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GENERAL INFORMATION

PHONE NUMBERS AND GENERAL TITLING INFORMATION

General Motor Vehicle Information (573) 526-3669

Driver License Information (573) 526-3669, Option 1
Online Renewal System, Notice of Sale System, (573) 526-3669, Option 2
Notice of Lien System Information
Personalized License Plate Information (573) 526-3669, Option 3
Salvage, Rebuilt, Abandoned Vehicle, (573) 526-3669, Option 4
Repossession, Mechanic Lien Title Information
Marine Title and Documented Vessel Information  [(573) 526-3669, Option 5
Batch, Bulk, or Individual Record Sale Information |(573) 526-3669, Option 6
Dealer Registration Information (573) 526-3669, Option 7

Applications for title may be submitted to your local Department of Revenue license office (visit
www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/offloc to find an office near you) or mailed to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO
Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100.

To obtain forms, visit our website at: http://dor.mo.gov/forms/

If you need to order forms:
e Visit our website at: https://stateofmissouri.wufoo.com/forms/dor-request-for-mail-order- forms/;
e Call (573) 526-3669; or

e Send a written request including your business name, a contact name, a contact telephone
number, the name of the form/number, quantity requested, and your complete address to the
following address:

Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Bureau
Attention: Form Order

PO Box 100

Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100

Several forms may also be obtained from the Missouri Automobile Dealers Association (MADA) by
ordering online at www.madastore.com, by calling (573) 761-1020, or by written request to:

MADA Services Corporation
PO Box 1309
Jefferson City, MO 65102

11
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FEE INFORMATION

Fee Chart
Motor Vehicle, ATV, Boat or Outboard
Title Fees Manufactured Vessel Motors
Homes, Trailers

Original $8.50 $7.50 $5.00
Duplicate $8.50 $8.50 $8.50
Non-Negotiable $8.50 N/A N/A
Corrected $8.50 $7.50 $7.50
Repossessed $10.00 $10.00 $10.00
Mechanic Lien $10.00 N/A N/A
Salvage $8.50 N/A N/A
Reconstructed $8.50 N/A N/A
Motor Change $8.50 N/A N/A
Specially $8.50 N/A N/A
Constructed

Processing Fee
For each transaction processed there will be an additional:

e 36 title processing/agent fee;
e 36 registration processing/agent fee; and/or
e $6 Notice of Lien processing/agent fee.

Title Penalty
All title penalties will be calculated based on the date of sale. The date of sale is the date on which an
ownership document is assigned by the seller to the purchaser.

Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV), and Manufactured Homes (MFGHM)

Missouri law requires that applications for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured
home, or an ATV must be made within 30 days from the date of purchase.

A title penalty will be assessed for units not titled within 30 days after the date of purchase. A
delinquent title penalty of $25 for each 30 days of delinquency, not to exceed $200, will be imposed.

When a dealer and purchaser complete an Agreement for Delayed Delivery of Certificate of
Ownership (Form 5830), title penalties will not be imposed until 60 days after the purchase date when
the dealer is authorized under Section 301.210, RSMo;

When a dealer and purchaser complete a Motor Vehicle Dealer Agreement to Sell Without Title (Form
5620), title penalties will not be imposed until 90 days after the purchase date when the dealer is
authorized under Section 301.213, RSMo.

1-2
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Vessel (Watercraft) and Outboard Motor
Missouri law requires that application for a certificate of title be made within 60 days after a vessel
(watercraft) or outboard motor is purchased. (See Section 7 for units that must be titled.)

A title penalty will be assessed on units not titled within 60 days after the date of purchase. A
delinquent title penalty of $10 for each 30 days of delinquency, not to exceed $30, will be imposed.

REQUEST FOR RECORDS
The Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) requires the Department to restrict access to
personal information contained in all Department records. Personal information includes:
e Name;
e Address (excluding zip code);
e Photograph;
e Driver license number;
e Social Security Number;
e Motor vehicle sales tax information;
e Date of birth;
e Height, weight, sex, and eye color; and
¢ Medical and disability information.

A person or entity may only access the personal information if they are exempt under the Federal
DPPA or they have obtained a signed, notarized consent form from the record holder. A notarized
Request from Record Holder (Form 4681) may be used for this purpose. Federal law prohibits the
release of the social security number and motor vehicle sales or use tax information.

The law also prohibits states from releasing personal information for bulk distribution for surveys,
marketing, or solicitation unless a signed, notarized consent form from the record holder is submitted
with each request.

Entities and persons who qualify to receive personal information contained in motor vehicle and
marine titling and registration records must apply to receive a Security Access Code Number from the
Motor Vehicle Bureau. Exempt entities and persons who qualify must complete, sign, and submit a
notarized Request for MV/DL Record(s)/Security Access Code (Form 4678). If you do not have a
security access code and are interested in obtaining one, please request an application by contacting
the Department of Revenue as noted below:

Email: direcords@dor.mo.gov

Fax: (573) 526-7367

Phone: (573) 526-3669, Option 6

Mail: PO Box 2167, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2167
Web: http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/

No Security Access Code will be issued or authorized for bulk distribution or solicitation purposes.

Requests for copies of records from individuals other than owners or lienholders of the unit must be
submitted in writing and must be accompanied by the required fee.

1-3
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Request for Information (Form 4803), tells you about each type of record search and what the
applicant must submit to obtain the requested information. The form also lists the fees for each record
search and explains the payment methods offered by the Motor Vehicle Bureau.

ACCESS DOR RECORDS ONLINE

By accessing http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/ dealers, lienholders, and other businesses that
gualify under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) and are approved by the Department may
access the Department’s motor vehicle and marine title and lien records online. The online record
search will check the Department’s title, lien, and reject file, and provide the most recent record(s) in
each file. The cost is $0.0382 per record. If there is no record on file with the Department, the
$0.0382 is waived. A $2 office processing fee may apply if purchased at a license office. Access
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/ today to apply for your online account number and security access
code.

1-4
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MOTOR VEHICLE AND TRAILER TITLE

COMMON REASONS AN APPLICATION MAY BE DELAYED OR NOT

PROCESSED

The following are reasons title applications may be delayed or returned by the Motor Vehicle Bureau.
Please be sure to complete all items on the title application. Applications that are incomplete or
incorrect will be returned to the applicant or lienholder for correction.

Title application incomplete or not legible.
Title application not signed by at least one owner.
Descriptive notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or a Notice of Lien, Lien
Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From Title (Form 4809) not submitted or
incomplete (must contain the year, make, vehicle identification number, lien release date, and
signature of the authorized agent).
Ownership document was not submitted or assigned properly.
Reminder: A properly assigned ownership document must be obtained from the seller at the
time of purchase. A properly assigned ownership document must include:
o Signature(s) of all owners on the face of the document;
o Signature of at least one purchaser, if applicable;
o Odometer reading, if applicable;
o Purchase price;
o Date of sale, lien date, and the lienholder name and address.
Incorrect taxes and fees submitted with the application. Do not send cash by mail.
o Use the Department’s online sales tax calculator for an estimate of the taxes. See page
1-2 for fee information.
Reminder: To avoid a title penalty you must submit your application for title and pay
state and local taxes within 30 days of the purchase date for motor vehicles, trailers, all-
terrain vehicles, and manufactured homes. See Section 1 for title penalty information.
Incomplete Bill of Sale/Even-Trade Bill of Sale (Form 1957) submitted. Bill of sale must include
a complete description of the unit, purchase price, date of sale, purchaser’s name and
address, and seller’'s name and address.

CERTIFICATE OF OWNERSHIP

Section 301.190, RSMo, establishes the requirements for issuing a certificate of ownership for a

motor vehicle or trailer. The following provisions are included in this section of law:

No registration or license shall be issued for a motor vehicle or trailer unless the applicant has
applied for a certificate of ownership (title). An application for certificate of title must be made
within 30 days of the purchase.

The Director of Revenue shall use reasonable diligence in ascertaining whether the application
and supporting documents are proper. If satisfied that the applicant is the lawful owner of such
motor vehicle or trailer, the Director of Revenue shall issue a certificate of ownership in the
manner prescribed by law.

The Director shall appropriately brand certificates of titles and print the most recent mileage
information on the certificate.
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e The certificate of ownership shall be manufactured in a manner to prohibit, as nearly as possible,
the ability to alter, counterfeit, duplicate, or forge such certificate without ready detection.

e The titling fee for each motor vehicle or trailer shall be $8.50, in addition to any fee(s) for
registration. A title penalty will be assessed on units not titled within 30 days after the date of
purchase. A delinquent title penalty of $25 for each 30 days of delinquency, not to exceed
$200, will be imposed. A processing or agent fee will be assessed on each transaction.

e It is unlawful for any person to operate, in this state, a motor vehicle or trailer, required to be
registered, under the provisions of the law unless a certificate of ownership has been issued as
herein provided.

e A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) or comparable out-of-state inspection must be
submitted with an application for title that is accompanied by an out-of-state title if a Missouri
salvage title has been issued previously on the vehicle.

e A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) must be submitted with the application for an
original Missouri certificate of title for any vehicle that is classified as a reconstructed motor
vehicle, specially constructed motor vehicle, kit vehicle, motor change vehicle, non-USA-std
motor vehicle, or other vehicle as required by the Director of Revenue.

e Applications for motor vehicle title accompanied by an out-of-state title must also be
accompanied by an inspection performed by an official inspection station that verifies the
vehicle’s identification number and odometer reading.

¢ A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) must be submitted with the application for a
Missouri certificate of title for any vehicle brought into Missouri in a wrecked or damaged
condition. If Form 551 indicates the vehicle is salvage or junk, the Missouri certificate of title
will designate that.

e Brand codes on out-of-state titles which indicate the vehicle as a kit, motor change
reconstructed, specially constructed, non-USA-std vehicle will be carried forward to any
subsequent Missouri certificate of title.

COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION FOR MISSOURI TITLE AND LICENSE
On the following page is a sample of an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108).
Instructions for completing the title application are on the pages that follow.

NOTE: DO NOT USE WHITEOUT ON AN APPLICATION FOR TITLE.
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TRANS TYPE ANY FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS APPLICATION IS A
VIOLATION OF THE LAW AND MAY BE PUNISHED BY FINE

e [ renewaLTransrer - | OF IMPRISONMENT OR BOTH
e — |

PLATES DOR USE ONLY — REJECT NUMBER
[ transrFer pLATES 5

U newprates LICENSE PLATE NO BRAND CODE

O rimie ony 3 4

I:] TITLE AND NOTICE OF LIEN
(No complete change of ownership)

2

: _@? MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
iz APPLICATION FOR MISSOURI TITLE AND LICENSE

ORIGINAL (1) | DUPLICATE (2) | NON-NEGOT. (3)|[PRIOR SAL VAGE| CORRECTED (5) |MECHANIGLIEN (6) | ~SALVAGE (9) [DUP.SALVAGE (0))  JUNK (A) DUP. JUNK (B) TRANSFER ON 7 TENANTS
5 O O a [J oeam o) I wcommon
OWNER'S NAME - LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE (ONLY FIRST 50 POSITIONS WILL PRINT ON TITLE) INCLUDING TOD TOD BENEFICIARIES, IF APPLICABLE
E STREET ADDRESS (MUST BE A PHYSICAL ADDRESS - CANNOT BE A PO BOX OR RURAL ROUTE) COUNTY 10 FLEET NUMBER 11 LR NiJ_hAZBEH
=
g 8 OincITY LumiTs [J OUTSIDE CITY TELEPHONE NUMBER
CITY STATE ZIP CODE 138 umTs ( y 14
DLN OR FEIN NUMBER PRICE
E-MAIL 15 S 40
YEAR MAKE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (IF TYPING, DISREGARD BLOCK CONSTRAINTS) BODY STYLE REBATE
1 1 1 1 1 I 8 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 19 $ 41
COLOR FUEL G-GAS L-LP-PROPANE [ GvWR OVER | IF NEW, LIST GWR | MILEAGE CODE PURCHASE DATE VEHICLE TRADE-IN
o 20 21 N-NAT GAS v-PLUGN rivriD| "52%° B8
Q 0-OTHER ELEG. VEHICLE DYEQZ 23 24 25 26 ] 42
I | KIND OF VEHICLE SURRENDERED TITLE NO. |STATE ZONE GR.WT. OR SEATING | OTHER CREDIT
w O wew O useo B-BEYOND LOCAL | capaciTy
> | P-PASSENGER N -AUTOGYCLE S 7Ms0) . ame) 28 29 30 L-LOCAL §-SHUTTLE 31 s 43
T- TRUCK M - MOTORCYCLE F-FARM _T-TRANSIT
D - TRAILER C - TRICYCLE KOV, § CYL H.P TAB NUMBER EXP. MO EXP. YR.| CHECK BOX IF 33 speciaL I NET PRICE
B-BUS R - REC. VEHICLE PLATE DOES P
A-ATV [ 2 32 33 34 35 36 37 |noTExPiRE D @ $ 44
FIRST LIEN SECURITY AGREEMENT DATE | MAIL TO LIENHOLDER | LIENHOLDER'S PHONE NO. | SECOND LIEN D MAIL TO ALTERNATE ADDRESS BELOW. DO NOT USE
Oves Ono 46 ® o447 |« » 48 O NG |5()IF SECOND LIEN OR SUBJECT TG FUTURE ADVANCES
2 q | FIRST LIEN 2 | SECOND LIENMAIL TO SECURITY AGREEMENT DATE
= STFA
E 3 '*' 54
= | STREET ADDRESS, R.R. OR P.O. BOX NUMBER STREET ADDRESS, R.R. OR P.O. BOX NUMBER
4
w 51 52 LICENSE FEE
3
CITY STATE ZIP CODE CITY STATE ZIP CODE $ 86
RESERVATION FEE
> [0 TRADE-IN YEAR MAKE LICENSE NUMBER EXP. YEAR FIRST LIENHOLDER AUTHORIZES SECOND LIEN 55 S 87
=uw 3 BY SIGNING HERE: »
2 &1 0O ucense 57 58 59 60 ADDITIONAL HP/DRDRX
< Z| — TRANSFER ['VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER HP_ | TITLE NUMBER $ 88
cr O orxer 56 61 62 63
= CREDIT TRANSFER FEE
o SIGNATURE OF ONE OWNER REQUIRED s 89
If this motor vehicle is registered at the time application for title is made, my signature shall certify that 5
I% | have and will maintain, during the period of registration, financial responsibility with respect to each | CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE E‘ACTS FAILURE TO TRANSRENEW
%l& motor vehicle that | own, license, or operate on the streets or highways. HEREIN ARE TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE
gg You must present your insurance card or other acceptable proof of financial responsibility. ’ 64 DATE s 90
» Any false affidavit is a crime under Section 575.050 of Missouri law. RENEWAL PENALTY
& | MO DEALER NUMBER DEALERSHIP NAME CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE TELEPHONE NUMBER || $ 91
4s 66 67 ¢ )
<L TITLE PENALTY
i Z| 1 CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FACTS HEREIN ARE SIGNATURE OF DEALER OR REPRESENTATIVE TRADE-IN 70
0~ | TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.” 69 Oves [Owo $ 92
W | DUPLICATE TITLE ONLY - COMPLETE REASON AND NOTARIZE. NOTARY INFORMATION APPLIES TO APPLICANTS SIGNATURE. | [] $1 BLUINDFUND  [J $1 ORGAN FUND FUND DONATIONS
= WWI MEMORIAL FUND
a |Owst DOstoien  Omutiiated atracH MutitaTeD TiTLE)  CINEVER RECEVED - LOST INMAIL [ 1 Os1 Oso Domern (3 $ 03
[&]
=> NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR BLACK STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) TITLE/QUICK/NOTARY FEE
: 1| AUBBERSTAMP SEAL IF EXEMPT FROM STATE OR
SZ LOCAL TAXES, ENTER $ 94
(=] o SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS EXEMPTION CODE HERE
,u ERvEE STATE TAX
ZE | 74 |
o E NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION EXPIRES $ 95
<
'6 FOR OFFICE USE ONLY [T
NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED) WGT. OF S FORM 2290
z 75 A ”‘7?3 3 96
DIST. AMT
OFFICE VALIDATION Ope Oins SUBTOTAL
O APPROVE Clrem 77 1s 78 s 97
LIREJECT SAFETY SITE GODE PROGESSING ORAGENT FEE
EMISSION
81 O eweso 9 Js 98
80 PROCESSED BY MILEAGE DATE 83 NOL PROCESSING FEE
SURRENDERED PLATE NUMBER $ 99
82 84 TOTAL
SURRENDERED PLATE GREDIT
s 100

TITLE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS TO AVOID PENALTY DOR-108 (08-2018)
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LINE FORMSECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
Mark the appropriate box: :
o RenewallTransfer Plates — Mark this box if the applicant wants to renew and transfer plates at the
time application for title is made.
o  Transfer Plates — Mark this box if the applicant only wants to transfer plates at the time application
for title is made.
1 Transaction Type | «  New Plates — Mark this box if new plates are issued.
o Title Only — Mark this box if the applicant only wants to fitle a vehicle and does not wish to register
it and obtain plates.
NOTE: If there is no complete change of ownership (such as adding or dropping a name) and the
vehicle already displays license plates, the current license plate and expiration year must be
shown on the application.
2 Title anfi:lnotlce of Mark when applying for a title and filing a Notice of Lien (NOL) with no complete change of ownership.
License Plate Record the license plate number at the time of application for title and or license. The license plate
3 Number configuration must correspond with the kind of vehicle (KOV) described on the Application for Missouri
Title and License (Form 108)
The transactions listed below are processed through the Central Office Only except prior salvage
transactions that are accompanied by a certificate of title that has already been branded “prior salvage.”
The applicant should submit the transaction to the Missouri Department of Revenue, PO Box 2076,
Jefferson City, Missouri, 65105-2076.
e A-Salvage Abandoned Property
e R-Reconstructed Motor Vehicle
4 Brand Code e S-Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle
e M- Motor Change Vehicle
e N-Non USA Std
e P -PriorSalvage
NOTE: If applying for an original title and the transaction is accompanied by a salvage certificate of title
and a Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) the applicant must submit the transaction to the central
office, if applicable.
5 DOR Use Only | Reject Number - This box is used by the central office to record the reject number, if applicable.
6 Title Type Mark the appropriate box to indicate the type of title for which the applicant is applying. To ensure proper
processing, the box must be marked clearly. Do not mark on or over the lines separating the title types.
e Mark the “Transfer on Death” box if the applicant wants to name one or more beneficiaries on the
title. The beneficiaries have no ownership rights until after the vehicle owner is deceased.
Transfer On e Mark the “Tenants in Common” box if the applicant wishes to designate a form of ownership other
7 Death/Tenants In than joint tenancy.
Common o When ownership is Tenants In Common and one owner is deceased, the remaining owner’s
percentage of ownership remains the same. The deceased owner’s share must transfer by
Probate Court.
o  Record the legal name(s) of the applicant(s) in the last name, first name, and middle initial sequence.
o Only the first 50 characters of the owner’s name (including spaces) will print on the certificate
of ownership. The 50 characters will include any TOD beneficiaries that may be designated.
o  Record the actual street, city, state, and zip code of the applicant. Only 20 characters of the owner’s
3 Owner’s Name and street address will print on the face of the certificate of title. Record the actual city name. Example: If
Address the applicant resides in Ladue, Missouri, the application should show Ladue, not St. Louis, Missouri.
o The following cities may be abbreviated:
¢  Jefferson City JC + North Kansas City NKC
¢ St Louis SL + University City ucC
¢  Kansas City KC + Springfield SPFD
2-4
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LINE FORMSECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION

9 | TOD Beneficiaries | Record the beneficiary’'s name(s) if the “Transfer on Death” box is marked.
10 County Record the county name in which the applicant's address is located.
11 Fleet Number Record the fleet number assigned by the Department, if the vehicle is to display fleet vehicle license plates.
Record the lease/rental number assigned by the Department, if the applicant is a lease rental company
12 L/R Number claiming an “Exemption 12" (Missouri Sales Tax will not be assessed on a vehicle acquired for lease/rental
by registered Missouri motor vehicle/ marinecraft leasing companies) as in the instructions for Line 74.
13 Ingﬁi’g;ﬁfe Mark the applicable box if the applicant resides inside or outside the city limits.
14 T;Ism’:r:e Record a daytime telephone number where the applicant may be reached.
DLN or FEIN The applicant’s identification number should be recorded as:
15 e Individual Name - Enter the Driver License Number or Social Security Number.
e  Business Name - Enter the Federal Employee Identification Number (FEIN).
16 Year Record at least the last two digits of the vehicle’s model year. Example: For 2014 record 14.
Record the make of the vehicle. DO NOT show the model series. At least the first four letters of the make
must be shown and must be correctly spelled. Example: OLDS - Oldsmobile, BUIC - Buick, DODG -
Dodge, FORD - Ford, MERC - Mercury, MERZ - Mercedes, and CHRY - Chrysler. For GEQ, the make
17 Make should be listed as CHEV. For recreational motor vehicles, the make of the body (instead of the chassis)
should be shown. Below are examples (this list is not all inclusive):
e  Winnebago Industries WINN e Holiday Rambler HOLI
e Coachman Industries COAC e Pace Arrow PACE
e ltaska Motor Home ITAS e Mobil Traveler MOBI
18 I dex(:i?if:taion Record the vehicle identification number corregtly and comlpletely aslli'sted on the '
Number surrendered Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or the assigned certificate of ownership.
19 Body Style Record the appropriate body style.
20 Color Record the primary color of the vehicle in this box.
e  Record the appropriate code to indicate how the vehicle is powered:
o G- Gas (including Hybrids and Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles model year 2017 and older)
o D-Diesel
o E - Electric
21 Fuel o L-LP-Propane
o N-Natural Gas
oV —Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle (model year 2018 and newer)
o O-_Other
If the type of fuel is E, L, N, or V, the applicant may be required to obtain a special fuel decal.
22 GVWR Mark this box if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) is over 16, 000 pounds.
23 Li Record the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) from the Manufacture’s Statement of Origin for all new
ist GVWWR . .
commercial motor vehicles.
When there is a change of ownership, record the mileage on the fitle application from the title assignment
24 Mileage for all motor vehicles unless the vehicle is exempt.
25 Code Office staff will enter the appropriate mileage code in this box, if applicable.
Record the Month/Day/Year.
Example: March 04-19 or 03-04-19. The purchase date and the sale date must be the same.
Purchase Date | ® The purchase date should be the date the ownership document was assigned when a change of
26 ownership is involved.
o On non-assigned titles, i.e., change of state, adding a lien, etc., the purchase date should be carried
forward from the face of the title. If there is no purchase date on the face of the title, the issue date shown
on the surrendered ownership document may be entered as the purchase date.
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LINE FORMSECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
97 New/Used Mark “New” if the vehicle was purchased on a Manufacture’s Statement of Origin (MSO); otherwise, mark
‘Used”. Mark only ONE box.
Record the previous title number of the vehicle being titled, if applicable.
28 Surrendered Title | e [f the vehicle is new and has never been titled, record “MSO” (Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin)
Number or “CO” (Certificate of Origin) in this box.
o Ifa court order is the ownership document, record “Court Order” in the block.

