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General Information

Phone
Numbers to
Remember
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Section 1
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573-526-3669
573-526-3669
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573-526-3669

Repossession Title Information
Salvage Title Information

All applications for title must be submitted to your local Department of Revenue
(Department) field office (see your local directory for address information or visit
http://dor.mo.gov/offloc/ to find an office near you) or to the Motor Vehicle Bureau,
P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100. All applications must be
accompanied by the:

e Assigned ownership document;

e State and local tax, if applicable; and

e Title fee and agent/processing fee.

If the vehicle is purchased on an out-of-state title, identification and odometer
verification must to be obtained. See Section 2 of this manual for more information.

If you need forms (other than the Form-108, Application for Title or License or Form-
5086, Secure Power of Attorney), please e-mail forms@dor.mo.gov, call (573) 526-
3669, or send a written request including your business name and complete address to
the following address:

Department of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Bureau

Attention: Supply Request

PO Box 100

Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100

Obtain the Form-108 and Form-5086 (Exhibit A) at the Missouri Auto Dealers
Association (MADA) by ordering online at www.madastore.com, by calling 573-761-
1020, or by written request to:

MADA SERVICES CORPORATION

PO Box 1309

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Form-5086 forms are $2.80 per package of 25. Payment may be made by credit card or
check.


http://dor.mo.gov/offloc/�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
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Top Ten
Reasons
Why
Applications
are Rejected

The following are the main reasons title applications are rejected by the Motor
Vehicle Bureau. Please be sure to complete all items on the title application.

10.

e Transactions that are incomplete or incorrect will be returned to the lienholder
or applicant for correction.

Complete name and address, year, make, and vehicle identification number and
purchase date must be shown on the application.

Descriptive notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or a Notice of Lien,
Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From Title (Eorm-4809)
must be submitted (must contain the year, make, vehicle identification number,
lien release date, and signature of the authorized agent).

The title application was not signed by at least one owner.
Original Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or assigned title was not submitted.
Type or hand write all applications so each copy of the application is legible.

Ensure that the correct taxes and fees are submitted with each transaction. DO
NOT SEND CASH.

Remind customers that to avoid a title penalty they must submit their application
for title and pay state and local taxes within 30 days of the purchase date for motor
vehicles, trailers, all-terrain vehicles, and manufactured homes or within 60 days of
the purchase date for vessels (watercraft) and outboard motors.

Remind customers that a properly assigned ownership document must be
obtained from the seller at the time of purchase.

Ensure the assignment on the surrendered certificate of title or Manufacturer’'s
Statement of Origin is complete by including the following:

e The signature(s) of all owners on the face of the document;

e The signature of at least one purchaser, if applicable;

e The odometer reading, if applicable;

e The purchase price;

e The date of sale; and

e The lien date and the lienholder name and address.

When submitting a Bill of Sale/Even- Trade Bill of Sale (Form-1957) instead of a
certificate of title for a vessel (watercraft) please ensure it contains a complete
description of the unit, purchase price, date of sale, and purchaser’s name and
address.


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4809.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/1957.pdf�

Fee Charts

Requests
for
Records

Title Fees Motor Vehicle, ATV, Vessels Outboard
Manufactured (Watercraft)  Motors
Homes, Trailers
Original $8.50 $7.50 $5
Duplicate $8.50 $8.50 $8.50
Non-Negotiable $8.50 N/A N/A
Corrected $8.50 $7.50 $7.50
* Repossessed $10 $10 $10
* Mechanic Lien $10 N/A N/A
* Salvage $8.50 N/A N/A
Reconstructed $8.50 N/A N/A
Motor Change $8.50 N/A N/A
Special Constructed $8.50 N/A N/A

* QUICK TITLE FEE - $5 IN ADDITION TO REGULAR TITLE FEE. Your

title will be processed in three to five working days.

Processing Fee

For each transaction processed there will be an additional $2.50 title
processing/agent fee and/or $3.50 registration processing/agent fee and/ or
$2.50 Notice of Lien processing/agent fee.

Title Penalties

Motor Vehicle/Trailer/ATV/Manufactured Home - purchaser has 30
days after the purchase date to apply for title. On the 31 day a $25
penalty is assessed and $25 for each 30-day period after that not to
exceed $200.

Vessel (watercraft) or Outboard Motor - purchaser has 60 days after
the purchase date to apply for title. On the 61% day a $10 penalty is
assessed and $10 for each 30-day period after that not to exceed $30.
Documented Vessel — A Missouri resident has 30 days after the date
the vessel was acquired to apply for registration. On the 31% day a
$10 penalty is assessed and $10 for each 30-day period after that not
to exceed $30. A nonresident owner has 60 days after the date the
vessel was acquired or brought into the state of Missouri. On the 61
day a $10 penalty is assessed and $10 for each 30-day period after
that not to exceed $30.

The Federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) requires the Department to
restrict access to personal information contained in all Department records.
Personal information includes:

Name;

Address (excluding zip code);
Photograph;

Driver License Number;

Social Security Number;

Motor Vehicle sales/use tax information;
Date of Birth;

Height, Weight, Sex, and Eye Color; and
Medical and Disability Information.
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Access
DOR
Records
Online

A person or entity may only access the personal information if they are exempt
under the Federal DPPA or they have obtained a signed, notarized consent
form from the record holder. A notarized Request from Record Holder (Eorm-
4681) may be used for this purpose. Federal law prohibits the release of
the social security number.

The law also prohibits states from releasing personal information for bulk
distribution for surveys, marketing, or solicitation unless a signed, notarized
consent form from the record holder is submitted with each request.

Entities and persons who qualify to receive personal information contained in
motor vehicle and marine titling and registration records must apply to receive a
Security Access Code Number from the Motor Vehicle Bureau. Exempt entities
and persons who qualify must complete, sign, and submit a notarized Request for
Security Access Code (Form-4678). If you do not have a security access code
and are interested in obtaining one, please request an application by contacting
the Department of Revenue as noted below:

E-mail: direcords@dor.mo.gov
Fax: (573) 526-7367
Telephone: (573) 526- 3669
Mail: PO Box 2167
Jefferson City, MO 65105-2167
Web: http://www.dorx.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/liendeal/

No Security Access Code will be issued or authorized for bulk distribution or
solicitation purposes.

Requests for copies of records from individuals other than owners or lienholders of
the unit must be submitted in writing and must be accompanied by the required fee.
Request for Information (Eorm-4803), tells you about each type of record search and
what the applicant must submit to obtain the requested information. The form also
lists the fees for each record search and explains the payment methods offered by
the Motor Vehicle Bureau.

By accessing http://www.dorx.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/liendeal/ dealers, lienholders,
and other businesses that qualify under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act and are
approved by the Department may access the Department’s motor vehicle and marine
title and lien records online. The online record search will check the Department’s title
file, lien file, and reject file and provide the most recent record(s) in each file. The cost
is $0.0382 per record. If there is no record on file with the Department, the $0.0382 is
waived.: A $2 office processing fee may apply if purchased at a License Office.

Access http://www.dorx.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/liendeal/ today to apply for your online
account number and security access code!
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Section 2
Motor Vehicle and Trailer Titles

Missouri law requires that at the time of sale of a motor vehicle or trailer, there

Transferrin g shall pass between the parties a properly assigned certificate of title. 1T IS
owners h | p Of UNLAWFUL FOR ANY PERSON/DEALER TO “SKIP” AN ASSIGNMENT OR BE
IN POSSESSION OF AN “OPEN TITLE.” An open title is a title that has the
A Motor Elelleli’s signature in the title assignment area but the purchaser’'s name area is
ank.

Vehicle/Trailer

Below is a copy of Section 301.210, RSMo concerning the sale and transfer
of vehicles.

301.210 Sale and transfer of vehicles - assignment of certificate -
new certificate - notice of sale to nonresident - director of revenue
to keep file - other sales void - 1. In the event of a sale or transfer of
ownership of a motor vehicle or trailer for which a certificate of
ownership has been issued, the holder of such certificate shall endorse
on the same an assignment thereof, with warranty of title in form
printed thereon, and prescribed by the Director of Revenue, with a
statement of all liens or encumbrances on such motor vehicle or trailer,
and deliver the same to the buyer at the time of the delivery to him of
such motor vehicle or trailer; provided that, when the transfer of a
motor vehicle, trailer, boat or outboard motor occurs within a
corporation which holds a license to operate as a motor vehicle or boat
dealer pursuant to Sections 301.550 to 301.575, the provisions of
subdivision (3) of subsection 6 of section 144.070, RSMo, shall not
apply. 2. The buyer shall then present such certificate, assigned as
aforesaid, to the director of revenue, at the time of making application
for the registration of such motor vehicle or trailer, whereupon a new
certificate of ownership shall be issued to the buyer, the fee therefore
being that prescribed in subsection 5 of section 301.190. 3. If such
motor vehicle or trailer is sold to a resident of another state or country,
or if such motor vehicle or trailer is destroyed or dismantled, the owner
thereof shall immediately notify the director of revenue. Certificates
when so signed and returned to the director of revenue and all
certificates shall be appropriately indexed so that at all times it will be
possible for him to expeditiously trace the ownership of the motor
vehicle or trailer designated therein. 4. It shall be unlawful for any
person to buy or sell in this state any motor vehicle or trailer registered
under the laws of this state, unless, at the time of the delivery thereof,
there shall pass between the parties such certificates of ownership with
an assignment thereof, as provided in this section, and the sale of any
motor vehicle or trailer registered under the laws of this state, without
the assignment of such certificate of ownership, shall be fraudulent and
void.



http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3010000210.htm�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3010000210.htm�

Identification
Number and
Odometer
Reading
Inspection

Title
Assignment
Date Must be
on or After the
Title Issue
Date

Identification Number and Odometer Reading Inspection Required
With Out-of-State Title

In order to obtain a Missouri certificate of title for a motor vehicle previously titled in
another state, the applicant must obtain a completed Missouri Motor Vehicle
Inspection Approval Certificate to verify the vehicle identification number and
odometer reading from an official inspection station authorized by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol. The fee for an inspection is deter- mined by each inspection
station and will not exceed $12.

Licensed Missouri motor vehicle dealers can submit either the original or a
copy of the safety/emissions inspection certificate with the application for title
in a dealership’s hame on a motor vehicle previously titled in another state.
The dealership may retain the original safety/emissions inspection approval
certificate in order to provide the ultimate purchaser of the vehicle with this
inspection. This prevents the dealership from having to perform two separate
inspections on the same vehicle.

The requirement to obtain a Missouri Motor Vehicle Inspection Approval
Certificate verifying the manufacturer’s identification number and odometer
reading applies to every individual, company, corporation, and dealership which
is making application for an original “Title Only.” There is no exception to this
rule.

Section 301.210, RSMo provides that ownership of a motor vehicle or trailer
legally transfers only at the time a certificate of ownership is assigned. The
purchase/sale date must be on or after the issue date of the title. The only
exception to this would be if an original title was assigned to the purchaser,
then lost. The duplicate title issued (or original title in the dealer’s name as
explained on pages 2-3) may be backdated to the date of purchase listed on the
original title. If the owner of a vehicle issues a bill of sale to the purchaser
without the title, the purchaser has no legal ownership rights to the vehicle until
such time as the title is assigned.

NOTE: See page 2-8 for exceptions.

Transactions, except those listed above, in which the sale date on the
assignment of title is before the issue date of the title must be rejected for a
statement signed by the purchaser, seller, and lienholder (if applicable), which
indicates a purchase date on or after the issue date. Only one purchaser and
seller are required to sign the statement. The new date does not have to be
recorded on the back of the title. The Date of Sale Verification (Form-4205),
shown on page 2-3, may be used for this purpose. The purchase/sale date
recorded on the form will be used for determining title penalties.
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Obtaining Title
in a
Dealership’s
Name when a
Customer
Loses the
Original Title

Similarly, the date of sale on an assignme
previous assignment, i.e., the first assign
1, 2003, and the second assignment a sal

NOTE:

nt cannot be prior to the date of a
ment cannot have a sale date of July
e date of June 15, 2003.

If an original title is assigned to a purchaser and then is lost, the

duplicate title that is issued must be backdated to the date of pur-
chase as recorded on the original title.

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES BUREAL

i PO BOX 100, JEFFERSON CITY MO 65105-0100
“if www.dor.mo.govimvdl

DATE OF SALE VERIFICATION

MISSOURI STATUTE 301.210 REQUIRE;‘.“.‘THE TITLETO
BE ASSIGNED ON THE DAY OF PURCHASE

FORM

4205

(REV. 12-03) QUESTIONS SHOULD BE REFERRED TO (573) 751-4509.

ORIGINAL SALE/PURCHASE DATE INDICATED ON ASSIGNMENT OF TITLE

Please indicate below a sale/purchase date that was on or after
lienholder(s) if applicable, must sign below. Only one buyer and seller

he certificate of ownership (title} issue date. The seller, buyer, and
must sign.

NEW SALE/FURCHASE DATE - MUST BE AFTER ISSUE DATE ON TITLE

LIENHOLDER'S SIGNATURE

ISELLER'S SIGNATURE

LIENHOLDER'S SIGNATURE

BUYER'S SIGNATURE

MO BEC-2417 (1203)

When a unit is purchased from a dealer and the purchaser loses the original

assigned title, the Department will allow th

e selling dealer to apply for an original

title in the dealer’s name. The dealer may apply for an original title_since the

dealer became the legal owner of the vehi
even though a title was not issued in the d
prior to the assignment to a customer, the

cle when it was assigned to the dealer
ealer's name. As the last legal owner
dealer would normally be able to obtain

a duplicate. However, since an original title was never issued in the dealer’s
name, a duplicate title cannot be issued in the dealer's name. The following
documents and fees must be submitted by the dealer to obtain an original title:

1. An application for original

title in the selling dealership’s name;

2. A photocopy of the front and back of the original title assigned to

the dealer with a reassign

ment to the customer;

3. A notarized General Affidavit (Eorm-768) may be submitted
by the new owner (customer) stating that the original title was
lost;

4. The appropriate title and processing/agent fee.



http://dor.mo.gov/forms/768.pdf�

Issuance of
New

Motor
Vehicle/
Trailer
Certificate of
Title

Assignments
Made in
Error

When the dealer receives the new original title in the dealership’s name and assigns it
to the purchaser, the dealer must record the original sale date and provide the
purchaser with a copy of the front and back of the title that was lost to explain why
the purchase date is before the issue date of the new title. Title penalty fees would

apply.

On July 1, 2003, the state of Missouri began issuing new certificates of title for all
motor vehicles/trailers.

The face of the new motor vehicle/trailer certificate of ownership contains the same
information as the previous certificate of ownership with the exception of the lien
release area. This area has been removed and replaced with information
regarding the title being mailed to the customer and how to release a lien.

The revised title assignment area of the new certificate of title includes space for
the lien information to be recorded on the bottom of the title and new boxes have
been added.

Erroneous Assignments of Title - When New Title Is Required

Occasionally, after the vehicle owner has already completed an assignment of title, a
decision is made NOT to continue the sale. When this occurs, the owner of the
vehicle will possess an altered or mutilated certificate of title. To correct this, the
following must be done:

If the name of the seller (individual or dealer) who made the erroneous
assignment is recorded on the face of the certificate of title, the seller
must obtain a duplicate certificate of title. The seller must submit the
following documents and fees to obtain a duplicate certificate of title:

a. A notarized Application for Missouri Title and License
(Eorm-108) marked "duplicate”;

b. The altered or mutilated certificate of title;

A statement signed by the seller and the individual to whom
the vehicle was erroneously assigned stating the date, the
reason the sale was not completed, the assignment was
made in error, and the purchaser

has no interest in the vehicle;
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d. A statement from any lienholder recorded in the
assignment of title; and

e. The required duplicate title and processing fees.

If the seller of the vehicle is a Missouri licensed motor vehicle
dealer and is listed as purchaser in the assignment area on the
back of the ownership document, the dealership will be required
to obtain an ORIGINAL certificate of title in the name of the
dealership. It is not necessary to obtain a duplicate title in the
name of the person shown on the face of the title unless the title
was in that dealership's name. Then the dealership would be
required to make an application for duplicate title as indicated
above in number 1. The dealership will be required to submit the
following documents to obtain the original title:

a. An Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108)
marked "original";

b. The altered or mutilated certificate of title;

C.

A statement signed by the seller and the individual to whom
the vehicle was erroneously assigned stating the date, the
reason the sale was not completed, the assignment was
made in error, and the purchaser has no interest in the
vehicle;

d. A statement from any lienholder recorded in the
assignment of title; and

e. The required original title and processing fees.

Correcting Errors on an Assignment of Title - When Statement is
Acceptable

On occasion, the seller, purchaser, or lienholder of a motor vehicle, trailer, all-
terrain vehicle, vessel, or outboard motor makes an error while assigning an
ownership document by recording the correct information on the wrong line,
i.e., seller records his or her name on the purchaser’s name line. The
Department will accept the ownership document if the error is obvious and there
is no indication of an attempt to defraud the state of Missouri. The error on the
title assignment should not be erased, white-out, or written over, as this will be
considered an alteration or mutilation of the certificate of title.


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/108.pdf�

Duplicate

Titles

One thin line should be drawn through the incorrect information and the correct
information recorded above. In addition, the seller, purchaser, or lienholder who
made the error must submit a statement of correction. The statement must be
prepared immediately after the error is made and should include:

1.

An explanation of the error made;
The correct information;
The year, make, and vehicle identification number; and

The signature of the individual who made the error.

Missouri law provides for the Department to issue a duplicate certificate of title to the
owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, all-terrain vehicle, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor who has lost the original title, or if the original title has
been mutilated, stolen, or destroyed. If the original title was mutilated, the mutilated
title must be surrendered.

For the Department to issue a duplicate title, the owner must submit:

NOTE:

2.

3.

A completed, signed, and notarized Application for Missouri Title and
License (Form-108) or a completed, signed, and notarized Application for
Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Form-93);

If the Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) or
Application for Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration
(Form-93) is NOT notarized, a notarized affidavit explaining the
reason for requesting a duplicate title must be submitted. The affidavit
must also contain the owner’s name; information relative to the unit
such as year, make, vehicle identification number, original title number
(if available); and the current license plate number, if applicable. The
General Affidavit (Form-768), may be used to meet this requirement.

A title fee of $8.50 or $13.50 if an expeditious title is desired; and

A $2.50 agent/processing fee.
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If a lien was recorded on the original ownership document, the duplicate title will
be mailed to the owner unless there is a “Mail-to” shown on the application. The
lien will be reflected on the title unless a lien release is submitted with the
duplicate title application. See Section 6 of this manual for information regarding
a lien release.

The application for duplicate title is not required to be signed if a notarized affidavit
is attached and properly signed. On an original title issued on or after July 1,
2003, when a lienholder is recorded as a “Mail-to” the lienholder may sign the
application for duplicate title. On titles issued prior to July 1, 2003, the lienholder
is considered the legal holder of the title; therefore, they may sign the duplicate
title application also. The agent for the lienholder should record the lienholder
name, their position, and signature in the signature block on the application.

Duplicate Titles for Units That Were Titled Between 1948 and 1969

If the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, or marinecraft states the unit was titled
between 1948 and 1969, the office staff should attempt to obtain the original title
number for the vehicle. If a title number cannot be located, the applicant must
complete an Affidavit of Ownership (Eorm-2635). This affidavit is not required to
be notarized as long as the duplicate title section of the application for title is
notarized. The original purchase date must be completed on the affidavit or the
application will be rejected.

NOTE:  when completing the Affidavit of Ownership (Eorm-2635) for a
vessel or outboard motor, complete the form listing marine
information rather than motor vehicle information.

Mailing Duplicate Titles Issued After July 1, 2003

All duplicate titles showing a lien and issued on or after July 1,

A. 2003, will be mailed to the owner named on the original
Certificate of Title.
B If the application for duplicate title does not reflect a lien, but

the Department’s records reflect the original title had a lien, the
duplicate title will be issued with lien information and mailed to
the new owner unless a lien release is submitted with the
application.
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Buying and
Selling a
Vehicle
Without a
Title

C. If the applicant completes the “Mail-to” area of the title application, the
Department will mail the duplicate title to the address listed even if
there is a lienholder.

D. In the event there is a second lienholder and/or Subject to Future
Advances (STFA) information is completed in the “Mail-to” area, and
the owner needs the title mailed to a different address, the owner
must pay the $5 expeditious title fee because of the request for
special handling and complete a Return Title Slip (Exhibit G),
containing the “Mail-to” address.

Effective August 28, 2005, a new law allows a licensed dealer to buy and sell a motor
vehicle without a title if the dealer follows the requirements outlined in the following
checklist. This only applies if the seller’s title has been lost, stolen, mutilated, or
destroyed. The purchase is subject to any liens that are perfected and not released.
The dealer must also verify that the seller is the last titled owner. The Department is
developing a new Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086) that complies with federal
odometer disclosure regulations to simplify the process for the dealer and the customer.
The new form will be available later in the fall of 2005.

CHECKLIST FOR BUYING AND SELLING A MOTOR VEHICLE
WITHOUT A TITLE

(This applies only when the seller’'s motor vehicle title has been lost, stolen,
mutilated, or destroyed.)

Purchasing the vehicle without a title: The
dealer must receive from the seller:

A signed sales contract;

If mileage is required, a notarized POA to sign the application for duplicate
title (unless the seller actually signs the application) and a Secure Power
of Attorney (Form-5086) to assign the duplicate title.

Note: The seller and purchasing dealer may complete Section A of the
Department’s Secure Power of Attorney (Eorm-5086). Section A will allow the
dealer to sign and make the odometer disclosure on behalf of the seller on the
first title assignment after the duplicate title is received.

If no mileage disclosure is required, a notarized POA may be used to both apply
for the duplicate title and make the assignments for the seller once the duplicate
title is received.

Physical delivery of the vehicle.
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NOTE: The purchase is subject to any liens that are perfected and not
released. The dealer must also verify that the seller is the last titled
owner.

Selling the vehicle without a title
The dealer must provide the purchaser:

A signed sales contract;

Proof the dealer acquired the vehicle from the last titled owner in the form of
a Department Internet record look-up screen print, other Department record
search, or a Car Fax search;

A notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or Notice of Lien,
Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From Title (Form-
4809) if applicable;

An Internet or other Department record showing no child support liens on
the vehicle (See www.dort.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/childlien/);

A copy of the duplicate title application in the previous owner’s name and
a copy of the POA's the dealer received from the seller.

NOTE: The selling dealer and the purchaser must complete Section B of
the Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086), if the dealer is selling the motor
vehicle prior to receipt of the duplicate title. Section B authorizes the dealer
to sign on behalf of the purchaser and make the odometer disclosure on the
second title assignment of the duplicate title.

NOTE: The purchaser may not make application for title until the dealer
provides the assigned duplicate title and secure POA to him/ her.

Obtaining a duplicate title in the seller’'s name
The motor vehicle dealer must:

Apply for the duplicate title in the name of the seller within five
business days of purchase by submitting:

(a) A notarized duplicate title application, Form-108 (The Mail-To
section must list the dealer’'s name/address.);

(b) A notarized POA (only required if the seller has not signed the
application);
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The dealer may attach a completed copy of Section A of
the Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086).

(c) Notarized lien release documented on the lienholder’s letterhead or the
Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name
From Title (Eorm-4809), if applicable.

(d) An $8.50 title fee, $5 quick fee, if applicable, and $2.50 processing fee. It is
recommended that the dealer request a quick title to expedite the duplicate
title so the purchaser has time to apply for the title and the purchaser’s
temporary 30-day permit does not expire (if applicable).

Assign and deliver the duplicate title with the Secure Power of Attorney (Eorm-
5086) to the purchaser within five business days of receipt;

(e) The dealer must complete the first assignment on the duplicate title signing as
purchaser and signing on behalf of the seller as POA, using the odometer
information and purchase date from the secure POA.

(f) The dealer must complete the second assignment as seller and obtain the
signature and printed name of at least one of the purchasers for all vehicles
subject to mileage disclosure. The date of the sales contract should be used
as the purchase date.

The dealer cannot use a POA to sign for the purchaser on the
second assignment unless the dealer had the purchaser complete
the Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086), Section B.

NOTE: The dealer must:

Complete the first and second assignments on the
duplicate title as authorized by sections A and B of the
Secure Power of Attorney (FEorm-5086);

Inspect the title to ensure the mileage on the duplicate title
is consistent with what was recorded on the POA and
complete Section C of the POA;

Retain a copy of the Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086)
for their records; and
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Section 3

Odometer Information

Odometer
Reading
Required -
Certain
Vehicles
Exempt

Notary
Requirements
on Title
Assignments/
Mileage
Documentation

Missouri law requires the seller of a motor vehicle to record the mileage registered
on the odometer at the time of transfer on the assignment of the certificate of title.
This applies to all motor vehicles except those listed below. On these vehicles, the
mileage is not required to be recorded on any ownership document and no mileage
documentation of any kind is required. If the seller provides the odometer reading
on one of these exempt vehicles, it will not be recorded on the subsequent title
issued unless specifically requested by the applicant.

Exempt from Odometer Disclosure:

Any motor vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of more

L than 16,000 pounds;

NOTE:  pick-up trucks and vans are not exempt from mileage
requirements.

2. Any motor vehicle that is 10 years old or older;

Example: To determine the age of the vehicle for the 10-year
exemption, take the year the vehicle was purchased by the applicant
(rather than the current model year) and subtract 10. This calculation
will give you the first exempt model year. For example, during
calendar year 2004, mileage is not required on any assignment of
titte completed during the year (vehicles purchased in 2004) on any
1994 or older model vehicle (2004 - 10 = 1994).

3. Any motor vehicle sold directly by the manufacturer to any
agency of the United States in conformity with contractual
specifications; and

4. Any motor vehicle transferred on a Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin on or after July 1, 1991, from one franchised motor
vehicle dealer to another franchised motor vehicle dealer.

Missouri Certificates of Title, Odometer Disclosure Statements, and any other
documentation relating to mileage are no longer required to be notarized. This
applies to all transfers of ownership made on or after August 28, 1989. If the
transfer of ownership occurred prior to August 28, 1989, the documents must be
notarized. The state of Missouri will continue to honor the notary requirements
of other states.



Mileage
Brands

A mileage brand appears on all Missouri Certificates of Title issued on or
after August 28, 1989.

If the seller states that to the best of his or her knowledge, the mileage
disclosed on the Certificate of Title and on the Odometer Disclosure
Statement, if applicable, is the actual mileage of the motor vehicle,
“ACTUAL MILEAGE” will be printed on the face of the Missouri Certificate
of Title. In this situation, the seller should not check any of the boxes on the
Certificate of Title or the Odometer Disclosure Statement.

If, upon receiving an application for a certificate of title, the director of
revenue has credible evidence that the odometer reading is materially
inaccurate, i.e., previous odometer documentation exists that conflicts with
the current application, an asterisk may be printed on the face of the
Missouri Certificate of Title that references a statement on the face and at
the bottom of the title document which reads as follows:

“This may not be the true and accurate mileage of this motor
vehicle. Consult the documents on file with the Missouri
Department of Revenue for an explanation of the
inaccuracy.”

Any person may challenge the director’s decision to place the statement
referenced on the Missouri Certificate of Title in any Missouri Circuit Court.
The burden of proof shall be on the director of revenue in such
proceedings.

True Mileage Unknown

If the seller(s) know(s) that the true mileage of the motor vehicle is different
from the mileage shown on the odometer and the difference is greater than
that caused by an odometer calibration error, or that the true mileage is
unknown, the seller(s) must provide a statement containing all known facts
concerning the true mileage. The seller(s) must also check the appropriate
box on the certificate of title and the Odometer Disclosure Statement, if
applicable. In this situation, the following brand will appear on the face of
the Missouri Certificate of Title and any subsequent title:

“WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. This is not the
true and accurate mileage of this motor vehicle. Consult the
documents on file with the Missouri Department of Revenue
for an explanation of the inaccuracy.”
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Mileage Rolled Over

If the seller(s) know(s) that a motor vehicle’s five-digit odometer reading has
rolled over after registering 99,999 miles, the seller must:

1 Record the five-digit mileage figure actually appearing on
the odometer in the mileage block on the title assignment
and odometer statement, if applicable; and

2.

Check the appropriate box on the Certificate of Title and the
Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable. In this situation,
the following brand will appear on the face of the Missouri
Certificate of Title and any subsequent title.

“This is not the true and accurate mileage of this motor vehicle.
Consult the documents on file with the Missouri Department of
Revenue for an explanation of the inaccuracy. MILEAGE
EXCEEDS THE MECHANICAL LIMITS.”

If a motor vehicle is equipped with a six-digit odometer, the six-digit mileage
figure must be recorded by the seller(s) on the title assignment and Odometer
Disclosure Statement, if applicable.

