Transient Employer: Missouri <u>Statute 285.230</u>, <u>RSMo</u>, a transient employer must file a bond with the Department unless they meet all the exemption criteria listed in 285.230(2). The amount of bond shall not be less than the average estimated quarterly withholding and unemployment tax liabilities of the employer and in no case less than \$5,000 nor more than \$25,000.

- \*\*\* Important: If you are a transient employer and fail to file a bond, you are in violation of Missouri law. You may be guilty of a misdeameanor and penalized up to \$5,000 and will not be able to perform work in Missouri.
- \*\*\* Sales & Use Tax bonds are only required if requested by The Department of Revenue.

## Cash Bond (Form 332)

- 1. Fully complete the cash bond form. Owners name must include owner, all partners, corporation, or LLC name.
- 2. Sign the cash bond form.
- 3. Forward a cashier's check, money order, or certified check with the cash bond form. Cash, personal, or company checks are not acceptable.

## Surety Bond (Form 331)

- 1. Owners name must include owner, all partners, corporation, or LLC name.
- 2. A surety bond must be issued by an insurance company licensed for bonding with the Department of Insurance, State of Missouri.
- 3. It must be on the form provided by the Department.
- 4. The form must bear the effective date.
- 5. It must be signed by an authorized representative of the surety company and the owner, partner, officer, or member.
- 6. The Surety Bond must be accompanied by a valid Power of Attorney letter, issued by the surety company, authorizing the surety official to sign the Surety Bond.
- 7. It must be the original bond. A copy is not acceptable.

## Irrevocable Letter of Credit (Form 2879)

- 1. Owners name must include owner, all partners, corporation, or LLC name.
- 2. The letter of credit must be issued by a financial banking institution located in the United States.
- 3. It must be on the form provided by the Department.
- 4. It must be the original letter of credit. A copy is not acceptable.
- 5. It must state the owner's name.
- 6. It must state the date of issuance.
- 7. It must be signed by a bank official and notarized.
- 8. It must be accompanied by an "Authorization for Release of Confidential Information" form which must be signed by the owner, partner, officer, or member and notarized.

## Certificate of Deposit (Form 4172)

- 1. The Certificate of Deposit must be issued by a state or federally chartered financial institution.
- 2. The Certificate of Deposit must be issued in the name of the Missouri Department of Revenue and the owner, all partners, corporation name or limited liability company name.
- 3. It must be issued for not less than 24 months.
- 4. It must be accompanied by the "Assignment of Certificate of Deposit" form provided by the Department which must be completed by the financial institution.
- 5. The Certificate of Deposit must be endorsed or accompanied by a signed withdrawal slip.
- 6. The actual Certificate of Deposit, Assignment of Certificate of Deposit, and a copy of the signature card must be forwarded with the registration application.

Form 2643 (Revised 08-2021)

