FORM 1140 (REV. 6-2006)

GENERAL INFORMATION

(The following information is based on Chapter 303 RSMo.)

Q: When should I file this accident report?

A: File this report if **all** of the following are true:

- ✓ The accident happened in Missouri.
- ✓ The accident happened within the last 12 months.
- ✓ Someone involved in the accident did not have insurance.

Q: Can I submit the police report instead of completing this accident report?

A: No. The law requires you to report the accident using the attached form.

Q: What happens after this report is filed?

A: An uninsured person's driver license and/or plates can be taken away for one or both of the following reasons:

- He/she does not show us proof of insurance for the accident.
- He/she is found to be at fault for the accident and does not send <u>security compliance</u> (see below) to us.

Q: What is security?

A: Security is the amount of money that we find the uninsured person(s) is responsible for based on his/her percentage of fault for the accident and the amount of damages on file. The most common forms of <u>security compliance</u> are:

- Installment Agreement: A notarized payment plan agreed to by you and the uninsured person(s).
- Release: A sworn statement from you releasing the uninsured person(s) from responsibility for the accident.
- Cash Deposit: A deposit of cash sent to us from the uninsured person(s) for the full amount of security.

We must return the deposit to the uninsured person(s) after one year from the accident date unless the parties agree to a settlement or a lawsuit is filed against the person(s) for whom the deposit was made.

The deposit can only be applied toward a judgment against the person(s) for whom the deposit was made.

We will send you instructions on how to obtain the deposit, if one is made.

One-Year Suspension: The uninsured person(s) can choose to remain suspended for one year instead of submitting security compliance. The suspension can be extended if a lawsuit is filed in court within one year of the accident date and a copy of the petition is sent to us.

Q: Will the state file the lawsuit?

A: No. You must file the lawsuit in court if you wish to do so.

Q: Will you let me know when the uninsured person's driver license and/or plates will be suspended?

A: Yes, if you contact us. Please allow up to 90 days for us to process your accident report and determine a percentage of fault for the accident.

Q: How can I contact you?

A: You may contact us at Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0200, dlbmail@dor.mo.gov or (573) 751-7195.

Q: Is the accident report form available on the Internet?

A: Yes. The Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form is now available in fillable PDF format. Visit our web site at **www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/** for more information.

FORM 1140 (REV. 6-2006)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM.

- **PART 1:** Fill in all blanks with the information requested.
- PART 2: Fill in your vehicle driver and owner information. If the vehicle was parked, write "parked" in the vehicle driver box and fill in the owner information. If you were not a vehicle driver or owner, mark the correct box under "Your Involvement" and fill in the information in the spaces provided.

Fill in your liability insurance information and mark the correct box. (This is only required if you are the vehicle driver and/or owner.)

- PART 3: Sign your name and mark the correct box.
- PART 4: Fill in the driver, owner, and vehicle information for all other involved parties.
- PART 5: Draw a diagram of the accident using the symbols and instructions on the form.

Explain how the accident happened, in your own words.

Attach a denial letter from the uninsured person's insurance company, if you have one. The letter should state the reason why coverage was denied for the accident. It must be on the company's stationery and signed by the person who reviewed the claim.

PROPERTY DAMAGE AND/OR BODILY INJURY DOCUMENTS

- 1. In order to determine a percentage of fault and require security for your loss, **both** of the following statements must apply.
 - A. There was more than \$500 in damage to one or more person's property, or there was bodily injury or death.
 - B. It has been less than nine months since the accident happened.

Reason: A notice must be sent to the uninsured person within one year of the accident date. We need 90 days to process the accident report and determine a percentage of fault for the accident.

- 2. If statements 1.A and 1.B do apply, attach any of the following documents that pertain to this accident.
 - An estimate of repair cost for the vehicle or other property. (It must be readable, itemized, and contain the accident date or estimate date. It must also contain the name and address of the repair shop or insurance company);
 - A doctor's report and/or medical bills. (The type of injury must be explained in detail and the service date must be included. It must also contain the name and address of the healthcare provider); and/or
 - A copy of a death certificate or police report showing there was a death.
- 3. If statements **1.A.** and/or **1.B.** do not apply, the uninsured person's driver license and/or plates can be taken away for not having insurance at the time of the accident. The accident report must be mailed to us within one year of the accident date.

MAIL THE COMPLETED ACCIDENT REPORT FORM AND ANY ATTACHMENTS TO THE DRIVER LICENSE BUREAU, P.O. BOX 200, JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65105-0200, OR FAX TO (573) 526-7365.



FORM 1140 (REV. 6-2006)