Obta| N | N g If an applicant is applying for a corrected title because of the mileage reading on
] the title, the applicant must submit:
Mileage for
CO r rected L A statement signed by both the buyer(s) and seller(s) explaining
) the mileage error; and
Titles
2. A new Odometer Disclosure Statement, completed in full by the
buyer(s) and seller(s), if ownership of the vehicle was transferred
on or after August 28, 1989.
Od ometer Section 407.531, RSMo states “...nothing in Sections 407.511 to 407.556,
. RSMo shall prevent the service, repair, or replacement of an odometer,
RepaJ r provided the mileage indicated thereon remains the same as before the

service, repair, or replacement occurred.”

When the repaired or replaced odometer is incapable of registering the same
mileage as before the service, repair, or replacement, the odometer shall be
adjusted to read zero and a notice, in writing, shall be attached to the left door
frame of the vehicle by the owner or his or her agent, specifying the mileage
prior to repair or replacement of the odometer and the date on which it was
repaired or replaced.
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Criminal
Penalties
for
Odometer
Fraud

Removal or alteration of the notice required by Section 407.531.2, RSMo is an

infraction.

Section 407.536, RSMo provides that any person defacing, obscuring, or otherwise
falsifying any odometer reading on any certificate of certificate, Odometer
Disclosure Statement, separate statement, or application for title shall be guilty of a

class D felony.

407.516 Odometer fraud, first degree, penalty:

1.

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the first degree
if he or she advertises for sale, sells, installs or has installed any
device which causes an odometer to register any mileage other
than the true mileage driven.

For purposes of this section, the true mileage driven is the mileage
registered by the odometer with the manufacturer’'s de- signed
tolerance.

Odometer fraud in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor.

407.521 Odometer fraud, second degree, penalty:

1.

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the second degree
if he or she, with the intent to defraud, disconnects, resets or alters
the odometer of any motor vehicle with the intent to change the
number of miles indicated thereon.

The disconnection, resetting or altering of any odometer while
in the possession of the person shall be prima facie evidence of
intent to defraud.

Odometer fraud in the second degree is a class D felony.

407.526 Odometer fraud, third degree, penalty:

1.

A person commits the crime of odometer fraud in the third degree
if, with the intent to defraud, he or she operates a motor vehicle
less than 10 years old on any street or highway knowing that the
odometer of the motor vehicle is disconnected or not functioning.

Odometer fraud in the third degree is a class C
misdemeanor.
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407.542 Attempt to commit odometer fraud in first or second degree,
penalties:

A person is guilty of an attempt to commit odometer fraud in the
first degree or odometer fraud in the second degree when, with the
purpose of committing the offense, he or she does any act which is
a substantial step towards the commission of the offense. A
“substantial step” is conduct which is strongly corroborative of the
firmness of the actor’s purpose to complete the commission of the
offense.

1.

2. It is no defense to a prosecution under this section that the
offense attempted was, under the actual attendant circum-
stances, factually or legally impossible of commission, if such
offense could have been committed had the attendant circum-
stances been as the actor believed them to be.

3. An attempt to commit odometer fraud in the first or second
degree is a class C misdemeanor.

407.543 Conspiracy to commit odometer fraud in first or second degree,
penalty:

A person is guilty of conspiring with another person or persons to
commit odometer fraud in the first or second degree if, with the
purpose of promoting or facilitating its commission, he agrees with
such other person or persons that they or one or more of them will
engage in conduct which constitutes such an offense.

1.

The provisions of Section 564.016, RSMo shall apply to this

2. section and as is provided in that section, conspiring to commit
odometer fraud in the first or second degree is a class C
misdemeanor.

Odometer 407.544 Prior convictions for odometer frauds, court may increase

sentence, penalties:

Fraud-Court

. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, a court may enhance the
Proceed In g S sentence for any person convicted of violating Sections 407.516, 407.521, 407.526,
407.536, 407.542 or 407.543, RSMo who has a prior conviction for any one of the
aforegoing sections to a fine and to a time of imprisonment within the Department
of Corrections for a term not to exceed that otherwise authorized by law for violation
of a class D felony.
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Section 4

Power of Attorney (POA)

Wh en a A Secure Power of Attorney (SPOA) may be used when the vehicle title is not
available for a proper assignment on the date of sale, because it is held by the
Secure Power | lienholder or because a duplicate title is needed.

Of AttOrn ey The Department has modified the Form-5086 to a single-part secure document.
Can be Used Therefore, it is recommended that you retain a copy for your records. The original

secure document must be submitted for processing (copies will not be
accepted), as the Federal government requires that the SPOA be on secure
paper. The single-part form can be ordered from the Department’s website at:
http://www.dort.mo.gov/mvdl/formorder/.

The multi-part version of this form will still be available through the Missouri Auto
Dealers Association (MADA) at www.madastore.com while supplies last.

from the Missouri Automobile Dealer’s Association (MADA) by ordering online at
www.madastore.com, by calling (573) 761-1020, or by writing to MADA, P.O. Box
1309, Jefferson City. Missouri 65102. Secure Power of Attorney Forms (Eorm-5086)
are $2.80 per package of 25. Payment may be made by credit card or check.

The Form-5086 may be used as follows:

1. Part A of Form-5086:

e Used when the seller authorizes the purchaser to sign the first title assignment
and odometer disclosure on his or her behalf when the title is held by the
lienholder or a duplicate title is needed.

e The date of the POA will become the purchase date on the title assignment.

o Authorizes the purchaser to apply for a duplicate title on the seller’s behalf
(Note: The original SPOA must be submitted for processing.)

2. Part B of Form-5086:

o Authorizes the selling dealer to sign on behalf of the purchase on the second
assignment when the duplicate title is received, allowing the dealer to sell the
vehicle prior to the duplicate title being issued.

e Part B can only be completed when a duplicate title must be obtained.

3. Part C of Form-5086:

e Must be completed by the selling dealer once the duplicate title is received
after the dealer inspects the title to ensure the mileage on the duplicate title is
consistent with what was recorded on the SPOA.

e The secure, original Form-5086 must be attached to the title;

e A copy of Form-5086 must be submitted with a cop%/ of the front and back of
the corresponding title to the Department by the 15" of the month following the
month in which the sale occurred (with the dealer’'s monthly sales report if the
report is filed in paper format); and

¢ A photocopy of Form-5086 must be retained in the dealership’s records.

A regular POA cannot be used in conjunction with a secure POA when:
e Purchaser cannot appoint the lienholder or other third party to execute secure

POA by giving them a regular POA.

¢ Seller cannot appoint the lienholder or other third party to complete Secure POA
form.

0 The secure POA may not be used when a title is being held by a lienholder
because of a "floor planning" arrangement. "Floor planning" is when a
lienholder holds a title as security for financing without formally filing the lien or
recording a security interest on a vehicle offered for sale by a dealer.

4-1


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://www.dort.mo.gov/mvdl/formorder/�
http://www.madastore.com/�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/5086.pdf�

General
Information
Regarding
the Secure
Power of
Attorney

Buying and
Selling a
Vehicle
without a
Title

Original secure POA must be given to any subsequent purchasers with the title.
Purchasers, other than dealers, should retain the duplicate copy with their records.
Dealers should submit the duplicate copy of secure POA form and a copy of front and
back of certificate of title with dealer's monthly sales reports. Dealers are required by
federal law to let any subsequent purchasers review the secure POA that was
previously completed on a vehicle. Dealers must retain a copy for their records. If
original secure POA has been lost, the Department will accept a true certified copy
from the dealership.

A Missouri motor vehicle dealer may buy and sell a motor vehicle when an out-of-state
secure POA accompanies the title. When an out-of-state secure POA is involved,
Missouri dealer must obtain the secure POA and certificate of title, but will not be
required to submit copies of those documents with dealer's monthly sales report.

Law allows a licensed dealer to buy and sell a motor vehicle without a title if the dealer
follows the requirements outlined below. This only applies if the seller’s title has
been lost, stolen, mutilated, or destroyed. The purchase is subject to any liens that
are perfected and not released. The dealer must also verify that the seller is the last
titted owner.

Purchasing the vehicle without a title:
The dealer must receive from the seller:
e A signed sales contract;

¢ If mileage is required,;

0 The seller and purchasing dealer may complete Section A of the secure POA
(Eorm-5086) which allows the dealer to sign and make the odometer disclosure
on behalf of the seller on the first title assignment after the duplicate title is
received.

o If no mileage discloser is required, a notarized POA may be used to both apply for
the duplicate title and make the assignments for the seller once the duplicate title
is received.

e Physical delivery of the vehicle.

The purchase is subject to any liens that are perfected and not released. The dealer
must also verify that the seller is the last titled owner.

Selling the vehicle without a title:

The dealer must provide the purchaser:

¢ A signed sales contract;

¢ Proof the dealer acquired the vehicle from the last titled owner in the form of a DOR
Internet record look-up screen print, other DOR record search, or a Car Fax search;

¢ A notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or a Notice of Lien, Lien
Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name From Title (Form-4809) if applicable;

¢ An internet or other DOR record showing no child support liens on the vehicle (see
http://www.dort.mo.qgov/mvdl/motorv/childlien/);

¢ A copy of the duplicate title application in the previous owner’s name and the original
SPOA that the dealer received from the seller.

The selling dealer and the purchaser must complete Section B of the secure POA
(Eorm-5086), if the dealer is selling the motor vehicle prior to receipt of the duplicate
title. Section B authorizes the dealer to sign on behalf of the purchaser and make
odometer disclosure on the second title assignment of the duplicate title.

The purchaser may make application for title until the dealer provides the assigned
duplicate title and secure POA to him/her.
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Reg u I ar A regular/durable POA may be used in instances where the person holding POA

is not required to complete odometer disclosure on behalf of both seller and
Power of purchaser. A regular notarized POA can be used to complete sale of a motor
vehicle and Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form-3019).

Attorn ey « A regular POA cannot be used in situations where the person signing for buyer
and seller is the same person or when different persons sign for buyer and
FO rm seller but represent work for same entity.

A regular POA can be used to apply for a duplicate title.
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Title Applications Section 5

Ap p | | Cati on Missouri law, Section 301.190, RSMo establishes the requirements for issuing a
. certificate of ownership for a motor vehicle or trailer. The following provisions
for T|t| e an d are included in this section of law:
Cert|f| cate Qf 1. No registration or license plate shall be issued for a motor
] vehicle or trailer unless the applicant has applied for a certificate
Ownershi P of ownership. An application for a certificate of ownership must

be made within 30 days of the purchase.

The Director or Revenue (Director) shall use reasonable diligence
in ascertaining whether the application and supporting documents
are proper. If satisfied that the applicant is the lawful owner of
such motor vehicle or trailer, the director of revenue shall issue a
certificate of ownership in the manner prescribed by law.

3. The Director shall appropriately brand certificates of ownership and
print the most recent mileage information of record on the
certificate.

4. The certificate of ownership shall be manufactured in a manner to
prohibit, as nearly as possible, the ability to alter, counterfeit,
duplicate, or forge such certificate without ready detection.

5. The titling fee for each motor vehicle or trailer shall be $8.50, in
addition to any fee(s) for registration. If application for the
certificate of ownership is not made within 30 days after the
vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of
$25 for the first 30 days of delinquency and $25 for each 30 days
of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of $200 will be
assessed.

6. A processing/agent fee will be assessed on each transaction.

7. Itis unlawful for any person to operate in this state a motor
vehicle or trailer required to be registered under the provisions
of the law unless a certificate of ownership has been issued
as herein provided.

8. A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Eorm-551), or comparable out-of-
state inspection must be submitted with an application for title that is
accompanied by an out-of-state title if a Missouri salvage title has
been issued previously on the vehicle.

9. A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form-551) must be submitted
with the application for an original Missouri certificate of title for
any vehicle that is classified as a reconstructed motor vehicle,
specially constructed motor vehicle, kit vehicle, motor change
vehicle, non-USA-std motor vehicle, or other vehicle as required
by the director of revenue.
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10. Applications for motor vehicle title accompanied by an out-of-state
titte must also be accompanied by an inspection performed by an
official inspection station that verifies the vehicle identification
number and odometer reading of the vehicle.

11. Designations on out-of-state titles which indicate a vehicle as a kit
vehicle, motor change vehicle, reconstructed motor vehicle, specially
constructed motor vehicle, or non-USA-std vehicle will be carried
forward to any subsequent Missouri certificate of ownership.

12. The Director of Revenue and the Superintendent of the Missouri
State Highway Patrol have Administrative Rulemaking authority
under this statute.

T|t| e On the following page is a sample of an Application for Missouri Title and
License (FEorm-108) that must be completed in order to obtain a Missouri

Ap p lication Certificate of Title. Instructions for completing the title application are on the
pages that follow.

NOTE: DO NOT USE WHITEOUT ON AN APPLICATION FOR TITLE.
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. Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV), or Manufactured
Completion |home

of the
; ; NOTE: ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE TYPED OR WRITTEN LEGIBLY SO
App||_cat|on_ ALL COPIES CAN BE READ.
for Missouri
T|t| e an d To apply for a certificate of title on a motor vehicle, trailer, ATV, or manufactured
. home, the Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) must be
License completed as follows:

1. Transaction Type - Mark the appropriate box.

a) Renewal/Transfer Plates - Mark this box if the
applicant wants to renew and transfer plates at the time
application for title is made.

b) Transfer Plates - Mark this box if the applicant only
wants to transfer plates at the time application for title

is made.
C) New Plates - Mark this box if new plates are issued.

d) Title Only - Mark this box if the applicant only wants to
title a vehicle and does not wish to register it and
obtain plates.

NOTE: If there is no complete change of ownership
(such as adding or dropping a name) and the
vehicle already displays license plates, the
current license plate and expiration year must
be shown on the application.

2. Prorate Number - For use by Missouri Motor Carrier Division
(formerly known as the Missouri Highway Reciprocity Commission)
ONLY.

3. DOR Use Only — Reject Number — This box is used by the
Central Office to record the reject number, if applicable.

4. Staple Here - The upper right hand corner is to be used when
stapling supporting documents to the application for title.

5 License Plate Number - Enter the license plate number at the time
of application for title and/or license. The license plate con-
figuration must correspond with the kind of vehicle (KOV) de-
scribed on the Application for Missouri Title and License (Form-

108).
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6. Brand Code - The transactions listed below are processed through
the Central Office ONLY except prior salvage transactions (Iltem f,
below) that are accompanied by a certificate of title that has already
been branded “prior salvage.” The applicant should submit the
transaction to the Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 3325,
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-3325.

a) A - Salvage/Abandoned Property

b) R - Reconstructed Motor Vehicle
C) S - Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle

d) M - Motor Change Vehicle
e) N-Non USA Std
f) P - Prior Salvage

NOTE: If applying for an original title and the transaction is
accompanied by a salvage certificate of title and a
Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form-551), the
applicant must submit the transaction to the Central
Office.

7. Top Portion of Application Form - The top portion of the
application directly below the bar code is reserved for use in
the Central Office ONLY. This space is used to record the
control (title) number of the transaction. It is imperative that
nothing be written in this space. The bar codes are used to
facilitate the microfilming process.

g, Office Validation - (Agent Office Validation) - This space must
legibly show the office number and the date the transaction was
validated. Use block 100 for Branch Office validation.

9. Title Type - Mark the appropriate box to indicate the type of title for
which the applicant is applying. To ensure proper processing, the
box must be marked clearly. Do not mark on or over the lines
separating the title types.

10. Transfer On Death/Tenants In Common - Mark the Transfer On Death

box if the applicant wants to name one or more beneficiaries on the title.
The beneficiaries have no ownership rights until after the vehicle owner is
deceased. Mark the Tenants In Common box if the applicant wishes to
designate a form of ownership other than joint tenancy. When ownership
is by Tenants In Common and one owner is deceased, the remaining
owner’s percentage of ownership remains the same. The deceased
owner’s share must transfer by Probate Court.

5-5


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/551.pdf�

11. Owner’'s Name and Address - Show the legal name(s) of the
applicant(s) in last name, first name, and middle initial sequence. All
names must be legible and must be recorded in the proper sequence.
Only 38 characters (including spaces) of the owner’s name will print on
the face of the certificate of ownership. The 38 characters include any
TOD beneficiaries that may be designated. Show the street address, city,
state, and zip code of the applicant. Only 20 characters of the owner's
street address will print on the face of the certificate of title. Record the
actual city name.

Example: If the applicant resides in Ladue, Missouri, the
application should show Ladue, not St. Louis, Missouri.

a) The following cities may be abbreviated:
(1) Jefferson City ~ JC
(2) St. Louis SL

(3) Kansas City KC

(4) North Kansas City NKC
(5) University City ucC
(6) Springfield SPFD

12. TOD Beneficiaries - Record the beneficiaries’ name(s) if the
Transfer on Death block is marked.

13. County - Enter the county name in which the applicant’'s address is
located.

14. Fleet Number - Record the fleet number assigned by the DOR if the
vehicle is to display fleet vehicle license plates.

15. L/R Number - Record the lease/rental number assigned by the
DOR, if the applicant is a leasing/rental company claiming an
exemption 12 in box 94.

16. Inside City Limits - Check this block if the applicant resides inside
the city limits.

17. Outside City Limits - Check this block if the applicant resides
outside the city limits.

18. Telephone Number - Record a daytime telephone number
where the applicant may be reached.

19. DLN, SSN, or FEIN - The applicant’s identification number
should be entered as outlined below:

a) Individual Name - Enter the Driver License Number or
Social Security Number.

b) Business Name - Enter the Federal Employee
Identification Number (FEIN).
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20. Year - Show at least the last two digits of the vehicle’'s model
year. Example: For 2003 record 03.

21. Make - Enter the make of the vehicle. DO NOT show the model
series. At least the first four letters of the make must be shown
and must be correctly spelled. Example: OLDS - Oldsmobile,
BUIC - Buick, DODG - Dodge, FORD - Ford, MERC - Mercury,
MERZ - Mercedes, and CHRY - Chrysler. For GEO, the make
should be listed as CHEV. For recreational motor vehicles, the
make of the body (instead of the chassis) should be shown.
Below are examples (this list is not all inclusive):

a) Winnebago Industries — WINN

b) Coachman Industries — COAC
c) Itaska Motor Home — ITAS
d) Holiday Rambler — HOLI

e) Pace Arrow — PACE
f) Mobil Traveler — MOBI

22. Vehicle Identification Number - Enter the vehicle identification
number correctly and completely as listed on the surrendered
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or the assigned certificate of
ownership.

23. Body Style - Enter the appropriate body style.

24. Color - Enter the primary color of the vehicle in this block. The color
will not appear on the certificate of ownership.

25. Fyel - Record the proper code in this block. If a type of fuel is used
other than those listed, record “O” (other). If the vehicle is powered
by fuel and electricity, record “G” in the fuel box and base
registration fees on the taxable horsepower. If the vehicle is
powered solely by electricity, record “E” in the fuel box and base
registration fees on the 12-24 horsepower fee.

26. GVWR - Check this box if the vehicle’s gross vehicle weight
rating is over 16,000 pounds.

o7 List GVWR - Record the gross vehicle weight rating from the
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for all new commercial motor
vehicles.

28. Mileage - When there is a change of ownership, record the
mileage on the title application from the title assignment for all
motor vehicles unless the vehicle is exempt. If no change of
ownership, record current mileage, if available.
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29. Code - Office staff will enter the appropriate mileage code in this
box, if applicable.

30.  purchase Date - Enter the Month/Day/Year. Example: March
04-03 or 03-04-03. The purchase date and the sale date must be
the same. The purchase date should be the date the ownership
document was assigned when a change of ownership is involved.
On non-assigned titles, i.e., change of state, adding a lien, etc.,
the purchase date should be carried forward from the face of the
title. If there is no purchase date on the face of the title, the issue
date shown on the surrendered ownership document may be
entered as the purchase date.

31. New/Used - Mark “New” if the vehicle was purchased on a Manufacturer
Statement of Origin; otherwise, mark “Used.” Check only ONE box.

32.  Previous Title Number - Enter the previous title number of  the
vehicle being titled, if available. If the vehicle is new and has never
been titled, write “MSO” (Manufacturer's Statement of Origin) or
“CQO” (Certificate of Origin) in this block. If a court order is the
ownership document, record “Court Order” in the block.

33. State - Enter the state abbreviation from which the previous title
was issued, if available.

34. Zone - Enter the appropriate zone of operation for commercial
registrations only.

35. Licensed Gross Weight or Seating Capacity - Enter the licensing
weight or seating capacity that corresponds to the license plate
being issued, if available. Example: 6,000 Ibs, 12,000 pounds, etc.,
for commercial motor vehicles. If the vehicle is a bus, record the
seating capacity.

36. Kind of Vehicle (KOV) - Record the correct code as listed on the
title application. The kind of vehicle must agree with the type of
registration issued.

37. Cylinders - Enter the number of cylinders for all passenger
vehicles as shown on the Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin or
the assigned certificate of ownership. If the vehicle is electrically
powered, or if it has a rotary engine, enter EL for electric, or 2R,
3R, or 4R for a rotary engine.

38. Horsepower - Enter the taxable horsepower for passenger
vehicles only.

39. Tab Number - Enter the appropriate tab number when a new tab
number is issued.

40. Expiration Month - Enter the month the registration expires.

41. Expiration Year - Enter the year the registration expires.

42. Special - Place an “X” in this box if a personalized or special
military license plate of any category is involved in the transaction.
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43. Price - Enter the gross sale price of the motor vehicle, trailer, all-
terrain vehicle, or manufactured home. Verify with title assignment,
if recorded.

44. Rebate — Enter the rebate amount, if applicable. A rebate offered
by a motor vehicle dealer or manufacturer may be used as a credit
to reduce the amount of sales tax due by a purchaser when titling a
new or used motor vehicle sold by a Missouri or out-of-state dealer.
The selling dealer must complete all rebate information on the
application for title before any credit will be allowed.

45. Vehicle Trade-In - Enter the total amount allowed on the trade-in
vehicle, if applicable. Verify with title assignment, if recorded. If this
amount has been altered, request proof of the trade-in, i.e., dealer
invoice.

46. Other Credits - Enter the total amount allowed on any tangible
personal property that was received by the dealership as a credit or
partial payment towards the purchase price of the vehicle, e.g., farm
products.

47. Net Price - Enter the total net price. This is calculated by
subtracting any rebate, trade-in allowance and/or other credits from

the purchase price.

48. First Lien - Mark the “YES” box if there is a lien on the vehicle;
otherwise mark “NO”.

49. Security Agreement Date (First Lien) - Record the lien date if
there is a lien on the vehicle.

50. Lienholder’s Telephone No. - Record the lienholder’s
telephone number, if applicable.

1. sSecond Lien - Mark the “Yes” box if a second lien or Subject to
Future Advances (STFA) must be recorded on the certificate of
ownership. The box on line 55 below must also be marked if
STFA.

52. Mail-to Alternate Address Below - Mark this box only when the
title is to be mailed to an address other than the address shown at
the top of the application. In the event that there is a second
lienholder and/or STFA completed in the “Mail-to” area and the
owner needs the title mailed to a different address, the owner must
pay the $5 expeditious title fee and complete a Return Title Slip
(Form-1319) with the "Mail-to" address.

NOTE: Effective July 1, 2003, titles will be mailed to the
owner or designated "Mail-to" even when alien
is shown.

53. First Lien Name and Address - Enter the complete name and
address of the lienholder. "As agent" may be recorded following the
lienholders name. Please note that only the first 20 characters of the
name will appear on the certificate of ownership.

5-9



54. Second Lienholder or Mail To Name and Address - Enter the
complete name and address of the second lienholder or mail to.
Please note that only the first 20 characters of the name will appear
on the certificate of ownership, so the name may be abbreviated
accordingly.

NOTE:! |n the event there is a second lienholder and/or
subject to future advances completed in the “Mail-to”
area and the owner needs the title mailed to a
different address, the owner must pay the $5
expeditious title fee and complete a return title slip
with the mail to address.

55. STFA (Subject to Future Advances) — Mark this box if the
“Subject to Future Advances” must be recorded on the
certificate of ownership.

56. Security Agreement Date (Second Lien) - Record the lien date
if there is a second lien on the vehicle.

57. Trade-In/License Transfer/Other Credit - Mark the appropriate
box or boxes. Mark “Trade-In” only if a vehicle was traded in to a
dealership. Mark "Other Credit" when using replacement credit or
farm products credit.

58. Year - Enter the year of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or
the year of the vehicle from which the registration is being
transferred.

59. Make - Enter the make of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or
the make of the vehicle from which the registration is being
transferred.

60. License Number - Enter the license plate number being
transferred.

61. Expiration Year - Enter the expiration year of the license plate
being transferred, when applicable.

62. First Lienholder Authorization — Effective July 1, 2003, the first
lienholder’'s agent must sign in this block only if a second lien is listed
and the lien is being filed by using the fourth and fifth copies of the
title application.

63.  Vehicle Identification Number - Enter the complete vehicle
identification number of the vehicle being traded in/other credit or for
the vehicle from which the registration is being transferred.
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64. Horsepower - Enter the taxable horsepower if the vehicle from which
the registration is being transferred is a passenger vehicle.

65. Title Number - Enter the title number of the vehicle being traded
in/other credit or of the vehicle from which the registration is being
transferred, if available.

66. Signature of Owner - ENSURE THE APPLICATION FOR TITLE
AND LICENSE IS SIGNED BY THE OWNER INDICATED AT THE
TOP OF THE APPLICATION. If more than one owner’s name is
listed, only one signature is required. If the applicant is an officer of
a company or corporation, he or she must indicate his or her official
position with the company or corporation beside his or her signature.

a) Missouri law requires every motor vehicle owner to present a
current insurance identification card, or copy thereof, or other
proof of financial responsibility and to sign an affidavit
certifying that the owner or the authorized agent has and will
maintain financial responsibility during the registration period
(does not apply to trailers and all- terrain vehicles). Signing
the application meets this requirement.

67. MO Dealer Number - Enter the dealer number when the vehicle
described on the title application was sold by a Missouri dealer. If the
application for title is in the name of a Missouri dealer, the purchasing
dealer’'s number must be listed.

68. Dealership Name - Enter the selling dealership’s name, if
applicable.

69 City, State, and Zip Code - Enter the selling dealer’s address,

" when applicable.

70. Telephone Number - Enter the dealer’s telephone number, when
applicable.

71. Signature of Dealer or Representative - The selling dealer or an
authorized representative of the dealer must sign, when applicable.
A signature must be shown if a trade-in credit or other credit was
allowed by the dealer.

72.  Trade-In (Yes/No) - The selling dealer or authorized representative of
the dealer must check the appropriate block as listed below, when
applicable:

a)if trade-in information is listed on the application for title and a
trade-in amount is shown, the “YES” block should be checked.
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b) If there is no trade-in or if the credit allowed is “Other
Credit” as outlined in #46, the “No” block should be
checked.

c) If the dealer marked the “No” block indicating no trade-in, the
trade-in credit will not be allowed unless the applicant provides
proof that there was an actual trade-in. Proof may be provided
in the form of a statement from the selling dealer explaining the
“No” block was checked in error or a copy of the sale’s invoice
reflecting the trade-in credit, etc.

73. Duplicate Title - Mark the appropriate reason the duplicate title is
needed.

74. Notary Information - The application must be signed in the
presence of a Notary Public if applying for a duplicate title. The
Notary Public must complete the appropriate blocks.

75. Donations - The appropriate box must be marked if the applicant
wishes to donate to the Blind Fund, Organ Fund, and/or WWII
Memorial Fund.

76. FHVUT (Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax) - Office staff will check
this block when verifying the proof of payment of this tax.

77. Wgt. (Weight) of Plates Form 2290 - Office staff will enter the

gross vehicle weight (GVW rating). The GVW rating is determined
by using the Category block shown on Schedule 1 of IRS Form
2290 and the Category Conversion Chart.

78.  Verification Codes - For office staff use. The codes stand for the

following:

a) PP - Personal Property Tax Receipt or Statement of Non-
Assessment

b) INS - Insurance
c) FEIN - Federal Employee Identification Number

d) FMCSR - Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
e) SAFETY - Safety Inspection

f) EMISSION - Emissions Inspection
79. Distribution Amount - For office staff use.

80. sijte Code - Office staff will enter the site code number from the Local

Sales Tax Rate Chart for the corresponding local tax jurisdiction (city or
county).

81. Approve/Reject - For Central Office use only.

82. Mileage Date - For Central Office staff use only.
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83. Surrendered Plate Number - Office staff will enter the license plate
number surrendered for credit, if applicable.

g4. Surrendered Plate Credit - Office staff will enter the amount of credit
for a surrendered license plate, if applicable.

85. License Fee - Office staff will enter the appropriate registration fee for
the license plate being issued or renewed, if applicable.

86. Reservation Fee - Office staff will enter the appropriate fee for a

personalized/special plate being issued or renewed, if applicable.
87. Additional Horsepower/DR/DRX Fee - Office staff will enter any
additional horsepower fee due, if applicable. If a DR number or a
DRX number is assigned or replaced, the appropriate fee will be
entered.

88. Transfer Fee - Office staff will enter $2 if transferring a registration.

89. Failure to Transfer/Renew - If applicable, office staff will enter an
$8.50 penalty fee if an applicant elects not to transfer or renew a
multi-year plate that is less than five years old.

