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If you pay by check, you authorize the Department of Revenue to process the check electronically. 

Any check returned unpaid may be presented again electronically.

I have direct control, supervision, or responsibility for filing this return and payment of the tax due. 

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that this is a true, accurate, and complete return. I attest that I 

have no gross receipts to report for locations left blank. I also declare under penalties of perjury 

that I employ no illegal or unauthorized aliens as defined under federal law and that I am not eligible 

for any tax exemption, credit or abatement if I employ such aliens.SIGNATURE 

DATE(MM/DD/YYYY)

DOR-2760 

(09-2012)

*

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

$

•

•

2012
Missouri

Income Tax
Reference Guide

Have a question about taxes?  
Look inside for the answers. . .

DOR-4711 (11-2012)

MO TAX ID 

FOR TAX 

NUMBER 

PERIOD 

 

(YYYY,MM)

FEIN

BUSINESS NAME

OWNER’S NAME

MAILING ADDRESS (STREET, CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE)

Use the correct return.
 1.  Enter the amount of employer withholding tax for the period on Line 1.

 2.  Enter the compensation deduction for timely payment made on Line 2. 

(Compensation should be taken on the amount entered on Line 1.) 

 3.  Enter previous overpayments/credits on Line 3.

 4.  Compute balance due. Subtract Lines 2 and 3 from Line 1 and enter 

the difference on Line 4.

 5.  Compute additions to tax, if applicable, and enter on Line 5.

  A.   For failure to pay withholding tax by the due date — subtract Line 

3 from Line 1 and multiply the result by 5 percent; or 

  B.   For failure to file your return by the due date — subtract Line 3 

from Line 1 and multiply the result by 5 percent for each month 

late, not to exceed 25 percent.

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM MO‑941, 

EMPLOYER’S RETURN OF INCOME TAXES WITHHELD 
6.   Compute interest, if applicable, and enter on Line 6. Divide the annual 

interest rate by 365 (366 for leap years) to obtain the daily interest 

rate.  Then subtract Line 3 from Line 1 and multiply the result by the 

daily interest rate for each day late.

      * The annual interest rate is subject to change each year.   

  You can access the annual interest rate on our web site at:  

  http://dor.mo.gov/intrates.php.

 7. Compute total amount due. Add Lines 4, 5, and 6 and enter on Line 7. 

  Mail your remittance and return to: Missouri Department of Revenue,  

  P.O. Box 999, Jefferson City, MO 65108-0999 payable to Missouri  

  Director of Revenue and include your Missouri Tax I.D. Number in the  

  lower left area of your check (U.S. funds only).

DOR USE ONLY

1.	 Withholding	 This	Period	............................
2.	 Compensation	 Deduction	..............................

3.	 Previous	Overpay/
	 Payments	...............................4.	 Balance	Due	...........................

5.	 Additions	to	Tax
	 (see Instructions)	...................

6.	 Interest	 (see Instructions)	...................
7.	 Total	Amount	Due
	 (U.S. funds only)	....................
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•

$

•

$

•
*
*

•

DUE ON OR BEFORE

FILING FREQUENCY

MISSOURI	DEPT.	OF	REVENUE

EMPLOYER’S RETURN OF 

INCOME TAXES WITHHELD

 (08-2012) 

FORMMO‑941(REV.	08-2012)

I	have	direct	control,	supervision,	or	responsibility	for	filing	this	return	and	payment	of	the	tax	due.	Under	

penalties	of	perjury,	I	declare	it	is	a	true,	accurate,	and	complete	return.

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE 

DATE

MAIL REMITTANCE AND RETURN TO: Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 999, 

Jefferson City, Missouri 65108-0999.  

If you pay by check, you authorize the Department of Revenue to process the check  

electronically. Any check returned unpaid may be presented again electronically.

•

•

•

•

•

•

•

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 

•

• 0 0
0 0

0 0
0 0

0 0
0 0

0 0Did you know you could e‑file this return?  Visit our web site at http://dor.mo.gov/business/payonline.php 

for more information.  E-filing provides a fast and secure way for you to transmit your return and any applicable 

payment to the Department of Revenue.  All transactions provide a confirmation number which you can keep for 

your records to verify that your filing has been received.  E-filing also eliminates the need to physically mail your 

return and payment.

For more information, visit http://dor.mo.gov/business/withhold/. 

	25.	 If	Line	24	is	greater	than	Line	17,	enter	OVERPAYMENT	here	........................................................................................... 	 25	 00
	26.	 Amount	remitted	or	
			 	 amount	of	tax	overpayment	
	 	 to	be	contributed	to	the		
	 	 funds	listed	to	the	right.	 		
			 	 	 26.	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00
		27.	Overpayment	to	be	applied	to	next	filing	period	.................................................................................................................... 	 27	 00
		28.	Overpayment	to	be	refunded	—	Line	25	less	Lines	26	and	27.............................................................................		REFUND	 28	 00
		29.	If	Line	24	is	less	than	Line	17,	enter	UNDERPAYMENT	here	............................................................................................. 	 29	 00

			30.	Enter	total	amount	on	Line	30	 	 	30	 00
			31.	TOTAL	DUE	—	Add	Lines	29	and	30	(U.S.	funds	only)	................................................................................. 	 TOTAL	DUE	 	31	 00

MO-1120	(12-2012)

FORM MO-1120
Missouri Corporation

INCOME TAX
Return for 2012

Beginning	 ,	20
Ending	 ,	20

Missouri Corporation
FRANCHISE TAX

Return for 2013
Beginning	 ,	20
Ending	 ,	20

MO	TAX	I.D.	NUMBER	 CHARTER	NUMBER	 FEDERAL	I.D.	NUMBER

	 B.		Return	filed	for	BOTH	(income	and	franchise)
	 C.		Return	filed	for	INCOME	tax	only
	 D.		Return	filed	for	FRANCHISE	tax	only
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	14.	 Corporation	Income	Tax	—	6.25%	of	Line	13	....................................................................................................................... 	 14	 00
	15.	 Recapture	of	Missouri	Low	Income	Housing	Credit		(attach	a	copy	of	Federal	Form	8611)		(see	instructions)		.................. 	 15	 00
	16.	 Corporation	Franchise	Tax	(Complete	Schedule	MO-FT	and	attach	balance	sheet)	........................................................... 	 16	 00
17.	 Total	Tax	—	Add	Lines	14,	15,	and	16	.................................................................................................................................. 	 17	 00
	18.	 Tax	credits	—	(attach	Form	MO-TC)	..................................................................................................................................... 	 18	 00
	19.	 Estimated	tax	payments	(include	approved	overpayments	applied	from	previous	year)	.......................................................... 	 19	 00
20.	 Payments	with	Form	MO-7004	............................................................................................................................................. 	 20	 00
	21.	 AMENDED	RETURN	ONLY:	Tax	paid	with	(or	after)	the	filing	of	the	original	return............................................................ 	 21	 00
	22.	 Subtotal	—	Add	Lines	18	through	21	.................................................................................................................................... 	 22	 00
	23.	 AMENDED	RETURN	ONLY:	Overpayment,	if	any,	as	shown	on	original	return	or	as	later	adjusted	.................................. 	 23	 00
	24.	 Total	—	Line	22	less	Line	23	................................................................................................................................................. 	 24	 00
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Under	penalties	of	 perjury,	 I	 declare	 that	 I	 have	examined	 this	 return,	 including	accompanying	 schedules	and	 statements,	 and	 to	 the	best	 of		
my	knowledge	and	belief,	 it	 is	 true,	correct,	and	complete.	 	Declaration	of	preparer	 (other	 than	 taxpayer)	 is	based	on	all	 information	of	which	
he	or	she	has	any	knowledge.		As	provided	in	Chapter	143,	RSMo,	a	penalty	of	up	to	$500	shall	be	imposed	on	any	corporation	which	files	a		
frivolous	return.		I	declare	under	penalties	of	perjury	that	I	employ	no	illegal	or	unauthorized	aliens	as	defined	under	federal	law	and	that	I	am	not	
eligible	for	any	tax	exemption,	credit	or	abatement	if	I	employ	such	aliens.	I	also	declare	that	if	I	am	a	business	entity,	I	participate	in	a	federal	
work	authorization	program	with	respect	to	the	employees	working	in	connection	with	any	contracted	services,	and	I	do	not	knowingly	employ	any	
person	who	is	an	unauthorized	alien	in	connection	with	any	contracted	services.

SI
G
NA
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RE

SIGNATURE	OF	OFFICER	(REQUIRED)	 TITLE	OF	OFFICER	 PHONE	NUMBER	 DATE	SIGNED	(MMDDYYYY)

PREPARER’S	SIGNATURE	(INCLUDING	INTERNAL	PREPARER)	 PREPARER’S	FEIN,	SSN,	OR	PTIN	 PHONE	NUMBER	 DATE	SIGNED	(MMDDYYYY)

DOR
ONLY

I	authorize the	Director	of	Revenue	or	
delegate	to	discuss	my	return	and		
attachments	with	the	preparer	or	any		
member	of	his	or	her	firm,	or	if	internally		
prepared,	any	member	of	the	internal	staff. 	 S

 E
 B
 F

Balance Sheet Date (MMDDYY)

	 YES

	 NO

CORPORATION	NAME

NUMBER	AND	STREET	

CITY	OR	TOWN,	STATE,	ZIP	CODE

		A.		
Check	this	box	if	your	assets	in	Missouri	(Schedule	MO-FT,	Line	6a),	or	apportioned	to	Missouri	(Schedule	
MO-FT,	Line	6b)	do	not	exceed	$10,000,000.	You	do	not	owe	franchise	tax.		If	your	assets	do	exceed	the	
$10,000,000	threshold,	you	must	complete	and	attach	Schedule	MO-FT	and	enter	the	franchise	tax	
due	on	the	Form	MO-1120,	Line	16	below.		If	Box	A	is	checked,	Box	C	cannot	be	checked.

Check	Applicable	Boxes	 Attach	copy	of	Federal	Return,	pages	1–5

MAIL	TO:
Balance	Due
	Missouri	Department	of	Revenue	
P.O.	Box	3365	
Jefferson	City,	MO		65105-3365

MAIL	TO:
Refund	or	No	Amount	Due
	Missouri	Department	of	Revenue	
P.O.	Box	700	
Jefferson	City,	MO		65105-0700

	 	Consolidated	MO	Return

	 	Consolidated	Federal	and	
Separate	Missouri	Return

	 	Amended	Return
	 Name	Change
	 	Address	Change

	 	Final	Corporation	
Income	Tax	
Return

	 Bankruptcy
	 1120C
	 990T

(_	_	_)_	_	_-_	_	_	_

(_	_	_)_	_	_-_	_	_	_

SOFTWARE	VENDOR	CODE
(Assigned	by	DOR)

001

If	you	pay	by	check,	you	authorize	the	Department	of	Revenue	to	process	the	check	electronically.	Any	returned	check	may	be	presented	again	electronically.

	1.	 Federal	Taxable	Income	from	Federal	Form	1120,	Line	30	.................................................................................................. 	 1	 00
	2.	 Corporation	income	tax	from	Missouri,	or	other	states,	their	subdivisions,	and	District	of	
	 	 Columbia	deducted	in	determining	federal	taxable	income	..............................................	 2	 00
	3.	 Missouri	modifications	—	Additions	(complete	Page	2,	Part	1)	........................................	 3	 00
	4.	 Total	additions	—	Add	Lines	2	and	3	.................................................................................................................................... 	 4	 00
	5.	 Missouri	modifications	—	Subtractions	(complete	Page	2,	Part	2)	....................................................................................... 	 5	 00
	6.	 Balance	—	Line	1	plus	Line	4	less	Line	5	............................................................................................................................. 	 6	 00
	7.	 Small	Business	Deduction	for	New	Jobs	under	Section	143.173,	RSMo		(complete	Form	MO-NJD)	.................................. 	 7	 00
	8.	 Federal	Income	Tax	—	current	year	(complete	Page	2,	Part	3)	........................................................................................... 	 8	 00
	9.	 Missouri	Taxable	Income	—	all	sources	—	Line	6	less	Line	7	and	Line	8	............................................................................ 	 9	 00
	10.	 Missouri	Taxable	Income	—	if	all	Missouri	income,	repeat	Line	9.	If	not,	complete	Schedule	MO-MS	and	enter	apportionment	
	 	 method	chosen	 ,	and	the	applicable	%		 Multiply	Line	9	by	the	percentage	................... 	 10	 00
	11.	 Missouri	Dividends	Deduction	(see	instructions	before	entering	an	amount)	....................................................................... 	 11	 00
	12.	 Enterprise	Zone	or	Rural	Empowerment	Zone	Income	Modification..................................................................................... 	 12	 00
	13.	 Missouri	Taxable	Income	—	Line	10	less	Line	11	and	Line	12	............................................................................................. 	 13	 00

									Missouri	
Military	

Family	Relief	
Fund

LEADWorkers General	

	Revenue

Additional	
Fund	Code	
(See	Instr.)