29 State Record the state abbreviation from which the previous fitle was issued, if available.

30 Zone Record the appropriate zone of operation for commercial registrations only.

Licensed Gross | Record the licensing weight or seating capacity that corresponds to the license plate being issued, if

31 | Weight or Seating | available.

Capacity Example: 6,000 Ibs, 12,000 Ibs, etc. for commercial motor vehicles. If the vehicle is a bus, record the
seating capacity.

32 Kind of Vehicle | Record the correct code as listed on the title application. The kind of vehicle must agree with the type of

(KOov) registration issued.
Record the number of cylinders for passenger vehicles as shown on the Manufactures Statement of
Origin (MSO) or the assigned certificate of ownership.
. e “EL’if electrically powered;
33 Cylinders e 2R’ “3R’ or “4R”if powered by rotary engine;
e “4”if a Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV); or
e “LS”if low speed vehicle.

34 Horsepower Record the taxable horsepower for passenger vehicles only.

35 Tab Number Record the appropriate tab number when a new tab number is issued.

36 Expiration Month | Record the month the registration expires.

37 Expiration Year  Record the year the registration expires.

38 ngg'; gg:‘ e'ig:?;e Mark this box if the plates are non-expiring (i.e. historic, permanent trailer, or official plates).

39 Special Mark this box if a personalized or special military license plate of any category is involved in the
transaction.

40 Price R_ecord the gross sale_ price of the motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, or manufactured home. Verify
with title assignment, if recorded.

Record the rebate amount, if applicable. A rebate offered by a motor vehicle dealer or manufacturer may be

4 Rebate used as credit to reduce the amount of sales tax due by a purchaser when titling a new or used motor
vehicle sold by
a Missouri or out-of-state dealer. The selling dealer must complete the rebate information on the application
for title before any credit will be allowed.

42 Vehicle Trade-In Record the total amount allowed on the trade-in \(ehicle, if applicablle. Verify Wi_th title assignmen’g, if.
recorded. If the amount appears altered, the applicant may be required to provide proof of trade-in, i.e.,
dealer invoice.

43 Other Credits Record the total amount allowed on any tangible personal property that was received by the dealership as a
credit or partial payment toward the purchase price of the vehicle, e.g., farm products.

44 Net Price Record the total net price. This is calculated by subtracting any rebate, trade-in allowance, or other credits
from the purchase price.

45 First Lien Mark the “Yes” box if there is a lien on the vehicle; otherwise, mark the “No” box.

Security
46 Agreement Date | Record the lien date, if a lien exists on the vehicle.
(First Lien)
a7 | MO TEENOIET hari the boxif th title is to be maled o the first lienholder.
48 Lienholder's Record the lienholder’s telephone number, if applicable.

Phone Number
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LINE FORMSECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION

49 Second Lien Mark the “Yes” box if there is a second lien on the vehicle; otherwise, mark the “No” box.
50 Mail-to Alternate | Mark this box only when the title is to be mailed to an address other than the address recorded in the
Address Below | “Owner's Name and Address” box (Line 8).
First Lien Name Record the complete name and address of the lienholder. "As agent" may be recorded following the
51 lienholder's name. Please note that only the first 20 characters of the name will appear on the certificate of
and Address .
ownership.
. . Record the complete name and address of the second lienholder or mail to. Please note that only the
Second Lien/Mail To | .. . o ;
52 first 20 characters of the name will appear on the certificate of ownership, so the name may be
Name and Address . .
abbreviated accordingly.
53 STFA (Subjectto | Mark this box if the “Subject to Future Advances” must be recorded on the certificate of ownership. Also,
Future Advances) | record “Subject to Future Advances” or “STFA” on the first line of Line 52.
Security Agreement , . . . .
54 Date (Second Lien) Record the lien date, if there is a second lien on the vehicle.
55 First Lienholder | Required when second lien exists and the second lien box is checked. Must be signed by an authorized
Authorization agent of the first lienholder.
56 Trad_?-rlani;sl.f:;:rense Mark the appropriate box or boxes. Mark “Trade-In” only if a vehicle was traded in to a dealership. Mark
Other Credit Other Credit” when using replacement credit or farm products credit.
Record the year of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or the year of the vehicle from which
57 Year ST
the registration is being transferred.
Record the make of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or the make of the vehicle from which
58 Make SR
the registration is being transferred.

59 License Number | Record the license plate number being transferred.

60 Expiration Year | Record the expiration year of the license plate being transferred, when applicable.

Ve_h_lcle_ Record the complete vehicle identification number of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or for the
61 Identification . . PR
vehicle from which the registration is being transferred.
Number

Record the taxable horsepower if the vehicle from which the registration is being transferred is a

62 Horsepower .
passenger vehicle.

63 Title Number Record the title number of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or of the vehicle from which
the registration is being transferred, if available.
ENSURE THE APPLICATION FOR TITLE AND LICENSE IS SIGNED BY THE OWNER INDICATED AT
THE TOP OF THE APPLICATION. If more than one owner’'s name is listed, only one signature is required.
If the applicant is an officer of a company or corporation, he or she must indicate his or her official position
with the company or corporation beside his or her signature.

64 Owner Signature  *  Missouri law requires every motor vehicle owner to present a current insurance identification card,
or copy thereof, or other proof of financial responsibility and to sign an affidavit certifying that the
owner orthe authorized agent has and will maintain financial responsibility during the registration
period (does not apply to trailers and all-terrain vehicles). Signing the application meets this
requirement.

Record the dealer number when the vehicle described on the fitle application was sold by a Missouri

65 MO Dealer Number | dealer. If the application for title is in the name of a Missouri dealer, the purchasing dealer's number

must be listed.

66 Dealership Name | Record the selling dealership’s name, if applicable.

City, State, and . , .
67 Zip Code Record the selling dealer’'s address, when applicable.
68 Telephone Number = Record the selling dealer’s telephone number, when applicable.

2-7
MISSOURI TITLING MANUAL



LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
69 Slgnature of The selling dealer or an authorized representative of the dealer must sign, when applicable.
ealer or A signat t be shown if a trade-in credit or other credit was allowed by the deal
Representative | ° signature must be shown if a trade-in credit or other credit was allowed by the dealer.

The selling dealer or authorized representative of the dealer must mark the appropriate box, as listed

below, when applicable:

e Iftrade-in information is listed on the application for title and a trade-in amount is shown, the “YES”
box should be marked.

70 T o Ifthere is no trade-in or if the credit allowed is “Other Credit” as outlined Lines 42-43, the ‘NO”
rade-In (Yes/No) b
ox should be marked.

e [fthe dealer marked the “NO” box indicating no trade-in, the trade-in credit will not be allowed
unless the applicant provides proof that there was an actual trade-in. Proof may be provided inthe
form of a statement from the selling dealer explaining the “NO” box was marked in error or a copy of
the sale’s invoice reflecting the trade-in credit, etc.

7 Duplgit& Title Mark the appropriate reason the duplicate fitle is needed, when applicable.
79 Notary The application must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public, if applying for a duplicate title. The
Information Notary Public must complete the appropriate boxes.
. The appropriate box must be marked if the applicant wishes to donate to the Blind Fund, Organ Fund or
73 Donations . Memoral Fund i ’
74 Exemption Code = Record exemption code, if exempt from state and local taxes.
FHVUT (Federal
75 Heavy Vehicle | Office staff will mark this box when verifying the proof of payment of this tax.
Use Tax)
Wagt. (Weight) of
Plates Heavy
76 Highway Vehicle | Office staff will record the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR). The GVWR is determined by using the
Use Tax Return | Category block shown on Schedule 1 of Form 2290 and the Category Conversion Chart.
(Federal Form
2290)

For office staff use only. The codes stand for the following:

e PP -Personal Property Tax Receipt or Statement of Non- Assessment;

e INS - Insurance;

77 | Verification Codes | «  FEIN - Federal Employee Identification Number;

e  FMCSR - Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations;

e  SAFETY - Safety Inspection; and

e  EMISSION - Emissions Inspection

78 DAL For office staff use only.

Amount

79 Site Code Office staff will record the site code number from the Local Sales Tax Rate Chart for the coresponding
local tax jurisdiction (city or county).

80 Office Validation @ For office staff only.

81 Approve/Reject | For Central Office use only.

82 Processed By | For office staff only.

83 Mileage Date For Central Office staff use only.

84 Surreﬁlcji;rsgrPlate Office staff will record the license plate number surrendered for credit, if applicable.

85 Surrerédrzzei? Plate Office staff will record the amount of credit for a surrendered license plate, if applicable.

86 License Fee ;)pffpilci:fagf:ff will record the appropriate registration fee for the license plate being issued or renewed, if

87 Reservation Fee Office staff will record the appropriate fee for a personalized/special plate being issued or renewed,

if applicable.
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LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION

88 | H AL Office staff will record any additional horsepower fee due, if applicable. If a DR number or a DRX
orsepower/DR/DRX . . . .
Fee number is assigned or replaced, the appropriate fee will be recorded.
89 Transfer Fee Office staff will record a $2 fee, if transferring a registration.
90 Failure to If applicable, office staff will record an $8.50 penalty fee if an applicant elects not to transfer or renew a
Transfer/Renew multi-year plate that is less than five years old.
91 Renewal Penalty Office staff will record a $5 renewal penalty, if applicable.
92 Title Penalty Office staff will record a title penal_ty if the applicant fails to apply for a certificate of ownership within 30
days of purchase. The penalty fee is $25 for each 30 days of delinquency not to exceed $200.*
93 Fund Donations Office staff will record the total amount due for fund donations indicated in instructions for Line 73.
94 Title/Quick/Notary | Office staff will record the correct title fee, if applicable.
Fee

Record the amount of state tax due on the net price of the motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle,
or manufactured home.

95 State Tax NOTE: If the unit is exempt from tax, the applicable exemption number must be recorded, as
applicable, on Line 75. If the owner listed at the top of the application is a registered Missouri dealer,
regular license plates cannot be issued to the vehicle because of Exemption #3 (dealer exemption).

96 Local Tax Record the amount of local tax due, if applicable.

97 Subtotal Office staff will record the total amount due for Lines 86 - 96.

98 Proce55|pgeor Agent All offices must collect a processing or agent fee.

99 | NOL Processing Fee | Office staff will record the Notice of Lien Processing fee, when applicable.
100 Total Record the total amount of fees due.

* Title penalty will not be assessed until after 60 days from the date of purchase if sold pursuant to Section
301.210, RSMo, or after 90 days from date of purchase if sold pursuant to Section 301.213, RSMo.
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MOTOR VEHICLE, TRAILER, ALL-TERRAIN
VEHICLE (ATV), OR MANUFACTURED

HOME TITLE INFORMATION

JOINT TENANCY, TENANTS IN COMMON, AND TRANSFER ON DEATH

Sections 301.679, 301.681, 306.458, 306.461, and 700.630, RSMo, provide that the purchaser of a
motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor may elect certain
forms of ownership or may designate a beneficiary in case of death. These choices must be made at
the time of application for title, as outlined below.

Joint Tenancy

Missouri law presumes that where more than one owner is shown on the title application, the motor
vehicle, manufactured home, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor will be held in joint
tenancy unless otherwise specified. This means if one of the owners dies, the surviving owner(s)
receives the unit upon proof of death. Persons who own the motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured
home, vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor as joint tenants may also designate beneficiaries.

Tenants In Common (T/C)

If the motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor owners do not
want their ownership as joint tenancy, they may designate the unit be held as “tenants in common.”
This means each owner owns an equal share of the unit and if one dies, the surviving owner(s) will
still only own his or her share, while the deceased owner’'s share must be transferred by Probate
Court. NO BENEFICIARIES MAY BE NAMED BY OWNERS AS TENANTS IN COMMON. To
designate ownership as tenants in common, the “T/C” block must be marked on the title application.
The title will print with the “T/C” designation in the owner name field.

Transfer on Death (TOD)

The owner(s) of a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor
may designate one or more beneficiaries to receive the unit upon the death of all listed owners. The
beneficiaries hold no ownership rights in the unit while the owner(s) is alive, but becomes the owner
or co-owner of the unit after the original owner’s death. If more than one person owns the unit, the
beneficiaries do not become the owner until all listed owners have died.

To designate beneficiaries, the beneficiaries name(s) must appear to the right of the owner(s)
name(s) in the space provided for TOD beneficiaries and the “TOD” box must be marked on the
application for title. One or more beneficiaries can be named. The letters “TOD” and the beneficiaries
name(s) do not have to appear on the title assignment.

For the beneficiaries to obtain title to a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft),
or outboard motor, the beneficiaries must submit a completed and signed application for title, proof of
death of all owners, the existing certificate of title designating the TOD beneficiary, and the
appropriate title and processing fees.

NOTE: The beneficiaries may assign the title without first applying for a title in their name(s).
The beneficiaries must provide the purchaser proof of death of the owner(s) on the face of the
title, and the properly assigned title.
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TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP OF A MOTOR VEHICLE OR TRAILER

Section 301.210, RSMo, requires that at the time of sale of a motor vehicle or trailer, there shall pass
between the parties a properly assigned certificate of title. IT IS UNLAWFUL FOR ANY PERSON OR
DEALER TO “SKIP” AN ASSIGNMENT OR BE IN POSSESSION OF AN “OPEN TITLE.” An open title is
a title that has the seller’s signature in the title assignment area but the purchaser’'s name area is blank.

NAME CHANGE = NO CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

On occasion, the owner listed on the face of a certificate of title may change his or her name because
of marriage, divorce, adoption, personal reasons, etc. To reflect this change on the certificate of title,
the owner must submit a completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108), the
outstanding certificate of title in his or her name, and one of the documents listed below. Because
there is no change of ownership, the certificate of title is not required to be assigned.

e A copy of the marriage certificate;

e A copy of the divorce decree that specifically states the individual’s name was restored to its
previous state when a divorce occurs and the former wife changes her name to her previous
(maiden) name;

e Authorized adoption papers issued through the Circuit Court, Juvenile Division, indicating a
change of name when an individual is adopted and a name change occurs; or

e A certified document from the Circuit Court Division when an individual elects to have his or
her name changed because of personal reasons. The order from the court must state the
name the individual formerly used and the full name currently being used by the individual.

ADDING OR DELETING NAMES (JOINT TENANCY)
To add or delete a name on a certificate of title, the following must be submitted:

e Completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108), or Application for Missouri
Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (FEorm 93) with the title type marked as
“ORIGINAL;”

e The properly assigned certificate of title;

o The lien is not required to be released in this case, but must be shown on the application
for title.

e The required title and processing fees; and

e Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title (Form 4809).

In most cases, the license plates currently being used on the vehicle may remain on the vehicle.
Please contact your local Department of Revenue license office for complete instructions.

ADDING OR DELETING NAMES AFTER TITLE ASSIGNED BUT PRIOR TO
ISSUANCE OF A NEW TITLE (JOINT TENANCY)
On occasion, the purchaser of a newly acquired motor vehicle or trailer will request the Department to

add or delete another individual’'s name to or from the ownership document at the time an application
for title is submitted to a license office.

Adding or deleting an owner name from the title does not affect a perfected lienholder’s security
interest, the lienholder’s ability to obtain a repossession title, or the lienholder’s rights in bankruptcy.

When a name is being deleted, a statement must be submitted by the individual whose name is being
deleted.
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Upon presentation of the required documents and fees, an individual’s name may be added or
deleted on an application for title. Authorization is required from Lienholder when adding or dropping
a name from a title. Use Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from
Title (Form 4809) signed by a lienholder or a statement on a lienholder’s letterhead for authorization.

TITLE ASSIGNMENT DATE MUST BE AFTER THE TITLE ISSUE DATE
Section 301.210, RSMo, provides that ownership of a motor vehicle or trailer legally
transfers only at the time a certificate of ownership is assigned. The purchase or sale date
must be on or after the issue date of the title. The only exception to this would be if an
original title was assigned to the purchaser, then lost. The duplicate title issued (or

original title in the dealer’s name as explained on Page 3-5) may be backdated to the date
of purchase listed on the original title. If the owner of a vehicle issues a bill of sale to the
purchaser without the title, the purchaser has no legal ownership rights to the vehicle
until such time as the title is assigned.

Transactions, except those listed above, in which the sale date on the assignment of title
is before the issue date of the title must be rejected for a statement signed by the
purchaser, seller, and lienholder (if applicable), which indicates a purchase date on or
after the issue date. Only one purchaser and seller are required to sign the statement.
The new date does not have to be recorded on the back of the title. The Date of Sale
Verification (Form 4205), may be used for this purpose. The purchase or sale date
recorded on the form will be used for determining title penalties.

Similarly, the date of sale on an assignment cannot be prior to the date of a previous
assignment, i.e., the first assignment cannot have a sale date of July 1, 2019, and the
second assignment a sale date of June 15, 2019.

NOTE: If an original title is assigned to a purchaser and then is lost, the duplicate title
that is issued must be backdated to the date of purchase as recorded on the original

title.
\] Form Missouri Department of Revenue
4205 Date of Sale Verification
—

Missouri Statute 301.210 requires the title to be assigned on the day of purchase.

Year | Make Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

Jssm Date Indicatod on Fare of T MAVMDDYYYY) Orininal Sale or Purchass Date Indinated on Assignment of Title (MM/DDYYYY)

Please indicate below a sale or purchase date that was on or after the certificate of ownership (title) issue date.
The seller, buyer, and lienholder(s) if applicable, must sign below. Only one buyer and seller must sign.

") — Must be on or after issue date on title

Seller's Signature Buyer's Signature

Lienholder’s Signature Lienholder’s Signature

Form 4205 (Revised 06-2014)

Mail to: Motor Vehicle Bureau
P.O. Box 100 Visit hitp://dor.mo.gov/mvdi
Jefferson Gity, MO 65105-0100 Phone: (573) 526-3669 for additional information.
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DUPLICATE TITLES

Missouri law provides for the Department to issue a duplicate certificate of title to the owner of a
motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, all-terrain vehicle, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor
who has lost the original title, or if the original title has been mutilated, stolen, or destroyed. If the
original title was mutilated, the mutilated title must be surrendered.

For the Department to issue a duplicate title, the owner must submit:

e A completed, signed, and notarized Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) or a
completed, signed, and notarized Application for Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (Form 93);

NOTE: If the Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) or Application for Watercraft
or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Form 93) is NOT notarized, a notarized affidavit
explaining the reason for requesting a duplicate title must be submitted. The affidavit must also
contain the owner’s name; information relative to the unit such as year, make, vehicle
identification number, original titte number (if available); and the current license plate number,
if applicable. The General Affidavit (Form 768) may be used to meet this requirement.

e If an insurance company applies for duplicate title on behalf of the owner using an
electronically signed Power of Attorney (Form 4054) or other similar form or document, the
insurance company must indicate the duplicate title application is a result of a total loss. See
Section 5 of this manual for information regarding power of attorney.

o Atitle fee of $8.50; and

e $6 processing/agent fee.

If a lien was recorded on the original ownership document, the duplicate title will be mailed to the
owner unless there is a “Mail-to” shown on the application. The lien will be reflected on the title unless
a lien release is submitted with the duplicate title application. See Section 6 of this manual for
information regarding a lien release.

The application for duplicate title is not required to be signed if a notarized affidavit is attached and
properly signed. On an original title issued on or after July 1, 2003, when a lienholder is recorded as a
“Mail-to” the lienholder may sign the application for duplicate title. On titles issued prior to July 1,
2003, the lienholder is considered the legal holder of the title; therefore, they may sign the duplicate
title application also. The agent for the lienholder should record the lienholder name, their position,
and signature in the signature block on the application.

DUPLICATE MANUFACTURER’S STATEMENT OF ORIGIN (MSO)

Some manufacturers do not issue a duplicate Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin once the original
has been assigned and delivered to a retail customer. Instead, the manufacturer furnishes a
statement to the selling dealer certifying the vehicle was sold to the dealership.

The manufacturer’s statement will be accepted in lieu of a duplicate Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin. The selling dealer could complete a Reassignment of Ownership by Registered Dealer (Form
2447) or provide a copy of the front and back of the original assigned MSO and attach it to the
manufacture’s statement. These two documents will serve as proof of ownership and proper
odometer disclosure for title applicant.
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OBTAINING TITLE IN A DEALERSHIP’S NAME WHEN A CUSTOMER LOSES THE

ORIGINAL TITLE
When a unit is purchased from a dealer and the purchaser loses the original assigned title, the
Department will allow the selling dealer to apply for a duplicate or original title in the dealer’s name.

Duplicate Title
If the vehicle was previously titled in the dealer’s name, a duplicate title may be applied for in the
dealer’'s name. See Page 3-4 for information regarding application for duplicate title.

Original Title
If the vehicle was not previously titled in the dealer's name, the dealer may apply for an original title
by submitting the following documents:
e A signed and completed application for title (Form 108) in the dealer’s name;
e Photocopy (front and back) of the lost, stolen, or mutilated title or MSO (showing assignment to
the purchaser);
e A notarized General Affidavit (Form 768) signed by the purchaser, which states the original title
was lost, stolen, or mutilated; and
e Applicable titling and processing fees.

When the dealer receives the new title in the dealership’s name and assigns it to the purchaser, the
dealer must record the original sale date on the assignment. Title penalties may apply.