90. Renewal Penalty - Office staff will enter a $5 renewal penalty, if
applicable.

91. Title Penalty - Office staff will enter a title penalty if the applicant

fails to apply for a certificate of ownership within 30 days of
purchase. The penalty fee is $25 for each 30 days of delinquency
not to exceed $200.

92. Fund Donations - Office staff will enter the total amount due for fund
donations indicated in #75.

93. Title/Quick Fee - Office staff will enter the correct title fee, if
applicable. Add a $5 quick title fee, when applicable.

94. state Tax - Enter the amount of state tax due on the net price of the

motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, or manufactured home.

Indicate whether the state tax collected is sales or use tax by

checking the “S” or “U” block.

a) s - Sales tax is collected when the vehicle is sold by a
Missouri dealer.

b) U - Use tax is collected on all sales other than those
made by a Missouri dealer.

NOTE: If the unit is exempt from tax, the applicable exemption
number must be shown. If an exemption is shown, enter an
EX or # before the exemption number. If the title is a dealer
title, regular license plates cannot be issued to the vehicle
because of Exemption #3.
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. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
95. Local Tax - Enter the amount of local tax due, if applicable.
96. Subtotal - Office staff will enter the total amount due for #85-95.

97. Processing or Agent Fee — All offices must collect a
processing/agent fee.

98. Total - Enter the total amount of fees due.

99. Processed By - Office staff will initial to confirm the proper
documentation for each transaction has been witnessed.

100. Branch Office Validation - For Branch Office validation.
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Section 6

Creation and Release of Liens

Creation
and Release
of Liens

Creation of a Lien

Missouri law states that for a lien to be perfected the date it is created, and to protect
the creditor from the buyer's/debtor's possible bankruptcy, the notice of lien should
be perfected (received by the Department) within 30 days from the date of the loan.

Perfecting a Lien

e Alien is a claim on the property of another, i.e., vehicle, vessel,
etc., as security for payment of a debt.

e To perfect a lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, boat, or
outboard motor, see the chart below.
e File your lien online at: https://dors.mo.gov/dmv/nol/loginLink.do

o All certificates of title will be mailed to the owner named on the certificate of title
unless the owner designates a “Mail-to” on the application for title or provides
written authorization for other handling.

Filing Notice of Lien Online
A primary (first) lienholder can file a notice of lien using the Department’s online
Notice of Lien System (NOL).

e A second lienholder cannot file a notice of line using the Department’s online
NOL system as the second lienholder must obtain the written authorization from
the first lienholder and provide the written authorization when filing their NOL.

¢ Information on how to obtain access and file notice of liens using the
Department’s online NOL system can be found at dor.mo.gov/motorv/liendeal/

Below is a summary of documents and fees required based on the type of

transaction:

TRANSACTION TYPE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS/FEES

e Vehicle/Vessel/OBM:

FILING FIRST LIEN o Notice of Lien or Lien Release or Authorization to
ONLINE WITHOUT Add/Remove Name From Title (Form-4809); or

OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT o Application for title (Form-108 or 93).
e $2.50 processing fee.

FILING SECOND LIEN e Same requirements as listed above.
WITHOUT OWNERSHIP
DOCUMENT (Cannot file

online)
o Application;
o Vehicle — Application for Missouri Title and License (Form-
108) with “Title and Notice of Lien” box checked; or
o Vessel/lOBM - Application for Missouri Boat/Vessel or
NO CHANGE OF ng[li)é):l:f I\Ifioetr(])’f ta)l(r)l)((j gz%lig:non (Form-93) with “Title and
OWNERSHIP '

Certificate of title;

Notice of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization to Add/Remove

Name From Title (Form-4809);

o Lien authorization or release of the existing lien is not
required if the lienholder is only updating a lien (same owners
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and same lienholder).
Title fees:
o $8.50 title fee for motor vehicles;

NO CHANGE OF o $7.50 title fee for vessels; or
OWNERSHIP 5 title fee for OBM
(continued) o9 t|t_e ee for OB,
o $2.50 title processing fee; and
e $2.50 NOL processing fee.
o Notice of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization to Add/Remove
CHANGE OF ' -
OWNERSHIP Name From Title (Form-4809); and

$2.50 NOL processing fee.

You may take the documents to your local license office or mail to the Motor
Vehicle Bureau PO Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0100.

Releasing a Lien
On a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or outboard motor,
Sections 301.640, 306.420, and 700.370, RSMo require the lienholder to
release the lien on a separate document within 5 business days after the lien is
satisfied. The release document shall be notarized. Each perfected second
lienholder, if any, shall release such lien in the same manner.
e Lien releases made on or after July 1, 2003, may no longer be

released on the face of a Missouri title, but must be released as

follows:

o Ifthelienholder is an individual, a notice of release (lien release
section of Form-4809) must be completed, signed, and notarized.
An estate executor may release the lien by submitting the above
with an original or certified copy of the probate court order.

o Ifthelienholder is a business entity, a completed, signed, and
notarized notice of release (lien release section of Form-4809)
or a notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead listing
the year, make, vehicle identification number, lien release date,
lienholder name and signature, and vehicle owner’s information
must be submitted; or

& A faxed copy may be accepted as long as the notary
information is legible.

o If the above cannot be obtained, the original security agreement

stamped “paid” with the official seal of the lienholder will be

accepted. The seal must contain the lienholder’'s business name (a

stamp that only shows “paid” is not acceptable).
Liens released prior to July 1, 2003, may be released on the face of the title or
as listed above and do not have to be notarized.

e If the owner is unable to obtain a lien release, a court order instructing
the director of revenue to release the lien must be submitted.

e Some states still require the lien to be released on the face of the title. For
these states, Missouri will accept this method of lien release. The out-of-state
titte must be notarized only if that state currently requires the release to be
notarized.

e Torelease a lien recorded on a certificate of title when the accounts/assets of
the lienholder have been taken over by the FDIC due to insolvency and/or
liquidation, a document from the FDIC must be submitted.

o The document from the FDIC must grant power of attorney to the receiver
of the account and list the names of the insolvent lienholder and the
lienholder that took over the account. If the power of attorney references an
“asset pool” only, rather than the name of the insolvent lienholder, a
separate document listing the insolvent lienholder is required.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING A NOTICE OF LIEN OR LIEN
RELEASE FORM (FORM-4809)

1. For DOR Use Only — Office staff should validate this area for the
appropriate processing/agent fee.

The following must be completed in order to file a lien:

2.  Owner’s Name — Enter the owner’s name exactly as shown on the
title application in last, first, and middle sequence. To release a lien
in multiple names on the title, only one is required on release.
Street Address — Enter the owner’s street address.

County — Enter the county in which the owner lives.
City, State, and ZIP Code — Enter the owner’s city, state and zip
code.

3. DLN, SSN, OR FEIN Number — Enter the Driver License Number,
Social Security Number, or Federal Employee Identification Number
(FEIN) of the owner.

4. Type of Unit — Check the appropriate block to indicate motor
vehicle, ATV, trailer, manufactured home, vessel, or outboard motor.

5. Year — Enter the year of the unit, e.g., 04, 05, etc.
Make — Enter the make of the unit, i.e., Ford.
Identification Number — Enter the identification number of the
motor vehicle, ATV, manufactured home, trailer, vessel, or outboard
motor.

6. Purchase Date — Enter the purchase date of the unit.

7. Previous Title Number — Enter the previous title number, if
available.

8. Net Price — Enter the net price of the unit after any trade-in credit or
rebate has been deducted.

9. First Lienholder's Name — Enter the name of the first lienholder.
"As agent" may be recorded following the lienholders name. Please
note that only the first 20 characters (including spaces) of the name
will appear on the certificate of title.

Street Address — Enter the first lienholder’s street address.
City, State, and ZIP Code — Enter the first lienholder’s city, state
and zip code.

10. FDIC or ID Number — Enter the Federal Deposit Insurance
Corporation (FDIC) number or other lienholder identification number
of the second lienholder, i.e., dealer number, etc.

11. Lien Date — Enter the date of the security agreement (lien date) for
the first lienholder.

12. Subject to Future Advances (First Lienholder) — Mark this block if
the unit is subject to future advances.

13. Loan or Unit Number — This box is used to record the loan or unit
number provided by the first lienholder.
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14. First Lienholder Authorization — To add a second lien, the first lienholder’s
authorized agent must sign.

15. Second Lienholder's Name — Enter the name of the second lienholder.
Street Address - Enter the first lienholder’s street address.
City, State and ZIP Code — Enter the city, state and ZIP code of the second
lienholder.

16. FDIC or ID Number — Enter the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
(FDIC) or identification number of the second lienholder.

17 Second Lien Date — Enter the date of the security agreement (lien date) for
the second lienholder, if applicable.

18. Loan or Unit Number — This box is used to record the loan or unit number
provided by the second lienholder.

19. Lienholder Authorization — Check the box and complete owner information
only if adding/removing name from the title.

20. Lien Release — Check this box to release a lien.

21. Lienholders’ Name as Shown on Title — Enter the name of the lienholder
that is releasing the lien as it appears on the face of the title.

22. Printed Name of Lienholder’s Agent — Print the name of the lienholder’s
agent that is releasing the lien.

23. Signature of Lienholder’s Agent — The authorized agent of the lienholder
must sign.

24. Lien Creation Date — Enter the lien creation date.
25. Release Date — Record the date the lien is released.

26. Notary Public Information — This section must be completed by a notary
public.

6-5



- — e
OF THE LAW AND NAY B8 PUNIHED BY FNE G
Ol esnswasmransssn [ HPRIECHEERT 26 BcTh ]
FLATE: DOR LISE CILY — REJECT NUMBER]
| D™
Oraweris LIZENEE FLATE He BRAND'CCCE
Ormeawx
0 TITLE AND NOTICE OF LIEN 1
I MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVEMUE {No complete change of swnarship
N O I | ( : I O I APPLICATION FOR MISSOURITITLE AND LICENSE
CRIGRAL (1] | CUPLICATE [5] [MOR-HESAT. (7, [PFAoR SALWAGE] coRREETEn ] CLGN[E] SALAGE (3] |DUREASMGE | IRGK | DURINE(E, TANIIRR ol pr—y
[u] [m] [u] ] [u] [m] [m] [m] ] [u] ean [ couacy
I I E N FO R M OWNER'S N&ME - LAST, FIRST, MICOLE [CHLY FRST § his wALL PRINT CHTITLE) NCLUD NG TCO TOD BENEFIIARIES, F APPUCAELE
£ [ eTREET AORESS, A R.OR RO.ECX MUMBER COLNTY 3 FLEET HUMBER |L.F| MINEER
=
DO R - I 08 5 OIwarr Lms CIOUTSCECITY | TELEFHOKE NUWEER
oy ETATE ZIF COCE [ 1
DLN OF FEIN MIWBER FRICE |
4 s |5
= —] =
WEHICLE CENTIFICATICN MIMEER  (F TYFING, CASREGARD BLEGK COMETRAINTS] 8 TOTTATILE FEBATE
6 T R T 1 TR N R L
FIEL G-GAL  Lip.peceanc|SVWRONER | EnEw LT Gewn | MILEAGE IFCHASE DATE VEHICLE TRACE-N
w I et it
z WA 5 SR Owes s
T [vnccrFvERcLE EURFENDER b [staE 0 8- scvoen LocaL 9 fesmvea | OTHER CREDIT
O wew [ vzen L-LOCAL 6. BHUTTLE
= | -PAssNGR M. MOTORCYCLE e, ma LoloohL & S e
TrRMK o.TRCWELE e oF = e
_ . A F £ ) TR | GHECH BOK IF
o In:l.:u B EEC VEHICLE crect - 12
B-Euz A-dr l 1 HOT EXFIFE 1)
FIRST LIEN SECURITY NT DATE | MALTO LIENHOLDER | IENHCUDER S FHCHE MO, | SECORD LI ASIL T ALTEFNATE ADDRESS BELOW. 0O NOT USE 1H
O ves 13 B O 1 [ ves O 17 EECCHE LEN CR SUBJECT TO FUTURE ADSSHCES.
g [ e 14 [2]5= 15 TR | “EECURTY
2 16 18 L p|ostra
2 20
= | STREET ACORESS, ALR.OR F.O.ECX NJMBE STREET ADCREES, AR OFf P B0k NUMEER
& UICENSE FEE
=1
oy STATE | P CODE g STAE 2P GO0 %
FESERWATION FEE
——
2| O TRALEN YEAR | WAKE LICEHSE HUMEER EXEVEAR N FiRsT LIEMHOLDER A sECOND LIEN &Y | ¥
i % O ucense SIGMIMG HERE: - 2 1 ADDATICRAL FPCRITR
TRAMEFER —_ |
22|00 omen VEHICLE [CENTIFICATION NLMBER HF. |1m.snuussn %
I TRANSFER FEE
ATURE OF OMNE O 0 D
« Fr?é":u"m‘f'uﬁn‘:gn.ammp:nﬂ' o it respora oy rot [V CERTIFY UNDER PEMALTY OF PEF.LIRY THAT THE FACT
2 o | molor wehich thal | owmy, Bcense, or opsrabs on e sirests or highways. HEREIN ARE TRUETO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE" I
@
E ™| Voumust preseni our nzumnce card orciher accapiathe proa of fanclal reporeibilly. X &
Any takia afidat 15 & crims undsr Seation 676080 of Wlasourl law. » FENERAL FENALTY
T STAE, A Bote TELEPTIOTE TOWEEE | &
o
. J TITLE FEHALTY
= | "I CERTIFY LNDER PEMALTY OF PERJURY THAT THE FACTS HEREIN EIGMATURE OF DEALEF OR FEFRESENTATIVE | TRADE-N
ARE TRUE TO THE EEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE." | 3 &
DUPLIG ATE TITLE OHLY - COMPLETE FEASON AND NOTAFIZE. MOTARY INFORMATICN APFLIES O AFFLIGAN TS EXHATUIRE FUND CONATIONS
5| Duoer Osroue O wumismen prwcHmumiameo e I NEveR REcenen - LosT mwaL ]
HEmErar=r—rr=s T TOURTY [oR CITY OF 5T.LOUE) TILENGUICK FEE
ko I IFEXEMPT FROM STATE OR
=Svr] i LOCAL TAYES, ENTER 3
o LSS CRIRGT AND SWERN BCFORE NE, THE EXEMFTION GOCE HERE:
35 == [ N
Fa HOTWARY PUBLI SIS AT UG WY COMMISSICH SRS S E 1]
g HOTARY PLELIC MAE (TYPED R PRINTED) Ll o Tax
a ] Dl | ™= At | o
[OFACE VALIDATION Or O EUBTOTAL
OapPROVE | Gy . .
O REJECT ¢
[IE] =aFeTy TE e FROCEEENE (R AZENTFEE
2 2 [TIE] evssicn .
PRSI b WILEAGE DATE NOL FROCESEING FEE
TUFFENTEFED PLATE WOREER 5
TOTAL
SRFRNIGFRD PLATE CREDT
— ———————— hl
TITLEWITHIN THIRT ¥ DAYS 10 AVOID PENALTY TOR-108 (5000

An explanation for each required field is contained on the following pages.

6-6



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING A NOTICE OF LIEN FORM

(DOR-108)
1. Office Validation — (Office Validation) this space must legibly show the
office number and the date the transaction was validated.
2. Owner's Name & Address — Enter the name, street address, city,
state, and ZIP of the owner.
3. County — Enter the county name in which the applicant’s address is
located.
4 DLN, SSN, or FEIN Number — The applicant’s identification number
" should be entered as outlined below:
¢ Individual Name - Enter the Driver License Number or Social
Security Number.
e Business Name - Enter the Federal Employee Identification
Number (FEIN).
5. Price — Enter the gross sale price of the motor vehicle, trailer, all-
terrain vehicle or manufactured home.
6. Year — Enter the last two digits of the vehicle's model year, example:
04.
7. Make — Enter the make of the vehicle, i.e., Ford.
8 Vehicle Identification Number — Enter the vehicle identification
" number correctly and completely as listed on the surrendered
Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin or the assigned certificate of
ownership.
9. Purchase Date — Enter the purchase date of the unit; as mm/dd/yy.
10. Previous Title Number — Enter the previous title number of the vehicle
being titled, if available.
11. Kind of Vehicle (KOV) — Record the correct code as listed on the title
application.
12.  Net Price — Enter the net price of the unit after any trade-in credit or
rebate has been deducted.
13. First Lien — Mark the appropriate box to record a first lienholder.
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14.  Security Agreement Date — Record the first lien date.

15.  Lienholder's Phone Number — Record the lienholder’s phone
number.

16.  First Lien — Record the first lienholder's name and complete
address.

17. Second Lien — Mark the appropriate box to record a second
lienholder. Mark this box to have title mailed to alternative
address below: mailed to an address than what is listed in area
of the application. This box cannot be used if second lien or
STFA applies. (See MV1-1)

18. Second Lien — Record the second lienholder's name and complete
address.

Subject To Future Advances (STFA) — Mark this box if the unit is
19. subject to future advances.

20. Security Agreement Date — Record the second lien date.

First Lienholder Authorization — To add a second lien, the first
21 Jjienholder's authorized agent must sign.
22. OFFICE VALIDATION — This space is used by state offices to
validate the transaction for the $2.50 processing fee.

On occasion, the owner listed on the face of a certificate of titte may change his or
Nam e her name because of marriage, divorce, adoption, personal reasons, etc. To
reflect this change on the certificate of title, the owner must submit a completed
Ch an g e - NO Application for Missouri Title and License (DOR-108), the outstanding certificate
Ch an g e Of of title in his or her name, and one of the documents listed below. Because there
is no change of ownership, the certificate of title is not required to be
Ownership assigned.
e A copy of the marriage certificate or newspaper
clipping when a name change occurs because of
marriage;

e A copy of the divorce decree that specifically states
the individual’s name was restored to its previous
state when a divorce occurs and the former wife
changes her name to her previous (maiden) name;

e Authorized adoption papers issued through the Circuit
Court, Juvenile Division, indicating a change of name
when an individual is adopted and a hame change
occurs; or
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Adding or
Deleting
Names

Adding or
Deleting
Names after
Title Assigned
but Prior to
Issuance of a
New Title

e A certified document from the Circuit Court Division when an
individual elects to have his or her name changed because of
personal reasons. The order from the court must state the
name the individual formerly used and the full name currently
being used by the individual.

To add or delete a name on a certificate of title, the following must be submitted:

e All copies of the completed Application for Missouri Title and_License (DOR-
108), or Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (DOR-93) with the title type marked as “ORIGINAL;”

e The properly assigned certificate of title;

o The lien is not required to be released in this case, but must be shown
on the application for title.

e The appropriate title and processing/agent fee.

e Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from
Title

In most cases, the license plates currently being used on the vehicle may
remain on the vehicle. Please contact your local Department of Revenue
license office for complete instructions.

On occasion, the purchaser of a newly acquired motor vehicle or trailer will
request the Department to add or delete another individual's name to or from
the ownership document at the time an application for title is submitted to a
license office.

Adding or deleting an owner name from the title does not affect a perfected
lienholder’s security interest, the lienholder’s ability to obtain a repossession
title, or the lienholder’s rights in bankruptcy.

When a name is being deleted, a statement must be submitted by the individual
whose name is being deleted.

Upon presentation of the required documents and fees, an individual’'s name
may be added or deleted on an application for title.

House Bill 269, which went into effect August 28, 2009, requires Authorization
from Lienholder when adding or dropping a name from a title. Use Form 4809
(Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to Add/Remove Name from Title)
signed by a lienholder or a statement on a lienholder’s letterhead for
authorization.
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Lienholder No
Longer in
Business

When a
Lien
Release is
not
Required

A copy of a certificate of title with the lien released is not acceptable proof for
releasing a lien at the time application is made for a duplicate title unless the
lienholder shown is no longer in business. A statement from the Secretary of
State’s Office, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), or Federal
Savings and Loan Association stating the lienholder is no longer in business must
be submitted with the copy of the certificate of title showing the lien released.

General Information

On occasion, a lienholder will release the lien on a vehicle before the original
certificate of title reflecting the lien issues in the owner’s name. This usually
happens when the applicant fails to pay his or her taxes in a timely manner. In this
situation, the lien may be released after the taxes are paid by submitting one of the
lien release documents referenced on page 6-2, under “Releasing a Lien.” If the
vehicle was purchased for less than $6,000 and six years has elapsed since the
creation of the lien, a lien release may not be required as outlined below.

Section 301.640.3, RSMo provides that if the purchase price of a motor vehicle or
trailer did not exceed $6,000 at the time of purchase, a lien shown on the certificate
of title shall be considered satisfied within six years from the date the lien was
originally perfected. In this case, the lien does not have to be released by the
lienholder. These provisions do not apply in the following situations:

e |[f the lienholder was a bank, credit union, savings and loan, or other depository
institution, or a motor vehicle financing company whose net worth exceeds
$100,000,000, i.e., GMAC, Ford Motor Credit, etc.

o The liens that do qualify under this provision are those made by dealers,
individuals, and other entities not excluded above.

e |If the certificate of title has “Subject to Future Advances “recorded in the second
lienholder area of the title; or

¢ If the lien has been re-perfected since the original date of perfection or a new
lien has been perfected on the title.

EXAMPLE: Mike Smith purchased a motor vehicle on June 27,
1995, from a dealer for $5,500. The dealer financed the vehicle.
When the title issued on July 20, 1995, it was mailed to the dealer
showing the lien. On August 28, 2003, Mr. Smith applies for a
duplicate title to the vehicle. Because the purchase price of the
vehicle was less than $6,000 and at least six years has passed
since the lien was perfected, Mr. Smith may obtain a clear title
without submitting a lien release from the dealer.
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Titles Issued
Without
Lienholder
Information

Liens May
Secure
Future
Advances

If a notice of lien is received from the lienholder within 30 days of the creation of
lien date and the Department has issued a title that does not reflect the lien, the
Department will:

e Recall the incorrect title; and
e |ssue a new title with the correct lien information shown.

It is important that the lienholder promptly files the notice of lien to keep
occurrences of titles being issued without the correct lien information shown to a
minimum.

Sections 301.600.3, 306.400.4, and 700.350.3, RSMo provide that liens on motor
vehicles, trailers, manufactured homes and marinecraft (boats and motors) may
secure future advances if certain procedures are followed. For example, a
lienholder may file a notice of lien on a vehicle with the Department and later
allow the vehicle owner to refinance his or her vehicle, borrow additional money
or extend his or her line of credit under the original security agreement. The
lienholder does not have to “update” or re-perfect the lien by filing another notice
of lien with the Department on the same vehicle. The lien already shown on the
certificate of ownership will secure any future loan made against the vehicle as
long as the loan is an extension or addendum to the original loan agreement.

For a lien on a motor vehicle, trailer, marinecraft, or manufactured home to
secure future advances, the following requirements apply:

e The security agreement evidencing indebtedness must clearly state the fact
that a lien may secure future advances. The Department is not required to
witness the agreement.

e The lienholder must check the "STFA” block on the notice of lien form. The
applicant must check the second lien block and the “STFA” block on the title
application.

0 When the corresponding certificate of title issues, “Subject to Future
Advances” will appear in the second lienholder area on the face of the
certificate of title.

e “Subject to Future Advances” may not be recorded on any application for title
or lien perfection or the subsequent certificate of title issued if a second
lienholder is shown.

o If the original lien has already been released on the certificate of title, the

lienholder would have to file another notice of lien on the vehicle, as the
provisions to secure future advances would be terminated.
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General Information

Lienholders may note the fact that a lien secures future advances on any
application for an original title or notice of lien on a motor vehicle, trailer,
manufactured home, boat, or motor. This includes applications for title
involving a change of ownership, updating/adding a lien, or changing a
name.

Repossession New Requirements Effective August 28, 2006
Title

All DOR license offices can accept repo title applications for motor vehicles,
trailers, ATVs, manufactured homes, boats/vessels, outboard motors. These
applications may still be submitted to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box
1008, Jefferson City, MO 65105-1008.

To obtain a repossession title, the lienholder must submit the following
documents and fees.

Repossession Titling Requirements

Motor vehicles, trailers, ATV's, or manufactured homes:

Application/Affidavit for Missouri Repossession Title (DOR-5005);

Boats/vessels or outboard motors:

Application for Missouri Watercraft Title and Registration (DOR-93);
General Affidavit (Form-768) with item 5 completed, signed, and notarized,;

All units:

A copy of the Notice of Lien (NOL) receipt or the original title reflecting the
lienholder;

$10 title fee or $15 quick title fee (if applicable); and
$2.50 processing fee.

Before making application, the lienholder must provide 10 days written
notice to the owner and any other lienholders by first class mail; postage
prepaid, of their intent to file for a repossession title, or must obtain the
written consent from all parties to repossess the unit. Lienholders may
access the Department’s records online to ensure they have notified all
interested parties of record. Applications for online access can be obtained
at http://www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/liendeal/.
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Section 7

Miscellaneous Titling Information

Vehicle Section 301.190, RSMo, provides that when an application is made for a
. . Missouri certificate of title for a motor vehicle previously registered or titled in
Identification a state other than Missouri (or for a prior salvage vehicle being retained by the
owner as provided in section 301.020, RSMo), the application shall be
N um b er an d accompanied by a current inspection form certified by an authorized official
Od ometer inspection station. The inspection shall certify that the manufacturer’s
. . identification number for the vehicle has been inspected, that it is correctly
Verification displayed on the vehicle and shall certify the reading shown on the odometer

. . at the time of inspection. The inspection must accompany the title application.
Req ul red Wlth If the vehicle is being registered, a current safety and emissions inspection (if

OUt-Of- State applicable) must be submitted.

Tit|eS Sections 301.679 to 301.681, 306_.458, 3_06.461, and 700.630, RSMo provide
that the purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel

(watercraft), or outboard motor may elect certain forms of ownership or may

designate a beneficiary in case of death. These choices must be made at the

time application for title is made as outlined below.

Tenants In Common (T/C)

Tenants In

CO mmo n/ Missouri law presumes that where more than one owner is shown on the title
application, the motor vehicle, manufactured home, trailer, manufactured home,

Tran Sfer on vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor will be held in joint tenancy unless
otherwise specified. This means if one of the owners dies, the surviving owner(s)

Death receives the unit upon proof of death. Per- sons who own the motor vehicle,

trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor as joint tenants
may also designate beneficiaries as outlined on page 7-2.

If motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel (watercraft), or outboard
motor owners do not want their ownership as joint tenancy, they may
designate the unit be held as “tenants in common.” This means each owner
owns an equal share of the unit and if one dies, the other owner(s) will still only
own his or her share, while the deceased owner’s share must transfer by
Probate Court. NO BENEFICIARIES MAY BE NAMED BY OWNERS AS
TENANTS IN COMMON. To designate ownership as tenants in common, the
“T/C” block must be marked on the title application. The title will print with the
“T/C” brand code.

Transfer On Death (TOD)

The owner(s) of a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured home, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor may designate one or more beneficiaries

to receive the unit upon the death of all listed owners. The beneficiaries hold no
ownership rights in the unit while the owner(s) is alive, but becomes the
owner/co-owner of the unit after the original owner’s death. If more than one
person owns the unit, the beneficiaries do not become the owner until all listed
owners have died.



http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3010000190.HTM�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3010000020.HTM�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C301.HTM�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3060000458.HTM�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3060000461.HTM�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C700-799/7000000360.HTM�

Title Penalty
Information

To designate beneficiaries, the beneficiaries name(s) must appear to the right
of the owner(s) name(s) in the space provided for TOD beneficiaries and the
“TOD” block must be marked. One or more beneficiaries can be named. The
letters “TOD” and the beneficiaries name(s) do not have to appear on the title
assignment.

For the beneficiaries to obtain title to a motor vehicle, trailer, manufactured
home, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor, the beneficiaries must submit a
completed and signed application for title, proof of death of all owners, the
existing certificate of title designating the TOD beneficiary and the appropriate
title and processing/agent fee.

NOTE: The beneficiaries may assign the title without first applying for a title in
their name(s). The beneficiaries must provide the purchaser proof of death of
the owner(s) on the face of the title, and the properly assigned title.

Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle, and Manufactured Homes

Missouri law requires that applications for a certificate of title for a motor vehicle,
trailer, manufactured home, or an ATV must be made within 30 days from the
date of purchase.

If the purchaser does not apply for a certificate of title and pay all applicable
taxes and fees within 30 days from the date of purchase, a delinquent title
penalty fee of $25 for each 30 days of delinquency, not to exceed $200, will be
imposed. Title penalties will be assessed on all manufactured homes
purchased after December 18, 1983.

Vessel (Watercraft) and Outboard Motor

Missouri law requires that application for a certificate of title be made within 60
days after a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor is purchased. (See Section
8 for units that must be titled.)

If the purchaser does not apply for a certificate of title and pay all applicable
taxes and fees within 60 days from the date of purchase, a delinquent title
penalty fee will be imposed as follows:

61 days to 90 days $10
91 days to 120 days $20

121 days and over $30

$30 is the maximum amount of penalty for a vessel (watercraft) or outboard
motor.

