Obtaining a Duplicate Title

The Motor Vehicle Bureau is pleased to provide you with
information regarding the documents and fees necessary to apply
for a duplicate Missouri title. You may submit your application
and applicable fees in person, at any Missouri license office, or by
mail to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau

PO Box 100

Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS:
1. A completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form
108) including the following information:
e A Missouri address must be indicated in the “OWNER”
section of the application;
e Mark the box labeled "DUPLICATE" at the top of the form;
e Inthe section labeled “NOTARY - DUPLICATE TITLE ONLY”
near the bottom of the form, mark the applicable box to
indicate the reason you are requesting the duplicate title;

e A notary public must witness your signature on the form
and complete the notarization in the section labeled
"NOTARY - DUPLICATE TITLE ONLY™".

e If you are applying for a duplicate title because your
original title was mutilated, you must submit the mutilated
title with your application;

e If the title is to be mailed to an address other than that
indicated in the “OWNER” section of the form, and no lien

(loan) is indicated, mark the "MAIL TO LIENHOLDER" box
and provide that address in the space provided. A title may
be mailed to an address other than that indicated in the
owner's portion of the application if there is only one lien
(loan) indicated.

2. To request the removal of an existing lien at the time of
application for duplicate title, a completed (by the lienholder)
and notarized Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to
Add/Remove Name from Title (Form 4809) must be submitted.

3. The duplicate title fee of $8.50, plus a $6 processing fee.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

A Missouri duplicate title can only be issued in the name of the last
Missouri-titled owner(s). If the current owner of the vehicle is not
the last titled owner(s) of record, the current owner must contact
the last titled owner(s) and request that they obtain a duplicate
title in their name(s). After the duplicate title is issued, the titled
owner(s) should assign the duplicate title to the current owner,
who in turn may apply for an original title in their name.

If the seller is unable or unwilling to provide the purchaser with the
properly assigned title for the unit(s) in question, the purchaser
may wish to seek the advice of a legal professional or request
information from the county court clerk on how to obtain
ownership with a court order. If the purchaser obtains such a court
order, they may make application for title.


https://dor.mo.gov/offloc/
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4809.pdf
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4809.pdf
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The proceeding instructions are subject to changes in statute
by the General Assembly, and to changes in interpretation by
courts or administrative agencies. For this reason, any
individuals who may be relying upon these instructions should
review them on a regular basis.

If you require additional information or assistance, please contact
the Motor Vehicle Bureau at PO Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri
65105-0100 or by telephone at (573) 526-3669 between the hours
of 7:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.