______|______
Children’s
Trust	Fund	

Veterans
Trust	Fund	

						Missouri
National	Guard	
Trust	Fund

Workers’	
Memorial	Fund	

Elderly	Home	
Delivered	Meals
Trust	Fund

Childhood
Lead	Testing

Fund	
After	School	
Retreat	Fund		

Organ	Donor	
Program	Fund

					General
Revenue	Fund	

Additional	
Fund	Code	
(See	Instr.)

______|______

Interest

	 	 	 	 	 	

Penalty

	 	 	 	 	

Form	MO-2220
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

.

_	_/_	_/_	_	_	_

_	_/_	_/_	_	_	_

_	_/_	_/_	_	_	_



NEW MISSOURI REFUND DEBIT 
CARD 

New in 2013, the Missouri Department of Revenue is offering 
the option of a Refund Debit Card for receiving your refund 
on your Missouri Individual Income Tax Return or Property Tax 
Credit Claim.

 
What are some benefits of receiving your refund on a debit card?
	 	 •	NO bank account required.
	 	 •	NO check-cashing fees.
	 	 •	Access to your funds, 24 hours a day.

How do I receive my refund on a debit card?
	 	 •	Mark the “debit card” box located on the refund line of your 	
	 	 	 	 return.
	 	 •	When your card arrives in the mail, activate it by phone or 
	 	 	 online.
	 	 •	Once activated, create your own personal identification 	
	 	 	 number and you can use your card immediately.

Where can I use the refund debit card, for free?
	 You can use your refund debit card, for free, almost anywhere 	
	 Visa is accepted:
	 	 •	Use it online for purchases or to pay bills.
	 	 •	Use it in stores across the U.S.
	 	 •	Use it to get cash back with purchases at supermarkets and 
	 	 	 other stores.
	 	 •	Use it at ATMs.  You may make one cash withdrawal at any ATM  	
	 	 	 you choose (ATM surcharge may apply) and unlimited cash 
	 	 	 withdrawals at in-network ATMs.



2012
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Reference Guide

Missouri Department of Revenue

Tax Assistance Centers Area Offices
Public hours Monday through Friday at the offices listed below are:

 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

CAPE GIRARDEAU	 JEFFERSON CITY 	 JOPLIN
3102 Blattner Dr.	 301 W. High St.	 1110 East 7th St.
Suite 102	 Room 330	 Suite 400
(573) 290-5850	 (573) 751-7191	 (417) 629-3070
FAX (573) 290-5842	 FAX (573) 522-1719	 FAX (417) 629-3076

KANSAS CITY	 SPRINGFIELD	 ST. JOSEPH
615 East 13th St.	 149 Park Central Sq.	 525 Jules, Suite 300
Room B-2	 Room 313	 Room 314
(816) 889-2944	 (417) 895-6474	 (816) 387-2230
FAX (816) 889-2876	 FAX (417) 895-6233	 FAX (816) 387-2008

ST. LOUIS	 OTHER IMPORTANT NUMBERS
3256 Laclede Station Rd.	 Ombudsman    (573) 526-3872
Suite 101	 IVR Refund/1099G/Balance Due Inquiry 
(314) 877-0177	 (573) 526-8299
FAX (314) 877-0198	 Electronic Filing Information  (573) 751-3930
	 General Inquiry Line (573) 751-3505 
	 Internet Address: www.dor.mo.gov
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MINIMUM FILING REQUIREMENTS

The following information is to be used as a quick reference for determining the  
minimum income level that, when reached, would require a taxpayer to file both 
Federal and Missouri Income Tax returns. The difference between federal and state 
requirement is the personal exemption amount. Section 143.481, RSMo, states the 
filing requirements of a Missouri resident and nonresident, which includes in it the 
requirement to file a federal income tax return.

Marital Status	 Federal AGI	 Missouri AGI
Single	 $  9,750	 $  8,050
Single (Over 65)	 11,200	 9,500
Married Filing Jointly	 19,500	 16,100
Married Filing Jointly (1 over 65)	 20,650	 17,250
Married Filing Jointly (Both over 65)	 21,800	 18,400
Head of Household	 12,500	 12,200
Head of Household (over 65)	 13,950	 13,650
Married Filing Separate	 3,800	 2,100

Filing Requirements
You do not have to file a Missouri return if you are not required to file a federal return.

If you are required to file a federal return, you may not have to file a Missouri return if you:
	 •	 �are a resident and have less than $1,200 of Missouri adjusted gross income;
	 •	 �are a nonresident with less than $600 of Missouri income; or
	 •	 �your Missouri adjusted gross income is less than the amount of your standard 

deduction plus the exemption amount for your filing status.

Note:  If you are not required to file a Missouri return, but you received a Form 
W-2 stating you had Missouri tax withheld, you must file your Missouri return to get a 
refund of your Missouri withholding.  If you are not required to file a Missouri return and 
you do not anticipate an increase in income, you may change your Form MO W-4 to 
“exempt” so your employer will not withhold Missouri tax.

ATTENTION: � If a taxpayer is claimed as a dependent on another person’s return, 
the standard deduction is the greater of $950 or the earned income 
for the year plus $300 up to the standard deduction amount.

– 1 –



– 2 –

SELECTING THE CORRECT RETURN 

	 I.	� Form MO-1040 (long form) must be used if:
	 	 •	 Miscellaneous tax credits (taken on Form 	
	 	 	 MO-TC) are claimed;
	 	 •	 Form MO-NRI or Form MO-CR is used;
	 	 •	 �Any Missouri modifications claimed other 

than a state income tax refund subtraction;
	 	 •	 You owe a penalty for underpayment of 		
	 	 	 estimated tax;
	 	 •	 You are filing an amended return;
	 	 •	 You owe recapture tax on low income 	 	
	 	 	 housing credit;
		  •	 You owe tax on a lump sum distribution 		
	 	 	 included on Federal Form 1040, Line 44;
	 	 •	 You claim a pension, Social Security, 	 	
			   Social Security Disability or military
	 	 	 exemption;
	 	 •	 Payment is made with Form MO-60;
	 	 •	 You are claiming a deduction for  

	 	 	 dependents age 65 or older;
		 •	 You are a fiscal year filer.

II. Form MO-PTC* must be used if:
		� You are not filing an individual income tax 

return (Form MO-1040 or MO-1040P) and you 
qualify for a property tax credit;

	
	 *Form MO-PTC should be filed ONLY if not 	
	 filing a federal or a state individual income 	
	 tax return; otherwise, use Form MO-PTS 		
	 with Form MO-1040 or MO-1040P.
	
	 *If you have a negative income, you cannot 	
	 use this form. 

Exception:  If your filing status on Form MO-1040 is married filing combined, but 
you and your spouse lived at different addresses the entire year, you may file a  
separate Form MO-PTC. (Example: One spouse lives in a nursing home or 
residential care facility while the other spouse remains in the home the entire year.)  
If filing a separate Form MO-PTC, you cannot take the $2,000 deduction on Line 7 
and you cannot calculate your Property Tax Credit on the Form MO-PTS.

For Privacy Notice, see Instructions.

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN—LONG FORM

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER  SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

LAST NAME  FIRST NAME    M. INITIAL  SUFFIX (JR, SR, etc.)

SPOUSE’S LAST NAME  FIRST NAME    M. INITIAL  SUFFIX (JR, SR, etc.)

IN CARE OF NAME (ATTORNEY, EXECUTOR, PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE, ETC.)  COUNTY OF RESIDENCE 

PRESENT ADDRESS (INCLUDE APARTMENT NUMBER OR RURAL ROUTE) CITY, TOWN, OR POST OFFICE, STATE, AND ZIP CODE

EX
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O
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You may contribute to any one or all of the 
trust funds on Line 45.  See pages 9–10 
for a description of each trust fund, as well 
as trust fund codes to enter on Line 45.

Yourself Spouse

 A. Single — $2,100 (See Box B before checking.)
 B.  Claimed as a dependent on another person’s federal 

tax return — $0.00
 C.  Married filing joint federal & combined Missouri — $4,200 
 D. Married filing separate — $2,100

 E.  Married filing separate (spouse
NOT filing) — $4,200

 F. Head of household — $3,500
 G.  Qualifying widow(er) with

  dependent child — $3,500

FOR CALENDAR YEAR JAN. 1–DEC. 31, 2012, OR FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING                       20 ____ , ENDING                    20 ____

N
A

M
E

 A
N

D
 A

D
D

R
E

S
S

AMENDED RETURN — CHECK HERE

IN
C

O
M

E

DECEASED
 2012

DECEASED
 2012

2012 FORM MO-1040
SOFTWARE

VENDOR CODE
(Assigned by DOR)

002

___ ___ ___ - ___ ___ - ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ ___ - ___ ___ - ___ ___ ___ ___

AGE 62 THROUGH 64
  YOURSELF

  SPOUSE

PLEASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES THAT APPLY TO YOURSELF OR YOUR SPOUSE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2012.
AGE 65 OR OLDER BLIND 100% DISABLED NON-OBLIGATED SPOUSE

  YOURSELF   YOURSELF   YOURSELF   YOURSELF

  SPOUSE   SPOUSE   SPOUSE   SPOUSE

 1. Federal adjusted gross income from your 2012 federal return (See worksheet on page 6.) .. 1Y 00 1S 00
 2. Total additions (from Form MO‑A, Part 1, Line 6) ................................................................... 2Y 00 2S 00
 3. Total income — Add Lines 1 and 2. ........................................................................................ 3Y 00 3S 00
 4. Total subtractions (from Form MO‑A, Part 1, Line 14) ............................................................ 4Y 00 4S 00
 5. Missouri adjusted gross income — Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. ............................................ 5Y 00 5S 00
 6. Total Missouri adjusted gross income — Add columns 5Y and 5S. .......................................................................  6 00
 7. Income percentages — Divide columns 5Y and 5S by total on Line 6.  (Must equal 100%.) .... 7Y % 7S   %

 8. Pension and Social Security/Social Security Disability/Military exemption (from Form MO‑A, Part 3, Section E.) ... 8 00
 9.  Mark your filing status box below and enter the appropriate exemption amount on Line 9.