All title penalties will be calculated based on the date of sale. The date of sale is

the date on which a Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or certificate of
ownership is assigned by the seller to the purchaser.
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Trade-ins,
Replacement
Vehicle, Total
Loss Tax
Credits,
Rebates, and
Discounts

Missouri law allows certain tax credits on the purchase of a motor vehicle, trailer,
vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor as outlined below:

Trade-In Credit: Any article of tangible personal property can be claimed as a
trade-in allowance to a registered dealer; however, the amount allowed for the
article traded in cannot exceed the true value of the article. When a motor
vehicle, trailer, watercraft, or outboard motor is being used as a trade-in tax
credit, the owner listed on the title for the unit being traded is not required to be
the same as the owner of the unit being purchased. Real property (land) does
not qualify for a trade-in allowance.

Effective December 12, 2011:

The dealer must:

Record the purchase price, actual trade-in amount or “None” if there is no trade-in,
and the net price on the title assignment; and

Provide the purchaser with one of the following, and advise the purchaser to
submit the copy with their title application to the local License Office:

A copy of the front and back of the title assigned from the owner to the
dealer for the trade-in; or

A copy of the Secure Power of Attorney (Form-5086) (Exhibit A) for the trade-
in vehicle if the title is held by the lienholder or a duplicate title is needed.

Example: An individual may purchase two vehicles from a dealer and
trade in only one vehicle. The trade-in allowance for the one
vehicle may be divided and credit applied to the purchase price
of each vehicle provided the total trade-in allowance for the
vehicle does not exceed the actual trade-in value. Similarly, an
individual can trade in more than one vehicle.

Replacement Vehicle Credit: The seller of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor who purchases or contracts to purchase a
subsequent unit may receive a tax credit if the subsequent unit is purchased or
contracted to purchase within 180 days before or after the date the original unit is
sold. The actual sale price of the unit will be deducted from the purchase price of
the new unit for the purposes of calculating state and local taxes, if applicable.

The applicant must submit a bill of sale or notice of sale with the application for title
to receive the tax credit.

The bill of sale or notice of sale is not required to be notarized to receive the
vehicle sales tax credit.

The law DOES NOT restrict the tax credit to “exact or like” replacement

units, i.e., a motor vehicle for a motor vehicle, trailer for trailer, etc. Accordingly,
an individual can sell a boat and buy a motor vehicle or trailer or vice versa and
still qualify for the tax credit. The unit being purchased or contracted to purchase
must be titled in at least one of the owners’ names as the unit being replaced (or
sold) to qualify for a tax credit.



Effective December 12, 2011, new Missouri residents MUST submit original
proof of ownership from their previous state of residence (i.e., original registration
receipt or certified title record from the other state) before allowing the vehicle to
be used as a 180-day tax credit.

Individuals, who sell a unit in their personal name, may not use the tax allowance
toward the purchase of a vehicle titled to their trust.

Total Loss Credit: The purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft),
or outboard motor may deduct the amount of a total loss claim settlement
received from an insurance company plus the owner's deductible from the
purchase price of another like unit that is purchased or contracted to purchase
after the total loss occurs, but within 180 days before or after the date of the total
loss claim settlement. The applicant must present a notarized statement from the
insurance company indicating the year, make, and identification number of the
“total loss” unit, the date the insurance company pays the settlement, the amount
of the insurance settlement, and the amount of the insurance deductible, if
applicable. If the insurance agent certifies that the information in the statement is
true and accurate, the form does not have to be notarized.

The total loss statement can be in anyone’s nhame; however, at least one of the
owners of the total loss vehicle must be the same on the application for title on the
newly acquired vehicle. Example: John and Jane Smith have a vehicle titled
in their name that is declared a total loss. Brenda Smith insured the vehicle
and receives a certified total loss claim from the insurance company. As
long as John or Jane’'s name is listed as an owner o rco-owner on the new
vehicle, the total loss credit in Brenda’s name may be used.

In addition, the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard
motor, that was replaced because of theft or casualty loss, who does not have
insurance coverage on the unit, may receive a tax credit on the fair market value
of the unit being replaced. The applicant must present the original or copy of
the accident report completed by law enforcement agent showing the year,
make, and identification number of the total loss vehicle, and the date of
accident or loss accompanied by two appraisals listing the fair market value of
the total loss vehicle.

The fair market value of the unit is determined on the pre-wrecked condition of
the vehicle based on the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car Guide, Abos Blue
Book, or the average of two appraisals from licensed motor vehicle or boat
dealers. The fair market value is deducted from the purchase price of the
replacement unit. The replacement unit must be purchased or contracted to
purchase within 180 days after the date of loss as certified by a law enforcement
agency on the accident report.

To receive a tax credit on a total loss vehicle, the vehicle being replaced must be
a like unit, i.e., a motor vehicle must be replaced by a motor vehicle, a trailer
replaced by a trailer, etc.




Rebates offered by a motor vehicle dealer or manufacturer may be used as
a credit to reduce the amount of sales tax due by a purchaser when titling a
motor vehicle. The selling dealer must complete all rebate information on
the application for title before any credit will be allowed.

THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE HAS THE AUTHORITY TO REQUEST
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION FROM THE APPLICANT ANYTIME THE
PURCHASE PRICE OF A VEHICLE IS QUESTIONABLE.

FARM PRODUCTS (I.E. GRAIN, LIVESTOCK, ETC.) USED AS TRADE-
IN TAX CREDIT: Section 144.025, RSMo, provides that, “Any purchaser of
a motor vehicle or trailer used for agricultural use by the purchaser shall be
allowed to use as an allowance to offset the sales and use tax liability
towards the purchase of the motor vehicle or trailer any grain or livestock
produced or raised by the purchaser.”

The Department will allow a sales tax credit when grain or livestock raised or
produced by the purchaser is traded for a vehicle purchased from a dealer
for agricultural use. To receive this credit, the grain or livestock must be
traded to the dealer within one week of the actual purchase date of the
vehicle and the criteria below must be met.

1. The vehicle being purchased must be used for agricultural use.

2. The purchaser of the vehicle must have either raised or produced the
agricultural product.

3. The purchaser must submit a Bill of Transfer (Farm Products Only) (Form-
4606), in which the purchaser certifies the information noted above.

Note: |f the grain is stored at a grain elevator, a separate receipt from
the grain company showing the dealership has title to the grain
must accompany the bill of transfer. A statement or invoice from
a grain company in the name of “CASH SALE” is not acceptable.
A check made payable directly to the dealership by the grain
company is not acceptable without the receipt from the grain
elevator company showing the grain transferring to the
dealership.

If the dealership physically accepts delivery of the agricultural product from
the vehicle purchaser, a statement on the dealership’s letterhead showing
this information may be submitted in lieu of the Bill of Transfer (Farm
Products Only) (Eorm-4606).
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Motor Vehicle
/Marinecraft
Acquired by
Gift

Financial
Responsibility

A gift statement must be submitted when a motor vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle,
vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor is acquired by gift for the recipient to be exempt
from sales tax. This statement must be signed by the donor(s) and indicate the
complete description of the unit. The donor must have paid taxes on the motor
vehicle, trailer, all-terrain vehicle, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor for the
recipient of the unit to be tax exempt.

Section 303.026, RSMo requires motor vehicle owners, including motor vehicle
dealers, to maintain financial responsibility for each motor vehicle registered and
operated on the streets or highways. This includes vehicles held for resale.

Financial responsibility may be one of the following:

1. A motor vehicle liability insurance policy;

2. A self-insurance certificate issued by the Missouri Department of
Revenue;

3.

A surety bond, cash deposit or other type of securities filed
with the Department; or

4. A real estate bond filed with the Department.

NOTE: For additional information regarding methods of proof
of financial responsibility please contact the Missouri
Department of Revenue, Driver and Vehicle Services
Bureau, P.O. Box 200, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-
0200 or call (573) 751-4600 or your insurance agent
or company.

No motor vehicle owner will be issued registration for a motor vehicle unless the
owner, or their authorized agent, signs a statement provided by the Department at
the time of registration that certifies that he or she has, and will maintain, financial
responsibility during the period of registration, for each motor vehicle that is owned,
licensed or operated on the streets or highways of Missouri. The applicant must
also show proof of financial responsibility at the time of registration by presenting
his or her insurance card (a copy is acceptable) or other proof of financial
responsibility.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

If the Department determines that you are at fault for damages or personal injuries in an
accident, and do not have proof that you have made restitution for the damages or
personal injuries in the accident, your driving and/or registration privileges will be
suspended for one year.
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All-Terrain
Vehicles

Utility
Vehicles

If the Department finds that you do not have liability insurance on your vehicle or
the vehicle you are operating, your driver license and vehicle registration will be
suspended as follows:

L First Offense - Lose driver license and plates (eligible for
reinstatement immediately), $20 reinstatement fee, and three years
filing of proof of financial responsibility;

2. Second Offense - 90-day suspension of driver license and
plates, $200 reinstatement fee, and three years filing of proof of
financial responsibility; and

3.

Third Offense - One year suspension of driver license and
plates, $400 reinstatement fee, and three years filing of proof of
financial responsibility.

Missouri law provides that it shall be unlawful for any person to own an all- terrain
vehicle in this state unless a Missouri certificate of title has been issued.

For the purposes of transferring ownership, titling, perfecting liens, and collecting
taxes, fees, and other charges, all-terrain vehicles are treated the same as a motor
vehicle.

A “Utility vehicle” is “any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively
for off-highway use which is sixty-three inches or less in width, with an unladen
dry weight of 1,850 pounds or less, traveling on four or six wheels, to be used
primarily for landscaping, lawn care, or maintenance purposes.”

o Utility vehicles do not meet the definition of a motor vehicle or ATV, and will
not be titled and registered. Examples of off-road utility vehicles include, but
are not limited to: Minicab, Mule, Gator, Max/Buffalo, Etc.

o Utility vehicles cannot be operated upon the highways of this state unless
they are: Owned and operated by governmental entity for official use,
Operated for agricultural or industrial on-premise purposes, or Operated by
handicapped persons for short distances on secondary roads.
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0 The operator must have a valid driver license, but does not have to be
motorcycle qualified.

o Cities/counties are allowed to issue special permits for utility vehicles to be
used on county roads within the county or on highways within the city to
licensed drivers for a fee of $15. The fee is to be kept by such city/county.

0 The seller of a utility vehicle is responsible for collecting and remitting all
applicable state and local tax on new utility vehicles.
= Utility vehicle owners may qualify for a “farm use” tax exemption.

Ownership documents may be in the form of:
Perfecting Liens

Liens created on all-terrain vehicles should be perfected by filing a notice of lien
as explained in Section 6.

Taxes

Any all-terrain vehicles purchased from a dealer or retailer are subject to state
and applicable local taxes regardless of the purchase price. Used all-terrain
vehicles purchased from an individual for OVER $3,000 are subject to all
applicable taxes. State and local taxes will not be collected on used all-terrain
vehicles purchased from an individual for $3,000 or less.

ATV Equipment Requirements and Restrictions/Regulations Regarding Where
an ATV may be Operated

For information regarding equipment requirements and restrictions/regulations
regarding operation of an ATV, please refer to the Missouri Revised Statutes,
Sections 307.198 and 304.013.

Titling Requirements for Dirt Bikes

If a vehicle does not meet the definition of an all-terrain vehicle, a motorcycle,
motortricycle, or a motorized bicycle, it is considered a “Dirt Bike” and must
be titled. A 1982 Missouri Supreme Court decision ruled that for the purposes of
collecting sales tax, a dirt bike is a motor vehicle. Therefore, it is subject to the
tax provided by Section 144.070, RSMo. However, a dirt bike may not be
registered for highway use, unless it is modified to meet all safety requirements
and pass a safety inspection. For additional information on titling requirements
for dirt bikes, please call (573) 526-3669.
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Missouri law 700.320, RSMo provides that the owner of any new or used
Man u faCtU red manufactured home must apply to the director of revenue for a certificate of title
HO mes within 30 days of purchase. This excludes registered manufactured home dealers

and purchasers who convert the manufactured home to real property.

Titling a Manufactured Home

To title a manufactured home, the owner or purchaser must submit an application
for Missouri title, the appropriate ownership document, and all required fees.

1. A Manufacturer's Statement of Origin on all NEW
manufactured homes; or

2. A certificate of title or a descriptive bill of sale on all
USED manufactured homes.

NOTE: A bill of sale may only be used if the purchaser/seller is from a
non-titling state or if a Missouri seller provides the purchaser
with a statement from the seller’s county assessor stating the
manufactured home was previously assessed as real estate.

TAX INFORMATION

State and local taxes are based on the seller as noted below.

New Units:

Missouri Dealers: When a Missouri dealer fails to collect tax, state and local
sales tax will be assessed on 60% of the purchase price and collected at the
time of titling or affixing with the Department.

e Local sales tax is based on the seller's address. .

Out-of-State Dealers: State Compensating Use tax is assessed on 60% of
the purchase price.

e Local option use tax_is due based on the address where the
manufactured home is first delivered in Missouri (only if
applicable).

e If the dealer collects tax at a rate greater than Missouri’s use tax
rate (4.225%) plus the local option use tax, tax is not due.

Used Units:

Missouri Dealers: No state or local sales tax is due unless the MFGHM was
purchased on a Missouri Title and the selling dealer purchased the unit from
an individual who purchased the unit prior to 1985.

Missouri Individual: No state or local option use tax is due unless the
MFGHM was purchased on a Missouri title from an individual who purchased
the unit prior to 1985.

Out-of-State Dealers and Out-of-State Individuals:

State Compensating Use tax will be assessed on the purchase price.

Local option use tax is base on the address where the manufactured home is
first delivered in Missouri (only if applicable).
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Title Penalties Assessed on Manufactured Homes

A title penalty will be assessed on any manufactured home not titled within 30
days after the date of purchase. A delinquent title penalty fee of $25 for each
30 days of delinquency, not to exceed $200, will be imposed.

Identification Number for a Manufactured Home

If a manufactured home does not have an identification number, a special
number must be assigned. The Department of Revenue does not have the
authority to issue assigned identification numbers on modular or
manufactured homes.

e Owners of manufactured homes that do not have an identification number
should contact the Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing
and Modular Unit Program at 1-800-819-3180 or visit their web site at
http://psc.mo.gov/manufactured-housing/ to obtain information on how to
get an inspection of the home by the Public Service Commission.

B on d ed Section 301.192, RSMo provides for the issuance of a certificate of title for a
} bonded vehicle if the following requirements are met:
Vehicle

Title

1. The motor vehicle or trailer is at least seven years old or older;

2. The value of the vehicle does not exceed $3,000; and

3. No record of any prior application for title on the motor vehicle or trailer
exists in the records of the Department, or the records of the

Department reflect incomplete or conflicting documentation of
ownership.

Missouri law 301.144, RSMo provides that repossessed placards may be issued to
Re p 0SSESS ed insurance companies, finance companies, banks or trust companies who repossess
Placards motor vehicles or trailers. The repossessed placard must be displayed on the rear of

the motor vehicle or trailer and shall only be used for demonstration purposes. The
original owner’s license plates cannot be used to operate the vehicle.

To obtain a repossessed placard, you must submit:

An Application for Repossessed Placards (Eorm-2510),completed and
signed.

The application must indicate the legal business name of the

applicant. (A repossessed placard will not be issued in an
individual’'s name.)

The complete business address must be shown.

The applicant must sign the application and indicate his or her
official position in the company.
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. ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
A signed statement certifying Missouri financial responsibility.

A check or money order made payable to the Department of
Revenue for the $50 original placard fee and $10.50 for each
additional placard requested.

Replacement Repossessed Placards

If a repossessed placard is lost, stolen, mutilated, or destroyed, the holder may
apply for a replacement repossessed placard and pay the required replacement
fee of $8.50 per placard. The Application for Repossessed Placards (Form-2510)

must be completed as follows:

In addition to all owner information, the reason for replacement
repossession placard(s) must be shown.

The placard number(s) to be replaced must be shown.

The applicant’s signature must be properly notarized. The notary
information must contain the date notarized, date commission expires,
notary’s signature, and seal impression.

An Application for Repossessed Placards or repossessed replacement placards must
be sent to Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau, Dealers Licensing Section, P.O. Box
43, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0043. Allow two weeks for delivery of the
repossessed/replacement placards.

If the vehicle meets the above requirements, the purchaser of the vehicle may file a
surety bond, see Exhibit B, equal to two times the value of the vehicle at the time the
vehicle was obtained as determined by the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car Guide,
or two appraisals from motor vehicle dealers licensed by the Department. The bond
must be for a minimum of $100 and will expire after three years unless the
Department has been notified of pending action taken against the bond.

To obtain a title for a bonded vehicle, the owner of the vehicle must complete an
Application for Missouri Title and License (Form-108), and submit it to the Driver and
Vehicle Services Bureau with the following:

A statement explaining how the bonded vehicle was acquired and the
reasons a valid certificate of ownership cannot be furnished;

All evidence of ownership in the applicant’s possession;

Title verification from the state in which the vehicle was previously
titled or registered, if known, (applies only if no Missouri title record
exists);

A notarized lien release from any lienholders of record;

A Vehicle Examination Certificate (FEorm-551) completed by the

Missouri State Highway Patrol or the St. Louis City or County Auto
Theft Unit;

An Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form-3019) certifying the
motor vehicle odometer reading unless the vehicle is exempt

by law;

A surety bond or a suitable financial security agreement equal to
two times the value of the vehicle. Exhibit B may be used for this
purpose; and
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The applicable title and processing fees and state and local
taxes, if applicable, based on the value of the vehicle.

NOTE: State and local taxes, if applicable, will be based on the value of
the vehicle as disclosed in the surety bond.

Thirty days after receipt of the application, supporting documents, and applicable
fees, the director of revenue shall issue a new title branded with the words
“BONDED VEHICLE.”
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Section 8

Marine/Watercraft

Outboard
Motors,
Vessels, and
Watercraft
Required to
be Titled

Documents
and Fees
Required to
Title and/or
Register
Vessels and
Outboard
Motors for
Missouri
Residents

Missouri law requires all motorized vessels (watercrafts) and outboard
motors to be titled and registered. This includes jet skis, motorized water
bikes, or any vessels over 12 feet in length powered by sail alone or
combination of sail and machinery. Trolling motors are NOT titled or
registered in the state of Missouri.

Any vessel (watercraft) regardless of length, which is propelled solely by
paddles or oars, is not required to be titled and registered. Vessels
documented by the United States Coast Guard must be reqistered.

The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor must submit an
application for title and registration within 60 days after the unit is purchased
or brought into this state or be subject to title penalties. A penalty fee of $10
will be assessed on the 61* day and for each 30 days of delinquency after
that, not to exceed a total of $30.

To perfect a lien on a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor, see Section 6
of this manual.

To title and register a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor, the following
documents and fees must be submitted.

> Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Registration and Title
(Eorm-93).

»0ne of the following ownership documents:
e Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO); OR
e Certificate of Title;

For units purchased on or after August 28, 2008, the following is acceptable

proof of ownership ONLY if a Missouri title has not been issued or the unit

was purchased from a state that doesn't title outboard motors:

e Application for title certified by a licensed Missouri boat dealer;

e Bill of Sale (BOS); or

e Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and Inspection
(DOR-798) (Exhibit I) when:
+ Previous state does not title and no BOS exists or
+ The boat and vessel is homemade.

NOTE: Motor vehicle dealers may sell five or less vessels each year
without being required to be licensed as a boat dealer.
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»Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri
65105-0100 unless it is being used for watercrafts or outboard motors
that are purchased from an out-of-state individual or dealer and that
state does not title and or register or if an individual is moving to
Missouri and the previous state did not title and or register watercrafts or
outboard motors. In these cases, field offices can accept the completed
DOR-798 (Exhibit 1).

»Inspection verifying the hull identification number if it is missing or
is less than 12 digits. See Hull Identification Number Issues section
listed on page 8-5.

»Paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from
the county (or city of St. Louis) collector or assessor for the previous year.

e |f the boat/vessel is not listed on the tax receipt (“boat” is acceptable),
the following must be submitted:

e A corrected tax receipt (if manually corrected, it must contain
the county seal); or

e Aletter from the county collector (on letterhead or containing
the county seal) reflecting payment of taxes.

> Title fee of $7.50 plus an additional $5 expeditious fee, if
applicable.

> Appropriate processing fee.

> Registration fee:
Vessel up to 16 feet in length = $25
16 feet but less than 26 feet = $55

26 feet but less than 40 feet = $100
40 feet and over = $150

» State and local taxes, if applicable.

Documents and

»Title penalty, if applicable. Penalty is calculated after 60 days from date

Fees Req uired of purchase or date vessel was brought into Missouri.
to Title and or 61 days to 90 days = $10

; 91 days to 120 days = $20
Reg Ister 121 days and over = $30

Vessels and
Outboard

NOTE: $30 is the maximum amount of penalty.

Motors From In addition to all Missouri resident requirements, out-of-state residents
operating the vessel for more than 60 consecutive days in Missouri need the

Other States following items (see exception for obtaining an “MO number” listed on page
8-15):
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Top Ten
Reasons Why
Title
Applications
are Rejected

» The application must indicate the owner’s out-of-state address and the
Missouri city or county where the vessel is being housed, stored, or operated.

> Taxes are assessed based on the Missouri address where the vessel is housed.
If taxes were paid in another state, proof of payment must be submitted. If the
vessel was registered and operated in that state for more than 90 days, no
additional sales tax is due. If the owner did not operate the vessel in another state
for at least 90 days, the office should ensure the applicant paid taxes equivalent to
the rate charged in Missouri or additional taxes should be collected.

> Exception for obtaining an “MO number”. If the out-of-state resident previously
registered the vessel in their state of residence and wants to continue to operate
it in their home state and Missouri, the applicant may retain the out-of-state
registration number. In this case, the office should not issue a registration MO
number but should collect the registration fee and issue a decal. To obtain a
registration only, the out-of-state applicant would need the following documents
and fees:

> Application for Watercraft/Outboard Motor Registration and
» Replacement Decal (DOR-2686) marked “Registration Only”;

» A copy of the out-of-state title in the applicant’s name;
» Registration fee as listed above; and

» Appropriate processing fee.

Please be sure to complete all items on the title application. Listed below
are the main reasons title applications are rejected by the Motor Vehicle
Bureau:

1. The application was not signed;

2. The Original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or as-

signed title was not submitted;

3. The Missouri address and county where the vessel is

housed was not recorded;

4. A descriptive notarized lien release on the lienholder’s letterhead or

Notice of Lien, Lien Release or Authorization to Add/Remove Name
From Title (Eorm-4809) was not submitted (must contain the year, make,
vehicle identification number, lien release date, and signature of the
authorized agent);

5. When submitting a bill of sale instead of a certificate of title for a vessel

(watercraft), the bill of sale did not contain a complete description of the
unit, purchase price, date of sale, and purchaser’s name and address;
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The horsepower was not recorded on the application’
The boat type was not recorded;

The boat color was not recorded;

© ® N o

The vessel did not contain a 12-digit hull identification number.
See page 8-5 for more information; and

10. The assignment on the surrendered certificate of ownership or
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin was not completed by including
the following:

The signature(s) of all owners on the face of the document;

The purchase price;
c. The date of sale; and

o9

d. The lien date and the lienholder name and address.

Transactions that are incomplete or incorrect will be returned to the

NOTE: lienholder or applicant for correction.

_ | On occasion, the owner listed on the face of a certificate of title may change his or
Nam € Ch an g € her name because of marriage, divorce, adoption, personal reasons, etc. To reflect
No Chan ge of this change on the title, the owner must submit a completed Application for Missouri
: Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and Registration (Eorm-93), the outstanding title
Ownershi P in his or her name, and one of the documents listed below. Because there is no
change of ownership, the title is not required to be assigned.

1. A copy of the marriage certificate or newspaper clipping when a
name change occurs because of marriage;

2. A copy of the divorce decree that specifically states the individual's
name was restored to its previous state when a divorce occurs and
the former wife changes her name to her previous (maiden) name;
or

3. Authorized adoption papers issued through the Circuit Court, Juvenile
Division, indicating a change of name when an individual is adopted and
a name change occurs.

4. A certified document from the Circuit Court Division when an
individual elects to have his or her name changed because of
personal reasons. The order from the court must state the
name the individual formerly used and the full name currently
being used by the individual.
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Hull
Identification
Number
Issues

Title
Application —
Marine

All 1975 and newer model vessels must contain a 12-character hull identification
number (HIN). If the vessel does not have a 12-character HIN, DOR will issue a new
identification number. If a vessel was manufactured in 1975 or later and the ownership
document indicates the vessel's identification number is less than 12 characters, the
applicant must submit a Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and
Inspection (DOR-798) (Exhibit ). For 1985 and newer model vessels, the Missouri
State Water Patrol, Missouri State Highway Patrol, or the Missouri Conservation
Commission must complete the inspection. If the inspection indicates an “MO number
(i.e., MO1234AB) as the vessel's identification number, the applicant must apply for an
MOZ/MOZA number regardless of the year of the vessel.

On the following page is a sample Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard
Motor Title and Registration (Eorm-93) that must be completed to obtain a
Missouri certificate of title on a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor. Instructions
for completing the title application are on the pages that follow.

NOTE: DO NOT USE WHITE-OUT on an application for title. If an error is
made, draw one thin line through the incorrect information and then record the
correct information above it.
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Completion of
the
Application
for Missouri
Watercraft or
Outboard
Motor Title
and
Registration

Watercraft (Vessel) or Outboard Motor

NOTE: ALL APPLICATIONS MUST BE TYPED OR WRITTEN LEGIBLY SO
ALL COPIES CAN BE READ.

To apply for a certificate of title and or registration on a watercraft or outboard
motor, the Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (Eorm-93) must be completed as follows:

1. Transaction Type - Mark the appropriate box. The type of unit and type of
transaction box must be marked.

2. DOR Use Only - Reject Number - This box is used by the Central Office
to record the reject number, if applicable.

3. Top Portion - The top portion of the application is reserved for use in
the Central Office ONLY. This space is used to record the control (title)
number of the transaction. It is imperative that nothing be written in this
space. The bar codes are used to facilitate the micro- filming process.

4. Title and Notice of Lien — Check when applying for a title and filing a
Notice of Lien (NOL) with no complete change of ownership.
NOTE: Lienholder authorization is required to add or remove a name
from a title. Notice of Lien, Lien Release, or Authorization to
Add/Remove Name (Eorm-4809) may be used.

5. Office Validation - (Agent Office Validation) - This space must legibly
show the office number and the date the transaction was validated.

6. Title Type - Mark the appropriate box to indicate the type of title for
which the applicant is applying. To ensure proper processing of the title
application transaction, the box must be marked clearly. Do not mark on
or over the lines separating the title types.

7. Transfer On Death (TOD)/Tenants In Common - Mark the Transfer On
Death box if the applicant wants to name one or more beneficiaries on the
title. The beneficiaries have no ownership rights until after the unit owner is
de- ceased. Mark the Tenants In Common box if the applicant wishes to
designate a form of ownership other than joint tenancy. When ownership is
by tenants in common and one owner is deceased, the remaining owner’s
percentage of ownership remains the same. The deceased owner’s share
must transfer by Probate Court.

8. Owner’s Name and Address - Show the legal name(s) of the applicant(s) in
last name, first name, and middle initial sequence. All names must be legible
and must be re- corded in the proper sequence. Only 38 characters of the
owner’s name will print on the face of the certificate of ownership. The 38
characters include any TOD beneficiaries that may be designated. Show the
street address, city, state, and ZIP code of the applicant. Record the actual
city name.
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Example: If the applicant resides in Ladue, Missouri, the application
should show Ladue, not St. Louis, Missouri.

a) Only the following cities may be abbreviated:

(1) Jefferson City JC
(2) St Louis SL
(3) Kansas City KC
(4) North Kansas City NKC
(5) University City uc
(6) Springfield SPFD

Out-of-state residents operating the watercraft for more than 60
consecutive days in Missouri are required to register the unit. The
application must indicate their out-of-state address. Record
the Missouri city or county where the watercraft is being
housed/stored/operated in block #79.

9. TOD Beneficiaries - Record the beneficiary’s name(s) if the
Transfer on Death block is marked.

10. County - Enter the county name in which the applicant’'s address
is located. Out of state residents refer to block #79.

11. In City Limits - Check this block if the applicant resides inside
the city limits. Out of state residents refer to block #77.

12. Outside City Limits - Check this block if the applicant
resides outside the city limits.

13. L/R Number - Record the lease/rental number assigned by the
DOR, if the applicant is a leasing/rental company.

14. DLN, SSN, or FEIN - The applicant’s identification number
should be entered as outlined below:

a) Individual Name - Enter the Social Security Number or
Driver License Number.

b) Business Name - Enter the Federal Employee
Identification Number (FEIN).

NOTE: If more than one name is shown in the Owner block, obtain the
Social Security Number or Driver License Number of the owner who signed
the title application.

