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The Missouri Department of Revenue has designated a “Military
Liaison” to assist military personnel with questions about Missouri
income tax, driver licenses, motor vehicle registrations, and other
issues. Please call (816) 236-9440 and ask for the Department’s
Military Liaison, or e-mail the Department at military@dor.mo.gov.

You may also obtain information about tax, motor vehicle, and
driver licensing from the Department by contacting:

Taxation Division Motor Vehicle Bureau Driver License Bureau
PO BOX 2200 PO BOX 100 PO BOX 200
JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105 | JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105 | JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105
Phone: (573) 751-3505 Telephone: (573) 526-3669 Telephone: (573) 526-2407
Fax: (573) 751-2195 Fax: (573) 751-0789 Fax: (573) 522-8174

Email: income@dor.mo.gov | Email: mvbmail@dor.mo.gov Email: dibmail@dor.mo.gov
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The Service Members Civil Relief Act prevents military personnel
from being taxed on their military income by any state other than
their home of record state. The Military Spouses Residency Relief
Act, effective for the 2009 tax year and forward, prevents income
earned by servicemembers’ spouses from being taxed by any state
other than the state they declare as their state of residence.

To determine if any income for a military individual (and spouse, if
married) is taxable to Missouri, the individual must first determine
if Missouri is his or her home of record.

If you entered the armed forces in Missouri, your home of record is
presumed to be Missouri and you are presumed to be domiciled in
Missouri. Since individuals with a Missouri home of record can be
stationed in Missouri or outside Missouri, their tax obligations can
be different based on their specific circumstances.

Nonresidents of Missouri who are stationed in Missouri due to
military orders generally do not have a Missouri home of record.
Any military pay earned in Missouri by a person who does not
have a Missouri home of record is not taxable and may be
excluded from Missouri adjusted gross income. However, any
additional non-military income is taxable.

Under Section 143.174 RSMo, a deduction of 100% of the income
received by any person as salary or compensation in any form as
a member of the active duty component of the Armed Forces of
the United States, may be taken as long as the income is included
in the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income. See page 10 for
more information.
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http://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=143.174

FILING REQUIREMENTS

Home of Record - Missouri
e Stationed in Missouri - If your home of record is Missouri
and either of the following statements are true,

- you are stationed in Missouri due to military orders

- you are entering or leaving the military and you spend
30 days or more in Missouri;

You are required to file a Missouri return. The Missouri return
must begin with your total federal adjusted gross income. Income
earned as a member of any active duty component of the Armed
Forces of the United States may be eligible for a deduction on
Line 19 of Individual Income Tax Return (Form MO-1040).

» Stationed outside Missouri - If you: (a) maintained no
permanent living quarters in Missouri during the year; (b)
maintained permanent living quarters elsewhere; and (c) did
not spend more than 30 days of the year in Missouri, you are
considered a nonresident for tax purposes and your military
pay, interest, and dividend income are not taxable to Missouri.
Complete Missouri Income Percentage (Form MO-NRI) and
attach to Form MO-1040. If your spouse remains in Missouri
more than 30 days while you are stationed outside Missouri,
your total income, including your military pay, is taxable to
Missouri.

If you are the spouse of a military servicemember, are living outside
of Missouri and Missouri is your state of residence, any income you
earn is taxable to Missouri. If you earn more than $1,200 you must
file a Missouri return (Form M0O-1040). Income earned as an active
duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States may be
eligible for a deduction on Line 19 of Form MO-1040.



https://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?category=&formName=1040
https://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=NRI&category=&year=99
http://www.dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=mo-1040&category=&year=&searchForms=Search+Forms

Home of Record - Not Missouri

The military pay of nonresident military personnel stationed in
Missouri due to military orders is not taxable to Missouri. If you are
a servicemember and earned only military income while stationed
in Missouri, complete a No Return Required-Military Online Form at

the following address: https://sa.dor.mo.gov/nri/.

If you are a military servicemember and earned $600 or more in
Missouri in non-military income, this non-military income is taxable
to Missouri and cannot be subtracted from your federal adjusted
gross income on your Missouri return (Form MO-1040).

