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NOTE: The state motor vehicle laws described in this manual are not
reproduced in their entirety and the wording is not identical. Due to
possible federal and state law changes and Department of Revenue
(department) policy, the information in this manual may not always be
current. The department will make every effort to incorporate any changes
as soon as possible. Please visit our website for the most current version.

The Missouri Driver Guide is published by the Missouri Department of Revenue.

Carefully studying the Missouri Driver Guide will increase your driving
confidence and broaden your knowledge of Missouri traffic laws. The
more knowledge you have, the safer you are!

To test your knowledge of traffic laws, you will need to take a written test
of 25 multiple-choice questions. Studying this guide will prepare you for
that test. You must correctly answer 20 questions to pass the test. All of
the test questions come directly from information found in this guide. There
are no “trick” questions.

To test your ability to drive a vehicle, you must take a driving skills test.
Your examiner realizes a driving test will probably be an unusual experience
for you, and you might even become nervous or uneasy. If you do become
nervous or fearful, please remember your examiner has accompanied many
other people exactly like you, and the examiner rides with you only to make
sure you can control your vehicle and observe the rules of safety. Your
examiner will not try to trick you in any way. Remember that thousands of
people pass this test every year and become licensed drivers. If they can do
it, so can you! Just relax and do the best you can.

We would like to hear your comments and questions about the material
included in this manual:

Address: Driver License Bureau
P.O. Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200

Telephone: (573) 526-2407

Fax: (573) 522-8174
E-Mail: dlibmail@dor.mo.gov
Web Site: www.dor.mo.gov

The names and telephone numbers of other related agencies and offices
are located inside the back cover of this guide.

If you need a Missouri Commercial Driver License Manual or Motorcycle
Operator Manual, you may request one from the Missouri State Highway
Patrol, or any Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Contract Office (contract
office). The Missouri Commercial Driver License Manual and the
Motorcycle Operator Manual are also posted on our website:
www.dor.mo.gov.




CHAPTER 1 — THE MISSOURI DRIVER LICENSE

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public
roadways in Missouri is required to have a valid driver license. You may
obtain a Missouri driver license at any one of Missouri's 178 license offices.

You must have a Missouri driver license if:

* You live in Missouri, are 16 years of age or older, and plan to drive.

* You are a new resident of Missouri and want to drive, even if you have a
driver license from another state.

¢ You are an out-of-state commercial driver who has moved to Missouri
within the last 30 days. (Please refer to the Missouri Commercial Driver
License Manual.)

Certain persons are not required to obtain a Missouri driver license. You do

not need a Missouri driver license if:

* You are a member of the armed forces and you have a valid driver
license from your home state.

* You are a full-time student and you have a valid driver license from your
home state.

* You operate or temporarily operate/move any farm tractor or implement
on a highway for agri-related purposes.

You are required to carry your driver license or permit when you drive. If
any law enforcement officer asks to see your driver license or permit, you
must present it. It is against the law for you to allow anyone else to use
your license or permit.

TIP! Anyone obtaining a new license or permit is required to show verification
of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and Missouri
residential address. These requirements are explained in detail later in this
chapter.

TYPES OF PERMITS

If you are under 21 years of age, you will be issued a permit identifying you
as a minor.

Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15

This is the first step in Missouri’'s Graduated Driver License Program for
young drivers. Generally, this permit allows a young person to learn to drive
with the supervision of a licensed adult. See later in this chapter for detailed
information.

Motorcycle Instruction Permit — Eligible Age: 15 or 16

You may apply for a motorcycle instruction permit to learn to operate a
motorcycle or motortricycle. The age you are eligible to apply may be 15%
or 16 years, as described below.

» 15Y% years of age (15 years and 182 days)
The Motorcycle Instruction Permit will only be issued if you have
successfully completed an approved motorcycle rider training course.
You must pass the Class F and Class M written, vision, and road sign
7




tests. You must also have the written consent of your parent or legal
guardian. This permit allows daylight driving only, within a 50-mile radius
of home, a motorcycle of no larger than 250 cc, and no passengers.

* 16 years of age or older
If you are 16 years old or older you may apply for a motorcycle
instruction permit, but the motorcycle rider training course is not required.
If you do not have a valid driver license, you must take the Class F and
Class M written tests to receive a motorcycle instruction permit.

When you are ready, you may take the motorcycle driving test and pay the
appropriate fee to become motorcycle qualified.

For more information on Missouri’s laws on motorcycles, please obtain a
copy of the Motorcycle Operator Manual at the Missouri Highway Patrol
testing station or at one of our license offices.

TYPES OF LICENSES

If you are under 21 years of age, you will be issued a license identifying you
as a minor. When you reach age 21, you may apply and pay for another
driver license (without the minor indication) or wait until your under-21
license expires.

Intermediate License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 16

This is the second step in Missouri’'s Graduated Driver License program

for young drivers. Generally, this license allows a young person certain
restricted driving privileges. See later in this chapter for detailed information.

Full Driver License (Class F) — Eligible Age: 18

This is the basic driver license, also called an operator license. You must
have a Class F license to operate any motor vehicle (other than one requiring
you to have a Class A, B, C, or E license.) The Class F license does not
allow you to drive a motorcycle unless the license shows the Motorcycle (M)
endorsement. Endorsements will be discussed later in this chapter. You
must pass the Class F written, vision, road sign, and driving tests.

For-Hire License (Class E) — Eligible Age: 18

When you test for a Class E license, the written exam will include questions
based on the complete driver guide, but mainly Chapter 15 (Commercial
Driver Licenses). You must also pass the vision and road sign tests. If you
already have a Class F license, a driving test is not required. However, you
must still meet the “under 21 requirements” (see page 21) for a full license if
you apply for a Class E license at age 18. There are a number of reasons
you may wish to obtain a Class E license, such as:

« If you receive pay for driving a motor vehicle transporting 14 or fewer
passengers (such as a driver for a day care center).

« If you will transport property for pay or as part of your job (such as a
pizza or florist delivery driver).

 If you regularly operate a motor vehicle for your employment which
belongs to another person and is designed to carry freight and
merchandise. The vehicle must be 26,000 pounds or less gross
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and not required to be placarded for
hazardous materials.



Motorcycle License (Class M) — Eligible Age: 16

You must have a Class M license or permit (or a driver license with the M
endorsement) if you operate a motorcycle or motortricycle on public
roadways. You will need to pass the Class F and Class M written, vision,
road sign, and motorcycle skills tests. Graduated driver license requirements
will apply to Class M license applicants between the ages of 16 and 18.

See the Graduated Driver License requirements later in this chapter. A
driver operating a motorized bicycle is not required to obtain a motorcycle
endorsement, however he or she must hold, a valid operator’s (or higher
classification) license.

For more information about Missouri’'s motorcycle laws, please obtain a copy
of the Motorcycle Operator Manual at the Missouri Highway Patrol testing
station or at one of our license offices.

Commercial Driver License (Class A, B, or C)

You must have a commercial driver license based on the type of commercial
motor vehicle you drive. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a
CDL, and at least 21 years old to obtain a CDL with a Hazardous

Materials or School Bus endorsement. You must still meet the “under 21"
requirements if you apply for a CDL at age 18. Please refer to the Missouri
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Manual for detailed information about the
CDL program.

Nondriver License/ldentification Card (Class ND)

You may obtain a photo nondriver license for identification purposes. Your
nondriver license expires on your date of birth in the sixth year after you
apply. If you are age 70 or older, your nondriver license will never expire.

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A LICENSE OR PERMIT

Depending on your age, whether you are obtaining a new license or permit,
if you are renewing one, or if you have just moved to Missouri, the
requirements to obtain a license are slightly different.

» If you are a driver age 15 to 21, the Graduated Driver License (GDL)
program applies to you. Please see the GDL section in this chapter for
more information. You will need to show verification of name, date of
birth,place of birth, social security number, and Missouri residential
address (detailed in this chapter) to qualify.

If you are a Missouri driver renewing a license, you may be required

to provide verification of name, date of birth, place of birth, and social
security number. A document verifying your Missouri residential address
will be required each time you apply to renew a driver license, nondriver
license, or instruction permit. You must also present your previous license
which will be invalidated and returned to you for proof of identity and take
the vision and road sign tests.

If you are obtaining a new Missouri license, you must show verification

of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number and Missouri
residential address . You will be required to take the four-part driver
examination. The four-part exam consists of a written test, vision test, road
sign test, and a driving skills test. (See Chapter 2 for more information.)

If you are new to Missouri and are transferring your out-of-state driver
license, you will need to present verification of name, date of birth, place
of birth, social security number, Missouri residential address, and mailing
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address, if different than residential address. You will also surrender the
license from your previous state of residence, and take the vision and
road sign tests.

* You must take the four-part driver examination (detailed in Chapter 2) if
any of the following apply to you:

* You are applying for a new Missouri driver license.

« Your Missouri driver license has been expired for more than 6 months
(184 days).

 Your out-of-state license has been expired for more than 184 days.

* Your license was revoked because you have too many points (see
Chapter 11) on your driving record or because of an Administrative
Alcohol action (see Chapter 10).

« The Director of Revenue asks you to take the exam, even if you have
a current driver license.

Required Documents

When you obtain or renew any license, permit, or nondriver license, you
will be required to present verification of name, date of birth, place of birth,
social security number, Missouri residential address, and mailing address,
if different than residential address. If renewing, you will also be required
to present and surrender your current license, permit, or nondriver license.
Details of these requirements are listed below. For more information, visit
www.dor.mo.gov.

» Name, Date of Birth, Place of Birth: A U.S. citizen may show a U.S.
Birth Certificate (certified with an embossed, stamped or raised seal
and issued by a vital records agency. Hospital birth certificates and
birth registration cards are not acceptable.), a U.S. passport (non-CDL
valid or expired) or (CDL valid only), a U.S. Certificate of Citizenship,
Certificate of Naturalization, or a Certificate of Birth Abroad. A
“copy” of a U.S. Birth Certificate (issued by a vital records agency)
accompanied by a U.S. Military Identification Card or Discharge
Papers. Non-U.S. citizens must present the appropriate immigration
documents indicating the applicant’s status. Examine the full list of
acceptable required documents at www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/drivers/
idrequirements.pdf.

Age 65 and Older Exemption — If you are renewing a non-commercial

permit/driver license or nondriver license and are age 65 or older you

are exempt from presenting documents for place of birth.

» Missouri Residential Address: You have a variety of options to
prove your current address. Examples include a recent utility bill
(including phone, electric, gas, water, sewer, and cable), property tax
receipt, voter ID card, or any official letter issued within the last 30
days by another state or local governmental agency on its letterhead.
A Missouri residential address will be required each time you apply
to renew a driver license, nondriver license, or instruction permit.
Note: A Post Office Box is not acceptable as a residential address.
You need to show proof of residential address and alternate mailing
address (if applicable.) Current addresses are important! Your
license will be mailed to the address provided.
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If you are under the age of 21 and cannot provide verification of a
Missouri residential address, a parent or legal guardian may provide
such a document on your behalf.

» Resident address is the location at which a person has been
physically present, and that the person regards as home. A residential
address is a person’s true, fixed, principal, and permanent home, to
which a person intends to return and remain, even though currently
residing elsewhere.

» Social Security Number

State law requires you to include your Social Security Number (SSN) on

your application to obtain a Missouri License or permit. The SSN may

be provided verbally or by presenting the Social Security Card. If the
number or name associated with the social security number cannot be
verified, the license office employee may ask to see the Social

Security Card or a statement from the Social Security Administration

as proof of the name and SSN in their records.

If you do not have a social security number:

* You must sign a notarized affidavit stating that you have not
been issued a social security number. At the time of application,
the affidavit will be provided by the license office.

* You must present a letter from the Social Security Administration
(SSA) regarding the status of your social security number.

NOTE: If you are a nonimmigrant foreign student, who is not
authorized to work in the United States, submission of a status
letter from the SSA is not required. (You or your dependents
immigration document MUST reflect an F or a J classification).

« License or permit applications without a social security number may be
reviewed by the central office for final approval prior to printing and
mailing.

* Name Changes

If the name on your required documents does not match your current

name, present one of the documents below showing your correct or

current name.

» Last Name Change - certified marriage certificate, certified divorce
decree, certified court order, certified adoption papers, or amended
birth certificate, U.S. passport, or social security card or medicare
card.

» First Name Change - court order or adoption papers

« Middle Name Change - court order.

TIP! Make sure you have all the necessary documents with you before you
go to your license office. It will save you time and the time of your fellow
customers!
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FEES FOR PERMITS
Fees for and duration of a permit are based on the applicant’s age at the
time of the transaction. Application test fees are not included.

NEW / RENEWAL PERMIT

MINIMUM
TYPE AGE COST VALID FOR...
Student Permit 15 $1.00 Length of Approved Course
Instruction Permit 15 $3.50 0-12 months

Motorcycle Permit | 15 1/2 or 16 | $6.25 or $3.50 0-6 months (182 days)

Commercial
Learner’'s 18 $7.50 0-6 months (180 days)
Permit

FEES FOR LICENSES
Fees and duration of license are based on the applicant’s age at the time of
the transaction. Application test fees are not included.

NEW / RENEWAL LICENSE

MINIMUM
TYPE AGE COST VALID FOR...
Intermediate License 16 $7.50 0-2 years
Full License $10.00 0-3 years*
(Class F) 18 or or
$20.00 0-6 years*
For-Hire License $17.50 0-3 years*
(Class E) 18 or or
$35.00 0-6 years*

Age 70 with school
bus endorsement

New: $7.50 0-1 year
Renewal: $2.50

Commercial $22.50 0-3 years*
Driver License 18 or or
(Class A, B, or C) $45.00 0-6 years*

Age 70 with school
bus endorsement

New: $10.00 0-1 year
Renewal: $2.50

Motorcycle $10.00 0-3 years*
Only License 16 or or
(Class M) $20.00 0-6 years
Nondriver License any age $11.00 0-6 years*
(ID card) or Non-Expiring

*Based on the applicant’s age or document verification status at the time of the transaction.
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RESTRICTIONS

If you have limited driving experience or a medical condition that impairs your
ability to drive safely, you may receive a restricted license permitting you to
drive only under specific conditions. If you have a restricted license, it will
have one or more of the restriction codes shown below. You may be required
to take a driving test in order to have a restriction removed from your license.
If you disobey the restriction(s), you can be charged with driving without a
license, and if convicted, points will be placed on your driving record. If you
receive too many points (see Chapter 11), your license may be suspended

or revoked.
RESTRICTION CODES

Corrective Lenses

Outside Rearview Mirror
Daylight Driving Only

Auto Trans/Power Steering

No Manual Transmission CMV
Restricted to 45 MPH

25 Mile Radius

Special Hand Devices
Intermediate License
Electrical Turn Signals

No Class A or B Passenger Vehicle
No Tractor-Trailer CMV

No Passengers In CMV Bus

More Than Five Restrictions
Special Seat Cushion

Right Outside Mirror

Uncoded Restriction*

Medical Variance

Farm Waiver

No Cargo in CMV Tank Vehicle

Left Outside Mirror
No Full Air Brake Equipped CMV

Intrastate Driving Only (CDL)
Non-airbrake CMV
No Class A Passenger Vehicle

ErACTIOTMMOUO®>
N<Xs<cH1m07TO0Z

*An uncoded restriction is any restriction not listed here. An uncoded
restriction will be listed as a “U” in the restriction area of the driver license
or permit and the description will display on the back of the document,
space permitting. Any law enforcement officer, judge, or physician can ask
the Department of Revenue to place restrictions on your license.

Medical Referral
There are two reasons you may need a physician’s statement when you
renew or apply for a license:

* You have had epileptic seizures, convulsions, or blackouts within the 6
months prior to your application for a license.

A driver examiner, license clerk, family member, law enforcement
officer, physician, physical therapist, occupational therapist, chiropractor,
registered nurse, psychologist, social worker, professional counselor,
optometrist, or emergency medical technician, believes you may have
some other medical condition that would make you an unsafe driver.
This person must complete the Driver Condition Report (Form 4319) and
submit it to the Department of Revenue.

ENDORSEMENTS

Endorsements are just the opposite of restrictions because they qualify you
to do things you couldn’t do without the endorsement, such as drive a school
bus or operate a motorcycle. The endorsements available for your non-
commercial (class F, E, or M) Missouri driver license are listed below.
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¢ School Bus (S) endorsement — A school bus endorsement is required for
anyone transporting students from school to home, home to school, and
to and from school-sponsored events. A school bus endorsement may be
issued to drivers age 21 or older who hold a Class E (For-Hire) license or a
commercial license with a Passenger (P) endorsement. A school bus
endorsement can be suspended for one year if a person fails to pass any
drug, alcohol, or chemical test administered in accordance with any federal
or state law, rule, or regulation regarding the operation of a school bus.

Missouri law has special operating regulations for school buses. If you
need more information on school buses, contact: Missouri Department

of Elementary and Secondary Education, Division of Administrative and
Financial Services — School Transportation, e-mail: webreply@dmpt.dese.
mo.gov; phone: (573) 751-0357; fax: (573) 526-6898.

Motorcycle (M) endorsement — A motorcycle endorsement on an
operator or higher class license is required if you operate a motorcycle or
motortricycle on public roadways. To add the motorcycle endorsement to
an existing license you will need to pass the motorcycle written test,
vision, road sign, and a skills test on a motorcycle or motortricycle. For
more information about Missouri’s motorcycle laws, please obtain a copy
of the Motorcycle Operator Manual at the Missouri Highway Patrol testing
station or at one of our license offices.

« Additional endorsements are available if you have a Commercial Driver
License or Commercial Learner's Permit. For more information, please
see the Commercial Driver License Manual, available from the Missouri
State Highway Patrol, license offices, or our web site at www.dor.mo.gov.

RENEWING A LICENSE OR PERMIT
Renewal Reminders
The department will mail you a reminder to renew before your license expires.
A renewal notice will not be mailed for a temporary instruction permit or
commercial learner’s permit. The reminder will be sent to the mailing address
on your driver record. When you move, you may update your address in one
of the following ways:
« Complete an address change at your local license office;
¢ On-line at www.dor.mo.gov;
e Send an e-mail to dlbmail@dor.mo.gov; or
* Send a written notice with your new address to the

Driver License Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200.

Your reminder will state the fee required to renew your license. You can
renew your license up to 6 months before it expires. Each time you renew,
you will be required to take the vision and road sign test.

It is your responsibility to renew your driver license, even if you do not
receive your reminder. Failure to renew promptly may cause you to have to
retake the written and driving tests. You can be ticketed for driving without
a valid license. Exception: If you will be leaving the state/country for an
extended time you may request an early renewal of your driver license at
your local license office.
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A driver license may be valid for up to 6 years. If you allow it to expire, you
must not drive. If you would like to continue driving uninterrupted, you must
renew your license before it expires. If you do not renew your license within 6
months (or 184 days) after its expiration date, you will have to take the written
and driving tests (see Chapter 2), in addition to the vision and road sign tests.

License offices are usually busiest at the end of each month. Since you
may renew your license up to 6 months (184 days) before it expires, you are
encouraged to select a time to avoid the longer lines. If the renewal dates
for your driver license and motor vehicle registration renewal are within 6
months, you may be able to complete both renewals at the same time and
save yourself a trip later to the license office.

Renewal by Mail for Active Duty Members of the Armed Forces
Missouri allows renewal by mail for members of the armed forces and their
dependents. Applicants should submit renewal form 4317 (available on-line
at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/index.php, or faxed upon request), along with
required documents and fees.

Missouri allows a renewal without re-examination for members of the armed
forces whose license has expired while out of state, for up to six months
from honorable discharge or within ninety days of reestablishing residency
in Missouri, whichever occurs first. The expired Missouri license and
discharge papers must be submitted at the time of application in addition to
other applicable renewal documents. The expired license is not valid for
driving. These provisions only waive re-examination and do not extend the
actual driving privileges beyond the expiration date.

Lost, Stolen, or Destroyed License

If your license expires or is lost or stolen while you are out of state, you
may request a Mail-In License Application by phone at (573) 751-4600 or
download the form (Form 4317) at our web site at www.dor.mo.gov.

If your license is lost, stolen, or destroyed, you must apply for a duplicate
license. If your current license expires within the next 6 months, you may
renew your license early rather than obtain a duplicate license. This saves
you time and money.

Renewing When Your License is Suspended or Revoked

If you held a non-commercial driver license, you may take the vision and
road sign tests and renew your license even while your driving privilege is
suspended. However, if your driving privilege has been revoked, you may
only renew your license during the revocation if it resulted from your refusal
to take a chemical test, from an “abuse and lose” court order, or a minor in
possession action.

You will not receive your license back until you have completed your
reinstatement requirements and your driving privilege has been reinstated.

OTHER INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR DRIVER LICENSE

e Organ, Eye and Tissue Donor Information
When you apply for a new, renewal, or duplicate instruction permit, driver
or nondriver license you will be asked two very important questions at the
time you make your application.
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1. “Do you consent to be listed in the Donor Registry System as an
organ, eye and tissue donor?”

If you say yes your name will automatically be added to the Missouri
Organ and Tissue Donor Registry managed by the Missouri Department
of Health and Senior Services or their agent. The registry is on a secure,
confidential database. Joining the registry means you have legally
documented your decision to save lives by becoming an organ and tissue
donor at the time of your death. No further consent is needed, which
relieves your family of making that decision on your behalf.

2. “Do you authorize an Organ Donor symbol to be placed on your license
or permit?”
If you said yes to be listed in the Donor Registry system you will also be
asked if you would like an optional indicator placed on your document. If
you say “yes” to add the organ donor symbol, a red heart with a green
banner will appear on the front of your instruction permit, driver, or
nondriver license. There is no fee to place the symbol on your instruction
permit, driver or nondriver license, or place your name in the registry. You
may obtain more information regarding the donor registry or register your
decision and enroll on-line at www.missouriorgandonor.com.

« The back of your license also includes areas for you to write your blood
type and allergic reactions to medicines. If you are in a crash, this
information could help medical personnel save your life.

¢ Blind Awareness Fund
State law requires the clerk to ask you if you would like to donate $1 to
the blind awareness fund when you apply for a license, permit, or
non-driver license.

» “J88” Notation for Deaf or Hard of Hearing Applicants
When you apply for or renew your driver license, nondriver license, or
instruction permit, you may ask that a “J88” notation be placed on your
driver license, nondriver license, or instruction permit. In the event of an
emergency, this notation will allow law enforcement or emergency and
medical personnel to readily determine if you are deaf or hard of hearing.
This will assist in ensuring effective communications with someone who is
injured and nonresponsive. In order to obtain the “J88” notation, you must
request the notation when applying for a license or instruction permit.
You must have one of the following documents if you wish to have the
“J88" notation placed on your license or permit:
« A medical statement from a licensed medical professional, which
verifies your level of hearing loss.
« A certified affidavit — The affidavit form (Form 4942) can be obtained
from any license office.
» A statement from an approved or authorized agency listed below,
which verifies your level of hearing loss.