15. Telephone Number - Record a daytime telephone number
where the applicant can be reached.

16. Year MFD - record the model year or program year of the unit. For a new
outboard motor, if the model year or program year is NOT shown on the
MSO, record the year of manufacture as follows:

e If the month of manufacture indicates January through June, record
the year of manufacture. Example: Manufacture date is 06/2012
record 2012.

e If the month of manufacture indicates July through December, record
the calendar year immediately following the year of manufacture.
Example: Manufacture date is 07/2012 record 2013.
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17. Model Year — NEW - Required for outboard motors only. “Model Year-
New” is the year the dealer received the outboard motor from the
manufacturer. Verify “Model Year-New” with one of the following
documents:

e MSO;

« Dealer certified application;
« Original dealer invoice; or
« Dealer signed statement.

18. Make - Enter the make of the unit. DO NOT show the model series.

19. Manufacturer’s Hull Identification Number (HIN) - Enter the
watercraft (vessel) or outboard motor identification number as shown
on the certificate of title, Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, or
ownership document.

20. Model Number - Enter the model number of the unit.

21. Horsepower - Enter the horsepower for all outboard motors. If the
horsepower of the outboard motor is 7 1/2, enter “7.5.”

22 Color - Enter the appropriate color code for the unit. If the unit has two

colors, record three (3) letters of the pre- dominant color first, followed by
three (3) letters of the secondary color. The colors should be separated
by a slash (/). Example: RED/WHI.

23. Length - Enter the appropriate length in feet and inches for all vessels
(watercraft).

24. Material - Enter the appropriate code (see Exhibit H) for the material of
the vessel (watercraft).

25. Boat Type - Enter the appropriate code (see Exhibit H) for the type of
vessel (watercraft) being titled and registered.

26. Type of Propulsion - Enter the appropriate code (see Exhibit H) for
the type of propulsion. If the watercraft (vessel) is powered by an
inboard or inboard/outboard motor, enter the horsepower of the motor
in the “HP” block.

27. New - Mark this box if the unit is purchased on a Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin (MSO) or a new unit purchased from a
dealer/retailer when no MSO exists.

28. Used MO - Mark this box if the unit is purchased on a Missouri
certificate of title or from a Missouri seller when no certificate of title
exists.
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29. Used Out-of-State - Mark this box if the unit is purchased on an out-
of-state certificate of title or other out-of-state ownership document.

30. Surrendered Title Number - Record the surrendered title was a
Missouri title.

31. State - Record the state that corresponds with the ownership
document.

32 Previous Owner’s Last Name - Record the first four letters of the last
name of the owner on the face of the Missouri title. If it was
purchased from an out of state dealer/individual, leave blank.

33 Boat/Vessel License I.D. (MO) Number - Record the Missouri Registration
Number from the previous Missouri title. If the vessel or watercraft has
never been registered or the type of use changes, a new “MO NUMBER”
will be issued.

34. Type of Use - Check the appropriate box.

a) PLEASURE - Any watercraft (vessel) that the owner uses for
recreational purposes.

b) RENTAL - Any watercraft (vessel) which the owner leases or rents to
another person, firm, or corporation for a fee.

c) COMMERCIAL - Any watercraft (vessel) that the
owner uses for business.

d) OFFICIAL - Any watercraft (vessel) owned by a
political subdivision.

35. Boat/Vessel/Outboard Motor Decal Number - The number of the decal
issued to the watercraft (vessel) or outboard motor will be entered.

3. [EXpiration Year - The year the watercraft (vessel) decal expires will be
entered. For outboard motors, “N/A” will be entered.

37. First Lien - Mark the “YES” box if there is a lien on the unit; otherwise
mark “NO”.

3g. Security Agreement Date (First Lien) - Record the lien date, if
applicable.

39. Mail to Lienholder — Mark this box if the title is to be mailed to the
first lienholder

40. Lienholder’s Telephone No. - Record the lienholder’s telephone
number, if applicable.

41. Second Lien — Mark “Yes” if a second lien or Subject to Future
Advances (STFA) must be recorded on the certificate of ownership or
“No” if a second lien or STFA does not exist.

42. Mail To Alternate Address Below - Mark this box only when the title is to
be mailed to an address other than the address shown at the top of the
application. In the event the owner needs the title mailed to a different
address and there is a second lienholder and or subject to future
advances is recorded in the “mail to” area and the owner must pay the $5
expeditious title fee and complete a return title slip with the “mail to”
address.

43. First Lien Name and Address - Enter the complete name and address of
the lienholder. Please note that only the first 20 characters will appear on the
certificate of ownership, so the name may be abbreviated accordingly.
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44.

45,

46

A7,

50.

I57.

48.
49,

51.

52.

53.

54.
55.
56.

58.

Second Lienholder or Mail To Name and Address - Enter the complete name
and address of the second lienholder or mail to. Please note that only the first
20 characters will appear on the certificate of ownership, so the name may be
abbreviated accordingly.

STFA - Mark this box if “Subject to Future Advances” must be recorded on the
certificate of ownership. See #39above.

Security Agreement Date (Second Lien) - Record the lien date if there is a
second lien on the unit.

Purchase Date - Enter the Month/Day/Year. Example: March 03-12 or 03-
03-12. The purchase date and the sale date must be the same. The
purchase date should be the date the ownership document was assigned
when a change of ownership is involved. On non-assigned titles, i.e., change

of state, adding a lien, etc., the purchase date should be carried forward
from the face of the title. If there is no purchase date on the face of the title,
the issue date shown on the surrendered ownership document may be
entered as the purchase date.

Price - Enter the gross sale price of the unit.

Rebate - Enter the rebate amount, if applicable. If this amount has been
altered, proof of the rebate, i.e., the dealer invoice will be required.

Trade-In - Enter the total amount allowed on the trade-in unit, if applicable. If
this amount has been altered, proof of the trade-in, i.e., the dealer invoice will
be required.

Other Credits - Enter the total amount allowed on any tangible personal
property that was received by the dealer- ship as a credit or partial payment
towards the purchase price of the unit. If the purchaser is allowed a
replacement unit or total loss tax credit, the office should enter the total amount
allowed. The office will verify the applicant owned the unit being used as a
replacement tax credit.

Net Price - Enter the total net price. This is calculated by subtracting any
rebate, trade-in allowance, and/or other credits from the purchase price. Verify
with title assignment, if recorded.

Trade-In - Mark “Trade-In” only if a unit was traded in to a dealership. Do not
mark for replacement tax credits.

Year - Enter the year of the unit being traded in.
Make - Enter the make of the unit being traded in.

Title Number - Enter the title number of the unit being
traded in, if available.

Manufacturer’s 1.D. Number- Enter the complete
manufacturer’s identification number of the unit being
traded in.

Signature of Owner - If more than one owner’s name is listed, only one
signature is required. If the applicant is an officer of a company or corporation,
he or she must indicate his or her official position with the company or
corporation beside his or her signature.
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59. MO Boat Dealer Number - Ensure the dealer number is
entered when the unit described on the title application was
sold by a Missouri dealer. If the application for title is in the
name of a Missouri dealer, enter the purchasing dealer’s
number on the application. If there is no ownership document
attached, this section must be completed.

60. Boat Dealer Name - The selling dealer must enter the
dealership’s name, if applicable.

g1. City, State, and Zip Code - The selling dealer’s address
must be entered, when applicable.

Telephone Number - The selling dealer’s telephone
62. i
number must be entered, when applicable.

63. Signature of Dealer or Representative - Ensure the dealer,
or an authorized representative of the dealer, signs the
application, when applicable.

64. Trade-In (Yes/No) - The selling dealer or authorized
representative of the dealer must check the appropriate block
as listed below, when applicable:

a) If trade-in information is listed on the application for
titte and a trade-in amount is shown, the “YES” block
should be checked.

b) If there is no trade-in or if the credit allowed is “Other
Credit” as outlined in #49, the “No” block should be
checked.

65. Duplicate Title - Mark the appropriate reason the duplicate is
needed.

66. Notary Information - Ensure the application is signed in the
presence of a Notary Public if applying for a duplicate title.
The Notary Public must complete the appropriate blocks.

67. License Office Validation - This space must legibly show
the registration number and the total amount of taxes,
penalties, and fees paid as well as the validating machine
number.

I6s. Approve/Reject - For Central Office use only.

69. Site Code - The site code number will be entered from the Local
Tax Rate Chart (Form-324) for the corresponding local tax
jurisdiction (city or county).

70 Processed By - For office use only.
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71. PP- This box must be marked if presenting proof of personal
property taxes paid or a statement of non-assessment.

72. Registration Fee - Record the appropriate registration fee.

a) Watercraft registration fee is based on the length as
follows:

Under 16 feet in length = $25

16 feet but less than 26 feet = $55

26 feet but less than 40 feet = $100

40 feet and over = $150

PN

73. MOZ/MOZA Replacement Number Fee - The office will record the
$7.50 fee if a replacement identification number is issued.

74. Title Penalty - The office will record the title penalty fee, if applicable.
There is no penalty when application is made within 60 days of
purchase. The maximum delinquency penalty is $30.00.

a) Application made 61* day through 90" day = $10
b) Application made 91* day through 120" day = $20
c) Application made 121 day or after = $30

75. Title/Quick Fee — The office will record the appropriate title fee listed
below. Add an additional $5 quick fee, when applicable.

a) Watercraft (vessel) = $7.50
b) Outboard motor = $5
c) Quick Title = $5
76. State Tax - The office will enter the amount of state tax due on

the net price of the unit. Indicate whether the state tax collected
is sales or use tax by checking the “S” or “U” block.

a) S - Sales tax is collected when the unit is sold by a Missouri
dealer.

b) U - Use tax is collected on all sales other than those made
by a Missouri dealer.

77. Local Tax - The office will enter the amount of local tax due, if
applicable.

78. Processing or Agent Fee — All offices must collect a
processing/agent fee.
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79. NOL Processing Fee — The office will collect an NOL processing fee,
when applicable.

80. Total - The office will enter the total amount of taxes, penalties and
fees due.

81. Missouri City or County Where the Unit is Housed — For out-of-state
residents, enter the city or county where the unit is
housed/stored/operated in Missouri.

Collection of Any vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor purchased after April 1, 1986, is
subject to title penalties, sales and local taxes, if applicable, and appropriate

TaxeS on titte and registration fees.

Vessels

A licensed Missouri boat dealer is NOT responsible for the collection of taxes on

(WaterC raft) the sale of a vessel (watercraft) and an outboard motor. The Department is
responsible for the collection of these taxes on any vessel (watercraft) or

an d OUtboard outboard motor required to be titled and registered.

Motors

Vendors, including licensed boat dealers, must collect and remit tax to the
Department of Revenue, Tax Administration Bureau, on sales of a watercraft
propelled solely by paddle or oars (regardless of length), sailboards, or on
sailboats less than 12 feet in length and powered by sail alone, since these
units are not required to be titled and registered under Chapter 306. Vendors
who are not licensed boat dealers must also collect taxes on the sale of
outboard motors.

Example 1: Individual A purchases a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor
from a licensed boat dealer. The individual is required to title the
vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor with the Department. The
purchaser of the vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor must pay
sales tax on the purchase price of the vessel (watercraft) or
outboard motor to the Department.

Example 2: Individual B purchases a canoe from a boat dealer. Because the
canoe is a vessel (watercraft) that is not required to be titled
under Chapter 306, RSMo, the boat dealer is required to
collect and remit the sales tax on the gross receipt of the sale
of the canoe.

The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor titled in another state/country
for less than 90 days must submit proof of sales tax payment to that state/country.
If the taxes paid are equivalent to the state tax rate of 4.225 percent and local tax
rate, additional taxes will not be assessed.

The owner of a vessel (watercraft) or outboard motor purchased from a registered
boat dealer or individual must submit state sales tax in the amount of 4.225
percent and local tax, if applicable, calculated on the net price of the vessel
(watercraft) or outboard motor. Local tax varies depending upon the applicant’s
Missouri address.
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Outboard
Motor
Registration

Missouri
Vessel
(Watercraft)
Registration
(MO) Number

Vessel
(Watercratft)
Registration/
Decal

Vessel
(Watercratft)
Identification
Number

All outboard motors must be registered at the time of titling and are issued an
outboard motor decal. One decal is issued for each outboard motor for a $2
fee. There is no requirement to renew a decal until owner- ship of the
outboard motor changes. An ownership change includes adding or deleting
a name on the certificate of title.

All vessels (watercraft) that are required to be titled must display a Missouri
boat registration number unless specifically exempted by law. The registration
number is commonly referred to as the “MO number.” An Application for
Watercraft Registration Number (DOR-2691), Exhibit D, must be completed
prior to issuance of a Missouri boat registration number. The white portion of
the application must be attached as a supporting document to the Application
for Missouri Watercraft or Out- board Motor Registration and Title. The “MO
number” must be affixed to the vessel (watercraft).

If the vessel (watercraft) currently has a “MO number,” this number must
remain assigned to the vessel (watercraft). ONLY WHEN THE “TYPE OF
USE” HAS BEEN CHANGED WILL A NEW MISSOURI BOAT
IDENTIFICATION NUMBER BE ISSUED.

In addition to displaying a registration number, the vessel (watercraft) must
display a registration decal. The vessel (watercraft) registration (decal) fee is
based on the length of the vessel (watercraft) and is valid for a period of three
years. The decals are always issued as a set of two and must be affixed to both
sides of the bow of the vessel (watercraft). The decal expires on June 30" of the
appropriate year. The decal fees are as follows:

Vessel (watercraft) under 16 feet in length............ccccooiiiis $25
Vessel (watercraft) 16 feet in length but less than 26 feet........................ $55
Vessel (watercraft) 26 feet in length but less than 40 feet....................... $100
Vessel (watercraft) 40 feet in length and over............ccceeiiiiiiiiiiiinnee $150

Section 306.030.2, RSMo provides that every new vessel (watercraft) sold in
this state after January 1, 1970, shall have die stamped on or within three feet
of the transom or stern a factory number or serial number.

Federal regulations require the hull identification number (HIN) for vessel
(watercraft) manufactured after November 1, 1972, to contain 12 characters.
The Missouri State Water Patrol has advised the Motor Vehicle Bureau that
some vessels (watercraft) are manufactured one or two years ahead of their
actual model year. Consequently, there may be 1973 and 1974 model vessels
(watercraft) that were actually manufactured prior to November 1972, and
therefore, exempt from regulations which require a 12-character identification
number.
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If a vessel (watercraft) with a model year of 1975 or newer does not have a 12-
character factory number or serial number, the owner must make application to
the Department for the issuance of a new identification number plate to be
affixed to the vessel (watercraft). Upon application, the Department may
authorize the issuance of one metal identification plate, which will serve as the
identification number of the vessel (watercraft).

Before selling a vessel (watercraft), the vessel’s (watercraft’s) identification
number or the factory hull identification number (HIN) must meet the following
criteria:

1. Contain no spaces or dashes;

2. First and second characters must be alpha characters;

3. Model years older than 1975 may have less than 12
characters; and

4.  Model year of 1986 or newer, the 9th character must
contain one of the alpha characters “A” thru “L” and the
11th and 12th digits must correspond with the model
year recorded on the title application.

The following information explains what must be done for vessels (watercraft)
that do not meet the above requirements.

Before issuance of any metal identification plate, the applicant is required to have
the vessel (watercraft) inspected by a law enforcement agency approved by the
Department for that purpose. The inspection will determine either the true and
complete identification number of the vessel (watercraft) or that no such
identification number exists. The inspecting officer must complete the Inspection
Verification - Law Enforcement Agency/Agent section of a Watercraft and/or
Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and Inspection (Form-798), (Exhibit C,)

1. If the owner of the vessel (watercraft) declares the vessel (watercraft) is
“HOMEMADE,” a Watercraft and/or Out- board Motor Affidavit of Ownership
and Inspection (Form- 798) Exhibit C must be completed by a member of
the Missouri State Water Patrol, Missouri State Highway Patrol, or the
Missouri Conservation Commission.

2. If the owner of the vessel (watercraft) declares that the vessel (watercraft) is
a “MANUFACTURED” unit, the Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of
Ownership and Inspection (Form-798) Exhibit C must be completed by an
authorized law enforcement agency, e.g., Missouri State Water Patrol or
Missouri State Highway Patrol, Sheriff, Police Officer, etc., except all 1985
and newer model vessels (watercraft) must be inspected by a member of
the Missouri State Water Patrol, Missouri State Highway Patrol, or the
Missouri Conservation Commission.
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3. If the public number assigned by the manufacturer is destroyed,
removed, covered, altered, or defaced, but the confidential number
assigned by the manufacturer can be located, a replacement vessel
(watercraft) identification number plate must be issued.

An “MOZA” number plate will be issued to a MANUFACTURED vessel
(watercraft) when the manufacturer’s assigned identification number cannot be
determined and the confidential number is missing. An “MOZ” number plate
will be issued to a HOMEMADE vessel (watercraft).

All documents (including an application for title) and applicable fees may be
submitted to the nearest branch or agent office or mailed to the Department of
Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri
65105-0100. In addition to the title fee, processing fee, registration fee, taxes,
and title penalty fee (if applicable), the applicant will be required to pay $7.50
for the metal identification plate.

NOTE: Applications involving issuance of a “MOZA” number for a
manufactured vessel (watercraft) may be submitted to any
Department of Revenue office. All other applications involving
issuance of a new or replacement identification number must be
submitted directly to the Motor Vehicle Bureau Central Office at
the address listed above.

After the identification plate is issued, the vessel (watercraft) owner must affix
the identification plate on or within three feet of the transom or stem of the
vessel (watercraft).

Outboard If an original, manufacturer’s, or other distinguishing number on any outboard
motor has been destroyed, removed, covered, altered, defaced, or is otherwise
Motor nonexistent, the director of revenue will issue a new or replacement identification
‘g . number plate as required by Section 306.031.1 RSMo. The applicant must
Identification submit the Watercraft and/or Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership and
N um ber Inspection (Form-798) Exhibit C completed in full and signed to the Motor

Vehicle Bureau Central Office, P.O. Box 100, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-
0100 with the following:

1. An Application for Missouri Watercraft or Outboard Motor Title and
Registration (Eorm-93), if the applicant is applying for a new
identification number plate.

NOTE: If the applicant already has a certificate of title in his or her name and
a replacement identification number plate is being obtained, it is not
necessary to submit a title application, as a new title will not be issued.
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2. Inspection (DOR-798). If the unitis homemade, please explain all
related facts and use the DOR-798 (Exhibit I).

3. An appropriate ownership documentation.

4.  The appropriate fees, i.e., title fee, processing fee, $7.50
number plate fee, taxes, title penalty, and registration fee, if
applicable.

The owner or owner’s designee must securely fasten the identification number
plate immediately to the outside of the outboard motor close to the area where
the original manufacturer’s identification number plate would typically appear.

Most commercial vessels of five or more net tons which are used on the
DOC umen ted navigable waters of the United States must be documented. A recreational
Vessels vessel of five or more net tons may be documented at the option of the owner.

A Certificate of Documentation is issued by the Coast Guard. For more
information, contact the United States Coast Guard at the following address or
phone number:

National Documentation Center

2039 Stonewall Jackson Drive

Falling Waters, West Virginia 25419-9502
Telephone (800)799-8362 or (304)271-2400

In order to document a vessel, the owner must comply with all federal
requirements and submit an application for documentation and the
appropriate documents and fees to the United States Coast Guard. Section
306.016, RSMo requires the owner of any vessel documented by the United
States Coast Guard to apply for a documented vessel certificate of
registration and pay a registration fee based on the length of the vessel and, if
applicable, pay an “in-lieu” watercraft tax.

To comply with this law, the applicant must submit the following to the
Motor Vehicle Bureau:

1. A properly completed and signed Application for Documented
Vessel Certificate of Registration (Eorm-4398);

2. A copy of the Certificate of Documentation issued by the
United States Coast Guard,;

NOTE: If the vessel was documented by the previous owner, the
applicant must provide proof that the United States Coast Guard
documentation is in the new owner’s name.
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3. One of the following proof of ownership documents:
a.) The original title or Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin; or

b) A certified copy of the “ABSTRACT OF TITLE” in the new
owner’s name, if the vessel was documented by the seller
with the U.S. Coast Guard; and the Missouri documented
vessel certificate of registration properly assigned by the
seller to the new owner, if applicable.

4.  Paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from
the county (or city of St.Louis) collector or assessor for the previous year.

If the boat/vessel is not listed on the tax receipt (“boat” is acceptable), the
following must be submitted:

*A corrected tax receipt (if manually corrected, it must contain the county seal); or

*A letter from the county collector (on letterhead or containing the county
seal) reflecting payment of taxes.

5. A $7.50 certification fee;

$6 processing fee represents a $2.50 certificate fee and a $3.50
registration fee;

7.  Aregistration fee based on the length of the vessel,
Length of Vessel

Under 16 feet in length = $25

16 feet but less than 26 feet = $55
26 feet but less than 40 feet = $100
40 feet and over = $150

Note: A Homemade vessel that is at least 16 feet but less
than 28 feet in length, made out of wood, and has a beam
of five feet or less will result in a $55 registration plus
$3.50 processing fee.

g.  The “in-lieu” watercraft tax based on the purchase price of the
vessel or proof that applicable taxes have been paid (trade-in
credit is NOT allowed); and

Purchase Price Tax Due
Less than $15,000 $500.00
$15,001 to $30,000 $650.00
$30,001 to $50,000 $1,000.00
$50,001 to $100,000 $1,400.00
$100,001 to $150,000 $2,000.00
$150,001 to $200,000 $3,000.00
$200,001 to $250,000 $4,000.00
$250,001 to $300,000 $5,000.00
$300,001 to $350,000 $5,500.00
$350,001 to $400,000 $6,000.00
$400,001 to $450,000 $6,500.00
$450,001 to $500,000 $7,500.00
$500,001 to $550,000 $8,500.00
$550,001 to $650,000 $9,500.00
$650,001 to $750,000 $10,500.00
750,001 and above Add an additional $1,500.00 for

each $100,000 increment.
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9. The penalty fee, if applicable, is $10 for each 30-day period
beyond the registration due date up to a maximum of $30.

Upon receipt of the above documents and fees, the Motor Vehicle Bureau
will issue the following:

e A documented vessel certificate of registration;
e A validated application receipt; and

e A set of registration decals.

Listed below are important facts to remember about documented vessels:

e The state of Missouri cannot issue a certificate of title to a
documented vessel;

e The registration decal must be displayed in a clearly visible location on
each side of the forward half of the vessel; and

e The documented vessel registration must be renewed every three
years.

It may take longer than 30 days for the Certificate of Documentation to be issued
by the United States Coast Guard. However, the owner of the vessel is
required by state law to make application to the Motor Vehicle Bureau for a
certificate of registration and pay the in-lieu tax within 30 days of purchasing
the vessel in order to avoid a penalty. Therefore, the owner must submit the
requirements outlined above and on the previous page (with the exception of Item
2) with a bill of sale and $5 temporary registration fee. A temporary registration
will be issued for a period of 60 days. A permanent certificate of registration will
not be issued until the Motor Vehicle Bureau receives a copy of the Certificate of
Documentation. An owner cannot operate a vessel until a temporary or permanent
registration is obtained.

Delinquent Interest Charges

A delinquent tax penalty will be charged if anyone fails to pay the in-lieu tax
within 30 days of notification/billing from the director of revenue. Beginning on
the 31st day after billing, a penalty is charged at the rate of five percent of the
in-lieu tax amount due. The penalty is a constant rate and will not increase with
each 30-day period.

An interest charge is also due if anyone fails to pay the in-lieu tax within 30 days of
billing. This interest charge is due in addition to the five percent penalty amount.
Beginning on the 31st day after billing, an interest charge is due at the rate of one
percent of the in-lieu tax amount due. The interest charge WILL INCREASE by one
percent with each 30-day period that elapses.
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The penalty and interest is figured on a 30-day calendar period, NOT a monthly
basis.

The penalty and interest will accrue as follows:

Numbechi)If”Iigys oim % of Penalty % of Interest Total % Due
0-30 - - -
31-60 5% 1% 6%
61-90 5% 2% 7%
91-120 5% 3% 8%
121-150 5% 4% 9%
151-180 5% 5% 10%
181-210 5% 6% 11%
211-240 5% 7% 12%
241-270 5% 8% 13%
271-300 5% 9% 14%
301-330 5% 10% 15%
331-360 5% 11% 16%
361-390 5% 12% 17%
391-420 5% 13% 18%

This pattern, based on a 30-day period, will continue to increase until the in-lieu tax
is paid. There is not a maximum amount of interest that can be charged.

If you have any questions in regards to Documented Vessels, please call (573) 526-
3669 or write to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, Post Office Box 100, Jefferson City, MO
65105-0100.
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Section 9

Lease/Rental

Lease/Rental
Companies

Registration
Requirements

Who Must Register?

Section 144.010.1(5), RSMo defines a motor vehicle leasing company as a
company obtaining a permit from the director of revenue to operate as a
motor vehicle leasing company.

A lease/rental company must register with the Department and obtain a
LEASE/RENTAL PERMIT if the company chooses to collect and remit all
applicable taxes on the amount charged for each rental or lease agreement
while the motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor is
domiciled in this state instead of paying the taxes due at the time of titling the
units. If the lease/rental company elects to pay taxes at the time of titling, a
permit is not required.

A LEASE/RENTAL COMPANY THAT ELECTS TO COLLECT TAXES ON THE
LEASE/RENTAL PROCEEDS MUST EXERCISE THIS TAX OPTION ON ALL
UNITS PURCHASED FOR LEASE/RENTAL PURPOSES.

Any company or corporation wanting to operate as a motor vehicle/
marinecraft leasing company must submit the following to:

Department of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Bureau - Lease/Rental
Registration Desk

P.O. Box 100

Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100

1. Application for Permit to Operate As a Motor Vehicle/
Marinecraft Leasing Company (Form-901). The application
must be completed and signed by one of the owners listed on
the application. There is no fee to obtain a permit to operate as
a lease/rental company. The application must list the principal
name of the lease/rental company and, if applicable, the names
of all the divisions; and

2. A copy of the Missouri Sales Tax License. The Sales Tax
License must be in the name of the motor vehicle/ marinecraft
leasing company. A Sales Tax License can be obtained from
the Missouri Department of Revenue at the following address:
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Business Tax Bureau

Central Registration

P.O. Box 3300

Jefferson City, MO 65105-3300

Telephone Number (573) 751-2836 or 751-5860

All companies and corporations doing business in the state of Missouri, with the
exception of national and state charter banks and federal credit unions, must
be registered with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office. If a company or
corporation is not currently registered, it should contact the Missouri Secretary
of State’s Office at the following address:

Secretary of State’s Office

Corporation Division

James C. Kirkpatrick State Office Building 600
West Main Street

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Telephone Number (573) 751-4153

The Registration/Charter number provided by the Secretary of State’s Office
must be recorded in box number five (5) on the Application for Permit to
Operate As a Motor Vehicle/Marinecraft Leasing Company (Eorm-901).

Registering as a Corporate Division

Section 144.070.6, RSMo permits a corporation to have one or more of its
divisions be separately authorized by the director of revenue to operate as a
leasing company, provided the corporation:

1 Has filed a written consent with the director authorizing any of
' its divisions to apply for such authority by completing Section
B of the Application For Permit To Operate As A Motor

Vehicle/Marinecraft Leasing Company (Eorm-901);

2. Is authorized to do business in Missouri;

3. Has agreed to treat any sale of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel
(watercraft) or outboard motor from one of its divisions to
another of its divisions as a sale at retail within the meaning
of Subdivision (9) of Subsection 1 of Section 144.010;
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4. Has registered each of the divisions doing business in
Missouri as a leasing company under the fictitious name
provisions of Sections 417.200 to 417.230, RSMo; and

S. Operates each of its divisions on a basis separate from each
of its other divisions.

Lease/Rental
Permits

Permits Expire On December 31 Each Year

Upon receipt and approval of an application for a lease/rental permit and the
required documents, the Department will mail the lease/rental permit directly
to the applicant. This permit expires on December 31 every two years, at
which time the permit must be renewed. Renewal applications must be filed
with the Motor Vehicle Bureau no later than December 31 of the year of
expiration in order to be registered for the next registration period.

If a lease/rental company fails to receive a renewal application, it is the
responsibility of the company to contact the Department of Revenue, Motor
Vehicle Bureau, to obtain the necessary forms to renew the permit before the
expiration date. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not excuse failure to
renew.

A lease/rental company that acquires a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft),
or outboard motor prior to obtaining or renewing a permit from the director of
revenue to operate as a lease/rental company must pay all applicable taxes at the
time of titling and registering.