If you are the spouse of a military servicemember, are in Missouri
because the military servicemember is stationed in Missouri on
military orders, and your state of residence is another state, any
income earned by you is not taxable to Missouri. However, if
you earn more than $600 you must file a Missouri return (Form
MO-1040) and provide verification of your state of residence.

Acceptable verification may include any of the following: a copy of
your corresponding year state income tax return filed in your state
of residence, your corresponding year property tax receipt, current
driver license, vehicle registration, or voter identification card.

You must report the military pay of the servicemember and your
income on Individual Income Tax Adjustments (Form MO-A), Part
1, Line 9, as a “Military (Nonresident)” subtraction to your federal
adjusted gross income. For additional information, please visit

http://dor.mo.gov/military/.



https://sa.dor.mo.gov/nri/
https://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?category=&formName=1040
https://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=MO-A&category=&year=99
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USE THIS DIAGRAM TO DETERMINE WHICH

INCOME TAX FORM (IF ANY) TO USE

Are you stationed
in Missouri?

NO

YES l

— 1

Is Missouri your
Home of Record?

| |
YES NO

.

Are you stationed
in Missouri?

Did you maintain a

ves NO

Did you have HI

Missouri source
income?

permanent place of
residency in Missouri?

| |
YES NO | |

All income is ¢ | YES NO Not required
taxable. Complete to file.

Form MO-1040.

Did you maintain

N permanent living
quarters outside
NO —

of Missouri?

Complete the
“No Return

| Required - Military”
YES Online Form

—YES—/| pid you spend more than Hl J

— NO — 30 days in Missouri?

Additional income (excluding
military pay) is taxable to Missouri.
Complete Form MO-1040 and
Form MO-NRI.

Your total income (including
military pay) is not taxable to
Missouri. Complete Form MO-1040

Note: If your spouse has more than $600
and Form MO-NRI.

of Missouri source income and is in Missouri

solely due to military orders, his/her income
is not taxable. However, you must file a

Missouri return (Form MO-1040) and provide
verification of your state of residence.

Note: Any Missouri source
income (excluding military pay)
is taxable to Missouri.

Note: Section 143.174 RSMo allows a deduction of 100% of the income received
as salary or compensation if earned as a member of the active duty component
of the Armed Forces of the United States, providing the income is included in
the federal adjusted gross income. If filing a joint return, the deduction may be
taken from the total Missouri combined adjusted gross income. For more
information see the Department’s web site at http://dor.mo.gov/military/
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COMBAT PAY

COMBAT ZONE - MILITARY

A combat zone is any area the President of the United States
designates by Executive Order as an area in which the U.S.
Armed Forces are engaging or have engaged in combat. An area
usually becomes a combat zone and ceases to be a combat zone
on the dates the President designates.

COMBAT PAY INCLUDED IN FEDERAL ADJUSTED
GROSS INCOME

If a military person’s federal adjusted gross income includes
military pay received while serving in a combat zone, that
portion of combat pay may be subtracted on the Missouri return.

In most cases, the IRS allows enlisted members, warrant officers,
and commissioned officers to exclude the military pay received
while serving in a combat zone, so no deduction is necessary on
the Missouri return. However, if a military person’s combat pay is
included in Form W-2, Box 1, wages and included in their federal
adjusted gross income, a subtraction is allowed using Form
MO-A, Part 1.

EXTENSION OF DEADLINES

The time for taking care of certain tax matters can be postponed.
These postponements are referred to as “extensions of deadlines.”

QUALIFYING FOR AN EXTENSION OF DEADLINE

The deadline for filing tax returns, paying taxes, or filing claims
for refund, are automatically extended if either of the following
statements are true:

* You serve in the Armed Forces in a combat zone or you have
qualifying service outside of a combat zone. A qualifying
service outside of a combat zone is the service in direct
support of military operations in the combat zone, and the
service qualifies you for special military pay for duty subject
to hostile fire or imminent danger. Other qualifying services
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would include if you were hospitalized while serving in a
combat zone, or hospitalized after serving in the combat
zone and have a wound, disease, or injury that happened
while serving in the combat zone.