    9 00

Children’s
Trust Fund 

Veterans
Trust Fund 

       Missouri
       National
       Guard

Trust Fund

Workers

Workers’ 
Memorial
Fund 

           Elderly
           Home 
           Delivered
Meals Trust Fund

LEAD
       Childhood
         Lead
        Testing

Fund 

General 

 Revenue

General
   Revenue
      Fund 

 After
 School  
 Retreat
           Fund  

      Missouri 
        Military 
Family Relief     
     Fund 

10. Tax from federal return  (Do not enter federal income tax withheld.)
 • Federal Form 1040, Line 55 minus Lines 45, 64a, 66, 67, and amounts from Forms 8801, 8839 and 8885 on Line 71
 • Federal Form 1040A, Line 35 minus Lines 38a and 40 and any alternative minimum tax included on Line 28
 • Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 10 minus Line 8a .................................................................... 10 00
11. Other tax from federal return — Attach copy of your federal return (pages 1 and 2). ........ 11 00
12. Total tax from federal return —  Add Lines 10 and 11. ................................................. 12 00
13. Federal tax deduction — Enter amount from Line 12 not to exceed $5,000 for individual filer;
 $10,000 for combined filers. ................................................................................................................................. 13 00
14. Missouri standard deduction or itemized deductions.  Single or Married Filing Separate — $5,950; Head of 
 Household— $8,700;  Married Filing a Combined Return or Qualifying Widow(er) — $11,900; If you are age 65 or 
 older, blind, or claimed as a dependent, see your federal return or page 7.   
 If you are itemizing, see Form MO‑A, Part 2 ......................................................................................  14 00
15. Number of dependents from Federal Form 1040 or 1040A, Line 6c
 (DO NOT INCLUDE YOURSELF OR SPOUSE.)  ......................................................  x $1,200 = ..... 15 00
16. Number of dependents on Line 15 who are 65 years of age or older and do not
 receive Medicaid or state funding (DO NOT INCLUDE YOURSELF OR SPOUSE.) . x $1,000 = ..... 16 00
17. Long‑term care insurance deduction .................................................................................................................... 17 00
18.  A. Health care sharing ministry deduction $ _____________    B. New jobs deduction $ _____________  ....... 18 00
19. Total deductions — Add Lines 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18. .......................................................................... 19 00
20. Subtotal — Subtract Line 19 from Line 6. ............................................................................................................ 20 00
21. Multiply Line 20 by appropriate percentages (%) on Lines 7Y and 7S. .................................. 21Y 00 21S 00
22. Enterprise zone or rural empowerment zone income modification ......................................... 22Y 00 22S 00
23. Subtract Line 22 from Line 21.  Enter here and on Line 24. ................................................... 23Y 00 23S 00

Organ Donor 
Program Fund

MO-1040 (12-2012)

201
2

Do not 
include 
yourself 

or 
spouse.

x
x

9

LAST NAME FIRST NAME INITIAL BIRTHDATE (MMDDYYYY) SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

SPOUSE’S LAST NAME FIRST NAME INITIAL BIRTHDATE (MMDDYYYY) SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

IN CARE OF NAME (ATTORNEY, EXECUTOR, PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE, ETC.)                   TELEPHONE NUMBER

PRESENT HOME ADDRESS                                                                                      APT. NUMBER CITY, TOWN, OR POST OFFICE, STATE, AND ZIP CODE

 9. If you owned your home, enter the total amount of property tax paid for your home, less special assessments,  
  or $1,100, whichever is less.  ATTACH A COPY OF PAID REAL ESTATE TAX RECEIPT(S). IF YOUR HOME IS ON 
    MORE THAN FIVE ACRES OR YOU OWN A MOBILE HOME, ATTACH FORM 948, ASSESSOR’S CERTIFICATION.. . .  9
10. If you rented, enter the total amount from Form(s) MO-CRP, Line 9, or $750, whichever is less.  Attach rent receipts or a 
  signed statement from your landlord. NOTE:  If you rent from a facility that does not pay property tax, you are not 
    eligible for a Property Tax Credit. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  10

11. Enter the total of Lines 9 and 10, or $1,100, whichever is less. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  11 

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM
2012
FORM

MO-PTC

PLACE LABEL IN BLOCK

 A. 65 years of age or older  (ATTACH A COPY OF FORM SSA‑1099.)

 B. 100% Disabled Veteran as a result of military service  (ATTACH A COPY 
    OF THE LETTER FROM DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS.)

(__ __ __) __ __ __ – __ __ __ __

 C. 100% Disabled  (ATTACH A COPY OF THE LETTER FROM  
    SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION OR FORM SSA‑1099.)
 D. 60 years of age or older and received surviving spouse
  benefits  (ATTACH A COPY OF FORM SSA‑1099.)

AMENDED
CLAIM

 1.   Enter the amount of social security benefits received by you, your spouse, and your minor children before any deductions  
and the amount of social security equivalent railroad retirement benefits.

  ATTACH FORMS SSA‑1099 and RRB‑1099. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1
 2. Enter the total amount of wages, pensions, annuities, dividends, interest income, rental income, or other income.   
  ATTACH FORMS W‑2, 1099, 1099‑R, 1099‑DIV, 1099‑INT, 1099‑MISC, ETC. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2
 3. Enter the amount of railroad retirement benefits (not included in Line 1) before any deductions.
  ATTACH FORM RRB‑1099‑R (TIER II). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3
 4. Enter the amount of veteran’s payments or benefits before any deductions. ATTACH LETTER FROM VETERANS AFFAIRS. . . . 4
 5. Enter the total amount received by you, your spouse, and your minor children from:  public assistance, SSI, child support, 
  Temporary Assistance payments (TA and TANF).  ATTACH COPY OF FORMS SSA‑1099, A LETTER FROM THE
    SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION AND SOCIAL SERVICES THAT INCLUDES THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF  
    ASSISTANCE RECEIVED AND EMPLOYMENT SECURITY 1099, IF APPLICABLE. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5

 6. TOTAL household income — Add Lines 1 through 5.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
 7. Mark the box that applies and enter the appropriate amount.
    a. Enter $0 if filing status is Single or Married Living Separate;
  If married and filing combined;
    b. Enter $2,000 if you rented or did not own your home for the entire year;
    c. Enter $4,000 if you owned and occupied your home for the entire year; . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .     7
 8.  Net household income — Subtract Line 7 from Line 6; and enter the amount; mark the box that applies.
    a. If you rented or did not own and occupy your home for the entire year, Line 8 cannot exceed $27,500. 
     If the total is greater than $27,500, STOP ‑ no credit is allowed. Do not file this claim.
    b. If you owned and occupied your home for the entire year, Line 8 cannot exceed $30,000. 
     If the total is greater than $30,000, STOP ‑ no credit is allowed. Do not file this claim. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
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12. You must use the chart on pages 13‑15 to see how much refund you are allowed.
  Apply amounts from Lines 8 and 11 to chart on pages 13-15 to figure your Property Tax Credit.
  Check the box if you want your refund issued on a debit card.  See instructions for Line 12. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  Debit Card  12
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For Privacy Notice, see instructions. MO-PTC (12-2012)
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FILING STATUS
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You must check a qualification to be eligible for a credit.  Check only one.  REQUIRED COPIES OF LETTERS, FORMS, ETC., MUST BE INCLUDED WITH CLAIM.

 Single   Married — Filing Combined   Married — Living Separate for Entire Year

-

If married filing combined, 
you must report both incomes.

FAILURE TO PROVIDE THE ATTACHMENTS LISTED BELOW (RENT RECEIPT(S), TAX RECEIPT(S), FORMS 1099, W-2, ETC.) WILL RESULT IN DENIAL OR DELAY OF YOUR CLAIM! 

SIGNATURE DATE (MMDDYYYY) PREPARER’S SIGNATURE FEIN, SSN, OR PTIN

SPOUSE’S SIGNATURE (If filing combined, BOTH must sign) DAYTIME TELEPHONE PREPARER’S ADDRESS AND ZIP CODE  DATE (MMDDYYYY)

I authorize the Director of Revenue or delegate to discuss my claim and attachments 
with the preparer or any member of the preparer’s firm.    YES  NO

SI
G

N
A

TU
R

E

PREPARER’S PHONEE-MAIL ADDRESS

Mail claim and attachments to Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2800, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2800.

DECEASED
 2012

DECEASED
 2012

SOFTWARE
VENDOR CODE

(Assigned by DOR)

000

_ _ / _ _ / _ _ _ _

_ _ / _ _ / _ _ _ _

(_ _ _) _ _ _- _ _ _ _

(__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. Declaration of 
preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which he or she has any knowledge. As provided in Chapter 143, RSMo, a penalty of up to $500 shall be imposed on any individual who files a frivolous 
return. I also declare under penalties of perjury that I employ no illegal or unauthorized aliens as defined under federal law and that I am not eligible for any tax exemption, credit or abatement if I employ such aliens.

00

_ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _

_ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _

__  __ /__  __ /__  __  __  __

__  __ /__  __ /__  __  __  __



III.	 Form MO-1040P may be used if:
	 	 •	 Any filing status is claimed;
	 	 •	 One or two income earner; all earned in 		
	 	 	 Missouri;
	 	 •	 Standard or itemized deductions;
	 	 •	 �Your state income tax refund is included in 

your federal income (if itemized last year);
	 	 •	 You claim a pension, Social Security, Social 	
	 	 	 Security Disability or military exemption;
	 	 •	 Estimated tax payments were made;
	 	 •	 Resident, nonresident, or part-year resident 	
			   with 100 percent Missouri source income.

IV.	 Form MO-PTS must be used if:
	 	 •	 Filing Form MO-1040P and claiming the 		
	 	 	 Property Tax Credit;
	 	 •	 Filing Form MO-1040 (long form) and claiming 	
			   the Property Tax Credit.

V.		 Form MO-1040A may be used if:
	 	 •	 �Any filing status, but only one income earner, 

all earned in Missouri;
	 	 •	 Standard or itemized deductions;
	 	 •	 Your state income tax refund is included in 	
	 	 	 your federal income (if itemized last year);
	 	 •	 Resident, nonresident, or part-year resident 	
	 	 	 with 100 percent Missouri source income;
	 	 •	 Do not have any tax credits or modifications 	
			   to your income.

– 3 –

19

For Privacy Notice, see instructions.
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Do not  
include 
yourself 
or your 
spouse.

If 65 or 
older or 
blind the 

appropriate 
boxes must 
be checked 

above.

x

MO-1040P (12-2012)

	 	 		 	 	6	 	 00
CAUTION!

xSee Page 6, 
Line 7.

MISSOURI INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN AND PROPERTY 
TAX CREDIT CLAIM/PENSION EXEMPTION—SHORT FORM 2012 FORM MO-1040P

LAST	NAME	 FIRST	NAME	 MIDDLE	INITIAL	 SOCIAL	SECURITY	NUMBER

SPOUSE’S	LAST	NAME	 FIRST	NAME	 MIDDLE	INITIAL	 SPOUSE’S	SOCIAL	SECURITY	NUMBER

IN	CARE	OF	NAME	(ATTORNEY,	EXECUTOR,	PERSONAL	REPRESENTATIVE,	ETC.)	 																														 COUNTY	OF	RESIDENCE

PRESENT	ADDRESS	(INCLUDE	APARTMENT	NO.	OR	RURAL	ROUTE)																																																																																APT.	NUMBER					CITY,	TOWN,	OR	POST	OFFICE,	STATE,	AND	ZIP	CODE

DECEASED
	2012

DECEASED
	2012

SOFTWARE
VENDOR	CODE

(Assigned	by	DOR)

002

__ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __

__ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __

PLEASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOXES THAT APPLY TO YOURSELF OR YOUR SPOUSE.
AGE 65 OR OLDER BLIND 100% DISABLED NON-OBLIGATED SPOUSE

		YOURSELF	 		YOURSELF	 		YOURSELF	 		YOURSELF

		SPOUSE	 		SPOUSE	 		SPOUSE	 		SPOUSE

AGE 62 THROUGH 64
		YOURSELF

		SPOUSE

You	may	contribute	to	any	one	or	
all	of	the	trust	funds	that	are	listed	
to	the	right.	Place	the	total	amount	
contributed	on	Line	24.	See	 the	
in	structions	for	a	list	of	Trust	Fund	
Codes.