Agencies or programs authorized to provide documentation that a license
or instruction permit applicant is deaf or hearing impaired shall include but
not be limited to the following:
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* The Missouri Commission for the Deaf

« Social Security Administration

< A vocational rehabilitation program

« A federal, state, or county department of health
« An Independent Living Center

The Director of Revenue shall have authorization to review and determine
acceptability of any documentation from an agency or program not listed.

Boater Safety Indicator @

If you are a resident of Missouri who has complied with the provisions of
section 306.127, RSMo and possess a current Boating Safety Education
Card issued by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, you may request to
obtain a boater identification indicator on your driver license or nondriver
license. The Missouri State Highway Patrol will accept the indicator on
a valid driver license or nondriver license in lieu of carrying the separate
Boating Safety Education Card. You must request the new indicator
and present your valid Boating Safety Education Card at the time of
application for a new, renewal or duplicate transaction. There will be

an additional cost of $1.00 added to standard processing fees when

the boater identification indicator is initially added to a driver license or
nondriver license document.

Permanent Disability Indicator (!').

If you are a resident of Missouri who is permanently disabled you may request
to have a permanent disability indicator placed on the back of your driver
license or nondriver license at the time of application for a new, renewal or
duplicate transaction. To be eligible for the indicator you must submit a Form
5294 Physicians Statement - Permanent Disability Indicator completed and
signed by your physician, physical therapist, occupational therapist licensed
under Chapter 334, RSMo, or other authorized healthcare practitioner. There
will be no additional cost to add the indicator. The standard new, renewal, or
duplicate transaction and processing fees will apply. You are not required by
law to obtain a permanent disability indicator on your driver license or non-
driver license. The indicator is not determination of eligibility or public benefits.

Veteran Designation 4
If you are a veteran of the Unlted States Armed Forces you may opt to have a
“VETERAN" designation placed on the back of your driver or nondriver license
at the time of application for a new, renewal or duplicate transaction. To be
eligible for the designation, you must submit a United States Department of
Defense discharge document, otherwise known as a DD214 that indicates a
discharge status of “honorable”, “general”, “under honorable conditions” or
“general under honorable conditions”. There will be no additional cost to add
the indicator. The standard new, renewal or duplicate transaction and
processing fees will apply. You are not required by law to obtain the veteran
designation.

Driver’'s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA)

The Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act requires all states to close the
personal information contained on all motor vehicle, driver and nondriver
license records, unless otherwise directed by state law. Under Missouri law,
a person or entity may access the personal information if exempt under
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the DPPA (and have submitted Form 4678 — Request for Security Access
Code) or have obtained express consent from the record holder (Form 4681
- Request from Record Holder).

Voter Registration

When you apply for or renew your driver license, nondriver license, or
instruction permit, the clerk will ask you if you are registered to vote at your
current address. If your voter registration address has changed or if you
have changed your name since your prior voter registration application

(as shown on voter registration card) you may elect to submit a voter
registration card to update the required information by responding “Yes”

to register to vote at the time of license application. The registration card
will be generated for your signature and submitted to the local election
authority.

Selective Service Registration
Male applicants, age 18 to 26, may register with the Selective Service at the
time of their license or permit application.

SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF YOUR LICENSE

There are a number of reasons your license may be revoked or suspended
or denied. Your best bet is to be responsible and be a good driver. You can
lose your license for any of the following reasons:

¢ Parent or Guardian Request to Deny a Driver License — If you are
under the age 18, your parent or guardian may request that the Director
of Revenue deny you a license. If you already have a driver license,
the request (Form 4811) will cancel your license. When the department
receives the request, a denial will be placed on your driving record.
The denial expires when you turn 18 or when your parent or guardian
requests your driving status be cleared. Form 4811 may be found on the
department’s web site at www.dor.mo.gov or at any license office.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (see Chapter 10)
Refusing to let a police officer test you for alcohol or drugs
Leaving the scene of a traffic accident
Failing to file an accident report (see Chapter 13)
Giving false information when you apply for a license
Failing to settle a court judgment made against you for damages resulting
from a motor vehicle accident
Failing to keep insurance (financial responsibility) (see Chapter 13)
Changing the information on your license or using someone else’s license
when you attempt to buy alcohol
Failing to appear for an exam when requested by the Driver License Bureau
« Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony or causing the death of
someone in a motor vehicle crash
Having too many points on your driving record (see Chapter 11)
Letting someone else use your driver license
Failing to appear in court or pay traffic tickets in Missouri or other states
Failing to pay child support
Failing to use an ignition interlock device when required
Stealing fuel from a gas station
Possessing any intoxicating liquor if you are a minor
Submitting false proof of insurance
Failing to yield the right-of-way and causing injury or death

18

.

3

.

.



THE GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE (GDL) LAW

Missouri’'s Graduated Driver License Law requires all first-time drivers to obtain an
instruction permit and complete a period of driving with a licensed driver, followed
by a period of restricted driving (intermediate license), before getting a full license.

Studies from across the country show that deaths and serious injuries from
traffic crashes involving young drivers decline by as much as 58 percent
after a Graduated Driver License Law is implemented. Consider the
instruction permit as step one, the intermediate license as step two, and the
full (Under 21) driver license as step three. The following are descriptions of
each step to help you understand the GDL program.

STEP ONE: Instruction Permit Eligible Age: 15 Cost: $3.50
Valid: 0-12 months, based on document verification status

To Obtain an Instruction Permit:
« Pass the vision, road sign, and written tests.
« A parent, stepparent, legal guardian, or certified trainer (with a federal
residential job training program) must accompany you to the license
office to sign a permission statement.

Permit Notes:

« Under age 16, you may drive only when accompanied in the front seat
by a parent, stepparent, grandparent, legal guardian, qualified driving
instructor, or a person who is at least 25 years of age who has been
licensed for a minimum of 3 years and has received written permission
from the parent or legal guardian. If your parent, stepparent,
grandparent, or legal guardian is physically disabled, he or she may
designate up to two persons to accompany you in the vehicle to provide
behind-the-wheel instruction.

At age 16 or older, you may drive when accompanied in the front seat
by a person who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license.
Seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers.

Your test paper alone is not legal for driving. Be sure to carry your
permit with you.

You may renew your instruction permit as many times as needed
without taking additional written tests.

Free “PERMIT DRIVER” window signs are available at all license offices.

To Graduate to an Intermediate License:
You must have an instruction permit for a minimum of 6 months (182 days)
beginning the day after issuance.
* You must have received 40 hours of driving instruction with a parent,
stepparent, legal guardian, or certified trainer (with a federal residential
job training program). The required 40 hours must include at least 10
hours of nighttime driving.

STEP TWO: Intermediate License Eligible Age: 16 to 18  Cost: $7.50
Valid: 0-2 years, based on document verification status

To Obtain an Intermediate License:
¢ You must satisfy the requirements (listed in Step One) to graduate
from the instruction permit, and hold the instruction permit for at least
6 months (182 days) beginning the day after issuance. This includes
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having no alcohol-related convictions in the last 12 months and no
traffic convictions in the last 6 months.

» A parent, grandparent, stepparent, legal guardian, or certified trainer
(with a federal residential job training program) must accompany you
to the license office to verify you have received 40 hours of driving
instruction with your instruction permit.

« Pass the vision, road sign, and written tests if previous results are more
than one year old.

« Pass the driving test.

License Notes:

* Your test paper alone is not legal for driving. Be sure to carry your
intermediate license with you.

 Seat belts must be worn by the driver and all passengers.

» Passenger restrictions outlined below may not be applicable to an
intermediate license holder who is operating in agricultural work-related
activities.

Driving Restrictions:

« During the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with
more than one passenger who is under the age of 19 and who is not a
member of your immediate family*.

« After the first 6 months, you may not operate a motor vehicle with more
than three passengers who are under 19 years of age and who are not
members of your immediate family*.

* You may not drive alone between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. except to
and from a school activity, job, or an emergency, unless accompanied
by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.

* Immediate family shall include parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters,
stepbrothers, stepsisters, and adopted or foster children residing in the
driver's household. Parent shall include a foster parent, stepparent or
adoptive parent. Grandparent shall include a foster grandparent, step-
grandparent or adoptive grandparent.

To Graduate to a Full Under-21 Driver License:
— Your driving privilege cannot be suspended, revoked, or denied at the
time of application.
— You may not have any alcohol-related offenses or traffic convictions
within the last 12 months.

STEP THREE: Full Driver License (Under 21)
Eligible Age: 18  Cost: $10.00
Valid: 0-3 years, based on document verification status

To Obtain the Under-21 Full Driver License:

» You must satisfy the requirements for an intermediate license. This
includes having no alcohol-related convictions or traffic convictions in
the last 12 months.

» Have a valid intermediate license. Your driving privilege cannot be
suspended, revoked, or denied when you apply for a full driver license.

 Pass the vision and road sign recognition tests. (You are not required
to pass the written and driving tests if already completed.)
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If you are under 21 years of age, the Department of Revenue will issue you
a license identifying you as a minor. When you become 21 years old, you
may apply and pay for another driver license (without the minor indication)
or wait until your under-21 driver license expires.

You are encouraged to study this Driver Guide before you attempt the written
exam. Almost 50 percent of all test-takers fail the first time. You will have a
much better chance of passing your test if you take time to review this Guide.

A CHECKLIST FOR YOU |V/]

You must have the following documents with you when you apply for a Missouri
driver license, instruction permit, or nondriver license. Take all the documents with
you to a contract office when you apply for your license or permit.

NEW MISSOURI RESIDENT TRANSFERRING AN OUT-OF-STATE DRIVER
LICENSE (valid or expired no more than 184 days)

[J out-of-State driver license (valid or expired no more than 184 days)

[ verification of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security
number, and Missouri residential address*
NOTE: If you are upgrading your driver license, take the above documents
with you to a Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) examination location
when you take the written, vision, and road sign tests and/or driving test.

FIRST-TIME APPLICANT

[ verification of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security
number, and Missouri residential address*

[ briver Examination Record (DOR-100) indicating successful completion
of tests (not required for nondriver license)

RENEWAL LICENSE

O All drivers renewing will have to show verification of name, date of
birth, place of birth, social security number, and Missouri residential
address*

Exemption: If you are renewing a non-commercial permit/driver license
or nondriver license and are age 65 or older you are exempt from
presenting documents for place of birth.

*Please refer to the list of acceptable documents in this chapter.

Note: Additional documents and verification of SSN may be required
if the documentation submitted is questionable, or if the contract
office clerk or MSHP examiner has reason to question the validity or
authenticity of the documents, or needs further verification.
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CHAPTER 2 — THE DRIVER EXAM

THE DRIVER EXAMINATION

The driver examination consists of a four-part test:

« A written test on traffic laws and rules for safe driving
A vision test

A road sign test

A driving test (skills)

You should be prepared to take the driver exam if:

« You are applying for a new Missouri driver license.
Note: If you have a driver license from another state that is valid or has
been expired for less than 184 days, and you are applying for the same type
of license in Missouri, you only have to take the vision and road sign tests.

* Your Missouri driver license is expired for more than 6 months (184 days).

« The Director of Revenue asks you to take the exam, even if you have a
current driver license.

* Your license was revoked:

—because you have too many points on your driving record.
—because of an Administrative Alcohol action (see Chapter 10).

Where to Take the Exam

The Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) administers the driver examination.
To find the testing center nearest you, contact the MSHP or the Department
of Revenue. The phone numbers for the Department of Revenue and MSHP
are at the back of this guide. You can also find these locations on the MSHP
web site: www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov.

Verification of Your Name and Age

Before you can take the driver exam, you must prove your legal name and
age. This identification must also be shown to the Department of Revenue
when applying for a driver license or permit and any time you take the written
or driving tests. (Refer to Chapter 1 for a list of acceptable documents for
verification of name, date of birth, place of birth, social security number, and
Missouri residential address.)

Written Test

Driver License (Class F)

If you are applying for a Class F (operator) license, you must take a 25
guestion multiple-choice written test. The questions will be on the laws and
methods of driving covered in this Guide. The test is NOT an open book
test. You will not be tested on the information on commercial vehicles in
Chapter 15.

For-Hire License (Class E)

If you are applying for a Class E (for-hire) license, you must take a special
written test. The questions will be on the laws and methods of driving
covered in this Guide but will also include the information on commercial
vehicles found in Chapter 15. The test is NOT an open book test.

Vision Test

You must take an acuity vision test and a peripheral (side) vision test when
you apply for any new or renewal driver license or permit. The standard
minimum acuity is at least 20/40 with either or both eyes. If you wear glasses
or contact lenses, you may need them for the vision test. The standard
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minimum peripheral reading is at least 55 degrees in each eye or 85 degrees
in one eye. If you are unable to meet the vision standards as required, you
may be denied a license, or restrictions may be placed on your license.

If you fail the standard vision test, the examiner will give you a vision
exam form that your eye specialist or physician must fill out. If the
physician prescribes glasses or contact lenses to correct your vision, you
may have to wait for the glasses (or contact lenses) before the written and/
or driving tests may be given. If both your natural and corrected acuity
vision are worse than 20/160, or your peripheral combined is worse than 70
degrees, you cannot take the driving test and cannot have a driver license.

Road Sign Test
The road sign test will check your ability to recognize and understand traffic
signs.

Driving Test

After you pass the written, vision, and road sign tests, you may then take
the driving test. You will take the driving test with a driver license examiner
of the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

The examiner will check your vehicle for the required equipment. The
examiner will also check your vehicle for its safe operating condition. You
cannot take the test if the vehicle is not properly equipped, or the examiner
believes that giving the test will be dangerous.

You should take the test in a vehicle that is familiar to you. The vehicle
must have:

 Current license plate(s) and a valid inspection sticker.

 Seat belts in proper working order.

» Doors in proper working order for the driver and examiner.

* A clean, safe seat for the examiner.

» Two sets of brakes (parking and a foot brake) in good working order.
* A horn in good working order.

You will drive, and the examiner will sit beside you. No one else may ride
in the vehicle during the test. Avoid unnecessary conversation with the
examiner, and focus on your driving. Remember the examiner’s job is to
test, not to teach. You must obey all Missouri traffic laws at all times.

THE EXAMINER WILL ASK YOU TO FIND AND USE THE VEHICLE'S
CONTROLS, such as the accelerator, brakes, turn signals, windshield
wipers, etc. You will be tested for:

 Finding the control without searching.

« Using the control correctly.

THE EXAMINER WILL ASK YOU TO START DRIVING. You will be
tested for:

« Starting the vehicle.

* Releasing the parking brake.

» Looking to see if the way is clear.

» Giving the proper signal.

« Driving smoothly and at the correct speed.
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THE EXAMINER WILL TELL YOU WHERE TO DRIVE, TURN, STOP, ETC.

After the examiner tells you what to do, you will have enough time to look
for traffic and to drive as asked. You will be asked to do the following:

1. Start and stop the vehicle. You will be tested for:
« The smoothness and safety of your starts and stops.
« Your reaction time.
« Your control of the vehicle when stopping.

2. Park parallel to the curb, in a space 25 feet long and 7 feet wide.
You will be tested for:
« The position of your vehicle before backing.
* Whether or not you bump into the space markers.
» Moving into the space smoothly and at the right speed.
» Parking no more than 18" from the curb.
 Parking near the center of the space.
« Ability to park the vehicle within two minutes.
« Turning the wheels in the correct direction for parking.
« Checking traffic and signaling before you leave the parking space.

3. Backing. You will be tested for:
« Looking over your right shoulder to see through the rear glass.
* Whether your vehicle backs in a straight line or weaves.
« Staying in the proper lane of traffic.
« Backing at the right speed.

4. Make at least two right and two left turns. You will be tested for:
« Driving in the correct lane for turning.
 Giving the proper turn signal at the proper time.
e Turning into the proper lane.
* Making proper traffic checks.
e Turning at the right speed.
« Your control of the vehicle.

5. Park on a hill. You will be tested for:
« Your control of the vehicle.
« Parking no more than 18” from the curb.
 Leaving your vehicle in park or the correct gear.
 Turning the front wheels in the correct direction for parking.
« Setting the parking brake.
« Checking traffic and signaling.

6. Enter and leave intersections. You will be tested for:
< Understanding and obeying the traffic signs and lights.
* Your speed when approaching an intersection.
* Your awareness of the traffic around you.
« Driving in the correct lane.
« Yielding the right-of-way without blocking traffic.
« Making a full stop at the proper place at stop signs.

7. Understand and obey traffic signs and signals. You will be tested for:
« Noticing and obeying traffic signs and signals.
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THE EXAMINER WILL WATCH FOR YOUR USE OF GOOD DRIVING
RULES. You will be tested for:

» The distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you.

* Your speed while driving.

* Driving in the proper lane and obeying lane markings.

* Your awareness of the traffic around you.

* Yielding the right-of-way when necessary.

Your Grade

Throughout the driving test, the examiner will subtract points for any driving
errors you make. If you lose more than 30 points, you will fail the test. You
will also fail the test if you:

e Are in a crash with another vehicle and it is your fault

» Hit a pedestrian

« Drive so dangerously you might have caused a traffic crash

* Violate a traffic law

» Refuse to drive as the examiner asks

When you pass the driving skills test, you will be given a form with your test
results. Before you drive, you must apply and obtain a license at a license
office. The test result form itself is not valid for driving.

Failing the Driving Test
If you fail the driving test, the examiner will suggest that you practice before
retaking the test. You may take only one driving test per day.

If you fail the driving test three times, no further tests will be allowed
without written authorization from the Department of Revenue. The
driver examiner will give you a form that you must send to the department.
After you send the form to the department, you will receive a letter from the
department requiring additional behind-the-wheel driver training.

You must send proof of the additional driver training before you will be
allowed to take the driving test again.

Fraud

It is a crime to commit fraud. Anyone who makes a false unsworn statement
or affidavit or who commits or assists another person in committing fraud or
deception during any examination process for a Missouri license, permit, or
nondriver license, is guilty of fraud. Fraud is a Class “A” misdemeanor that
may result in the loss of your driving privilege for up to one year.

Some examples of fraud could include cheating, or using or attempting to
use any recording, photographic, or two-way communicating device during
any testing process.
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CHAPTER 3 — PAVEMENT MARKINGS, TRAFFIC
SIGNS, LIGHTS, AND SIGNALS

PAVEMENT MARKINGS ON THE ROAD

Lines and symbols on the roadway indicate a number of things to drivers:
where lanes are divided, where you may pass other vehicles, or change
lanes, which lanes to use for turns, where pedestrian walkways are located,
and where you must stop for signs and traffic signals.

MEANINGS OF PAVEMENT MARKINGS
LINES — BROKEN LINES may be crossed in a passing maneuver.

— SOLID LINES should not be crossed in a passing maneuver.

COLORS — YELLOW divides oncoming traffic.
— WHITE divides same-direction traffic.

DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC
If the line on the left of you is YELLOW, the traffic on the other side of the
line is moving in the OPPOSITE direction.

When the line on the left of you is WHITE, the traffic is moving in the SAME
direction. A solid white line marks the right edge of many roads.

The center marking for roads with four lanes consists of TWO SOLID
YELLOW LINES. The yellow lines tell you the traffic on the other side of
the lines is moving in the opposite direction. You should never cross the
two solid yellow lines to pass.

NO PASSING ZONES

Two-lane roads may have “no passing zones” marked with a SOLID
YELLOW LINE. No passing zones are on hills or curves where you cannot
see far enough ahead to pass safely. You must complete passing before
you enter the no passing zone.

|« NO PASSING ZONE

-

NO PASSING ZONE - s |
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When you see a solid yellow line on your side of the center line, do not try
to pass. On any two-lane road, never pass if you cannot see the road is
clear for the distance you need to make a pass, even if there is no marking
on the roadway.

LEFT-TURN LANES
Some roads have marked left-turn lanes. Notice the solid yellow lines and
the thick yellow stripes in the illustration below.

S T T —

—_— =§§
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CROSSWALKS AND STOP LINES

When required to stop because of a sign or signal, you must stop before
your vehicle reaches the stop line or, if there is one, the crosswalk.
Crosswalks define the area where pedestrians are to cross the roadway.
You must yield to pedestrians in or about to enter a crosswalk. Not

all crosswalks are marked. Be alert for pedestrians when crossing
intersections that do not have defined crosswalks.

DUAL USE LANES

Dual use lanes have both a turn arrow and a straight arrow. When both
arrows appear on the electric traffic signal, you may either turn or go
straight. But if you want to turn, and only the straight arrow is showing, you
must wait for the turn arrow.

)

[cee| [coe| eee|

27



REVERSIBLE EXPRESS LANES

Some travel lanes are designed to carry traffic in one direction at certain
times and in the opposite direction at other times. These lanes are usually
marked by double-dashed yellow lines. Before you start driving in them,
check to see which lanes you can use at that time. There may be signs
posted by the side of the road or overhead. Sometimes special lights are
used. A green arrow means you can use the lane beneath it; a red “X”
means you may not.

SHARED CENTER LANES

Vehicles moving in both directions may use these center lanes for making
left turns (or U-turns when they are permitted). On the pavement, left-turn
arrows for traffic in one direction alternate with left-turn arrows for traffic
coming from the other direction. These lanes are marked on each side by
a solid yellow and dashed yellow lines. Turn from this lane as soon as your
path is clear.

NO LANE MARKINGS

When there are no signs or markings to control the use of lanes, there are
rules that indicate which lane is to be used. These rules cover general
driving, passing, and turning.

General Driving — In general, never back a vehicle in any travel lane.
Drivers do not expect a vehicle to be backing towards them and may not
realize it until it is too late. If you miss your turn or exit, do not back up.
Go on to where you can safely turn around. Do not stop in travel lanes
for any reason (confusion, breakdown, or letting out a passenger). Keep
moving until you can safely pull off the road.

On a road with three or more lanes traveling in the same direction, stay in
the right lane except to pass. If there is a considerable amount of traffic
entering the right travel lane, then use the center travel lane.

Passing — On multi-lane roads, the left-most lane is intended to be used
to pass slower vehicles. If you pass on the right, the other driver may
have difficulty seeing you and might suddenly change lanes in front of you.
Never pass on the shoulder. Other drivers will not expect you to be there
and may pull off the road without looking.

TRAFFIC OFFICERS

You must obey traffic officers at all times. If you see a traffic officer giving
directions, do what he or she says and ignore any traffic signs or signals.
For example, if the officer signals for you to stop at a green light, you must
stop.