ASSIGNMENTS MADE IN ERROR

Erroneous Assignments of Title — When New Title Is Required

Occasionally, after the vehicle owner has already completed an assignment of title, a decision is
made not to continue the sale. When this occurs, the owner of the vehicle will possess an altered or
mutilated certificate of title. To correct this, the following must be done.

e |If the name of the seller (individual or dealer) who made the erroneous assignment is recorded
on the face of the certificate of title, the seller must obtain a duplicate certificate of title. The
seller must submit the following documents and fees to obtain a duplicate certificate of title:

o A notarized Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) marked "duplicate™;

o The altered or mutilated certificate of title;

o A statement signed by the seller and the individual to whom the vehicle was erroneously
assigned stating the date, the reason the sale was not completed, the assignment was
made in error, and the purchaser has no interest in the vehicle;

o A statement from any lienholder recorded in the assignment of title; and

o The required duplicate title and processing fees.

o If the seller of the vehicle is a Missouri licensed motor vehicle dealer and is listed as purchaser
in the assignment area on the back of the ownership document, the dealership will be
required to obtain an ORIGINAL certificate of title in the name of the dealership. It is not
necessary to obtain a duplicate title in the name of the person shown on the face of the title
unless the title was in that dealership's name. Then the dealership would be required to make
an application for duplicate title as indicated above in number 1. The dealership will be
required to submit the following documents to obtain the original title:

o An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) marked "original”;

o The altered or mutilated certificate of title;

o A statement signed by the seller and the individual to whom the vehicle was erroneously
assigned stating the date, the reason the sale was not completed, the assignment was
made in error, and the purchaser has no interest in the vehicle;
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o A statement from any lienholder recorded in the assignment of title; and
o The required original title and processing fees.

Correcting Errors on an Assignment of Title - When Statement is Acceptable

On occasion, the seller, purchaser, or lienholder of a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor makes an error while assigning an ownership document by recording the
correct information on the wrong line, i.e., seller records his or her name on the purchaser’s name line.
The Department will accept the ownership document if the error is obvious and there is no indication of an
attempt to defraud the state of Missouri. The error on the title assignment should not be erased, white-
out, or written over, as this will be considered an alteration or mutilation of the certificate of title.

One thin line should be drawn through the incorrect information and the correct information recorded
above. In addition, the seller, purchaser, or lienholder who made the error must submit a statement of
correction. The statement must be prepared immediately after the error is made and should include:

e An explanation of the error made;
e The correct information;

e The year, make, and vehicle identification number; and
e The signature of the individual who made the error.

RESCINDED SALES

Section 144.071, RSMo, permits a purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or
outboard motor who rescinds the sale to receive a full refund of all state and local taxes paid on
purchase price of the unit. Purchaser must return the unit to the seller within 60 days of purchase to
receive a refund of the purchase price. Related titling, processing, and registration fees will not
be refunded. Missouri law allows a vehicle owner to surrender the license plate(s) and receive credit
for time remaining towards purchase of another license plate(s) regardless of the type of license (i.e.,
passenger, truck or trailer). To receive a refund of applicable taxes, purchaser must submit:

¢ A Motor Vehicle Refund Request Application (Form 426) completed and signed;

e The original receipt showing payment of taxes;

e A statement signed by the seller and the purchaser, stating the date the
vehicle/trailer/vessel/motor was returned, year, make, vehicle identification number, the
facts/reason for the rescinded sale and amount of purchase price refunded; and

e A descriptive notarized lien release/non-interest statement from any lienholder shown. The statement
must include the purchaser’s name and the year, make, and identification number of the unit.

o Each claim for a rescinded sale refund must be made within one year after payment of
the tax on which the refund is claimed.

When Seller Must Apply for Title on a Rescinded Sale
When a certificate of title is assigned to a purchaser and sale is rescinded, the assigned certificate of
title is considered mutilated.

Non-Dealer as Seller
If seller is not a dealer, they must apply for a duplicate title by submitting the following:
e Application for duplicate title;
e Original assigned title;
e Statements signed by purchaser, seller, and if applicable, lienholder acknowledging that the
sale has been rescinded;
e Appropriate title fee; and
e Appropriate processing/agent fee. 3.6
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Dealer as Seller

If a licensed dealer assigned a title to someone who later rescinds the sale, the dealer must apply for
an original title. If the unit was sold on a Manufactured Statement of Origin (MSO), the dealer can
reassign the MSO to the new purchaser. Dealer must submit:

e Application for original title;

¢ Original assigned title;

e Statements signed by purchaser, seller, and if applicable, lienholder acknowledging that the

sale has been rescinded;
e Appropriate title fee; and
e Appropriate processing/agent fee.

If a certificate of title has already been issued in the name of the purchaser who wants to rescind the
sale, the purchaser must properly assign the title to the seller and provide seller with appropriate
statements rescinding the sale. If original seller is not a dealer, he or she must apply for title within 30
days to avoid a title penalty.

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES (ATV)
An all-terrain vehicle (ATV) is any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-
highway use with an unladen dry weight of 1,500 pounds or less, traveling on three or more non-
highway tires, with either:
e A seat designed to be straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control; or
e A width of 50 inches or less, measured from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim, regardless
of seating or steering arrangement.

Sections 301.700 and 301.703, RSMo, provide that it shall be unlawful for any person to own an all-
terrain vehicle in this state unless a Missouri certificate of title has been issued.

An individual who purchases a used all-terrain vehicle after August 28, 2014, which was previously
defined as a utility or recreational off-highway vehicle, may present a notarized bill of sale as
evidence of lawful ownership when a title has not been previously issued.

For the purposes of transferring ownership, titling, perfecting liens, and collecting taxes, fees, and
other charges, all-terrain vehicles are treated the same as a motor vehicle.

ATV Equipment Requirements, Restrictions, and Regulations Regarding Where an ATV may
be Operated

For information regarding equipment requirements and restrictions/regulations regarding operation of
an ATV, please refer to Sections 307.198 and 304.013, RSMo.

MANUFACTURED HOMES

Section 700.320, RSMo requires that the owner of any new or used manufactured home apply to the
director of revenue for a certificate of title within 30 days of purchase. This excludes registered
manufactured home dealers and purchasers who convert the manufactured home to real property.

Titling a Manufactured Home
To title a manufactured home, the owner or purchaser must submit an application for Missouri title,
the appropriate ownership document, and all required fees.
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Appropriate ownership documents include:
e A Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin (MSO) for NEW manufactured homes; or
e A certificate of title or a descriptive bill of sale for USED manufactured homes.

NOTE: A bill of sale may only be used if the seller is from a non-titling state or if a Missouri seller
provides the purchaser with a statement from the seller’s county assessor stating the manufactured
home was previously assessed as real estate.

Tax Information

New Units:

Missouri Dealer Sale: When a Missouri dealer fails to collect tax, state and local sales tax will be
assessed on 60% of the purchase price and collected at the time of titling or affixing with the
Department. Use the Department’s online sales tax calculator for an estimate of the taxes.

e Local sales tax is based on the seller's address. Refer to the Local Sales Tax Chart.
Out-of-State Dealer Sale: State and local sales tax is assessed on 60% of the purchase price. Local
use tax is due based on the address where the manufactured home is first delivered in Mlssourl (only
if applicable). Refer to Local Option Use Tax Chart.

e If the out-of-state dealer collects tax at a rate greater than Missouri’s sales tax rate (4.225%)

plus the local option use tax, tax is not due.

¢ If the out-of-state dealer collects tax at a rate less than Missouri’s sales tax rate plus the local

option use tax, tax is due on the difference of the two.

Used Units:
No sales or use tax is due pursuant to Section 144.044, RSMo.

Title Penalties Assessed on Manufactured Homes

A title penalty will be assessed on any manufactured home not titled within 30 days after the date of
purchase. A delinquent title penalty of $25 for each 30 days of delinquency, not to exceed $200, will
be imposed. Title penalties will be assessed on all manufactured homes purchased after December
18, 1983.

Identification Number for a Manufactured Home

Owners of manufactured homes that do not have an identification number should contact the Public
Service Commission, Manufactured Housing and Modular Unit Program at 1-800-819-3180 or visit
their web site at https://psc.mo.gov/ManufacturedHousing/ to obtain information on how to get an
inspection of the home by the Public Service Commission. The Department of Revenue has limited
authority to issue identification numbers for manufactured homes. If the Public Service Commission
inspection report indicates the home was manufactured prior to 1976, contact the Department of
Revenue for more information on how to issue an identification number. Homes manufactured in
1976 or after cannot be issued an identification number by the Department of Revenue.

ABANDONED MANUFACTURED HOMES

Landowner to Secure Lien on Abandoned Manufactured Homes
Section 700.526, RSMo, allows the owner of the real property to secure a lien on an abandoned
manufactured home.
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The lien shall be for unpaid rent against the manufactured home.

The landowner must provide a written notice to the manufactured homeowner and any
lienholder of record. Manufactured Home Lien Notification (Form 5328) must be mailed to the
manufactured homeowner and lienholder by CERTIFIED MAIL;

o Obtaining owner and or lienholder information;

= Subscribe to on line inquiry for frequent record searches at
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/nol/index.php.
= One time record search - Request for Motor Vehicle/Driver License
Records/Personal Information (Form 5091).
Thirty days after mailing the notice (Form 5328) to the homeowner and lienholder by
CERTIFIED MAIL:

o Complete an application for Application for Manufactured Home Lien Title, (Form 5329)
and submit to Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105- 0100,
with:

o A copy of the 30 day notice (Form 5328) which was previously mailed by certified mail
to the manufactured homeowner and lienholder;

o A copy of the certified mail receipt;

o Copies of the envelope showing the addresses and postal markings indicating the
notices were not forwarded or addresses unknown;

o A copy of the rental contract negotiated between the real property owner and the
manufactured homeowner;

o A copy of any judgment of dismissal if the manufactured homeowner or lienholder filed
a petition to contest the lien; and

o All applicable title and processing fees.

Upon receipt of all acceptable documentation, the landowner will be issued a lien title.
With the lien title the landowner must:
o Begin proceedings to sell the manufactured home within 30 days.
= The sale of the manufactured home shall only be held after giving the owner at
least 20-day notice.
= The notice must substantially contain the following information:

NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that on (insert date), sale will
be held at (insert place), to sell the following
manufactured home to enforce a lien existing under
the laws of the state of Missouri for real estate
rental, unless the manufactured home is redeemed
prior to the date of sale.

Name of Owner:

Amount of Lien:

Description of Manufactured Home:

Manufactured Home Serial Number:

Name of Lienholder:
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Notice to Homeowner
Notice to the homeowner shall be given by one of the following methods:

e Personal delivery;

e Registered mail with return receipt requested; or

e By publishing the notice, not less than twice, in a newspaper of general
circulation in the county in which the manufactured home is to be sold. The
publication of such notice shall not be less than 20 days prior to the date of the
sale. See Section 700.527.10, RSMo, for additional details if no newspaper is
published in the county.

The proceeds from the sale are to be distributed in the following order:

e To the satisfaction of the real property owner for past-due rent and
reimbursement of actual and necessary expenses incurred in obtaining the lien
and lien title (including attorney fees);

e The excess, if any, shall be paid to the homeowner; and if the homeowner cannot
be located, the excess shall be deposited with the county treasurer in the county
where the home was sold.
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ODOMETER INFORMATION

ODOMETER READING REQUIRED — CERTAIN VEHICLES EXEMPT

Missouri law requires the seller of a motor vehicle to record the mileage registered on the odometer at
the time of transfer on the assignment of the certificate of title. This applies to all motor vehicles
except those listed below. On these vehicles, the mileage is not required to be recorded on any
ownership document. If the seller provides the odometer reading on one of these exempt vehicles, it
will not be recorded on the subsequent title issued unless specifically requested by the applicant.

For all motor vehicles, including those exempt from odometer disclosure, any material fact must be
disclosed to the purchaser as required by Section 407.020, RSMo. Refer to Section 407.531, RSMo for
disclosure requirements when an odometer is repaired or replaced. See Page 4-2, Odometer Repair.

Exempt from Odometer Disclosure:
¢ Any motor vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 16,000 pounds;
o Pick-up trucks and vans are not exempt from mileage requirements.

e Any motor vehicle that is 10 years old or older;
Example: To determine the age of the vehicle for the 10-year exemption, take the year the
vehicle was purchased by the applicant (rather than the current model year) and subtract 10.
This calculation will give you the first exempt model year. For example, during calendar year
2020, mileage is not required on any assignment of title completed during the year (vehicles
purchased in 2020) on any 2010 or older model vehicle (2020 - 10 = 2010).

e Any motor vehicle that was sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United
States government, in conformity with contractual specification;

e Any motor vehicle that was transferred on a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO) from
one franchised dealer to another franchised dealer.

MILEAGE BRANDS
A mileage brand appears on all Missouri Certificates of Title issued on or after August 28, 1989.

If the seller states that to the best of his or her knowledge, the mileage disclosed on the Certificate of
Title and on the Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable, is the actual mileage of the motor
vehicle, “ACTUAL MILEAGE” will be printed on the face of the Missouri Certificate of Title. In this
situation, the seller should not check any of the boxes on the Certificate of Title or the Odometer
Disclosure Statement.

Not Actual Mileage
If, upon receiving an application for a certificate of title, the Director of Revenue has credible evidence
that the odometer reading is materially inaccurate, i.e., previous odometer documentation exists that
conflicts with the current application, an asterisk may be printed on the face of the Missouri Certificate
of Title that references a statement on the face and at the bottom of the title document which reads as
follows:

e “This may not be the true and accurate mileage of this motor vehicle. Consult the documents

on file with the Missouri Department of Revenue for an explanation of the inaccuracy.”
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True Mileage Unknown
If the seller(s) know(s) that the true mileage of the motor vehicle is different from the mileage shown
on the odometer and the difference is greater than that caused by an odometer calibration error, or
that the true mileage is unknown, the seller(s) must provide a statement containing all known facts
concerning the true mileage. The seller(s) must also check the appropriate box on the certificate of
title and the Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable. In this situation, the following brand will
appear on the face of the Missouri Certificate of Title and any subsequent title:
e “WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. This is not the true and accurate mileage of
this motor vehicle. Consult the documents on file with the Missouri Department of
Revenue for an explanation of the inaccuracy.”

Mileage Rolled Over
If the seller(s) know(s) that a motor vehicle’s five-digit odometer reading has rolled over after
registering 99,999 miles, the seller must:
¢ Record the five-digit mileage figure actually appearing on the odometer in the mileage block
on the title assignment and Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable; and
e Check the appropriate box on the Certificate of Title and the Odometer Disclosure Statement, if
applicable. In this situation, the following brand will appear on the face of the Missouri Certificate
of Title and any subsequent title.
o “This is not the true and accurate mileage of this motor vehicle. Consult the
documents on file with the Missouri Department of Revenue for an explanation of
the inaccuracy. MILEAGE EXCEEDS THE MECHANICAL LIMITS.”

If a motor vehicle is equipped with a six-digit odometer, the six-digit mileage figure must be recorded
by the seller(s) on the title assignment and Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable.

Any person may challenge the Director’s decision to place the statement referenced on the Missouri
Certificate of Title in any Missouri Circuit Court. The burden of proof shall be on the Director of
Revenue in such proceedings.

OBTAINING MILEAGE FOR CORRECTED TITLES
If an applicant is applying for a corrected title because the incorrect mileage reading was provided to
the Department at the time of titling, the applicant must submit the following documents in addition to
the other documents required for a corrected title:
e A statement signed by both the buyer(s) and seller(s) explaining the mileage error; or
e A new Odometer Disclosure Statement, completed in full by the buyer(s) and seller(s), if
ownership of the vehicle was transferred on or after August 28, 1989.

ODOMETER REPAIR

Nothing in Sections 407.511 to 407.566, RSMo, shall prevent the service, repair, or replacement of
an odometer, provided the mileage indicated thereon remains the same as before the service, repair,
or replacement occurred.

When a repaired or replaced odometer is incapable of registering the same mileage as before the
service, repair, or replacement, the odometer shall be adjusted to read zero and a notice in writing
shall be attached to the left door frame of the vehicle by the owner or his agent, specifying the
mileage prior to repair or replacement of the odometer and the date on which it was repaired or
replaced.
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To obtain a decal in order to document the required odometer replacement information, please visit
one of the following links: http://www.watdasi.com/odometernoticestickerreplacedodometers.aspx
http://www.paadps.com/odometerrepairlabel.aspx

Removal or alteration of the notice required by Section 407.531.2, RSMo, is an infraction.

CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR ODOMETER FRAUD

Section 407.536, RSMo, provides that any person defacing, obscuring, or otherwise falsifying any

odometer reading on any certificate of title, odometer disclosure statement, separate statement, or
application for title shall be guilty of a Class E felony.

Section 407.516, RSMo, Odometer fraud, first degree, and penalty:

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the first degree if he or she advertises for sale,
sells, installs or has installed any device which causes an odometer to register any mileage other
than the true mileage driven.

For purposes of this section, the true mileage driven is the mileage registered by the odometer
with the manufacturer’s designed tolerance.

Odometer fraud in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor.

Section 407.521, RSMo, Odometer fraud, second degree, and penalty:

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the second degree if he or she, with the
intent to defraud, disconnects, resets or alters the odometer of any motor vehicle with the
intent to change the number of miles indicated thereon.

The disconnection, resetting or altering of any odometer while in the possession of the person
shall be prima facie evidence of intent to defraud.

Odometer fraud in the second degree is a class E felony.

Section 407.526, RSMo, Odometer fraud, third degree, and penalty:

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the third degree if, with the intent to defraud,
he or she operates a motor vehicle less than 10 years old on any street or highway knowing
that the odometer of the motor vehicle is disconnected or not functioning.

Odometer fraud in the third degree is a class C misdemeanor.

Section 407.542, RSMo, Attempt to commit odometer fraud in first or second degree,

penalties:

A person is guilty of an attempt to commit odometer fraud in the first degree or odometer fraud
in the second degree when, with the purpose of committing the offense, he or she does any
act which is a substantial step towards the commission of the offense. A “substantial step” is
conduct which is strongly corroborative of the firmness of the actor’s purpose to complete the
commission of the offense.

It is no defense to a prosecution under this section that the offense attempted was, under the
actual attendant circumstances, factually or legally impossible of commission, if such offense
could have been committed had the attendant circumstances been as the actor believed them
to be.

An attempt to commit odometer fraud in the first or second degree is a class C misdemeanor.
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Section 407.543, RSMo, Conspiracy to commit odometer fraud in first or second degree,
penalty:

e A person is guilty of conspiring with another person or persons to commit odometer fraud in the
first or second degree if, with the purpose of promoting or facilitating its commission, he agrees
with such other person or persons that they or one or more of them will engage in conduct which
constitutes such an offense.

e The provisions of Section 562.014, RSMo, shall apply to this section and as is provided in that
section, conspiring to commit odometer fraud in the first or second degree is a class C
misdemeanor.

ODOMETER FRAUD - COURT PROCEEDINGS

Section 407.544, RSMo, Prior convictions for odometer frauds, court may increase sentence
and penalties:

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a court may enhance the sentence for any
person convicted of violating Sections 407.516, 407.521, 407.526, 407.536, 407.542, or 407.543,
RSMo, who has a prior conviction for any one of the foregoing sections to a fine and to a time of
imprisonment within the Department of Corrections for a term not to exceed that otherwise authorized
by law for violation of a Class E felony.
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POWER OF ATTORNEY (POA)

REGULAR POWER OF ATTORNEY FORM

A regular/durable POA may be used in instances where the person holding POA is not required to
complete odometer disclosure on behalf of both seller and purchaser. A regular notarized POA can
be used to complete sale of a motor vehicle and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019).

e Aregular POA cannot be used in situations where the person signing for buyer and seller is
the same person or when different persons sign for buyer and seller but represent work for
same entity.

e Aregular POA can be used to apply for a duplicate title.

¢ Aninsurance company may submit an electronically signed Power of Attorney (Form 4054) or
similar form in cases where an insurance company has paid or is paying a total loss claim for a
vehicle or trailer and odometer disclosure is not required. Inthis instance:

o The owner may appoint the insurance company as POA to execute the assignment of
ownership transfer to the insurance company;
o The owner may appoint the insurance company as POA for the purpose of applying for
title (duplicate) on behalf of the owner;
o The electronically signed POA does not require notarization; and
e The electronically signed POA is not acceptable for marine transactions.

A regular POA cannot be used in conjunction with a secure POA.

WHEN A SECURE POWER OF ATTORNEY CAN BE USED
A Secure Power of Attorney (SPOA) may be used when the vehicle title is not available for a proper

assignment on the date of sale, because it is held by the lienholder or because a duplicate title is
needed.

The original secure document must be submitted for processing (copies will not be accepted),
as the Federal government requires that the SPOA be on secure paper. A copy of the form
should be retained for your records. The form can be ordered from the Department’s website at:
https://stateofmissouri.wufoo.com/forms/dor-request-for-mail-order-forms/.

The Form 5086 may be used as follows:
e Part A of Form 5086:

o Used when the seller authorizes the purchaser to sign the first title assignment and
odometer disclosure on his or her behalf when the title is held by the lienholder or a
duplicate title is needed.

o The date of the POA will become the purchase date on the title assignment.

o Authorizes the purchaser to apply for a duplicate title on the seller’'s behalf. (Note: The
original SPOA must be submitted for processing.)
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e Part B of Form 5086:

o Authorizes the selling dealer to sign on behalf of the purchaser on the second
assignment when the duplicate title is received, allowing the dealer to sell the vehicle
prior to the duplicate title being issued.

o Part B can only be completed when a duplicate title must be obtained.

e Part C of Form 5086:

o Must be completed by the selling dealer once the duplicate title is received after the
dealer inspects the title to ensure the mileage on the duplicate title is consistent with what
was recorded on the SPOA.

o The secure, original Form 5086 must be attached to the title;

o A copy of Form 5086 must be submitted with a copy of the front and back of the
corresponding title to the Department by the 15th of the month following the month in
which the sale occurred (with the dealer’s monthly sales report if the report is filed in
paper format); and

o A photocopy of Form 5086 must be retained in the dealership’s records.

GENERAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE SECURE POWER OF ATTORNEY
Original secure POA must be given to any subsequent purchasers with the title. Purchasers, other
than dealers, should retain the duplicate copy with their records. Dealers should submit the duplicate
copy of secure POA form and a copy of front and back of certificate of title with dealer's monthly sales
reports. Dealers are required by federal law to let any subsequent purchasers review the secure POA
that was previously completed on a vehicle. Dealers must retain a copy for their records. If original
secure POA has been lost, the Department will accept a true certified copy from the dealership.

A Missouri motor vehicle dealer may buy or sell a motor vehicle when an out-of-state secure POA
accompanies the title. When an out-of-state secure POA is involved, Missouri dealer must obtain the
secure POA and certificate of title, but will not be required to submit copies of those documents with
dealer's monthly sales report.

