

The Department of Revenue is pleased to provide you with information on how to apply for a Missouri mechanic lien title for a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle (ATV), manufactured home, boat, vessel, or outboard motor (unit).

QUALIFICATION:

To apply for a Missouri mechanic lien title:

- The applicant (holder of the unit) must be a business or mechanic located in Missouri (i.e., must have a valid Missouri address or a storage facility located in Missouri).
- The applicant must have a written work order for labor, services, skill, materials, towing and/or storage costs signed by the owner, an authorized agent of the owner, or (in the case of a tow) a law enforcement officer.
- The owner of the unit has failed to pay the total balance due for service, repair work, materials, towing, and/or storage fees completed by the applicant.
- The unit held by the applicant has been unclaimed (not picked-up) for 45 days or more following completion of the service, repair work, towing and/or storage. If the applicant is no longer in physical possession of the unit, they must seek the advice of a legal professional.
- The applicant has provided all owners and lienholders with a 30-day written notice, by certified mail, of the debt and of their intent to file for a mechanic lien title unless the owner or lienholder, within 30 days, makes satisfactory arrangements with the holder of the unit.
 - An application for a mechanic lien title cannot be made until 30 days *after* the notification has been mailed to all owners and lienholders.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:

- The appropriate application form must be must be completed by the landowner.
 - For a motor vehicle, trailer, ATV, or manufactured home An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108):
 - o Mark "Mechanic Lien" as the title type.
 - o Indicate the unit holder's name and address.
 - Indicate the year, make, and identification number of the unit.
 - For a motor vehicle with a model year of 2011 or newer (until the vehicle reaches the age of 20 years old), the holder must physically witness the motor vehicle odometer reading on the unit and record the reading on the title application. If the true mileage is unknown, the holder must submit a statement containing all known facts regarding the true mileage.
 - Signature and date.
 - For a boat, vessel, or outboard motor An Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Form 93).
 - Select "Mechanic Lien" as the title type.
 - Indicate the unit holder's name and address.
 - Indicate the year, make, and identification number of the unit.
 - Sign and date.
- A completed and *notarized Affidavit for Mechanic Lien Title* (Form 1062) that certifies to the following:
 - The actual value of all labor, services, skills, materials, towing and/or storage costs accumulated to the date of application



-~ -	m 00	hanic	lion	+++10

- The owner has defaulted on payment for labor, services, skills, materials, towing and/or storage, and that payment is 45 days or more past due.
- The owner or lienholder has failed to make satisfactory arrangements within 30 days since the 30-day notice of the debt and of the intent of the holder to file for a mechanic lien title.
- The holder has continued storing the unit 30 days since notification of the debt and of the intent of the holder to file for a mechanic lien title.

	A statement indicating the outstanding balance due at the time the application for mechanic lien is submitted.
П	The work order or storage agreement (original or copy).

- A work order must have a description of the unit (year, make, and identification number), the business name, work completed, charges for services, labor, materials, towing and/or storage costs (if any), and the signature of the owner, an authorized agent of the owner, or a law enforcement officer.
- A *storage agreement* must include the business name, date of agreement, and signature of the unit owner.

A copy of the Notice to Owner(s) and Lienholders(s) Regarding
Intent to File for Mechanic Lien Title (Form 5835)—or similar 30-
day notice—sent after the 45-day default period, via certified
mail, to each owner and lienholder. The notification letter must
include the unit's year, make, and identification number, as well

as a statement of intent to apply for a mechanic lien title.
A copy of the signed certified mail notification (green card)
indicating the notification was delivered, returned to sender, or
refused (or the postal receipt, along with a printout from the
USPS Tracking web page) for each owner and lienholder 30-day
notice sent.

If the vehicle is not currently titled in Missouri:

- A copy of the out-of-state title search indicating the owner and lienholder of record; and
- A vehicle identification number and odometer reading (ID/OD) inspection or a completed *Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification* (Form 5062).

YOU WILL PAY:

☐ The \$10 title application fee and \$6 processing fee.

Do not send cash. Make checks payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue. The Department may electronically resubmit checks returned for insufficient or uncollected funds.

SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION:

The application for mechanic lien title, supporting documents, and fees must be submitted to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau PO Box 100 Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100



IDENTIFYING OWNER(S) AND LIENHOLDER(S):

To ensure the unit holder sends the 30-day notice to all owners and lienholders on file with the Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, the holder of the unit should request the names and addresses of all owners and lienholders (i.e., title history) of the unit from the Motor Vehicle Bureau, as described below:

Submit a completed *Request for Motor Vehicle/Driver License Personal Information* (Form 5091) and payment by one of the following methods:

In person to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau 301 West High Street Harry S Truman Building, Room 370 Jefferson City, MO 65105

By mail to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau PO Box 2048 Jefferson City, MO 65105-2048

You will pay:

- A processing fee of \$2.82 per record; and
- A convenience fee if you pay by credit/debit card.

SELLING A UNIT WITH A MECHANIC LIEN TITLE

Upon receipt of the application for mechanic lien title, required documents, and payment of fees, the Motor Vehicle Bureau will issue a "Lien Title".

NOTE: Registration cannot be issued to a unit currently titled with a "Lien Title". After the title issues, the new owner (holder) shall, within 10 days, begin proceedings to sell the unit at auction (Section 430.082, RSMo). Prior to selling the unit with a mechanic lien title, the new owner (holder) must:

- Run an advertisement in at least two publications of a local/general circulation newspaper, no less than 20 days prior to the date of sale; or
- Post five handbills (if no local/general circulation newspaper exists in that county) in different places within the township, one of which must be posted where the unit was received and is to be sold.

The advertisement/handbills must read as follows:

NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that on [insert date] a sale will be held at [insert place] to sell the following articles to enforce a lien existing under the laws of the State of Missouri against such articles for labor, services, skill, or material expended upon such articles at the request of the following designated persons, unless such articles are redeemed prior to the date of said sale:

Description of Art	ticle:		
Name of Owner:			



Amount of Lien:		
Name of Lienholder:		

STOPPING AN APPLICATION FOR MECHANIC LIEN TITLE

During the 30-day notice period, the titled owner or lienholder may stop the application for mechanic lien title by notifying the Department in writing. The written statement must contain:

- The year, make, and vehicle identification number of the unit;
- The business/mechanic's name (unit holder's business name as listed on the work order); and
- A statement requesting to stop the issuance of the mechanic lien title.

The stop letter must be sent by one of the following methods:

By mail to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau Attention: Mechanic Lien PO Box 2076 Jefferson City, MO 65105

By fax to:

573-751-5209, Attn: Mechanic Lien

A mechanic lien title will not be issued if a stop letter is received from the owner, or a hearing on the matter is requested, or the applicant (holder) requests their application for mechanic lien title be withdrawn or cancelled.

For additional information regarding mechanic liens, contact the Department at 573-526-3669 or mybmail@dor.mo.gov.