2012
	 1.	 Federal Adjusted Gross Income	from	your	2012	federal	return
	 	 (See	worksheet	on	page	8.). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 1Y	 		 00	 1S	 	 00
	 2.	 Any	state	income	tax	refund	included	in	your	2012	federal	adjusted	gross	income.	. . . . . . . . . 	 2Y	 –	 00	 2S	 –	 00

	 3.	 Subtract	Line	2	from	Line	1.		This	is	your	Missouri	adjusted	gross	income.	. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 3Y	 	=	 00	 3S	 =	 00

	 4.	 TOTAL MISSOURI ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME	—	Add	both	numbers	on	Line	3	and	enter	here.	 . . . . . 	 4	 	 00
	 5.	 Income	percentages	—	Divide	Line	3	by	Line	4	for	both	you	and	your	spouse.
	 	 (The	total	of	the	two	must	equal	100%.	Round	to	the	nearest	whole	number.)	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 5Y	 %	 5S	 %

	A.	 Single	—	$2,100 (See Box B before checking.)

	B.	 	Claimed	as	a	dependent	on	another	person’s	federal
tax	return	—	$0.00

	C.	 	Married	filing	joint	federal	&	combined	Missouri	—	$4,200 

	D.	 Married	filing	separate	—	$2,100

	 E.	 	Married	filing	separate	(spouse
NOT	filing)	— $4,200

	F.	 Head	of	household	—	$3,500

	G.	 	Qualifying	widow(er)	with
	 	 dependent	child	—	$3,500 . . . . 	

	 6.	 	Mark	your	filing	status	box	below	and	enter	the	appropriate	exemption	amount	on	Line	6.

Children’s
Trust	Fund	

Veterans
Trust	Fund	

Missouri	National
Guard	Trust	

Fund

Workers

Workers’	Memorial
Fund	

Elderly	Home	
Delivered	Meals	
Trust	Fund

LEAD

Childhood	
Lead	Testing

Fund	

General	

	Revenue

General	Revenue
Fund	

After	School
Retreat	Fund		

Missouri	Military	
Family	Relief	

Fund	

Organ	Donor	
Program	Fund

00

	 7.	 Tax	from	federal	return		(Do	not		 Single—maximum	of	$5,000;
	 	 enter	amount	from	your	Forms	W-2	—	 Married	filing	combined—maximum
	 		 NOT	federal	tax	withheld.)	 of	$10,000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 	7	 +	 00
	 8.	 Missouri	Standard	or	Itemized	Deduction
	 	 Taxpayers Under Age 65  Taxpayers Age 65 or Older
	 	 Single	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	$5,950	 Single	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $7,400
	 	 Married	Filing	Combined . . . . . . . 	$11,900	 Married	Filing	Combined	and	YOU	are	Age
	 	 Married	Filing	Separate. . . . . . . . . .$5,950	 	 	 65	or	Older	. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $13,050
	 	 Head	of	Household	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.	.$8,700	 Married	Filing	Combined	and	You	and	Your
	 	 Qualifying	Widow(er) . . . . . . . . . . .$11,900	 					Spouse	are	BOTH	Age	65	or	Older . . . . . . . $14,200
	 	 	 	 Married	Filing	Separate. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $7,100
	 	 	 	 Head	of	Household . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10,150
	 	 	 	 Qualifying	Widow(er). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $13,050

	 	 If	blind	or	claimed	as	a	dependent,	see	your	federal	return	or	pages	6	and	7	of	the	instructions.			
	 	 If	itemizing,	see	page	18	or	22	of	the	instructions. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 8	 +	 00
	 9.	 Number	of	dependents	from	Federal	Form	1040	or	1040A,	Line	6c
	  (DO NOT INCLUDE YOURSELF OR SPOUSE.)  																																												x		$1,200	 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 							9	 	+	 00
	
	10.	 Pension	exemption	(Complete	worksheet	on	page	17	or	21	of	the	instructions.)		Attach	worksheet,		
	 	 a	copy	of	federal	return,	Forms	W-2P	and	1099-R.	. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 10	 +	 00

	11.	 Long-term	care	insurance	deduction 	. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 11	 +	 00

	12.	 TOTAL DEDUCTIONS	—	Add	Lines	6	through	11.	. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 12	 =	 00
	13.	 Missouri Taxable Income	—	Subtract	Line	12	(Total	Deductions)	from	Line	4	(Total	Missouri	Income)
	 			and	enter	here. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 	 13	 	 00

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT

2012
FORM

MO-PTS

 A.   65 years of age or older (Attach a copy of Form 
SSA-1099.)

 B.  100% Disabled Veteran as a result of military service 
(Attach a copy of the letter from Department of  
Veterans Affairs.)

 C.  100% Disabled  (Attach a copy of the letter from Social 
Security Administration or Form SSA-1099.)

 D.  60 years of age or older and received surviving 
spouse benefits  (Attach a copy of Form SSA-1099.)

LAST NAME FIRST NAME INITIAL BIRTHDATE (MM/DD/YYYY) SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

SPOUSE’S LAST NAME FIRST NAME INITIAL BIRTHDATE (MM/DD/YYYY) SPOUSE’S SOCIAL SECURITY NO.

Attachment Sequence No. 1040-07 and 1040P-01

Q
U
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C
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TI

O
N

S

FILING STATUS

N
A

M
E

You must check a qualification to be eligible for a credit.  Check only one.  Copies of letters, forms, etc., must be included with claim. 

 Single     Married — Filing Combined     Married — Living Separate for Entire Year

 1. Enter the amount of income from Form MO‑1040, Line 6, or Form MO‑1040P, Line 4. ..................................................  1 00
 2. Enter the amount of nontaxable social security benefits received by you, your spouse, and your minor children 
 before any deductions and the amount of social security equivalent railroad retirement benefits. 
 Attach a copy of Form SSA-1099 and RRB-1099. .......................................................................................................   2 00
 3. Enter the total amount of pensions, annuities, dividends, rental income, or interest income not included in Line 1.   
 Include tax exempt interest from Form MO‑A, Part 1, Line 7 (if filing Form MO‑1040).  
 Attach Forms W-2, 1099, 1099-R, 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, etc. .......................................................................  3 00
 4. Enter the amount of railroad retirement benefits (not included in Line 2) before any deductions. 
 Attach Form RRB-1099-R (Tier II).  If filing Form MO-1040, refer to Form MO-A, Part 1, Line 9. ................................  4 00
 5. Enter the amount of veterans payments or benefits before any deductions.  Attach letter from Veterans Affairs. .............  5 00
 6. Enter the total amount received by you, your spouse, and your minor children from:  public assistance, SSI, child support, 
 or Temporary Assistance payments (TA and TANF).  Attach a copy of Forms SSA-1099, a letter from the Social 
 Security Administration and Social Services that includes the total amount of assistance received and 
 Employment Security 1099, if applicable. .......................................................................................................................  6 00
 7. Enter the amount of nonbusiness loss(es).  You must include nonbusiness losses in your household income 
 (as a positive amount) here.  (Include capital loss from Federal Form 1040, Line 13.) ..............................................   7 00
 8. TOTAL household income — Add Lines 1 through 7. Enter total here. ...........................................................................   8 00
 9. Mark the box that applies and enter the appropriate amount. 
   a. Enter $0 if filing status is Single or Married Living Separate;
  If married and filing combined;
   b. Enter $2,000 if you rented or did not own your home for the entire year;
   c. Enter $4,000 if you owned and occupied your home for the entire year; ............................................................. 9 00
10.  Net household income — Subtract Line 9 from Line 8 and enter the amount; mark the box that applies. 

  a. If you rented or did not own and occupy your home for the entire year, Line 10 cannot exceed $27,500. 
   If the total is greater than $27,500, STOP - no credit is allowed. Do not file this claim.
  b. If you owned and occupied your home for the entire year, Line 10 cannot exceed $30,000. 
   If the total is greater than $30,000, STOP - no credit is allowed. Do not file this claim. ................................ 10 00

11. If you owned your home, enter the total amount of property tax paid for your home, less special assessments,  
 or $1,100, whichever is less.  Attach a copy of PAID real estate tax receipt(s). If your home is on more than 
 five acres or you own a mobile home, attach Form 948, Assessor’s Certification..................................................  11 00

12. If you rented, enter the total amount from Form(s) MO‑CRP, Line 9, or $750, whichever is less.  Attach rent receipts or 
 a signed statement from your landlord. NOTE:  If you rent from a facility that does not pay property tax, you are 
 not eligible for a Property Tax Credit. ...........................................................................................................................  12 00

13. Enter the total of Lines 11 and 12, or $1,100, whichever is less. .....................................................................................  13 00

14. Apply Lines 10 and 13 to the chart in the instructions for MO‑1040, pages 41‑43 or MO‑1040P, pages 29‑31 to figure 
 your Property Tax Credit. You must use the chart to see how much credit you are allowed. 
 Enter this amount on Form MO‑1040, Line 38 or Form MO‑1040P, Line 20. ..................................................................  14 00

THIS FORM MUST BE ATTACHED TO FORM MO-1040 OR FORM MO-1040P.

-

THIS FORM MUST BE ATTACHED TO FORM MO-1040 OR FORM MO-1040P.

Failure to provide the attachments listed below 
(rent receipt(s), tax receipt(s), Forms 1099, W-2, etc.) will result in denial or delay of your claim.

If married filing combined, 
you must report both incomes.

For Privacy Notice, see instructions.

_ _ / _ _ / _ _ _ _

_ _ / _ _ / _ _ _ _

MO-PTS (12-2012)

_ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _

_ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _

For Privacy Notice, see instructions.

	 1.	 Federal	adjusted	gross	income	from	your	2012	federal	return.	(See	page	6	of	the	instructions.)	................................... 	 1  00
	 2.	 Any	state	income	tax	refund	included	in	your	2012	federal	adjusted	gross	income		............................................. 	 2 – 00
	 3.	 Total	Missouri	adjusted	gross	income	—	Subtract	Line	2	from	Line	1.	................................................................. 	 3 = 00

MISSOURI INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURN
SINGLE/MARRIED (INCOME FROM ONE SPOUSE)—SHORT FORM 2012 FORM MO-1040A

IN
CO

M
E

DE
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NS
TA

X
RE

FU
ND
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O

UN
T 

DU
E

I authorize the Director of Revenue or delegate to discuss my return and attachments with 
the preparer or any member of the preparer’s firm.    YES  NO

SI
G

NA
TU

RE PREPARER’S	PHONEE-MAIL	ADDRESS

LAST	NAME	 FIRST	NAME	 MIDDLE	INITIAL	 SOCIAL	SECURITY	NUMBER

SPOUSE’S	LAST	NAME	 FIRST	NAME	 MIDDLE	INITIAL	 SPOUSE’S	SOCIAL	SECURITY	NUMBER

IN	CARE	OF	NAME	(ATTORNEY,	EXECUTOR,	PERSONAL	REPRESENTATIVE,	ETC.)	 	 COUNTY	OF	RESIDENCE	

PRESENT	ADDRESS	(INCLUDE	APARTMENT	NO.	OR	RURAL	ROUTE)	 CITY,	TOWN,	OR	POST	OFFICE,	STATE,	AND	ZIP	CODE

	

MO-1040A	(12-2012)

AGE 65 OR OLDER BLIND 100% DISABLED NON-OBLIGATED SPOUSE
  YOURSELF   YOURSELF   YOURSELF   YOURSELF

  SPOUSE   SPOUSE   SPOUSE   SPOUSE

DECEASED
	2012

DECEASED
	2012

SOFTWARE
VENDOR CODE

(Assigned by DOR)

002

XSIGNATURE	 DATE	(MMDDYYYY)	 PREPARER’S	SIGNATURE	 FEIN,	SSN,	OR	PTIN

SPOUSE’S	SIGNATURE	(If	filing	combined,	BOTH	must	sign)	 DAYTIME	TELEPHONE	 PREPARER’S	ADDRESS	AND	ZIP	CODE	 	 DATE	(MMDDYYYY)

PLEASE CHECK THE APPROPRIATE 
BOXES THAT APPLY TO YOURSELF 
OR YOUR  SPOUSE.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and complete. Declaration of 
preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which he or she has any knowledge. As provided in Chapter 143, RSMo, a penalty of up to $500 shall be imposed on any individual who files a frivolous 
return. I also declare under penalties of perjury that I employ no illegal or unauthorized aliens as defined under federal law and that I am not eligible for any tax exemption, credit or abatement if I employ such aliens.

If you pay by check, you authorize the Department of Revenue to process the check electronically.  Any check returned unpaid may be presented again electronically.