BUYING AND SELLING A VEHICLE WITHOUT A TITLE
For detailed information regarding dealers buying and selling a vehicle without a title, refer to the
Missouri Dealer and Business Operating Manual.
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CREATION AND RELEASE OF LIENS

PERFECTING OF A LIEN

e Missouri law states that for a lien to be perfected the date it is created, and to protect the
creditor from the buyer's/debtor's possible bankruptcy, the notice of lien should be perfected
(received by the Department) within 30 days from the date of the loan.

e Alienis aclaim on the property of another, i.e., vehicle, vessel, etc., as security for payment of
a debt.

e To perfect a lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or outboard motor,
see the chart below.

e File your lien online at: https://dors.mo.gov/dmv/nol/loginLink.do

e All certificates of title will be mailed to the owner named on the certificate of title unless the
owner designates a “Mail-to” on the application for title or provides written authorization for
other handling.

e Itis important for the lienholder to perfect their lien with the Department promptly to prevent
titles from issuing without the lien information displayed.

Liens May Secure Future Advances

Sections 301.600.3, 306.400.4, and 700.350.3, RSMo, provide that liens on motor vehicles, trailers,
manufactured homes and marinecraft (vessels and motors) may secure future advances if certain
procedures are followed. For example, a lienholder may file a notice of lien on a vehicle with the
Department and later allow the vehicle owner to refinance his or her vehicle, borrow additional
money, or extend his or her line of credit under the original security agreement. The lienholder does
not have to “update” or re- perfect the lien by filing another notice of lien with the Department on the
same vehicle. The lien already shown on the certificate of ownership will secure any future loan made
against the vehicle as long as the loan is an extension or addendum to the original loan agreement.

For a lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, marinecraft, or manufactured home to secure future advances,
the following requirements apply:
e The security agreement evidencing indebtedness must clearly state the fact that a lien may
secure future advances. The Department is not required to witness the agreement.
e The lienholder must check the “STFA” block on the notice of lien form. The applicant must
check the second lien block and the “STFA” block on the title application.
o When the corresponding certificate of title issues, “Subject to Future Advances” will
appear in the second lienholder area on the face of the certificate of title.
e “Subject to Future Advances” may not be recorded on any application for title or lien perfection
or the subsequent certificate of title issued if a second lienholder is shown.
e |If the original lien has already been released on the certificate of title, the lienholder would
have to file another notice of lien on the vehicle, as the provisions to secure future advances
would be terminated.

MISSOURI TITLING MANUAL
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Lienholders may note the fact that a lien secures future advances on any application for an original
titte or notice of lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or motor. This includes
applications for title involving a change of ownership, updating or adding a lien, or changing a name.

PERFECTING A LIEN ONLINE
A primary (first) lienholder can file a notice of lien using the Department’s online Notice of Lien
System (NOL).
¢ A second lienholder cannot file a notice of line using the Department’ online NOL system as
the second lienholder must obtain the written authorization from the first lienholder and provide
the written authorization when filing their NOL.
¢ Information on how to obtain access and file notice of liens use the Department’s online NOL
system can be found at dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/

Below is a summary of documents and fees required based on type of transaction:

TRANSACTION TYPE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS/FEES
¢ Vehicle, Vessel, or Outboard motor:
FILING FIRST LIEN ONLINE o Notice of Lien or Lien Release or Authorization to Add/Remove Name
WITHOUT OWNERSHIP From Title (Form 4809); or
DOCUMENT o Application for title (Form 108 or 93).
« $6 processing fee.
FILING SECOND LIEN ¢ Same requirements as listed above; and

WITHOUT OWNERSHIP o Written authorization from the primary (first) lienholder.
DOCUMENT (Cannot file online)

« Application;
o Vehicle - Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) with
“Title and Notice of Lien” box checked:; or
o Vessel or outboard motor - Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or
Outboard Motor and Registration (Form 93) with “Title and Notice of
Lien” box checked.
o Certificate of title; and
NO CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP | ® Nptice of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From
Title (Form 4809);
« Lien authorization or release of the existing lien is not required if the
lienholder is only updating a lien (same owners and same lienholder).
o Title fees:
o $8.50 title fee for motor vehicles;
o $7.50 title fee for vessels; or
o $5 title fee for outboard motor
« $6 title processing fee; and
o $6 NOL processing fee.
 Notice of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization to Add/Remove Name
From Title (Form 4809); and
o 36 NOL processing fee.

CHANGE OF
OWNERSHIP

You may take the documents to your local license office or mail to the Motor Vehicle
Bureau, PO Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100.
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RELEASING A LIEN

On a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or outboard motor, Sections 301.640,
306.420, and 700.370, RSMo, require the lienholder to release the lien on a separate document
within 5 business days after the lien is satisfied. The release document shall be notarized. Each
perfected second lienholder, if any, shall release such lien in the same manner.

e Lienreleases made on or after July 1, 2003, may no longer be released on the face of a
Missouri title, but must be released as follows:

o Ifthe lienholder is an individual, a notice of release (lien release section of Form 4809)
must be completed, signed, and notarized. An estate executor may release the lien by
submitting the above with an original or certified copy of the probate court order.

o Ifthe lienholder is a business entity, a completed, signed, and notarized notice of
release (lien release section of Form 4809) or a notarized lien release on the
lienholder’s letterhead listing the year, make, vehicle identification number, lien release
date, lienholder name and signature, and vehicle owner’s information must be
submitted; or

= A faxed copy may be accepted as long as the notary information is legible.

e Liens released prior to July 1, 2003, may be released on the face of the title or as listed above
and do not have to be notarized.

e If the owner is unable to obtain a lien release, a court order instructing the director of revenue
to release the lien must be submitted.

e Some states still require the lien to be released on the face of the title. For these states,
Missouri will accept this method of lien release. The out-of-state title must be notarized only if
that state currently requires the release to be notarized.

e Torelease alien recorded on a certificate of title when the accounts/assets of the lienholder
have been taken over by the FDIC due to insolvency and/or liquidation, a document from the
FDIC must be submitted.

e The document from the FDIC must grant power of attorney to the receiver of the account and
list the names of the insolvent lienholder and the lienholder that took over the account. If the
power of attorney references an “asset pool” only, rather than the name of the insolvent
lienholder, a separate document listing the insolvent lienholder is required.

On occasion, a lienholder will release the lien on a vehicle before the original certificate of title
reflecting the lien issues in the owner’'s name. This usually happens when the applicant fails to pay
his or her taxes in a timely manner. In this situation, the lien may be released after the taxes are paid
by submitting one of the lien release documents identified above.

COMPLETION OF THE NOTICE OF LIEN OR LIEN RELEASE FORM (FORM 4809)

AND NOTICE OF LIEN ON TITLE APPLICATION (FORM 108)

Instructions for Completing a Notice of Lien or Lien Release Form (Eqorm 4809)
Tofile or release a lien, complete the following using the Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or
Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title (Form 4809).
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19 ==Pb]LIENHOLDER AUTHORIZATION FOR OWNERS TO ADD/REMOVE NAME FOR TITLE. (NO NOTARY REQUIRED)

26

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU
PO BOX 3355, JEFFERSON CITY MO 65105-3355

TO ADD/REMOVE NAME FROM TITLE

573-526-3669
www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl

NOTICE OF LIEN, LIEN RELEASE, OR AUTHORIZATION

FOR DOR USE ONLY REJECT NUMBER

Form

4809

(Revised 08-2019)

TYPE ALL APPLICATIONS. IF NOT

TYPED, ATTACH COPY OF TITLE.

FOR DOR USE ONLY

CINOTICE OF LIEN (NO NOTARY REQUIRED)

IS THIS A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP? [YES [ONO

Z | OWNER'S NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE) AS SHOWN ON TITLE APPLICATION (ONLY FIRST 50 CHARACTERS WILL PRINT ON TITLE)
(e}
=
W [ street aooress COUNTY
=2 2
=
o0
LL | CITY, STATE, AND zIP CODE DLN OR FEIN
= 3
=[O passeneer  Orruek  Oarv Orraer D wanuvractureonome  Oav Deus [ soarvesse 4
OO outeoaRD MoTOR (EXcLUDING TRoLUNG MoTor) (D motorevele O triovore O autocyoLe
=& veaR MAKE VIN/HIN NUMBER
Zx S
20| ———— | 1 | l | | | | l | | | | l 1 |
@I purcHase pate PREVIOUS TITLE NUMBER NET PRICE (AFTER TRADE-IN)
s, 4 S
LIENHOLDER'S NAME AS SHOWN ON TITLE APPLICATION FDIC OR LIENHOLDER ID NUMBER
z 9 10
g STREET ADDRESS CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE
=
@ [LIEN DATE 11 SUBJECT TO FUTURE ADVANCES? | LOAN OR UNIT NUMBER
o/ _/ 1t |Oves 12 13
Z [FIRST LENHOLDER AUTHORIZES A SECOND LIEN BY SIGNING BELOW

14

LIENHOLDER'S NAME AS SHOWN ON TITLE APPLICATION

15

FDIC OR LIENHOLDER ID NUMBER

16

STREET ADDRESS

CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE

INFORMATION

LIEN DATE LOAN OR UNIT NUMBER

SECOND LIENHOLDER| FIRST LIENHOLDER

18

OWNER'S NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE) AS SHOWN ON TITLE APPLICATION

PRINT NAME BEING ADDED OR REMOVED D ADD D REMQVE

STREET ADDRESS

CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE

COUNTY TITLE NUMBER

PRINTED NAME OF LIENHOLDER'S AGENT

SIGNATURE OF LIENHOLDER'S AGENT

YEAR MAKE VIN/HIN NUMBER

ADD/REMOVE
NAME FROM TITLE

A PERSO O O D O B R DO
[C] LIEN RELEASE—ATTACH TO TITLE 20 BT , OF ANOTHER a AUTHOR O DO SO B 0
(NOTARY REQUIRED) A A D 0 01.640 RSMo
LIENHOLDER'S NAME AS SHOWN ON TITLE PRINTED NAME OF LIENHOLDER'S AGENT SIGNATURE OF LIENHOLDER'S AGENT
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR BLACK | STATE | COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)| LIEN CREATION DATE RELEASE DATE
RUBBER STAMP SEAL / / 24 / / 25

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS

DAY OF

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE

LIEN HE&ASEINOTAHY
INFORMATION

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)

A $6.00 processing fee must be submitted with each Notice of Lien.

THE ORIGINAL DOCUMENT MUST BE SUBMITTED. Itis recommended that you retain a copy for your records.
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Instructions for Completing a Notice of Lien Form (Eorm 108)

LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION
1 *FOR DOR USE ONLY Office staff should validate this area for the appropriate processing or agent fee.
Record the owner’'s name exactly as shown on the title application (to release a lien,
) only one name is required if multiple names are shown on the title).
2‘::?;; dl‘rl:;nse o Street Address - Record the owner’s street address’
2 « County - Record the county in which the owner resides.
« City, State, and Zip Code - Record the owner's city, state and zip code.
3 DLN or FEIN Record the Driver License Number (DLN), Social Security Number (SSN), or
Federal Employee Identification Number (FEIN) of the first owner.
4 Tvoe of Unit Mark the appropriate box to indicate motor vehicle, ATV, trailer, manufactured
yp home, vessel, or outboard motor.
Record the two-digit year, make, and identification number.
Year + Make — Record the make of the unit, i.e., Ford.
5 « Identification Number - Record the identification number of the motor vehicle,
ATV, manufactured home, trailer, vessel, or outboard motor.
6 Purchase Date Record the purchase date of the unit.
7 Previous Title Number Record the previous title number, if available.
8 Net Price Record the net price of the unit after any trade-in credit or rebate.
First Lienholder’s :
9 Name/Address Record the name and address of the first lienholder.
FDIC or Lienholder ID Record the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) number or other
10 o .
Number identification number of the lienholder.
11 Lien Date Record the date of the security agreement (lien date) for the first lienholder.
Subject to Future
Advances (First : . :
12 Lienholder) Mark this box if applicable.
13 Loan or Unit Number Record the loan or unit number provided by the first lienholder.
14 it Llephollder To add a second lien, the first lienholder's authorized agent must sign.
Authorization
Second Lienholder’s . . .
15 Name/Address Record the name and address of the second lienholder, if applicable.
16 FDIC or Lienholder ID Record the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) or identification number of
Number the second lienholder, if applicable.
17 Second Lien Date Recor_d the date of the security agreement (lien date) for the second lienholder,
if applicable.
18 Loan or Unit Number Record the loan or unit number provided by the second lienholder.
19 Lienholder Authorization erEﬂtge box and complete owner information only if adding or removing name from
20 Lien Release Mark this box to release a lien.
21 Lienholder’'s Name as Record the name of the lienholder that is releasing the lien as it appears on the face
Shown on Title of the title.
22 P iz N’ame o Print the name of the lienholder’s agent that is releasing the lien.
Lienholder’s Agent
Signature of : . .
23 Lienholder's Agent The authorized agent of the lienholder must sign.
24 Lien Creation Date Record the lien creation date
25 Release Date Record the lien creation date
Notary Public . . _
26 Information This section must be completed by a notary public.
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TRANS TYPE ANY FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS APPLICATION IS A
VIOLATION OF THE LAW AND MAY BE PUNISHED BY FINE

I —————— [ renewnLransFer | OR IMPRISONMENT OR BOTH
e — |

PLATES DOR USE ONLY — REJECT NUMBER
[ transFer PLATES

I wew pLaes LICENSE PLATE NO BRAND CODE
O rmeony

D TITLE AND NOTICE OF LIEN
(No complete change of ownership)

MISSCURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 1

" APPLICATION FOR MISSOURI TITLE AND LICENSE

ORIGINAL (1) | DUPLICATE (2) |[NON-NEGOT. (3)|PRIOR SALVAGE| CORRECTED (5)|MECHANICLEN(6)| SALVAGE (9) [DUP.SALVAGE (0)f  JUNK (A) DUP. JUNK (B) TRANSFER ON TENANTS
O O O O O O O O O a J oeam (TOD) I wcommon
OWNER'S NAME - LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE (ONLY FIRST 50 POSITIONS WILL PRINT ON TITLE) INCLUDING TOD TOD BENEFICIARIES, IF APPLICABLE
E STREET ADDRESS (MUST BE A PHYSICAL ADDRESS - CANNOT BE A PO BOX OR RURAL ROUTE) COUNTY 3 FLEET NUMBER L/R NUMBER
=
= 2 OinciTy LuMITS [ ouTsIDE CITY TELEPHONE NUMBER
O [ory STATE ZIP CODE LIMITS { )
DLN OR FEIN NUMBER PRICE
E-MAIL 4 $ 5
YEAR MAKE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (IF TYPING, DISREGARD BLOCK CONSTRAINTS) BODY STYLE REBATE
6 1 1 1 1 1 8 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 $
G -GAS L-LP-PROPANE [g ST G 3
w COLOR FUEL < ‘r; DESEL E -ELEGTRIC Llagfz\gg I(_J[{:H IF NEW, LIST GvWR | MILEAGE CODE PURCHASE DATE VEHICLE TRADE-IN
wd N-NAT. GAS V -PLUG-IN HYBRID| |:| 9 $
(&) 0 - OTHER ELEC. VEHICLE YES
i | KIND CF VEHICLE O new O useo | SURRENDERED TITLE NO. | STATE ZONE 8-8EVOND LocaL | L WI. ORSEATNG. | OTHER CREDIT
> | P-PASSENGER N - AUTOCYCLE (MSO) _ (TITLE) 10 L-LOCAL S -SHUTTLE - S
T- TRUCK M -MOTORCYCLE F-FARM _T-TRANSIT
D-TRALER C-TRICYCLE KOV, § CYL H.P TAB NUMBER EXP. MO EXP. YR. | CHECK BOX IF speciaL I NET PRICE
B-BUS R - REG. VEHICLE PLATE DOES P
A-ATV | 3 11 NOT EXPIRE D $ 12
FIRST LIEN SECURITY AGREEMENT DATE | MAIL TO LIENHOLDER | LENHOLDER'S PHONE NO. | SECOND LIE| ] MAIL TO ALTERNATE ADDRESS BELOW. DO NOT USE
Oves Ono 14 (B) O ( ) 15 O ves O w0 18IF SECOND LIEN OR SUBJECT TO FUTURE ADVANCES
9 {1 | FIRST LIEN 2 | SECOND LIEN/MAIL TO SECURITY AGREEMENT DATE
= STFA
2 1] 19 48 20
E STREET ADDRESS, R.R. OR P.OC. BOX NUMBER STREET ADDRESS, R.R. OR P.O. BOX NUMBER
=
w 16 LICENSE FEE
-l
CITY STATE ZIP CODE CITY STATE ZIP CODE $
RESERVATION FEE
« YEAR MAKE LICENSE NUMBER EXP. YEAR FIRST LIENHOLDER AUTHORIZES SECOND LIEN S
2&| 0 trRaoen 21
A BY SIGNING HERE: »
E = O ucense ADDITIONAL HP/DR/DRX
<Z TRANSFER [ EHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER HP. | TITLE NUMBER $
x| O orther
Ll S CREDIT TRANSFER FEE
m SIGNATURE OF ONE OWNER REQUIRED s
If this motor vehicle is registered at the time application for title is made, my signature shall certify that -
I% | have and will maintain, during the period of registration, financial responsibility with respect to each | CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE F“ACTS FAILURE TO TRANSRENEW
%l& motor vehicle that | own, license, or operate on the streets or highways. HEREIN ARE TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE
gg You must present your insurance card or other acceptable proot of financial responsibility. > DATE S
» Any false affidavit is a crime under Section 575.050 of Missouri law. RENEWAL PENALTY
E .| MO DEALER NUMBER DEALERSHIP NAME 22 CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE TELEPHONE NUMBER S
= 2 { ) TITLE PENALTY
w < | 1 CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FACTS HEREIN ARE SIGNATURE OF DEALER OR REPRESENTATIVE TRADE-IN
0~ | TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.” [ves  [no $
w DUPLICATE TITLE ONLY - COMPLETE REASON AND NOTARIZE. NOTARY INFORMATION APPLIES TO APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE. [ [J $1 BUNDFUND [0 31 ORGAN FUND FUND DONATIONS
= WWI MEMORIAL FUND
< D LOST DSTDLEN D MUTILATED (ATTACH MUTILATED TITLE) D NEVER RECEIVED - LOST IN MAIL O s1 O s10 O OTHER $
o
= > | NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR BLAGK STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST.LOUIS) TITLE/QUICK/NOTARY FEE
5 2| ruseer staup sea IF EXEMPT FROM STATE OR
= LOCAL TAXES, ENTER $
=] o SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS EXEMPTION CODE HERE:
»u DAY OE STATE TAX
z | |
o E NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION EXPIRES $
<<
= FOR OFFICE USE ON LOCAL TAX
o] NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED) WGT. OF PLATES FORM 2290
Z Orrvur $
DIST. AMT.
OFFICE VALIDATION Oee Oins SUBTOTAL
O APPROVE Olrem $
O REJECT “ SAFETY S
LrIE] SITE CODE PROCESSING ORAGENT FEE
EMISSION s
_—
PROCESSED BY MILEAGE DATE NOL PROCESSING FEE
SURRENDERED PLATE NUMBER $
TOTAL
SURRENDERED PLATE CREDIT s

TITLE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS TO AVOID PENALTY DOR-108 (08-2019)
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To file a lien using the title application, complete the following using the Application for
Missouri Title and License (Form 108).

LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION
1 Title anlfii:;otlce of Mark when adding a lien when there is no change of ownership.
Owner's Name and ,
2 Address Record the name, street address, city, state, and ZIP of the owner.
3 County Record the county name in which the applicant’s address is located.
4 Record the Driver License Number (DLN), Social Security Number (SSN), or Federal
DLN or FEIN Employee Identification Number (FEIN) of the first owner.
Price Record the gross sale price of the motor vehicle, trailer, ATV, or MFGHM.
Year Record the last two digits of the vehicle's model year, example: 11
Make Record the make of the vehicle. (i.e., Ford, Chevrolet)
Vehicle Identification | Record the VIN correctly and completely as listed on the surrendered
8 Number (VIN) Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or the assigned certificate of ownership.
9 Purchase Date Record the purchase date of the unit as MM/DD/YY.
10 Surriln:;ﬁdrﬂtle Record the previous title number of the vehicle being titled, if available.
11 | Kind of Vehicle (KOV) | Record the correct code as listed on the title application.
12 Net Price Record the net price of the unit after any trade-in credit or rebate has been deducted.
13 First Lien Mark the appropriate box to record a first lienholder.
Security Agreement o
14 Date Record the first lien date.
Lienholder's Phone _
15 Number Record the lienholder’'s phone number.
16 First Lien Record the first lienholder's name and complete address.
17 Second Lien Mark the “Yes” box if a second lien is to be recorded on the certificate of ownership.
Mail-to Alternate Mark this box only when the title is to be mailed to an address other than the ad dress shown
18 Address Below at the top of the application.
Subject to Future _ . o .
19 Advances (STFA) Mark this box if the unit is subject to future advances.
Security Agreement .
20 Date Record the second lien date.
First Lienholder _ o . .
21 Authorization To add a second lien, the first lienholder’s authorized agent must sign.
22 Office Validation This space is used by state offices to validate the transaction for the $6 processing fee.

6-7

MISSOURI TITLING MANUAL




WHEN A LIEN RELEASE IS NOT REQUIRED

Section 301.640, RSMo, provides that if the purchase price of a motor vehicle or trailer did not
exceed $6,000 at the time of purchase, a lien shown on the certificate of title shall be considered
satisfied within six years from the date the lien was originally perfected. In this case, the lien does not
have to be released by the lienholder. These provisions do not apply in the following situations:

e If the lienholder was a bank, credit union, savings and loan, or other depository institution, or a
motor vehicle financing company whose net worth exceeds one- hundred million dollars (i.e.
GMAC, Ford Motor Credit).

o The liens that do qualify under this provision are those made by dealers, individuals, and
other entities not excluded above.

e |If the certificate of title has “Subject to Future Advances” recorded in the second lienholder
area of the title; or

e If the lien has been re-perfected since the original date of perfection or a new lien has been
perfected on the title.