Cancellation of a Lease/Rental Company Registration

Cancellation/

Den |a| Of a The director of revenue may deny an application for or recall any permit to
operate as a lease/rental company if he or she finds the applicant:

Lease/Rental
CO m p an y 1. Fraudulently completed the application for registration;
Reg istration 2. No longer holds a valid Missouri Sales Tax License; or

3. No longer is properly registered with the Missouri Secretary of
State’s Office.

A lease/rental company registered with the director of revenue pursuant to
Section 144.070, RSMo that ceases to operate as a lease/rental company in
accordance with the law and/or the rules and regulations established by the
director of revenue, must notify the director of revenue within 10 days of
ending the operation.
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Dealers
Licensed as
a Lease/
Rental
Company

Obtaining an
Original Title

When a lease/rental company is also licensed as a motor vehicle dealer, the
businesses must operate as two separate entities for titling and record-keeping
requirements. For example, a dealership may title a motor vehicle in the
dealership’s name and claim a sales tax exemption (Exemption 3) because the
vehicle was purchased for resale. However, if the dealer later decides to lease
the vehicle, an assignment must be made and a new title obtained transferring
ownership from the dealership name to the lease/rental company name. The
new title will reflect a sales tax exemption (Exemption 12) indicating the vehicle
was purchased for lease/rental purposes. This transfer/sale must be reported
on the dealer's monthly sales report to the Motor Vehicle Bureau. To avoid
confusion, the dealership and lease/rental company should be registered
under two different names, i.e., “John’s Auto Sales” for the dealership and
“John’s Auto Leasing” for the lease/rental company. One sales tax license is
sufficient if the lease/rental company is also registered as a dealer.

NOTE: VEHICLES TITLED IN THE NAME OF THE LEASE/RENTAL
COMPANY MANY NOT DISPLAY DEALER LICENSE PLATES.

Titling a Leased Motor Vehicle, Trailer, Vessel (Watercraft), or
Outboard Motor

After an applicant is approved to operate as a motor vehicle/marinecraft
lease/rental company, all applications for title on motor vehicles, trailers,
vessels (watercraft), or outboard motors must be submitted in the name and
address of the motor vehicle/marinecraft lease/rental company as it appears on
the PERMIT TO OPERATE AS A MOTOR VEHICLE/ MARINECRAFT
LEASING COMPANY. The lease/rental company may also show an “in care of”
in the owner’s name area of the title application when long-term leases are
involved, i.e., Johnson Leasing Inc. % James Smith.

Please note:

1. A lease/rental company must record a “Mail-to” on the
application for title if the title is to be mailed to an address
other than the applicant’s address listed at the top of the
application.

2. The application for title must be signed by an authorized

officer/employee of the company. The signature of the applicant
certifies that financial responsibility will be maintained on the
vehicle.
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3. If the application is signed by the lessee, a notarized power of
attorney from the motor vehicle/marinecraft lease/rental
company authorizing the individual to sign the application must
be submitted.

The lease/rental permit number must be shown in the
remarks section of the application or in the designated
lease/rental block on the application.

Application for title on motor vehicles and trailers must be

made within 30 days of the purchase date. Application for
title on vessels (watercraft) and outboard motors must be

made within 60 days of the purchase date.

6 The law requires that sales tax on the rental receipts or
' purchase price (depending on the sales tax option the leasing
company selected) for leases of 60 days or more must be
based on the lessee’s address.

The application for title must be accompanied by:

1. A properly assigned certificate of title or Manufacturer’s
Statement of Origin;

2. An Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form-3019), if applicable.
See Section 3 of this manual for odometer requirements;

3 An inspection verifying the motor vehicle identification
' number and odometer reading (ID/OD Inspection), if the
certificate of ownership is an out-of-state title;

4. Applicable title and processing fees;

Appropriate processing/agent fee; and

6. A title penalty, if applicable. The title penalty for motor
vehicles and trailers is $25 for each 30-day period after the
purchase date, not to exceed a total of $200. The title penalty
for vessels (watercraft) and outboard motors is $10 after 60
days from the purchase date, then $10 for each 30-day
period, not to exceed a total of $30.

9-5


http://dor.mo.gov/forms/3019.pdf�

Registering
a Leased
Motor
Vehicle/
Trailer

Registering a Leased Motor Vehicle or Trailer

If the lease/rental company wants to register the leased vehicle, the
following is required in addition to the requirements for titling:

1. Original personal property tax receipt or statement of non-
assessment for the previous year in the leasing company’s
name. Leasing companies must provide the lessee of a
vehicle or trailer with an original paid personal property tax
receipt or a legible copy of the tax receipt certified by the
county collector’s/assessor’s office unless a railroad
company is the lessee. Railroad companies are required to
report all personal property (owned or leased) to the county
collector’'s/assessor’s office; therefore, when a railroad
company is the lessee, the Department will accept a paid
personal property tax receipt or statement of non-assessment
in the railroad company’s name. See example 2 listed
below. In accordance with Section 137.095, RSMo the tax
receipt/non-assessment must be issued in the county in which
the vehicle is based/garaged. When the address of the lessee
is shown on the application for title, the tax receipt must be
issued by the county in which the lessee resides.

EXAMPLE 1:

Johnson Leasing Company is located in
Gasconade County and leases a vehicle to
Jack Jones in Cole County. If the vehicle is
titted to Johnson Leasing Co., c/o Jack Jones,
the title application should list the Cole
County residence of the applicant. A paid
personal property tax receipt must be
submitted in the name of Johnson Leasing
Company issued by the Cole County
Collector. A tax receipt issued in the lessee’s
name is not acceptable.

EXAMPLE 2:
Smith Leasing Company located in Cole
County leases a vehicle to Reading
Railroad in Callaway County. If the
vehicle is titled to Smith Leasing Co. c/o
Reading Railroads, a paid personal
property tax receipt may be submitted in
the name of Reading Railroads issued by
the Callaway County Collector. In this
case, a receipt issued in the lessee’s
name is acceptable.
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2 A Missouri vehicle safety inspection certificate not more than
' 60 days old, if applicable (see Section 10 for exempt
vehicles);
3. An emissions inspection, for motor vehicles and commercial

motor vehicles with a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less, if
applicable. This is required only if the applicant indicates an
address within the City of St. Louis, St. Louis County, St.
Charles County, Jefferson County, or Franklin County.

NOTE: Owners of motor vehicles registered in an area
subject to emissions inspection requirements but
which are based and will be operated outside an
emissions area for at least 12 months must present
a waiver from Department of Natural Resources at
the time of registration

4, Proof of financial responsibility such as:

a. A current original insurance ID card containing name,
address of insured, policy #, effective date of policy,
and description of vehicle;

b. A motor vehicle liability insurance policy or
insurance binder (temp policy);

C. A self-insured ID card; or

d. Financial responsibility ID card listing the insured
person’s name and vehicle description; and

5. Appropriate registration and processing/agent fees.
Obtal nin g a For long-term leases, lease/rental companies may elect to require lessees to
N obtain a non-negotiable registration in the lessee’s name for registration
on- purposes only. The non-negotiable registration is not acceptable for
Neg oti ab | e transferring ownership and does not relieve the lease/rental company of its

obligation to apply for an original title in the lease/rental company’s name.

Registration
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Missouri law provides that any person, firm, corporation or association which,
as the result of entering into a lease agreement containing a “right to
purchase” clause, is considered the owner of a motor vehicle or trailer for the
purpose of registering the unit. The lessee of a vehicle under a
lease/purchase agreement as described above may make application for a
non-negotiable certificate of registration.

To obtain a non-negotiable certificate of registration on a leased vehicle, the
lessee must submit the following:

1.

A completed and signed Application for Missouri Title and/ or
License (Eorm-108) in the name of the lessee, with the title
type block marked “NON-NEGOTIABLE.”

NOTE: The lease/rental company’s hame should not be
listed in the owner’s name block.

A copy of the front and back of the certificate of title in the
lease/rental company’s name or a copy of the validated pink
receipt indicating that the lease/rental company has applied
for title in its name;

A copy of the lease agreement containing a “right to purchase”
clause, signed by both the lessor and the lessee;

A Missouri motor vehicle safety inspection completed within
60 days of the date of application, if applicable (see Section
10 for exempt vehicles);

NOTE: This does not apply to trailers.

An emissions inspection, for motor vehicles and commercial
motor vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of
8,500 pounds or less, if applicable. This is required only when
the applicant indicates an address within the City of St. Louis,
St. Louis County, St. Charles County, Jefferson County, or
Franklin County.

An original, paid personal property tax receipt or statement of
non-assessment in the lessee’s name;
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7. Proof of financial responsibility such as:

a. A current original insurance ID card containing name,
address of insured, policy #, effective date of policy,
and description of vehicle;

b. A motor vehicle liability insurance policy or insurance
binder (temp policy);

c. A self-insured ID card; or

Financial responsibility ID card listing the insured
person’s name and vehicle description.

8. An $8.50 non-negotiable registration fee; and

9. Appropriate license, transfer, and processing/agent fees.
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Section 10
Dealers

Requirements

Selling New
Dealers selling new motor vehicles must be franchised with the manufacturer to
Motor sell each particular make. The dealer must submit a copy of the franchise
Veh | C|eS agreement(s) with the dealer’s application for registration. If the dealer enters
into additional franchise agreement(s) during the year, copies of the
agreement(s) must be immediately filed with Motor Vehicle Bureau, Dealer
Licensing Section, P.O. Box 43, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0043.

Manufacturers of motor vehicles must issue franchise agreements to the dealers
authorized to sell their makes of motor vehicles. The manufacturer must supply a
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for each vehicle/vehicle body manufactured.
A dealer should contact the Federal Department of Transportation for questions
regarding assignment of vehicle identification numbers by calling (202) 366-5302
or by fax at (202) 493-0073.

Restrictions
When a dealer is listed as the purchaser on the Manufacturer’'s Statement of

Origin for a vehicle they are not franchised to sell, the transaction is deemed a
first sale of the vehicle. A non-franchised dealer cannot transfer ownership on
the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin; the dealer must apply for a Missouri title
in the dealership’s name and pay appropriate title fee. The vehicle is then
deemed a used vehicle. It is unlawful for any dealer to hold forth, offer for sale,
advertise or sell such a motor vehicle as a new motor vehicle. This does not
apply to new manufactured homes or trailers. The Motor Vehicle Bureau
performs a daily computer check to detect violations. Violations of Section
301.568 RSMo could result in the suspension of the dealer’s license.

Dealers All dealers must have proof of ownership on all motor vehicles/trailers in their
R . d t possession or proof that dealer has applied for a certificate of ownership or that a
eq uire 0 prior lien has been satisfied by the dealer. Proof of ownership must be maintained at

Have PrOOf Of the licensed dealership location for inspection by appropriate law enforcement
. officials or authorized/designated employees.
Ownership

Proof of ownership may be in the form of:

e Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or certificate of title properly assigned to the
dealer; or

¢ Descriptive bill of sale or auto auction invoice/receipt indicating the year, make, and
identification number of the vehicle and the dealer as purchaser.
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Duplicate
Manufacturer’s
Statement of
Origin

Title in
Dealership’s
Name When
Original is
Lost

Reassignment
of Ownership
by a Registered
Dealer Forms
(Riders)

Some manufacturers do not issue a duplicate Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin
once the original has been assigned and delivered to a retail customer. Instead,

the manufacturer furnishes a statement to the selling dealer certifying the vehicle
was sold to the dealership.

The manufacturer’s statement will be accepted in lieu of a duplicate
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin. The selling dealer could complete a
Reassignment of Ownership by Registered Dealer (Form-2447) Exhibit F, or
provide a copy of the front and back of the original assigned MSO and attach it to
the manufacture’s statement. These two documents will serve as proof of
ownership and proper odometer disclosure for title applicant.

Obtaining Title in Dealership’s Name when a Customer Loses Original
Assigned Title

When a unit is purchased from a dealer and the purchaser loses the original

assigned title, the Department will allow selling dealer to apply for an griginal title in
the dealer's name. The following documents and fees must be submitted to obtain an
original dealer title:

e Application for original titte completed in selling dealership’s name;

e Photocopy of front and back of the original title assigned to the dealer with a
reassignment to the customer;

¢ Notarized affidavit (General Affidavit Form-768 may be used) signed by the new
owner (customer) stating that original title was lost, stolen or mutilated;

e Appropriate processing/agent fee; and

e Appropriate title fee.

When dealer receives and assigns new original title in the dealership’s name to the
purchaser, the dealer must record original sale date and provide purchaser with a
copy of front and back of the title that was lost to explain why purchase date is
before issue date of the new title. Title penalty fees would apply, if applicable.

A rider (Reassignment of Ownership by Registered Dealer, Form-2447, Exhibit F)) is
a secure document issued by the Director of Revenue in accordance with Section
301.200 RSMo, provides registered Missouri dealers (not out-of-state dealers) one
additional assignment as an extension of the ownership document. See 12 CSR 10-
23.434 for information regarding who may use a rider form and when a rider form
may be used.

Riders may be used with a Missouri certificate of title, Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin, or an out-of-state certificate of title. Only one original rider may be used with
each transaction. Applicants must retain a photocopy of Form-2447 for their records.
A MISSOURI DEALER MAY NOT ATTACH A RIDER TO A MISSOURI OR OUT-OF-
STATE SALVAGE TITLE.
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License
Plates -
30-Day
Transfer
Allowed

Temporary
Permits

Riders are issued at no cost in books of 50. Riders may be obtained by calling (573)
526-3669, Option 7, e-mailing mailto:dealerlic@dor.mo.gov, or by submitting a
written request to Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Bureau, Dealer
Licensing Section, P.O. Box 43, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0043. When
contacting the Department, be sure to include the following:

e Dealership name and address;

¢ Dealer license number; and

e Quantity of books requested.

Completing the Rider

All fields on the rider must be completed. In the purchaser(s) and seller(s) name
blocks, one purchaser and all sellers must physically hand print their names.
The dealer must legibly hand print the name of the dealership, agent’s name and
their title/position in the company when the dealer is purchaser or seller. One
purchaser and all sellers must also sign the form in the designated areas. The
original Form-2447 (Exhibit F) must be submitted, but the dealer must retain a
photocopy for their records.

The buyer of a newly acquired motor vehicle/trailer may attach the license plates
from their motor vehicle/trailer that is being sold or traded to the newly acquired
motor vehicle/trailer. This transfer is legal for only 30 days. After that time, the
buyer must legally transfer the plates and pay a $2 transfer fee. The buyer may
transfer the license plates only if vehicle acquired is of the same vehicle category
as vehicle being replaced, i.e., passenger plates may not be displayed on a
commercial motor vehicle.

Section 301.140 RSMo permits the Department to issue temporary permits to
vehicle purchasers. This permit authorizes a purchaser to operate a motor vehicle/
trailer for a period of 30 days from date of purchase of the motor vehicle/trailer.
Motor vehicle or trailers displaying a temporary permit can be operated empty,
loaded or with mounted equipment. Only individuals who have no registration
plate(s) available for transfer may purchase permits.

A dealer:

e May not issue a temporary permit on a motor vehicle owned by the dealership for
leasing/rental purposes;

e May charge no more than $7.50 for each permit issued; and

e May transfer/sell any un-issued temporary permits remaining in the dealer’s
inventory at the time the dealership is sold to a purchasing dealer. The seller must
notify Motor Vehicle Bureau in writing of such fact, including the control number of
each temporary permit that was transferred.

10-3


mailto:dealerlic@dor.mo.gov�
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-399/3010000140.htm�

Documents/Fees Required to Obtain Temporary Permits

Licensed motor vehicle dealers may purchase temporary permits in books of ten
permits from Central Office in Jefferson City. To order permits by mail, dealer may
send in a completed Special Permits Application (Eorm-1275) or a written request
on company letterhead. Mail requests to Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100,
Jefferson City, Missouri, 65105-0100, email request to DEALERLIC@dor.mo.gov
or by fax at 573-522-4197(credit card only requests). Dealer must include a check
or money order in the amount of $78.50 for each book.

o If a motor vehicle title service is submitting a request for temporary permits
on behalf of a dealer, Motor Vehicle Bureau will not release the temporary
permits without written authorization from an authorized employee of the
dealership.

For an applicant to purchase a temporary permit from the selling dealer, the
following must be submitted:
¢ Vehicle safety/emissions inspection not more than 60 days old, if applicable.
Dealer must record the complete motor vehicle inspection certificate number on
the temporary permit record; and
o Safety/emissions inspections are not required for motor vehicles sold on a
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin.
e $7.50 permit fee.

What is the Buyer’s Responsibility?

Temporary permits are not transferable or renewable. Temporary permits shall
be displayed only on vehicle for which it was issued. They are not valid upon the
issuance of proper registration plates for the motor vehicle/trailer. Purchaser must
sign the permit in ink.

What is the Dealer’'s Responsibility?

The dealer may sell ONLY one permit to a buyer of a vehicle for which no license
plates are available for transfer. The dealer must record the following on permit
issued: dealer's number; dealership name; year, make and vehicle identification
number; and dates of issuance and expiration.

When recording expiration date on a temporary permit, record expiration month
using the first three letters of the month. For example, if a permit is to expire on
September 1, 2007, record, “SEP - 01- 07".

Each book of permits provides a separate form in front of the book to record

buyer’'s name, address, vehicle description, dates of issuance and expiration for

each permit. These records will be kept for inspection by the appropriate officers

as defined in Section 301.564, RSMo. Dealer must also record the number of

temporary permits issued in the appropriate column on dealer’'s monthly sales

report, except for temporary permits issued for courtesy delivery vehicles.

o |If the permit is issued pursuant to a courtesy delivery arrangement, the dealer

issuing the permit must record “COURTESY DELIVERY” on the
corresponding permit and on permit record within the permit booklet.
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Motor Vehicle
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Inspection
Requirements
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Section 307.350, RSMo, allows for a two-year (biennial) safety inspection.

Safety inspections must be performed by authorized inspection stations regulated by
the Missouri State Highway Patrol. An inspection must be performed at seller’s
expense before the sale of a motor vehicle. The following types of vehicles are not
required to be inspected for registration purposes:

e New motor vehicles (Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin) purchased during the
model year of the vehicle and the following year. This includes vehicles with an out-
of-state title. Example: A 2007 vehicle is exempt during 2007 and 2008.

0 Anytime a new vehicle is sold on an MSO, the vehicle is exempt from a safety
inspection. Example — A 2005 model vehicle titled and registered for the first time in
2007 is exempt.

Odd model year vehicles with a registration that expires in an even calendar year;
Even model year vehicles with a registration that expires in an odd calendar year;
Motor vehicles engaged in interstate commerce and registered with the Missouri
Motor Carrier Services;

Low speed vehicles;

Historic motor vehicles;

Street rod and custom vehicles;

All trailers;

Motor vehicles sold for junk, salvage, rebuilding including those sold in “ AS IS”
condition; and

e Motor vehicles sold from dealer to dealer or sold at public auction.

If the vehicle is purchased for junk, salvage, or rebuilding, the purchaser must give
the seller an affidavit as prescribed by Missouri State Highway Patrol.

Section 144.071, RSMo, permits a purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel
(watercraft), or outboard motor who rescinds the sale to receive a full refund of all state
and local taxes paid on purchase price of the unit. Purchaser must return the unit to
seller within 60 days of purchase to receive a refund of the purchase price. Related
titling, processing, and registration fees will not be refunded. Legislation allows a
vehicle owner to surrender the license plate(s) and receive credit for time remaining
towards purchase of another license plate(s) regardless of the type of license (i.e.,
passenger, truck or trailer). To receive a refund of applicable taxes, purchaser must
submit:

¢ A Motor Vehicle Refund Request Application (Eorm-426) completed and signed;

e The original receipt showing payment of taxes;

e Attachment signed by the seller and the purchaser, stating date the
vehicle/trailer/vessel/motor was returned, year, make, vehicle identification number,
the facts/reason for the rescinded sale and amount of purchase price refunded; and

¢ A descriptive notarized lien release/non-interest statement from any lienholder
shown. The statement must include the purchaser’s name and the year, make, and
identification number of the unit.

0 Each claim for a rescinded sale refund must be made within one year after
payment of the tax on which the refund is claimed.

When Seller Must Apply for Title on a Rescinded Sale

When a certificate of title is assigned to a purchaser and sale is rescinded, the assigned
certificate of title is considered mutilated.
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.|
Non-Dealer as Seller

If seller is not a dealer, they must apply for a duplicate title by submitting the
following:

o Application for duplicate title;

¢ Original assigned title;

e Statements signed by purchaser, seller, and if applicable, lienholder
acknowledging that the sale has been rescinded;

e Appropriate title fee; and

e Appropriate processing/agent fee.

Dealer as Seller

If a licensed dealer assigned a title to someone who later rescinds the sale, the
dealer must apply for an original title. If the unit was sold on a Manufactured
Statement of Origin (MSO), the dealer can reassign the MSO to the new
purchaser. Dealer must submit:

o Application for original title;

¢ Original assigned title;

¢ Signed statements from purchaser, seller, and if applicable, lienholder
acknowledging the rescinded sale;

o Appropriate title fee; and

e Appropriate processing/agent fee.

o |If a certificate of title has already been issued in the name of the purchaser
who wants to rescind the sale, the purchaser must properly assign the title to
the seller and provide seller with appropriate statements rescinding the sale.
If original seller is not a dealer, he or she must apply for title within 30 days
to avoid a title penalty.

When a dealer sells any unit on consignment for an individual, they must adhere to

Consi g nment one of the following procedures:

SaleS ¢ Individual must assign ownership document to the dealer. The dealer can then
demonstrate the unit using their dealer license plates/placard. Dealer can
assign the ownership document to purchaser and make a proper odometer
disclosure as in any other sale the dealer makes, if applicable.

¢ Individual must provide the dealer a copy of ownership document and written
authorization to offer the unit for sale. Dealer cannot use dealer license
plates/placards on the unit. Dealer must use the owner’s current
registration. If an accident occurs, owner of the unit, not the dealer, may be
held financially responsible. When actual sale takes place, owner must assign
ownership document directly to the purchaser and provide an odometer
disclosure, if applicable.
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Information
For Auctions/
Dealers
Selling at
Auctions

If an auctioneer is conducting business with both buyer and seller present, the seller
must assign title directly to buyer. The seller must list purchaser’'s name in the
assignment area. The seller may not leave purchaser’'s name blank, as this constitutes
an open title. The seller must disclose mileage to the buyer, except on an exempt
vehicle. The auctioneer becomes a transferor (seller) if they buy a vehicle and later
auctions it. If auctioneer is acting as consignee for a seller who is not present, the
seller must execute a regular power of attorney authorizing auctioneer to make the
disclosure.

If a dealer brings a motor vehicle to an auction, but is not present at time of sale, the
following must be followed:

o If atitle is involved, seller should give the auction a power of attorney and title
document;

o Representative of the auction should complete title assignment on behalf of the
seller. The purchaser(s) must print and sign their name(s) in the designated area
for odometer disclosure, if applicable; and

e The representative of the auction cannot sign as seller and purchaser for the
same transaction.

When reporting the sale on dealer’'s monthly report, dealer must list the actual
purchaser not the auto auction.

Auctions-Records Required

Auction companies are required to record and maintain in their files for five years: the
name(s) of the seller(s) and purchaser(s), vehicle identification number, and
odometer reading on date the auction took possession of the unit. If the auction sells
more than six cars within a 12-month period as a transferor (seller) or transferee
(purchaser), the auction must retain a copy of every odometer disclosure statement
they issue and receive.
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Section 11

Missouri Salvage Business Registration and
Titling Requirements for Rebuilt,
Reconstructed, Specialty Constructed,
Salvage, Junk, Motor Change, Non-USA-
STD, and Kit Motor Vehicles

i i Who Must Register?
MISSO uri Section 301.218, RSMo requires any person who conducts the business of a
Sa|vag e used parts dealer, s_alvage dealer and disma_mtler, _body shop, re-builder, or scrap
. processor to be registered as a salvage business licensee unless such activities
B usiness are incidental to the sale, repair, rebuilding, or servicing of vehicles by a registered
L | cense Missouri motor vehicle franchised dealer. A business that sells only used tires is

not required to obtain a salvage business license. The definitions for these

Reg istrati on businesses are as follows:

e Used Parts Dealer - A business that buys and sells used motor vehicle
parts or accessories. This definition does not include businesses that
sell only new, remanufactured, or rebuilt parts or those who make
isolated sales of used parts at a swap meet of less than three days.

e Salvage Dealer and Dismantler - A business that dismantles used
motor vehicles for the sale of the parts thereof and buys or sells used
motor vehicle parts and accessories.

A Missouri Retail Sales Tax Number is required unless a statement is submitted
stating the business sells parts on a wholesale basis only.

e Body Shop - A business that repairs physical damage on motor vehicles that
are not owned by the shop or officers or employees by mending,
straightening, replacing body parts or painting.

e Re-builder - A business that repairs or rebuilds four or more motor vehicles
owned by the re-builder in a calendar year but does not include certified
common or contract carriers of persons or property.

e Scrap Processor - A business that, through the use of fixed or mobile
equipment, flattens, crushes, or otherwise accepts motor vehicles and vehicle
parts for processing or transportation to a shredder or scrap metal operator for
recycling. Beginning July 1, 2013, scrap processors must be licensed with the

Sa|vag e :?epar_tment of Revenue. See “Registration Requirements” section for
icensing requirements.

Business . | . . .
. The Department will issue a Salvage Business License Certificate of Registration to
License all salvage business license applicants upon approval of their application. Section
s 301.223, RSMo requires that this license be displayed at all times. All salvage
Certlfl cate Of business registrations expire June 30 every two years. It is unlawful for anyone to

Reg iStrati on operate as a salvage business licensee who is not registered as such.
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NOTE: If you did not receive your certificate of registration for the current
registration period, or the certificate is incorrect, please contact the Motor Vehicle
Bureau immediately

Registration Requirements

Any person who wishes to register as a salvage business must submit the following
to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, Dealer Licensing Section, PO Box 43, Jefferson City,
MO 65105

NOTE: Applications that are hand-delivered will not be approved the same
day.

e A completed Application for Missouri Salvage Business License (Form-1879)
signed by an owner, partner or corporate officer listed on the application;

e Section 301.221, RSMo also requires all salvage business license applicants to
be of good moral character. The Missouri State Highway Patrol will conduct a
criminal record check of all owners, partners, or principal officers (if a corporation)
listed on the application to determine good moral character. Owners, partners, or
principal officers that are out-of-state residents must obtain and submit a current
criminal background record check from their State Police, State Highway Patrol, or
State Bureau of Investigation.

e A check or money order made payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue in
the amount of $130 for each salvage business activity marked on the application.
This fee is not prorated. If registering as both a used parts dealer and a salvage
dealer and dismantler, only one $130 fee and a copy of the Missouri Retail Sales
Tax License must be submitted. If registering as a salvage dealer and dismantler
only, a $130 fee and a statement stating the business will not sell parts at retall
must be submitted;

NOTE: Effective March 1, 2010 an additional $10 for each owner, partner, or
principal officer listed on the application must be submitted to conduct the
criminal record check.

e A photograph, not to exceed eight inches by ten inches (8" x 10") and no smaller
than five inches by seven inches (5” x 7”), showing the building and building
premises. This must accompany the initial application but is not required for
renewals unless changes have been made to the building or building premises;
and

e Section 301.221, RSMo requires that all salvage business license applicants
establish a bona fide place of business. The place of business must include a
permanently enclosed building or structure, either owned in fee or leased and
actually occupied as a place of business by the applicant. The public should be
able to contact the owner/operator in person or by telephone at any reasonable
time at the place of business. The book, records, files, tools, equipment and other
matters required and necessary to conduct the business must be kept and
maintained at the place of business.
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Salvage
Pools and
Disposal
Sales

Changes
Involving a
Salvage
Business

Records Required Of Salvage Pools or Salvage Disposal Sale
Operators
Section 301.217, RSMo defines a salvage pool or salvage disposal sale as, “a

scheduled sale at auction or by private bid of wrecked or repairable motor vehicles
by insurance by companies, underwriters, or dealers, either at retail or wholesale.”

Operators of salvage pools or disposal sales:
e Are not required to be registered with Department of Revenue;
e Are required to submit records to the Dealer Licensing Section on a quarterly
basis

Only the following persons may patrticipate in sales at salvage pools or disposal
sales:
e Engaged and holding a current Missouri salvage license;
e From another state or jurisdiction who are legally allowed in their state to
purchase for resale, rebuild, dismantle, crush or scrap motor vehicles; or
e Who reside in a foreign country and are purchasing salvage vehicles for export
outside the United States.

Sellers of non-repairable or salvage vehicles at salvage pools or disposal sales for
export outside of the United States must:
e Stamp on the face of the title and in each unused reassignment space the
words “FOR EXPORT ONLY” in black capital letters;
¢ Print their salvage dealer number, name of salvage pool, or name of
governmental entity, as applicable in each unused assignment area; and
e Forward copies of the title to the Department on a quarterly basis.

Operators of salvage pools or salvage disposal sales must keep a record of all
sales of salvage vehicles for three years. The records must contain the purchaser’s
name, address, the year, make, and vehicle identification number for each vehicle
purchased. The records must be open to inspection by any representative of the
Department of Revenue, uniformed officer member, or designated employee of the
Missouri State Highway Patrol, or any law enforcement officer.