TRAFFIC SIGNALS
Traffic signals are lights that tell you when or where to stop and go.
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FLASHING SIGNAL - ALL DIRECTIONS

Flashing traffic signals may occur during emergencies, night

time/low traffic volume periods and special events. Flashing

traffic signals have the following meanings:

* A flashing red light means the same thing as a stop sign.

« A flashing yellow light tells you to slow down and proceed
with caution.

TRAFFIC CONTROL SIGNALS

Traffic controls include traffic signals, traffic signs and pavement markings.
Traffic control also can be provided by law enforcement, highway personnel
or school crossing guards. You must obey directions from these persons.

A RED LIGHT tells you to stop at the stop line, crosswalk or before
the intersection. Unless you are making a right turn, you must
wait for the signal to turn green before you proceed. After making

a complete stop, you may turn right on a red light if the way is clear of

pedestrians and traffic. However, you must not turn right on a red light

when there is a “NO RIGHT TURN ON RED” sign posted.

7a A STEADY YELLOW LIGHT tells you the traffic signal is changing
. from green to red. Stop for a steady yellow light unless you are

within the intersection or are so close that you cannot safely stop
before entering the intersection.

- A GREEN LIGHT tells you that you can go through the intersection.
. However, you must first yield the right-of-way to traffic and

pedestrians who are still in the intersection.

Left Turn Signals: When turning left at a green light, there

are three types of left-turn signal phases:

1. Permissive — Vehicles are given a circular green or a
flashing yellow arrow and required to wait for an adequate
gap in the opposing traffic prior to making their turn.

2. Protected — Vehicles may turn only when they receive
a green arrow while opposing vehicles are stopped by a
red light. This type of control is commonly signed “left turn
signal.”

3. Protected/Permissive — Vehicles are given a protected
phase (green arrow), or a permissive (circular green or
flashing yellow arrow) phase, when drivers must choose
an adequate gap in opposing traffic. This type of control,
when used with a circular green, is commonly signed “left
turn yield on green”.

A STEADY YELLOW ARROW appears after a green arrow. |t tells
you the green arrow will be changing to a circular green light, a
flashing yellow arrow or a red light. You must be ready to yield the
right-of-way to oncoming traffic or to stop.
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A FLASHING YELLOW ARROW tells you that you are allowed
to drive in the direction the arrow is pointing but are required to
wait for an adequate gap in the opposing traffic prior to making
your turn.

A GREEN ARROW tells you that you can drive in the direction the
arrow is pointing. You must be in the proper lane and the way must
be clear of all traffic and pedestrians.

Dark signals, or traffic signals that aren’t working operate as a 4-way stop.

LANE USE CONTROL SIGNALS

Lane use control signals tell you which lanes you may drive in on a
roadway. You will see these signals directly over the lane they control.
Red “X” — Do not drive in this lane.

Green Arrow — You may use this lane.

If you are driving in a green arrow lane and the arrow turns to a red “X,” do
not panic. The oncoming traffic will not receive a green arrow for that lane
until you have had time to change lanes.

TRAFFIC SIGNS

Traffic signs tell you about traffic rules, hazards, where you are, how to get
where you are going and where services are located. The shape and color
of these signs give clues to the type of information they provide.

SIGN COLORS

. Red = Stop, Yield, or Prohibited Yellow-Orange = Road Signs
Yellow = Warning Orange = Construction

. Black = Regulatory Green = Direction and Distance
White = Regulatory . Blue = Motorist Services

. Brown = Public Recreation
& Cultural Interests
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SIGN SHAPES

Octagon = Stop

Triangle = Yield

Vertical
Rectangle = Regulatory

H40

Horizontal
Rectangle = Guide

Pentagon = School

WARNING SIGNS

x Crossbuck = Railroad

‘ Diamond = Warning

Round = Railroad

Pennant = No

Passing Zone

Horizontal
Rectangle = Parks
and Recreation

These signs are yellow with black lettering or symbols and usually diamond

shaped. These signs warn you to slow down and be prepared to stop
if necessary because a special situation or a hazard is ahead. Some
common warning signs are shown below.

TRAFFIC CONTROL

Bicycle Crossing
Yield to bicycle riders on any bike
trail which crosses a road.

Signal Ahead

on the road you are on. Be
prepared to stop.

There is a traffic light signal ahead



I

Pedestrian Crossing
Yield to pedestrians walking in the
crosswalk. Slow Down.

TRAFFIC FLOW

EXIT

30
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Speed Advisory-Highway Ramp
The highway entry/exit ramp has
a speed advisory.

Begin Divided Roadway

The road will soon become two-
way traffic divided by a median or
barrier.

| o

School Crossing

Slow down. Watch for children
crossing the road.

Note: This sign is being transi-
tioned to neon green. This transi-
tion will take effect within the next
10 years.

@

Added Lane

Traffic from another road will be
entering the road. No merging
is necessary because a lane has
been added.

&

End Divided Roadway
Two-way traffic will no longer be
divided by a median or barrier.
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Merge

Traffic from another road will be
entering the road. Be prepared
for vehicles to move into your
lane.

TURNS AND CURVES IN THE ROAD

&

Curve Sign

A curve sign is used to warn of a
curve where the recommended
speed is less than the posted
speed limit for the highway.

&

Reverse Turn

A reverse turn sign is used to
warn of two turns in opposite
directions. The second turn
may be sharper than the first.
Recommended maximum speed
is 30 mph or less.

33

Lane Ends/Merge Left

Two lanes of traffic will soon
become one lane of traffic. If you
are in the right lane you must
merge left, yielding to traffic
driving in the left lane.

@

Right Angle Turn

A turn sign is used to warn of a
sharp turn or turn where the
recommended maximum speed is
30 mph or less.
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Speed Advisory

Curve and turn signs have an
advisory speed plate that shows
the recommended speed for

the curve or turn. Although you
may feel comfortable driving at a
higher speed in fair weather, you
should never do so in rain, snow
or icy conditions.
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Large Arrow Chevron

May be seen on the outside of a May be used instead of the large
turn. Slow down for sharp change arrow sign to outline the edge of a
of direction of travel. curving road or to supplement the

large arrow sign.

SPECIAL ROAD/TRAFFIC CONDITIONS

/7

SOFT
SHOULDER
Object Marker Soft Shoulder
Are used to notify drivers of The shoulder on the side of the
objects in the roadway or very road ahead is soft. Do not drive
close to the edge of the roadway. off the pavement.

This sign emphasizes the need
to not stray outside of the marked

travel lane.

Slow Moving Vehicle Slippery When Wet

A reflective orange triangle on The road ahead becomes

the rear of a vehicle means it is unusually slippery in wet weather.
traveling less than 25 mph. You Drive carefully in these conditions.

may see this sign on construction
equipment or farm vehicles.
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ROAD INTERSECTIONS

&7

Side Road Railroad Crossing Intersection

A warning of a railway crossing Another road crosses the road.
very close to the intersection. Watch carefully for traffic crossing
Use caution when crossing tracks. your path.

Side Road Ahead T Intersection Ahead

Another road enters the road from The road you are traveling does
the direction shown on the sign. not continue. You must turn

either right or left.

Roundabout Ahead

A roundabout intersection is
ahead. Slow down as required by
the speed restriction sign and
follow the road rules for
roundabouts.

ROUNDABOUT

REGULATORY SIGNS

Many regulatory signs are square or rectangular-shaped and are white,
with black or red letters or symbols. They give you information about rules
for traffic direction, lane use, turning, speed, parking, and other special
situations.

Some regulatory signs have a red circle with a red slash over a symbol.
These indicate you cannot do something, for example, no left turn or no
U-turn.
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Other common types of regulatory signs are:

No Left Turn No Right Turn No U- Turn

No Trucks No Bicycles

STOP SIGN

A stop sign is red with white letters and has eight
sides. When you see a stop sign, you must come
to a full stop.

You must wait until crossing vehicles and pedestrians
have cleared the intersection. You must stop at the
stop line if one is present even if it is located past the
stop sign. If there is no stop line, pull up and stop near the edge of the
intersection, look both ways, and then proceed when it is safe.

8 NER Il [ §

a. Stop before the b. Stop before the c. If there is no
stop line. crosswalk. stop line or
OR... OR... crosswalk,

stop before
entering the
intersection.
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YIELD SIGN

A yield sign is triangular. It is red and white with
red letters. It means you must slow down and
yield the right-of-way to traffic in the intersection
you are crossing or roadway you are entering.

WRONG WAY SIGN

You made a wrong turn and have entered a lane

of oncoming traffic. As quickly and safely as
possible, pull off the road, turn around and go back.

DO NOT ENTER SIGN
When you see this sign at roadway openings,
do not enter this road.

LANE CONTROL SIGNS

DO NOT

[—
ENTER

\Z

These signs use an arrow symbol to tell you which direction you can go
from each lane. The signs are along the road or hanging over the road.

Nt

ONLY | ONLY | ONLY

SPEED LIMIT SIGNS

Speed limit signs indicate the maximum speed allowed
by law, and do not mean that all parts of the road can

be safely driven at those speeds under all conditions.
The speed limit is the maximum allowable speed in ideal
conditions. Adjust your speed for hills, curves, slippery
roadways, limited sight distance, pedestrians, bicyclists,
and slow-moving vehicles. These conditions may make
the posted speed limit unsafe. By law, when conditions
demand it, you must slow down. Interstate highways also
have minimum speed limits. If this minimum speed is too
fast for you, then you should use another route. You may
not drive slower than 40 mph on interstate highways
under normal roadway conditions.

37
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LIMIT

70

MINIMUM
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Use the following guide unless posted speed limits direct otherwise.

ROADWAY MAXIMUM SPEED
Rural interstates and freeways 70
Rural expressways 65
Interstate highways, freeways or expressways 60

within urbanized areas

All other roads and highways not located in an 60
urbanized area

Lettered roads 55

The speed limit in any city, town, or village is 25 mph, unless posted
otherwise. The Missouri Highway and Transportation Commission has the
authority to set speed limits higher or lower than the uniform maximum
speed limits for safety reasons or to expedite the flow of traffic. There are
13 interstates in Missouri. The speed limit is posted 60 mph when these
interstates are near or within the following five Missouri cities: St. Louis,
Kansas City, Columbia, St. Joseph, and Springfield.

RAILROAD CROSSING SIGN

Many railroad crossings have signs or signals to warn drivers. The round
advance warning sign tells you that you are nearing a railroad crossing.
Never try to beat a train across the tracks. Never start to cross the tracks
until there is room for your vehicle on the other side of the tracks. It is not
wise to shift gears when crossing railroad tracks, just in case your vehicle
might stall.

You may also see a pavement marking before a crossing. Like the round
advance warning sign, pavement markings tell you that you are nearing a
railroad crossing.
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A white, X-shaped sign or “crossbuck” is located at the railroad
crossing. This sign has the same meaning as a “yield” sign;
therefore, you must yield to trains at crossings. The sign under
the crossbuck tells you how many tracks cross the road.
At some crossings, along with the crossbuck sign, you will
see side-by-side red lights that flash alternately. At some
crossings there is also a crossing gate (some with a bell)
that will lower when a train is coming. At both of these
signal-equipped crossings, you must stop and you cannot
cross the tracks until the train has passed.

When you see any of these signs, SLOW DOWN, look for
a train, and be ready to stop. You must STOP if the red
lights are flashing or the gate is down. You must stop within
15 to 50 feet before the railroad tracks. DO NOT try to go
around the gate. /ﬁ
The red lights may ibﬂli'
continue to flash after

the train has gone by. If there are two or more tracks, look for
a second train before you cross.

WORK ZONE SIGNS

Work zone signs are fluorescent orange and indicate some type of work is
being performed on or along side the roadway. Be extremely careful when
you see these signs. There may be other traffic control devices or flag
persons to help direct you safely through the work zone.

If you are caught speeding or passing in a construction zone or work zone
on Missouri state roadways, you could be fined a minimum of $250 for the
first offense and a minimum of $300 for a second or subsequent offense
in addition to any other fine authorized by law according to State Statute

"6 6
® @
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GUIDE SIGNS

These signs are square or rectangular, and are green or brown with white
lettering. They show direction and distance to various locations such as
cities, airports, and state lines, or to special areas such as national parks,
historical areas, and museums.

SERVICE SIGNS

These signs are square or rectangular, and are blue with white letters or
symbols. They show the location of various services, such as rest areas,
gas stations, campgrounds, and hospitals.

=
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ROUTE SIGNS

The shape of route signs indicates the type of roadway: interstate, United
States, state, or county. When planning a trip, use a highway map to
determine your route. During the trip, follow the route signs. This will help
you so you will not get lost.

North-south routes are identified by odd numbers. East-west roads are
identified by even numbers. Interstate highways that loop around cities are
identified by three-digit even numbers. Roadways that direct traffic into a
city’s road system (called “spurs”) are identified by three-digit odd numbers.

Understanding exit numbers is easy when you know interstates traveling
west/east are numbered starting from the west and going east. This means
exit numbers start at zero and increase as you drive east. Likewise, if you
come from the east, the numbers will decrease to the west. Interstates that
travel north/south have their exits numbered beginning at the south point
and increasing north. If you enter the state from the north and drive south,
then the exit numbers decrease.

EMERGENCY REFERENCE MARKERS

Emergency reference markers are mile markers placed along the outside
shoulder to mark the edge of the roadway and convey information to
drivers about their location on the interstate for navigation and emergency
situations. The reference markers are located every two-tenths of a mile,
so motorists will always be in sight of a sign. They tell the direction of travel
and route number.




CHAPTER 4 — RULES OF THE ROAD

Your highest duty as a motorist is to drive your vehicle carefully and prudently.
Your speed and manner of driving must create a safe environment for yourself
and other road users, including pedestrians, cyclists, and other motorists.

RIGHT-OF-WAY

Where vehicles or pedestrians are likely to meet one another, and there
are no signs or signals to regulate traffic, there are rules that say who must
yield the right-of-way. These rules tell drivers who goes first and who must
wait in different traffic situations.

The law says who must yield the right-of-way; it does not give any driver
the right-of-way. You must do everything you can to prevent striking a
pedestrian or another vehicle, regardless of the circumstances.

PASSING

Passing is a dangerous maneuver where the dangers are compounded

by intersections, other vehicles within an intersection and two-lane roads
(Refer to No Passing Zones in Chapter 3).

If you are caught speeding or passing in a construction zone or work zone on
Missouri state roadways, you could be fined a minimum of $250 for the first
offense and a minimum of $300 for a second or subsequent offense in addition
to any other fine authorized by law according to State Statute 304.582.

Use the same care when passing a pedestrian or cyclist as when passing a
motor vehicle. You may need to slow down and wait for a safe opportunity to
pass a pedestrian or cyclist, just as you would for any other slow-moving traffic.

Passing on the Right

The driver of a motor vehicle may overtake and pass to the right of another

vehicle only under the following conditions:

* When the vehicle overtaken is making or about to make a left turn;

» Upon a city street with unobstructed pavement of sufficient width for two
or more lines of vehicles in each direction;

» Upon a one-way street;

» Upon any highway outside of a city with unobstructed pavement of
sufficient width and clearly marked for four or more lanes of traffic.

In no event shall such movement be made by driving off the paved or

main traveled portion of the roadway (shoulder).

Passing on the Left

No vehicle shall at any time be driven to the left side of the roadway under

the following conditions:

» When approaching the crest of a grade or upon a curve of the highway where
the driver’s view is obstructed within such distance as to create a hazard in
the event another vehicle might approach from the opposite direction;

» When the view is obstructed upon approaching within one hundred feet
of any bridge, viaduct, or tunnel;

* When approaching within one hundred feet of or at any intersection or
railroad grade crossing; or

* When there is a solid yellow line.
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INTERSECTIONS

The following right-of-way rules apply at intersections:

» Drivers must yield where necessary to avoid striking pedestrians who are
legally crossing the road.

» Drivers crossing a sidewalk, entering or exiting a driveway, alley, or
parking lot must yield to pedestrians. Itis illegal to drive on a sidewalk
except to cross.

» Drivers turning left must yield to oncoming vehicles going straight.

» At a four-way stop, the driver reaching the intersection first may proceed
before the other drivers (after coming to a complete stop).

» Drivers entering a road from a driveway, alley, or roadside must yield to
vehicles already on the main road.

* At an intersection where there is no stop sign or traffic signal (with the
exception of roundabouts), drivers must yield to vehicles coming from the
right.

» When approaching a roundabout intersection, always yield to traffic in
the circle and pedestrians in the crosswalks. Wait for a gap in traffic
before entering.

EMERGENCY VEHICLES

You must yield the right-of-way to police, fire, ambulance, or any other
emergency vehicles using a siren or air horn, and a red or blue flashing light.
Pull over to the right edge of the road, or as near to the right as possible,
when you see or hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any direction.
If you are in an intersection, drive through the intersection before you pull
over. Remain stopped until the emergency vehicle passes. Follow any
instructions given over the emergency vehicle’'s loudspeaker. Emergency
vehicles may follow each other so proceed only when the way is clear.

When approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying lighted red or

red and blue lights, you must:

» Proceed with caution, and if it is safe to do so, make a lane change
into a lane not adjacent to the stationary vehicle (if on a roadway having
at least four lanes with not less than two lanes proceeding in the same
direction as the approaching vehicle); or

» Proceed with due caution and reduce the speed of the vehicle,
maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be
unsafe or impossible.

For more information regarding the “Move Over Law” see page 116.

SCHOOL BUSES

When a school bus stops to load or unload school children, the driver
activates the mechanical and electrical signaling devices to notify other
drivers of an impending stop. Amber warning lights will flash 500 feet
before the bus comes to a designated stop. When the school bus is
stopped, the alternate flashing red lights and the stop signal arm are
activated. Oncoming and following traffic must stop before they reach the
bus when these signals are activated. You must stop:
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BOTH VEHICLES MUST STOP

1. On a 2-lane road where the vehicles travel in either direction.
2. On a 2-lane road that is a one-way street.

No driver of a school bus shall take on or discharge passengers at any

location upon a highway consisting of four or more lanes of traffic, whether

or not divided by a median or barrier, in such a manner as to require the

passengers to cross more than two lanes of traffic. The following are situa-

tions when you do not have to stop:

1. When you are traveling the opposite direction of a school bus on a high-
way divided by a median where the vehicles traveling one direction are on
a totally separate road from the vehicles traveling the opposite direction;

2. When you are traveling the opposite direction of a school bus on a high-
way containing four or more lanes of traffic; or

3. When a school bus is stopped in a loading zone (at a school) where stu-
dents are not permitted to cross the roadway.

After stopping for a school bus that is unloading school children, watch
for school children walking along the side of the road. You must remain
stopped until the bus moves or the bus driver signals for you to proceed.
Proceed with caution.

HAND AND VEHICLE SIGNALS

Before you stop, turn or change lanes, let the other drivers know what you
are going to do by signaling. You can signal with your hand and arm or
with your vehicle’s turn signals and brake lights. You should signal at least
100 feet before you turn so the other drivers can be ready. Check your
vehicle’s turn signals often to ensure they are working properly.

The pictures below show the correct hand signals to use when turning or
stopping.

e e, e

LEFT STOP ' RIGHT '

As a good driver, you should get into the proper turn lane and signal at
least 100 feet before you turn. Before you make any turn, you should look
both ways for oncoming traffic or pedestrians.
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If there are no signs or lane markings to control turning, you should turn
from the lane that is closest to the direction you want to go, and turn into
the lane closest to the one you came from. This way, you will cross the
fewest lanes of traffic. When making turns, go from one lane to the other as
smoothly as possible without crossing lane lines or interfering with traffic.
Once you have completed your turn, you can change to another lane if you
need to.

U-TURNS

You should only make a U-turn when it is safe. U-turns should not be
made on any curve or near the crest of a hill when your vehicle may not be
seen by other drivers. Some towns and cities do not allow U-turns. Never
make a U-turn at a location that is marked with a No U-Turn sign or at an
intersection controlled by a traffic signal or police officer.

RIGHT TURNS | RIGHT TURN ]
On right turns, avoid swinging wide to
the left before turning. If you swing wide,
the driver behind you may think you are i D
changing lanes or going to turn left, and IRt = = R
may try to pass you on the right. If you B
swing wide as you complete the turn, by a
drivers who are in the far lane will not \
expect to see you there and you could H\n'v
cause a crash. H

H

i

LEFT TURNS
When making a left turn, avoid cutting the [LEFTTURN  oneveyontomovay |
corner so sharply that you run into someone _:_::‘—zfm m—
approaching from the left. However, you A
must leave room for oncoming vehicles to

turn left in front of you.
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ONE-WAY STREET ONTO

A TWO-WAY STREET

Begin the turn in the left lane. Enter the
two-way road to the right of its yellow
dividing line. If the two-way road is a four-
lane road, you may enter it in the right lane

if that lane is free of traffic. |

TWO-WAY STREET ONTO

A ONE-WAY STREET

Begin the turn with your left wheel as close
as possible to the yellow dividing line. If the
one-way road has two lanes, turn into its left
lane or right lane, whichever is free of traffic.

See o

ONE-WAY
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TWO-WAY STREET ONTO e e
A TWO-WAY STREET -~

Begin the turn with your left wheels %
as close as possible to the yellow
dividing line. Enter the road to the Pooooo
right of its center line. If the road
onto which you are turning is a
four-lane road, you may enter it in
the right lane if the right lane is
free of traffic.

=A—=A—A—J—J—N—R—0—]

MULTIPLE LEFT-TURN 71 1 AN
LANES e ——————— -

Some streets may have more Fe== N, =9
than one lane marked for left CEl #irmnmns
turns. If you are turning from
the left side, left-turn lane, enter
the left lane on the right of the
yellow dividing line. If you

are turning from the right side,
left-turn lane, enter the right
lane.

bPooo

Pocooooos
Pocooocooo
ToEooEoe s

TWO-WAY LEFT-TURN LANES

Some streets have a center lane marked as a two-way left-turn lane. Only
enter this lane when preparing to slow down or stop before making a left
turn from the main roadway. Do not use this lane as travel lane (a vehicle
may not travel in this lane for more than 500 feet), and do not use this lane
when entering the roadway from a side street.
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ROUNDABOUT INTERSECTIONS

General Information

Roundabouts are a traffic control device
that may be used as an alternative to
signalized and all-way stop intersections.
Statistically roundabouts are safer than
traditional intersections because they
reduce fatal and injury crashes by reduc-
tion of speeds and removing left-turns in
front of opposing traffic. A roundabout
uses a circular island in the center to
control the flow of traffic through the
intersection. Roundabouts feature yield
traffic signs at all entering roadway legs.
Yield control creates efficient traffic flow
and often less delay at the intersection.
They reduce pollution and fuel use due
to fewer stops and hard accelerations. At
a roundabout, drivers who approach the
intersection make a slight right turn to go
counterclockwise around a circular center
island. The driver may then either exit the
roundabout onto a different roadway, or

Approaching the roundabout:

Single lane
Roundabout

Multi-lane
Roundabout

w if\!"pj'-tl" u

continue on the same roadway. When approaching a roundabout, always
yield to traffic in the circle, bicyclists, and pedestrians in the crosswalks.