* You serve in the Armed Forces on deployment outside
the United States away from your permanent duty station
while participating in a contingency operation. A contingency
operation is a military operation that is designated by
the Secretary of Defense or results in calling members of
the uniformed services to active duty (or retains them on
active duty) during a war or a national emergency declared
by the President or Congress.

LENGTH OF EXTENSION

Your deadline for taking actions with the Missouri Department
of Revenue is extended for 180 days after the last day you are
in a combat zone, have qualifying service outside of the combat
zone, or serve in a contingency operation (or the last day the
area qualifies as a combat zone or the operation qualifies as a
contingency operation).

In addition to the 180 days, your deadline is extended by the
number of days that were left for you to take action with the
Missouri Department of Revenue when you entered a combat
zone (or began performing qualifying service outside the combat
zone) or began serving in a contingency operation. If you
entered the combat zone or began serving in the contingency
operation before the period of time to take the action began,
your deadline is extended by the entire period of time you have
to take the action.

INTEREST AND PENALTIES

The Department follows the federal guidelines on assessment and
collection deadlines. During the extension period, assessment and
collection deadlines will be extended, and you will not be charged
interest and penalties attributable to the extension period.
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

WHEN MISSOURI IS THE HOME OF RECORD

My income is entirely from the military and | have not spent more
than 30 days in Missouri during the year. Is my military income
taxable to Missouri?

No. You need to complete the “No Return Required - Military” online
form indicating you are not required to file a Missouri return. However, if
you had Missouri withholdings you must complete Forms MO-1040 and
MO-NRI to recover your withholdings.

| entered the military from Missouri on April 1st. | was stationed at
a military base in another state through the end of the year. Is my
military income taxable to Missouri?

Yes. Your military pay is taxable to Missouri since you were in Missouri
more than 30 days during the year. However, you may be eligible for a
military income deduction on Form MO-1040 if the income was earned
as an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States. See
page 10 for more information.

| have been stationed at a military base in another state all year
and my income is entirely from the military. My spouse resides in
Missouri. Is my military pay taxable to Missouri?

Yes. If your spouse spent more than 30 days in Missouri during the year,
you are 100 percent taxable to Missouri and must complete Form MO-1040
(long form). However, you may be eligible for a military income deduction
on Form MO-1040 if the income was earned as an active duty member of
the Armed Forces of the United States. See page 10 for more information.

I have been stationed at a military base in another state all year
and my income is entirely from the military. Missouri state taxes
were withheld from my military pay. Do | need to file a Missouri
return to receive a refund?

Yes. In order to receive a refund, you must complete Form MO-1040
(long form) along with Form MO-NRI (Missouri Income Percentage).

I am retired and receive a pension from the military. Is my military
pension taxable to Missouri? If so, how is my military pension taxed?

Pension income is taxable to the state one resides in while receiving
payments. You may qualify for a pension exemption. You must
complete Form M0O-1040 (long form), along with Form MO-A, Part 3.

Married couples with Missouri adjusted gross income less than $100,000
and single individuals with Missouri adjusted gross income less than
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$85,000, may deduct the greater of $6,000 or 100 percent of their public
retirement benefits, to the extent the amounts are included in their federal
adjusted gross income. The total public pension exemption is limited to
$36,976 for each spouse.

If you receive a military pension from service in a branch of the armed
services of the United States, including the Missouri Army Reserve and
Missouri National Guard, you may be eligible for the military pension
exemption. This exemption can be claimed on Form MO-1040 by
completing Form MO-A, Part 3, Section D. You must reduce your military
pension exemption by any portion of your military pension that is included
in the calculation of your public pension exemption. If you qualify for

the public pension exemption, complete the Public Pension Calculation
(Section A) before calculating their military pension exemption.

Note: Taxpayers who also qualify for the Social Security or Social Security
Disability Deduction, must reduce their public pension exemption by the
amount of the Social Security or Social Security Disability Deduction.

If | am in the military serving in a combat zone and cannot file my
taxes by the due date, do | qualify for an extension to file
my return?