If your salvage business incurs any of the changes listed below, submit the

following to the Department:

e Business name change - A signed Application for Missouri Salvage Business
License (Eorm-1879) indicating the new business name. Record “Name Change”
at the top of the application, and a photograph showing new sign with new name.

e Address change - A signed Application for Missouri Salvage Business License
(Eorm-1879) indicating the new address and a photograph showing the building
and building premises. Record “Address Change” at the top of the application.

11-3


http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3010000217.HTM�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/1879.pdf�
http://dor.mo.gov/forms/1879.pdf�

Record
Keeping
Requirements
of Salvage
Business
Licensees

Penalties for
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e Partial ownership change - A signed Application for Missouri Salvage
Business License (Form-1879) indicating the ownership change. If an
additional owner is being added, submit the full name, Social Security
Number, birth date, home address, and a $10 fee for criminal record
check. Owners, partners, or principal officers being added that are out-
of-state residents must submit a current criminal background record
check from their State Highway Patrol or Bureau of Investigations. If an
existing owner’s hame is being deleted, a signed statement, which
includes the business name and salvage license number, must
accompany the application acknowledging removal of their name.

e Termination of a salvage business - A statement notifying the

" Department that the salvage business has been terminated including the
date of termination/closed. The seller must surrender the salvage
business license certificate or registration and all salvage
dealer/dismantler identification cards, if applicable.

Section 301.225, RSMo requires each salvage business licensee to maintain a

record for three years on every vehicle, used transmission, rear end, cowl, frame,
body, front-end assembly, or engine acquired.

In addition, Section 301.225, RSMo also requires each salvage business
licensee to maintain a record on every vehicle which includes the date wrecked,
dismantled, or disposed of.

If the vehicle is sold to a scrap metal operator, the licensee must also record the
operator's name and address.

The record must contain the following information:

e The date of its receipt or acquisition;

e The name and address of the person or business from whom it was
received,;

e The vehicle’s identifying number and description;

e The date it was sold to the scrap metal operator; and

e The scrap metal operator’s name and address.

For any vehicle not sold to a scrap metal operator, the salvage business
licensee must have a record of:

The vehicle’s description and identifying number;

The date he or she received it;

The name and address of the person from whom it was received; and
The date the vehicle was disposed.

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH MISSOURI LAWS COULD RESULT IN THE
REVOCATION, SUSPENSION, OR DENIAL OF YOUR SALVAGE
BUSINESS REGISTRATION OR A CONVICTION

Section 301.229, RSMo states that anyone who violates any provision of
Sections 301.217 to 301.229, RSMo is guilty of a class “A” misdemeanor and,
upon conviction, shall be punished as provided by law.
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Denial of License

An applicant’s license may be denied for:

e Failure to comply with Section 301.221, RSMo which requires that all
owners, partners, or principal officers listed on the salvage business license
application be of good moral character.

e Failure to comply with Sections 301.217 to 301.229, RSMo and the laws of
this state relating to the registration and titling of vehicles.

VIOLATIONS FOR WHICH A SALVAGE BUSINESS LICENSEE CAN BE
SUSPENDED OR REVOKED INCLUDE BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO:

e Failure to maintain a bona fide established place of business.

e Salvage licensee does not maintain reasonable business hours where the
public may contact him or her at the business address.

e Salvage licensee does not possess a permanently enclosed building or
structure actually occupied as a place of business by the licensee.
(Section 301.221 RSMo.)

e Salvage licensee does not maintain a complete set of books, records and
files on motor vehicles/motor vehicle parts acquired for resale. They must
be kept in the business office, at the registered location and be available
during reasonable business hours for the inspection by appropriate law
enforcement officials. (Section 301.225, RSMo)

e Salvage licensee cannot be reasonably contacted by the public as shown
by returned mail that was addressed to the registered location. This would
appear to indicate the licensee is not operating at the registered location.
(Section 301.221, RSMo)

e Being in possession of open title(s). Section 301.210, RSMo

e Failing to obtain a salvage title within ten days on motor vehicles purchased
during a year that is no more than six years after the manufacturer’'s model
year designation. Section 301.227, RSMo.

e Failing to have proof of ownership, proof that a dealer has applied for title,
or that a prior lien has been satisfied by the dealer on all motor vehicles in
the salvage licensee’s possession. Section 301.200, RSMo.

e Being in possession of motor vehicles/motor vehicle parts which had the
original manufacturer's number(s) removed/ missing. Section 301.390,
RSMo.

e Failing to surrender to the director of revenue the certificates of title on
motor vehicles that have been destroyed/ sold for destruction. Sections
301.210 and 301.227, RSMo.

e Failure to comply with all owners of the business listed on the application to
be of good moral character. Section 301.221, RSMo.

e Failure to display the salvage business certificate of registration at the
place of business. Section 301.223, RSMo.
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Responsibilities
of a Body Shop

Responsibilities
of Scrap
Processors

Taxes on
Parts

Any time a body shop replaces two or more major component parts on an
individual’'s vehicle, the body shop should notify in writing Department of
Revenue, P.O. Box 100, Attention Special Title Desk, Jefferson City, MO 65105
of the following:

e |ndividual's name and address;
e Year, make and vehicle identification number; and
e Major component parts replaced.

Section 301.227, RSMo requires a scrap processor to obtain proof of
ownership and keep records of all motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts
purchased. A scrap metal operator cannot purchase a motor vehicle or motor
vehicle parts without obtaining an original certificate of title, salvage title or a
Junking Certificate from the seller, unless the seller is a licensed salvage
business.

The ownership documents obtained from a non-salvage business
licensee must be stamped/written “sold for destruction” or
“destroyed” with name of purchaser and date vehicle was sold on the
face of title and forwarded to the director of revenue within ten days
of purchase for destruction.

NOTE:

A scrap processor must keep a record for three years of all motor vehicles or
motor vehicle parts purchased. The record must be open for inspection as
provided in Section 301.225, RSMo, and include the following information:

The seller's name and address;

.The salvage business license number, if applicable;

The date of purchase; and

The motor vehicle or motor vehicle parts identification numbers.

Taxes Assessed on Motor Vehicle Parts

State and local tax is due on the sale of motor vehicle parts. The tax rate for
computing state tax is 4.225% (.04225) of the net price of the part in addition to
any local taxes that are imposed.
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Definitions for
Rebuilt,
Reconstructed,
Specialty
Constructed,
Salvage, Junk,
Motor Change,
Non-USA-Std,
and Kit Motor
Vehicles

A salvage business licensee must have a Missouri Retail Sales Tax License
to sell new or used parts. The licensee must collect the taxes from the
purchaser of the parts.

A salvage business licensee who uses parts from their inventory for their
own use, i.e. rebuilding a motor vehicle, must pay taxes on the purchase
price of the parts unless he or she is also registered as a motor vehicle
dealer.

The definitions below determine how a motor vehicle will be classified,
branded, and titled.

JUNKING VEHICLE - A vehicle which is incapable of operation upon the
highways has no resale value except as a source of parts or scrap, and
shall not be titled or registered. A Missouri Junking Certificate will be
issued.

REBUILT SALVAGE MOTOR VEHICLE - A vehicle which has been issued a
salvage title and repaired or restored to its original appearance and design by
means of repaired sheet metal, replacement of new or used major or essential
parts of the same vehicle make, model or description (these parts may include a
used transmission, engine, fenders, hood, door, trunk lid, bumper, or grille), and
which no more than one major component part has been replaced. An original
Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the brand code “Prior Salvage Motor
Vehicle” printed on the face of the title.

RECONSTRUCTED MOTOR VEHICLE - A motor vehicle which has received
damage is repaired, assembled or reconstructed by means of two or more
new or used major component parts, including but not limited to such major
component parts that have been derived from other motor vehicles, or makes
of motor vehicles. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the
brand code “Reconstructed Motor Vehicle” or “Prior Salvage Motor Vehicle”
printed on the face of the title.

SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED MOTOR VEHICLE - A motor vehicle that was not
originally constructed under a distinctive name, make, model or type by a
manufacturer of motor vehicles. The term “specially constructed motor vehicle”
includes kit vehicles. An original Missouri certificate of title will be issued with
the brand code “Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle” on the title.

MOTOR CHANGE MOTOR VEHICLE - A vehicle manufactured prior to August,
1957, which receives a new, rebuilt or used engine and which used the number
stamped on the original engine as the vehicle identification number. An original
Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the brand code “Motor Change
Vehicle” or “Prior Salvage Motor Vehicle” on the title.

KIT MOTOR VEHICLE - A motor vehicle assembled by a person other than a
generally recognized manufacturer of motor vehicles by the use of a “glider kit”
or “replica” purchased from an authorized manufacturer and accompanied by a
Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin. An original Missouri certificate of title will
be issued with the brand code “Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle” on the title.
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SALVAGE VEHICLE - A motor vehicle, semi-trailer, or house trailer that was
damaged less than seven years from vehicle model year and that the total cost of
repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle to its condition immediately before it was
damaged for legal operation on the roads or highways exceeds eighty percent of the
fair market value of the vehicle immediately preceding the time it was damaged; by
reason of condition or circumstance, has been declared salvage, either by its owner, a
person, firm, corporation, or other legal entity exercising the right of security interest in
it; has been declared salvage by an insurance company as a result of settlement
claim; ownership of which is evidenced by a salvage title; or is abandoned property
which is titled pursuant to Section 304.155, RSMo, or Section 304.157, RSMo, and
designated with the words “salvage/abandoned property”.

The cost of repairs to rebuild or reconstruct the vehicle shall not include the cost of
repairing, replacing, or reinstalling inflatable safety restraints, tires sound systems, or
damage as a result of hail, or any sales tax on parts or materials to rebuild or
reconstruct the vehicle.

NON-USA-STD MOTOR VEHICLE - A motor vehicle not originally manufactured
in compliance with United States’ emissions or safety standards. An original
Missouri certificate of title will be issued with the brand code “Non-USA-Std Motor
Vehicle” on the title.

Title Branding

Section 301.573, RSMo allows, “branding” the certificates of title for certain
motor vehicles. This designation will be on all current and subsequent issues of
the certificate of title.

In accordance with Section 301.190, RSMo the Director of Revenue will
designate on the certificate of title the words “Reconstructed Motor Vehicle,”
“Specially Constructed Motor Vehicle,” “Motor Change Vehicle” "Non-USA-Std
Motor Vehicle,” “Bonded Vehicle,” or “Prior Salvage” as appropriate. Certificates
of title are branded “Prior Salvage” in the following situations:

e [f applying for an original title and the transaction is accompanied by a
Missouri or out-of-state salvage certificate of title and a Vehicle
Examination Certificate (Form-551);

e In the past, the vehicle ownership document was issued as a Missouri
salvage title and now has an original certificate of title;

e The vehicle’s ownership document is an out-of-state title that indicates
the vehicle was “Prior Salvage,” “Damaged,” Rebuilt,” “Rebuilt Salvage,”
“Flood Damaged,” “Fire Damaged,” “Previously Damaged by Collision”
or a similar designation.
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An out-of-state title that was issued in the name or assigned to an insurance
company in settlement claim will also be branded “Prior Salvage” when a
Missouri title is issued. The only exception would be if the vehicle was owned
by an insurance company for business use or if the applicant presents proof
from the insurance company that the vehicle was not salvaged.

Major Component Parts

As part of repair or rebuilding, many vehicles require the use of one or more
major component parts. The major component parts of a motor vehicle are
defined as follows:

e REAR CLIP - The complete rear sheet metal assembly formed by
severing the vehicle across the floor and either through the
windshield post or through the rear window post.

e COWL - Sheet metal formed by severing the vehicle across the floor
in the vicinity of the front seat, severing the wind- shield posts (not
including removing the parts forward of the firewall).

e FRAME - The steel basic structure which runs the entire length of
the vehicle onto which the suspension parts are bolted to the lower
side and the body is bolted to the top side.

e FRONT END ASSEMBLY (FEA) - An entire unit consisting of that
portion of the body from the firewall forward (i.e., hood, fenders,
inner skirt or fenders, radiator, or core support, grille).

e FRONT CLIP - All parts of the front-end assembly plus complete
cowl and may include instrumentation and steering column.
Requires cutting of floor and windshield post.

e BODY - The shell, either of a unibody or frame-type passenger
vehicle, which consists of a one-piece, integrated sheet metal
construction extending from the firewall back. The body includes a
cowl but not a front-end assembly. It may or may not include an
interior, doors and deck lid

e CAB - The passenger compartment of a common truck. Itis a one-
piece sheet metal construction, which may or may not include glass,
instrumentation, steering column and seat.

Section 301.190, RSMo requires that each application for an original Missouri

Vehicle certificate of title for a vehicle which is classified as a prior (rebuilt) salvage,
. . reconstructed, specially constructed, kit, motor change, Non-USA-Std, or

Exam Ination other vehicle as required by the director of revenue must be accompanied by

Cert|f| cate a Vehicle Examination Certificate (Eorm-551).

(FO rm '55 1) The examination must be performed by a uniformed officer, representative

member or a designated employee of the Missouri State Highway Patrol or the
St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit. Contact one of these entities in your
area at least four weeks in advance to schedule the required examination.
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The Department’s Vehicle Examination Certificate must be used to meet the
inspection requirement. The applicant must obtain the Vehicle Examination
Certificate before having the vehicle inspected. The inspection form may be
obtained from a local license office or the applicant may submit a written request
containing name/address and a check or money order made payable to Department
of Revenue in the amount of $27.50 for each Form-551 requested ($25 for the
Form-551 and a $2.50 processing fee) to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, P.O. Box 100,
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0100. The Vehicle Examination Certificate is valid
for six months from the date of inspection.

If a vehicle has a current title issued by another state, but had a previous Missouri
salvage title, the Missouri State Highway Patrol must inspect the vehicle and verify
the vehicle identification number before an original Missouri certificate of title can be
issued. The only exception to this requirement is if the vehicle has been inspected
in another state by a law enforcement officer in a manner comparable to Missouri's
inspection process. If an out-of-state inspection has been completed, the inspection
form must accompany the application for title.

Below are the requirements necessary to obtain a title for the vehicles listed above.

Titling

: e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form-108) completed and signed
Requ”ements by the applicant.
for Reb ul |t, e A Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form-551) with the top portion completed in
full and signed by the owner. BE SPECIFIC WHEN DESCRIBING PARTS
ReCO nstru Cted ) USED. If no changes were made to the vehicle, please state this fact in section
S eCiaIt 9B of the form. The bottom portion must be completed by a representative,
p y authorized/designated employee, or uniformed officer of the Missouri State
Constru Cted : Highway Patrol or the St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit.
h o If the Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form-551) indicates the public
MOtOI‘ C an g e, vehicle identification number of the vehicle is missing, the applicant must
_ _ submit an Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or
Non USA Std ! Verification (Eorm-5062) and an additional $10 fee ($7.50 fee for the
and Kit Motor replacement vehicle identification number, and a $2.50 processing fee).
. THIS APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT,
Vehicles NOTARIZED, AND CERTIFIED BY A MEMBER OF THE MISSOURI
STATE HIGHWAY PATROL OR THE ST LOUIS CITY/COUNTY AUTO
THEFT UNIT.

o If the Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form-551) indicates that either
multiple identification numbers are affixed to the vehicle and the year or
make of the vehicle has changed from what is shown on the certificate of
title, or that no identification number exists, the Department may require
the owner of the vehicle to remove (or have removed) the multiple
numbers, if applicable. The Department will then issue a “DR” number,
which will become the vehicle’s identification number. An additional $10
fee ($7.50 fee for a “DR” number and a $2.50 processing fee) must be
submitted with the transaction.
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e One of the following must be submitted:
o0 A properly assigned Manufacturer’'s Statement of Origin;
o0 A properly assigned original certificate of title; or
o0 A properly assigned salvage title or bill of sale if an original
certificate of title was submitted to the Department’s salvage
unit prior to September 29, 1983.

e The certificate of title must contain a proper odometer disclosure
between the buyer and seller on any vehicle that is less than ten years
old and has a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or less.

NOTE: If the true mileage is unknown, a statement from the seller must be
submitted containing all facts concerning the true mileage of the motor
vehicle and must indicate an estimated mileage. The certificate of title will
issue with a mileage discrepancy brand.

e Notarized bills of sale for the major component parts (defined on page
11-9) used to construct the vehicle which includes:

0 The applicant’'s name;

0 The part's name;

0 Purchase price;

0 The year, make, and vehicle identification
number of the motor vehicle from which
the parts were obtained; and

0 The seller's name

NOTE: The seller’s signature must be notarized

e Copies of the front and back of the certificate(s) of title to the vehicle(s)
from which the major component parts were taken.

e Invoices for essential parts such as bumper, hood, fender, grille, trunk
lid, and doors that are not major component parts. The invoice must
list:

0 The part’'s name;

The purchase price;

The seller's name;

The applicant’s name; and

The amount of taxes collected by the seller.

Oo00O0
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Junking
Certificate

e The applicable fees and tax:

0  $8.50 title fee;

0 Sales/use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle and all
major component parts and other parts used in addition
to any local taxes that are imposed. The seller must
record the purchase price on the bill of sale, title
assignment or invoice, as applicable. If taxes were
collected by the seller, an invoice listing the amount of
taxes that have been paid must be submitted;

0 A $10 replacement vehicle identification number plate fee
($7.50 fee for the replacement vehicle identification
number, and a $2.50 processing fee), if applicable;

NOTE: If a vehicle identification replacement number is needed
refer to the VIN Replacement Plates section on page 11-13.

0 A $10 DR Number fee ($7.50 fee for the re- placement
vehicle identification number, and a $2.50 processing fee), if
applicable; and

0 $2.50 processing fee.

e For “Specially Constructed” vehicles, two photographs of the
vehicle, one showing the front and side view of the vehicle and
the other showing the back and side view of the vehicle.

e An invoice for Glider Kit or Kit Car. (This requirement applies
ONLY to “kit” vehicles.)

Please note that in Missouri motor vehicles are titled by appearance.
Example: If a 1978 Chevrolet body is attached to a 1979 Ford frame, the
vehicle will be titled as a 1978 Chevrolet.

If a vehicle identification replacement number or DR Number is issued to
the vehicle, the Motor Vehicle Bureau will not issue a new certificate of
title on the vehicle until an authorized officer has certified the
replacement VIN plate has been affixed to the vehicle and the officer has
notified the Department.

Whenever a vehicle is sold for parts, scrap or junk, and NOT for rebuilding or
reconstruction, the purchaser may obtain a Junking Certificate. A Junking
Certificate authorizes the holder to possess, transport or by assignment, transfer
ownership of such parts, scrap or junk. A certificate of title will never be issued
again on a vehicle for which a Junking Certificate has been issued unless the initial
purchaser rescinds the application for a Junking Certificate within 90 days and
applies for a salvage title as outlined below.
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VIN
Replacement
Plates

To obtain a Junking Certificate, you must submit the following:

e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) completed
and signed; and

e A properly assigned certificate of title, Junking Certificate, or bill of
sale for a 1954 or older model vehicle; and

e  $2.50 processing fee.

NOTE: There is no title fee or taxes due on a Junking Certificate.

If within 90 days from the date of issuance of the Junking Certificate the initial
purchaser wishes to rescind the certificate, the initial purchaser must apply for
a salvage title by submitting the following requirements:

e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) for a
salvage title completed in full and signed;

e  The Junking Certificate in the applicant’s name;

A properly completed Odometer Disclosure Statement (Eorm-
3019), if applicable;

A bill of sale, if applicable\

State and local sales tax due on the purchase price; and

An $8.50 title fee; and

$2.50 processing fee.

The Department may authorize the issuance of one metal replacement VIN
plate with the original vehicle identification number stamped on it. The plate
will be designed to distinguish the replacement plate from the original plate.
Before the issuance of any such plate, an authorized officer of Missouri
Highway Patrol, St. Louis City/County Auto Theft Unit, Vehicle Examination
Certificate (Form-551) must make a physical inspection of the vehicle to
determine the true and complete vehicle identification number. The inspecting
officer must certify the inspection in the appropriate place on the Application for
Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification (Eorm-5062).

When the replacement VIN plate is issued, the Department will forward a
copy of the Form-5062 to the Missouri State Highway Patrol. The Missouri
State Highway Patrol will make the plate and forward it to the authorized
officer who will contact the vehicle owner.

The authorized officer must attach or supervise the attachment of, the
replacement plate to the vehicle. The officer must make a certification on the
Form-5062 attesting to the attachment of the plate and return the copy to the
Department. No replacement VIN plate, other than one provided by the
Department shall be affixed to any motor vehicle or trailer.
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Salvage
Titling Laws

Requirements
for Obtaining a
Salvage Title

NOTE: The Motor Vehicle Bureau will not issue a new certificate of title on the
vehicle (if applicable) until an authorized officer has certified the replacement VIN
plate has been affixed to the vehicle and the officer has notified the Department.

When applying for a VIN replacement plate, the applicant must submit the
following:
e Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification Number Plate or Verification
(Form-5062) signed by the applicant and notarized;

NOTE: The inspection portion of the Application for Vehicle/Trailer Identification
Number Plate or Verification (Eorm-5062) must be completed and signed by an
authorized officer of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, St. Louis City/County Auto
Theft Unit.

e A copy of the title to the vehicle in the applicant’'s name;

0 A Missouri registered motor vehicle dealer must submit
either a copy of the front of the title in their name or a copy of
the front and back of the title assigned to the dealer.

e A check or money order payable to Department of Revenue in the
amount of $10 ($7.50 VIN replacement plate fee and $2.50
processing fee).

Sections 301.217 and 301.010 RSMo, provide the following definitions
regarding the issuance of salvage certificates of ownership:

e Purchaser - The buyer of a salvage vehicle, including an insurance company
for purposes of Sections 301.217 to 301.229 RSMo.

e Salvage Certificate of Title - The title issued by the Department as proof of
ownership for a salvaged vehicle. It shall not be acceptable for the purpose
of registering a motor vehicle. The salvage title is negotiable with only one
reassignment possible and only by a registered motor vehicle dealer.

e Salvage Motor Vehicle (See Page 11-8)

Below are the requirements necessary for obtaining a salvage title on a motor vehicle:
e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) completed and signed
by the applicant;
e A properly assigned original or salvage title. If the original certificate of title was
submitted to the Department’s salvage file prior to September 28, 1983, a bill of
sale may be submitted as proof of ownership;

NOTE: The certificate of title must contain a proper odometer disclosure between the
buyer and seller on any vehicle that is less than ten years old and has a gross vehicle
weight rating of 16,000 pounds or less.

e The applicable fees and taxes:

0 $8.50 title fee; and
O $2.50 processing fee.
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0 Sales/use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle in addition to any local
taxes, if applicable, that are due. The purchased price must be
documented and recorded by the seller on the title assignment or bill of
sale unless the applicant is tax exempt. Salvage business licensees
(including salvage dealers) are not exempt from sales tax unless they are
also licensed as a motor vehicle dealer.

NOTE: Once a salvage title is issued on a vehicle, an original Missouri certificate
of title will not be issued on the vehicle until after an inspection and all documents
and fees are submitted as outlined on page 11-14 to 11-15. The original title and
all subsequent titles will be branded “Prior Salvage.”

i+l Whenever a motor vehicle is less than seven years old, is sold for salvage,
Tltl In g Sal\_/age dismantling, or rebuilding, it is mandatory that the purchaser apply for a salvage title
Motor Vehicles | within ten days of purchase. On vehicles less than seven years old, the purchaser
has the option of applying for salvage title on the vehicle unless and until the entire
= Wh en salvaged motor vehicle is sold. The purchaser of a salvage motor vehicle is required
; to obtain a salvage title to the vehicle prior to transferring ownership.
Required and

Wh en Optl on al Only a Missouri registered motor vehicle dealer may use the second assignment

(reassignment) of a Missouri salvage title to transfer ownership of a salvaged vehicle
without having to obtain a salvage title in the dealership’s name. If an out-of-state
salvage title is involved, the dealer may ONLY make one assignment if the state’s
title permits such reassignment. A MISSOURI DEALER MAY NOT ATTACH A
REASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIP BY REGISTERED DEALER (DOR-2447A,
Exhibit F (Rider)) TO A MISSOURI OR OUT-OF-STATE SALVAGE TITLE. A
Missouri dealer may purchase a salvage vehicle on an out-of-state rider only if that
state allows a rider to be attached. In this case the dealer must obtain a Missouri
salvage title in the dealership’s name before reselling the vehicle.

Once a salvage title has been issued, the ownership of the vehicle may only be
transferred by assignment of the salvage title. The salvage title may not be used for
licensing the vehicle.

! Parting Out” Parting Out a Motor Vehicle Not Less Than Seven Years Old

a Salvag e A registered salvage business licensee must apply for a salvage title within

. ten days of purchasing a vehicle that is not less than seven years old. After
MOtOI‘ Veh | Cle the salvage business licensee has applied for the salvage title, they may
proceed to “part out” (sell parts separately) the salvage motor vehicle. If the
licensee sells any part that is not a major component part, the licensee must
provide a descriptive bill of sale to the purchaser. If the licensee sells any part
that is a major component part, a copy of the front and back of the salvage
title and a descriptive notarized bill of sale must be given to the purchaser. If
the licensee sells any part that is a major component part and has not
received a salvage title in their name, they must provide the purchaser with a
copy of the front and back of the surrendered title, a copy of the titling receipt,
and a descriptive notarized bill of sale.
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A registered salvage business licensee who is also a registered motor vehicle
dealer, may “part out” a salvage motor vehicle not less than seven years old
without obtaining a salvage title in the dealership’s name, only if a salvage title
has been properly assigned to the dealership. The dealer must provide the
purchaser(s) of major component parts of the vehicle in question with a copy
(front and back) of the assigned salvage title along with a descriptive notarized bill
of sale.

Selling or Parting Out a Motor Vehicle Less Than Seven Years Old

Whenever a motor vehicle less than seven years old has been sold for
salvage, rebuilding, or dismantling, the seller must assign/deliver the existing
original or salvage title to the purchaser. The requirements concerning the
disposition of the title will directly depend upon what the purchaser does with
the motor vehicle.

Selling a Salvaged Motor Vehicle Less Than Seven Years Old

If the purchaser elects to sell the entire motor vehicle a salvage title must first be
obtained.

NOTE: If a salvage title already exists, a motor vehicle dealer may make one
reassignment on the title if there is room for an assignment. A MISSOURI
DEALER MAY NOT ATTACH A REASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIP BY
REGISTERED DEALER (DOR-2447A, Exhibit F (Rider)) TO A MISSOURI OR
OUT-OF-STATE SAL- VAGE TITLE. A Missouri dealer may purchase a salvage
vehicle on an out-of-state rider only if that state allows a rider to be attached. In
this case the dealer must obtain a Missouri salvage title in the dealership’s name
before reselling the vehicle.

Parting out a Salvage Motor Vehicle Less Than Seven Years Old

If the owner dismantles/“parts out” the motor vehicle, he or she must:
e Provide the purchaser with a copy of the front and back of the title for each
major component part removed from the vehicle.
e |ssue a descriptive notarized bill of sale to the purchaser for each of the
major component parts sold.

If the owner destroys the remainder of the motor vehicle, the title must be
surrendered to the Department in accordance with the procedures detailed
on page 11-18.

Salvage Vehicle Twenty-Five Years or Older

Titling Requirements for a Salvaged Motor Vehicle Twenty-Five Years of Age or
Older for which a Title Does Not Exist

The purchaser/owner of a motor vehicle 25 years old or older for which no
certificate of ownership is known to exist, may obtain a Missouri salvage
title for the vehicle by submitting the following:
e An Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) completed and
signed by the applicant;

e A surety bond equal to one and one-half times the purchase price of the
vehicle;
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Transferring

Ownership of a

Salvage Motor
Vehicle

Motor
Vehicles
Destroyed or
Sold for
Destruction

Requirements
for Owners
Who Retain
Their Salvage
Vehicle

e A descriptive bill of sale;
o A statement of fact(s) from the seller as to how he or she came to be in
possession of the salvaged vehicle. In the event there may not be an actual
purchase, e.g., a farm purchase where the vehicle came with the property,
the applicant may provide this statement; however, a statement from the
seller is preferred; and
e The applicable fees and taxes
o0 An $8.50 original title fee. (If a salvage “quick title” is desired, an additional
$5 expeditious handling fee must be included with the title fee.);

0 $2.50 processing fee; and

0 The sales/use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle in addition to any
local taxes, if applicable, that are due

Section 301.210, RSMo requires that at the time of sale of a motor vehicle or trailer, a

properly assigned certificate of title shall pass between the parties. IT IS UNLAWFUL
FOR ANY PERSON/DEALER TO “SKIP” AN ASSIGNMENT OR BE IN POSSESSION
OF AN “OPEN TITLE.” An open title is a title that has the seller’s signature in the title
assignment area but the purchaser’s name is left blank.

Whenever a salvage business licensee sells a motor vehicle for destruction, the
certificate of title must be forwarded to the Department within ten days. The seller must
write on the face of the title certificate “SOLD FOR DESTRUCTION” or “DESTROYED,”
the name(s) of the purchaser(s), and the date the vehicle was sold. Writing “JUNK” on
the face of the title is not acceptable and will be returned.

