Mechanic Lien

The Motor Vehicle Bureau is pleased to provide you with information
on how to apply for a mechanic lien title in state of Missouri for a
motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle (ATV), manufactured home,
boat, vessel, or outboard motor (unit).

To apply for a Missouri mechanic lien title:

The applicant of a mechanic lien title (holder of the unit) must be
a business or mechanic located in Missouri (must have a valid
Missouri address).
The applicant must have a written work order for labor, services,
skill, materials, towing and/or storage costs signed by the owner,
an authorized agent of the owner, or a law enforcement officer.
The owner has failed to pay the total balance due for service,
repair work, materials, towing and/or storage fees completed by
the applicant.
The unit has been unclaimed (not picked-up) for 45 days or more
following completion of the service, repair work, towing and/or
storage.
The applicant has provided all owners and lienholders with a 30-
day written notice by certified mail of the debt and of their intent
to file for a mechanic lien title unless the owner or lienholder
within 30 days makes satisfactory arrangements with the holder
of the unit.
o Application for a mechanic lien title cannot be made until 30
days after notification has been mailed to all owners and
lienholders.

Application for mechanic lien title and payment must be submitted

Motor Vehicle Bureau
PO Box 100
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:
[] An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) for a

motor vehicle, trailer, ATV, or manufactured home completed in

full.

e For type of title, mark “mechanic lien”.

¢ Indicate the holder’'s name and address.

e Indicate the year, make, and identification number of the unit.

e For a motor vehicle in which the year of manufacture is 10
years or less, the holder must physically witness the motor
vehicle odometer reading on the unit and record the reading
on the title application. If the true mileage is unknown, the
holder must submit a statement containing all known facts
regarding the true mileage.

e Signature and date.

An Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or Outboard Motor Title
and Registration (Form 93) for a boat, vessel, or outboard motor
completed in full.

e For type of title, mark “mechanic lien”.

Indicate the holder’'s name and address.

Indicate the year, make, and identification number of the unit.
Signature and date.


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/93.pdf
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[l A notarized Affidavit for Mechanic Lien Title (Form 1062)

completed in full. The affidavit certifies the following:

e The actual value of all labor, services, skills, materials, towing
and/or storage costs accumulated to the date of application
for mechanic lien title.

e The owner has defaulted on payment for labor, services, skills,
materials, towing and/or storage and that payment is 45 days
or more past due.

e The owner or lienholder has failed to make satisfactory
arrangements within 30 days since the 30-day notice of the
debt and of the intent of the holder to file for a mechanic lien
title.

e The holder has continued storing the unit 30 days since
notification of the debt and of the intent of the holder to file
for a mechanic lien title.

A statement indicating the outstanding balance due at the time
application for mechanic lien is submitted.

The original or copy of the work order or storage agreement
signed by the owner, an authorized agent of the owner, or a law
enforcement officer.

e The work order must have a description of the unit (year,
make, and identification number), the business name, work
completed, charges for services, labor, materials, towing
and/or storage costs (if any), and signature of one of the
above listed.

e A storage agreement must include the business name, date of
agreement, and signature of the unit owner.

]

]

]

IMPORTANT

A copy of the 30-day notice sent via certified mail to each owner
and lienholder (sent after the 45-day default period).

A copy of the signed certified mail notification (green card)
indicating the notification(s) was delivered, returned to sender, or
refused, or the postal receipt along with a printout from the
United States Postal Service track and confirm website
(www.usps.com) for each owner and lienholder 30-day notice
sent.

Payment of $10 title application fee, plus $6 processing fee.

e Acceptable payment types submitted by mail include:
Personal Checks, Cashier’s Checks, and Money Orders (do not
send cash).

e Personal checks must be made payable to the Missouri
Department of Revenue and preprinted with the check writer’s
name, address, bank code, account number, and include the
driver license or non-driver license number, date of birth, and
daytime phone number.

e The Missouri Department of Revenue may electronically
resubmit checks returned for insufficient or uncollected funds.

INFORMATION REGARDING OWNER(S) AND

LIENHOLDER(S) 30-DAY NOTICE

To ensure the holder sends the 30-day notice to all owners and
lienholders on file with the Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle
Bureau, the holder should request the names and addresses of all
owner(s) and lienholder(s) (title history) of the unit from the Motor
Vehicle Bureau.


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/1062.pdf
http://www.usps.com/
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To submit a request for owner and lienholder information:

[[] Complete and submit A Request for Motor Vehicle/Driver License
Personal Information (Form 5091).

[ ] For accepted applications (Form 5091):
e A processing fee of $2.82 is charged per record.
e A convenience fee is charged for credit/debit card payments.
e Submit the completed application (Form 5091) and payment:
In person to:
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street
Harry S Truman Building, Room 370
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105

By mail to:
Motor Vehicle Bureau
PO Box 2048
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2048

SELLING A UNIT WITH A MECHANIC LIEN TITLE

Upon receipt of the application for mechanic lien title, required

documents, and payment of fees, the Motor Vehicle Bureau will issue

a “Lien Title”. (Please Note: registration cannot be issued to a unit

currently titled with a “Lien Title”.) After the title issues, the new

owner (holder) shall within 10 days begin proceedings to sell the unit

(430.082, RSMo.). Prior to selling the unit with a mechanic lien title,

the new owner (holder) must:

¢ Run an advertisement in at least two publications of a
local/general circulation newspaper for no less than 20 days prior
to the date of sale; or

e Post five handbills (if no local/general circulation newspaper
exists in that county) in different places within the township, one
of which must be posted where the unit was received and is to be
sold.

The advertisement/handbills must read as follows:
NOTICE

Notice is hereby given that on (insert date) a sale will be held at
(insert place) to sell the following articles to enforce a lien existing
under the laws of the State of Missouri against such articles for
labor, services, skill, or material expended upon such articles at
the request of the following designated persons, unless such
articles are redeemed prior to the date of said sale:

Description of Article:

Name of Owner:

Amount of Lien:

Name of Lienholder:



http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5091.pdf
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STOPPING AN APPLICATION FOR MECHANIC LIEN TITLE

During the 30-day notice period, the titled owner or lienholder may

stop the application for mechanic lien title by notifying the

Department in writing to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, Attention:

Mechanic Lien, PO Box 2076, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105 or by fax

to (573) 751-5209, Attention: Mechanic Lien. The written statement

must contain:

e The year, make and identification number of the unit;

e Business/mechanic’s name (holder’s business name as listed on
the work order); and

e A statement requesting to stop the issuance of the mechanic lien
title.

A mechanic lien title will not be issued if a stop letter is received from
the owner, or a hearing on the matter is requested, or the applicant
(holder) requests their application for mechanic lien title be
withdrawn/cancelled.

If you require additional information or assistance, please contact the
Motor Vehicle bureau at Post Office Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri
65105-0100 or by telephone at (573) 526-3669 between the hours of
7:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.