	 D.	 Married	filing	separate	—	$2,100
 E.  Married	filing	separate	(spouse

NOT	filing)	—	$4,200
	 F.	 Head	of	household	—	$3,500
	 G.	 	Qualifying	widow(er)	with
	 	 dependent	child	—	$3,500

	A.	 Single	—	$2,100 (See Box B before checking.)
	B.	 	Claimed	as	a	dependent	on	another	person’s	federal	

tax	return	— $0.00
	C.	 	Married	filing	joint	federal	&	combined	Missouri	—	$4,200	

Check	which	spouse	had	income:	
	Yourself	 	 	Spouse

2012
	 4.	 	Mark	your	filing	status	box	below	and	enter	the	appropriate	exemption	amount	on	Line	4.

	 	 	 	 4  00

	 5.	 Tax	from	federal	return		(Do not	 	 Enter	this	amount	on	Line	5	or	$5,000,	whichever	is	less.
	 	 enter federal income tax withheld.)	—	 	 If	married	filing	combined,	enter	this	amount	on	Line	5
	 	 	 	 or	$10,000,	whichever	is	less.	...........................................	 5 +   00
	 6.	 Missouri	standard	deduction	or	itemized	deductions.		Single	or	Married	Filing	Separate—	$5,950;	 Head	of	
	 	 Household	—	$8,700;	Married	Filing	a	Combined	Return	or	Qualifying	Widow(er)	—	$11,900.		If	you	are	age	65	or	
	 	 older,	blind,	or	claimed	as	a	dependent,	see	your	federal	return	or	page	7.		
	 	 If	you	are	itemizing,	see	back	of	form.	..................................................................................................................... 	 6 + 00
	 7.	 Number	of	dependents	you	claimed	on	your	Federal	Form	1040	or	1040A,	Line	6c
	  (Do not include yourself or your spouse.)	........................................................... 	 x	$1,200		=	.............. 	 7 + 00
	 8.	 Long-term	care	insurance	deduction	...................................................................................................................... 	 8 + 00
	 9.	 Total	Deductions	—	Add	Lines	4	through	8.	........................................................................................................... 	 9 =	 00

	10.	 Missouri	Taxable	Income	—	Subtract	Line	9	from	Line	3.	...................................................................................... 	 10  00
	11.	 Tax	—	Use	the	tax	table	on	the	back	of	this	form	to	figure	the	tax.	........................................................................ 	 11  00

	12.	 Missouri	tax	withheld	from	your	Forms	W-2	and	Forms	1099.		Attach	copies	of	Forms	W-2	and	Forms	1099.	.....	 12	 00
	13.	 Any	Missouri	estimated	tax	payments	made	for	2012	(include	overpayment	from	2011	applied	to	2012).	............	 13	 00
 14.	 Total	Payments	—	Add	Lines	12	and	13.	................................................................................................................	 14	 00
	15.	 If	Line	14	(Total	Payments)	is	more	than	Line	11	(Total	Tax),	enter	the	difference	(amount of overpayment)	
	 	 here.		(If	Line	14	is	less	than	Line	11,	skip	to	Line	19.)	...........................................................................................	 15	 00
	16.	 Amount	from	Line	15	that	you	want	applied	to	your 2013 estimated tax.	.............................................................	 16	 00
	17.	 Enter	the	amount	
	 	 of	your	donation	in	
	 	 the	trust	fund	boxes	
	 	 to	the	right.		See	the	
	 	 instructions	for	
	 fund	codes.	........17.

Workers

Children’s
Trust Fund 

Veterans
Trust Fund 

      Missouri
National Guard 

Trust Fund
Workers’  

Memorial Fund 
Elderly Home 

Delivered Meals
Trust Fund

Childhood
Lead Testing 

Fund 

After School 
Retreat 
Fund  

General 

 Revenue

Organ Donor 
Program Fund

	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00	 00

LEAD
          Missouri 

Military 
Family Relief 

Fund

   General
Revenue

Fund 

Additional  
Fund Code 
(See Instr.)

______|______

Additional 
Fund Code 
(See Instr.)

______|______

__ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __

__ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __

(__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __

(__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __

__ __/__ __/__ __ __ __

__ __/__ __/__ __ __ __

	18.	  REFUND	-	Subtract	Lines	16	and	17	from	Line	15	and	enter	here.	This	is	your	refund.		Sign below and	mail	to:	
	 	 Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 500, Jefferson City, MO 65106-0500.
  Check	the	box	if	you	want	your	refund	issued	on	a	debit	card.		See	instructions	for	Line	18.	......... 	 	Debit Card	 18	 00

19.		 AMOUNT DUE	-	If	Line	14	is	less	than	Line	11,	enter	the	difference	here.	You	have	an	amount	due.	 
  Sign below	and	mail	to:	Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 329, Jefferson City, MO 65107-0329.
	 	 See	instructions	for	Line	19.	................................................................................................................................... 	 19	 00
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MISSOURI ADJUSTED GROSS INCOME

The starting income on the Missouri tax return is the federal adjusted gross income 
from Federal Form 1040, Line 37; or from Federal Form 1040A, Line 21; or from 
Federal Form 1040EZ, Line 4.

To compute Missouri adjusted gross income, any positive and/or negative  
modifications to federal adjusted gross income must be computed first on Form 
MO-A, Part 1.  The positive and/or negative modifications are entered on Form  
MO-1040, Lines 2 and 4 respectively. Examples of negative modifications are 
exempt federal interest, state tax refund, exempt contributions made to a qualified 
529 plan (higher education savings program) and railroad retirement, both Tier 
1 and Tier 2.  Examples of positive modifications are interest on state and local  
obligations other than Missouri, nonqualified distributions received from a quali-
fied 529 plan (higher education savings program) not used for qualified higher  
education expenses, nonresident property tax, and positive adjustments reported 
from partnerships, fiduciaries, and S corporations of interest in state and local  
obligations other than Missouri.

NOTE:  The subtraction for married individuals with contributions made to a quali-
fied 529 plan is no longer limited to $8,000 per taxpayer.  The $16,000 qualified 
subtraction can be used entirely by the primary individual, secondary individual, or 
split between both individuals.

The following is a list of states that have no state income tax or do not allow property 
taxes to be deducted.  Property taxes paid to these states will need to be added back 
on the MO-A, Part 1, Line 5.
		
	 	 •	Alaska	 	 •	Pennsylvania
	 	 •	Florida	 	 •	South Dakota
	 	 •	Hawaii	 	 •	Tennessee
	 	 •	Illinois	 	 •	Texas
	 	 •	Indiana	 	 •	Washington
	 	 •	Massachusetts	 	 •	West Virginia
	 	 •	New Hampshire	 	 •	Wisconsin
	 	 •	New Jersey	 	 •	Wyoming
	 	 •	Ohio
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PENSIONS

Missouri law allows for a deduction for public pensions, private pensions, social  
security/social security disability payments and military pensions on the 2012 Missouri 
income tax return if certain income limitations are met.

PUBLIC PENSIONS
Public pensions are pensions received from any federal, state, or local government.  If 
you have questions about whether your pension is a public pension, contact your pension 
administrator.

The income limitations are as follows:
	 Single, Head of Household, Married Filing Separate,
	 and Qualifying Widow(er).........................................................$85,000
	 Married Filing Combined........................................................$100,000

The public pension exemption will be phased in over 6 years. In 2012 taxpayers 
will be able to take the greater of either $6,000 or 100 percent of the public pension 
amount, whichever is more beneficial. The total public pension exemption is limited 
to the maximum social security benefit allowed. In the 2012 tax year this amount is 
$35,234 per taxpayer. 

PRIVATE PENSION

Private pensions are pensions received from private sources. If you have questions 
about whether your pension is a private pension, contact your pension administrator.

The income limitations are as follows:

	 Single, Head of Household, Qualifying Widow(er)..................$25,000
	 Married Filing Combined..........................................................$32,000
	 Married Filing Separate............................................................$16,000

The total maximum private pension exemption per taxpayer is $6,000.

NOTE: The taxable portion of social security benefits is not used for the purpose of  
determining income limitations for the public and private pensions. Railroad  
retirement doesn’t qualify as a public pension unless you are 100% disabled.

If a taxpayer’s income exceeds the limitations for receiving the allowable public/private 
pension exemption, the taxpayer may still qualify for a partial pension exemption. The 
pension exemption must be decreased by the amount the taxpayer’s income exceeds 
the income limitations. The public/private pension exemption is reduced by one dollar 
for every dollar that the taxpayer’s income exceeds the limitation.



SOCIAL SECURITY/SOCIAL SECURITY DISABILITY EXEMPTION 100%

Individuals may take an exemption for social security and  disability social security  
benefits. The maximum exemption percentage will be phased in over 6 years, the 
2012 exemption amount is 100% of the taxable amount. To qualify the taxpayer 
must be 62 years of age or older or receiving Social Security Disability benefits. If the  
taxpayer is qualifying based on being over 62, the “over the age of 62” box will need 
to be checked or the exemption will be disallowed.

The income limitations are as follows:
	 Single, Head of Household, Married Filing Separate,
	 and Qualifying Widow(er).........................................................$85,000

	 Married Filing Combined........................................................$100,000

If a taxpayer’s income exceeds the limitations for receiving the allowable social  
security/social security disability exemption the taxpayer may still qualify for a 
partial exemption. The social security/social security disability exemption must 
be decreased by the amount the taxpayer’s income exceeds the income limita-
tion. The exemption is reduced by one dollar for every dollar that the taxpayer’s 
income exceeds the limitation.  

Military Pension Calculation

A military pension is a pension received for your service in a branch of the armed 
services of the United States, including the Missouri Army Reserve and Missouri 
National Guard. You must reduce your military pension exemption by any portion 
of your military pension that is included in the calculation of your public pension 
exemption. Therefore, if you qualify for the public pension, make sure you  have 
completed the Public Pension Calculation (Section A) before you calculate your 
military pension exemption. 

*The maximum military exemption you may claim in 2012 is equal to 45 percent 
of your military pension. 

Complete Form MO-A, Part 3, enter the total of the public pension, private  
pension, social security/social security disability exemptions and military  
pensions on Form MO-1040, line 8.

– 6 –
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PERSONAL EXEMPTION AMOUNTS

The filing status claimed on the Missouri return must be the same as the status 
claimed on the federal return.  However, the dollar amount of personal exemptions 
is different.

	 STATUS	 AMOUNT
	 Single	 $2,100
	 Married Filing Combined	 4,200
	 Married Filing Separate	 2,100
	 Married Filing Separate 
	     (spouse not filing)	 4,200
	 Head of Household	 3,500
	 Qualifying Widow(er) 
	     (with dependent child)	 3,500
	 Claimed as Dependent on another return	 0
	 Each Dependent claimed on the federal return other than 
	        yourself or your spouse	 1,200
	� Each Dependent who is 65 years of age and older who  

resides in the taxpayer’s home or who lives in dependent’s  
home who does not receive Medicaid while living in a  
facility licensed pursuant to Chapter 198, RSMo.	 $1,000

NOTE:  The 2012 Federal personal exemption is $3,800.



STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE

The following table should be used to determine the standard deduction to be used on 
the federal and Missouri tax returns.  

Step 1:  Determine the correct number of boxes to check.
	 Yourself	 65 or older 	  Blind
	 Your spouse	 65 or older 	 Blind
	 Total Boxes Checked _______

Filing Status	 Boxes Checked	                Standard Deduction
Single		  0	 $5,950
		  1	 7,400
		  2	 8,850

Married Filing Jointly (Combined)	 0	 $11,900
		  1	 13,050
		  2	 14,200
		  3	 15,350
		  4	 16,500

Married Filing Separate also	 0	 $5,950
Married Filing Separate	 1	 7,100
    (Spouse not filing)	 2	 8,250

65+ and Blind, Married Filing	 3	 $9,400
    Separate (Spouse not filing)

65+ and Blind, Married Filing	 4	 $10,550
    Separate (Spouse not filing)

Head of Household	 0	 $8,700
		  1	 10,150
		  2	 11,600

Qualifying Widow(er)	 0	 $11,900
		  1	 13,050
		  2	 14,200

Single — Claimed as a dependent	 0	 $950*
    on another person’s return
Married & Surviving Spouse	 Additional $1,150
Heads of Household and Singles	Additional $1,450

*NOTE: Standard deduction may not exceed the greater of $950 or the sum 
of $300 and the individual’s earned income, up to the applicable standard 
deduction amount ($5,950 for single taxpayers).
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ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS 2012
MISSOURI ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
Missouri law requires a taxpayer to start with the federal itemized deductions 
reported on Schedule A of his/her federal return.   If you itemize deductions 
on your federal return, you may itemize your deductions for Missouri or take 
the standard deduction, whichever is to your advantage.   If the taxpayer does 
not itemize his/her deductions on the federal return, he/she will not be allowed 
to itemize on the Missouri return. If the taxpayer is required to itemize on the  
federal return, he/she must itemize on the Missouri return.