EXAMPLE: Mike Smith purchased a motor vehicle on June 27, 2011, from a dealer for $5,500. The
dealer financed the vehicle. When the title issued on July 20, 2011, it was mailed to the dealer
showing the lien. On August 28, 2019, Mr. Smith applies for a duplicate title to the vehicle. Because
the purchase price of the vehicle was less than $6,000 and at least six years had passed since the
lien was perfected, Mr. Smith may obtain a clear title without submitting a lien release from the dealer.

LIENHOLDER IS NO LONGER IN BUSINESS

A copy of a certificate of title with the lien released is not acceptable proof for releasing a lien at the
time application is made for a duplicate title unless the lienholder shown is no longer in business. A
statement from the Secretary of State’s Office, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), or
Federal Savings and Loan Association stating the lienholder is no longer in business must be
submitted with the copy of the certificate of title showing the lien released.

REPOSSESSION TITLE

All Department of Revenue license offices can accept repossession title applications for motor
vehicles, trailers, ATVs, manufactured homes, boats/vessels, outboard motors. These applications
may still be submitted to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box 2076, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076.

To obtain a repossession title, the lienholder must submit the following documents and fees.
e Notarized Application/Affidavit for Missouri Repossession Title (Form 5005);
e A copy of the Notice of Lien (NOL) receipt or the original title reflecting the lienholder; and
e $10 title fee and $6 title processing fee.

Before making application, the lienholder must provide 10 days written notice to the owner and any other
lienholders by first class mail; postage prepaid, of their intent to file for a repossession title, or must
obtain the written consent from all parties to repossess the unit. Lienholders may access the
Department’s records online to ensure they have notified all interested parties of record. Applications
for online access can be obtained at http://www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/liendeal/.
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MARINE/WATERCRAFT

OUTBOARD MOTORS, VESSELS, AND WATERCRAFT REQUIRED TO BE TITLED
Missouri law requires all motorized vessels (watercraft) and outboard motors to be titled and
registered. This includes jet skis, motorized water bikes, or any vessels over 12 feet in length
powered by sail alone or combination of sail and machinery. Trolling motors and electric outboard
motors are NOT titled or registered in the state of Missouri.

Any vessel (watercraft) regardless of length, which is propelled solely by paddles or oars, is not required
to be titled and registered. Vessels documented by the United States Coast Guard must be registered.

The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor must submit an application for title and registration
within 60 days after the unit is purchased or brought into this state or be subject to title penalties. A
penalty of $10 will be assessed on the 61°% day and for each 30 days of delinquency after that, not to
exceed a total of $30.

To perfect a lien on a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor, see Section 6 of this manual.

COMMON REASONS AN APPLICATION MAY BE DELAYED OR NOT

PROCESSED

The following are reasons title applications may be delayed or returned by the Motor Vehicle Bureau.
Please be sure to complete all items on the title application Applications that are incomplete or
incorrect will be returned to the applicant or lienholder for correction.

e Title application incomplete or not legible.

Reminder: The horsepower, boat type, engine drive, propulsion type, and color must be
recorded on the application for vessels. The hull identification number for vessels must contain
twelve digits. See page 7-9 for more information.

e Title application not signed by at least one owner.

e Descriptive notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or a Notice of Lien, Lien
Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From Title (Form 4809) not submitted or
incomplete (must contain the year, make, hull identification number or outboard motor
identification number, lien release date, and signature of the authorized agent).

e Ownership document not submitted or assigned properly.

Reminder: A properly assigned ownership document must be obtained from the seller at the
time of purchase. A properly assigned ownership document must include:

o Signature(s) of all owners on the face of the document;

o Purchase price;

o Date of sale, lien date, and the lienholder name and address.

e Incorrect taxes and fees are submitted with the application. DO NOT SEND CASH BY MAIL.
Reminder: To avoid a title penalty you must submit your application for title and pay
state and local taxes within 60 days of the purchase date for vessels (watercraft) and
outboard motors.

e Incomplete Bill of Sale/Even-Trade Bill of Sale (Form 1957) submitted. Bill of sale must include

a complete description of the unit, purchase price, date of sale, purchaser's name and address,
and seller’'s name and address.
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COMPLETION OF THE APPLICATION FOR MISSOURI BOAT/VESSEL OR
OUTBOARD MOTOR TITLE AND REGISTRATION

On the following page is a sample Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (Form 93). Instructions for completing the title application are on the pages that follow.

NOTE: DO NOT USE WHITE-OUT on an application for title. If an error is made, draw one thin line
through the incorrect information and then record the correct information above it.

THIS SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK.
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MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF

R=V=NU=
Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or
Outboard Motor Title And Registration

Fom
_ 93
T—

ANY FALSE STATEMENT IN THIS APPLICATION IS A VIOLATION OF LAW AND MAY
BE PUNISHED BY FINE OR IMPRISONMENT OR BOTH

TRANS TYPE O TITLE AND NOTICE OF LIEN 3
[ soatveESSEL (NO COMPLETE CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP)

O outeoarD MOTOR | DOR USE ONLY - REJECT NUMBER

O irie onwy 2

O e anp
REGISTRATION INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE

O

ORIGINAL (1) |DUPUCATE @) IREPOSSESSION (3)|OORRECTED(5}| MECHANIC LIEN (8) [ SALV. ABAND (Q)IDUPLICATE SALV. ABAND, (0) |JUNK (A) |DUP JUNK (B) I TRANSFER ON 5 TENANTS |
4 O [] O O =] O O O o =]

DEATH (TOD) IN COMMON

OWNER'S NAME - LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE (ONLY FIRST 38 POSITIONS WILL PRINT ON TITLE) INCLUDING TOD

TOD BENEFICIARIES, IF APPLICABLE

STREET ADDRESS (MUST BE A PHYSICAL ADDRESS - CANNOT BE A P.O. BOX OR RURAL ROUTE) | COUNTY UR NUMBER
6 8 Omeryumrs 9 |Ooursioe oty L\MHiO 11
CITY STATE ZIP CODE DLN NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH TELEPHONE NUMBER
13[4
I R e A iy L S B -
VEARMFD. [MODELYEAR NEW "~ WAKE 17 MANUFACTURER'S HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER MODEL NUMBER
15 I I O -7 O I A 19
HORSEPOWER | COLOR 2 1 LENGTH 22 MATERIAL BOAT TYPE ENGINE DRIVE TYPE TYPE OF PROPULSION
z . 24 o5 26
NEW] USED MO | USED OUT-OF-STATE | SURRENDERED TITLE NUMBER STATE FUEL P, FIRST FOURLETTERS OF
. i . ;
27| 28 29 30 31 32 A0 Dt o omen LASTNAME 33 P>

BOAT/VESSEL LICENSE
1.D. NUMBER

MO 34

UNIT OWNER

TYPE OF USE (CHECK ONE) [ PLEASURE [] RENTILEASE [0 COMMERCIAL FISHING BOAT/VESSEL/OUTBOARD MOTOR DECAL NUMBER | EXPIRATION YEAR

[J CHARTER FISHING [0 COMMERCIAL PASSENGER CARRYING

] COMMERCIAL OTHER [] DEALER OR MANUFACTURER DEMONSTRATION

35 36 37

SECONDLIEN 42 [] MAIL TO ALTERNATE ADDRESS BELOW. DO NOT USE 43
Oves CIno IF SECOND LIEN OR SUBJECT TO FUTURE ADVANCES

SEGURITY AGREEMENT DATE
CfStea [ 07

STREET ADDRESS, R.R., OR P.O. BOX NUMBER

TREET ADDRESS, R.R., OR P.O. BOX NUMBER PURCHASE DATE

45 L

FIRSTLIEN 3 Q" [SECURITY AGREEMENT DATE MAIL TO LIENHOLDER | LIENHOLDER'S PHONE NUMBER
Oves Ono __/__;'__3_9_ ®0 40 (___)___-___4_1
1 | FIRST LEN 5 | SECOND LIENMAILTO
CITY STATE | ZIP GODE cITY

STATE ZIP CODE PRICE

e $ 49

5D4TFIADE-IN 55

MAKE

56 57

TITLE NUMBER MANUFACTURER'S |.D. NUMBER REBATE

58 $ 50

TRADE-IN

o
]
z
=
o

SIGNATURE

TRADE-IN
FIRST LIENHOLDER AUTHORIZES SECOND LIEN BY SIGNING HERE $ 5 1
OTHER CREDIT
| CERTIFY THAT THE STATEMENTS HEREIN ARE TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY SIGNATURE OF ONE OWNER REQUIRED $ 52
KNOWLEDGE. AS THE OWNER OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED BOAT/VESSEL e

OR OUTBOARD MOTOR, | CONSENT TO ANY INSPECTION NECESSARY TO
DETERMINE COMPLIANCE WITH PROVISIONS OF 306, RSMo. X

59 $ 53

7-3

MISSOURI BOAT DEALER NUMBER BOAT DEALER NAME CITY, STATE AND ZIP CODE TELEPHONE NUMBER ﬂ
o
w 60 61 62 L) _ _'_§§ _ | REGISTRATION FEE
m | CERTIFY THAT THE FACTS HEREIN ARE SIGNATURE OF DEALER OR REPRESENTATIVE TRADE-IN 74
Sl R0 TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, ™ 64 Oves Owo 09 $
I0Z/MOZA/REPLACEMENT
NUMBER FEE
DUPLICATE TITLE ONLY — CHECK THE APPROPRIATE BOX D LOST D STOLEN D MUTILATED (ATTACH MUTILATED TITLE) D NEVER RECEIVED — LOST IN MAIL $ 75
(=l NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER OR BLACK RUBBER STAMP SEAL |STATE COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS) TITLE PENALTY
<L
o>
; i‘ SUBSCRIBED AND SWORD BEFORE ME, THIS $ 76
55 67 TITLE/QUICKINOTARY FEE
=37 DAY OF
EE NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE MY COMMISSION EXPIRES $ 77
ik STATE TAX
o
z NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED) $ 78
LOCAL TAX
OFFICE VALIDATION ONLY [ APPROVE  [SITECODE $ 79
O REJECT 69 70 PROCESSING OR AGENT FEE
PROCESSED BY,
71 O~72($ 80
68 MISSOURI CITY OR COUNTY NOL PROCESSING FEE
WHERE THE UNIT IS HOUSED | g 81
73 TOTAL
$ 82
SHADED BOXES FOR BOAT/VESSEL ONLY Form 98 (Revised 08-2019)
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LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
1 Transaction Type | Mark the appropriate box. The type of unit and type of transaction box must be marked.
2 Dé) R USE ONLY- This box is used by the central office to record the reject number, if applicable
eject Number
Title and Notice of Mark when applying for a title and filing a Notice of Lien (NOL) with no complgte change of oyvners'hip.
3 Lien NOTE:'Lie.nhoIder Authorization is required to add or remove a name from atitle. Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or
Authorization to Add/Remove Name (Form 4809) may be used.
Mark the appropriate box to indicate the type of title for which the applicant is applying. To ensure proper processing
4 Title Type of the title application transaction, the box must be marked clearly. Do not mark on or over the lines separating the
title types.
o Markthe Transfer on Death box if the applicant wants to name one or more beneficiaries on the title. The
Transfer on Death beneficiaries have no ownership rights until after the unit's owner is deceased.
5 (TOD)/Tenants in | o Markthe Tenants In Common box if the applicant wishes to designate a form of ownership other than joint
Common tenancy. When ownership is by tenants in common and one owner is deceased, the remaining owner’s
percentage of ownership remains the same. The deceased owner’s share must transfer by Probate Court.
o Record the legal name(s) of the applicant(s) in the last name, first name, and middle initial sequence.
o Only the first 50 characters of the owner’s name (including spaces) will print on the certificate of
ownership. The 50 characters will include any TOD beneficiaries that may be designated.
« Record the actual street, city, state, and zip code of the applicant. Only 20 characters of the owner’s
street address will print on the face of the certificate of title. Record the actual city name. Example: If
- Owner’s Name the applicant resides in Ladue, Missouri, the application should show Ladue, not St. Louis, Missouri.
and Address The following cities may be abbreviated:
+ Jefferson City JSE + North Kansas City NKC
+ St. Louis KC + University City ucC
+ Kansas City + Springfield SPFD
7 Transfer.o_n I_)eath Record the beneficiaries’ name(s) if the Transfer on Death box is marked.
Beneficiaries
8 County Record the county name in which the owner’s address is located.
9 In City Limits Mark this block if the applicant resides inside the city limits.
10 Outside City M . . , , . Lo
Limits ark this block if the applicant resides outside the city limits.
11 Leasz;/lﬁ;nbtzlr(u R) Record the lease/rental number assigned by the Department, if the applicant is a leasing/rental company.
12 DLN/FEIN Record the Driver License Number (DLN), Social Security Number (SSN), or Federal Employee
Identification Number (FEIN) of the first owner.
13 DOB Record the applicant’s date of birth.
14 Telephone R . .
Number ecord a daytime telephone number where the applicant can be reached.
» Record the model year or program year of the unit. For a new outboard motor, if the model year or program year
is NOT shown on the MSO, record the year of manufacture as follows:
15 Year MFD e Ifthe month of manufacture indicates January through June, record the year of manufacture. Example:
Manufacture date is 06/2012, record 2012.
o Ifthe month of manufacture indicates July through December, record the calendar year immediately
following the year of manufacture. Example: Manufacture date is 07/2012, record 2013.
o Required for outboard motors only. “Model Year-New” is the year the dealer received the outboard motor from
the manufacturer. Verify “Model Year-New” with one of the following documents:
o MSO;
13 b e T2 o Dealer certified application;
o Original dealer invoice; or
o Dealer signed statement.
17 Make Record the make of the unit. DO NOT record the model series. (See Exhibit B for common makes)
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LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
SIS 2 Record the boat, vessel, or outboard motor identification number as reflected on the certificate of title, MSO, or
18 | Hullldentification . ’ ’ ' ’
Number (HIN) ownership document.
19 Model Number | Record the model number of the unit.
20 Horsepower Record the horsepower for all outboard motors. If the horsepower of the outboard motor is 7 1/2, enter “7.5.”
Record the appropriate color code for the unit. If the unit has two colors, record three letters of the predominant color
21 Color first, followed by three letters of the secondary color. The colors should be separated by a slash (/). Example:
RED/WHI. (See Exhibit C).
22 Length Record the length of the boat or vessel in feet and inches.
23 Material Record the appropriate code (see Exhibit C) for the material of the vessel (watercraft).
24 Boat Type Record the appropriate code (see Exhibit C) for the type of vessel (watercraft) being title and registered.
25 | Engine Drive Type Record the appropriate code (see Exhibit C). If the vessel (watercraft) is powered by an inboard, sterndrive, or pod drive
motor, enter the horsepower of the motor in the “HP” block.
26 P;‘;)F:ﬁscgn Record the appropriate code (see Exhibit C) for the type of propulsion.
27 New Mark this box if the unit is purchased on a MSO or a new unit purchased from a dealer or retailer when no MSO exists.
28 U Mark this box if the unit is purchased on a Missouri certificate of title or from a Missouri seller when no certificate of title
=Ll exists.
29 | Used Out-of-State | Mark this box if the unit is purchased on an out-of-state certificate of title or other out-of-state ownership document.
30 SImETEE L Record if the surrendered title was a Missouri title.
Number
31 State Record the state that corresponds with the ownership document.
32 Fuel Type Record the Fuel Type
33 Previous Owner’s | Record the first four letters of the last name of the owner on the face of the Missouri title. If it was purchased from an
Last Name out-of-state dealer or individual, leave blank.
34 LicIZﬁ:te,\ll.T)s.s(:IIIO) Regord the Missouri Registration Number frorP the previous ,Iy\/lis.souri.title. If the vessel or watercraft has never been
Number registered or the type of use changes, a new “MO NUMBER” will be issued.
o Mark the appropriate box:
o PLEASURE - Any watercraft (vessel) that the owner uses for recreational purposes.
o RENT/LEASE - Any watercraft (or vessel) which the owner rents or leases to another person, firm, or corporation
for a fee.
o COMMERCIAL FISHING - Any watercraft (vessel) that commercially engages in the catching, taking, or harvesting
of fish which, either in whole or in part, is intended to enter commerce through sale, barter, or trade.
35 Type of Use o CHARTER FISHING - Any watercraft (vessel) carrying a passenger(s) for hire who is (are) engaged in recreational
fishing.
o COMMERCIAL PASSENGER CARRYING - Any watercraft (vessel) that commercially engages in the transport of
passengers.
o COMMERCIAL OTHER - Any watercraft (vessel) that the owner uses for business purposes.
o DEALER OR MANUFACTURER DEMONSTRATION — Any watercraft (vessel) that is owned by a dealer or
manufacturer and used solely for demonstration purposes.
Boat/Vessel/
36 Outboard Motor | The number of the decal issued to the watercraft (vessel) or outboard motor will be entered.
Decal Number
37 Expiration Year | The year the watercraft (vessel) decal expires will be entered. For outboard motors, “N/A” will be entered.
: - o Mark “Yes’ if a lien exists on the unit; or
e e o Mark “No” if a lien does not exist on the unit.
Security
39 Agreement Date | Record the lien date, if applicable.
(First Lien)
40 : Mailto Lienholder : Mark this box if the title is to be mailed to the first lienholder.
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LINE FORM SECTION INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
41 Telt;)ilr:\‘ﬂc:\ftzr:ber Record the lienholder’s telephone number, if applicable.
o Mark “Yes” if a second lien or Subject to Future Advances (STFA) must be recorded on the certificate of ownership;
42 Second Lien or
o Mark “No” if a second lien or STFA does not exist.
Mail To Alternate Markthis box only when the title is to be maileq to an.address cher than the address sho_wn atthe top of the
43 application. In the event the owner needs the title mailed to a different address and there is a second lienholder and
Address Below . . . P " .
or subject to future advances is recorded in the “mail to” area and the owner must pay the $5 expeditious title fee.
44 First Lien Name Record the complete name and address of the lienholder. Please note that only the first 20 characters will appear
and Address on the certificate of ownership, so the name may be abbreviated accordingly.
Second Lienholder . . ,
45 or Mail To Name Rgcord the complete name and addresg of the second lienholder or maﬂ to. Please .note that only the first 20 characters
and Address will appear on the certificate of ownership, so the name may be abbreviated accordingly.
46 i:?,f:::: (FSl!IE:;?) Mark this box if STFA must be recorded on the certificate of ownership.
Security
47 Agreement Date | Record the second lien date on the unit, if applicable.
(Second Lien)
Record the Month/Day/Year. Example: March 03-19 or 03-03-19. The purchase date and the sale date must be the
same. The purchase date should be the date the ownership document was assigned when a change of ownership is
48 Purchase Date involved. On non-assigned titles, i.e., change of state, adding a lien, etc., the purchase date should be carried forward
from the face of the title. If there is no purchase date on the face of the title, the issue date shown on the surrendered
ownership document may be entered as the purchase date.
49 Price Record the gross sale price of the unit.
50 Rebate Record the rebate amount, if applicable. If this amount has been altered, proof of the rebate, i.e., the dealer invoice
will be required.
51 T Record the total amount allowed on the trade-in, if applicable. If this amount has been altered, proof of the trade-in, i.e.,
rade-In NSV .
the dealer invoice will be required.
Record the total amount allowed on any tangible personal property that was received by the dealership as a credit or
52 Other Credits partial payment towards the purchase price of the unit. If the purchaser is allowed a replacement unit or total loss tax
credit, the office should enter the total amount allowed. The office will verify the applicant owned the unit being used
as areplacement tax credit.
53 N . Record the total net price. This is calculated by subtracting any rebate, trade-in allowance, and/or other credits from the
et Price . R . .
purchase price. Verify with title assignment, if recorded.
54 Trade-In Mark “Trade-In" only if a unit was traded in to a dealership. Do not mark for replacement tax credits.
55 Year Record the year of the unit being traded in.
56 Make Record the make of the unit being traded in.
57 Title Number Record the title number of the unit being traded in, if available.
58 ManuLa:Itr:ll;(::s . Record the complete manufacturer’s identification number of the unit being traded in.
If more than one owner’s name is listed, only one signature is required. If the applicant is an officer of a company or
59 | Signature of Owner | corporation, he or she must indicate his or her official position with the company or corporation beside his or her
signature.
MO Boat Dealer Ensure the dealer number is recorded when the unit described on the title application was sold by a Missouri dealer. If
60 N the application for title is in the name of a Missouri dealer, enter the purchasing dealer's number on the application. If
umber . . ; .
there is no ownership document attached, this section must be completed.
61 Boat Dealer Name | The selling dealer must record the dealership’s name, if applicable.
62 Eiy; Stg:)e&eand Zip The selling dealer’s address must be recorded, if applicable.
63 | Telephone Number | The selling dealer’s telephone number must be recorded, if applicable.
64 Slgnetielotledien Ensure the dealer, or an authorized representative of the dealer, signs the application, when applicable

or Representative
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LINE

65

FORM SECTION

Trade-In (Yes/No)

INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETION
The selling dealer or authorized representative of the dealer must mark the appropriate block as listed below, when
applicable:
o |Iftrade-in information is listed on the application for title and a trade-in amount is shown, the “YES” block should be
marked.
o [fthere is no trade-in or if the credit allowed is “Other Credit” as outlined in Line #51, the “NO” block should be
marked.

66

Duplicate Title Only

Mark the applicable reason for the duplicate title.

Ensure the application is signed in the presence of a Notary Public is applying for a duplicate title. The Notary Public

67 | Notary Information |t complete the appropriate blocks.
68 License Office This space must legibly show the registration number and the total amount of taxes, penalties, and fees paid as
Validation applicable.
69 Approve/Reject For Central Office use only.
. The site code number will be entered from the Local Tax Rate Chart for the corresponding local tax jurisdiction (city
70 Site Code
or county).
m Processed By | For office use only.
72 PP This box must be marked if presenting proof of personal property taxes or a statement of non-assessment.
Missouri City or Record the location where the unit is housed. For out-of-state residents, record the city or county where the unit is
73 | County Where the o )
o housed, stored, or operated in Missouri.
Unit is Housed
o Record the appropriate registration fee.
o Boat or vessel registration fee is based on the length as follows:
+ Under 16 ft. = $25
+ 16 ft. - less than 26 ft. = $55
S + 26 ft. - less than 40 ft. = $100
74 Registration Fee « 401t and over = $150
o Effective August 28, 2008, vessels at least 16 feet in length, but less than 28 feet in length, that are
homemade, constructed of wood, and have a beam of five feet or less, will be charged a registration fee of
$55.
o QOuthoard motor registration fee = $2.
MOZ/MOZA
75 Replacement The office will record the $7.50 fee if a replacement identification number is issued.
Number Fee
The office will record the title penalty fee, if applicable. There is no penalty when application is made within 60 days of
purchase. The maximum delinquency penalty is $30.
76 Title Penalty o Application made 61stday - 90t day =$10
o Application made 91stday - 120t day =$20
o Application made 121stday or after = $30
. . « The office will record the appropriate fee listed below. Add an additional $5 quick fee, when applicable.
77 T|tIeIQuF|<;l;/Notary o Boat/vessel = $7.50
o Outboard motor = $5
78 State Tax The office will record the amount of state tax on the net price of the unit.
79 Local Tax The office will record the amount of local tax due, if applicable.
80 Process?geor Agent All offices must collect a processing or agent fee.
81 NOL Processing Fee: The office will collect an NOL processing fee, when applicable.
82 Total The office will record the total amount of taxes, penalties, and fees due.