 Slow down before entering the roundabout.

» For multi-lane roundabouts, observe roadside signs and pavement
markings to direct you into the correct lane.

 Look to your left as you drive towards the entrance, yield to traffic
already in the roundabout, bicyclists, and pedestrians in the crosswalk

» Enter when there is a gap in traffic and merge with the other flow of

vehicles.

« NEVER make a left turn to enter a roundabout.

Traveling through a roundabout:

 Always stay to the right of the center island.
« Vehicles within the roundabout have the right of way.
« DO NOT stop within a roundabout unless it is the only way to avoid a

crash.

* DO NOT change lanes within a roundabout.

 Give special consideration to trucks, trailers and other large vehicles.
They may need to utilize more than one lane within a roundabout.

« DO NOT attempt to pass any vehicles especially large trucks.

« If you miss your exit, continue through the roundabout until you reach

your appropriate exit.

* When exiting, watch for pedestrians and bicyclists crossing the street.
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Exiting the roundabout:
» Maintain a slow speed to avoid losing control or striking traffic islands.
» Use your right turn signal to let others know you are exiting.
» Do not accelerate until you are beyond the pedestrian crossing at the
exit.

Emergency Vehicles

Always yield to emergency vehicles. DO NOT enter a roundabout if an
emergency vehicle is approaching. NEVER stop while inside a roundabout.
If an emergency vehicle approaches while you are in the roundabout, exit
immediately and pull to the right.

Truck Apron

Large trucks need more space when driving in a roundabout. A truck apron,
also known as off-tracking, is the paved area on the inside of the round-
about for the rear wheels of large trucks to use when turning. Truck aprons
are not to be used by cars, SUVs or pickup trucks.

J-Turn Intersections

The J-turn is an alternative to traditional roadway intersections on a four-
lane highway. Instead of motorists crossing fast-moving lanes of traffic to
get to the opposing lanes, drivers at a J-turn intersection turn right in the
same direction of traffic, merge into the far left lane, and then make a left
turn in the direction they intend to travel.

Local Ordinances

Local governments may make traffic ordinances in addition to laws made
by the state. You must obey any traffic sign or regulation whether set by a
municipality, county, or the state. Cities and towns may have regulations to
do the following:

e Set speed limits

¢ Set one-way streets

< Set stop signs at intersections

« Prohibit commercial vehicles from using certain streets

« Control parking by installing meters or by some other reasonable method
e Control turns

« Require the use of turn signals, brake lights, and horns on all motor
vehicles

 Prohibit the use of sound-producing warning devices

47



CHAPTER 5 — PARKING

Drivers are responsible for making sure their vehicles do not become

hazards after they have been parked. Whenever you park your vehicle,

be sure it is in a place that is far enough from any travel lane to avoid

interfering with traffic and visible to vehicles approaching from either

direction.

» Always park in a designated area if possible.

« On one-way streets, you may normally park on either the right or left side
of the street.

« Always set your parking brake when you park. Leave the vehicle in
gear if it has a manual transmission, or in park if it has an automatic
transmission.

« Check traffic before you open the door. Get out of the vehicle on the
curb side if you can. If you have to use the street side, check traffic
before you get out. Always have passengers, especially children, exit
the vehicle on the curb side. Check for bicyclists, who often travel on the
right-hand side of the travel lanes, near parked cars. Shut the door as
soon as you can after getting out.

* Never leave the keys in a parked vehicle. Lock the doors whenever you
leave your vehicle if it will be out of your sight at any time.

< If you must park on a roadway, park your vehicle as far away from traffic
as possible. If there is a curb, park as close to it as you can.

* When you park on a hill, turn your wheels sharply towards the side of the
road. This way, if your vehicle starts to roll downhill, it will roll away from
traffic (refer to Parking On Hills).

NO-PARKING ZONES

There are many areas where you cannot park. Check for signs that may
prohibit or limit parking. Some parking restrictions are indicated by colored
curb markings. Do not park:

¢ In an intersection.

¢ On a crosswalk or sidewalk.

» Across a driveway entrance.

« On the left side of a two-way street.

< Alongside a curb that is painted yellow.

e On a bridge.

« Blocking a fire hydrant.

« Blocking the normal traffic flow or creating a hazard to other drivers.

« With your vehicle facing against traffic.

WHEN CAN YOU PARK IN HANDICAPPED PARKING SPACES?
Handicapped parking spaces may only be used when the vehicle displays
a handicapped person placard or license plates, and a physically
handicapped person is the occupant of the motor vehicle at the time of
parking, or a physically handicapped person is being dropped off or picked

up.
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INTERNATIONAL SYMBOL OF ACCESS

This symbol marks spaces for vehicles operated

by or used to transport people with handicaps.
Violators, when convicted, shall be punished by
a fine of no less than fifty dollars ($50) and no
more than three hundred dollars ($300).

The law also provides that:

e ltis illegal to park in handicapped parking access aisles.

« ltis illegal to use a handicapped person’s placard or license plates to
park in designated handicapped parking spaces if the handicapped
person is not being transported at the time.

PARKING ON HILLS

Before leaving your parked vehicle:

e Turn your wheels in the proper direction (see graphic below);
« Turn off the motor, leaving the vehicle in proper gear;

« Set the emergency/parking brake;

« Remove the keys from the ignition;

« Check your rearview mirror for traffic before stepping out; and
e Lock it and pocket the keys.

Before you drive away from any parking space, be sure to check for traffic
and signal.

PARKING ON HILLS
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PARALLEL PARKING

1. Stop even with the vehicle ahead of the parking space about 1% feet to
the left of that vehicle.

2. Turn wheels sharply to the right, and back slowly into the parking space.
Be sure the front of your vehicle does not block passing or oncoming
traffic.

3. When clear of the front vehicle, turn wheels sharply to the left and
continue backing.

4. Turn wheels sharply to the right and pull forward toward the curb. Park
in the center of the parking space.

50



CHAPTER 6 — HIGHWAY DRIVING

Good driving requires you to be observant and aware of your surroundings.
You must look down the road, to the sides, and behind your vehicle. Be
alert for unexpected events. Many crashes occur because drivers do not
pay enough attention to their driving. Do not take your eyes off the road
for more than a few seconds at any one time. For example, if you need to
look at a map, pull safely off the road. Do not try to read the map while you
are driving.

DRIVE IN THE PROPER LANE

When driving on a highway with a total of two lanes (one lane in each
direction), drive in the right hand lane. You may cross the center line for
passing when there are no oncoming vehicles and no solid yellow line.

On highways with a total of four or more lanes (two or more lanes in each
direction), always keep to the right unless you are passing slower traffic,
letting another driver have room to enter safely, or getting ready to make a
legal left turn.

CONTROLLING SPEED

The best way to control your speed is to know how fast you are going.
Check the speedometer often, and pay attention to the posted speed limits.
This is especially true when you leave high speed roads and begin driving
on much slower local roads. For more information on Missouri’s speed
limits, refer to Chapter 3.

PASSING ON HIGHWAYS

Use the left lane only to pass another vehicle. You can use the right
lane when passing a vehicle that is making a left turn. Never use the
shoulder or unpaved part of the highway to pass.

Before you pass a vehicle in front
of you, make sure you are in a safe

Forward Forward

passing zone. On four-lane Vision : { Vision
highways, check the left lane for L L

traffic by using your left and inside Blind Spot ¥ Blind Spot
rearview mirrors and briefly looking ” ”

over your left shoulder. Looking A F ]|l ®
over your left shoulder is important oy iif E

because it allows you to check for 22’ [|

“blind spots.” Blind spots are the P8 )

spaces you cannot see with your I-l 3§ e ﬂ l-l
rearview mirrors. Do not drive in F 3 J

1

e Try to avoid driving on either side and slightly to the rear of another
vehicle. Either speed up or drop back so the other driver can see your
vehicle more easily.

another vehicle’s blind spot.
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» When passing another vehicle, get through the other driver’s blind
spot as quickly as you can without exceeding the speed limit. The
longer you stay there, the longer you are in danger of having the vehicle
collide with your vehicle.

* Never stay alongside, or immediately behind, a large vehicle such
as a truck or bus. These vehicles have large blind spots and it is hard
for their drivers to see you. If you cannot see the truck driver’s face in
the truck’s side mirror, the truck driver cannot see you. It takes longer to
pass a truck. After you pass, make sure you can see the cab of the truck
in your rearview mirror before reentering the lane. Maintain your speed.
Do not slow down once you are in front of the truck.

If the way is clear, signal that you are changing lanes. Pass the other
vehicle quickly and smoothly, being careful not to exceed the speed limit.

Give plenty of room to the vehicle you just passed. Do not turn back into the
right lane until you see the passed vehicle in your rearview mirror. Remember to
look over your right shoulder to check your blind spot, and be sure to signal.

BEING PASSED

If another vehicle begins to pass you, stay in your lane and do not increase
your speed. If many vehicles are passing you in the right lane of a multi-
lane roadway, you are probably going slower than the rest of the traffic.
Unless you will be turning left soon, you should move into the right lane
when the way is clear.

ADJUSTING TO TRAFFIC

Vehicles moving in the same direction and lane, and at the same speed
cannot hit one another. Traffic crashes involving two or more vehicles often
happen when drivers go faster or slower than other vehicles on the road.

If you are going faster than traffic, you will have to keep passing others.
Each time you pass someone, there is a chance for a collision. The vehicle
you are passing may change lanes suddenly, or on a two-lane road, an
oncoming vehicle may appear suddenly. Slow down, and keep pace with
other traffic. Speeding does not save more than a few minutes an hour.

Going much slower than other vehicles can be just as bad as speeding.

It tends to make vehicles bunch up behind you and drivers then become
impatient and pass you. If vehicles are piled up behind you, pull over and
let them pass when it is safe to do so.

BE AWARE OF THE TRAFFIC AROUND YOU

Check your rearview mirrors every few seconds to keep track of the
approaching traffic. Make sure other drivers see you. Be sure to keep a safe
distance (refer to Chapter 8) between you and the vehicle in front of you.

SLOW MOVING TRAFFIC

Some vehicles cannot travel very fast, or have trouble keeping up with the
speed of traffic. If you spot these vehicles early, you have time to change
lanes or slow down safely. Slowing suddenly can cause a traffic crash.
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< Watch for large trucks and small, underpowered vehicles on steep
grades or when they are entering traffic. They can lose speed on long
or steep hills and it may take longer for these vehicles to get up to speed
when they enter traffic.

STOPPING
Never stop on the highway itself. Many highways have rest stops and
service areas.

Be alert so that you know well ahead of time when you will have to stop.
Stopping suddenly is dangerous. Braking quickly could cause you to lose
control of your vehicle. You also make it harder for drivers behind you to
stop without hitting you. Try to avoid panic stops by seeing events well in
advance. By slowing down or changing lanes, you may not have to stop at
all, and if you do, it can be a more gradual and safer stop.

You can stop on the shoulder of the highway in an emergency. If you do,
alert other drivers by turning on your emergency flashers. It is also helpful
to raise the hood, or tie a white cloth to the antenna.

CONTROLLED ACCESS HIGHWAYS
Many highways have controlled access. This means you can enter or
leave the highway only where there are entrance or exit ramps.

ENTERING THE HIGHWAY

Entrance ramps are short, one-way ramps used to get on the highway. At
the end of most entrance ramps is an acceleration lane. Use the ramp and
acceleration lane to increase your speed to match the speed of the vehicles
on the highway.

As you are speeding up, watch for an opening in the highway traffic.
Switch on your turn signal, and pull smoothly into the traffic. DO NOT stop
at the end of an acceleration lane unless traffic is very heavy and you have
to stop.

Drivers already on the highway should give you room to enter, but if they
don’t, DO NOT force your way onto the highway. You must yield the right-
of-way to them, even if that means stopping at the end of an acceleration
lane.
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LEAVING THE HIGHWAY

Exit ramps are short, one-way ramps. At the beginning of most exit ramps
is a deceleration lane. Make sure you are in the proper lane to leave the
highway well in advance of the deceleration lane.

Use the deceleration lane and the exit ramp to slow down when leaving the
highway. Be sure you obey the speed advisory sign on the exit ramp. Be
ready to stop or yield at the end of the ramp.

If you miss your exit, DO NOT stop, back up, or try to turn around on the
highway. You will have to get off the highway at the next exit and come
back to the exit you missed.

INTERCHANGES

Where two busy highways meet, there may be interchanges with entrance
and exit ramps. An interchange can be confusing if you have not driven
on it before. A Diverging Diamond Interchange, DDI, is a relatively new
design that you may encounter while driving in Missouri. When driving
through a DDI, you will travel on the left side of the roadway for a short
distance. There are directional signs on all interchanges that can help you
determine where you need to go.

SOME COMMON INTERCHANGE DESIGNS:
Cloverleaf Diamond

Directional
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WATCH OUT FOR “HIGHWAY HYPNOSIS”

Highway hypnosis can make you feel sleepy and unaware of the traffic
around you. Highway hypnosis is caused by the sameness of the road and
traffic. The hum of the wind, tires, and engine also adds to the hypnosis.

You can avoid highway hypnosis by constantly moving your eyes and
watching the traffic and highway signs around you. If you feel sleepy, pull
off the highway. Do not risk falling asleep at the wheel.

STOP DRIVING WHEN YOU FEEL SLEEPY

When you feel tired, it is harder to make decisions and to react to the traffic
around you. You may fall asleep at the wheel. When you feel sleepy, pull
off the highway at the nearest rest stop or service area. If you are really
sleepy, take a nap. Tired drivers are a great danger to themselves, other
drivers, and can be as dangerous as intoxicated drivers.

EMERGENCIES

If your vehicle breaks down on a highway, make sure other drivers can see
you and your vehicle. Traffic crashes occur because a driver did not see a
stalled vehicle until it was too late to stop.

If possible, use a 2-way radio, telephone, or cellular phone to notify

authorities that your vehicle (or someone else’s) has broken down. Many
roadways have signs that tell you the CB channel or telephone number to
call in an emergency. The cellular number to call in an emergency is *55.
If you are having vehicle trouble and have to stop, consider the following:

« If at all possible, get your vehicle off the road and away from traffic.
< Turn on your emergency flashers to show you are having trouble.

 If you cannot get your vehicle off the roadway, try to stop where other
drivers have a clear view of your vehicle. Do not stop just over a hill or
just around a curve.

e Try to warn other drivers that your vehicle is there. Place emergency
flares behind the vehicle. This alerts other drivers to change lanes if
necessary.

* Never stand in the roadway. Do not try to change a tire if it means
you have to be in a traffic lane. Lift the hood or tie a white cloth to the
antenna, side mirror, or door handle to signal an emergency.

55



CHAPTER 7 — SHARING THE ROAD

SHARING THE ROAD WITH MOTORCYCLES

Some things you should know when sharing the road with motorcycles:

Motorcycles are often overlooked by motorists.

It is not always easy to judge the speed or distance of a motorcycle.
On residential streets, especially those with parked cars, travel at or
below the speed limit, depending on sight distance.

Motorcyclists change speed and lane position when encountering bad
road conditions, such as manhole covers, diagonal railroad tracks, road
debris, or in strong winds. Be ready to react.

You should not share a lane with a motorcycle. The motorcyclist needs
the entire lane for safety reasons.

When you are passing, give motorcycles a full lane width. Do not
squeeze past these road users. Wait for a clear stretch of road before
passing a cyclist in a lane too narrow to share.

SAFETY TIPS FOR MOTORCYCLE RIDERS

1.

The law requires you to wear a helmet. Wearing a safety-certified
helmet can prevent serious head injuries or death.

Be sure your motorcycle is in safe condition and has all the equipment
required by law.

Make sure motorists see you. Wear bright colored clothes and stay out
of a vehicle’s blind spots. Use proper lights and reflectors when riding
after dark.

Make sure you signal before you slow down, change lanes or turn.
Before merging, changing lanes, or turning, scan behind and in front
to ensure that it is safe to make this maneuver. Do so in plenty of
time and in cooperation with other drivers who will be affected by

your move. If it is not safe, continue on a straight course and scan
repeatedly. Only move once it is safe.

Be careful when passing to the left of a parked or moving vehicle. You
should leave 3 to 4 feet of clearance to avoid suddenly opened car
doors or to allow for a vehicle to swerve.

Be extra careful at intersections. Do not assume your right-of-way
when there is a vehicle approaching. Be aware that motor vehicle
drivers may not see you approaching the intersection, or may believe
that you are moving at a slower speed than you are.

Keep a steady line and be predictable as a courtesy to other traffic and
to increase your personal safety.

MOTORCYCLE DRIVERS NEED A DRIVER LICENSE
To drive any motorcycle on the public streets, you must have a valid driver
license with a motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle license.
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SHARING THE ROAD WITH LARGE TRUCKS

Trucks are not large cars. Whether they are accelerating, braking, climbing
a hill, switching lanes, or turning onto a side street, tractor-trailer trucks
must perform certain maneuvers that drivers of automobiles do not.

A typical tractor-trailer combination, a power unit pulling a loaded semi-
trailer hinged to its rear end, may weigh up to 80,000 pounds. Depending
on the trailer length, the total length of the combination may exceed 90
feet. On the busiest intercity routes, a motorist may encounter double or
even triple-trailer combinations sometimes exceeding 100 feet in length.

Any motorist who has driven behind one of these trucks at a traffic light
knows that a semi-trailer combination accelerates slowly. The truck may
have to go through ten gears to reach the speed limit. The truck may have
two or three times more power under the hood than a car does, but with up
to 70,000 pounds of trailer and cargo behind it, a truck engine must move 30
or 40 times more weight than a car engine. (Published with permission from
John Deere Transportation Services, Sharing the Road, Deere & Co., 1996.)

To improve safety for all road users, please consider this information.

1. Do not enter a roadway in front of a large vehicle. Avoid changing
lanes in front of a large vehicle if you are turning off the roadway.

2. If you are driving behind a truck or a bus and cannot see the driver in
his or her rearview mirrors, the driver of that vehicle cannot see you.

3. A truck or bus has blind spots on each side, in the rear and in the front
where an automobile cannot be seen. These blind spots are referred
to as the “No-Zone.” Do not drive in the No-Zone except when
absolutely necessary. You should not drive alongside large vehicles
for prolonged periods at any time. Tailgating a truck is also dangerous.
Leave any large vehicle a cushion of safety.

4. It takes longer to pass a truck. After you pass, make sure you can see
the cab of the truck in your rearview mirror before reentering the lane.
Maintain your speed and signal when reentering the lane. Do not slow
down once you are in front of the truck.

5.  When traveling up or down steep grades, large vehicles must drive
slowly in the right lane. Avoid driving your car in the right lane going up
or down hills on divided or multi-lane roadways when interacting with
large trucks. When you are near truck weigh stations, avoid driving in
the right lane so slow-moving trucks can easily merge back onto the
roadway.
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6. Vehicles carrying hazardous materials must stop at all railroad
crossings. Be prepared.

7. Because of their size, large trucks may swing out to the left as the first
step in making a right turn. When following a tractor-trailer, observe its
turn signals before trying to pass.

8. Tractor-trailers take longer to stop than cars traveling at the same speed.
The average passenger car traveling at 55 mph can stop in about 130—
140 feet, almost half the length of a football field. A fully loaded tractor-
trailer may take almost 400 feet to come to a complete stop.

9. Cutting off a truck in traffic or on the highway is particularly dangerous.
If you need to make a turn or lane change, take a moment to slow
down and turn behind the truck—it will only take you a few extra
seconds.

10. Never underestimate the size and speed of an approaching tractor-
trailer. Because of its large size, a tractor-trailer often appears to be
traveling more slowly than its actual speed. Car-truck collisions can
occur at intersections when the driver of the car does not realize how
close the truck is or how quickly it is approaching.

SHARING THE ROAD WITH PEDESTRIANS

As soon as you step out of your vehicle, you become a pedestrian. As
a pedestrian, you should know your rights and responsibilities, and as a
driver you should know the law when pedestrians are around.

AS A PEDESTRIAN, YOU SHOULD KNOW . . .
When you are facing a “WALK” signal or a

green light, you have the right-of-way. You °
may begin to cross the road after you
make sure all drivers see you and stop for you.

Do not begin to cross the street when you are

facing a “DON'T WALK?” signal or a red or yellow light.
If the flashing “DON'T WALK” sign appears

when you are crossing the street, you may finish
crossing the street.

You should cross the road at an intersection
or a crosswalk when:

* You are in a business district.

* You are between two closely spaced intersections with traffic lights.
Otherwise, you may cross the road in the middle of the block without a
crosswalk being careful when stepping out between two parked vehicles.
You must yield the right-of-way to all traffic when crossing in the middle of
a block. Walk facing traffic when no sidewalk is available.

You should not stand in a traffic lane to speak to a driver for any length of
time, as this could cause an crash. Instead, you should wait for the driver
to pull over to a safe parking spot, and you should remain on the curb side
of the vehicle.
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AS A DRIVER, YOU SHOULD KNOW . . .

In some situations, pedestrians are required by law to yield to vehicles.
In other situations, vehicles are required to yield to pedestrians. In all
situations, whether the pedestrians are obeying the law or not, you must
drive carefully, reduce your speed if needed, and do your best to avoid
endangering pedestrians.

Even when you are facing a green light you must yield the right-of-way to
all pedestrians in the intersection. Never assume you have the right-of-
way. Do not assume pedestrians see you and will stop for you.

Do not pass a vehicle that has stopped or slowed down for a pedestrian.

Watch out for kids. Children will run out into the road without looking for
traffic. So, be extra careful when you drive near schools, playgrounds,
parks, or in residential areas. You must obey a slower speed limit in a
school zone when lights are flashing or children are present. At a school
crossing where there is a traffic patrol, stop and yield if a traffic patrol
member signals you to do so.

The following laws or rules also apply:

« Drivers must always yield the right-of-way to persons who are blind.
When a pedestrian is crossing a street or highway guided by a dog or
carrying a white cane (or a white cane with a red tip), vehicles must
come to a complete stop.

» Drivers must yield when a pedestrian is in a marked or unmarked
crosswalk on or approaching their side of the road.

« As you prepare for a right turn, especially on a red traffic signal, be
cautious of pedestrians (or bicyclists) approaching on your right.

« Drivers should not block the crosswalk when stopped at a red traffic
signal. Drivers should not cross a sidewalk or crosswalk without first
yielding to pedestrians.