ADDITIONS TO FEDERAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
Social Security Tax and Medicare Tax
Railroad Retirement Tax (Tier I and Tier II)
Self-employment Tax claimed on Federal Form 1040, Line 56 minus Line 27 or 
Federal Form 1040NR, Line 54 minus Line 27.
SUBTRACTIONS FROM FEDERAL ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS
The amount of state and local income tax claimed on the Federal Schedule A, 
less any city earnings tax included in that amount.

OTHER DEDUCTIONS
LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE DEDUCTION
If you paid premiums for qualified long-term care insurance in 2012, you may 
be eligible for a deduction on your Missouri income tax return.  Qualified long-
term care insurance is defined as: insurance coverage for period of at least 
12 months for long-term care expenses should such care become neces-
sary because of chronic health conditions or physical disabilities including  
cognitive impairment or the loss of functional capacity, thus rendering an  
individual unable to care for themselves without the help of another person.
HEALTH CARE SHARING MINISTRIES
If you made contributions to a qualifying health care sharing ministry in 2012, 
you may be eligible for a deduction on your Missouri income tax return. A health 
care sharing ministry is defined as a faith-based, nonprofit organization that 
assists members who have financial, physical, or medical needs. To qualify, the 
taxpayer must be a member of a health care sharing ministry and not have 
deducted the same amounts on the federal return.
SMALL BUSINESS DEDUCTIONS
For all taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012 and ending on or 
before December 21, 2014, if a small business creates new jobs, it may qualify to 
claim a deduction in the taxable year each new employee completes at least  52 
weeks of full-time employment.  The deduction is equal to $10,000 for each new 
job created or $20,000 for each new job created by a small business that paid at 
least 50 percent of all employees’ health insurance premiums.  Form MO-NJD 
must be completed with the MO-1040 form.  Beginning August 28, 2012, a 
partnership, S-corporation, limited liability partnership or other business entity 
may also qualify for the credit.

ITEMIZED DEDUCTIONS / OTHER DEDUCTIONS

– 9 –
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RESIDENT AND NONRESIDENT INFORMATION

FORM MO-NRI
Form MO-NRI is a supplement to the Form MO-1040 and may be used by a  
nonresident, part-year resident, or military personnel.  (It may be filed by  
itself under the condition noted in bold print below.)  Form MO-NRI allows a  
nonresident, part-year resident, or military personnel to allocate income on  
the basis of income earned in Missouri divided by income from all sources.  
This results in a percentage to be used to calculate the Missouri income tax  
liability.  Form MO-NRI includes information for military personnel.  Military  
personnel who are required to file, will need to file a Form MO-NRI with Form  
MO-1040.  Military personnel who are stationed in Missouri, but not required 
to file a return, can inform the Department of Revenue electronically that a 
Missouri income tax return is not required for a particular tax year.  This  
form will apply to tax years 2007 and forward. The online application will  
be located on the Department’s web site at: http://dor.mo.gov. If informing 
the Department electronically is not possible, complete a MO-NRI and sign 
the back. The Department of Revenue will record the information from the  
completed MO-NRI.

FORM MO-CR
Form MO-CR is a supplement to the Form MO-1040 and may be used by a resident 
of Missouri who has income from another state and is required to file a return in that 
state. Form MO-CR allows a credit for income taxes paid to the other state against 
the Missouri income tax liability.

NOTE: � A part-year resident may use Form MO-CR if the part-year resident elects 
to file a Missouri return as a resident. At NO time will the same taxpayer be 
allowed to use both Form MO-NRI and Form MO-CR. However, if filing a 
combined return, it is possible that one spouse could use a Form MO-NRI 
and the other, Form MO-CR.

EXAMPLE: � Taxpayer moves to Missouri during the year and marries a Missouri 
resident. The Missouri resident has income from another state. The 
part-year resident elects to file using Form MO-NRI, but the Missouri 
resident must use Form MO-CR as he/she was a full-year resident of 
Missouri.

Access http://dor.mo.gov for more information and examples.

*All income earned while living in Missouri is taxable to Missouri. A part year  
resident cannot claim a zero income percentage. 
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MILITARY INFORMATION

MILITARY — GENERAL INFORMATION
The tax status of military personnel under the Missouri 
Income Tax Law and the Servicemembers Civil Relief 
Act is determined by home of record.  It is mandatory 
for Military Finance Centers to withhold state tax from a 
Missouri resident unless he or she qualifies to use the 
Form MO-NRI. Questions should be directed to Cus
tomer Assistance.

MILITARY — HOME OF RECORD — NOT MISSOURI
If the military servicemember’s home of record is a state 
other than Missouri, his or her domicile is in the other state. If the military servicemember 
is stationed in Missouri, then he or she is not subject to Missouri income tax on his or her  
military pay nor on any interest or dividend income received from personal investments. 
Even if the military servicemember is not required to pay Missouri tax, he or she should 
file a Form MO-NRI, Missouri Income Percentage, to verify the military service member 
is not subject to Missouri income tax.

The servicemembers Civil Relief Act, H.R.100, prohibits states from including the 
military income of a nonresident servicemember when determining the individual 
income tax rate for either the servicemember (or the servicemember’s spouse on 
a combined return).  

If a nonresident military servicemember or his or her spouse earns $600 or more of 
non-military income while in Missouri, that portion of income is taxable by Missouri 
and a Form MO-1040, Missouri Individual Income Tax Return must be filed.  To 
ensure nonresident military servicemembers receive the benefit of the new law, the 
military income received by nonresident military servicemembers may be subtracted 
from their federal adjusted gross income.  Check the appropriate box and enter the 
nonresident military income on Form MO-A, Part 1, Line 9.

MILITARY — HOME OF RECORD — MISSOURI
If the military servicemember’s home of record is Missouri, his/her domicile is Missouri. 
In this case, the person is considered Missouri domiciled and is subject to Missouri 
income taxes on all income from whatever source including his/her military pay.
The only exception is if the Missouri domiciled individual files a sworn statement 
(Form MO-NRI) that he or she:
(a) maintained no permanent place of abode in Missouri during the tax year;
(b) did maintain a permanent place of abode elsewhere; and
(c) did not spend more than 30 days of the year, for which they are filing, in 		
	 Missouri; 
then the Missouri domiciled individual is considered a “nonresident” for tax  
purposes. With a “nonresident” tax status the individual does not pay Missouri 
income tax on his or her military pay or on interest and dividend income from  
personal investments.
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All Missouri domiciled military personnel who wish to claim a “nonresident” 
status should file an income tax return (Form MO-1040) each year and enclose 
with that return Form MO-NRI, Missouri Income Percentage.

Note: If the military person is stationed in Missouri with a Missouri home of 
record, all income including military pay is taxable. If the military person and 
their spouse are Missouri residents and the spouse remains in Missouri while 
the military person is stationed outside of Missouri, the total income (including 
military pay) is taxable to Missouri.

MILITARY SPOUSES RESIDENCY RELIEF ACT: 
Spouse of Service member stationed in Missouri: If you are a spouse of a ser-
vice member and are only in this state because of military orders, your income 

is not taxable. Complete form MO-A, Part 1, Line 9.

If the Missouri domiciled military person enters or leaves the armed forces during the 
year and resides in Missouri prior to entering the military or after leaving the military, 
the military person’s total income (including military pay) is taxable to Missouri. If the 
military servicemember’s home of record is Missouri, his/her domicile is Missouri. 
In this case, the person is considered Missouri domiciled and is subject to Missouri 
income taxes on all income from whatever source including his/her military pay.

The only exception is if the Missouri domiciled individual files a sworn statement 
(Form MO-NRI) that he/she:
	 (a)	maintained no permanent place of abode in Missouri during the tax year;
	 (b)	did maintain a permanent place of abode elsewhere; and
	 (c)	did not spend more than 30 days of the year, for which they are filing, 	
	 	 in Missouri;
then the Missouri domiciled individual is considered a “nonresident” for tax purposes. 
With a “nonresident” tax status the individual does not pay Missouri income tax on 
his or her military pay or on interest and dividend income from personal investments.

All Missouri domiciled military personnel who wish to claim a “nonresident” status 
should file an income tax return (Form MO-1040) each year and enclose with that 
return Form MO-NRI, Missouri Income Percentage.

DOMICILE — DEFINED
“Domicile” is the place which an individual intends to be his/her permanent 
home;  a place to which he/she intends to return to whenever he/she may be 
absent.  A domicile, once established, continues until the individual moves to a 
new location with true intentions of making his/her fixed and permanent home 
there.  An individual can have only one domicile.
Access http://dor.mo.gov for more information and examples.

MILITARY ONLINE FORM
	 •	Military individuals who are not required to file a Missouri return can use the .
		  Missouri Department of Revenue’s No Return Required - Military Online  
		  Form at: https://sa.dor.mo.gov/nri/.
	 •	This form should be submitted to the Department by the return’s due 
		  date (April 15, following the close of the taxable year).
	 •	This form can be obtained by visiting our web site at: http://dor.mo.gov.



Under Missouri law, a taxpayer must file Form MO-1040ES, Estimated Tax 
Declaration for Individuals, if their tax liability is expected to be $100 or more and 
Missouri tax is not withheld.

The Estimated Tax Form (Form MO-1040ES) must be filed on the following  
due dates:
	 1st Quarter — April 15, 2013	  2nd Quarter — June 17, 2013
	 3rd Quarter — September 16, 2013	  4th Quarter — January 15, 2014

NOTE: � If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next 
business day is the due date.

Failure to pay 90 percent of the tax liability by withholding or estimated tax pay-
ments could result in a penalty for underpayment of estimated tax (Form MO-2210).

The Department offers these alternative filing methods:

NOTE:  An alternative payment method must be used for quarter-monthly sales/
withholding tax payments.  Paper vouchers are not offered.  
To learn more about alternative filing methods, access the Department’s web 
site at www.dor.mo.gov, contact the Department at (573) 751-8150, or e-mail  
elecfile@dor.mo.gov.
The Department also encourages electronic/internet filing options for individual 
income tax.  The Department received more than 2,200,000 electronically filed 
returns for the 2011 tax year.  Electronically filed returns offer many benefits to 
the taxpayer including receipt acknowledgment, faster refunds, accuracy, and 
convenience.

PAYMENT TYPE
TXP or
Online

Paper Check

TXP

Online

TXP
Online or

Paper Check

TXP
Online or

Paper Check

TXP or
Online

Paper Check or
Online

RETURN

With electronic payment or 
zero return - E-file or coupon

E-file, download paper coupon, 
or online reconciliation

E-file, download paper coupon 
or online reconciliation can 
be done if all payments were 
submitted online

Mail paper return or Federal/
State E-file

Mail or e-file return if business 
has less than 150 locations.

Mail or e-file return if business 
has less than 150 locations.