7-7

MISSOURI TITLING MANUAL


http://dor.mo.gov/pdf/localsales.pdf

DOCUMENTS AND FEES REQUIRED TO TITLE AND/OR REGISTER VESSELS

AND OUTBOARD MOTORS FOR MISSOURI RESIDENTS

To title and register a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor, the following documents and fees must
be submitted:
Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Registration and Title (Form 93);

One of the following ownership documents:
o Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO);
o Certificate of Title; or

o For units purchased on or after August 28, 2008, the following is acceptable proof of
ownership QNLY if a Missouri title has not been issued or the unit was purchased from

a state that doesn’t title outboard motors:

= Application for title certified by a licensed Missouri boat dealer;

= Bill of Sale (BOS) - Missouri resident sellers must obtain a Missouri title before
selling the unit unless it was exempt from titling; or

= Boat/Vessel and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and Inspection (Form

798) when:

e Previous state does not title and no BOS exists; or
¢ No ownership document is available (excludes the above two situations)
or the boat or vessel is homemade — must be processed by the central

officeonly.

= A Boat/Vessel Registration Number (Form-2691-1), if applicable.
When applying for a Missouri title for a vessel that was previously documented through the

United States Coast Guard, a Letter of Deletion is required.

Inspection verifying the hull identification number, if it is missing or is less than 12 digits. See
the Vessel (Watercraft) Identification Number section on Page 7-9 for more information.
Paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from the county (or city of

St. Louis) collector or assessor for the previous year.

o If registering the vessel, a paid personal property tax receipt (original or copy) or
statement of non-assessment from the owner’s county (or city of St. Louis) of

residence.

o If the owner is an out-of-state resident or a corporation, or the vessel is a houseboat
or cabin cruiser, the tax receipt must be from the county where the vessel is located.

o The receipt must have a description of the type and total number of vessels. If the boat
or vessel is not listed on the tax receipt (“boat” is acceptable), the following must be

submitted:

= Corrected tax receipt (manual correction requires county seal); or
= Letter (on county letterhead or with county seal) signed by authorized
representative reflecting tax paid for boat or vessel.

Title fee of $7.50, if applicable;
Required processing fee; and
Registration fee:

Vessel up to 16 feet in length

$25

16 feet but less than 26 feet

$55

26 feet but less than 40 feet

$100

40 feet and over

$150
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State and local taxes, if applicable;

o Use the Department’s online sales tax calculator for an estimate of the taxes.
Title penalty, if applicable. Penalty is calculated after 60 days from date of purchase or date
vessel was brought into Missouri. See Page 1-2 for more information.

DOCUMENTS AND FEES REQUIRED TO TITLE AND REGISTER VESSELS AND

OUTBOARD MOTORS FOR OUT-OF-STATE RESIDENTS

In addition to all Missouri resident requirements, out-of-state residents operating the vessel for more
than 60 consecutive days in Missouri need the following items:

The application must indicate the owner’s out-of-state address and the Missouri city or county
where the vessel is being housed, stored, or operated.

Taxes are assessed based on the Missouri address where the vessel is housed. If taxes were
paid in another state, proof of payment must be submitted. If the vessel was registered and
operated in that state for more than 90 days, no additional sales tax is due. If the owner did
not operate the vessel in another state for at least 90 days, the applicant may be required to
pay taxes equivalent to the rate charged in Missouri.

o Exception for obtaining an “MO number”. If the out-of-state resident previously
registered the vessel in their state of residence and wants to continue to operate it in
their home state and Missouri, the applicant may retain the out-of-state registration
number. In this case, a registration MO number will not be issued, but the registration
fee will be collected and a decal issued. To obtain a registration only, the out-of-state
applicant would need the following documents and fees:

= Application for Watercraft/Outboard Motor Registration and Replacement Decal
(Eorm 2686) marked “Registration Only”;

= A copy of the out-of-state title in the applicant’s name;

= Registration fee as listed above; and

= Appropriate processing fees.

COLLECTION OF TAXES ON VESSELS (WATERCRAFT) AND OUTBOARD

MOTORS

Any vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor purchased after April 1, 1986, is subject to title
penalties, sales and local taxes, if applicable, and appropriate title and registration fees

A licensed Missouri boat dealer is NOT responsible for the collection of taxes on the sale of a
vessel (watercraft) and an outboard motor. The Department is responsible for the collection of
these taxes on any vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor required to be titled and registered.
Vendors, including licensed boat dealers, must collect and remit tax to the Department of
Revenue, Tax Administration Bureau, on sales of a watercraft propelled solely by paddle or
oars (regardless of length), sailboards, or on sailboats less than 12 feet in length and powered
by sail alone, since these units are not required to be titled and registered under Chapter 306.
Vendors who are not licensed boat dealers must also collect taxes on the sale of outboard
motors.

Example 1: Individual A purchases a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor from a licensed
boat dealer. The individual is required to title the vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor with the
Department. The purchaser of the vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor must pay sales tax on
the purchase price of the vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor to the Department.

Example 2: Individual B purchases a canoe from a boat dealer. Because the canoe is a vessel
(watercraft) that is not required to be titled under Chapter 306, RSMo, the boat dealer is
required to collect and remit the sales tax on the gross receipt of the sale of the canoe.
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e The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor purchased from a registered boat dealer
or individual must submit state sales tax in the amount of 4.225 percent and local tax, if
applicable, calculated on the net price of the vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor. Local tax
varies depending upon the applicant’s Missouri address. Use the Department’s online sales
tax calculator for an estimate of the tax.

e The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor titled in another state or country for less
than 90 days must submit proof of sales tax payment to that state/country.

o If the former state/country collected tax at a rate greater than Missouri’'s sales tax rate
(4.225%) plus the local tax rate, tax is not due.

o If the former state/country collected tax at a rate less than Missouri’s sales tax rate plus
the local tax rate, tax is due on the difference of the two.

VESSEL (WATERCRAFT) IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

Section 306.030, RSMo, provides that every new vessel (watercraft) sold in this state after January 1,
1970, shall have die stamped on or within three feet of the transom or stern a factory number or serial
number.

Federal regulations require the hull identification number (HIN) for vessels (watercraft) manufactured
after November 1, 1972, to contain 12 characters. Some vessels (watercraft) are manufactured one
or two years ahead of their actual model year. Consequently, there may be 1973 and 1974 model
vessels (watercraft) that were actually manufactured prior to November 1972, and therefore, exempt
from regulations which require a 12-character identification number.

If a vessel (watercraft) with a model year of 1973 or newer does not have a 12- character factory
number or serial number, the owner must make application to the Department for the issuance of a
new identification number plate to be affixed to the vessel (watercraft). Upon application, the
Department may authorize the issuance of one metal identification plate, which will serve as the
identification number of the vessel (watercraft).

Before selling a vessel (watercraft), the vessel’'s (watercraft’s) identification number or the factory hull
identification number (HIN) must meet the following criteria:
e Contain no spaces or dashes;
e First and second characters must be alpha characters;
e Model years older than 1973 may have less than 12 characters; and
e Model year of 1985 or newer, the 9th character must contain one of the alpha characters “A”
thru “L” and the 11th and 12th digits must correspond with the model year recorded on the title
application.

The following information explains what must be done for vessels (watercraft) that do not meet the
above requirements.

Before issuance of any metal identification plate, the applicant is required to have the vessel
(watercraft) inspected by a law enforcement agency approved by the Department for that purpose.
The inspection will determine either the true and complete identification number of the vessel
(watercraft) or that no such identification number exists. The inspecting officer must complete the
Inspection Verification - Law Enforcement Agency/Agent section of a Watercraft and/or Outboard
Motor Affidavit of Ownership and Inspection (Form 798).
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e If the owner of the vessel (watercraft) declares the vessel (watercraft) is “‘HOMEMADE,” a
Watercraft and/or Out- board Motor Affidavit of Ownership and Inspection (Form 798) must be
completed by a member of the Missouri State Highway Patrol or the Missouri Conservation
Commission.

e If the owner of the vessel (watercraft) declares that the vessel (watercraft) is a
‘MANUFACTURED?” unit, the Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and
Inspection (Form 798) must be completed by an authorized law enforcement agency, e.g.,
Missouri StateHighway Patrol, Sheriff, Police Officer, etc., except all 1985 and newer model
vessels (watercraft) must be inspected by a member of the Missouri State Highway Patrol or
the Missouri Conservation Commission.

e If the public number assigned by the manufacturer is destroyed, removed, covered, altered, or
defaced, but the confidential number assigned by the manufacturer can be located, a
replacement vessel (watercraft) identification number plate must be issued.

An “MOZA” number plate will be issued to a MANUFACTURED vessel (watercraft) when the
manufacturer’s assigned identification number cannot be determined and the confidential number is
missing. An “MOZ” number plate will be issued to a HOMEMADE vessel (watercraft).

All documents (including an application for title) and applicable fees must be mailed to the
Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100. In
addition to the title fee, processing fee, registration fee, taxes, and title penalty (if applicable), the
applicant will be required to pay $7.50 for the metal identification plate.

After the identification plate is issued, MSHP must affix the identification plate on or within three feet
of the transom or stem of the vessel (watercraft).

MISSOURI VESSEL (WATERCRAFT) REGISTRATION (MO) NUMBER

All vessels (watercraft) that are required to be titled must display a Missouri boat registration number
unless specifically exempted by law. The registration number is commonly referred to as the “MO
number.” The “MO number” must be affixed to the vessel (watercraft).

If the vessel (watercraft) currently has a “MO number,” this number must remain assigned to
the vessel (watercraft). ONLY WHEN THE “TYPE OF USE” HAS BEEN CHANGED WILL A NEW
MISSOURI VESSEL REGISTRATION NUMBER BE ISSUED.

VESSEL (WATERCRAFT) REGISTRATION DECAL

In addition to displaying a registration number, the vessel (watercraft) must display a registration
decal. The vessel (watercraft) registration (decal) fee is based on the length of the vessel (watercraft)
and is valid for a period of three years. The decals are always issued as a set of two and must be
affixed to both sides of the bow of the vessel (watercraft). The decal expires on June 30" of the
appropriate year. The decal fees are as follows:

Vessel (watercraft) under 16 feet in 1ength ... $25

Vessel (watercraft) 16 feet in length but less than 26 feet. ..........cccccevvvvviiiiinn, $55

Vessel (watercraft) 26 feet in length but less than 40 feet. ..., $100

Vessel (watercraft) 40 feetin lengthand over...........cccccii $150
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OUTBOARD MOTOR IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

If an original, manufacturer’s, or other distinguishing number on any outboard motor has been
destroyed, removed, covered, altered, defaced, or is otherwise nonexistent, the director of revenue
will issue a new or replacement identification number plate as required by Section 306.031, RSMo.

The applicant must submit the Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and
Inspection (Form 798) completed in full and signed to the Motor Vehicle Bureau Central Office, PO
Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100 with the following:
e An Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Form 93), if
the applicant is applying for a new identification number plate.

NOTE: If the applicant already has a certificate of title in his or her name and a replacement
identification number plate is being obtained, it is not necessary to submit a title application,
as a new title will not be issued
e Inspection (Form 798). If the unit is homemade, please explain all related facts and use the
Form 798;
e Appropriate ownership documentation; and
e The appropriate fees, i.e., title fee, processing fee, $7.50 number plate fee, taxes, title penalty,
and registration fee, if applicable.

The owner or owner’s designee must securely fasten the identification number plate immediately to
the outside of the outboard motor close to the area where the original manufacturer’s identification
number plate would typically appear.

OUTBOARD MOTOR REGISTRATION

All outboard motors must be registered at the time of titling and are issued an outboard motor decal.
One decal is issued for each outboard motor for a $2 fee. There is no requirement to renew a decal
until ownership of the outboard motor changes. An ownership change includes adding or deleting a
name on the certificate of title.

DOCUMENTED VESSELS

Most commercial vessels of five or more net tons which are used on the navigable waters of the
United States must be documented. A recreational vessel of five or more net tons may be
documented at the option of the owner. A Certificate of Documentation is issued by the Coast Guard.
For more information, contact the United States Coast Guard at the following address or phone
number.

National Documentation Center

792 T J Jackson Drive

Falling Waters, WV 25419-9502

Phone: (800) 799-8362 or (304) 271-2400

In order to document a vessel, the owner must comply with all federal requirements and submit an
application for documentation and the appropriate documents and fees to the United States Coast
Guard. Section 301.016, RSMo, requires the owner of any vessel documented by the United States
Coast Guard to apply for a documented vessel certificate of registration and pay a registration fee
based on the length of the vessel and, if applicable, pay an “in-lieu” watercraft tax.
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To comply with this law, the applicant must submit the following to the Motor Vehicle Bureau:

A properly completed and signed Application for Documented Vessel Certificate of
Registration (Form 4398);
A copy of the Certificate of Documentation issued by the United States Coast Guard,;
NOTE: If the vessel was documented by the previous owner, the applicant must provide
proof that the United States Coast Guard documentation is in the new owner’s name.
One of the following proof of ownership documents:
o The original title or Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin; or
o A certified copy of the “ABSTRACT OF TITLE” in the new owner’s name, if the vessel
was documented by the seller with the U.S. Coast Guard; and the Missouri documented
vessel certificate of registration properly assigned by the seller to the new owner, if
applicable.
Paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from the county (or city of
St. Louis) collector or assessor for the previous year.
o A corrected tax receipt (if manually corrected, it must contain the county seal); or
o A letter from the county collector (on letterhead or containing the county seal) reflecting
payment of taxes.
A $7.50 certification fee;
$12 processing fee ($6 certificate fee and a $6 registration fee); and
A registration fee based on the length of the vessel;

o Vessel (watercraft) under 16 feetinlength...........cccccocoveiiiiii i, $25
o Vessel (watercraft) 16 feet in length but less than 26 feet.............cccccceee. $55
o Vessel (watercraft) 26 feet in length but less than 40 feet..........cccccceeeeene $100
o Vessel (watercraft) 40 feet in length and over...........cccccceveiiiiiiiiiiiiee e $150

NOTE: A Homemade vessel that is at least 16 feet but less than 28 feet in length,
made out of wood, and has a beam of five feet or less will result in a $55
registration plus $6 processing fee.
The “in-lieu” watercraft tax based on the purchase price of the vessel or proof that applicable
taxes have been paid (trade-in credit is NOT allowed); and

Purchase Price of Tax Due Purchase Price of Tax Due
Watercraft Watercraft

Less than $15,000 $500 $300,001 - $350,000 $5,500
$15,001 - $30,000 $650 $350,001 - $400,000 $6,000
$30,001 - $50,000 $1,000 $400,001 - $450,000 $6,500
$50,001 - $100,000 $1,400 $450,001 - $500,000 $7,500
$100,001 - $150,000 $2,000 $500,001 - $550,000 $8,500
$150,001 - $200,000 $3,000 $550,001 - $650,000 $9,500
$200,001 - $250,000 $4,000 $650,001 - $750,000 $10,500

Add an additional

$250,001 - $300,000 $5,000 $750,001 and above $1,500 for each

$100,000 increment
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e Title penalty, if applicable, is $10 for each 30-day period beyond the registration
due date up to a maximum of $30.

Upon receipt of the above documents and fees, the Motor Vehicle Bureau will issue the following:
e Documented vessel certificate of registration;
e Validated application receipt; and
e Set of registration decals.

Listed below are important facts to remember about documented vessels:
e The state of Missouri cannot issue a certificate of title to a documented vessel,
e The registration decal must be displayed in a clearly visible location on each side
of the forward half of the vessel; and
e The documented vessel registration must be renewed every three years.

It may take longer than 30 days for the Certificate of Documentation to be issued by the United States
Coast Guard. However, the owner of the vessel is required by state law to make application to
the Motor Vehicle Bureau for a certificate of registration and pay the in-lieu tax within 30 days
of purchasing the vessel in order to avoid a penalty. Therefore, the owner must submit the
requirements outlined above and on the previous page (with the exception of Item 2) with a bill of sale
and $5 temporary registration fee. A temporary registration will be issued for a period of 60 days. A
permanent certificate of registration will not be issued until the Motor Vehicle Bureau receives a copy
of the Certificate of Documentation. An owner cannot operate a vessel until a temporary or
permanent registration is obtained.

NAME CHANGE = NO CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

On occasion, the owner listed on the face of a certificate of title may change his or her name because
of marriage, divorce, adoption, personal reasons, etc. To reflect this change on the title, the owner
must submit a completed Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (Form 93), the outstanding title in his or her name, and one of the documents listed
below. Because there is no change of ownership, the title is not required to be assigned.

» A copy of the marriage certificate;

e A copy of the divorce decree that specifically states the individual’s name was restored to its
previous state when a divorce occurs and the former wife changes her name to her previous
(maiden) name;

e Authorized adoption papers issued through the Circuit Court, Juvenile Division, indicating a
change of name when an individual is adopted and a name change occurs; or

e A certified document from the Circuit Court Division when an individual elects to have his or
her name changed because of personal reasons. The order from the court must state the
name the individual formerly used and the full name currently being used by the individual.
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TITLING REQUIREMENTS FOR REBUILT,
RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALTY CONSTRUCTED,

SALVAGE, JUNK, MOTOR CHANGE, NON-USA-STD,
AND KIT MOTOR VEHICLES

TITLE BRANDING INFORMATION

Title Branding
Section 301.573, RSMo, allows “branding” the certificates of title for certain motor vehicles. The
designation will be on all current and subsequent issues of the certificate of title.

In accordance with Section 301.190, RSMo, the director of revenue will designate on the certificate of
title the words, “Reconstructed Motor Vehicle’, “Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle”, “Motor Change
Vehicle”, “Non-USA-Std Motor Vehicle”, “Bonded Vehicle”, or “Prior Salvage” as appropriate.
Certificates of title are branded “Prior Salvage” in the following situations:
e If applying for an original title and the transaction is accompanied by a Missouri or out-of-state
salvage certificate of title and a Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551);
e Inthe past, the vehicle ownership document was issued as a Missouri salvage title and now
has an original certificate of title;
e The vehicle’s ownership document is an out-of-state title that indicates the vehicle was “Prior
Salvage”, “Damaged”, “Rebuilt”, “Rebuilt Salvage”, “Flood Damaged”, “Previously Damaged”,
“Fire Damaged”, “Previously Damaged by Collision”, or a similar designation; or
e An out-of-state title that was issued in the name of or assigned to an insurance company in
settlement claim is branded “Prior Salvage” when a Missouri title is issued. The only exception
would be if the title was owned by an insurance company for business use or if the applicant

presents proof from the insurance company that the vehicle was not salvaged.
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Brand Definitions
The definitions below determine how a motor vehicle will be classified, branded, and titled.

DEFINITION

A vehicle that is incapable of operation upon the highways, has no resale value, except as a
Junk Motor Vehicle | source of parts or scrap, and shall not be titled or registered. A Missouri Junking Certificate will be
issued.
A vehicle that has been issued a salvage title and been repaired or restored to its original
appearance and design by means of repaired sheet metal, replacement of new or used major or
Rebuilt Salvage essential parts of the same vehicle make, model or description (these parts may include a used
Motor Vehicle transmission, engine, fenders, hood, door, trunk lid, bumper, or grille), and which no more than
one major component part has been replaced. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued
with the designation “Prior Salvage Motor Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.
A vehicle that has received damage and been repaired, assembled or reconstructed by means of
two or more new or used major component parts, including but not limited to such major
component parts that have been derived from other motor vehicles, or makes of motor vehicles.
An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the designation “Reconstructed Motor
Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.

Reconstructed
Motor Vehicle

A vehicle that was not originally constructed under a distinctive name, make, model, or type by a

Specially manufacturer of motor vehicles. The term “specially constructed motor vehicle” includes kit
Constructed vehicles. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the designation “Specially
Motor Vehicle Constructed Motor Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.

A vehicle manufactured prior to August 1957, which receives a new, rebuilt, or used engine and
Motor Change which used the number stamped on the original engine as the vehicle identification number. An
Motor Vehicle original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the designation “Motor Change Vehicle”
printed on the face of the title.

A vehicle assembled by a person other than a generally recognized manufacturer of motor vehicles
by the use of a “glider kit” or “replica” purchased from an authorized manufacturer and accompanied
by a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the
designation “Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.

A motor vehicle, semi-trailer, or house trailer that was damaged less than seven years from
vehicle model year and that the total cost of repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to its
condition immediately before it was damaged for legal operation on the roads or highways
exceeds eighty percent of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately preceding the time it
was damaged; by reason of condition or circumstance, has been declared salvage, either by its
owner, a person, firm, corporation, or other legal entity exercising the right of security interest in it;
has been declared salvage by an insurance company as a result of settlement claim; ownership of
which is evidenced by a salvage title; or is abandoned property which is titled pursuant to Section
304.155 or 304.157, RSMo, and designated with the words “salvage/abandoned property”.
The cost of repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle shall not include the cost of repairing,
replacing, or reinstalling inflatable safety restraints, tires, sound systems, or damage as a result of
hail, or any sales tax on parts or materials to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle.
A vehicle not originally manufactured in compliance with United States’ emissions or safety
Non-USA-STD Motor: standards. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the designation “Non-USA-Std
Vehicle Motor Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.

Kit Motor Vehicle

Salvage Vehicle
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SALVAGE TITLING INFORMATION

Salvage Titling Laws
Sections 301.217 and 301.010, RSMo, provide the following definitions regarding the issuance of
salvage certificates of ownership:

Purchaser - The purchaser of a salvage vehicle, including an insurance company for purposes of
Sections 301.217 to 301.229, RSMo.