SHARING THE ROAD WITH MOPEDS AND BICYCLES

Some things you should know when sharing the road with mopeds or

bicycles:

* Most collisions with bicycles and mopeds happen at intersections, where
smaller, slower bicycles and mopeds are especially easy to overlook.
Scan carefully for bicycles and mopeds before proceeding through an
intersection, giving them the same consideration you would any other
vehicle.

« Bicycles are often overlooked by motorists.

« ltis not always easy to judge the speed or distance of a bicycle.

« Crashes with wrong-way bicyclists frequently occur when a motorist
wants to turn right onto a main road and is only looking left for
approaching traffic. Be sure to look right and check for wrong-way
bicyclists on the road or sidewalk before proceeding.

< On residential streets, especially those with parked cars, travel at or
below the speed limit.
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« If you are following a bicyclist and need to make a right turn, slow down
and remain behind the cyclist until you are able to turn.

e Cyclists often travel at surprisingly fast speeds. If you need to make a
left turn, yield to oncoming bicyclists unless you are absolutely sure you
can make the turn before the cyclist reaches the intersection.

« Bicyclists change speed and lane position when encountering bad road
conditions, such as manhole covers, diagonal railroad tracks, drain
grates, road debris, or in strong winds. Be ready to react.

* When you are passing, give bicycles and mopeds a full lane width. Do
not squeeze past these road users. The bicycle is generally a slower
moving vehicle and this may require you to slow down. Wait for a clear
stretch of road before passing a cyclist in a lane too narrow to share.

e Check for passing bicyclists before opening your car door into a traffic
lane or bicycle lane.

« A bicycle lane is a portion of a roadway designated by striping to be used
by bicycles. You may cross a bicycle lane when turning or when entering
or leaving the roadway. You must yield to bicyclists in a bicycle lane.

WHERE TO RIDE MOPEDS AND BICYCLES

On public streets and highways, you have the same rights and responsibilities
as a motor vehicle operator. Always ride with traffic, never against it.
When operating at less than the posted speed or traffic flow, generally ride
as near to the right side of the roadway as is safe. The right edge of the
road often has hazards like ditches, gutters, sand, and gravel shoulders.
Leave space between yourself and these hazards as needed for safety.

You may move more toward the middle or left of the lane or roadway, as
appropriate:

« when making a left turn;

« when avoiding hazards;

« when the lane is too narrow to share with another vehicle; and

« when there is a right-turn-only lane and you are going straight.

Always check traffic and signal before changing lanes or changing your
position within a lane. On a one-way street, bicyclists may also choose to
ride as far left as is safe.

The law does not allow you to ride a moped on any part of the federal
interstate highway system.

SAFETY TIPS FOR MOPED AND BICYCLE RIDERS

1. State law does not require you to wear a helmet. However, wearing a
safety-certified helmet can prevent serious head injuries or death.

2. Be sure your bike is in safe condition and has all the equipment
required by law.

3. Make sure motorists see you. Wear bright colored clothes and stay out
of a vehicle’s blind spots. Use proper lights and reflectors when riding
after dark.
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4. Make sure you signal before you slow down, change lanes, or turn.
Before merging, changing lanes, or turning, scan behind and in front
to ensure that it is safe to make this maneuver. Do so in plenty of
time and in cooperation with other drivers who will be affected by
your move. If it is not safe, continue on a straight course and scan
repeatedly and only move once it is safe. In conditions of heavy traffic,
less proficient bicyclists may find it easier to wait near the curb for a
safe gap to appear.

5. Be careful when passing to the left of a parked or moving vehicle. You
should leave 3 to 4 feet of clearance to avoid suddenly opened car
doors or to allow for a vehicle to swerve.

6. Be extra careful at intersections. Do not assume your right-of-way
when there is a vehicle approaching. Be aware that motor vehicle
drivers may not see you approaching the intersection, or may believe
that you are moving at a slower speed than you are.

7. Keep a steady line and be predictable as a courtesy to other traffic and
to increase your personal safety.

8. For teen and adult bicyclists, studies show that riding on the street with
traffic, not against it (following the same traffic rules that other vehicles
do), is far safer than riding on the sidewalk.

MOPED DRIVERS NEED A DRIVER LICENSE

To drive any motorized bicycle such as a moped on the public streets, you
must have a valid driver license. A motorized bicycle is defined as any two-
wheeled or three-wheeled device having an automatic transmission and

a motor with a cylinder capacity of not more than fifty cubic centimeters,
which produces less than three gross brake horsepower, and is capable of
propelling the device at a maximum speed of not more than thirty miles per
hour on level ground.

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED ON MOPEDS AND BICYCLES

You do not have to register your moped or bicycle and it does not have
to be inspected. However, Missouri law requires certain equipment on
mopeds and bicycles.

BRAKES — Your brakes must be able to stop you within 25 feet when
traveling 10 mph.

LIGHTS AND REFLECTORS — The number of bicycle-auto crashes rises

dramatically between sunset and sunrise. Almost all such crashes can

be prevented with proper bicycle lights and reflectors. You must have the

following lights and reflectors when riding your bicycle from Y2 hour after

sunset until ¥ hour before sunrise:

1. A WHITE LIGHT on the front of your bicycle or carried by you that
other drivers can see from 500 feet.

2. A REAR RED REFLECTOR, at least two square inches, or a REAR
RED LIGHT that drivers can see when reflected by their vehicles’ low
beam headlights at 600 feet.
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3. REFLECTIVE MATERIAL OR LIGHTS on the pedals, crank arms,
shoes, or lower legs that drivers can see when reflected by their
vehicles’ low beam headlights at 200 feet.

4. REFLECTIVE MATERIAL AND/OR LIGHTS ON EACH SIDE OF
THE BICYCLE or bicyclist that drivers can see when reflected by
their vehicles’ low beam headlights at 300 feet. This does not apply
to mopeds that comply with the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration Regulations.

FUNERAL PROCESSIONS

If you are driving a vehicle in a funeral procession, you should follow the

vehicle in front of you as closely as is practical and safe. Every vehicle

in the procession must use its flashing emergency lights. An organized

funeral procession has the right-of-way at all intersections regardless of

any traffic control device, except for emergency vehicles or when directed

otherwise by law enforcement officials.

The following rules apply to all drivers not involved in an organized funeral

procession.

1. Do not drive between the vehicles that are part of the procession when
they are in motion.

2. Do not join a funeral procession for the purpose of obtaining the right-
of-way.

3. Do not attempt to pass any vehicle in the procession except where a
passing lane has been specifically provided.

4. Do not enter an intersection in which a procession is going through a
red signal light, unless you may do so without crossing the path of the
funeral procession.

ROAD RAGE

Road rage is an uncontrolled display of anger by the operator of a motor
vehicle (usually in response to another driver’s actions), which can result in
property damage or personal injury.

Drivers prone to road rage are usually aggressive individuals who fail to
follow courteous driving practices. Some examples of behavior associated
with road rage include:

—Beeping the horn —Pursuing another vehicle
—Flashing the headlights —Making aggressive gestures
—Forcing another vehicle to pull over —Verbally abusing another driver
—Bumping into another vehicle —Tailgating another vehicle
—Threatening another driver —Braking or slowing suddenly
—Damaging a vehicle intentionally —Deliberate obstruction
—Assaulting another driver —“Cutting off” or swerving

As our society has become more accustomed to it, road rage has become
a “normal” part of our driving environment. These habits can be unlearned,
but it takes self discipline on the part of drivers.

62



When confronted with any of the behaviors associated with road rage,

you should try to . . .

* Remain calm and do not react with similar behavior.

« ldentify the location (for example: intersection, mile marker, direction the
vehicle was traveling, etc.).

e Get a physical description of the driver.

« Get a description of the vehicle (approximate year, make, model, color,
license plate number, etc.).

* Report the incident to the nearest local authorities as soon as possible.

« If you have a cellular phone, exit the roadway to a safe area and dial *55
(or 911 if you are in a metropolitan area).

DRUNK DRIVERS

If you believe you have seen a drunk driver, tell the police immediately.
You may be saving someone’s life. Helpful information to provide the
officer includes the license plate number of the vehicle, a physical
description of the car and driver, and the vehicle’s location.

ABOUT LITTERING

Littering is against the law. It is unsightly and may
cause a traffic crash. For example, a lit cigarette
thrown out a car window can be blown into the
vehicle behind you, causing property damage or
personal injury.

If a judge finds you guilty of littering, you may have
to pay up to a $1,000 fine and/or spend up to one year in jail.
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CHAPTER 8 — SAFE DRIVING TIPS
FOR EVERYDAY DRIVING

USE SEAT BELTS AND CHILD RESTRAINTS

Before you drive, always fasten your seat belt(s) and make sure all your
passengers are using seat belts or child restraints. Studies have shown
that if you use seat belts, your chances of being hurt or killed in a traffic
crash are greatly reduced.

Seat belts should always be worn with the lap belt low and snug across the
hips and the shoulder belt across the chest. Shoulder belts should never
be placed under the arm or behind the back. If your vehicle has a two-part
seat belt system, be sure to wear both the lap and shoulder belt.

Seat belts should be worn even if your vehicle is equipped with air
bags. While air bags are good protection against hitting the steering
wheel, dashboard, or windshield, they do not protect you if you are hit from
the side or rear, or if the vehicle rolls over. An air bag will not keep you
behind the wheel in these situations.

An unrestrained or improperly restrained occupant can be seriously injured
or killed by a deploying air bag. The National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration recommends drivers sit with at least 10 inches between the
center of their breastbone and the center of the steering wheel. Children
12 and under should always ride properly restrained in a rear seat. Never
put a rear-facing infant restraint in the front seat of a vehicle with a front
passenger air bag.

If you need more information about child seat safety, contact: Department
of Transportation, Highway Safety Division, web site: www.modot.gov;
phone: (800) 800-BELT.

SEAT BELTS — IT'S THE LAW

Missouri law requires the operator and front seat

occupants of all passenger vehicles to wear a @
properly adjusted and fastened seat belt. However, ¥
ALL passengers accompanying an intermediate “

. . . 1S
driver license holder must be properly restrained. n
CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT LAW
The law requires children of certain ages, weights BI.IBK IT
and heights to be restrained by a child passenger nn
restraint system, booster seat or safety belt when
transported in any motor vehicle other than a public TIGKET
carrier for hire or school bus.

AGE, WEIGHT AND HEIGHT CLASSIFICATIONS

e LESS THAN 4 YEARS OLD — Children less than four years old,
regardless of weight, shall be secured in a child passenger restraint
system appropriate for that child.
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e LESS THAN 40 POUNDS — Children weighing less than 40 pounds,
regardless of age, shall be secured in a child passenger restraint system
appropriate for that child.

¢ LESS THAN 8 YEARS OLD or 80 POUNDS OR UNDER 49" —
Children at least four years of age but less than eight years of age, who
also weigh at least 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds, and are also less
than 4'9” tall shall be secured in a child passenger restraint system or
booster seat appropriate for that child.

¢ CHILDREN AT LEAST 8 YEARS OLD, GREATER THAN 80 POUNDS
OR TALLER THAN 4’9" — Children at least 8 years old, at least 80
pounds or children more than 4'9” tall shall be secured by a vehicle
safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.

For more information on the Booster Seat Law refer to the Department of
Transportation web site: www.modot.org/boosterseats/.

DEFENSIVE DRIVING
To avoid making mistakes, or being in a crash because of someone else’s
mistake, you must drive defensively. As a defensive driver you should:

« Keep your eyes moving. Notice what is happening ahead of you and on
the sides of the road, and check behind you through your mirrors every
few seconds. Pay special attention to oncoming vehicles. Many head-
on collisions occur by distracted drivers crossing the centerline.

» Expect other drivers to make mistakes, and think what you would do
if a mistake does happen. For example, do not assume that a vehicle
coming to a stop sign is going to stop. Be ready to react if it does not
stop. Never cause a crash on purpose, even if a pedestrian or another
vehicle fails to give you the right-of-way.

< Do not rely on traffic signals or signs to keep others from crossing in
front of you. Some drivers may not obey traffic signals or signs. At an
intersection, look to the left and right, even if other traffic has a red light
or a stop sign.

PROPER POSTURE WHILE DRIVING

The way you sit and hold the steering wheel affects your driving. Good

posture can help you stay alert and in full control of your vehicle.

» Sit with your back straight, upright, and relaxed against the seat.

« Move your seat close enough so you can easily reach the pedals but
far enough away that your elbows are in front of you when you hold the
steering wheel.

* Keep both feet within reach of the floor controls.

» Keep both hands on the steering wheel.

STEERING

Use a proper grip. Place your left hand between the 7 & 9 o’clock positions
and your right hand between the 3 & 5 o'clock positions on the steering
wheel. This position is comfortable and allows you to make most turns
without taking your hands off the wheel.
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Look well down the road, not just at the road in front of your vehicle. Look
for traffic situations where you will need to steer or slow before you get to
them.

When turning corners, turn the steering wheel using the hand-over-hand
technique. Do not turn the wheel with just the palm of one hand, because
you could lose control. When you complete a turn, straighten out the
steering wheel by hand.

Steering Wheel Locking Device — Never turn your vehicle’s ignition key
to the “lock” position while your vehicle is still in motion. This will cause the
steering wheel to lock if you try to turn the steering wheel, and you will lose
control of your vehicle.

FOLLOWING OTHER VEHICLES

Be sure to keep a safe distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front
of you. You need a safe distance to stop or turn to avoid a crash. Rear-end
crashes are very common. They are caused by drivers who follow too closely
and cannot stop in time when the vehicle ahead suddenly stops.

THREE SECOND RULE

A good way to measure your safe following distance is to use the “three
second rule.” Choose an object near the road ahead, like a sign or
telephone pole. As the vehicle ahead of you passes it, count slowly, “One
thousand one, one thousand two, one thousand three.” If you reach the
object before you finish counting, you are too close to the vehicle ahead.

SPACE BEHIND

It is not always easy to maintain a safe distance behind your vehicle.

However, you can help keep the driver at a safe distance by keeping a

steady speed, and signaling in advance when you slow down. Follow these

safety tips:

« Try to find a safe place out of traffic to stop and pick up or let off
passengers.

 If you want to parallel park and there is traffic coming behind you, put on
your turn signal, pull next to the space, and allow vehicles to pass before
you park.

* When you have to drive so slowly that you slow down other vehicles, pull
to the side of the road when it is safe to do so, and let them pass. There
are turnout areas on some two-lane roads you could use. Other two-
lane roads sometimes have passing lanes.

« If you are followed too closely or “tailgated” by another driver, and there
is a right lane, move over to the right. If there is no right lane, wait until
the road ahead is clear and then reduce speed slowly. This will encourage
the tailgater to drive around you. Never slow down quickly to discourage
a tailgater. This will only increase your risk of being hit from behind.

SPACE TO THE SIDE
You need space on both sides of your vehicle to have room to turn or
change lanes.
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» Avoid driving next to other vehicles on multi-lane roads. Someone may
crowd your lane or try to change lanes and pull into you. Move ahead or
drop behind the other vehicle.

» Keep as much space as you can between yourself and oncoming
vehicles. On a two-lane road, this means not crowding the center line.
In general, it is safest to drive in the center of your lane.

» Make room for vehicles entering on a multi-lane roadway. If there is not
a vehicle in the lane next to you, move over a lane.

» Keep extra space between your vehicle and parked vehicles. Someone
could step out from a parked vehicle, from between vehicles, or a parked
vehicle could pull out.

» Give extra space to pedestrians or bicyclists, especially children. They
may move into your path quickly and without warning. Wait until it is
safe to pass.

* When possible, take potential hazards one at a time. For example, if
you are overtaking a bicycle and an oncoming vehicle is approaching,
slow down and let the vehicle pass first so you can give extra room to
the bicycle.

STOPPING DISTANCE

Your stopping distance equals your reaction distance plus your braking
distance. If you are driving fast, are very tired, or if your vehicle has bad
brakes, you will need more space to stop your vehicle.

The following distance equals your reaction distance plus your vehicle’'s
braking distance at different speeds. The reaction distance is the distance
you travel after you see a danger and before you apply your brakes. In the
chart shown below, the reaction distance is for 1.5 seconds. You have to
be alert to react within one and one-half seconds.

The braking distance is the distance you travel after you apply your brakes
and before your vehicle comes to a stop. In the chart shown below,

the braking distance is for a vehicle with good brakes and tires, in good
weather and on a good road.

AVERAGE STOPPING DISTANCE OF CARS ON DRY LEVEL PAVEMENT

Speed
MPH | i
i Reaction
20 [ ] 448 Distance (Feet)
30 | i 66/40 Braking
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| |
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| I
65 | ].'.' 1 : | | 14311?3
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0 100 200 300 400 500
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LETTING OTHERS KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING

Generally, other drivers expect you to keep doing what you are doing. You
must warn them when you are going to change direction or slow down.
This will give them time to react to what you do.

SIGNAL WHEN YOU CHANGE DIRECTION

You should use your turn signals before you change lanes, turn right or left,

merge into traffic, or park.

» Get into the habit of signaling every time you change direction. Signal
even when you do not see anyone else around. It is easy to miss
someone who needs to know what you are doing.

» Signal as early as you can. Try to signal at least 100 feet before you
make your move. If there are other streets, driveways, or entrances
between you and where you want to turn, wait until you have passed
them to signal.

« If another vehicle is about to enter the street between you and where
you plan to turn, wait until you have passed it to signal your turn.

» After you have made a turn or lane change, make sure your turn signal
is off. After small turns, the signal may not turn off by itself. Turn it off if
it has not clicked off by itself. If you do not, other drivers might think you

plan to turn again.

USING YOUR HORN

Do not use your horn unless you have to. Needless use of your horn may
distract other drivers and cause a traffic crash. There is only one reason to
use your horn: to warn other drivers. Your horn should not be used as a
display of anger or frustration.

“SLOW POKE” DRIVING

It is against the law for you to drive slower than the posted minimum speed
under normal driving conditions. You may drive more slowly than the minimum
speed if you are driving in bad weather, heavy traffic, or on a bad road.

If there is no posted minimum speed, it is still against the law for you to
drive so slowly that you block traffic. If you have to drive more slowly, and
vehicles line up behind you, you should pull over and let them pass. Many
crashes are caused by slow drivers who block other traffic. Remember,
slower is not always safer.

CARBON MONOXIDE

Beware of carbon monoxide poisoning. Vehicle motors give off carbon

monoxide which is a deadly gas. To avoid carbon monoxide poisoning:

» Do not leave the motor running in a garage.

» Do not leave the motor running and windows closed when you park your
vehicle.

» Do not use the heater or air conditioner in a parked vehicle with the
windows closed.

» Do not leave the vents open when following closely behind another
vehicle.

» Do not drive with a defective muffler or exhaust system.
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TIPS FOR AVOIDING A DEER-VEHICLE CRASH

You can reduce your odds of being involved in a deer-vehicle crash by
applying these precautionary measures:

Be especially alert and use caution when traveling through areas marked
with deer crossing signs.

Deer seldom travel alone. Chances are if you see one deer crossing a
road or notice a struck deer on the side of the road, there are others
nearby.

Be especially cautious in areas around fields, streams, and gardens
where deer tend to congregate.

Most deer-related crashes occur in January, May, and October through
December.

Highest-risk periods are from sunset to midnight and the hours shortly
before and after sunrise.

After dark, use high beams when there is no opposing traffic. High
beams will illuminate the eyes of deer on or near a roadway and provide
greater motorist reaction time.

To reduce the likelihood of serious injury in a crash, be sure all vehicle
occupants wear seat belts and children are properly restrained in child
safety seats.

If you see that a crash is unavoidable, do not swerve. Swerving off the
road or into the path of an oncoming car can increase the risk of injury.
Make sure there is no traffic behind you before slowing suddenly. Too
much brake pressure can cause the front end of the vehicle to drop
down, striking the deer in the legs and allowing the body to come into
the passenger compartment of the vehicle.

If you are involved in a crash:
1. Report the crash to a local law enforcement agency;

2. Obtain a police report (if required) to file a claim for coverage with
your insurance company; and

3. Contact a local Missouri Department of Conservation agent to report
where the crash occurred. This can help to identify frequent deer
crossing areas.
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WHAT IS DISTRACTED DRIVING?

Driving is a skill that requires your full attention to safely operate your
vehicle and respond to events happening around you. Driving involves
constant and complex coordination between your mind and body. Events or
things that prevent you from operating your car safely are distractions. All
distractions endanger driver, passenger, and bystander safety. These types
of distractions include, but are not limited to:

e Texting;

« Using a cell phone or smartphone;

« Eating and drinking;

» Talking to passengers;

e Grooming;

¢ Reading, including maps;

¢ Using a navigation system;

» Watching a video;

» Adjusting a radio, CD player, or MP3 player; and

» Surfing the Internet.

Because text messaging requires visual, manual, and cognitive attention
from the driver, it is by far the most high risk distraction. It is against the
law for any person 21 years of age or younger to read, write, or send a text
message or electronic message while operating a vehicle.

Are You Being Driven to Distraction?

« What do children, friends, and pets all have in common? All can be a
dangerous distraction to you while you are driving.

e Teach your young children that driving is an important job and that you
must concentrate when you are behind the wheel. If you need to attend to
your children, pull over to a safe place. Don't try to handle children while
you are driving.

« A carload of friends can be very distracting with loud talking, arguing over music
selections, or horseplay. Arguments and other disturbing conversations
should be held in a safe, appropriate place, not while you are driving in
your vehicle.

« A loose pet in a moving vehicle can be very dangerous. Properly secure
your pet in a pet carrier, portable kennel, or specially designed pet har
ness when you are driving. Never allow your pet to sit on your lap while
you are driving your vehicle.

Turning Dials Can Turn Your Head

« Making destination entries on an in-vehicle navigation system, radio
surfing for a good song, or adjusting your vehicle’s climate controls are
distracting activities that can put you in danger of a vehicle crash or
near-crash. The availability of in-vehicle Internet and e-mail access from
cell/smartphones, and other portable devices are added distractions that
increase your risk of a crash if you engage in these activities while driving.

« Adjust vehicle’s controls (climate controls, mirrors, radio, seat, etc.) before
you begin to drive.

» Check your e-mail, voicemail, and any other portable devices you have
before you begin driving.
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» Place a message on your cell phone stating you are driving and will call
them back later.

» Take advantage of normal stops to adjust controls.

» Ask your passengers to adjust the radio, climate control, navigation system,
etc., for you.

Looks Can Kill ...

Looking out your window at what you are passing while you are driving can
be a distraction if you are concentrating on getting a good look at:

» A crash scene;

» A vehicle pulled over by law enforcement;

* Construction work;

* A billboard advertisement;

A scenic view; or

 Street names and addresses.