Mail paper return or Federal/
State E-file

TAX TYPE

WITHHOLDING

CORPORATE 
INCOME/FRANCHISE 

TAX

SALES/USE

INDIVIDUAL INCOME

FILING FREQUENCY
Quarterly
Monthly
Annual

Quarter-Monthly

MO-1120 or
MO-1120ES

Quarterly
Monthly
Annual

Quarter-Monthly

MO-1040 or
MO-1040ES
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MISSOURI TAXABLE STATUS OF 
VARIOUS INCOME ITEMS

	 EXEMPT	 NOT EXEMPT
American Samoa	 X
Bank for Co-operatives	 X
CATS, ZEBRAS, TIGRS	 X
Commodity Credit Corporation	 X
Education Institution Bonds	 X
Export-Import Bank of U.S.		  X
Farmers Home Administration		  X
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)	 X
Federal Farm Credit Banks	 X
Federal Farm Loan Corporation	 X
Federal Financing Bank (FFB) Obligations	 X
Federal Home Loan Banks (FHLB)	 X
Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp.		  X
Federal Housing Administration (FHA) Debentures	 X
Federal Intermediate Credit Banks	 X
Federal Land Banks	 X
Federal National Mortgage Association		  X
Financial Corporation Bonds (FICO)	 X
Financing Corporation Obligations	 X
General Insurance Fund	 X
General Services Administration (GSA)	 X
Government National Mortgage Assoc.		  X
Guam	 X
I Bonds	 X
Junior College Building Corporation Bonds	 X
Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority (MOHELA) Bond	 X
National Credit Union Central Liquidity Facility	 X
National Farm Loan Association	 X
New Communities Debentures		  X
Northern Mallana Covenant	 X
Northern Mariana	 X
Public Housing Notes and Bonds	 X
Public Debt	 X
Puerto Rican Bonds	 X
Repurchase Agreements		  X
Resolution Funding Corporation Bonds	 X
Small Business Administration (SBA)	 X
Student Loan Marketing Association (Sallie Mae)	 X
Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA)	 X
U.S. Certificates of Indebtedness	 X
U.S. Freedom Shares	 X
U.S. Individual Retirement Bonds	 X
U.S. Series E&H Bonds	 X
U.S. Treasury Bills, Treasury Bonds, Treasury Notes	 X
United States Postal Service	 X
Virgin Islands	 X
Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority		  X
Zero Coupon Bonds	 X



– 15 –

MISCELLANEOUS TAX CREDITS

MISCELLANEOUS TAX CREDITS
Missouri law allows for certain tax credits.  The tax credits are computed by completing 
Form MO-TC, Miscellaneous Income Tax Credits. Enter the total amount of credits from 
Form MO-TC, Line 13, on Form MO-1040, Line 37. Form MO-TC must be attached to 
Form MO-1040.  The following is a list of available credits and the agency to contact for 
information, forms, and approval to claim each credit.

	 1.	� TAX CREDITS ADMINISTERED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF ECO
NOMIC DEVELOPMENT — Contact the Missouri Department of Economic 
Development, Tax Benefit Programs, P.O. Box 118, Jefferson City, Missouri 
65102-0118 or access www.ded.missouri.gov.

	 	 •  Bond Enhancement  (573) 522-9062
	 	 •  Brownfield “Jobs and Investment” Credit  (573) 522-8004
	 	 •  Community Bank Investment Credit  (573) 522-8004
	 	 •  Development Tax Credit  (573) 526-3285
	 	 •  Distressed Area Land Assemblage Tax Credit (573) 522-8004
	 	 •	 Dry Fire Hydrant Credit  (573) 751-4539
	 	 •  Enterprise Zone Credit  (573) 522-2790
	 	 •  Family Development Account Credit  (573) 522-2629
	 	 •  Film Production Credit  (573) 751-9048
	 	 •  Historic Preservation Credit  (573) 522-8004
	 	 • � Missouri Business Modernization and Technology (Seed Capital) Credit 

(573) 522-2790
	 	 •  Missouri Quality Jobs Credit  (573) 751-4539
	 	 • � Neighborhood Assistance Credit (Including Homeless Assistance Credit) 

(573) 522-2629
	 	 •  New Enhanced Enterprise Zone Credit  (573) 751-4539
	 	 •  New Enterprise Creation Credit  (573) 522-2790
	 	 •  New Market  (573) 522-8004
		  •  New or Expanded Business Facility Credit  (573) 522-2790
	 	 •  Qualified Research Expense Credit  (573) 526-0124
	 	 •  Rebuilding Communities Credit  (573) 526-3285
	 	 • � Rebuilding Communities and Neighborhood Preservation Act Credit 

(573) 522-8004
	 	 •  Remediation Credit  (573) 522-8004
	 	 • � Small Business Guaranty Fees Credit  (573) 751-9048
	 	 •  Small Business Incubator Credit  (573) 751-4539
	 	 •  Small Business Investment Credit  (573) 522-2790
	 	 •  Transportation Development Credit  (573) 522-2629
	 	 •  Wine and Grape Production Credit  (573) 751-9048
	 	 •  Youth Opportunities Credit  (573) 522-2629



2.	�OTHER MISSOURI TAX CREDITS
		  • � Affordable Housing Assistance Credit — contact the Missouri Housing Development Commission, 

3435 Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64111 or call (816) 759-6600.
	 	 • � Agriculture Product Utilization Contributor Credit — contact the Missouri Agricultural and Small 

Business Development Authority, P.O. Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630 or call (573) 751-2129.
	 	 • � Alternative Refueling Tax Credit — contact the Department of Natural Resources at (573) 751-2254.
	 	 •  Bank Franchise Tax — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2200,  Jefferson City, MO 
			   65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 • � Bank Tax Credit for S Corporation Shareholders — contact the Missouri  Department of Revenue, P.O. 

Box 2200, Jefferson City, MO 65105, or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 • � Charcoal Producers Credit — contact the Missouri Division of Energy, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 

65102-0176 or call (573) 751-4817.
	 	 • � Children in Crisis Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2200, Jefferson City, 

MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.*
	 	 • � Development Reserve Credit — contact the Missouri Development Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, 

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0567 or call (573) 751-8479.
	 	 •  �Developmental Disability Care Provider Tax Credit - contact the Missouri Department of Social

	Services, P.O. Box 1082, Jefferson City, MO 65103-1082 or call (573) 751-7533.
	 	 •  �Disabled Access Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2200, Jefferson City, 

MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 • � Export Finance Credit — contact the Missouri Development Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, Jefferson 

City, MO 65102-0567 or call (573) 751-8479.
	 	 • � Family Farms Credit — contact the Missouri Agricultural and Small Business Development Authority, 

P.O. Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630 or call (573) 751-2129.*
	 	 •  Health Care Access — Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Primary Care & Rural 	
			   Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 or call (573) 751-6014.
	 	 • � Infrastructure Development Credit — contact the Missouri Development Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, 

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0567 or call (573) 751-8479.
	 	 • � Maternity Home Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Social Services, P.O. Box 626, Jefferson 

City, MO 65103-0626 or call (573) 751-7533.
	 	 •  �Missouri Business Use Incentives for Large-Scale Development (BUILD) Credit — contact the Missouri 

Development Finance Board, P.O. Box 567, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0567 or call (573) 751-8479.
	 	 •  �Missouri Low Income Housing Credit — contact the Missouri Housing Development Commission, 3435 

Broadway, Kansas City, MO 64111 or call (816) 759-6668.
	 	 • � New Generation Cooperative Incentive Credit — contact the Missouri Agricultural and Small Business 

Development Authority, P.O. Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630 or call (573) 751-2129.
	 	 • � Pregnancy Resource Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Social Services, P.O. Box 863, 

Jefferson City, MO 65103-0863 or call (573) 751-7533.*
	 	 • � Processed Wood Energy Credit — contact the Missouri Division of Energy, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson 

City, MO 65102-0176 or call (573) 526-1723.
	 	 •	 Public Safety Officer Surviving Spouse Tax Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, 	
			   P.O. Box 2200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 •	 Qualified Beef Tax Credit — contact the Department of Agriculture at (573) 751-2129.
	 	 •	 Residential Dwelling Accessibility Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 	
			   2200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 •  �Residential Treatment Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Social Services, P.O. Box 853, 

Jefferson City, MO 65103-0853 or call (573) 751-7533.*
	 	 •  Self-Employed Health Insurance — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2200,	
			   Jefferson City, MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
	 	 • � Shared Care Tax Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of 

Senior and Disability Services, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 or call (573) 751-4842.
	 	 •  �Shelter for Victims of Domestic Violence Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Social Services, 

P.O. Box 216, Jefferson City, MO 65103-0216 or call (573) 751-7533.
	 	 •  �Special Needs Adoption Credit — contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2200, 

Jefferson City, MO 65105-2200 or call (573) 526-8733.
			   *Note: Contact the administering agency for eligibility requirements.
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PROPERTY  TAX CREDIT CLAIM

The Property Tax Credit Claim is a refundable credit to the taxpayer if certain 
criteria are met.

A.	TAXPAYER 65 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER*
	� The taxpayer or spouse must be 65 years of age 

as of December 31, 2012.  If the spouse was 65 or 
older and died during the year of 2012, the taxpayer 
would still qualify for the credit, even if he/she is not 
65, for the tax year 2012.

B.	 DISABLED VETERAN
	� A taxpayer may also qualify for the property tax credit if the taxpayer or spouse 

is a veteran of the armed forces of the United States or the state of Missouri 
and the taxpayer or spouse became 100 percent disabled as a result of this ser-
vice.  The income received from VA disability pay is not included in household 
income.

C.	 DISABLED PERSON
	� The taxpayer may qualify for the property tax credit if the taxpayer or spouse 

is disabled as defined in Section 135.010(2).
	� Disabled  (as defined in Section 135.010(2), RSMo):  The inability to engage in 

any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determined physical or 
mental impairment, which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted 
or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.  A 
claimant shall not be required to be gainfully employed prior to such disability.

	 �A copy of the taxpayer’s Form SSA-1099, SSI benefits, or a letter from Social 
Security Administration providing the date of disability must be submitted.

	 NOTE:  Minor children do not qualify for this credit.

D.	 SURVIVING SPOUSE
	� If you are 60 years of age or older as of December 31, 2012, and 

received surviving spouse social security benefits during 2012,  
you may qualify to claim the property tax credit.  Form SSA-1099 must be  
submitted with filing.

E.	 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
	 1.	� *A taxpayer or spouse must have been a resident of Missouri for the 

entire year of 2012.  If the claimant would have been otherwise qualified 
for a property tax credit and would have been a resident for the entire 2012 
calendar year, but died before the last day of the calendar year, the claimant 
would still qualify for the credit for 2012.

�*Please note the full year residency only applies to claimants 65 years or 
older.  Veterans, disabled individuals, or individuals over 60 years of age 
receiving surviving spouse benefits, can be part-year residents. 
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	 2.	� If the taxpayer owns and occupies their own home for the entire year of 2012 
the maximum household income cannot exceed $30,000 for single and 
$34,000 for married filing joint.  If the taxpayer is a renter or part year owner 
for tax year 2012, the maximum household income for single is $27,500 and 
$29,500 for married filing joint.  

	 3.	 �If the taxpayer owns the property, he/she must have a PAID copy of his/her 
real estate tax receipt or if the taxpayer rents (which includes nursing homes), 
he/she must have proof of the amount of rent paid.  If the rent is paid to a  
relative, the relationship to the landlord must be indicated on the Form MO-CRP.

	 4.	� If the taxpayer is required to file an individual income tax return and still  
qualifies for the property tax credit, he/she should attach the Form MO-PTS 
to the Form MO-1040 or MO-1040P to expedite receiving his/her refund.  
If the taxpayer is required to file a Missouri individual income tax return 
and they do not have any modifications, miscellaneous tax credits or other  
special filing situations, they may file Form MO-1040P and should attach 
Form MO-PTS to claim their credits and satisfy their tax filing requirement.

	 5.	 The following is not included as income on the Form MO-PTC or Form MO-PTS:
	 	 •	 Gifts/Inheritance;
	 	 •	 Prior year refunds;
	 	 •	 Foster grandparent salaries;
	 	 •	 Life insurance benefits;
	 	 •	 Food stamps;
	 	 •	 Sale of personal residence if it is not included in AGI.  The claimant must 
	 	 	 have been a resident in the home at the time of the sale;
	 	 •	 VA disability pension (for 100 percent service related disabled veteran);
	 	 •	 Stipend for senior companions;
	 	 •	 Heating assistance; and	
	 	 •	 Stipend for caring for children with social services.
	 6.	� The property tax credit table has lines added to assist taxpayers in figuring 

their refund.  The refund cannot exceed $750 for renters or $1,100 for  
owners.

F.	 RENT YOUR HOME
	 If a taxpayer rents from a facility that is exempt from paying property taxes,
	 the taxpayer is not eligible to file the property tax credit claim.
 