Yes. Any military personnel qualifies for an extension of 180 days if they
are: 1) serving in a combat zone; 2) deployed outside of the United
States away from their permanent duty station while participating in a
contingency operation, or; 3) had continuous qualified hospitalization
for injury from service in a combat zone or contingency operation. The
extension begins after the last day of the latest of these situations.

| was stationed at a military base in California; | will be separating
from the military in October and returning to Missouri. Is my
military income taxable to Missouri?

Yes. If you spend more than 30 days in Missouri during the year, your
military income is taxable to Missouri. However, you may be eligible for
a military income deduction on Form MO-1040 if the income was earned
as an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States. See
page 10 for more information.

| have been stationed at a military base in another state all year
and my income is entirely from the military. My spouse is a resident
of Missouri, resides with me, and works for a company in the state
in which we are stationed. Are we required to file a return?

Yes, under the Military Spouse’s Residency Relief Act, if you are the
spouse of a military servicemember residing outside of Missouri solely
because your spouse is there on military orders, any income you earn is
taxable to Missouri. You must complete Form M0O-1040 (long form). The
military servicemember may calculate their Missouri income percentage by
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completing Form MO-NRI. The spouse of the servicemember is not eligible
to calculate a Missouri income percentage and should report 100 percent
on MO-1040.

How is my annuity from the Survivor Benefit Plan taxed?

The Survivor Benefit Plan is a program offered by the United States
government to retired members of the military servicemember so that
upon the death of the retired servicemember, an annuity is provided to a
designated person (usually the surviving spouse) as a replacement for
the military retirement pension. Although the annuity does not qualify for
the military retirement pension exemption, it does qualify for the public
pension exemption.

If | earned military income while in an active duty status, do | qualify
for a deduction?

If your military income was earned as an active duty member of the
Armed Forces of the United States, you may be eligible for the military
income deduction. See below for more information.

MILITARY INCOME DEDUCTION INFORMATION

Section 143.174, RSMo provides a deduction for military income earned
as a member of the active duty component of the Armed Forces of the
United States. Below is some helpful information regarding the military
deduction:

* This deduction may be claimed on the Military Income Deduction line of
the Missouri Individual Income Tax Return (Form MO-1040). The 2016
return is the first year this deduction may be claimed.

The military income must be included in the federal adjusted gross
income and not have been previously taken as a deduction or
subtraction.

* When submitting your return, include a copy of all Leave and Earnings
Statement(s) for the year that validate how long you were on active
duty for training or annual training and the amount you earned on
active duty for training or on annual training. Failure to attach the
required documentation may result in the disallowance of the
deduction. A PDF of this documentation should be provided when filing
your return electronically.

* The military income deduction is available for the amount of pay
received while:
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Ordered to federal active duty status under 10 USC or 32 USC
Participating in Annual Training (typically 2 weeks a year)

Participating in other active training or schools, except for Inactive
Duty for Training, which does NOT qualify for this deduction.

* You may NOT take the deduction for the amount of pay you
received while on:

©  State Active Duty (shown on your state W-2 form)

© |nactive Duty Training - While this may appear on a Leave and

Earnings Statement, Inactive Duty for Training does not qualify for
the military income deduction.

e All Missouri returns claiming the military deduction will be compared

to income data (Form W-2 data) provided by the Defense Finance and
Accounting Service (DFAS).




FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS WHEN

MISSOURI IS NOT THE HOME OF RECORD

| am stationed at a military base in Missouri and my income is
entirely from the military. Do | need to file a Missouri return?

No. Your military pay is not taxable to Missouri due to the Servicemembers
Civil Relief Act. However, you need to complete the “No Return Required -
Military” online form indicating you are not required to file a Missouri return.

My spouse and | are stationed at a military base in Missouri and
we are both residents of another state. My income is entirely from
the military and my spouse works for a Missouri company. Do we
need to file a Missouri return?

Yes. You must complete Form MO-1040 (long form) along with Form MO-A.
Your military pay is not taxable to Missouri due to the Servicemembers

Civil Relief Act and your spouse’s income is not taxable due to the Military
Spouse’s Residency Relief Act. Report on Form MO-A, Part 1, Line 10 your
military pay and your spouse’s income. Be sure to mark the box titled
Military (nonresident). Your spouse must verify they are a resident of
another state by providing any of the following: a copy of your other state
return, property tax receipts, a valid driver license, or vehicle registration,

or a voter identification card. Please see the Department’s web site for

additional information at http://dor.mo.gov/military/.

| am stationed at a military base in Missouri and Missouri is nhot my
“home of record.” Most of my income is from the military, but |
have a part-time job and my spouse works full-time for a Missouri
company. Do we need to file a Missouri return?