Always focus on your driving. It's crucial that you remain alert while on the
road to arrive at your destination safely.
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CHAPTER 9 — SAFE DRIVING TIPS FOR
SPECIAL DRIVING CONDITIONS

NIGHT DRIVING

Driving at night is more difficult than driving during the day. Headlights do
not let you see as far ahead as you can in daylight, limit your view of the
sides of the road. The glare of oncoming headlights makes seeing the road
more difficult.

For driving at night, you should:

» Make sure your windows are clean.

* Turn your headlights on from Y2 hour after sunset until ¥2 hour before sunrise.

» Make sure your headlights are clean and working well. Have them
checked from time to time for correct aim.

» Use your high beams when there are no oncoming vehicles.

» Do not overdrive your headlights. Your headlights only let you see about 350
feet ahead. Be sure you are driving slow enough to stop or turn if needed.

» Use your low beams when you come within 500 feet (about one block) of
an oncoming vehicle. Also use your low beams when following another
vehicle within 300 feet.

» Slow down when nearing a curve if you are driving the maximum posted
speed limit.

» Use the edgeline as a guide. If there is no edgeline, use the center line
to guide you.

» Stay awake and alert. Do not drive if you feel tired.

« Watch carefully for highway signs as they are harder to see at night.

» Watch carefully for people and vehicles stopped on the side of the road.

HEADLIGHT USE
You must use your headlights any time weather conditions require the use
of your windshield wipers.

WINTER DRIVING

In winter, clean all snow and ice off your windows, headlights, and taillights.
Be sure your windshield wipers and defroster are working. No matter how
far you are going to drive, never start driving until all snow and ice is off
your windows.

Your vehicle should have tires that are rated for driving in snow. If you do
not have tires that are rated for driving in snow, you should have chains
ready to put on your tires during bad weather. But even if you have “snow”
tires or chains, you cannot drive safely on snow or ice at normal speeds. If
there is snow or ice on the road, slow down and do not use your vehicle’s
cruise control system.
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When starting on snow or ice, start slowly and smoothly. If your tires start
to spin, try clearing a path by driving backwards and forwards a few times.
If that does not help, spread some abrasive material like salt, sand, or cat
box litter around your wheels. NEVER let anyone stand in line with your
wheels. Your wheels may throw up gravel or ice and cause an injury.

Once you have started, try to get the feel of the road. Gently brake while
driving to see how slippery the road is and then adjust your speed for the
road conditions.

It will take longer to stop your vehicle when driving on snow or ice. So be
sure to leave a safe distance, about 8 to 10 seconds, between your vehicle
and any vehicle ahead of you.

When you want to slow down or stop, apply the brakes gently and
smoothly. Never slam on your brakes — this may cause you to skid. On
very slippery surfaces, pump the brakes by gently pushing down and letting
up on them several times. If your vehicle is equipped with an anti-lock
brake system, refer to your owner’s manual for proper braking techniques
in special situations.

Remember that bridges and overpasses will freeze and become slippery
before other parts of the road, and be aware that even on cleared roads a
few ice patches may still exist.

If you have a four-wheel drive vehicle, DO NOT use the four-wheel drive on
ice. Four-wheel drive vehicles can easily overturn on ice. If you hit an icy
patch in four-wheel drive, take your foot off the accelerator.

Remember, Ice and Snow. . . . Take it slow!

WET PAVEMENT

When it starts to rain, water mixes with the dust and oil on the road to form
a slick, greasy film. Fallen leaves can also become slippery. The wet
pavement may make it harder for you to stay on the road on curves. It will
also take longer to stop your vehicle. So be sure to slow your speed and
leave a safe distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you.
Do not use your vehicle’s cruise control system on wet pavement. The
cruise control system will continue to provide power to the tires if you lose
traction and may cause you to lose control.

HYDROPLANING — On wet pavement, your tires may ride on the water
rather than the pavement. This is known as “hydroplaning” and it refers to
loss of traction and control. Hydroplaning can happen at any speed over
35 mph. In a severe rainstorm, the tires can lose all contact with the road
at 55 mph.

If you think your tires are hydroplaning, take your foot off the accelerator
and slow down. Do not hit the brakes as this may cause you to skid.
To avoid hydroplaning:

« Have good tires with deep treads on your vehicle.

» Keep tires properly inflated.

* Slow down during rainstorms or when the pavement is wet.

» Do not use your vehicle’s cruise control system.
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ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS)

Four-wheel ABS is a safe, effective braking system when used properly.
It offers an important safety advantage by preventing the wheels from
locking during emergency braking situations. If your car is equipped with
ABS, you should be aware that under hard braking you may feel a pulsing
in the brake pedal. DO KEEP your foot on the brake. Maintain a firm
and continuous pressure on the brake while steering to enable the four-
wheel ABS to work properly. Remember, if your vehicle is equipped with
anti-lock brakes DON'T PUMP YOUR BRAKES, DON'T FORGET TO
STEER, AND DON'T BE ALARMED BY MECHANICAL NOISES AND/
OR SLIGHT PEDAL PULSATIONS. These conditions are normal and let
you know the ABS is working.

SKIDDING
Handling a skid is the same for front-wheel and rear-wheel drive vehicles.
Take your foot off the accelerator, but DO NOT hit the brakes.

« Gently turn your steering wheel in the direction that your rear wheels are
sliding.

« Be careful not to brake or turn sharply. Hitting the brakes or jerking the
steering wheel will only make the skid worse.

STEER INTO THE SKID

R

1. BEFORE 2.REAR 3. TURN 4. VEHICLE
SKID WHEELS FRONT STRAIGHT
SLIDE WHEELS AGAIN
TO RIGHT TO RIGHT
FOG

It is very dangerous to drive in fog. If you must drive in fog, you should:

« Reduce your speed.

« Be alert and ready to stop.

» Keep your headlights on low beam. In fog, you will see less if your
lights are on high beam.

« If the fog becomes so thick you cannot see, pull off the road and stop.
Leave your lights and emergency flashers ON.

HANDLING VEHICLE EMERGENCIES

The most important rule in any emergency is DO NOT PANIC. If you stay
calm, you will remember what you should do. If you have power steering
or a locking steering wheel, never turn off the ignition key until you have
come to a full stop.
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BRAKE FAILURE: If your brake pedal suddenly sinks to the floor:

Pump the brake pedal fast and hard several times. If that does not work...
Use your emergency or parking brake, but use it gradually.

Shift to a low gear and look for a place to slow to a stop.

Make sure your vehicle is off the road.

5. After the vehicle has stopped, call for help. Do not try to drive to a garage.

AN PE

TIRE BLOWOUT: If you have a tire blowout, you may hear a loud “bang”
then “thump, thump, thump.” The steering wheel may jerk, and you may
lose control of your vehicle.

1. Hold the steering wheel tightly.

Take your foot off the accelerator, but do not hit the brakes.

Let your vehicle slow to a stop completely off the road.

Apply the brakes when the vehicle is almost stopped.

Turn on your emergency flashers.

Change the tire only if you can do so without placing yourself in danger.

o0k wN

RUNNING OFF THE PAVEMENT: If your wheels run off the paved edge

of the road, the wheels may pull to the right:

1. Hold the steering wheel tightly.

2. Take your foot off the accelerator, but do not hit the brakes. Only
apply gentle brake pressure if necessary.

3. When the vehicle has slowed and you have control of your vehicle,
turn back onto the pavement if the lane is free of traffic.

STEERING FAILURE: If your vehicle does not turn when you turn the wheel:

1. Take your foot off the accelerator.

2. Let your vehicle slow down by itself. Do not hit the brakes until your
vehicle has almost stopped or unless you have to.

3. Turn on your emergency flashers.

HEADLIGHT FAILURE: If your vehicle’s headlights go out:

1. Try the dimmer switch or headlight switch, that might turn them on
again. If that does not work...

2. Put on the parking lights, emergency flashers, or turn signals.

3. Pull off the road, but leave the emergency flashers on.

STUCK ACCELERATOR: If your accelerator becomes stuck, you should:

Shift to neutral.

Apply the brakes.

Keep your eyes on the road.

Look for a way out.

Warn other drivers by honking and flashing your emergency lights.
Try to drive the car safely off the road.

When you no longer need to change direction and have stopped, turn
off the ignition. (Turning off the key locks the steering wheel of many
vehicles.)

NookwdpE
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BLOCKED VISION: If your hood suddenly flies open, your windshield

wipers fail, or something else blocks your vision:

1. Roll down the window so you can look around whatever is blocking
your view.

2. Turn on your emergency flashers.

3. Pull your vehicle off the road.

VEHICLE APPROACHING HEAD-ON IN YOUR LANE:

1. Slow down.

2. Pull over to the right and sound your horn.

3. DO NOT swing over into the left lane. The other driver may pull back
over into that lane too.

STALLING ON RAILROAD TRACKS:

If a train is approaching:

1. Unfasten your seat belt, get out of your vehicle, and off the tracks.

2. Runin the direction the train is coming from. (If you run in the
direction the train is heading, you may be hit with debris when the train
hits your vehicle.)

If there is no train in sight:

1. Roll down your windows and listen for the train.

2. Try to start the engine. If that fails...

3. Put your vehicle in neutral and push it off the tracks.

12 AND 15 PASSENGER VAN SAFETY:

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) has determined that 12-
and 15-passenger vans are inherently unstable when loaded to the level for
which they are designed, carrying more than ten passengers. The NTSB
recommends that all drivers of 12- and 15-passenger vans obtain specific
training on the handling and operation of these types of vehicles. For more
information regarding 12- and 15-passenger van safety, you may visit the
NTSB’s web site at www.ntsb.gov.
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CHAPTER 10 — BE IN SHAPE TO DRIVE

ALCOHOL, DRUGS, AND DRIVING

Driving a motor vehicle is a privilege. It takes skill and common sense.
Alcohol or drugs or fatigue will cause your driving to suffer, and it is your
responsibility to know when you are not in shape to drive. Driving under
the influence of alcohol or drugs, even medicine, or driving when you're
tired can have deadly consequences — for you, your passengers, and
other motorists.

Drinking and driving is not worth the risk to your life and the lives of others.
Even a small amount of alcohol may affect your driving ability. If you are
going to drink, let someone else drive who has not been drinking.

Missouri laws are tough if you are found guilty of drinking or using drugs
while driving. You may pay a fine, lose your license, and even go to jail.

If you injure or kill someone because you were drinking or using drugs
while driving, you may:

e Spend 2 to 7 years in jail,
» Pay a $5,000 fine, and/or
» Lose your driver license for 5 years.

When a police officer stops you and suspects you have been drinking,
the officer may ask you to take some tests like walking heel to toe or
standing on one leg. These tests will help the officer decide if you should
be arrested and have a chemical test of your breath, blood, or urine. The
result of this test is known as your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
level.

ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS

If your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is .08% or more (or for
minors .02% or more), the officer will take your license away and give

you a notice. This notice tells you that your license will be suspended or
revoked (and you will not be able to legally drive) after 15 days. The notice
includes a 15-day driving permit that you can use if the officer indicates this
on the notice. The notice also allows you to request a hearing or, if eligible,
request an Immediate 90-Day restricted driving privilege (RDP). If you are
given a hearing, you may continue to legally drive until 15 days after a
decision is mailed to you.

There are two types of actions that may be taken against you for driving
when you are not fit to drive. There are administrative actions and court
convicted actions, which carry different penalties.
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The following chart shows the administrative actions that you can expect to
face if you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Administrative
Action

Driver License Suspension/
Revocation/Denial

To Get Your
License Back

License
Suspension

1st Offense - 90 day suspension

* You may be eligible for a
90-Day or 60-Day restricted
driving privilege.

*2nd Offense - 90 day suspension,
for a 2nd offense that occurred
outside a 5-year period

* You may be eligible for a 90-Day
or 60-Day restricted driving
privilege.

License
Revocation

*2nd Offense within a 5-year
period - 1-Year license revocation

Please see
page 80
for
Reinstatement
Requirements

*Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installation required for reinstatement.

COURT CONVICTED ACTIONS
If you receive a ticket and a judge finds you guilty of Driving While
Intoxicated (DWI) or Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .08% or more,
you will not be able to legally drive after the ticket is sent to the department.
Your license will be suspended, revoked, or denied based on your past
driving record and the points added to your record. You will be notified by
mail when you must stop driving. The chart on the next page shows the
consequences of a court convicted action like DWI or BAC:
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Driver License

To Get Your

4th Offense -
Spendupto 7
years in jail.
Pay up to a
$5,000 fine.

5th Offense -
Spend between
5 and 15 years
in jail.

of August 28, 2009
or after can be used
toward a five-year
denial.

*3rd Offense - 10-year
license denial.

*3rd and Subsequent
Offenses - 10-year
license denial.

Crime Fines/Jail Suspension, License Back
Revocation, or Denial
BAC 1st Offense - | 1st Offense -
Driving/ Spend up to 6 | 90 day suspension
operating a | months in jail. . -
vghicle with | Pay uptoa fYo?Z"g"S_yDT (;I:glble
08% Blood $500 fine. y.
AI ‘;] I 60-Day restricted
coho i Vi
Content or ond Offense - driving privilege.
Spendupto 1l
more y::rnin ljJ(,f” ° *2nd Offense - 1-year
and/or ;fgo%pf.to a license revocation. Please see
ne- *2nd Offense Within 5 80
DWI Y 5 li page
Driving 3rd Offense - Senial ea_rsl - o-yearlicense for
while Spendupto | S Reinstatement
intoxicated. | 4 years in jail. NOTE: Onlv a BAC .
Pay upto a ST Ny Requirements
$5,000 fine. with a conviction date

*11D installation required for reinstatement.
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MISSOURI'S ABUSE AND LOSE LAW

If you are younger than 21 years of age, your driver license may be

taken away for 90 days for any of the following:

» Any alcohol-related traffic offense

« If you possess or use alcohol or drugs while driving a vehicle

« If you alter, modify, or misrepresent a driver license

« If you are under 18 years of age and possess or use alcohol and are
charged with a second offense.

If you are 21 years of age or older, you may have your driver license

taken away for one year if you possess or use drugs while driving. To get

your license back, you must:

* Pay a $45 fee

« Submit a form showing you completed a Substance Abuse Traffic
Offender Program (SATOP) or comparable program

Minor in Possession (MIP) and Other Alcohol Offenses

If you are older than 15 years of age and under 21 years of age, a state
court may suspend or revoke your driver license for any of the following:

» Purchasing or attempting to purchase any intoxicating liquor

» Possessing any intoxicating liquor (consumption constitutes possession).
» Being visibly intoxicated as defined in Section 577.001, RSMo.

» Having a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of more than .02%

The following chart shows the consequences a young person faces for MIP
and other alcohol offenses:

Driver License

Suspension/ To Get Your
Crime Revocation License Back
MIP 1st Offense — 30-day | Pay a $45 fee, and attend a
Minor in suspension Substance Abuse Traffic
Possession Offender Program (SATOP)
2nd Offense — 90-day| or comparable program.
suspension

3rd Offense — 1-year
revocation

PROOF OF INSURANCE

If you are facing consequences of a DWI or BAC, you will be required to
file proof of insurance with the Driver License Bureau. The most common
method of filing proof of insurance is an SR-22 insurance filing. Proof

of insurance must be kept on file with the Driver License Bureau for two
years. If you do not keep proof of insurance on file, your driver license
will be suspended for the rest of the two years unless you file proof of
insurance and pay a $20 fee.
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There is one exception to this rule: Minors with a BAC of .02% or more do
not have to file proof of insurance on a first offense.

More information about insurance is included in Chapter 13 of this Guide.

Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test of Your Blood Alcohol
Concentration (BAC)

If a police officer stops you and you refuse to take a chemical test to determine
your BAC, your driver license will be taken away for one year. Your driver
license may be reinstated if you submit the requirements listed below.

Reinstatement Requirements for Alcohol-Related Offenses

Your license will be reinstated if you:

» Pay a $45 fee;

» Submit a form showing you completed a Substance Abuse Traffic
Offender Program (SATOP) or comparable program;

» Provide proof of insurance for two years (SR-22 filing);and

» Have an ignition interlock device (lID) installed on any vehicle you
operate for at least six months from date of reinstatement if you have
more than one alcohol-related enforcement contact.

Ignition Interlock

An ignition interlock device (1ID) is a mechanical unit that is connected to
the vehicle’s ignition, horn, and headlights and measures the concentration
of alcohol in a person’s breath. The IID requires vehicle operators to
provide a breath sample before starting the vehicle and periodically during
the operation of the vehicle.

If you have more than one alcohol-related contact showing on your driver
record, you must have an IID installed on any vehicle you operate before
your driving privilege can be reinstated. The IID must be maintained for
a minimum of six months from your reinstatement date without violations.
You must pay for having the device installed and for having it serviced
every month. If you fail to maintain the IID your driving privilege will be
re-suspended. You will be required to have the device serviced/installed,
send proof to the Driver License Bureau, and pay a $20 reinstatement fee
before having your driving privilege reinstated.

In addition to driver licensing requirements, a court may impose other
requirements such as: 11D use for the first DWI conviction; or use of a
device for longer than six months.

If you receive a ticket for failing to have an IID installed as required by
law and you are convicted in court, your driving privilege will be revoked
for one-year. A second offense requires your driving privilege to be taken
away for five years.

To locate a list of approved ignition interlock devices and installers, visit
www.modot.mo.gov/safety/ImpairedDriving.htm or contact the Missouri
Department of Transportation at 800-801-3588.
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CHAPTER 11 — THE POINT SYSTEM AND
HOW IT AFFECTS YOU

Driving is a privilege, not a right. You can lose your driving privilege if you
disobey the traffic laws. When you are convicted of a traffic violation, while
your vehicle was in motion, the department receives notice and adds points
to your driving record. This isn't like a football or basketball game — you
don’t want these points. You can lose your driving privilege when you
accumulate too many points.

The number of points you receive depends on the conviction. For example,
you may receive 2 or 3 points if you are convicted of speeding (depending
on if the court was municipal, county, or state level). By contrast, you may
receive 12 points and the revocation of your driving privilege if you are
convicted of leaving the scene of a traffic crash.

The following are examples of some state law violations and the point
values associated with them:

Violation Point Value
SPEEAING ..eeeiieiiiiiie et 3 points
Careless & Imprudent DriViNg .........ccccceeeeiiiiieeeeennns 4 points
Knowingly Allowing an Unlicensed Driver

to Operate a Vehicle........cccccocvveveei i, 4 points
A Felony Involving a Motor Vehicle............cccceeveens 12 points
Obtaining a Driver License by

Misrepresentation............ccoccceeeeeiiiiieieee e 12 points
Operating a Vehicle with a Suspended

or Revoked Driver LICENSE .......cccecevvvivvereeeeiinen, 12 points

RACKING UP POINTS: THE CONSEQUENCES
If you accumulate a total of 4 points in 12 months, the department will send
you a point accumulation advisory.

If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, your driving
privilege will be suspended. Below are the consequences for accumulating
8 points in 18 months:

« 1st suspension — 30 days

« 2nd suspension — 60 days

« 3rd (or subsequent) suspension — 90 days

Your driving privilege will be revoked for one year if you accumulate:
e 12 or more points in 12 months
18 or more points in 24 months
e 24 or more points in 36 months

Depending on whether your suspension or revocation was related to
alcohol, there are different reinstatement requirements.

For a non-alcohol related point suspension or revocation, you will need to:
e Submit proof of insurance (SR-22) and
« Pay a $20 reinstatement fee.
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For an alcohol-related point suspension or revocation, you will need to
submit the reinstatement requirements on page 80.

Details about submitting proof of insurance (SR-22) can be found in
Chapter 13, Mandatory Insurance.

HOW POINTS COME OFF YOUR DRIVING RECORD

When your driving privilege is reinstated, the department reduces your total
points to 4. Every year you drive without getting new points on your record,
the points will be reduced.

« After 1 year — Remaining points will be reduced by one-third
« After 2 years — Remaining points will be reduced by one-half
« After 3 years — Points reduced to zero

Although your points may be reduced to zero, certain convictions must
remain listed permanently on your driving record.

OTHER CONSEQUENCES

Driving While Your License is Suspended or Revoked

If you drive while your license is suspended, your driving privilege may be
revoked for one year after you are convicted. If you continue to drive while
your license is revoked, you may be convicted of a felony and have your
license revoked again for one year.

Failure to Appear in Court for Traffic Violations (FACT)

When you fail to appear in court for a traffic violation, the court will notify
you within 10 days of your failure to comply. The court will give you 30
days to pay the fines before the court notifies the Driver License Bureau.
If you do not comply within 30 days, the court will notify the Driver
License Bureau of your failure to comply, and your driving privilege will be
suspended immediately.

If this happens to you, your driving privilege will be suspended until the
Bureau receives:

« Proof that the ticket is paid and

* A $20 reinstatement fee.

If your license is suspended for FACT, you may get your driving privilege
reinstated in one of three ways.
1. Take the reinstatement requirements to a license office. The information
will be faxed to the Driver License Bureau in Jefferson City for review.
A reinstatement letter will be prepared and faxed to the license office
to be given to you. If your driver license was previously surrendered, a
temporary driving receipt will also be faxed. Your driver license will be
mailed to you from the Driver License Bureau in Jefferson City.

2. Mail the reinstatement requirements to the Driver License Bureau, P.O.
Box 3950, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-3950.

3. Bring the reinstatement requirements to the Driver License Bureau in the
Harry S Truman State Office Building at 301 West High Street, Jefferson
City, Missouri, in Room 470. Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday (except holidays).
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CHAPTER 12 — VEHICLE TITLING
AND REGISTRATION

TITLING YOUR VEHICLE

Whether you are a Missouri resident buying a new vehicle or a new resident
who recently moved to Missouri, you have 30 days to visit your local license
office and take care of your legal responsibilities to title your vehicle.

A title is proof that you own your vehicle. When you buy a vehicle, you
must apply for a title within 30 days. If you do not apply within 30 days,
you will have to pay a penalty fee.

You may apply for a title at any license office. The title will cost $8.50, and
you will be required to pay a $2.50 processing fee. You will have to pay all
state and local sales taxes due. For information on the amount of sales tax
you will have to pay, contact any license office, call (573) 526-3669, or visit
our website at www.dor.mo.gov and enter “sales tax calculator” into the
search box.

When you apply for a title, you will receive a receipt. You will receive your
title in the mail from the Department of Revenue.

A title is a very important personal document. Do NOT keep your title in
your vehicle.

WHAT YOU NEED TO GET A TITLE

The requirements are different for new and used vehicles and for vehicles
bought in Missouri and outside Missouri. Following is a description of the
requirements for these situations.

VEHICLES BOUGHT IN MISSOURI

« New Vehicle Bought in Missouri — The dealer will give you a title
application and an assigned Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin. The
Manufacturer's Statement of Origin indicates the vehicle is new and has
never been registered. You (the purchaser) and the dealer must complete
the odometer disclosure portion on the back of the Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin.

