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The following legislative changes affect the Missouri Department of Revenue’s motor vehicle and driver licensing 
processes and are effective August 28, 2020, with one exception noted below.  
 
 
 
Titling of Unclaimed Property (HB 1963)  
 

This provision allows for salvage pools and used 
motor vehicle dealers to apply for a salvage title or 
junking certificate when a vehicle is left unclaimed 
on their property for more than 45 days when an 
insurer does not purchase the vehicle through the 
claims adjustment process. Notification must be 
made to the last known owner or lienholder of 
record 45 days prior to applying for title.   

 
This provision also allows an insurer to apply for 
and obtain a title on a vessel or watercraft when a 
title is not available during the claims adjustment 
process. 
 
Weight Restriction Removal for Association of 
Missouri Electric Coop Specialty License Plates  
(HB 1963) 
 

This provision allows vehicles in the Missouri 
Electric Cooperative fleet that are registered over 
24,000 pounds to obtain a Missouri Electric 
Cooperative specialty license plate for these 
vehicles that normally would not qualify. Currently, 
motor vehicles registered at 24,000 pounds or 
above do not qualify for personalized or specialty 
license plates. 
 
Transfer of Motor Vehicle Titles by Dealers 
Licensed in Missouri (HB 1963) 
 

This provision allows motor vehicle dealers 
licensed in Missouri to sell vehicles in situations 
when they do not have possession of the physical 
title yet, so long as such title is provided within 30 
days after delivery of the vehicle. Purchasers will 
have 30 days from the date the title is transferred 
to obtain title in their name and pay necessary tax. 
 
To accommodate purchasers who purchase a 
vehicle from a Missouri dealer without a title in 
hand, a 60-day temporary tag may be issued to 
the purchaser. Currently, temporary tags only last  
30 days from the purchase date, unless Section 
301.213, RSMo, applies. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Registered Fleet Owners License Plate Fee Pro 
rata (HB 1963) 
 

This provision allows registered fleet owner 
applicants to pay license plate registration fees 
that are prorated by month. Currently, registered 
fleet owners must pay full registration fees, 
regardless of the month in which application for 
fleet registration is made.   
 
Lease Rental Company Bond Removal 
(HB 1963) 
 

This provision removes the requirement that a 
lease rental company, other than lease rental 
companies that apply to be registered fleet 
owners, obtain a surety bond in the amount of 
$100,000 in order to be licensed with the 
Department of Revenue. This reverses the changes 
made in the previous legislative session that 
affected smaller lease rental companies who are 
currently required to provide a $100,000 surety 
bond in order to be licensed with the Department 
of Revenue. 
 
ATV/UTV Definition Change (HB 1963) 
 

This provision revises the definition increasing the 
maximum width of all-terrain vehicles for off-
highway use and increases the maximum width 
and weight of recreational off-highway vehicles. 

 
Medical Alert Notation on Driver Licenses 
(HB 1963) 
 

This provision authorizes Missouri citizens to add a 
medical alert designation on their driver license or 
nondriver license identification card that will alert 
law enforcement or first responders of their 
medical condition. 

 
NOTE: The implementation date for this 

provision is July 31, 2021. 
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Motor Vehicle Insurance Reporting (HB 1963) 
 

This provision requires all insurance companies with 
motor vehicle policies in Missouri to report a record 
of their insurance policies to the Department of 
Revenue at the duration set forth by the 
Department. This provision sets the framework for 
real-time motor vehicle insurance reporting, which 
will help the Department of Revenue and law 
enforcement identify uninsured motorists. The 
Department must first be able to update and 
integrate its motor vehicle and driver licensing 
systems. 
 
Disability Accommodations for CDL Applicants 
(HB 1963) 
 

This provision allows Missouri to waive the hearing test 
requirement and provide special accommodations to 
CDL applicants who have a disability, including 
applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing. If this 
change is ever found to be non-compliant with 
federal standards, it is null and void. 
 
REAL ID Changes (HB 1963) 
 

This provision allow for source documents to be 
retained in the same fashion as other documents 
and, with express consent of the applicant, allows 
the Department to retain source documents for a 
period greater than 10 years. Language requiring 
special limited access off-network storage of 
REAL ID source documents was removed. 
 
Remote Driver License Renewal (HB 1963) 
 

At this time, the Department is not pursuing this 
opportunity due to necessary system changes and 
funding limitations.  
 
Facial Recognition (HB 1963) 
 

At this time, the Department is not pursuing this 
opportunity.  
   
Specialty License Plates — BackStoppers 
(HB 1963) 
 

This provision authorizes the Department of 
Revenue to issue BackStoppers specialty license 
plates to applicants to use on any vehicle that is 
registered under 24,000 pounds with the 
presentation of an “emblem use authorization” 
form, which can be obtained by making a one-time 
$10 donation to the BackStoppers organization, or 
the contribution can be made directly with the 
Department of Revenue.   
 
 

Specialty License Plates — Central Honor Flight 
(HB 1963 & SB 656) 
 

This provision authorizes Missouri residents to 
apply for specialty Central Missouri Honor Flight 
license plates with the payment of a $25 “emblem 
use authorization” fee to Central Missouri Honor 
Flight. The emblem may be affixed on multi-year 
personalized license plates for any vehicle the 
person owns other than commercial vehicles 
weighing over 24,000 pounds.  
 
Specialty License Plates — Meritorious Service 
Medal (HB 1963 & SB 656) 
 

This provision authorizes the Department to issue 
specialty license plates bearing the words 
“Meritorious Service” in place of “Show-Me State” 
for individuals who have received the military 
service award known as the Meritorious Service 
Medal to use on any vehicle that is registered 
under 24,000 pounds. 
 
Purple Heart Specialty License Plate Fees 
(SB 656) 
 

This provisions adds language that no fee shall be 
charged by the Department of Revenue for the 
first set of license plates issued to an eligible 
person under this section. A second or subsequent 
set of plates issued to the eligible person under 
this section shall be subject to regular registration 
fees, including processing fees, but not to any fee 
in addition to regular registration fees. 

 
This provision also adds language that, in the 
event of the death of the qualified recipient, any 
registered co-owner of the motor vehicle shall be 
entitled to use and renew the license plates until 
he or she remarries, or if he or she does not 
remarry, for the remainder of his or her life. 

 
 