Yes. You must complete Form MO-1040 (long form) along with Form MO-A.
Your military pay is not taxable to Missouri due to the Servicemembers

Civil Relief Act and your spouse’s income is not taxable due to the Military
Spouse’s Residency Relief Act. Report on Form MO-A, Part 1, Line 10 your
military pay and your spouse’s income. Be sure to mark the box titled
Military (nonresident). Your spouse must verify they are a resident of
another state by providing any of the following: a copy of your other state
return, property tax receipts, a valid driver license, or vehicle registration, or
a voter identification card. Any income you earned at your part-time job is
taxable to Missouri. Please see the Department’s web site for additional

information at http://dor.mo.gov/military/.
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I am stationed in Missouri and have a part-time job in Missouri,
and my spouse resides in Texas. Am | required to use the same
filing status on my Missouri return as | did on my federal return?

Yes. You are required to use the same filing status to file your Missouri
return as you did on your federal return. You must complete Form MO-1040
(long form) along with Form MO-A. Your military pay is not taxable to
Missouri due to the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act and your spouse’s
income is not taxable due to the Military Spouse’s Residency Relief Act.
Report on Form MO-A, Part 1, Line 10 your military pay and your spouse’s
income. Be sure to mark the box titled Military (nonresident). Any income
you earned at your part-time job is taxable to Missouri.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT FOR DISABLED VETERANS

Certain individuals are eligible to claim up to $750 if they pay rent or $1,100
if they pay real estate tax on the home they own and occupy. If renting
from a facility that does not pay property taxes, you are not eligible for a
Property Tax Credit. The credit is available to individuals 65 years of age

or older, 100% disabled, 60 years of age or older and receiving surviving
spouse benefits, and to 100% disabled veterans as a result of military
service. Please see the Department’s web site for additional information at

https://dor.mo.gov/personal/ptc/.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT - VETERAN INCOME

 If a Veteran is 100% disabled (NOT due to military service) payments and
benefits are included into Property Tax Credit household income. Veteran
payments and benefits include education or training allowances, disability
compensation, grants, and insurance proceeds. A letter from the Veterans
Administration detailing the amount of your benefits needs to be attached
to the Property Tax Credit form.

 If a Veteran is 100% disabled as a result of military service, you are not
required to include your veteran payments and benefits on the Property
Tax Credit form. A letter from the Veterans Administration indicating the
disability is 100% from military service needs to be attached to the
Property Tax Credit form.
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“NO RETURN REQUIRED - MILITARY”

ONLINE FORM

Military individuals who are not required to file a Missouri return can
use the “No Return Required - Military” online form, which can be

found online at http://dor.mo.gov/military.

This form must be submitted to the Department by the return’s due
date. (A return’s due date is normally April 15th, following the close
of the taxable year.) Submitting this online form timely may prevent
the Department from sending a “Request for Tax Return” notice to
a military individual. If you receive a notice from the Department,
submit a Form MO-NRI along with a DFAS W-2 or LES showing
your state of residence.

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION

FOR CERTAIN VETERANS

Constitutional Amendment 2 exempts from property taxes all real
property used as a homestead by any Missouri citizen who is a
former prisoner of war with a total service-connected disability.

This exemption is not administered by the Missouri Department of
Revenue.
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Drwer Licence

RENEWAL OF DOCUMENTS

Missouri allows for an early renewal of driver licenses, permits, or
non-driver licenses documents for persons leaving the state or
country. An applicant can apply for early renewal at a local license
office prior to leaving to ensure the document does not expire
while deployed.

Missouri also allows renewal by mail for members of the armed
forces and their dependents. Applicants should submit an Mail-

In Driver License Application renewal (Form 4317), along with all
identity, lawful status, Missouri residence address, mailing address,
Social Security Number and name change verification documents
and fees. The renewal form is available on-line and can be faxed
upon request. Applicants for a first-time REAL ID-compliant
document must apply in person. Military applicants with a current
REAL ID-compliant document are allowed only one renewal by
mail between in person applications.