Salvage Certificate of Title - The title issued by the Department as proof of ownership for a salvaged
vehicle. It shall not be acceptable for the purpose of registering a motor vehicle. The salvage title is
negotiable with only one reassignment possible and by a registered motor vehicle dealer.

Salvage Motor Vehicle
e There are no salvage title laws for boats or outboard motors.
e Missouri salvage and prior salvage brand titles issued prior to August 28, 2007, will continue to
be branded regardless of the vehicle’s age or amount of damage.
e Out-of-state salvage and prior salvage branded titles surrendered to Missouri will be issued
salvage titles or prior salvage titles regardless of the vehicle’s age or amount of damage.

Requirements for Obtaining a Salvage Title

Whenever a motor vehicle is determined to be salvage and is less than seven years old or is sold for
salvage, dismantling, or rebuilding, it is mandatory that the purchaser apply for a salvage title within
ten days of purchase. For vehicles more than six years old, the purchaser has the option of applying
for salvage title on the vehicle until the entire salvaged motor vehicle is sold. The purchaser of a
salvage motor vehicle is required to obtain a salvage title to the vehicle prior to transferring
ownership.

Below are the requirements necessary for obtaining a salvage title on a motor vehicle:

e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) completed and signed by the
applicant;

e A properly assigned original or salvage title. If the original certificate of title was submitted to
the Department’s salvage file prior to September 28, 1983, a bill of sale may be submitted as
proof of ownership;

NOTE: The certificate of title must contain a proper odometer disclosure between the
buyer and seller on any vehicle that is less than ten years old and has a gross vehicle
weight rating of 16,000 pounds or less.

e The applicable fees; and

o $8.50 title fee; and
o $6 processing fee.

e Sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle in addition to any local taxes, if applicable. The
purchase price must be documented and recorded by the seller on the title assignment or bill
of sale unless the applicant is tax exempt.

Salvage business licensees (including salvage dealers) are not exempt from sales tax unless
they are also licensed as a motor vehicle dealer.

NOTE: Once a salvage title is issued on a vehicle, an original Missouri certificate of title will
not be issued on the vehicle until after an inspection and all documents and fees are
submitted.

8-3
MISSOURI TITLING MANUAL


https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=301.217&bid=15753&hl=
https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=301.010&bid=47975&hl=
https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=301.217&bid=15753&hl=
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf

Salvage Vehicle Twenty-five Years or Older
Titling Requirements for a Salvaged Motor Vehicle Twenty-Five Years of Age or Older for which a
Title Does Not Exist

The purchaser/owner of a motor vehicle 25 years old or older for which no certificate of ownership
is known to exist, may obtain a Missouri salvage title for the vehicle by submitting the following:
Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) completed and signed by the applicant;

e A surety bond equal to one and one-half times the purchase price of the vehicle;

e A descriptive bill of sale;

e A statement of fact(s) from the seller as to how he or she came to be in possession of the
salvaged vehicle. In the event there may not be an actual purchase, e.g., a farm purchase
where the vehicle came with the property, the applicant may provide this statement; however,
a statement from the seller is preferred; and

e The applicable fees and taxes:

o An $8.50 original title fee;

o $6 processing fee; and

o The sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle in addition to any local taxes, if
applicable, is due.

Transferring Ownership of a Salvage Motor Vehicle

Section 301.210, RSMo, requires that at the time of sale of a motor vehicle or trailer, a properly
assigned certificate of title shall pass between the parties. It is unlawful for any person/dealer to
“skip” an assignment or be in possession of an “open title.” An open title is a title that has the
seller’s signature in the title assignment area but the purchaser’s name is left blank.

Once a salvage title has been issued, the ownership of the vehicle may only be transferred by
assignment of the salvage title. The salvage title may not be used for licensing the vehicle.

Only a Missouri registered motor vehicle dealer may use the second assignment (reassignment) of a
Missouri salvage title to transfer ownership of a salvaged vehicle without having to obtain a salvage
title in the dealership’s name. If an out-of-state salvage title is involved, the dealer may only make
one assignment if the state’s title permits such reassignment. A Missouri dealer may not attach a
Reassignment of Registered Dealer (Form 2447) to a Missouri of out-of-state salvage title. A
Missouri dealer may purchase a salvage vehicle on an out-of-state rider only if that state allows a
rider to be attached. In this case, the dealer must obtain a Missouri salvage title in the dealership’s
name before reselling the vehicle.

Requirements for Owners Who Retain Their Salvage Vehicle
Missouri law provides that when a vehicle owner retains ownership of a salvaged vehicle upon
payment of a total loss claim, the vehicle owner may obtain a prior salvage title if the vehicle is still
operable by submitting the following to a license office:
e Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) marked “Prior Salvage”;
e Title for the vehicle;
e Applicable inspection;
o If the vehicle will be registered, an official safety inspection, less than 60 days old; or
o If the vehicle will not be registered at this time, an ID/OD inspection.
e A copy of the Notice of Vehicle Titling Requirements (Form 5043); and
o Atitle fee of $8.50 and a $6 processing fee.
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DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR TITLING RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALLY

CONSTRUCTED, REPLICA, MOTOR CHANGE, NON-USA-STD, AND REBUILT

VEHICLES

Below are the requirements necessary to obtain a title for the vehicles listed above. Additional
documents may be requested at the title of titling, if necessary.
¢ An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) completed and signed by the
applicant.
o Please note that in Missouri motor vehicles are titled by appearance. Example: If a 1978

Chevrolet body is attached to a 1979 Ford frame, the vehicle will be titled as a 1978
Chevrolet. Complete the year and make boxes on Form 108 based on the appearance
of the vehicle.

e A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) with the top portion completed in full and signed
by the owner. Be specific when describing parts used. If no changes were made to the
vehicle, please state this fact in section 9B of the form. The bottom portion must be completed
by a representative, authorized/designated employee, or uniformed officer of the Missouri
State Highway Patrol or the St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit.

O

If the Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) indicates the public vehicle
identification number of the vehicle is missing or multiple identification numbers are on
the vehicle, the applicant must submit an Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification
Number Plate or Verification (Form 5062) and pay applicable fees to have a
replacement or DR vehicle identification number issued. The Form 5062 must be signed
by the applicant and certified by a member of the Missouri State Highway Patrol or the
St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit. If the reason for the Form 5062 is that the
public vehicle identification number is missing or not found, the application must
also be notarized.

If a replacement vehicle identification number or DR Number is issued to the vehicle,
the Motor Vehicle Bureau will not issue a new certificate of title on the vehicle until an
authorized officer has certified the new VIN plate has been affixed to the vehicle and the
officer has notified the Department.

e Properly assigned ownership document, such as:

(@)

O
(@)
O

Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin;

Original certificate of title;

Salvage certificate of title; or

Bill of sale, if an original certificate of title was submitted to the Department’s salvage
unit prior to September 29, 1983.

NOTE: The assignment of the ownership document must contain a proper odometer
disclosure between the buyer and seller on any vehicle that is less than ten years old
and has a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or less. If the true mileage is
unknown, a statement from the seller must be submitted containing all facts concerning
the true mileage of the motor vehicle and must indicate an estimated mileage. The
certificate of title will issue with a mileage discrepancy brand.

e Notarized bills of sale for the major component parts used to construct the vehicle which
include:
o Applicant’s name;
o Part’'s name;
o Purchase price;
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o Year, make and vehicle identification number of the motor vehicle from whichthe parts
were obtained; and
o Seller's name.
NOTE: The seller’s signature must be notarized.
e Copies of the front and back of the certificate(s) of title to the vehicle(s) from which the major
component parts were taken.

o Invoices for essential parts. The invoice must include:
o Part’'s name;
o Purchase price;
o Seller's name;
o Applicant’s name; and
o Amount of taxes collected by the seller.
e For “Specially Constructed” vehicles, two photographs of the vehicle, one showing the front

and side view of the vehicle and the other showing the back and side view of the vehicle.
e Aninvoice for Glider Kit or Kit Car. (This requirement applies only to “kit” vehicles.)
e Applicable fees and tax;

o $8.50 title fee;

o $6.00 title processing fee;

o State and local sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle and all major component
parts and other parts used. The seller must record the purchase price on the bill of sale,
title assignment, or invoice, as applicable. If taxes were collected by the seller, an
invoice listing the amount of taxes that have been paid must be submitted; and

o $13.50 replacement/DR vehicle identification number plate fee ($7.50 fee for the
identification number plate and a $6 processing fee), if applicable.

NOTE: If a replacement vehicle identification number is needed, refer to the
Replacement VIN Plates section on Page 8-7.

Major Component Parts
As part of repair or rebuilding, many vehicles require the use of one or more major component parts.
The major component parts of a motor vehicle are defined as follows:

PART DEFINITION
The complete rear sheet metal assembly formed by severing the vehicle across the
floor and either through the windshield post or through the rear window post.
Sheet metal formed by severing the vehicle across the floor in the vicinity of the front
seat, severing the windshield posts (not including the parts forward of the firewall).
The steel basic structure which runs the entire length of the vehicle onto which the
suspensions parts are bolted to the lower side and the body is bolted to the top side.
Front-End | An entire unit consisting of that portion of the body from the firewall forward (i.e. hood,
Assembly | fenders, inner skirt or fenders, radiator or core support, grille).
All parts of the front-end assembly plus complete cowl and may include instrumentation
and steering column. Requires cutting of floor and windshield post.
The shell, either of a unibody or frame-type passenger vehicle, which consists of a one-
piece, integrated sheet metal construction extending from the firewall back. The body
includes a cowl but not a front-end assembly. It may or may not include an interior,
doors and deck lid.
The passenger compartment of a common truck. It is a one-piece sheet metal
Cab construction which may or may not include glass, instrumentation, steering column and
seat.

Rear Clip

Cowl

Frame

Front Clip

Body
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Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551)

Section 301.190, RSMo, requires that each application for an original Missouri certificate of title for a
vehicle which is classified as a prior salvage (rebuilt), reconstructed, specially constructed, kit, motor
change, Non-USA-Std, or other vehicle as required by the director of revenue must be accompanied
by a Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551).

The examination must be performed by a uniformed officer, representative member, or a designated
employee of the Missouri State Highway Patrol or the St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit. Contact
one of these entities in your area at least four weeks in advance to schedule the required
examination. The only exception to this requirement is if the vehicle has been inspected in another
state by a law enforcement officer in a manner comparable to Missouri’s inspection process. If an out-
of-state inspection has been completed, the inspection form must accompany the application for title.

The Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) must be used to meet the inspection requirement.
The applicant must obtain the Vehicle Examination Certificate before having the vehicle inspected.
The inspection form may be obtained from a local license office or the applicant may submit a written
request containing name/address and a check or money order made payable to Department of
Revenue in the amount of $31 for each Form 551 requested ($25 for the Form 551 and a $6
processing fee) to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100. The
Vehicle Examination Certificate is valid for six months from the date of inspection.

REPLACEMENT VIN PLATES

The Department may authorize the issuance of one metal replacement VIN plate with the original
vehicle identification number stamped on it. The plate will be designed to distinguish the replacement
plate from the original plate. Before the issuance of any such plate, an authorized officer of Missouri
Highway Patrol, St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit must make a physical inspection of the vehicle
to determine the true and complete vehicle identification number. The inspecting officer must certify
the inspection in the appropriate place on the Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number
Plate or Verification (Form 5062).

When the replacement VIN plate is issued, the Department will forward a copy of the Form 5062 to the
Missouri State Highway Patrol. The Missouri State Highway Patrol will make the plate and forward it to
the authorized officer who will contact the vehicle owner.

The authorized officer must attach, or supervise the attachment of, the replacement plate to the
vehicle. The officer must make a certification on the Form 5062 attesting to the attachment of the
plate and return the copy to the Department. No replacement VIN plate, other than one provided by
the Department, shall be affixed to any motor vehicle or trailer.

NOTE: The Motor Vehicle Bureau will not issue a new certificate of title on the vehicle (if applicable)
until an authorized officer has certified the replacement VIN plate has been affixed to the vehicle and
the officer has notified the Department

When applying for a VIN replacement plate, the applicant must submit the following:
e Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification (Form 5062) signed
by the applicant and notarized.
NOTE: The inspection portion of the Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate
or Verification (Form 5062) must be completed and signed by an authorized officer of the
Missouri State Highway Patrol or St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit.
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e A copy of the certificate of title in the applicant’'s name; and
o A Missouri registered motor vehicle dealer must submit either a copy of the front of the
title in their name or a copy of the front and back of the title assigned to the dealer.
e Applicable fees.
o $7.50 replacement VIN plate fee; and
o $6.00 VIN plate processing fee.

JUNKING CERTIFICATE

Whenever a vehicle is sold for parts, scrap, or junk and NOT for rebuilding or reconstruction, the
purchaser may obtain a Junking Certificate. A Junking Certificate authorizes the holder to possess,
transport, or transfer ownership of such parts, scrap, or junk. A certificate of title will never be issued
again on a vehicle for which a Junking Certificate has been issued.

To obtain a Junking Certificate, you must submit the following:
e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) completed and signed,;
e Ownership document; and
o A properly assigned certificate of title or Junking Certificate; or
o Bill of sale for a 1954 or older model vehicle.
e $6 processing fee.
NOTE: There is no title fee or taxes due on a Junking Certificate.

If within 90 days from the date of issuance of the Junking Certificate the initial purchaser wishes to
rescind the certificate, the initial purchaser must apply for a salvage title by mailing the following
requirements directly to the Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box 100, Jefferson
City, Missouri 65105-0100:
e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) for a salvage title completed in full
and signed,;
e Junking Certificate in the applicant’s name;
e A properly completed Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019), if applicable;
e A bill of sale, if applicable;
e Applicable taxes and fees.
o State and local sales tax due on the purchase price;
o $8.50 title fee; and
o $6 processing fee.

PARTING OUT A SALVAGE MOTOR VEHICLE

After a salvage business licensee has applied for a salvage title, they may proceed to “part out” (sell
parts separately) the salvage motor vehicle. If the licensee sells any part that is not a major
component part, the licensee must provide a descriptive bill of sale to the purchaser. If the licensee
sells any part that is a major component part, a copy of the front and back of the salvage title and a
descriptive notarized bill of sale must be given to the purchaser. If the licensee sells any part that is a
major component part and has not received a salvage title in their name, they must provide the
purchaser with a copy of the front and back of the surrendered title, a copy of the titling receipt, and a
descriptive notarized bill of sale.
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Parting out a Motor Vehicle More Than Seven Years Old

A registered salvage business licensee who is also a registered motor vehicle dealer, may “part out” a
salvage motor vehicle, which is more than six years old, without obtaining a salvage title in the
dealership’s name, only if a salvage title has been properly assigned to the dealership. The dealer must
provide the purchaser(s) of major component parts of the vehicle in question with a copy (front and
back) of the assigned salvage title along with a descriptive notarized bill of sale.

MOTOR VEHICLES DESTROYED OR SOLD FOR DESTRUCTION

Whenever a salvage business licensee sells a motor vehicle for destruction, the certificate of title
must be forwarded to the Department within ten days. The seller must write on the face of the title
certificate “SOLD FOR DESTRUCTION” or “DESTROYED,” the name(s) of the purchaser(s), and the
date the vehicle was sold. Writing “JUNK” on the face of the title is not acceptable and will be
returned.

If the owner destroys the vehicle, the owner must write on the face of the certificate of title “Destroyed
by (name)” and the date the vehicle was destroyed. Certificate of titles must be forwarded to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau

Attention: Destroyed Vehicles Unit
PO Box 2076

Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076
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MISCELLANEOUS TITLING INFORMATION

IDENTIFICATION NUMBER AND ODOMETER READING INSPECTION (ID/OD)

In order to obtain a Missouri certificate of title for a motor vehicle previously titled in another state, the
applicant must obtain a completed Missouri Motor Vehicle Inspection Approval Certificate to verify the
vehicle identification number and odometer (ID/OD) reading from an official inspection station
authorized by the Missouri State Highway Patrol. The fee for an inspection is determined by each
inspection station and will not exceed $12.

Licensed Missouri motor vehicle dealers may submit either the original or a copy of the safety
inspection certificate with the application for title in a dealership’s name on a motor vehicle previously
titted in another state. The dealership may retain the original safety inspection approval certificate in
order to provide the ultimate purchaser of the vehicle with this inspection and prevents the dealership
from having to perform two separate inspections on the same vehicle.

The requirement to obtain a Missouri Motor Vehicle Inspection Approval Certificate verifying the
manufacturer’s identification number and odometer reading applies to every individual, company,
corporation, and dealership which is making application for an original “Title Only”. There is no
exception to this rule.

REASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIP BY A REGISTERED DEALER (RIDER)

A Reassignment of Ownership by Registered Dealer (Form 2447) is a secure document issued by the
Director of Revenue in accordance with Section 301.200, RSMo, provides registered Missouri dealers
(not out-of-state dealers) one additional assignment as an extension of the ownership document. See
12 CSR 10-23.434 for information regarding who may use a rider form and when a rider form may be
used.

Riders may be used with a Missouri certificate of title, Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, or an out-
of-state certificate of title. Only one original rider may be used with each transaction. Applicants must
retain a photocopy of Form-2447 for their records. A Missouri dealer may not attach a rider to a
Missouri or out-of-state salvage title.

Riders are issued at no cost in books of 50. Riders may be obtained by calling (573) 526-3669,
Option 7, emailing dealerlic@dor.mo.gov, online at DOR.mo.gov/online forms ordering or by
submitting a written request to Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, Dealer
Licensing Section, PO Box 43, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0043. When contacting the
Department, be sure to include the following:

e Dealership name and address;

e Dealer license number; and

e Quantity of books requested.
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Completing the Rider

All fields on the rider must be completed. In the purchaser(s) and seller(s) name blocks, one
purchaser and all sellers must physically hand print their names. The dealer must legibly hand
print the name of the dealership, agent’s name and their title/position in the company when the dealer
is purchaser or seller. One purchaser and all sellers must also sign the form in the designated areas.
The original Form 2447 must be submitted, but the dealer must retain a photocopy for their records.

UTILITY AND RECREATIONAL OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES

A utility vehicle (UTV) is any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-highway
use which is more than 50 inches but no more than 80 inches in width, measured from outside of tire
rim to outside of tire rim, with an unladen dry weight of 3,500 pounds or less, traveling on four or six
wheels, to be used primarily for landscaping, lawn care, or maintenance purposes.

A recreational off-highway vehicle (ROHV) is any motorized vehicle manufactured and used
exclusively for off-highway use which is more than 50 inches but no more than 80 inches in width,
measured from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim, with an unladen dry weight of 3,500 pounds or
less, traveling on four or more non-highway tires and which may have access to ATV trails.

o Utility and recreational off-highway vehicles do not meet the definition of a motor vehicle or
ATV and will not be titled and registered. Ownership of utility and recreational off-highway
vehicles is transferred through a bill of sale negotiated between the buyer and seller.

e Utility and recreational off-highway vehicles cannot be operated upon the highways of this
state unless they are owned and operated by a governmental entity for official use, operated
for agricultural or industrial on-premises purposes, or operated by handicapped persons for
short distances on secondary roads.

e The operator must have a valid driver license, but does not have to be motorcycle qualified.

e Cities or counties are allowed to issue special permits for utility vehicles to be used on county
roads within the county or on highways within the city to licensed drivers for a fee of $15. The
fee is to be kept by such city/county.

e The seller of a utility vehicle is responsible for collecting and remitting all applicable state and
local tax on new utility vehicles.

e Utility vehicle owners may qualify for a “farm use” tax exemption.

TITLING REQUIREMENTS FOR DIRT BIKES

If a motor vehicle operated on two wheels does not meet the definition of an autocycle, motorcycle, or
a motorized bicycle, it is considered a “Dirt Bike” and must be titled. A 1982 Missouri Supreme Court
decision ruled that for the purposes of collecting sales tax, a dirt bike is a motor vehicle. Therefore, it
is subject to the tax provided by Section 144.070, RSMo. However, a dirt bike may not be registered
for highway use, unless it is modified to meet all safety requirements and pass a safety inspection.
For additional information on titling requirements for dirt bikes, please call (573) 526-3669.

BONDED VEHICLE TITLE
Section 301.192, RSMo, provides for the issuance of a certificate of title for a bonded vehicle if the
following requirements are met:
e The motor vehicle or trailer is at least seven years old or older;
e The value of the vehicle does not exceed $3,000; and
e Norecord of any prior application for title on the motor vehicle or trailer exists in the records of
the Department, or the records of the Department reflect incomplete or conflicting
documentation of ownership.
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To obtain a title for a bonded vehicle, the owner of the vehicle must complete an Application for Missouri
Title and License (Form 108), and submit it to the Motor Vehicle Bureau with the following:
e A statement explaining how the bonded vehicle was acquired and the reasons a valid certificate
of ownership cannot be furnished;
¢ All evidence of ownership in the applicant’s possession;
e Title verification from the state in which the vehicle was previously titled or registered, if known,
(applies only if no Missouri title record exists);
e A notarized lien release from any lienholders of record;
¢ A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form 551) completed by the Missouri State Highway Patrol
or the St. Louis City or County Auto Theft Unit;
e An Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019) certifying the motor vehicle odometer
reading, unless the vehicle is exempt by law;
e A surety bond or a suitable financial security agreement equal to two times the value of the
vehicle. Exhibit A may be used for this purpose; and
e The applicable title and processing fees and state and local taxes, based on the value of the
vehicle.

NOTE: State and local taxes, if applicable, will be based on the value of the vehicle as disclosed in
the surety bond.

Thirty days after receipt of the application, supporting documents, and applicable fees, the director of
revenue shall issue a new title branded with the words “BONDED VEHICLE.”

If the vehicle meets the above requirements, the purchaser of the vehicle may file a surety bond, see
Exhibit A, equal to two times the value of the vehicle at the time the vehicle was obtained as
determined by the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car Guide, or two appraisals from motor vehicle
dealers licensed by the Department. The bond must be for a minimum of $100 and will expire after
three years unless the Department has been notified of pending action taken against the bond.

MOTOR VEHICLES OR MARINECRAFT ACOQUIRED BY GIFT

A gift statement must be submitted when a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor is acquired by gift for the recipient to be exempt from sales tax. This
statement must be signed by the donor(s) and indicate the complete description of the unit. The
donor must have met their tax liability on the motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor for the recipient of the unit to be tax exempt.

