
A driver with a Class A, B, or C Commercial Driver License 
(CDL) is automatically licensed to operate both commercial 
and private (noncommercial) motor vehicles using one 
driver license. However, if the driver commits an offense that 
requires the suspension or revocation of his or her driver 
license, the driver will lose all driving privileges, including 
commercial driving privileges.

A CDL holder, whose license is suspended or revoked 
cannot drive any Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) during 
the period of suspension or revocation. The CDL holder can 
only apply for limited driving privileges to operate private 
(noncommercial) vehicles.

All commercial license or permit applicants must present 
two acceptable documents for verification of Missouri 
residence. For a complete list of acceptable documents go 
to www.dor.mo.gov.   

Effective February 7, 2022 all entry level CDL drivers, 
drivers upgrading classification, and drivers adding 
hazardous materials, passenger or school bus 
endorsements, must complete an approved certified driver 
training program. The program must be certified by the  
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration pursuant to 
regulations defined in 49 CFR 380.  Refer to https://www.
fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/commercial-drivers-license/
eldt for additional information. 

COMMERCIAL  
MOTOR VEHICLE  
OPERATORS & THE LAW

Commercial Driver’s Driving Record History
A commercial driver’s driving history travels with the driver when 
he or she moves from state to state. A driver’s history, prior 
to coming to Missouri, is shown on the Missouri driving record 
under “Informational Driving History.” If serious or disqualifying 
traffic offenses are contained in the informational driving history 
and additional offenses are committed while licensed as a 
Missouri driver, all offenses in the informational driving history 
and the current offenses are used (evaluated) to determine if a 
disqualification of the commercial driving privilege is required. 

What are some of the offenses that require the 
suspension or revocation of any driver license?
  •  Accumulation of points for traffic offenses occurring 
      while operating any vehicle, such as speeding, careless 
      driving, and driving while intoxicated.
  •  Driving any motor vehicle with a .08% or more  
      Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), or if under 21 years old 
      driving with a .02% or more BAC (administrative  
      suspension or revocation).
  •  Driving without insurance (administrative suspension).
  •  Refusal to submit to chemical testing when requested to  
     do so by law enforcement (one year administrative  
      revocation).
  •  Court ordered suspension or revocation of license for a 
      drug or alcohol related offense (Abuse and Lose  
      administrative action against license).

CDL with Hazardous Materials Endorsement 
Persons applying for a new or renewal CDL with a hazardous 
materials (HazMat) endorsement must submit proof of 
completion of the HazMat knowledge exam and must have 
an approved, fingerprint based, security threat assessment 
on file with the Transportation Security Administration 
(TSA). Renewing and transferring HazMat endorsement 
holders with a pending TSA assessment response may 
be eligible for one 90-day temporary license. Once all 
requirements have been met, HazMat endorsement holders 
will be issued a license with an expiration date not to exceed 
the end date of the assessment, as defined by the TSA, or 
shorter term date based on other provisions of Missouri law.  

CDL License with School Bus Endorsement
Persons operating a school bus owned or under contract 
with a public or private school must meet additional school 
bus endorsement driver history requirements and must 
have completed the knowledge and skills exams to obtain 
a passenger (P) and school bus (S) endorsement on their 
CDL. Prior to operating a school bus for a public school 
district in Missouri drivers must meet additional medical and 
criminal history background check requirements through 
their employer. Persons operating a non-commercial class 
vehicle transporting students for a public school district may 

be required to complete required knowledge and skills 
testing to obtain a Class E license with an S endorsement.  

Medical Certification
Persons applying for a new, renewal, duplicate CDL, or 
CLP must self-certify to one of the following operation 
categories at the time of issuance: Nonexcepted 
Interstate; Nonexcepted Intrastate; Excepted Interstate; or 
Excepted Intrastate. Persons operating in a nonexcepted 
category must provide a valid Medical Examiner’s 
Certificate at the time of application. Additionally, persons 
requiring a medical certificate must maintain a valid 
certificate on file to retain a valid CDL status. Failure to 
submit an updated medical certificate or submit an updated 
self-certification statement through a local license office 
on or before the expiration date of the current certificate 
on record, will result in a “downgrade” of the commercial 
license or permit, and the commercial status will be marked 
as canceled. Refer to the Department’s website at  
dor.mo.gov for detailed descriptions and other information 
about medical certification.  

Checks Before Issuance of a Driver  
License or Permit 
Prior to issuance of any new, renewal, or duplicate 
license or permit, a state shall request information from 
the National Driver Register and the Commercial Driver 
License Information System (CDLIS) regarding the 
individual’s driver status. For CDL or CLP applicants the 
state of issuance must obtain information from any other 
state that has issued a driver license to the individual, 
and post the informational driving history to the Missouri 
record and mark on the record that the request for ten 
year driving history check has been completed.