Missouri allows a renewal without re-examination for members of
the armed forces whose license has expired while out of state, for
up to six months from honorable discharge or within ninety days
of reestablishing residency in Missouri, whichever occurs first. The
expired Missouri license and discharge papers must be presented
at the time of application in addition to other applicable renewal
documents. The expired license is not valid for driving. These
provisions only waive re-examination and do not extend the actual
driving privileges beyond the expiration date.

Required Documents for Renewal
When you obtain or renew any license, permit, or nondriver
license, you will be required to present proof of lawful status,
identity, social security number, Missouri residency, name change
if applicable, and mailing address, if different than residential
address. If renewing, you will also be required to present and
surrender your current license, permit, or nondriver license and
any previously issue driver license or nondriver identification
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card issued by a state other than Missouri. Details of these
requirements are listed below. For more information, visit http://

dor.mo.gov/.

e Lawful Status: A U.S. citizen may show a U.S. Birth
Certificate (certified with an embossed, stamped or raised
seal and issued by a vital records agency. Hospital birth
certificates and birth registration cards are not acceptable.),
a valid, unexpired U.S. passport a U.S. Certificate of
Citizenship, Certificate of Naturalization, or a Certificate of
Birth Abroad. A “copy” of a U.S. Birth Certificate (issued
by a vital records agency accompanied by a U.S. Military
Identification Card or Discharge Papers. This proof of lawful
status is not acceptable for issuance of a Real ID-compliant
document. Non-U.S. citizens must present the appropriate
immigration documents indicating the applicant’s status.
Examine the full list of acceptable required documents at:
http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/idrequirements.php.

Identity: Documents used to verify identity must contain
your full legal name and date of birth. Many lawful status
documents, as noted above, may also be acceptable as proof
of identity.

e Missouri Residency: You have a variety of options to prove
your current address. Examples include a current utility bill
(including phone, electric, gas, water, sewer, and cable),
property tax receipt, voter ID card, or any official letter
issued within the last 30 days by another state or local
governmental agency on its letterhead. Applicants for a
first-time REAL ID-compliant document must apply in person.

To obtain a Real ID-compliant document, you must provide

two documents verifying Missouri residency. To obtain a non
Real ID-compliant document, you must provide one document
verifying Missouri residency. If you have a separate mailing
address, you must provide a document to verify the mailing
address. Applicants for a first-time REAL ID-compliant document
must apply in person.

All commercial driver license or commercial learner’s permit

applicants must submit two acceptable documents verifying
Missouri residency.

Page 18


http://dor.mo.gov/
http://dor.mo.gov/
http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/idrequirements.php

Note: A Post Office Box is not acceptable as a residential address.
Current addresses are important! Your license will be mailed to the
address provided.

Residential address is the location at which a person has been
physically present, and that the person regards as home. A
residential address is a person’s true, fixed, principal, and permanent
home, to which a person intends to return and remain, even though
currently residing elsewhere.

e Social Security Number: State law requires you to include
your Social Security Number (SSN) on your application to
obtain a Missouri license or permit. The SSN may be provided
by presenting the Social Security Card, W-2 Wage and Tax
Statement, 1099 Form, or a Paystub with Name and Social
Security Number. If the number or name associated with the
social security number cannot be verified, the license office
employee may ask for the Social Security Card or a statement
from the Social Security Administration as proof of the name
and SSN in their records.

If you do not have a Social Security Number:
* You must present a letter from the Social Security
Administration (SSA) regarding the status of your social
security number.

e License or permit applications without a social security
number may be reviewed by the central office for final
approval prior to printing and mailing.

Name Changes
If your current name is different than it appears on your identity and
lawful status document presented, or is not the same on all your
documents, present one of the documents below showing
your correct or current name.
¢ Last Name Change - certified marriage license, certified
divorce decree, certified court order, certified court order -
adoption, or amended birth certificate

¢ First Name Change - certified court order or court
ordered adoption

* Middle Name Change - certified court order
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POWER OF ATTORNEY

Missouri allows applications for renewal of license to be submitted
at a local license office by a person with power of attorney for
active duty military personnel.

