Missouri Bicentennial License Plate Reissuance
The following information contains the most commonly asked questions and the corresponding responses, as they relate to the Missouri bicentennial license plate reissuance process.
What is reissuance?
Reissuance is the process of issuing Missouri registration holders brand new license plates.
What is a registration holder?
An individual or entity with license plates registered in their name.
How does reissuance tie in to Missouri’s bicentennial?
On August 10, 2021, Missouri will celebrate 200 years of statehood, or its bicentennial.
To commemorate this historic occasion, the Missouri Legislature passed a law in 2016 requiring the Department of Revenue to begin a reissuance of license plates with a new bicentennial design, no later than January 1, 2019. The new bicentennial design will replace the Missouri bluebird license plate introduced in 2008. Additionally, the materials used for license plates have an average lifespan of six years; after which, they can begin to deteriorate. As Missouri’s last reissuance was in 2008, many of the current bluebird license plates have been on the road for close to 10 years.
Will I be required to get a bicentennial license plate?
Yes, with a few exceptions.
Most Missouri registration holders will be required to purchase new bicentennial license plates when their license plate registration comes up for renewal. However, individuals with specialty license plates, as well as permanent or historic registrations will be exempt. Please note: specialty license plates are not the same as personalized license plates. To determine if your plate design will be affected, refer to this chart.
Why is there a reissuance fee and how much does it cost?
The reissuance fee covers the cost of the license plate materials and labor.
The reissuance fee will be assessed as follows:
(This plate does not have raised letter/numbers)
When did the Department of Revenue start issuing the new bicentennial license plate?
October 15, 2018.
Are my bluebird license plates still valid after October 15?
Yes! You are not required to renew your license plate registration early just to get the bicentennial design.
You will receive your new bicentennial license plate(s) at your next regularly scheduled registration renewal that falls on or after October 15, 2018. For example, if your registration is up for renewal in September 2018 and you choose a two-year registration, you will not receive your bicentennial license plate(s) until September 2020, which would be your next regularly scheduled registration renewal.
What happens if my license plate registration renewal is due in October 2018?
If you renewed your registration prior to October 15, 2018, you simply paid your registration fee and received your usual renewal stickers. If you renew your registration on or after October 15, 2018, you will be required to pay your registration fee and a reissuance fee (see Reissuance Fee Chart above), and you will receive your brand new bicentennial license plate(s).
What are the main differences I will see when I renew my license plate registration on or after October 15, 2018?
Generally, when you renew your registration, you pay a one- or two-year registration fee and receive renewal stickers that you put on your license plate(s). Beginning on October 15, 2018, in addition to paying your one- or two-year registration fee and receiving your renewal stickers, you will also be required to pay a reissuance fee (see Reissuance Fee Chart above), and you will receive your brand new license plate(s) commemorating Missouri’s bicentennial.
Will I get to keep my current license plate configuration (license plate number)?
All non-specialty and non-personalized license plate holders will receive a new configuration. Specialty license plate holders will not receive a new configuration. If you have a personalized license plate, you must confirm with the Department of Revenue that you want to keep your personalized configuration. A notification will be issued to personalized plate holders confirming they wish to retain their current plate configuration. See a sample letter here.
When should personalized plate holders expect to receive their notification?
The mailing schedule for notifications is based on plate expiration dates. View the mailing notification schedule here.
Missouri’s bicentennial is not until August 10, 2021, so why will the new license plate design start being issued in October 2018?
The Department must start issuing the new bicentennial design in October 2018 to ensure everyone will have received their new plate(s) by Missouri’s bicentennial in August 2021.
How long will the bicentennial license plate design be in use?
The bicentennial license plate design is expected to be in use for five to ten years.
Can I still renew my license plate registration online?
You can renew your license plate registration with the online system, if a Personal Identification Number (PIN) is recorded on your renewal notice. To renew your license plate registration online, visit plates.mo.gov. A new bicentennial plate and renewal stickers will be mailed to you.
What should I do to renew my license plate registration if I did not receive a renewal notice in the mail?
If you did not receive your registration renewal notice, you may renew at any Missouri license office or by mail.
Please click here for information about the documents and fees required to renew your registration. Note: Even if you do not receive a computer-generated renewal notice from the Motor Vehicle Bureau, you are still responsible for renewing your license plates before they expire. There is a $5 late penalty if you fail to renew on or before the last day of the expiration month.
I am moving to Missouri from another state. How will the bicentennial license plate reissuance affect me?
The only difference you will notice is that you will have received the bluebird license plate design if you complete your registration transaction before October 15, 2018, and the bicentennial design if you do so on or after October 15, 2018. Otherwise, the process for new registrations will not change.
What do I do with my old plates?
To prevent unlawful use of your unexpired plates, you may destroy and recycle them where you are, or you may return them to any Missouri license office to be destroyed and recycled.
If you wish to mail them to our central office to be destroyed and recycled, please use the following address:
Missouri Department of Revenue
ATTN: License Plate Surrender
301 West High Street - Rm. 370
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100
If you happen to receive a renewal notice for those plates, you may simply disregard the notice.
Unfortunately, Missouri statute does not authorize a refund of registration fees for unexpired plates.
Why was this plate design selected?
This design is representative of the entire state, not specific to a certain region.
The plate celebrates the bicentennial with red waves at the top of the plate and blue waves at the bottom of the plate to symbolize our Missouri flag and Missouri rivers, which figure prominently in the state’s historic role as a gateway for American exploration and transportation. The design also features Missouri’s state seal in the center of the plate, the years 1821 and 2021, and a star.
Additionally, the Missouri State Highway Patrol noted this new design offers the greatest readability of all plates tested for visibility during the day and nighttime hours.
Who decided on the new plate design?
The License Plate Design Advisory Committee was responsible for determining the new plate design.
The committee was made up of the director of the Department of Revenue or his or her designee, the superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, the correctional enterprises administrator, the director of the Department of Transportation, the executive director of the State Historical Society of Missouri, and the respective chairpersons of both the Senate and House of Representatives Transportation Committees. (301.125, RSMo)
Does the bicentennial plate conflict with the requirement to display Show-Me State as prescribed in Section 301.125, RSMo?
No. Section 301.125, RSMo prescribes that the plate be of a design and color scheme that commemorates the bicentennial of Missouri. In addition, it states that these plates shall be exempt from the requirements of subsection 1, of Section 301.130, RSMo.
Did the public have a say in the final design?
The State Historical Society of Missouri website was updated to allow Missourians to vote on potential license plate designs and provide feedback to the Advisory Committee. The voting poll was available from September – December 2016. Meetings were also held in Springfield, Lee's Summit, Town & Country and Poplar Bluff to obtain public input on the final design. The new plate design was selected on January 24, 2017.
If you have additional questions regarding the new bicentennial design license plate or the license plate renewal process, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.