an
out-of-state or out-of-country title, the motor vehicle
must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification
number and odometer reading (ID/OD) of the
vehicle, even if the vehicle is exempt from a
safety and emissions inspection.

e The ID/OD inspection is not required for any
motor vehicle transferred on a Manufacturer's
Statement of Origin.

e The ID/OD inspection must accompany the title
application.

e The safety or emissions inspection may also
serve as the ID/OD Inspection.

e The same form that is used by mechanics for
safety inspections is also used for ID/OD
inspections.

Please ensure that your customers understand the
difference between the ID/OD inspection
requirement (for titling) and the safety and
emissions inspection requirements (for registration)
so they do not have to make a second trip to the
license office.

» NOTICE OF LIEN ISSUES
The dealership must ensure that the same owner
name(s) are recorded on the customer’s title
application, the title assignment, and what the
lienholder intends to record on their Notice of Lien.

If the dealership adds an additional name to the title
application after the Notice if Lien has been
filed, a Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or
Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title (Form

4809), completed by the lienholder, must be
submitted when the customer applies for title.

Published by:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Personnel Services Bureau

PO Box 87

Jefferson City, MO 65105-0087

Brian K. Long, Director of Revenue

Jackie Bemboom, Director, Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division
Lynn Bexten, Director, Administration Division

Matt Connor, Personnel Services Bureau, Editor