Used Vehicle Bought in Missouri — You must receive a properly
assigned title (see below for an explanation) from the seller that proves
you have bought the vehicle. If you bought the used vehicle from a
dealer, you should also receive a completed title application. A proper
odometer disclosure on the back of the title is required on vehicles

that are less than 10 years old. If the title assigned to you is an out-of-
state title, you must get an identification number and odometer (ID/OD)
verification form completed by a licensed inspection station.

VEHICLES BOUGHT OUT-OF-STATE (NOT IN MISSOURI)

* New Vehicle Bought Out-of-State — You must receive the dealer’s
invoice or a bill of sale and assigned Manufacturer's Statement of
Origin from the out-of-state dealer. You (the purchaser) and the dealer
must complete the odometer disclosure portion on the back of the
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin.
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Used Vehicle Bought Out-of-State — You must receive either a properly
assigned title (see below for an explanation) from the seller or a
reassigned title from the dealer. If the state does not require a title, you
must get a bill of sale and the vehicle’s last certificate of registration in
that state. A proper odometer disclosure is required on vehicles less
than 10 years old. If the title assigned to you is an out-of-state title, you
must get an identification number and odometer (ID/OD) verification form
completed by a licensed inspection station.

Properly Assigned Titles
A properly assigned title has the following information completed in the
assignment area:

« Buyer's name and address;

« Odometer reading, if applicable;

» Sale price of vehicle;

» Date of the sale;

« Name of any lienholder, if applicable;

« Signature and printed name of all sellers; and

» Buyer's printed hame and signature, if applicable.

Salvage Vehicles
For information on titling a vehicle bought for salvage, dismantling, or
rebuilding, call (573) 526-3669, or write to:

Missouri Department of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Bureau

301 West High Street, Room 370

P.O. Box 100

Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100

Odometer Readings

When you buy or sell a vehicle that is less than 10 years old, the seller
must write the mileage reading on the title assignment. If the vehicle is
new, the odometer reading must be on the Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin. Both the buyer and the seller must print and sign their names
verifying the mileage. In some instances, a separate odometer statement
may be required.

REGISTERING YOUR VEHICLE

If you are a Missouri resident, you are required to register your vehicle in
Missouri. If you are a new Missouri resident, you must register your vehicle
within 30 days of becoming a Missouri resident.

If you are a new Missouri resident, you must surrender your out-of-state
title and apply for a Missouri title. If a financial institution has your title,
you must provide your out-of-state registration, lienholder's name, and
lienholder’s address. The license office will generate a letter for you

to send to your lienholder. After you surrender your out-of-state title, a
Missouri title will be issued and mailed to you.

When you register your vehicle in Missouri, you will receive Missouri
license plates and a year tab located on the plate.
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You may register your vehicle at any license office. If you are registering
a passenger vehicle, your registration fee will be based on your vehicle’s
taxable horsepower. If you are registering a commercial vehicle, your
registration fee will be based on its zone and gross weight. An additional
processing fee will apply.

You may be eligible to obtain a two-year registration for your vehicle.
During an even-numbered year (like 2008) you may register for two years if
your vehicle has an even-numbered model year. Likewise, during an odd-
numbered year (like 2009) you may register for two years if your vehicle
has an odd-numbered model year. Otherwise, only a one-year registration
is available.

What You Need to Register Your Vehicle

About two months before your vehicle registration expires, you should
receive a renewal notice in the mail. If you do not receive the notice, you
are still required by law to renew your license plates before they expire.

To ensure you receive a renewal notice, remember to update your address
if you move. You can e-mail dormail@dor.mo.gov and include your full
name, old and new address, your driver license number or last four digits of
your Social Security Number, and your vehicle’s license plate number(s).

The renewal notice will list your requirements to renew your vehicle
registration. Make sure to read the list and bring the required documents
to the license office with you. The requirements are listed below but all of
them may not apply to you.

* Renewal notice from the department, a registration receipt from the
previous year, or a copy of your title.

Paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment
from the county in which you reside (or city of St. Louis) for the period of
your previous registration. (If you had a one-year registration, show the
previous year’s receipt. If you had a two-year registration, show receipts
from the previous two years.)

Current insurance identification card or other proof of financial
responsibility (refer to Chapter 13 for detailed information).

Current certificate of safety and/or emissions inspection done within the
last 60 days, if applicable (refer to Chapter 14 for more information).

» The correct registration/processing fee.

TIP! You may also be able to renew your plates online at www.plates.mo.gov.
If you are eligible for this convenient option, a Personal Identification Number
(PIN) will be printed on your renewal notice.
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OTHER INFORMATION

Selling a Vehicle

State law requires you to report the sale of your motor vehicle or all-terrain
vehicle by completing a Notice of Sale (Form 5049) and submitting it to any
license office or to the address on the form within 30 days.

Stolen License Plates and Tabs

State law allows you to replace stolen license plates/tabs up to two times
per year at NO COST (a $3.50 processing fee is applicable) if you sign a
notarized affidavit certifying the plates or tabs were stolen.

Lost or Destroyed Title, Plates, or Tabs

If your license plate(s), tab(s), or title is lost or destroyed, you must apply
for a replacement. The charge for a replacement title is $8.50; the charge
for replacement plates is $8.50 per plate; and the charge for a set of
replacement tabs is $8.50. An additional processing fee of $3.50 will also

apply.

The standard Missouri license plate bear the words “Missouri” and “SHOW
ME STATE” at the top of the plate and the state bird and state flower at the
bottom of the plate. A color-coded year tab is affixed to the license plate.

Personalized and Specialty License Plates

You have the option to obtain personalized or specialty license plates for
your vehicle. In addition to the normal registration fee, there may be an
additional personalized plate fee. Information regarding personalized and
specialty license plates may be found online at:
www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/plates.
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CHAPTER 13 — MANDATORY INSURANCE

THE BASICS

State law requires all motor vehicle operators and owners to have a form of
liability insurance. Liability insurance covers the policyholder’s legal liability
resulting from injuries to other persons or damage to their property. This is
called Financial Responsibility.

Motor vehicle owners are required to show proof of insurance when

registering a vehicle or renewing their license plates. There are several

ways you can provide proof of insurance. They are listed below:

« A copy of your original, current insurance identification card given to you
by your insurance company

« A copy of your motor vehicle liability insurance policy or insurance binder
(a temporary policy)

< A paid insurance receipt showing the policy information

« A certificate of self-insurance issued by the department

« An ID card issued by the department when a surety bond, real estate

bond, or security is filed with the department

Hand held electronic device

Most drivers obtain liability insurance through an insurance company or

agent, but there are other forms of liability insurance:

« Self-insurance: To be self-insured, you must have more than 25 vehicles
and be able to show you can and will pay for damage caused by your
vehicles. A certificate of self-insurance will be issued to you by the
Department of Revenue.

« Surety bond, Real Estate bond, Certificate of Deposit, Other Negotiable
Securities: To insure through a bond, deposit, or security, you must file
the bond, certificate, or security in the amount of $60,000 (or $120,000 if
a real estate bond) with the Department of Revenue. The department will
issue you a certificate of self-insurance as proof of insurance.

» Cash: A deposit of $60,000 cash may be deposited with the State
Treasurer. A certificate of self-insurance will be issued to you by the
department.

Minimum Coverage Requirements

Liability insurance covers your legal liability when injuries or property
damage happen to others as a result of your actions. The minimum level
of coverage required by state law is shown below:

» $25,000 per person for bodily injury

 $50,000 per crash for bodily injury

» $10,000 per crash for property damage

The law also requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000
for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per crash.

Maintaining Your Insurance

When you register a vehicle with the department, you must sign a form

stating that you have insurance and will keep insurance on your vehicle.
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You must keep proof of insurance in your vehicle. If a law enforcement
officer asks you for proof and you cannot show it, you will receive a ticket.

At any time, the department may require you to show proof of insurance.
If you are in a crash and did not show proof of insurance at the time, the
department will require you to prove you have insurance.

Failure to Keep Insurance

Insurance is important. There are a number of consequences if you fail to
keep your insurance — not only can it cost you a lot of money if you are in
a crash, but you may lose your driver license and license plates.

If the department learns you have not kept your insurance, you will receive
a notice of suspension in the mail. Your driver license and license plates
may be taken away or suspended for not having insurance. In order to get
your license and license plates back, there are certain requirements you
must meet.

Number of What Happens to You
Suspensions

1 suspension Your driver license and/or license plates will be
suspended until you:

— Pay a $20 fee.

— File proof of insurance. You are required to do
this for 3 years.

2 suspensions Your driver license and/or license plates will be
(within 2 years suspended for 90 days. You must also:
of each other) — Pay a $200 fee.

— File proof of insurance for 3 years.
3 (or more) Your driver license and/or license plates will be
suspensions suspended for one year. You must also:

— Pay a $400 fee.
— File proof of insurance for 3 years.

The most common way to file proof of insurance is through an SR-22
insurance filing. Contact your insurance company or agent to file the
SR-22 form. If you fail to keep insurance for three years, your driver
license and/or vehicle license plates will be suspended again.

Failure to Pay for Damages Caused in a Traffic Accident

If you are at fault in an accident and do not pay for the damages you

caused, your driver license and/or vehicle license plates will be suspended

for one year. You may be reinstated during that one-year period if you do

the following:

* Pay a $20 fee.

« Send proof to the Department of Revenue Driver License Bureau that you
have settled the damages.
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TRAFFIC CRASHES

A traffic crash is when you injure yourself, injure someone else, or cause
damage to property while driving your vehicle. Driving responsibly and
defensively can reduce your chances of being in a crash, but nothing can
totally prevent it. Even if you have a crash with a parked vehicle, do not
leave. Leaving the scene of a traffic crash is a crime. If you are in a crash,
you should:

« STOP! Move your vehicle off the road if possible, especially if it may
cause other crashes.

e Help anyone who is hurt. Try to make the injured person comfortable, but
do not move him or her. Call an ambulance.
Call the police.

Use flares, reflectors, or flashlights to warn other traffic if the crash has
happened at night or in bad weather.

Exchange the following information with everyone involved:
* Name
e Address

« Driver license number, vehicle identification number (VIN), and
license plate number

* Name of your insurance company and policy humber

« Stay until a law enforcement officer says you may leave the crash scene.

« Contact your insurance company as soon as possible, even if the crash
wasn'’t your fault.

“Steer It and Clear It”
If you're involved in a minor traffic crash, one of the first thoughts you might
have is whether or not you should move your vehicle. The answer is yes.

A state law that took effect 10 years ago requires vehicles involved in
minor, non-injury crashes to move off the road. The Missouri Department
of Transportation is using the 10-year anniversary to remind motorists to
“steer it and clear it” to ensure minor traffic crashes don't turn into major
pileups. The agency is also putting up signs in the St. Louis and Kansas
City areas with the “steer it and clear it” message.

“If you're involved in a minor traffic crash and there aren’t any injuries, you
need to move your vehicle onto the shoulder or other nearby location off of
the roadway. Every minute a vehicle stops on the freeway and blocks one

lane of traffic, it backs up approaching traffic for four minutes.”

The law, known as the “Move It” law also helps reduce the chance of
motorists being involved in secondary crashes, which cause 18 percent of
fatalities in Missouri.
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Filing an Accident Report

Under certain circumstances, you are required to file an accident report with
the department. State law requires the accident report to be filed within

30 days. Even if the accident happened in a parking lot, or a settlement is
made, you must report an accident to the Driver License Bureau if:

1. The accident happened in Missouri;
2. The accident happened less than one year ago;

3. Someone involved in the accident did not have liability insurance
coverage; AND

4. There is damage to one or more person’s property in excess of $500,
or there was personal injury or death.

In other circumstances, you may not be required to report the accident,
but you may want to report it anyway. If the accident did not cause more
than $500 in property damage, personal injury, or death, you may still

file an accident report if there was an uninsured motorist involved. The
department will only be able to take action against the uninsured motorist
for not maintaining insurance.

You may obtain an accident report from the department’s website at
www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl, from your insurance company or agent, or from
any license office.

After you fill out the accident report, you may mail or fax it to the department:
Missouri Driver License Bureau
301 West High Street — Room 470
Post Office Box 200
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0200
FAX: (573) 526-7365
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CHAPTER 14 — SAFETY AND EMISSIONS
INSPECTIONS AND REQUIRED EQUIPMENT

SAFETY INSPECTIONS

Safety inspections are required to register or renew the registration on
many motor vehicles. There are some exceptions, which are discussed in
the next section.

Chapter 10 discussed that you need to be in shape to drive. Just the same,
your vehicle needs to be in shape to be driven.

Your vehicle safety inspection is good for two registration years unless you
sell the vehicle. “Even” model year vehicles (like 2008) must be inspected
when their registration expires during “even” calendar years. “Odd” model
year vehicles (like 2007) must be inspected when their registration expires
during “odd” calendar years. Each official inspection station may charge an
inspection fee not to exceed $12 (or up to $10 for a motorcycle inspection).

If your vehicle passes the safety inspection, the inspection station will give
you a certificate of inspection to show as proof. The certificate is good for
60 days.

Your vehicle registration renewal notice will indicate whether an inspection
is required for your next renewal.

Exceptions to the Requirement

The following types of vehicles are exempt from the safety inspection
requirement:

Motor vehicles are exempt for the first five years following the model year of
manufacture even when there is a change of ownership. This includes
vehicles with an out-of-state title. Example: A 2007 model year vehicle is
exempt from safety inspection in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012.
All trailers

Motor vehicles engaged in intrastate commerce and registered with the
Missouri Department of Transportation

Motor vehicles that display historic license plates

Motor vehicles sold for junk, salvage, or rebuilding

Motor vehicles sold from dealer to dealer

Low speed vehicles as defined in Section 304.029, RSMo

Motor vehicles registered for 26,000 pounds or above and registered for
a period of less than 12 months. Note: Renewal notice will list a safety
inspection requirement; however, if the office issues/renews the
registration on or after April 1st an inspection is not required.

If your vehicle does not fit into the exceptions (r )
listed above, it will be required to pass a safety 0 F F l C |A L
inspection. Any licensed inspection station may
inspect your vehicle for safety. Authorized stations
will display the sign shown on the bottom of page
92. Read your motor vehicle renewal notice to find
out whether your vehicle needs a safety inspection. mspEB"UN s'm'"u"

VEHICLE
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Equipment Needed
BRAKES — Brakes must be in good working order.
HEADLIGHTS — Your vehicle must have at least two white headlights.

TAILLIGHTS — Your vehicle must have at least two red taillights and
reflectors that other drivers can see from 500 feet.

SIGNALING DEVICES — Your vehicle must have turn signals and brake
lights as originally installed by the manufacturer.

STEERING MECHANISM — Your vehicle’s steering mechanism must not
have too much play or binding.

TIRES AND WHEELS — You must not have bald or mismatched tires on
your vehicle.

SAFETY GLASS — If your vehicle was made after January 1, 1936, it
must have safety glass in all windows.

WINDSHIELD — The viewing area of your windshield may not be badly
broken.

VISION REDUCING MATERIAL — Your vehicle must not have anything
on the windshield that will reduce your visibility, except labels and stickers
required by law or ordinance, and informational signs on the upper portion
of the windshield normally tinted by manufacturers.

WINDSHIELD WIPERS — Your vehicle’s windshield wipers must work.

SEAT BELTS — If your passenger car was made after June 30, 1964, it
must have two sets of seat belts in the front seat.

HORN — Your vehicle must have a horn that other drivers and pedestrians
can hear.

EXHAUST SYSTEM — Your vehicle must have an attached exhaust pipe,
muffler, and tailpipe.

MIRRORS — If your vehicle was made after 1967, it must have an inside
and an outside rearview mirror.

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL DEVICES — If your vehicle was made after
1967 and does not have a diesel motor, it must have air pollution control
devices. These pollution control devices must be as originally installed by
the manufacturer.

FUEL SYSTEM — The fuel system, including all lines, hoses, connections,
and tank(s), must be firmly attached and must not leak.

MUD FLAPS — Trucks without rear fenders, registered for over 24,000
pounds, must have mud flaps.

BUMPERS — Bumpers on passenger vehicles may not exceed 22 inches
above the ground when measured at the highest point. Commercial vehicle
bumper heights are determined by gross vehicle weight rating.
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Other Equipment Required by Law
In addition to the equipment needed to pass the safety inspection, Missouri
law requires the following equipment:

LICENSE (REGISTRATION) PLATES — Missouri law requires that license
plates be securely fastened to a vehicle, and that all parts of the plates are
visible and clean for view or inspection by any law enforcement entity. If
you have frames around your license plates, the Missouri State Highway
Patrol reminds you that the frames must not cover any part of the plates.

If you receive two plates, you must place one on the front and one on the
back of your vehicle.

If you have a trailer or a motorcycle, you will only receive one plate, which
must be on the back of your vehicle.

If you have a truck licensed in excess of 12,000 pounds, you will only
receive one plate, which must be placed on the front of the truck. If you
want a second plate, it must be specifically requested. You must place the
original plate on the front of your truck and if a second plate is issued, it
must be placed on the rear of the truck.

LICENSE PLATE LIGHT — Your vehicle must have a white light shining
on the rear license plate so the plate can be seen from 50 feet.

PROJECTIONS — You need special equipment if something in your
vehicle overhangs the rear by more than 5 feet. During the day, the end of
the projection must have a red flag or cloth that is at least 16” square. The
end of the projection must have a red light from %2 hour after sunset until %2
hour before sunrise.

TOWLINES — When you are towing another vehicle, your towline must
keep the vehicles within 15 feet of each other. From ¥ hour after sunset
until ¥ hour before sunrise, both vehicles must have lights on.

SLOW MOVING VEHICLE SIGN — From sunset to %2 hour before sunrise,
any vehicle moving 25 mph or slower must have a “slow moving vehicle”
sign (refer to Chapter 3). The sign must be on the rear of the vehicle, near
the middle, and 4 feet or more above the road. The sign must be clean
and reflective.

STUDDED SNOW TIRES — Your vehicle may have studded snow tires
only from November 1 to April 1.

WINDOW TINTING — Tinting or sun-screening material is permitted on
the side and rear windows (front door windows at no more than 65% light
blockage).
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EMISSIONS INSPECTIONS

Motorists residing in St. Louis City and the counties of St. Louis, St.
Charles, Franklin, and Jefferson are also required to have emissions
inspections, if applicable. There are some exceptions, which are listed
below.

For information on emissions inspections not covered in this Guide, please
call 1-866-623-8378, or visit the Department of Natural Resources web site
at www.dnr.mo.gov and look for the Gateway Vehicle Inspection Program
(GVIP).

The emissions inspection is a two-year inspection. Just like the safety
inspection, “even” model year vehicles with registrations expiring in “even”
years must be inspected during “even” calendar years. “Odd” model year
vehicles with registrations expiring in “odd” years must be inspected during
“odd” calendar years.

All vehicles must be emissions inspected at the time of sale regardless of
the model year (refer to the list of exceptions below). New motor vehicles
and the first retail sale of titted motor vehicles during the model year of the
vehicle and the following year, are exempt from the inspection requirement
provided the odometer reading is less than 6,000 miles at the time of sale.

Exceptions to the Requirement
The following motor vehicles are exempt from the emissions inspection
requirement:

« New motor vehicles, not previously titled, during the model year of the
vehicle and the following year, provided there is no change in ownership.

1995 and older gasoline-powered vehicles

1996 and older diesel-powered vehicles

Motor vehicles with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)
over 8,500 pounds

« New motor vehicles not previously titled and registered for the four-year
period following their model year of manufacture, with fewer than 40,000
miles at the first required biennial inspection

Motor vehicles that are driven fewer than 12,000 miles between biennial
safety inspections

Vehicles powered by fuels other than gasoline, ethanol or diesel

Motor vehicles that display “historic plates,” school bus, shuttle bus,
motorcycle, motortricycle, or street rod plates

Gasoline-powered low speed vehicles in Franklin County only

Motor vehicles registered in one of the affected areas (St. Louis City and
the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, Franklin, and Jefferson) but based
and operated outside the area for 24 consecutive months.
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CHAPTER 15 — COMMERCIAL VEHICLES

You will need to know the following information if you are applying for a
Class E license. As a driver of a commercial vehicle, you must obey all
Missouri traffic laws including the laws on commercial vehicles.

Note:

1. All size and weight limits listed below include the load of the vehicle.

2. All limits that refer to interstates or certain designated highways include
roads up to 10 miles from the interstate or highway.

3. The size and weight and exceptions listed in this chapter are for
Missouri highways only.

SIZE LIMITATIONS (WITHOUT SPECIAL PERMIT)

HEIGHT
1. Maximum height of any vehicle outside of a commercial

zone* on designated highways plus 10 miles therefrom ................... 14
2. Maximum height of any vehicle in a commercial zone....................... 15’
3. Maximum height on all other highways ..........cccoociiiiiiiie 13%’
WIDTH
1. Maximum width of any vehicle ...........ccooiiiiii e, 8%’

*COMMERCIAL ZONE — Commercial zones exist only in cities with a

population of 75,000 or more. The commercial zone is one mile beyond the

city limits plus one mile for every 50,000 residents or portion thereof, except:

* The commercial zone for St. Louis City extends 18 miles beyond the city
limits.

* The commercial zone for Kansas City extends 12 miles beyond the city
limits and includes the city of Harrisonville.

* The commercial zones for Springfield, St. Joseph, and Columbia extends
only 2 miles beyond the city limits.

* The commercial zone on interstate highways extends only 2 miles
beyond the city limits.

LENGTH
1. Maximum length of any single vehicle...........ccccccooiiiiiiii i, 45’
2. Maximum length of any bus or trackless trolley coach not

including one foot in front and back for safety bumper .................... 45’

3. Maximum length of truck-tractor and semi-trailer
* upon interstates and certain designated highways the length of
the semi-trailer (no overall maximum length, includes load)......... 53’
o upOoN all Other rOAAS .........cvveiiiiii e 60’
4. Maximum length of truck-tractor, semi-trailer, and trailer
combinations (double bottoms)
e upon interstates and certain designated highways the length of the
semi-trailer or trailer (no overall maximum length)........................ 28’
o upon all Other rOAdS .........cvei i 65



5. Maximum length of truck and trailer(s) and all other
combinations of vehicles
« upon interstates and certain primary highways ..........ccccccccocevvenenn. 65’
« the overall maximum length upon all other roads.............cocevernneen. 55’
6. Maximum length of Automobile Transporters and
Boat Transporters

« Conventional 5th Wheel 75" for combination unit plus
o Stingersteered .........ccceeeveiiiiieieeiieeeee 75’ 3 front to 4’ rear overhang.

7. Maximum length of Driveaway Saddle Mount Combinations (Double or
Triple on interstate and designated highways)97’

Motor vehicle carriers may carry loads that extend beyond their legal length
limits. Loads must not extend more than 3 feet beyond the front or 4 feet
beyond the rear of the vehicle.