DOR USE ONLY							
NAIC NUMBER	ORI NUMBER	CASE NUMBER					

PART 1 — ACCIDEN	T INFORMATION STOR	→ ONLY	REPORT A	ACCIDEN	ITS OCCUR	RING IN MISSO	DURI		
ACCIDENT DATE		TIME		☐ A.M. ☐ P.M.	COUNTY		STATE		
ACCIDENT LOCATION - STREET NAME OR HIGHWAY NUMBER NUMBER OF VEHICLES INVOL		ED			IF YES	ES, WHAT POLICE AGENCY			
PART 2 — YOUR INF	ORMATION						·		
	VEHICLE DRIVER					VEHICLE	OWNER		
DRIVER'S NAME			SEX	OWNER'S	NAME			DATE OF BIRTH	SEX
STREET ADDRESS				STREET A	DDRESS			DRIVER LICENSE	NUMBER
CITY, STATE		ZI	IP CODE	CITY, STAT	E		I	ZI	P CODE
DATE OF BIRTH	DATE OF BIRTH DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER		STATE	VEHICLE I	MAKE/YEAR	MODEL	LICENSE PL	ATE NUMBER	STATE
INVOLVEMENT (IF O	THER THAN VEHICLE	DRIVER/OW	NER)			l			
PASSENGER		NAME					DATE OF BIRTH	SEX	
PEDESTRIAN PROPERTY OWNER (OTHER THAN VEHICLE)	STREET ADDRESS					DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER		
TYPE OF PROPERTY OTHER		CITY, STATE	CITY, STATE					ZIP CODE	
		YOUR LIAB	ILITY INSU	IRANCE	INFORMAT	ION			
☐ YES ☐ NO SIMPORTANT! IF YOU FAILURE TO PROVIDE	COVERED BY LIABILE TOP YOU MUST U MARK YES, YOU NOT THIS INFORMATION	MARK A BO IUST PROVII N MAY RESU	X! DE YOUR	INSURA PENSIO	NCE COMF N ACTION.	PANY NAME <u>A</u>	<u>ND</u> POLI	ICY NUMBER	R BELOW.
INSURANCE COMPANY NAME	(NOT AGENCY OR BROKERAGE)		INSURAN	CE POLICY/CLAIM	1 NUMBER			
PART 3 — SIGNATU	RE STOP - YOU MI	JST SIGN TH	IE REPOR	Γ OR IT \	WILL BE RE	TURNED TO YO	ου		
I STATE THAT THE IN	IFORMATION ON BOT	H SIDES OF	THIS REPO	ORT IS T	RUE AND A	CCURATE TO T	HE BEST	OF MY KNO	WLEDGE.
SIGNATURE									
I AM: ☐ DRIVER ☐ INSURANCE COM	☐ OWNER ☐	PROPERTY	OWNER		ATTORNEY CER	☐ PASSI	ENGER	□ PEDE	ESTRIAN
COMPLETE REVERS	SE SIDE -								

OTHER VEHICLE	— DRIVER INFORMATION			OTHER VEHICLI	— OWNER	INFORMATIO	ON	
DRIVER'S NAME		;	SEX	OWNER'S NAME		DATE OI	F BIRTH	SEX
STREET ADDRESS				STREET ADDRESS		DRIVER	LICENSE NU	IMBER
OLTY OTATE		710 0005		OITY OTATE				710 0005
CITY, STATE		ZIP CODE		CITY, STATE				ZIP CODE
DATE OF BIRTH	DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER	STATE		VEHICLE MAKE/YEAR	MODEL	LICENSE PLATE N	UMBER	STATE
OTHER VEHICLE	— DRIVER INFORMATION			OTHER VEHICLI	— OWNER	INFORMATIC	ON	
DRIVER'S NAME		;	SEX	OWNER'S NAME		DATE OF	F BIRTH	SEX
STREET ADDRESS				STREET ADDRESS		DRIVER	LICENSE NU	IMBER
CITY, STATE		ZIP CODE		CITY, STATE				ZIP CODE
DATE OF BIRTH	DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER	STATE		VEHICLE MAKE/YEAR	MODEL	LICENSE PLATE N	UMBER	STATE
OTHER VEHICLE	— DRIVER INFORMATION			OTHER VEHICLI	E — OWNER	 NFORMATIC	ON	
DRIVER'S NAME		:	SEX	OWNER'S NAME	<u> </u>	DATE OF		SEX
STREET ADDRESS				STREET ADDRESS		DRIVER	LICENSE NU	JMBER
CITY, STATE		ZIP CODE		CITY, STATE		I		ZIP CODE
DATE OF BIRTH	DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER	STATE		VEHICLE MAKE/YEAR	MODEL	LICENSE PLATE N	UMBER	STATE
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT	•						
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT			NORTH		INSTRUCTIO)NS	
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT			NORTH 🕞	ACCIDENT. NU	INSTRUCTION RE OF ROADW JMBER EACH V TRAVEL BY AR	VAY AT P	
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT		· /		ACCIDENT. NU	RE OF ROADV JMBER EACH V	VAY AT P	
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT				ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF	RE OF ROADW JMBER EACH V TRAVEL BY AR	VAY AT PEHICLE AROW.	
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT				ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF	RE OF ROADW JMBER EACH V TRAVEL BY AR 1 SYMBOLS	VAY AT PEHICLE AROW.	
PART 5 — DIAGRA	M DESCRIPTION OF ACCIDENT				ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE —	RE OF ROADW JMBER EACH V TRAVEL BY AR 1 SYMBOLS	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
					ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE —	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
	D (REFER TO VEHICLES BY NUMBER, AND BY N		RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW
			RIVER(S))		ACCIDENT. NU DIRECTION OF EXAMPLE — 1. VEHICLE [2. MOTORCYCL	SYMBOLS 4. RA E OF ROADW SYMBOLS 4. RA	VAY AT PEHICLE A ROW. 2 AILROAD	ND SHOW

MAIL TO: MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, DRIVER LICENSE BUREAU, P.O. BOX 200, JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65105-0200, OR FAX TO: (573) 526-7365. PHONE: (573) 751-7195. E-MAIL: dlbmail@dor.mo.gov