G.	 GRANTS
	� Grants in the claimants name can be included as income on Form MO-PTC, 

Line 2 or Form MO-PTS, Line 3 and the claimants can take credit for rent paid.
	� Grants in the nursing facility’s name, distributed by the nursing facility, are not 

income to the claimant and cannot be claimed as rent paid.

H.	 LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE BENEFITS
	 �Benefit payments made payable to the care facility are not included as income or 

rent. If the benefit payments are made payable to the claimant, the amount of the 
payment (not to exceed rent amount) is claimed as income and rent.  If the benefit 
payments exceed the rent amount, the excess is considered taxable income, and 
should be included as income on Form MO-PTC, Line 2 or Form MO-PTS, Line 3.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT CLAIM  (continued)



I. LUMP SUM DISTRIBUTIONS
	 Lump sum distributions from Social Security or other agencies must 
	 be claimed in the year they are received. 

J.	 DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED (This is for AARP/VITA site volunteers)
	 1.	� Copy of the property tax receipt (Paid) or MO-CRP (Certification of Rent 

Paid)
	 2.	 Copy of Form 948 (Assessor’s Certification), when required.
	 3.	 Copy of letter from VA for 100 percent disabled veterans (DOR 	
		  approved)
		    4. �Form SSA-1099, SSI benefits and a letter from the Social Security 

Administration providing a date of disability.
NOTE: All documentation is required for first time filers of the property tax credit 
program.
Before the Forms MO-PTC, MO-1040P, MO-1040 or MO-PTS are sent, make 
sure that all the required documentation is attached, double check the address, 
ensure the social security number is correct, and make certain the return is 
signed.  If the taxpayer is unable to sign his/her name, and another person signs 
as Power of Attorney (POA), a copy of the POA document must be attached.
Mail Form MO-PTC and supporting documentation to:  Missouri Department of 
Revenue, P. O. Box 2800, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-2800.

If filing Form MO-1040, MO-1040P and Form MO-PTS mail to:  Missouri 
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 2800, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2800.

If filing a Form MO-1040, MO-1040P, MO-PTS or Form MO-PTC that contains a 
2-D barcode, please mail to:  Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 3385, 
Jefferson City, MO  65105-3385.

NOTE:	� A taxpayer may sign with an “X” if two people witness his/her 

“mark”.

NOTE:  �Property tax credit refunds may be applied to individual income tax debts 
and/or  property tax credit billings caused by amended returns or correc-
tions made by the Department.
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INFORMATION RETURNS

FORM MO-99 MISC — ANNUAL REPORT OF PAYMENT OF RENT,  
ROYALTIES, ETC.
Form MO-99 MISC, comparable to Federal Form 1099 MISC, must be filed for 
nonresidents when such amounts aggregate of $1,200 or more. Copy 1 is to be 
filed with the Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 999, Jefferson City, Missouri  
65109-0999 with Form MO-96, Annual Summary and Transmittal of Information 
Returns. Copy 2 is to be provided to the recipient.  Copy 3 is optional and is 
Payer’s copy.  The due date is February 28.(February 29 for Leap Years).
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GENERAL INFORMATION
FORMS
You can obtain tax forms and instructions quickly and easily by visiting the Department 
of Revenue’s web site at http://dor.mo.gov.
INTERNET
The Missouri Department of Revenue can also be accessed through the Internet at 
the following web site: http://dor.mo.gov.
AMENDED RETURNS
If a taxpayer files an income tax return and later becomes aware of changes that 
must be made to income, deductions, or credits, he/she must file an amended 
Missouri return by completing Form MO-1040.  A copy of the federal amended 
return, Form 1040X, must also be provided, if one was filed.
FEDERAL TAX ADJUSTMENTS
Missouri law requires taxpayers with federal returns that are adjusted or audited to 
file an amended Missouri return within 90 days after the adjustments or audit has 
been completed or accepted.
WHEN TO FILE
A calendar year return is due on or before April 15th. Returns for fiscal years 
are due on the 15th day of the fourth month after the close of the taxable year.  
When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return will be  
considered timely if filed on the next business day.
WHERE TO FILE AND PAY TAX
Mail returns and check or money order to the Missouri Department of Revenue, 
P.O. Box 329, Jefferson City, Missouri 65107-0329 (2-D barcode returns only: 
P.O. Box 3370). For refund claims, mail to Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 500, 
Jefferson City, Missouri 65106-0500 (2-D barcode returns only: P.O. Box 3222).

EXTENSION TO FILE
Missouri grants an automatic extension of time to file to any individual, corporation, 
partnership, fiduciary, or estate who has a Federal extension. You do not need to file 
Form MO-60 (Application for Extension of Time to File) unless:
	 1. � You expect to owe a tax liability for the period.  Form MO-60 and payment 

are due on or before the due date of the return.
	 2.  �You want a Missouri extension but not a Federal extension.  Form MO-60 

is due on or before the due date of the return. A copy of Form MO-60 must be 
attached to the Missouri returns when filed. An approved Form MO-60 extends 
the due date up to 180 days for the individual, fiduciary, partnership income tax 
returns, and the corporation return.

FEDERAL FORM 1099 MISC — SUBSTITUTE FOR FORM MO-99 MISC
Form 1099 MISC can be used as long as the copies are clearly marked as  
follows:

Copy 1 – Missouri copy; and 
Copy 2 – Information supplied to Missouri Department of Revenue.  The due  
		  date is February 28 (February 29 for Leap Years). 



	 3. � You seek a Missouri extension exceeding the Federal automatic extension 
period.  Form MO-60 must be filed on or before the end of the federal extension 
period.

You must complete a separate Form MO-60 for each return or report.
1099-G FORM
The form 1099-G provides the refunds, credits or offsets of state income tax  
a taxpayer received in the previous year. This amount may be taxable on  
their Federal Income Tax Return, the amount is deducted as an itemized  
deduction. For more information and answers to frequently asked questions go to 
http://dor.mo.gov/faq/personal/. To obtain a copy of Form 1099-G a taxpayer will 
need to know the primary social security number, filing status and the zip code in 
which the taxpayer received the refund, credit or offset. 
	 •  Access http://dor.mo.gov/1099g
	 • Call the Missouri Department of Revenue’s automated interactive voice  
		  response line at (573) 526-8299

METHODS OF PAYMENTS
Payments must be postmarked by April 15, 2013, to avoid interest and late  
payment charges.  When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal  
holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed on the next business day.   
The Department offers several payment options.
Check or money order:  Attach a check or money order (U.S. funds only), 
payable to Missouri Director of Revenue.  Checks will be cashed upon receipt. 
   
Do not postdate. The Department may collect checks returned for insufficient or 
uncollected funds electronically.

Electronic Bank Draft (E-Check):  By entering your bank routing number, 
checking account number, and your next check number, you can pay online at the  
following address: http://dor.mo.gov, or by calling (888) 929-0513.  There will be a 
minimal handling fee per filing period/transaction to use this service.

Credit Card: The Department accepts MasterCard, Discover, Visa, and American 
Express. You can pay online at http://dor.mo.gov, or by calling (888) 929-0513. 
The convenience fees listed below will be charged to your account for processing 
credit card payments:*

Amount of 	 Convenience 
Tax Paid	 Fee

$0.00–$33.00	 $1.00
$33.01–$100.00	   3.00%
$100.01–$250.00	   2.95%
$250.01–$500.00	   2.85%
$500.01–$750.00	   2.85%
$750.01–$1,000.00	   2.80%
$1,000.01–$1,500.00	   2.75%
$1,500.01–$2,000.00	   2.70%
$2,000.01 or more	   2.60%
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COMMON MISTAKES ON MISSOURI INDIVIDUAL 
INCOME TAX RETURNS

  1.  The tax return is not signed.

  2. � Necessary documentation is not attached.  Examples: Forms W-2, 1099-R, 
Federal Return (Pages 1 and 2), Federal Schedule A, Form MO-A, Form 
MO-CR, and other states’ returns.

  3. � The amount of Missouri tax withheld claimed is not correct.  City earnings 
tax and withholding from other states are erroneously claimed.

  4.  Calculation errors are made on the returns.

  5. � The amount of Federal tax withheld is claimed as a deduction instead of 
actual Federal tax liability.

  6. � Federal Earned Income Credit is incorrectly claimed as a Federal tax 
deduction on Missouri returns.

  7. � The wrong filing status box is checked.

  8. � Total number of dependents claimed is incorrect.  The filer incorrectly 
claimed self or spouse as dependent.  The number of dependents is not 
indicated in the box provided on the tax return.

  9. � Missouri tax on taxable incomes over $9,000 is incorrectly calculated.

10. � Estimated tax payments are not claimed on the return.

11. � The husband and wife incomes do not equal total Missouri adjusted gross 
income.  Income percentages are incorrectly calculated.

12. � The amount of standard deduction claimed does not correspond to filing  
status.  Many Federal Form 1040EZ filers incorrectly include their  
Federal personal exemption in the Missouri Standard Deduction on Form 
MO-1040A.

Note:  The handling and/or convenience fees included in these transactions are 
being paid to the third party vendor, not to the Missouri Department of Revenue.  
By accessing this payment system, the user will be leaving Missouri’s web site  
and connecting to the web site of the third party vendor which is a secure and  
confidential web site.

Mail your return and all required attachments to: Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 
329, Jefferson City, MO 65107-0329.

INTEREST AND PENALTY
Interest is due on tax not paid on time. For calendar year 2012, interest is computed 
at 3 percent per annum from the date due until the date paid. Additions to tax for  
failure to pay on time is assessed at 5 percent of the tax due. For failure to file on time, 
additions to tax of 5 percent per month, not to exceed 25 percent, is assessed.

KEEP YOUR RECORDS
Taxpayers should keep copies of tax returns and Form W-2 statements for four years.
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FINAL CHECKLIST IN COMPLETING
MISSOURI INCOME TAX RETURNS

o	 �Peel the label off the cover of the tax book and place it on the return, only if all 
information is correct.

o	 In the space provided, enter your and your spouse’s social security number(s),
	 the name of the county in which the taxpayer resides and check the appropri- 
	 ate box if deceased is applicable.

o	 �Check and verify all calculations on the return. An error may delay a refund, 
result in a billing, or necessitate correspondence.

o	 �Attach state copies (from all states if you are a part-year resident) of Forms 
W-2 and Forms 1099-R from all employers and administrators who withheld 
Missouri tax.  Verify that the amount entered on Form MO-1040, Line 32 
equals the total shown on Forms W-2 and Forms 1099-R.

o	 �If submitting a Property Tax Credit Claim, send a completed Form MO-PTC or 
Form MO-1040 or Form MO-1040P and attach Form MO-PTS, with copies of 
tax receipts and Forms MO-CRP.

o	 �Make certain the return is signed (both spouses must sign a combined return).

o	 If the taxpayer itemized deductions on his/her Federal return, he/she must 	
	 attach a copy of Pages 1 and 2 of his/her Federal Form 1040 and Federal 	
	 Schedule A.  Also attach a copy of his/her Federal return (Pages 1 and 2) 	
	 if Form MO-1040, Line 6 includes loss(es) of $1,000 or more, he/she claimed 	
	 a pension exemption, a low income housing credit, a low income housing 		
	 credit recapture, a dependent deduction is claimed for a dependent age 65 or 
	 older, other federal taxes, are claimed or a Form MO-NRI is filed.

o	 �Attach a check or money order if the balance due on Form MO-1040, Line 49 
is $1 or more.  The taxpayer must sign his/her check and write his/her social 
security number on the check. 

o	 Instruct the taxpayer where to mail the return and attachments.



2012 Missouri Income Taxes

File Electronically!! 
E-file your state and federal return!

It’s inexpensive, accurate, and fast!

Visit our web site for more information and links to file.
http://dor.mo.gov

Not filing electronically? 
Visit our “Form Selector” online to 
determine the easiest form for you.  
Then use our Fill-in Forms that 
Calculate!

You don’t need a paper return if you:
•  Received a book;
•  E-file;
•  Visit us online;
•  Use software; or
•  Take your taxes to a preparer.