EXEMPTIONS FROM SIZE LIMITS

1. Farm machinery driven occasionally for short distances

. Vehicles temporarily transporting farm machinery

. Implement dealers delivering or moving farm machinery for repair

. Vehicles temporarily transporting road-making machines or road materials
. Vehicles towing disabled vehicles for repair on highways

These exemptions do not include interstate highways.

WEIGHT LIMITATIONS (WITHOUT SPECIAL PERMIT)

A bridge’s weight limit may differ from the road’s weight limit. If a bridge
has a different weight limit, the limit will be posted.

a b wiN

MAXIMUM WEIGHT ON ANY SINGLE AXLE......ccccccovvvvvvrrnnnns POUNDS
1. Maximum weight allowed on interstates 20,000
2. Maximum weight allowed in a commercial zone 22,400
3. Maximum weight allowed on all other routes 22,000
MAXIMUM WEIGHT ON ANY TANDEM AXLE POUNDS
1. Maximum weight allowed on interstates 34,000
2. Maximum weight allowed on all other routes 36,000
MAXIMUM GROSS WEIGHT ..ovvvieiiiiieeeeeeeee e POUNDS

The actual gross weight allowed depends on the distance from the first to
last axle. To determine the maximum gross weight allowed in a commercial
zone, multiply the number of axles by 22,400 pounds.80,000 pounds
maximum gross weight is allowed on all highways in Missouri, except
where bridge structures are posted with lesser weight limits.

1. Maximum gross weight allowed on interstates, primary and
other designated highways...........cccovviiiiiiiiiiii e 80,000

OVERDIMENSION AND OVERWEIGHT PERMITS
You may apply for an overdimension or overweight permit by calling
1-800-877-8499, or (573) 751-2871 for local calls only, or by contacting:
Missouri Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier Services Unit
P. O. Box 893
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Fax: (573) 751-7408
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To receive an oversize or overweight permit:

 the load on your vehicle must be non-reducible,

« you must have property damage and bodily injury liability insurance, and
e you must pay a permit fee.

VEHICLE ROUTE MAP

The Missouri Vehicle Route Map is available from the Missouri Department
of Transportation. This map shows the routes on which the larger and
heavier trucks are allowed to travel as specified by state statute. You may
obtain a map by calling 1-866-831-6277 or by contacting:

Missouri Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier Services
P. O. Box 893

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Fax: (573) 751-7408

contactus@modot.mo.gov

FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY REGULATIONS

Missouri has adopted as state law Parts 390 through 397 of the Federal

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. Therefore, drivers and vehicles

operating solely intrastate must obey those regulations except for the

following exemptions:

» Commercial vehicles with a GVWR or GCWR of 26,000 Ibs. or less than
26,001 GVWR unless transporting hazardous materials or passengers.

e Commercial vehicles licensed for gross weight of 60,000 pounds or less
when used only for the transportation of solid waste

« Commercial vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less for farm use and
indicated by the letter “F” on the license plate as authorized by Missouri
Revised Statutes, Section 301.030 unless transporting hazardous
materials except fertilizer.

TRANSPORTING HAZARDOUS MATERIAL

If you are transporting hazardous material, your vehicle must comply with
the equipment and operating regulations of the United States Department
of Transportation.

EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT AND SIGNALS
When operating wholly within the state, Missouri law does not require
emergency equipment for:

« Vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less with an “F” plate,
« Solid waste haulers licensed for 60,000 pounds or less, and
« Commercial vehicles licensed for 12,000 pounds or less.

Any other commercial motor vehicle used for intra or interstate commerce

that is licensed for more than 12,000 pounds must carry the following

emergency equipment:

* One fire extinguisher. The extinguisher must be rated at 5 B:C or more
by Underwriter’'s Laboratories Incorporated.

« One spare fuse or other overload protective device for each kind and
size used, if the devices are not of a reset type.
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» One of the following combination of warning devices:

1. Three flares (liquid-burning pot torches) and three fuses and two red
flags. This combination must not be carried by vehicles transporting
explosive or flammable material or using flammable compressed gas as
a motor fuel.

2. Three red electric lanterns and two red flags.

3. Three bi-directional emergency red reflective triangles.

INFORMATION ON COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES

The following information must be clearly visible on commercial motor vehicles:

* The name of the owner

* The address the vehicle is operated from and the number issued to a
motor carrier by the Motor Carrier Services. (USDOT 123456 MO)

» The word “Local” displayed on every local commercial vehicle.
For-hire carriers must display their USDOT number followed by the
letters “MO”.

Your vehicle does not need to show the above information if:
 ltis licensed for 36,000 pounds or less, and
* ltis not regularly used for commercial purposes.

FOLLOWING DISTANCE

If you are driving a bus or truck, you must not follow another bus or truck
any closer than 300 feet. However, you may follow closer than 300 feet
when you are in a business or residential district or when passing. Always
stay a safe distance behind the vehicle in front of you. For each 10 feet
of length in your vehicle, keep at least one second between you and the
vehicle in front of you. For example, if you are driving a 40-foot vehicle,
keep four seconds between you and the vehicle in front of you.

RAILROAD CROSSING

If you are driving a:

* motor vehicle carrying passengers for hire,

» school bus,

* motor vehicle carrying material that is corrosive, flammable, explosive, or
poisonous, or

» motor vehicle used for the transportation of flammable or corrosive
liquids in bulk, whether loaded or empty,

You must stop within 15 to 50 feet before the railroad tracks. If there is no

sign of a train, you may cross the tracks.

LOAD SECURITY
To avoid any part of a load falling off your vehicle, you must secure it or
have a protective cover on it.

OFF-TRACKING

When a vehicle turns, the rear wheels take a shorter path than the front
wheels. The greater the distance between the front and rear wheels, the
greater the difference in their paths. To compensate for the off-tracking,
begin a left turn as far to the right as possible. Begin a right turn as far to
the left as possible.
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WEIGH STATIONS

All commercial motor vehicles must stop at weight stations except those
licensed for 18,000 Ibs or less or otherwise exempted by law, unless
directed by a peace officer.

TAILGATERS

To avoid a crash with a tailgater, you should:

1. Slow down. Itis better to be tailgated at a low speed than a high speed.

2. Avoid any sudden turns or stops and signal well in advance.

3. Increase the distance between you and the vehicle in front of you. This
will help you to avoid any sudden stops.

4. Do not flash your taillights or brake lights at the tailgater. The tailgater
may not believe your brake lights when you do slow down or stop.

SPACE OVERHEAD

Make sure you have enough space over your vehicle at all times.

» Do not assume that posted heights at bridges or underpasses are
correct.

» Check all wires, signs, trees, and air conditioning units.

SOFT SURFACES

Make sure the surface will hold the weight of your vehicle. Be wary of:
» Parking lots

» Unpaved roads or parking areas, especially when wet

» Construction areas

SPACE TO CROSS OR ENTER TRAFFIC

Your acceleration rate varies with the weight of your vehicle. And your time
to cross the road is also affected by the length of your vehicle. In a long or
heavily weighted vehicle, you will need a larger gap to cross the road than
you would in a car.
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SAMPLE TEST QUESTIONS

The Class F (regular operator) and Class E (For-Hire) written tests
administered by the Missouri State Highway Patrol driver examiners are
multiple-choice tests. The following sample test questions are provided
as a study aid only, and are not meant to reflect actual questions from the
Missouri written test(s).

DIRECTIONS: Circle the correct answer.

1. When you approach arailroad crossing without flashing warning
signals or crossing gates, you should:
a. cross the tracks as quickly as possible.
b. always stop.
c. yield to all trains at the crossing.
d. speed up to beat the train.

2. You may pass another vehicle by using the shoulder of the road:
a. when the vehicle in front of you is making a left turn.
b. to go around a slow moving vehicle.
c. you are not allowed to pass on the shoulder of the road.
d. when the traffic ahead is blocked up for 250 feet.

3. If you miss your exit from an interstate expressway:
a. stop in any lane of the highway
b. get off at the next exit and come back to the exit you missed
c. roll down your window and ask the driver next to you for help
d. back up on the highway

4. The minimum age that a person must be in order to obtain an
Instruction Permit is:
a. 14 yearsold

b. 15 years old

c. 15 1/2 years old

d. 16 yearsold

5. The fee for an Instruction Permit is:

a. $1.00

b. $2.00

c. $3.50

d. $4.00

6. Shortly before your driver or nondriver license expires, the Driver
License Bureau will mail a renewal reminder postcard to:
a. the most current address on your driver record
b. the address on your last application
c. the address in your local phone book
d. your local contract office
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10.

11.

12.

13.

The minimum age that a person must be in order to obtain a
motorcycle instruction permit is:

a. 14 yearsold
b. 15 years old
c. 15 1/2 years old
d. 16 yearsold

For a driver with an intermediate license, the driving restrictions
are:

a. seat belt must be worn by the driver

b. seat belts must be worn by all passengers

c. adriving curfew from 1:00 a.m to 5:00 a.m

d. all of the above

To help others know that you want to be an organ donor, you
should:

a. complete the organ donor information on the back of your license
b. discuss your decision with your next of kin

c. have two witnesses sign the back of your license

d. all of the above

Where should you go to take the Missouri driver examination
tests:

a. any Missouri State Highway Patrol examination station

b. any Department of Transportation office

c. any Missouri contract office

d. the nearest high school driver education class

The Missouri State Highway Patrol examiner will check the
person’s vehicle before beginning the driving test:

a. to look for stolen car parts

b. to make sure that the vehicle has the required equipment
c. to make sure that the vehicle is in safe operating condition
d. answersbandc

If you fail the driving test three times:

a. the examiner will give you a Driving Skills Examination Report
b. you must send the above report to the Department of Revenue
c. the Department of Revenue will require driver training

d. all of the above

Two solid yellow lines on the pavement mean:
a. passing is allowed for both drivers

b. passing is not allowed

c. passing is allowed if you are at the top a hill
d. passing is allowed during daylight only
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14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

The minimum and maximum speed limits on Missouri interstate

highways are:

a. 40/55
b. 40/70
c. 30/70
d. 55/75

A flashing red light on a traffic signal means:
the same thing as a stop sign

b. the traffic signal is broken

c. you do not have to come to a complete stop
d. driving conditions are dangerous

L

A yellow signal light means:

a. the traffic signal is changing from green to red
b. you should slam on your brakes

c. you should increase your speed

d. the car in front of you is going too slow

A speed restriction sign:

a. may be ignored in rain, snow, or icy conditions
b. has a triangular shape

c. is blue with black lettering

d. shows a recommended speed for a curve or turn

When approaching a railroad crossing you should:
a. slow down

b. look for a train

c be ready to stop

d. all of the above

Work zone signs mean:

a. itis summer

b. you must immediately stop and back up

c. less than ideal conditions are present for driving
d. you should drive faster to get out of the work zone

A “No Right On Red” sign means:
even if the traffic signal is red, you may turn right

a.
b. if the traffic signal is red, you cannot turn right

c. the intersection has a high number of traffic crashes

d. even if the traffic signal is red, you do not have to come to a stop
. Emergency vehicles:

a. have the right of way when using siren, horn, and red/blue lights
b. may use a loudspeaker to give instructions

c. may follow each other

d. all of the above
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22.

23.

24.

25

26.

27.

28.

29

After stopping for a school bus that is unloading children:
a. do not proceed until the children wave to you

b. watch for children walking along the side of the road

c. accelerate quickly

d. turn on your emergency flashers

When making right or left turns, a driver should signal
before the turn:

a. 100 feet
b. 50 feet
c. 35 feet
d. 5 feet

A driver may use a handicapped parking space:

a. if a physically handicapped person is in the motor vehicle when it
is parked

b. if a physically handicapped person is being delivered or picked up

c. if the vehicle displays a handicapped person placard or license
plates

d. answersaandc,orbandc

. When parking you vehicle down hill on a two way street:

a. turn your wheels to the right

b. turn your wheels to the left

c. keep your wheels pointed straight ahead
d. leave your transmission in neutral

When a traffic signal light turns green, you should:

a. yield the right-of-way to pedestrians

b. accelerate as quickly as possible to the next intersection
c. back up slowly

d. not move until another driver waves you on

Littering:

a. is against the law

b. may cause a traffic crash

c. can lead to a $1,000 fine and up to one year in jail
d. all of the above

A fully loaded tractor-trailer traveling 55 mph could take up to
to come to a complete stop:

a. 50 feet

b. 125 feet
c. 400 feet
d. 750 feet

. The “No-Zone" is:

a. the term used to describe the blind spots around a truck or bus
b. a special speed zone

c. aroadway with restrictions on vehicle stereo volume

d.

the television show that replaced The Twilight Zone
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30. The following is true regarding seat belts and child restraints in
vehicles:

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

a.

b.

C.

d.

you should never place an infant or small child in the front seat of
a vehicle with airbags

an airbag can be dangerous to an infant or small child even in a
low speed collision

you should always make sure all your passengers are using a seat
belt or child restraint

all of the above

When you are being “tailgated”;

a.
b.

c.
d.

if there is an open lane to your right, move over to the right

if there is not an open lane to your right, wait until the way is clear
ahead, and reduce speed slowly to encourage the tailgater to drive
around you

never slow down quickly

all of the above

Liability insurance:

a.
b.

C.
d.

is required for all motor vehicle owners in Missouri

covers the policyholder’s legal liability resulting from injuries to
other persons or damage to their property

can be dropped as soon as you register your motor vehicle
answers a and b

You must keep proof of your liability insurance:

a

b.
c.
d.

at your office

in a safety deposit box at the bank

in your vehicle whenever it is being operated
at your neighbor’s house

If you are at fault in a traffic crash and do not pay for the damages:

a.

b
c.
d

your driver license or plates or both will be suspended for one year.
you will save money

your car will be repossessed

you must buy a new car

You must report all vehicle crashes to the Driver License Bureau

if:
a.
b.

c.
d.

the crash involved an uninsured motorist and there was property
damage costing more than $500

your vehicle is less than 5 years old

someone was injured or killed

answers a and ¢

SATOP is an abbreviation for:

a

b.
c.
d.

Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program
Salt And Tar On Pavement

Steer At The Other Point

Stop Airing Tires Over Pressure
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37.

38.

39.

40.

41.

42.

43.

44,

If you are ordered to install an ignition interlock on your vehicle,
the cost of installation and monthly inspection must be paid by:
a. the court clerk

b. the police officer

C. you

d. the judge

In Missouri, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at which
it is illegal for an adult driver to operate a motor vehicle is:

a. .08% or more

.05% or more

.020% or more

.008% or more

aoo

A point accumulation advisory letter will be sent to you if you:
a. have too many points taken off of your driver record

b. accumulate a total of 4 points in 12 months

c. do not score enough points on your driver test

d. fail the written test

Points:

a. are nothing to worry about

b. are a good thing to have on your driver record

c. are helpful if you want to get a job driving

d. are something you don’'t want on your driver record

FACT is an abbreviation for:

a. Finance A Car Today

b. Full Ambulance Cannot Turn

c. Fear of Authority Causes Tension

d. Failure to Appear in Court for Traffic violations

Front door windows on a vehicle may be tinted to no more than:
a. 100% light blockage

b. whatever looks good

c. 65% light blockage

d. 50% light blockage

A license plate frame:

a. may cover the word Missouri on the plate

b. should not cover any information on the license plate
c. may cover the month and year registration stickers
d. may cover the wording at the bottom of the plate

When a person buys a vehicle, he or she must title the vehicle
within:

a. 30days
b. 6 months
c. 1week

d. 1year
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Answer Key:

1-c, 2-c, 3-b, 4-b, 5-c, 6-a, 7-c, 8-d, 9-d, 10-a, 11-d, 12-d, 13-b, 14-b, 15-a,
16-a, 17-d, 18-d, 19-c, 20-b, 21-d, 22-b, 23-a, 24-d, 25-a, 26-a, 27-d, 28-c,
29-a, 30-d, 31-d, 32-d, 33-c, 34-a, 35-d, 36-a, 37-c, 38-a, 39-b, 40-d, 41-d,
42-c, 43-b, 44-a
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GLOSSARY

AIR BAGS — Supplemental restraint systems that are standard equipment
in many newer vehicles, to protect vehicle occupants during collisions.
Designed to be used with seat belts.

ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) — Allows the driver to stop without
brake lockup. Standard equipment in many newer vehicles. Designed to
be used by applying steady pressure on the brake pedal.

BICYCLE — Any vehicle having two tandem wheels, propelled solely
by human power, upon which any person may ride (except scooters and
similar devices).

BLIND SPOT — The areas at the left and right corner of the car that the
driver can not see in the rearview mirrors.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION (BAC) — The percent (%) of
alcohol in a person’s blood. In Missouri it is illegal to operate a motor
vehicle when the BAC is 0.08% or more for a person who is age 21 or over;
and 0.020% or more for a person who is under age 21.

BYPASS — A road used for going around or passing an area.

CONTROLLED INTERSECTION — An intersection where traffic is
regulated by traffic signs or signal lights.

DAYTIME RUNNING LAMPS — Upper beam headlights that go on
automatically when the vehicle is running. This is a feature of many newer
vehicles.

DECELERATION LANE — An extra driving lane on the side of a high-
speed highway to permit vehicles to slow down before exiting.

DEFENSIVE DRIVING — Being careful to prevent traffic crashes, in spite
of incorrect actions of others or bad driving conditions.

DRIVER IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM — A required course of study for
certain drivers who have shown cause that their driving skills are not
acceptable. The course must meet or exceed the standards of the National
Safety Council’s eight-hour “Defensive Driving Course”.

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) — Driving when your senses
and judgment are impaired by alcohol or other drugs.

ENDORSEMENT — A code used on a driver license or permit, to show
that you are also qualified to operate other types of vehicles (such as a
motorcycle). Two examples of commercial driver license endorsements are
P (passenger vehicle) and H (hazardous materials).

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY — A driver's (or car owner’s) ability to pay
for damage caused by a crash when he or she is at fault. It is usually in
the form of liability insurance.
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FREEWAY — A high-speed divided highway without intersections.

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE — A step-by-step licensing process for
all new driver license applicants under the age of 21.

HIGHWAY — Any publicly-maintained roadway that is open to the use of
the public for purposes of vehicular travel.

HYDROPLANING — A driving condition where the tires lose traction on a
wet road, and float on a layer of water or slush.

IMPAIRMENT — Physical and/or mental condition that can reduce the
ability to operate a motor vehicle safely.

IMPLIED CONSENT — Under this law, a driver (by driving), automatically
agrees to take a test to measure blood alcohol concentration when stopped
(under 21 years old), under arrest (age 21 and over), and suspected of
driving under the influence.

INTERCHANGE — The junction of two or more highways where turnoffs
allow you to join or cross traffic.

INTERSTATE SYSTEM — A national network of over 41,000 miles of
limited access highways set by Congress.

INTOXICATION — The state of a person who has consumed too much alcohol.

MANDATORY SENTENCES — These are penalties set by law for certain
driving offenses and, if convicted, the penalties must be carried out.

MEDIAN — A strip of land separating traffic going in opposite directions.
MERGING TRAFFIC — Traffic from two separate lanes combining into one.

NO ZONE — Blind spots or danger areas, particularly around large trucks,
where crashes may occur.

PEDESTRIAN — Any person on foot.

PRIVILEGE — A benefit. A driver license is a privilege, and not a basic
right granted by law.

REACTION DISTANCE — The distance a car travels before the driver can
take corrective action to a perceived danger.

REINSTATEMENT — The return of driving privilege after it has been
suspended/revoked/denied, and all reinstatement requirements are met by
the driver.

RESTRICTION — A special need that must be met in order to drive legally.
Restrictions are marked on the driver license. For example, if you must wear
corrective lenses to pass the vision test, then you must also wear them while
driving. Your license will have an “A” restriction (for corrective lenses).

112



RIGHT OF WAY — The privilege of the immediate use of the highway.
Pedestrians always have the right of way. At uncontrolled intersections,
the vehicle to the left shall yield the right of way to the vehicle approaching
from the right.

SATOP — Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program.

SHOULDER — The portion of the highway for emergency use, but not
intended for travel.

TAILGATING — Following another vehicle too closely.
VIOLATION — A failure to obey driving rules and regulations.

CONTACT INFORMATION

DRIVER LICENSE QUESTIONS Phone Number
General Information 573-751-1887
INFOrMAtion 24/ 7 oot 573-526-2407

MOTOR VEHICLE QUESTIONS
General INformation ...........uveeeiiiiiiiiiee e 573-526-3669

STATE HIGHWAY PATROL

Troop A, LEE'S SUMMIL......ouiiiiiiiiiieee e 816-622-0800
Troop B, MACON ...ttt 660-385-2132
Troop C, Weldon SPring........coocueieeeiiiiiieee e 636-300-2800
Troop D, Springfield 417-895-6868
Troop E, Poplar BIUff........ccoooiiiiiie e 573-840-9500
Troop F, Jefferson City......ccceoviiiiieii e 573-751-1000
Troop G, Willow Springs 417-469-3121
Troop H, St. Joseph ................ 816-387-2345
Troop |, RONA. ... 573-368-2345

HIGHWAY PATROL STATEWIDE TOLL FREE EMERGENCY
ASSISTANCE NUMBER........ccoiiiiiiiiieieeeeeeee e 1-800-525-5555
or cellular *55
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Since 1931, 30 Missouri State Highway Patrol Troopers have been killed
in the line of duty. Eight of those officers were killed after being struck by
a vehicle, whose driver was either impaired or not paying attention. The
number one contributing circumstance to traffic crashes in Missouri is
driver inattention. Please slow down and move over away from stationary
emergency vehicles along the side of the road with their emergency
equipment activated. IT'S THE LAW.

The law (Section 304.022, RSMo.) requires motorists to yield the right-of-way
and immediately drive to a position parallel to,
and as far as possible to the right of, the traveled
portion of the highway and thereupon stop and
remain in such position until such emergency
vehicle has passed, except when otherwise
directed by a police or traffic officer.

A revision to the law, which became effective
August 28, 2012, requires motorists upon
approaching a stationary emergency vehicle
displaying lighted red or red and blue lights, or vehicles owned by the
Commission and operated by Department of Transportation employees
displaying amber or amber and white lights:

(1) Proceed with caution and yield the right-of-way, if possible, with due
regard to safety and traffic conditions, by making a lane change into a
lane not adjacent to that of the stationary vehicle, if on a roadway having
at least four lanes with not less than two lanes proceeding in the same
direction as the approaching vehicle; or

(2) Proceed with due caution and reduce the speed of the vehicle,
maintaining a safe speed for road conditions, if changing lanes would be
unsafe or impossible.

Violation of this section is a class A misdemeanor.
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where’s=baby?

Look before you lock.