If the owner destroys the vehicle, the owner must write on the face of the certificate of
title “Destroyed by (name)” and the date the vehicle was destroyed.

These certificates of title must be forwarded to:
Motor Vehicle Bureau

Special Title Unit

PO Box 3325

Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-3325

Missouri law provides that when a vehicle owner retains ownership of a salvaged
vehicle upon payment of a total loss claim, the vehicle owner may obtain a prior
salvage title if the vehicle is still operable by submitting the following to a license
office:
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e Application for Missouri Title and License (Eorm-108) marked “Prior Salvage”;

e Title for the vehicle

o |f the vehicle will be registered, an official safety inspection, less than 60 days
old, or an ID/OD inspection if the vehicle will not be registered at this time (only
applies if the vehicle is operable);

e A copy of the Notice of Vehicle Titling Requirements (Eorm-5043); and

o Atitle fee of $8.50 and a $2.50 processing fee.

The Notice of Vehicle Titling Requirements (Eorm-5043) has been revised to
reflect these new changes to assist insurance companies in notifying claimants of
the titling responsibilities. The form may be printed from the Department’s website
at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/.
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Exhibit A

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE FORM
MOTOR VEHIGLE BUREAU 5086
SECURE POWER OF ATTORMEY [REV. DE-Z013)

A Secure Power of Attorney may only be used with a conforming title if: 1) The purchaser is signing on behalf of the seller on
the first assignment, and the seller is signing on behalf of the purchaser on the second assignment and Part B of the form is
completed, and 2) The conforming titke is a duplicate or the conforming title is being held by the lienholder.

| VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMSER YEAR MAKE

=

] TTLE NUMEER MODEL BOOY STYLE

={ FEDERAL LAW REQUIRES THAT YOU STATE THE MILEAGE UPON TRANSTER OF OWNESSHP. PROVIDING & FALSE STATEMENT MAY RESULT IN FINES ANDVOR IMPRESOMMENT,

= | appoint as my atiomey-in-fact, to apply for a duplicate fitie if needed, and to sign the titie on the
above PURCHASEA'S PRINTED NAME referenced vehicle for the purpose of transferring ownership and fo disciose the mileage on
tne tite for the venicle described above exactly as stated in my following disclosure. | state thaf the odometer now reads as indicated belsow

= and 1o the best of my knowledge that it reflects the actual mileage unless one of the following statements is checxked.

-
COCKMETER READING [ THE MILEAGE STATED IS IN EXCESS OF MECHANICAL LIMITS,

; LS T D THE ODOMETER READING |5 NOT THE ACTUAL MILEAGE.

= REASDHN REOUIRED:
ALL SELLERS MUST SIGH AHD HAND PRINT THEIR HAMES [N | D47 OF STATEMENT

-4 THE SPACE PROVIDED.

=] SELLER'S SIGRATURE SELLERS HAND PRINTED NAME

=] STREET ADDRESE CITY, STATE, Z8* CODE

_:' IF MULTIFLE PURCHASERS ARE INWOLVED, ONLY ONE PURCHASER IS REQUIRED TO SIGH THE FORM AND HAND PRINT HISSHER MAME.
PURCHARER'S SIGNATURE FLURCHASER'S HAND PRINTED RAME
ETREET ADDRESE CITY, STATE, ZIF COOE

PART B— REVIEW TITLE DOCUMENTS

Anytime a Secure Power of Attomey is used, the Missoun punchasing dealer must either 1) Apply fior fitie in the dealership's name, submitting the Secure Power of Afiomey
with their appiication for tife; or 2) Ghe the subsequent purchaser a copy of the Secure Power of ARomey which must then accompany the cerfiicate of f9e. By submitting
the poweer of afomey fomn along with 2 copy of the front and badk of the comesponding Certificate of Title and the deslers monthly Sakes reports. he dealer may avoid retiding
the vehice) If he dealer's manthiy sales repors are filed electronically, the power of afiomey forms and file copies miust be subrnitied o the: Motor Vehide Bureau by the
fifieenth dary of the monin folowing the morth in which e sales oocumed. i you have any guestions, please cail the Molor Vehice Bureau at (S573) 526-3863.

To be completed only when the dealership is selling the vehicle before he tile is received.
Federal and 5iae |2Ws reguine you ¥ siate the mieage upan transier of ownership. Failure 1o conpiete of providing a faise sialement may result in fines andior imprischrent

1 , ampaint as my atiorney-in-fagt, to sign the mieage
T FIRCHEERT PARTEDTENE ELETAPS SR s

disensure on the i3e for the vehicle deseribed above anly i the diselosure is exacly as the disciosure complieted below.

PURCHASER'S SIGNATUARE (NEN BUYER) DATE PURCHESER'S HAKD PRINTED NAME |HEW BUYER)

PURCHASER'S STREET ADDRESS [HEW BUYER) PURCHASER'S CITY, STATE_ Z1F CODE [NEW ELYER)

| siale thal the coomeler reads [na 1entts) miles and, 1o he
DEALERSHIFS PAINTED MAKE AS SHOWH M PART A BETNE

best of my knowledge. that it refieets the actual mileage uniess one of e following sizlements is checked
I mileage sialed is in exeess of its echanieal limits. Oz me odorveler reading is MOT e aciual nileage — WARNBNG Ddameler Discrepaney

SELLER'S JOEALEASHIF'S KEENT) SIGRATURE OATE SELLER'S J0EALEASHIF'S KGENT) HAND PRINTED NAME AS SHOWHN N PFART A ABOVE

SELLER'S JOEALEASHIF"S] STAEET ADDAESS SELLER'S JDEALEASHIF'S| CITY_ STATE, ZIF CODE

CERTIFIGATION [To be compieted DMLY after Part & and Part B have been compiesed.)

1, - _ _ , hesety ceriiy that the mikeage | have distiosed on the tile document i eorsisient

with that provided %o me in the above power of aSomey. Furiner, upon examinafion of the fle and any reassignment documents for the vehicle described above, the
mileage diseiosure | have made on he fifle purssant to e power of atiomesy is greater than hat previously stated on e 1ile and reassignment documents. This cerifieation is not
iniended 1o create, nor does it create any nesw or addifional iability under Federal or State Law.

BIGNATURE OF PEREON IN PART C EXERCISING POWER OF ATTORANEY | DEALERSHIPE ETREET ADDREES DEALERSHIFE CITY, ETATE AP CODE

WEB SITE ADDRESS: hitpoiidor. mo.gos)
THE ORIGINAL SECURE DOCUMENT MUST BE SUBMITTED.

It is recommended that you retain a copy for your records.

DOR-S08S {05-2012)




Exhibit B

Bond number:

KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENT, that I/we

(Dealership Name)

as Principal, and , a corporation organized and
(Bonding Company)

existing under the laws of the State of , and having its principal

place of business at , as Surety, are held and firmly

bound unto the State of Missouri, for the benefit of all aggrieved parties in the penal sum of Twenty-Five
Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) per license year for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind
ourselves, firmly by these presents.

WHEREAS the Principal has applied for the issuance of a Motor Vehicle and/or Boat Dealer’s license
and presents this bond in accordance with Missouri statute(s).

NOW, THEREFORE, if during the period(s) covered by this bond, the aforesaid Principal shall faithfully
comply with the provisions of Missouri statutes applicable to new motor vehicle franchised dealers, used motor
vehicle dealers, recreational dealers, trailer dealers, power sport dealers, wholesale motor vehicle dealers, and
boat dealers, and shall indemnify for any loss sustained by reason of the acts of Principal when such acts
constitute grounds for suspension or revocation of the Principal’s license, this obligation shall be null and void.
Otherwise this obligation shall remain in full force and effect subject to the following conditions:

The proceeds of this bond shall be paid upon receipt by the Missouri Department of Revenue of a final
judgment from a Missouri court of competent jurisdiction against the Principal and in favor of an aggrieved
party.

The aggregate liability of the Surety to all persons shall, in no event, exceed the amount of this bond
during any one license year.

The bond shall be effective , and shall expire
. (Bond can be listed as “non-expiring” or must list an expiration date through the

end of the calendar year).

This bond may be canceled by the Surety giving written notice to the Principal and Missouri Department
of Revenue, stating the date of cancellation, which in no event shall be less than thirty (30) days after receipt of
said notice by the Director of Revenue; however, the Surety shall remain liable for any and all acts of the
Principal covered by this bond up to the date of cancellation.

Dated this day of ,

PRINCIPAL’S SIGNATURE WITNESS

Signature of Principal/Dealer (Seal) Signature of Witness

Title

SURETY'’S SIGNATURE WITNESS

Signature of Surety (Seal) Signature of Witness

Title




Exhibit C

MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAL FORM OFFICE VALIDATION CONTROL NUMEER
PO BO¥ 100, JEFFERSOM CITY MO 6510540100
(573) 526-3660 www.dor.mo.gowmvdl ?QB

BOAT/VESSEL OR OUTBOARD MOTOR
AFFIDAVIT OF OWNERSHIP AND INSPECTION | (F&¥ 5208
SUBMIT THIS FORM DIRECTLY TO THE MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU, PO BOX 2078,

JEFFERSON CITY, MD 65105-0100. READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BACK OF THIS
FORM. ALL APPROPRIATE BLOCKS ON THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED OR IT WILL BE

REJECTED.
PURCHAEER/TWMER PHONE MUMBER EELLER'E MAME |IF APPLICABLE) FHOME HUMEER
| e g — P —
ADDAEES ADDFEES
CITY ETATE TIF CODE CITY ETATE | @F CODE
YEAR | MAKE HIN VIO BRI WEHICLE IDENTIF ICATI M MO, MODEL PURCHASE PRICEETAL VALLE | DATE FURGHASELMAGOURED
i .'

OME OF THE FOLLOWING MUST BE COMPLETED.
1) A AEPLACEMENT IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IS NEEDED FOR THE FoLLownc v [l vesser [ oumscasomororn [ vesser tranen
THE OAIGINAL IDENTIFICATION NUMEER WaS [ | LosT [ stoemoa [ DESTROYEDMUTILATED (Sae A on back ol form).
7 AMNEW IDENTIFICATION NUMBER IS NEEDED FOR THE FOLLOWING UNIT: [ ] VESSEL - HOMEMADE (Moz) [ VESSEL - MANURACTURED (MOZA)
0 oumsoaso motor - Homemene [ cutsosrD momon - manusacTuRED [ MAMUFACTURED VESSEL TRAILER [S2 B on hack of fanmy.
3 THIS UNIT HAS NOT BEEN TITLED OR REGISTEAED BECALISE:
[ THE UNIT WAS OFERATED OM FRIVATE WATERS OMLY,
[ THE UNIT WAS HOMEMADE.

I:l | HAVE RO TITLE, REGISTRATION, OR BILL OF SALE FOR THIZ UNIT. THE CIRCUMSTANCES SURRDUNDING MY ACCUISITION OF THES UNIT ARE LISTED BELOW. IF
THE LINIT WAS ABAMDOMNED ON REAL ESTATE OWNED OR PURCHASED BY YOU, INCLUDE THE LOCATION (ADDAESS, CITY, STATE) OF THE UNIT AND THE NUMEER
OF ANY DECAL THAT WAS ATTACHED TO THE UNIT.

[ATTACH ADDITIOMAL SHEET IF NECESSAAY)

4y [ omHER (SUCH AS TITLE CORRECTIONVERIFICATION]
{Sae C on back of form).

EIGHATURE OF OWHER (RECANRED)
I'CEATFY THAT THE FACTE STATED HEREIN ARE TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KMOWLEDQE L

NOTARY INFORMATION - REQUIRED ONLY WHEN OBTAINING A REPLACEMENT IDENTIFICATION NUMEER

AFFD{ SEAL IN THIE BN EWORM TO AND SUBSCABED BEFORE ME THIS

Dy OF

MY COMMISEION EXPIREE HOTARY PUELIC EXGNATURE

INSPECTION VERIFICATION - LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY/AGENT (SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR CODES)

CHECK ONLY OMNE: D VESSEL/BOAT - HOMEMADE D VESSEL/BOAT - MANUFACTURED D QUTBOARD MOTOR - HOMEMADE I:I CORRECTED TITLE
D OUTBOARD MOTOR - MANUFACTURED D HOMEMADE VESSEL TRAILER (lor replacement DRXE only) D MANUFACTURED VESSEL THAILER

HENWINOEM [IF O PUBLIC MUMBER, RECORD CONFIDENTIAL NUMBER) YEAR MAKE MODEL NUNBER HLP.

HEWINDEM NEEDED

I:l NO NUMEER MEEDED I:l IZEUE NEW NUMBER I:l EEEUE REPLACEMENT NUMEER
COLOR LEMNGTH WUATERIAL TYPE OF PROPULEION | BOAT TYPE MO, NUMBER REGIETAATION DECAL HUMEER EEFAL EXR
COMDITION OF LiNIT [ runmme conomion O mmion oamaze [ sawvaczen
AEMARKS:

LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATION (CHECK ONE BLOCK AND SIGN)
| CEATIFY THAT | HAVE PHYSICALLY INSPECTED THE VESSELAOUTEOARD MOTORTRAILER DESCRIBED ABOVE. NCIC AND MULES CHECHS OF PEATINENT SERIAL NUMBERED
PARTS OF NI IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS CAME BACK AS NOT STOLEN, AND THE INFORMATION ABOVE 1S TRUE AND CORRECT T THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.

Li¥ ENFORCEMENT AOENCY FILE MO EXAMINING OFFICERE SIGMATURE BADGE MO, DATE IMSPECTED
| CEATIFY THAT ON | DID AFFIX THE AEPLACEMENT PLATE, CONTROL NUMBER _____ = [ISSUED BY THE
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE TO THE ABOVE WATERCRAFT, VESSEL TRAILER, ANDVOR OUTBOARD MOTOR.

Lew ENFORCEMENT AOENCY FILE MO EXAMINING OFFICERE SIGMATURE BADGE MO, DATE AFFINED

MO BE0-0302 |5-2008) DISTRIBUTION: WHITE, CANARY, FIMK - DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; GOLDENROD - INSFECTING LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY



Exhibit D

oy MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Q i- MOTOR VEHICLE BUREALU

BOAT/VESSEL REGISTRATION NUMBER — PLEASURE

YOUR ASSIGNED REGISTRATION MUMBER 1S S

VALIDATION

OWNER'S NAME {LAST) {FIRST) [MIDDLE)
ADDRESS, RFD OR RO, BOX NUMBER COUNTY

cITY STATE ZIF CODE

YEAR MAKE HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMEER MODEL NUMBER

ISSUING OFFICE NAME

NAME OF AGENT OR EMPLOYEE ISSUING IDENTIFICATION MUMBER

The registration number assigned to a boat/vessel shall be attached to each side of the forward
half of the boatvessel in such position as to provide clear legibility. Black or dark numbers should
be used on light hulls, and white or light numbers should be used on dark colored hulls, providing
a sharp contrast.

The reqistration numbers shall read from left to right, and shall be in block characters of good
proportions, not less than 3 inchas in height. The numbers must be divided into parts. The letters,
prefix and suffix, shall be separated from the numbers by 2 inch spaces. A hyphen may be used
within the 2 inch space.

Mo number other than the registration number awarded to a boat/vessel or granted reciprocity
shall be painted, attached, or otherwise displayed on either side of the bow of the boat/vessel.

2 IMCH SPACE

+
MO 1234 AF } ;f;;‘::;

OR
MO-1234-AF

MO BED-0516 (02-2010) DOR-2691-1 (02-2010)
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Exhibit E

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT ©F REVEMUE

MOTOR VEHIGLE BUREAL FoaM =
APPLICATION FOR VEHICLE/TRAILER IDENTIFICATION 5062
NUMBER PLATE OR VERIFICATION RV, ca2012)
SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE
INSTRUCTIONS: VALIOATION DMLY

Step 1: Applicant must complete and sign Section A.
Step 2: I a replacement vehicle identification number (VIM) is required,
Section B must be notarized by a notary public.

Step 3: Submit your motor vehicle/trailer and this form to authorized law
enforcement as designated on the reverse side of this form.

Step 4: Submit the completed form to the Depariment of Revenue as — -
noted on the reverse side of this form. Diffice Lise Oniy — New |

SECTION A — APPLICANT
PURFOSE OF MEPECTION (Check snel: || TITLE CORRECTION OR VEHICGLE VN VERIFIGATION ] NEw IDENTFICATION NUMSER PLATE

REPLACEMENT IDEMTIFICATION NUMEER PLATE r‘ TRAILER WITH A SALVASE TITLE
LINIT: (C¥eck anel r WOTOR VEHICLE r‘ MANUFACTURED TRALLER |._| HOMEMADE TRAILER {16 FEET OF MORE)
REGIETERED OMWMER {LAST FIRST WIDDLE] DEALER NUMEER COUNTY OAYTIME TELEPHONE MUMEER

ESTREET. AR, OR P.O. 80X HUMEER

MOTOR VEHICLE/TRAILER

VEHICLE IDEMTIFICATION MUMBER WEEEDURI TITLE MUMBER LICEHEE NUMEER

e

APPLICANT COMPLETES

COMPLETE THE INFORMATION BELDW IF AFPLYRG FOR A REPLACEMENT VIN — APRLICATION MUST ALED BE NOTARIZED
LDEE OF VIN. FLATE REPDATED TO | pate REASON REQUIRED
/ LosT [stoLen [mumitaten [ DESTROYED
| certify that the statements above are frue and that | am the registered | AFTHIGANT S SIGNATURE
owner of the above descrbed unit SIGNATURE =i

SECTION B — NOTARY PUBLIC

KOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSEER DR ETATE
BLACH, INK RUBEER STAMP EEAL

COUNTY (DR CITY OF ET. LOUIE)

EUBECRIBED AND SWORM BEFORE ME, THIZ

DY OF YEAR USE RUBEER STAMP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.
NOTARY PUBLIC SIGMATURE MY COMMISEION
EXPIRES

HOTARY PUBLIC MAME (TYPED DR PRINTED

SECTION C — FOR AUTHORIZED LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY USE ONLY — DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE
certify that on _ | physicaly inspecied e above described vehicietmiler after fwe applicant | CYUNDERE

prowiced satisfactory proof of ownership and found e dentification number(s) as recorded below.
YE&R

MAME BOOY ETYLE MI_ELGE I ENGINE VIN (FOR MODE. YEARS PFRIOA T 1957)

O The 'n:l"q plate listed Delow must be S-JI'I'ET‘ITE'J
at the time a new neplacement nUmDer s issued.

|_ REPLACEMENT VIN REQUIRED |_ MNEW VIN REDUIRED — F A TRAILEFC UMIT 15 |_ HOMEMADE MORE THAN 16 FEET r WMARLFACTURED TRALER
l__ HD HEWYREFLAGEMENT ViM REDUIRED T¥PE OF TRAILER . NO OF AXLES . LENGTH

COMDITION OF UIMIT: .-] WRECHED .J BALVAGED .J RUNNING I_. REBUILT L. WMOTOR CHANGE L. OTHER

L& ENFORCEMENT AGENCY FILE NUMBER EXAMNING OFFICERE EIGNATURE TELEPHONE NUMIBER EADGE NOU

TD BE COMPLETED BY AUTHORIZED LAYW ENFORCEMENT WHEN A DR NUMEER OR REPLACEMENT VIN PLATE IS AFFIXED.

certify that on | did affix the mew/replacernent VIM plate, control number issued by the Department
of Revenue to the above vehicie.

The outstanding WIN piate listed above has been sumendered and forwarded to the Missoun State Highway Patrol, Auto Theft Unit.
LAY ENFORCEMENT AOENCY LA ENFORCEMENT OFFICER & SIGHATURE EADGE NOL

WD 850-3065 (DE-2012) DISTRIBUTION: WHITE — DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE: CAMARY — INSPECTING LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY



Exhibit

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

MOTOR VEHICLE BUREAU FGRM MUST BE
REASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIP | 2447 PRINTED
BY REGISTERED DEALER mev.oez01y | LEGIBLY

This Reassignment by a Registered Dealer (rider) (DOR-2447) may be used only by a registered Missouri
dealer when making an assignment of ownership on a manufacturer’s statement of origin or certificate of
title. Only one of these forms may be used and must be securely attached to the accompanying Manufacturer's
Statement of Origin or Certificate of Title. Forms may be obtained from the Moior Vehicle Bureau at 301 West
High Street. P.O. Box 43, Jefferson City, Missouri 65105,

WARNING: ALTERATIONS OR ERASURES WILL VOID THIS REASSIGNMENT OF OWNERSHIF BY A
REGISTERED DEALER.

INSTRUCTIONS TO SELLER: Compleie ALL spaces below except the blocks for the signaiure and printed
names of the purchaser. Complete the mileage block as of the date of sale or transfer. Sign and hand print your
name as seller only after the purchaser has signed and hand printed their name. Also record your position with the:
dealership. You state under penalty of perjury that the total purchase price represents the true amount collected
for the sale of this vehicle.

INSTRUCTIONS TO PURCHASER: You must sign and hand print your name in the area provided.

LIENHOLDERS: Becording your ien below does not perfect your lien. See hitpcfdor mo govimvdimotorsliendeal/
for hen perfection requirements.

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMEER YEAR MAKE

TITLENUMEER: MODEL BODY STYLE

I"'We hereby assign and warrant the Manufacturers Statement of Origin or Certificate of Title of
the vehicle descrbed on the face of the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or Certificate of Title to
which this form is attached and |/'we certify the accuracy of the sale price and mileage as specified
below subject to the following lien or encumbrance, if any.

PURCHASER{S) NAME (PRINTED OR TYPED) SALE PRICE BY SELLER
ADDRESS TRADE-IN AMOUNT
DATE OF SALE NET PRICGE

s Al I i) 5

DODOMETER READIMNG | state that the ooomeler now rneads the

D MILEAGE IM EXCESS OF ITS MECHANICAL

(MO TENTHS) afprementoned miles and o the Dest of my LIMITS

knowledge that it refiects the actual mileage of the
vehicle described herein, uniess one of the following || MILEAGE READING NOT ACTUAL
statements is checked. (WARMING: DDOMETER DISCREPANCY)

SIGNATURE OF PURGHASER|S) SIGMATURE OF SELLER(S)

HAMND PRIMNTED MAME(S) BY PURGHASER (AGENT/POSITION) HAND PRINTED MAME(S) BY SELLER(Z) (AGENT/POSITION)

DEALER NUMBER, IF APPLICABLE DEALER NUMBER
LIENHOLDER{S) NAME [PRINTED DR TYPED) DATE OF LIEMN

iy Ve WL A
ADDRESS

THE QRIGINAL SECGURE DOCUMENT MUST BE ATTACHED TO THE

MANUFACTURER'S STATEMENT OF ORIGIN OR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE,
You must retain a photocopy for your records.

DOR-2447 (D9-2011)
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Exhibit G

MISS0OUHI DEFAHTMEN | OF HEVENUE

MOTOR VEHICLE BUREALU FORM
PO BOX 2078, JEFFERSON CITY MO 85105-2078 1 31 9
(573) 526-3669 www.dor.mo.govimvdl

RETURNTITLE SLIP (REV. 10-2009)

TITLE NUMBER — FOR OFFICE USE OMLY

CHECK ONE MOTOR VEHICLE MARINE

COMPLETE ONE FOR EACH APPLICATION

DATE TELEPHONE NUMEER

TITLE APPLICANT'S NAME

YEAR MAKE

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMEER (COMPLETE VIN REQUIRED)

TITLE WILL BE

PICKED UP MAILED BY REGULAR MAIL
MAILED BY QVERNIGHT SERVICE:
ACCOUNT NUMBER:

MAIL TITLETO

MAME

STREET ADDRESS, A.R., OR PO. BOX (IF USING OVERNIGHT SERVICE, STREET ADDRESS REQUIRED)

CITY STATE AP CODE

RETURNTITLE TO — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
MAME

SECTION

SUPERVISOR'S APPROVAL

COMMENTS — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

E-7



Exhibit H

Marine Makes

Make Code Make Code
4AWINNS AWINN KING FISH KINGF
AFC AFC LANDAU LANDA
ALOHA ALOHA LARSON LARSO
ALUMCRAFT ALUMA LONE STAR LONES
ARISTOCRAT ARIST LOWELINE LOWEL
ARK RAMBLER ARKRA LSM LSM
ARK TRAVELER ARKTR LUND LUND
BANSHEE BANSH MARK MARK
BARETTA BARET MARK TWAIN MARKT
BARR BARR MASTER C MASTER
BASS TRACKER BASST MAY YACHT MAYYA
BAYLINER BAYLI MFG MFG
BEE CRAFT BEECR MONARK MONAR
BES BES NATIONAL NATIO
BIG JON BIGJO NEW WAVE NEWWA
BLU STAR BLUST NEWMAN NEWMA
BURNSCRAFT BURNS OSAGIN OSAGI
CHARGER CHARG P14 P14
CHRIS CRAFT CHRIS PLAYBOUY PLAYB
CHRYLSER CHRYS PLAZA PLAZA
CLASSIC CLASS POLAR CRAFT POLAR
COBALT COBAL PORT STAR PORTS
COM-PAC COMPA PRO ANGLER PROAN
DEHI DEHI PROCRAFT PROCR
DINGHY DINGH QUACHITA QUACH
DISCOVERY DISCO RANGER RANGE
DOW DOW RED FISH REDFI
DRAKE DRAKE REINELL REINE
DURACRAFT DURAC RICHLINE RICHL
EBKO EBKO SEA ARROW SEAAR
ELDO CRAFT ELDO SEA EAGLE SEAEA
ELGIN ELGIN SEA HAWK SEAHA
ELITE ELITE SEA KING SEAKI
FISCHER FISCH SEA NYMPH SEANY
FLOTE BOAT FLOTE SEA RAY SEARA
GEN-MARI GENMA SEA SPRITE SEASP
GLASTRON GLAST SEA STAR SEAST
GRUMMAN GRUMM SEARS SEARS
HYDRO STAR HYDRO SIGNA SIGNA
IMP IMP SKEETER SKEET
K CRAFT KCRAF SKI NOUTIQUE SKINO
KEN CRAFT KENCR SPEEDLIN SPEED

E-8 (Continued on next page)



Make
SPORTCRAFT
ST MARQUES
STAR CRAFT
STEURY
SUCCESS
SUNBIRD
SUN DOLPHIN
SUNFISH

SUN TRACKER
T BIRD

TAHITI
TERRY
TEXAS

THUNDERCRAFT

TOM SAWYER
TRISONIC
TRI-HULL
TRI-TOOM
VIKING

VIO HOLDA
VIP

WARDS
WEERE
WOLVERTINE
Z BOAT

Type of Material
ALUMINUM
CONCRETE
FIBERGLASS
HYPAL

KEVLAR
PLASTIC
RUBBER
STEEL

WOQOD

Exhibit H gcont.)

Marine Makes/Material/Color/Vessel/Propulsion Codes

Code
SPORT
STMAR
STARC
STEUR
SUCCE
SUNBI
SUNDO
SUNFI
SUNTR
TBIRD
TAHIT
TERRY
TEXAS
THUND
TOMSA
TRISO
TRIHU
TRITO
VIKIN
VIOHO
VIP
WARDS
WEERE
WOLVE
ZBOAT

Code
ALUM
CONCR
FGLAS
HYPAL
KEVLA
PLAS
RUBBR
STEEL
WOOD

E-9

Color Code
BEIGE BGE
BLACK BLK
BLUE BLU
BROWN BRO
BRONZE BRZ
CAMOFLAUGE CAM
CHROME COM
CREAM (IVORY) CRM
DARK BLUE DBL
DARK GREEN DGR
GOLD GLD
GREEN GRN
GRAY GRY
LAVENDER LAV
LIGHT BLUE LBL
LIGHT GREEN LGR
MAROON MAR
ORANGE ORG
PURPLE PLE
PINK PNK
RED RED
SILVER SIL
TAN TAN
TURQUOISE TRQ
WHITE WHI
YELLOW YEL
Type of Propulsion Code
INBOARD/OUTBOARD I/O
INBOARD INB
MANUAL MAN
OUTBOARD ouT
SAIL/INBOARDAUXILIARY S/l

SAIL/OUTBOARDAUXILIARY  S/O

SAIL

SAIL

(Continued on next page)



Exhibit H

Marine Types of Vessels

Type of Vessel Code
AIRBOAT AIR
BARGE BRG
BASS BOAT BAS
CANOE CAN
COMMERCIAL COM
CRUISER CRU
DAYCRUISER DAY
DECK BOAT DEC
DRAG or PERFORMANCE BOAT DRG
HOVERCRAFT HOV
HYDROPLANE HRO
HOUSEBOAT HSE
HYDROFOIL HYD
JET SKI JET
OFFICIAL OFF
PONTOON PON
INFLATABLE BOAT RAF
RUNABOUT RUN
SAILBOAT SAL
SURF JET SUR
UTILITY UTL
WET BIKE WET
YACHT YAT
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