Documents to verify power of attorney in addition to applicant
name, date of birth, place of birth, Social Security Number, and
residential address must be submitted with the application.

The application Form 4318 is available on-line at http://dor.mo.gov/
forms/4318.pdf, or may be faxed upon request or acquired from
the local license office. If applying by the CDL Even Exchange test
waiver by mail you must submit Form 5800 and Form 4317. All
required documents for CDL waiver compliance and document
verification must be submitted.

COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL)

CDL Skills Test Waiver

Missouri allows current or former military service members to
complete an application for waiver of skills testing to obtain a
commercial driver license. Applicant must have been regularly
employed within one year prior to waiver application date in

a job requiring operation of a commercial motor vehicle and
have operated the commercial vehicle for the military for at
least the two years immediately preceding separation from the
military. Applicants must still complete the required knowledge
examinations for the commercial driver license class applied for.
The Application for Military CDL Skills Test Waiver Form 5140 is
available on-line at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5140.pdf or may
be faxed upon request or acquired at a local license office.

CDL Even Exchange

Missouri allows current or former military service members to
complete an application for waiver of knowledge and skills
testing to obtain a CDL. A military applicant who is or was
employed or designated as one of the following MOS ratings
may be eligible to apply for such waiver:

U.S. Army; 88M, 14T, or 92F;

U.S. Air Force; 2T1, 2FO0, or 3E2;

U.S. Marine Corps; 3531; or

U.S. Navy; E.O.
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Applicant must have been regularly employed within one year
prior to waiver application date in a job requiring operation of
a commercial motor vehicle and have operated the commercial
vehicle for the military for at least the two years immediately
preceding separation from the military. The Application for
Military CDL Even Exchange Form 5800 is available on-line

at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5800.pdf or may be faxed upon
request or acquired at a local license office. If applying by the
CDL Even Exchange test waiver by mail you must submit Form
5800 and Form 4317. All required documents for CDL waiver
compliance and document verification must be submitted.

WAIVER OF MISSOURI

MOTORCYCLE SKILLS TESTING

Active duty members of the U.S. armed forces are permitted to
present a proof of completion card from a military Motorcycle
Rider Training Course (MRTC) to waive the written examination
and driving skKills test to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on a
Missouri driver license.

* The military course must meet or exceed the criteria of
the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF).

e Only approved MSF rider course completion cards issued
by a military MRTC will be acceptable.

e Course completion cards are acceptable for one year
from date of issuance for purposes of test waiver.

NOTE: Applicants required to obtain a Missouri motorcycle
permit prior to completing the MRTC course are required

to complete the written examination administered by the
Missouri State Highway Patrol. The Missouri motorcycle written
examination is not administered on-line or by mail. It must be
completed at a Missouri driver examination station.
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VETERAN DESIGNATION

Missouri law allows for a “VETERAN” designation to be added to a
Missouri driver or nondriver license upon request. Applicants for the
new designation must present one of the following discharge status
verification documents:

¢ United States Department of Defense discharge document,
otherwise known as a DD Form 214, that shows a discharge
status of “honorable” or “general under honorable
conditions” that establishes the person’s service in the
Armed Forces of the United States;

¢ A United States Uniformed Services Identification Card,
otherwise known as a DD Form 2, that includes a discharge
status of “retired” or “reserve retired” establishing the
person’s service in the Armed Forces of the United States;

¢ A United States Department of Veterans Affairs photo
identification card; or

e A discharge document WD AGO 53, WD AGO 55, WD
AGO 53-55, NAVPERS 553, NAVMC 78 PD, NAVCG 553,
or DD 215 form that shows a discharge status of
“honorable” or “general under honorable conditions”.

There will be no additional cost to add the indicator. The standard
new, renewal or duplicate transaction and processing fees will apply.
You are not required by law to obtain the veteran designation.

The veteran designation will display on the front of the printed card
for those eligible persons with a card issued on or after June 22,
2020. For previously issued documents the designation will display
on the back of the printed card.