Commercial Learner’s Permit 
Applicants wanting to obtain a new CDL or upgrading a 
current CDL requiring skills testing must hold a commercial 
learner’s permit (CLP) for the class of vehicle in which they 
will be training and testing, for a minimum of 14 days prior 
to skills testing. Applicants must hold a valid Missouri base 
driving privilege to be eligible to apply for a Missouri CLP. 
Federal regulation prohibits the transfer of a CLP from 
another state to Missouri. An applicant holding a CLP from 
another state must complete all applicable commercial 
written testing to obtain a new CLP. The applicant must 
then apply for the Missouri base privilege license and CLP. 
No credit is allowed for the prior state’s permit issuance 
term. The applicant must hold the Missouri permit a 
minimum of 14 days prior to skills testing.  

dor.mo.gov

For questions regarding Commercial Driver Licenses,  
call (573) 526-2407 or email dlbmail@dor.mo.gov
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Disqualifications
A disqualification is a loss of only commercial 
driving privileges for a specified period of time. 
During a disqualification if the driver is not otherwise 
suspended or revoked, he or she can continue 
to drive private (noncommercial) motor vehicles 
without obtaining limited driving privileges. When a 
driver receives multiple disqualifications, they must 
serve one disqualification period before the next 
disqualification starts.

Failure to Appear (Non-Member States)

If a Missouri commercial driver fails to appear in 
court or pay for a traffic ticket received in a non-
member state, Missouri will disqualify the driver upon 
notification from that state. The disqualification will 
remain in effect until Missouri receives notification 
that the driver has satisfied the ticket. The non-
member states are Alaska, California, Michigan, 
Montana, Oregon, and Wisconsin. 

60 Days

•	 Two serious traffic convictions* within three years 
if person is a CDL holder or if person is operating  
a CMV. 

•	 One railroad-highway grade crossing violation while 
person is operating a CMV.

120 Days 

•	 Three or more serious traffic convictions* within 
three years if person is a CDL holder or if person is 
operating a CMV. 

•	 Second railroad-highway grade crossing violation 
while person is operating a CMV.

180 Days

•	 First traffic conviction for violating an out-of-service 
order while person is operating a CMV.

•	 First traffic conviction for violating an out-of-service 
order while operating a CMV and transporting 
hazardous materials or transporting 15 passengers 
or more.

1 Year

•	 Driving a CMV with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

•	 Driving while under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs if the person is a CDL holder or if person is 
operating a CMV.

•	 Refusing blood or breath test  if the person  
is a CDL holder or if person is operating a CMV.

•	 Failing to stop at the scene of an accident that 
involved your CMV if the accident causes injury  
or death.

•	 Using a CMV to commit a felony.

•	 Driving a CMV with a revoked, suspended, canceled, 
or disqualified privilege.

•	 Causing a fatality through the negligent or criminal 
operation of a CMV (including crimes of motor 
vehicle manslaughter, homicide by motor vehicle, 
and negligent homicide).

•	 Making a false statement on any application for a CDL.

•	 Third or subsequent railroad-highway grade 
crossing violation within three years while operating 
a CMV.

2 Years 

Second traffic conviction within ten years for driving a  
CMV while out-of-service.

3 Years 

•	 First conviction for any one of the top seven 
violations listed under 1-year disqualification while 
transporting hazardous materials.

•	 Third or subsequent conviction within ten years for  
violating out-of-service orders while operating  
a CMV.

•	 Second or subsequent conviction within ten years 
for violating an out-of-service order while operating 
a CMV and transporting hazardous materials or 
transporting 15 passengers or more.

Lifetime  

•	 Second conviction for any one of the top seven 
violations listed under 1-year disqualification.

Permanent 

•	 First conviction for using a CMV in the manufacture 
or illegal distribution of drugs.

Imminent Hazard Disqualification (not to exceed  
one year)

•	 Determination by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration that a person’s driving constitutes  
an imminent hazard.

Masking of Traffic Violations for CDL Drivers  
Not Allowed 

Courts are no longer allowed to defer imposition of 
sentence, or allow a CDL holder or person required 
to have a CDL to enter into a diversion program that 
would prevent a conviction regarding traffic control 
laws, in any type of vehicle, from appearing on the 
person’s driving record.  
 
Driver Improvement Programs

Driver improvement programs will not be allowed by 
any person for any offenses committed in a CMV or by 
any CDL holder whether the offenses are committed in 
a noncommercial or commercial motor vehicle.

Limited Driving Privileges

Limited Driving Privileges (LDP) will not be issued 
to operate a CMV during any period of suspension, 
revocation, cancellation, or disqualification. Limited 
driving privileges:

•	 Allow continued driving in a “noncommercial 
   vehicle” for employment or specified reasons 
   during a period of suspension or revocation.

•	 Applications may be obtained at local contract 
   license offices, or a petition may be filed with the 
   court in the county of residence or employment.

*Serious traffic convictions include reckless driving, 
speeding 15 mph or more above the speed limit, 
improper or erratic lane changes, following too closely, 
and any moving violation relating to a fatal crash. 

Serious traffic convictions also include driving a CMV 
without obtaining a CDL, driving a CMV without CDL 
in possession, driving a CMV without proper class of 
CDL or endorsement or restrictions, driving a CMV 
while using a hand-held mobile phone, and driving a 
CMV while texting.

8 points in 18 months
1st suspension – 30 days
2nd suspension – 60 days
3rd or more – 90 days

2 points - Drive While Disqualified, Failure to Keep Right, 
Improper Lane Failure or Improper Signal, Following Too 
Close, No Commercial Driver License

License revoked for 1 year
12 points in 12 months
18 points in 24 months
24 points in 36 months

3 points - Excessive Speeding

POINT ACCUMULATION AND ACTION AGAINST DRIVER:

POINT VIOLATION EXAMPLES:
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