TRADE-INS, REPLACEMENT VEHICLE, TOTAL LOSS TAX CREDITS, REBATES,

AND DISCOUNTS
Sections 144.025 and 144.027, RSMo, allow certain tax credits on the purchase of a motor vehicle,
trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor, as outlined below.

Trade-In Credit

Any article of tangible personal property can be claimed as a trade-in allowance to a registered
dealer; however, the amount allowed for the article traded in cannot exceed the true value of the
article. When a motor vehicle, trailer, watercraft, or outboard motor is being used as a trade-in tax
credit, the owner listed on the title for the unit being traded is not required to be the same as the
owner of the unit being purchased. Real property (land) does not qualify for a trade-in allowance.
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When accepting a trade-in vehicle, the dealer should:
e Record the purchase price, actual trade-in amount or “None” if there is no trade-in, and the net
price on the title assignment; and
e Provide the purchaser with one of the following, and advise the purchaser to submit the copy
with their title application to the local license office:
o A copy of the front and back of the title assigned from the owner to the dealer for the
trade-in; or
o A copy of the Secure Power of Attorney (Form 5086) for the trade-in vehicle if the title is
held by the lienholder or a duplicate title is needed.

Replacement Vehicle Credit

The seller of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor who purchases or
contracts to purchase a subsequent unit may receive a tax credit if the subsequent unit is purchased
or contracted to purchase within 180 days before or after the date the original unit is sold. The actual
sale price of the unit will be deducted from the purchase price of the new unit for the purposes of
calculating state and local taxes, if applicable. The applicant must submit a bill of sale or notice of
sale with the application for title to receive the tax credit.

The bill of sale or notice of sale is not required to be notarized to receive the vehicle sales tax credit.

The law DOES NOT restrict the tax credit to “exact or like” replacement units, i.e., a motor vehicle for
a motor vehicle, trailer for trailer, etc. Accordingly, an individual can sell a boat and buy a motor
vehicle or trailer or vice versa and still qualify for the tax credit. The unit being purchased or
contracted to purchase must be titled in at least one of the owners’ names as the unit being replaced
(or sold) to qualify for a tax credit.

New Missouri residents must submit original proof of ownership from their previous state of
residence (i.e., original registration receipt or certified title record from the other state) before allowing
the vehicle to be used as a 180-day tax credit.

Individuals who sell a unit in their personal name, may not use the tax allowance toward the purchase
of a vehicle titled to their trust.

Total Loss Credit

The purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor may deduct the
amount of a total loss claim settlement received from an insurance company, plus the owner's
deductible, from the purchase price of another like unit that is purchased or contracted to purchase
after the total loss occurs, but within 180 days of the payment by the insurance company.

The applicant must present a notarized statement from the insurance company indicating the year,
make, and identification number of the “total loss” unit, the date the insurance company paid the
settlement, the amount of the insurance settlement, and the amount of the insurance deductible, if
applicable. If the insurance agent certifies that the information in the statement is true and accurate,
the form does not have to be notarized.
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The total loss statement can be in anyone’s name; however, at least one of the owners of the total
loss vehicle must be the same on the application for title on the newly acquired vehicle. Example:
John and Jane Smith have a vehicle titled in their name that is declared a total loss. Brenda
Smith insured the vehicle and receives a certified total loss claim from the insurance
company. As long as John or Jane’s name is listed as an owner or co-owner on the new
vehicle, the total loss credit in Brenda’s name may be used.

In addition, the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor, that was
replaced because of theft or casualty loss, who does not have insurance coverage on the unit, may
receive a tax credit on the fair market value of the unit being replaced. The applicant must present the
accident report (original or copy) completed by a law enforcement agent showing the year, make, and
identification number of the total loss vehicle, and the date of accident or loss accompanied by two
appraisals listing the fair market value of the total loss vehicle.

The fair market value of the unit is determined on the pre-wrecked condition of the vehicle based on
the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car Guide, Abos Blue Book, or the average of two appraisals from
licensed motor vehicle or boat dealers. The fair market value is deducted from the purchase price of
the replacement unit. The replacement unit must be purchased or contracted to purchase within 180
days after the date of loss as certified by a law enforcement agent on the accident report.

Toreceive a tax credit on a total loss vehicle, the vehicle being replaced must be a like unit, i.e., a
motor vehicle must be replaced by a motor vehicle, a trailer replaced by a trailer, etc.

Rebates

Rebates are offered by motor vehicle dealers or manufacturers to be used as a credit to reduce the
amount of sales tax due by a purchaser when titling a new or used motor vehicle sold by a Missouri
or out-of-state dealer. The selling dealer must complete all rebate information on the application for
title before any credit will be allowed.

The Department of Revenue has the authority to request additional documentation from the
applicant any time the purchase price of a vehicle is questionable.

Farm Products (I.E. Grain, Livestock, etc.) Used as Trade-in Tax Credit
The Department will allow a sales tax credit when grain or livestock raised or produced by the
purchaser is traded for a vehicle purchased from a dealer for agricultural use. To receive this credit,
the grain or livestock must be traded to the dealer within one week of the actual purchase date of the
vehicle and the criteria below must be met:
e The vehicle being purchased must be used for agricultural use;
e The purchaser of the vehicle must have either raised or produced the agricultural product; and
e The purchaser must submit a Bill of Transfer (Farm Products Only) (Form 4606), in which the
purchaser certifies the information noted above.

Note: If the grain is stored at a grain elevator, a separate receipt from the grain company showing the
dealership has title to the grain must accompany the bill of transfer. A statement or invoice from a
grain company in the name of “CASH SALE” is not acceptable. A check made payable directly to the
dealership by the grain company is not acceptable without the receipt from the grain elevator
company showing the grain transferring to the dealership.
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If the dealership physically accepts delivery of the agricultural product from the vehicle purchaser, a
statement on the dealership’s letterhead showing this information may be submitted in lieu of the Bill
of Transfer (Farm Products Only)(Form 4606).

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (VEHICLE INSURANCE)

Section 303.026, RSMo, requires motor vehicle owners, including motor vehicle dealers, to maintain
financial responsibility for each motor vehicle registered and operated on the streets or highways. This
includes vehicles held for resale.

Financial responsibility may be one of the following:
e A motor vehicle liability insurance policy;
e A self-insurance certificate issued by the Missouri Department of Revenue;
e A surety bond, cash deposit, or other type of securities filed with the Department; or
e A real estate bond filed with the Department.

NOTE: For additional information regarding methods of proof of financial responsibility, please
contact the Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver License Bureau, PO Box 200, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65105-0200 or call (573) 526-2407 or your insurance agent or company.

No motor vehicle owner will be issued registration for a motor vehicle unless the owner, or their
authorized agent, signs a statement provided by the Department at the time of registration that
certifies that he or she has, and will maintain, financial responsibility during the period of registration,
for each motor vehicle that is owned, licensed or operated on the streets or highways of Missouri. The
applicant must also show proof of financial responsibility at the time of registration by presenting his
or her insurance card (paper and electronic copies are acceptable) or other proof of financial
responsibility.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
Sections 302.281 and 303.024 to 303.044, RSMo, outline all financial responsibility requirements and
penalties.

LICENSE PLATES — 30 DAY TRANSFER ALLOWED

The buyer of a newly acquired motor vehicle/trailer may attach the license plates from their motor
vehicle/trailer* that is being sold or traded to the newly acquired motor vehicle/trailer. This transfer is
legal for only 30 days.** After that time, the buyer must legally transfer the plates and pay a $2
transfer fee. The buyer may transfer the license plates only if vehicle acquired is of the same vehicle
category as vehicle being replaced, i.e., passenger plates may not be displayed on a commercial
motor vehicle.

* A permanent trailer license plate is non-transferrable, even temporarily.
** The transfer is legal for 60 days if the motor vehicle is sold pursuant to Section 301.210, RSMo, or
90 days if the motor vehicle is sold pursuant to Section 301.213, RSMo.
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http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4606.pdf
https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=303.026&bid=16138&hl=
https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=302.281&bid=16042&hl=
https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=302.281&bid=16042&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.210&bid=15749&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.213&bid=48751&hl=

TEMPORARY PERMITS

Section 301.140, RSMo, permits the Department to issue temporary permits to vehicle purchasers.
This permit authorizes a purchaser to operate a motor vehicle/ trailer for a period of 30 days from
date of purchase of the motor vehicle/trailer. Motor vehicle dealers who have filed a $100,000 surety
bond or irrevocable letter of credit may be authorized to issue a 60-day temporary permit for motor
vehicles sold without a title pursuant to Section 301.210, RSMo. Motor vehicle dealers who have filed
a $100,000 surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit may be authorized to issue a 90-day temporary
permit for motor vehicles sold without a title pursuant to Section 301.213, RSMo. Refer to the
Missouri Dealer and Business Operating Manual for more information about dealers buying and
selling a motor vehicle without a title. Motor vehicle or trailers displaying a temporary permit can be
operated empty, loaded or with mounted equipment. Only individuals who have no registration
plate(s) available for transfer may purchase permits.

A dealer:

e May not issue a temporary permit on a motor vehicle owned by the dealership for
leasing/rental purposes;

e May charge no more than $5 for each permit issued; and

e Afranchised dealer may transfer or sell any unissued temporary permits remaining in the
dealer’s inventory at the time the dealership is sold to a purchasing dealer. The seller must
notify Motor Vehicle Bureau in writing of such fact, including the control number of each
temporary permit that was transferred.

For an applicant to purchase a temporary permit from the selling dealer, the following must be
submitted:

e Motor vehicle safety inspection not more than 60 days old or not more than 90 days old if the
seller is a Missouri dealer and the safety inspection provided by the Missouri dealer was
completed within 60 days prior to the purchase date, if applicable;

o Dealer must record the complete motor vehicle inspection certificate number on the
temporary permit record.

e Individual must provide proof of insurance in order to purchase permit from dealer; and

e Payment of $5 permit fee.

60-Day Permit — Applies only to vehicles sold without a Missouri title pursuant to Section
301.210 RSMo (effective Aug. 28, 2020).
In addition to the requirements for issuing 30-day permits, a licensed motor vehicle dealer may sell a
motor vehicle without a title and issue a 60-day temporary permit to the purchaser when the dealer:
e Has filed a $100,000 surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit with the Department of
Revenue;

o The Temporary Registration Permit Application (TRPA) system will determine if the
proper bond/letter of credit requirement has been met prior to allowing a licensed motor
vehicle dealer to issue a 60-day permit.

e Has completed an Agreement for Delayed Delivery of Certificate of Ownership (Form 5830)
with the vehicle purchaser;

e Has provided the purchaser with Agreement for Delayed Delivery of Certificate of Ownership
(Form 5830).

For detailed information for dealers buying and selling a vehicle without a title, refer to the Missouri Dealer and
Business Operating Manual.
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https://www.revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=301.140&bid=35705&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.210&bid=15749&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.213&bid=48751&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.210&bid=15749&hl=
https://dor.mo.gov/forms/5830.pdf
https://dor.mo.gov/forms/5830.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/documents/DealerOperatingManual_002.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/documents/DealerOperatingManual_002.pdf

90-Day Permit — Applies only to vehicles sold without a Missouri title pursuant to Section
301.213 RSMo (expires Dec. 31, 2020).
A 90-day permit cannot be issued on a vehicle which is not currently titled in Missouri.

In addition to the requirements for issuing 30-day permits, a licensed motor vehicle dealer may sell a
motor vehicle without a title and issue a 90-day temporary permit to the purchaser when the dealer:
e Has filed a $100,000 surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit with the Department of
Revenue;

o The Temporary Registration Permit Application (TRPA) system will determine if the
proper bond/letter of credit requirement has been met prior to allowing a licensed motor
vehicle dealer to issue a 90-day permit.

e Has completed a Motor Vehicle Dealer Written Agreement to Sell Without Title (Form 5620)
with the vehicle purchaser;
e Has provided the purchaser with the following:

o A copy of the a Motor Vehicle Dealer Written Agreement to Sell Without Title (Form
5620);

o A notarized lien release for any lien perfected on the vehicle by a previous owner’'s
lienholder;

o A copy of the contract for the sale of the vehicle;

o A copy of the duplicate title application dealer is obtaining on behalf of the previous
owner to assign to the new purchaser;

o A copy of the secure power of attorney from the previous owner to the dealer;

o Proof or other evidence from the Department of Revenue confirming that no outstanding
child support liens exist upon the vehicle at the time of sale;

o Proof or other evidence from the Department of Revenue confirming that all applicable
state sales tax has been satisfied on the sale of the vehicle to the previous owner; and

o An application for title in the purchaser’'s name.

e For detailed information for dealers buying and selling a vehicle without a title, refer to the
Missouri Dealer and Business Operating Manual.

Responsibility of the Buyer

Temporary permits must be affixed to the rear of vehicle where a standard license plate is displayed.
They are not valid upon the issuance of proper registration plates for the motor vehicle or trailer. The
purchaser must sign the permit in ink.

SALES TO MINORS

The legal age at which a person becomes competent to enter into a contract in Missouri is 18 years
old. Although an individual purchasing a vehicle does not have to be 18 years old to own a vehicle, a
contract to purchase a vehicle signed by anyone younger than 18 years old is invalid and may be
voided. A minor may release themselves from the sales contract, return the vehicle, and recover the
vehicle purchase price paid, even though the vehicle has been used and deteriorated in value.

INFORMATION FOR AUCTIONS AND DEALERS SELLING AT AUCTIONS

If an auctioneer is conducting business with both buyer and seller present, the seller must assign the title
directly to buyer. The seller must list purchaser’'s name in the assignment area. The seller may not leave
purchaser’'s name blank, as this constitutes an open title. The seller must disclose mileage to the buyer,
except on an exempt vehicle. The auctioneer becomes a transferor (seller) if they buy a vehicle and later
auctions it. If auctioneer is acting as consignee for a seller who is not present, the seller must execute a
regular power of attorney authorizing auctioneer to make the disclosure.
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https://revisor.mo.gov/main/PageSelect.aspx?section=301.213&bid=35715&hl=
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=5620&category&submit=Go
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=5620&category&submit=Go
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php?formName=5620&category&submit=Go
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/documents/DealerOperatingManual_002.pdf

e If a dealer brings a motor vehicle to an auction, but is not present at time of sale, the following

must be followed:
o If atitle is involved, seller should give the auction a power of attorney and title

document;
o Representative of the auction should complete title assignment on behalf of the seller.
The purchaser(s) must print and sign their name(s) in the designated area for odometer

disclosure, if applicable;
o The representative of the auction cannot sign as seller and purchaser for the same

transaction; and
o When reporting the sale on the dealer’'s monthly report, dealer must list the actual

purchaser not the auto auction.
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EXHIBIT A

SURETY BOND FOR OBTAINING BONDED VEHICLE TITLE

APPLIES ONLY TO MOTOR VERICLES CR TRAILERS 7 YEARS OR OLDER WORTH $3000 ok LKSS

EROW ALL MEN RY THESE PRESENY, that I/NE

ag principal, and

a corporation

(Nane of Banding Cenpany)

arganized snd oxisting wnder the laws of She State of , having

its printipel plece of Humizexs at » ond
sutharized to act as a Surety in Miggeuri, as Surety, are kald and firmly bound unto
the State of Missouri, in the peoal zun of § (niniyuw of 8104
and paximuy of $6,000), equal te tws tlmaa the value of the aster vehicle as
determiced by the ¥ally Dlue Book, WADA Ugse® Car Ouide or two appralsals from
llcemaes Missourl mater vekizla dealars (attach appraisals) for the payrent of
whizh, well and truly to be nade, we Eind ourselves, cur helrs, executors,
administrators, succeasord, and assign, jeintly ané severslly, fismly by thess
present, Thix bend refers to the wehicle below:

MAXT :

MOOEL:

YEAR:

VESICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER:
RIMARKS =

Tho conditicn of the above obligation Ls to indemnify any pricr ewncr and llenhsldar
end any subsoguant purchazer of the vekicle ar parsan acquliring any security in
interest, against any expense, loss or davape, iooludicg reasccable attomey's foea,
by reasonm of the lgauance of the certificate af title of tha vekicle or on account
vf any defect in or undisclosed security interest upco the right, title and interaat
of the agplicant in and e tha vehicle. Any szuck interewted pecrssn haz a right of
action to recover on the bond for any broach af fts coeditlens, but the sgureaste
lisbility of the Surety tc all perrcar shall not excesd the aycunt of thiy bond

Té bood whall take sffect an « And shisll expire
‘ . IThis Suraty bend will epire threw yearz frem the
effostive date by its own operatian.|

Thin bond may be cancelled by the Surety giving written nobtice to the Principal and
¥ispouri Director of Ravenue, otating the date of cancellation, which skhall nst ba
laes than 10 days after recelpt of 2aid nctlce by Lhe Director of Revenue: bowever,
the gurety shall revain llable for any and all acts of the Priscipal covared by this
bond up Lo the date of cancellatian,

To cancel this beod BOTH of cthe followling must ofcur; haowaver, the surety shall
L

. The morar vehicle muat no langer be registerad in Missouri; and
4. Thae currently valid covtificato of title is surrandersad to the

Departnent of Revenuc.

Dated this day of .

WITNRSS 10 PRINCIPAL'S SIGNATURE

Elgnature Signature of Dezaler (Frincipael)

WITHESS TO SURETY'S SIGRATURE

Eignature Signature of Bondsman |(Surety)
|5eal)
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EXHIBIT B

Marine Makes

MAKE CODE MAKE CODE MAKE CODE

4WINNS AWINN IMP IMP SEA STAR SEAST
AFC AFC K CRAFT KCRAF SEARS SEARS
ALOHA ALOHA KEN CRAFT KENCR SIGNA SIGNA
ALUMCRAFT ALUMA KING FISH KINGF SKEETER SKEET
ARISTOCRAT ARIST LANDAU LANDA SKI NOUTIQUE SKINO
ARK RAMBLER ARKRA LARSON LARSO SPEEDLIN SPEED
ARK TRAVELER ARKTR LONE STAR LONES SPORTCRAFT SPORT
BANSHEE BANSH LOWELINE LOWEL ST MARQUES STMAR
BARETTA BARET LSM LSM STAR CRAFT STARC
BARR BARR LUND LUND STEURY STEUR
BASS TRACKER | BASST MARK MARK SUCCESS SUCCE
BAYLINER BAYLI MARK TWAIN MARKT SUNBIRD SUNBI
BEE CRAFT BEECR MASTER C MASTER SUN DOLPHIN SUNDO
BES BES MAY YACHT MAYYA SUNFISH SUNFI
BIG JON BIGJO MFG MFG SUN TRACKER SUNTR
BLU STAR BLUST MONARK MONAR TBIRD TBIRD
BURNSCRAFT BURNS NATIONAL NATIO TAHITI TAHIT
CHARGER CHARG NEW WAVE NEWWA TERRY TERRY
CHRIS CRAFT CHRIS NEWMAN NEWMA TEXAS TEXAS
CHRYSLER CHRYS OSAGIN OSAGI THUNDERCRAFT THUND
CLASSIC CLASS P14 P14 TOM SAWYER TOMSA
COBALT COBAL PLAYBOUY PLAYB TRISONIC TRISO
COM-PAC COMPA PLAZA PLAZA TRI-HULL TRIHU
DEHI DEHI POLAR CRAFT POLAR TRI-TOOM TRITO
DINGHY DINGH PORT STAR PORTS VIKING VIKIN
DISCOVERY DISCO PRO ANGLER PROAN VIO HOLDA VIOHO
DOW DOW PROCRAFT PROCR VIP VIP
DRAKE DRAKE QUACHITA QUACH WARDS WARDS
DURACRAFT DURAC RANGER RANGE WEERE WEERE
EBKO EBKO RED FISH REDFI WOLVERTINE WOLVE
ELDO CRAFT ELDO REINELL REINE Z BOAT ZBOAT
ELGIN ELGIN RICHLINE RICHL

ELITE ELITE SEA ARROW SEAAR

FISCHER FISCH SEA EAGLE SEAEA

FLOTE BOAT FLOTE SEA HAWK SEAHA

GEN-MARI GENMA SEA KING SEAKI

GLASTRON GLAST SEA NYMPH SEANY

GRUMMAN GRUMM SEA RAY SEARA

HYDROSTAR HYDRO SEA SPRITE SEASP
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EXHIBIT C

Color/Material/Engine Drive
Type/Propulsion/Vessel

COLOR CODE | TYPE OF MATERIAL CODE |

BEIGE BGE ALUMINUM ALUM
BLACK BLK CONCRETE CONCR
BLUE BLU FIBERGLASS FGLAS
BROWN BRO HYPAL HYPAL
BRONZE BRZ KEVLA - type of fiberglass KEVLA
CHROME COM OTHER OTHER
CREAM (IVORY) CRM PLASTIC PLAS
DARK BLUE DBL RUBBER/VINYL/CANVAS RUBBR
DARK GREEN DGR STEEL STEEL
GOLD GLD WOOD WOOD
GREEN GRN

LAVENDER LAV INBOARD INB
LIGHT BLUE LBL OUTBOARD ouT
LIGHT GREEN LGR POD DRIVE POD
MAROON MAR STERNDRIVE STE
ORANGE ORG OTHER OTH
PURPLE PLE

RED RED AIR THRUST AIR
SILVER SIL MANUAL MAN
TAN TAN OTHER OTH
TURQUOISE TRQ PROPELLER PRO
WHITE WHI SAIL SAIL
YELLOW YEL WATER JET WAT

TYPE OF VESSEL / CODE

AIRBOAT AIR INFLATABLE BOAT RAF
AMPHIBIOUS AMP JET SKI JET
AUXILIARY SAIL AUX OFFICIAL OFF
BARGE BAR OPEN MOTORBOAT OPE
BASS BOAT BAS OTHER OTH
CABIN MOTORBOAT CAB PADDLECRAFT PAD
CANOE CAN PERSONAL WATERCRAFT PER
COMMERCIAL COM PONTOON PON
CRUISER CRU ROWBOAT ROW
DAY CRUISER DAY RUNABOUT RUN
DECK BOAT DEC SAIL ONLY SAL
DRAG OR PERFORMANCE BOAT | DRG SUBMARINE SUB
HOUSEBOAT HSE SURF JET SUR
HOVERCRAFT HOV UTILITY UTL
HYDROFOIL HYD WET BIKE WET
HYDROPLANE HRO YACHT YAT
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