
The Department of Revenue has a tax 
assistance office located in the Harry 
S Truman building in Jefferson City, 
making it easier for customers to get 
expert assistance with their individual 
and business tax matters.

Tax experts are available to provide 
assistance with business tax registration, 
no tax due issues, accepting payments, 
and accepting completed returns.

*Individual income tax preparation 
services are not available at any location.

TAX INFORMATION
DID YOU 
KNOW...

The Missouri Department 
of Revenue thanks you 
for your service.

for  
MILITARY PERSONNEL

Our virtual assistant, DORA, is 
available 24/7 to help answer any 
questions you have at dor.mo.gov.

  Like & Follow @MissouriRevenue

Chat with DORA!
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• You are not required to file a Missouri 
return if you are not required to file a 
federal return.

• You may not be required to file a Missouri 
return if:

You are a resident and have less  
than $1,200 of Missouri adjusted 
gross income;
You are a non-resident with less than 
$600 of Missouri income; or

Your Missouri adjusted gross income  
is less than the amount of your  
standard deduction.

Income Tax Tips:
• If you are not required to file a Missouri 

return, but you received a W-2 form 
indicating taxes withheld to Missouri, you 
must file a Missouri return to get a refund 
of your Missouri withholding.

• If you are not required to file a Missouri 
return and do not anticipate an increase 
in income, you may consider changing 
your W-4 form to “exempt” so that your 
employer will not withhold Missouri tax.

Income Tax Filing 
Requirements

Military Income Deduction

Missouri law allows for Missouri residents 
who are required to file to deduct 100% of 
their income that was earned as a member 
of the active duty components of the Armed 
Forces of the United State. 

Starting January 2020, Missouri law allows 
for Missouri residents who are required to 
file to deduct a percentage of their income 
that was earned as a member of the inactive 
duty components of National Guard Inactive 
Duty Training (IDT), National Guard Annual 
Training (AT), Reserve components of 
the Armed Forces. The percentages are a 
gradual increase for 5 years starting at 20 
percent for the 2020 tax year. 
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Missouri Residents Stationed  
in Missouri:
• You are required to file a Missouri return if 

your home of record is Missouri and either 
of the following statements is true:

You are stationed in Missouri due to 
military orders; or

You are entering or leaving the military 
and you spent 30 days or more in Missouri.

Missouri Residents Stationed  
Outside Missouri:
• If you maintained no permanent living 

quarters in Missouri during the year, 
maintained permanent living quarters 
elsewhere, and did not spend 30 days of 
the year in Missouri, you are considered a 
non-resident for tax purposes.

• If you are the spouse of a military 
servicemember living outside of Missouri 
and Missouri is your state of residency, any 
income earned is taxable to Missouri. A 
return is required if the spouse of a military 
servicemember earns more than $1,200.

Non-Residents Stationed  
in Missouri:
• The military pay of non-resident military 

stationed in Missouri due to military 
orders is not taxable to Missouri. If you 
are a servicemember and earned only 
military income while stationed in Missouri, 
complete a No Return Required – Military 
form found on the Department’s website. 

• If you are a military servicemember and 
earned $600 or more in Missouri in non-
military income, the non-military income is 
taxable to Missouri.

• The filing status on your Missouri return 
must match the filing status on your 
federal return.

• The Missouri return must begin with your 
total federal adjusted gross income.

• Income earned as a member of any 
active duty component of the armed 
forces of the United States may be 
eligible for a deduction.

• If you are the spouse of a military 
servicemember (who is in Missouri 
because the military servicemember is 
stationed in Missouri on military orders), 
are employed in Missouri, and your state 
of residence is another state, any income 
earned by you is not taxable to Missouri. 
However, if you earned more than $600, 
you must file a Missouri return (Form 
MO-1040) and provide verification of your 
state of residence. 

• You must report the military pay of the 
servicemember and the spouse’s income 
on Form MO-A, Part 1, as a “Military 
(Nonresident)” subtraction to your  
federal adjusted gross income.

Income Tax Tips

The Department of Revenue has 
dedicated resources to assist 
military personnel and their families 
with tax, motor vehicle, and driver 
licensing matters.

Email military@dor.mo.gov or call 
(816) 236-9440.
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