Exception Processing for Qualified Veterans Without an Acceptable
Document Electing To Add The Veteran Designation

Less than 1% of veterans may have a document other than those
defined as acceptable to request the veteran designation, which the
National Personnel Records Center, the Department of Defense and
the United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) recognize
as an equivalent type document. If you do not have one of the
listed acceptable documents, you should send a copy of your
documentation and contact information to the Missouri Veterans
Commission at the following address:

Page 22



MISSOURI VETERANS COMMISSION
ATTN: VETERANS DRIVER LICENSE DESIGNATION
205 JEFFERSON ST
PO BOX 147
JEFFERSON CITY MO 65102-0147

The Veterans Commission will review the documentation and
make the determination if the submitted documents meet

the criteria as an equivalent type document and issue an
equivalency letter to you. After you receive the letter, you may
take the letter to a license office and apply for the Veteran
Designation on your driver or nondriver license.

“E'IHM”

SPECIAL NOTES

Missouri has a special process that allows for driver license
suspensions and revocations to be stayed in certain cases for
members of the armed forces performing such military service. The
suspensions and revocations will remain in a stayed status until 60
days after the military service ends.

More information regarding how to get your license reinstated or to
find out what is on your driver record is available 24 hours, 7 days
a week at (573) 526-2407. You may also access the Missouri Driver
Guide on-line at http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/dlguide/.
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Motor Uehicle

VEHICLE REGISTRATION RENEWAL

AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Military applicants may renew an expired motor vehicle registration
up to 60 days after completion of military service without a $5
renewal penalty. The vehicle may not be operated during the
period the registration is expired.

With each transaction the applicant must submit official orders
from the appropriate military authority as evidence of military
service and the date of discharge.

TITLING AND INSPECTIONS

Military applicants may authorize another individual to sign the
General Affidavit (Form 768) indicating the vehicle is out-of-state
and will be inspected within 10 days of returning to Missouri, if
applicable. A power of attorney or a statement from the military
applicant allowing the signature is not required.

Military applicants are allowed 180 days from completion of
military service before a title penalty is assessed on the purchase
of a motor vehicle, trailer, boat, outboard motor, all terrain vehicle,
or manufactured home.

Military applicants may have a commissioned officer, other
than the vehicle owner, sign a document to verify the vehicle
identification number (VIN) and odometer reading of a vehicle
previously titled out of state (ID/OD inspection) if the vehicle is
out-of-state.
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EXTENSIONS

Any person engaged in the performance of active duty in a
United States military conflict for 30 days or more, will receive an
extension for complying with certain motor vehicle laws. Qualified
military service includes:

« A member of the National Guard or National Guard Reserve;

« A member of the United States Armed Forces or Reserve
(Army, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, or Marines); and

* An officer of the United States Public Health Service detailed
by proper authority for duty with any branch of the United
States Armed Forces.

Active duty military personnel who sell a vehicle and are deployed
before a new vehicle can be purchased are allowed an extension

of 180 days after return to purchase a vehicle and obtain the

tax allowance. A copy of their military orders of completion of
deployment must be submitted. This extension also applies to “total
loss” vehicle tax credits.

SPECIALTY PLATES

Missouri has over 30 different types of military personalized license
plates available to qualified military individuals. To preview these
specialty plates or read the requirements to obtain them, visit
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/plates.

Examples include, but are not limited to:

Air Force Navy Operation Enduring Freedom
National Guard Coast Guard Marine Corps

Civil Air Patrol Army Purple Heart

Some Gave All U.S. Veteran Operation Iraqi Freedom

If you become disabled and receive a Service Connected Disability
Rating from the Veterans Administration, you can apply for a free
set of Disabled Veteran plates. You can find more information on
the website at https://dor.mo.gov/motorv/plates/dvplates.php.
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SPECIAL NOTES

Active duty military applicants may discontinue liability insurance
on a vehicle with an otherwise valid registration, provided that the
vehicle is not being operated.

Military applicants stationed outside of the state of Missouri are
eligible for waiver of their property tax receipt verification requirement
if the applicant provides a Leave and Earnings Statement which does
NOT indicate Missouri as his or her home of record.
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