
 

TITLE 12 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

Division 10 - Director of Revenue 

Chapter 23 – Motor Vehicle 

 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

 

12 CSR 10-23.500 Optional Second Plate for Commercial Motor Vehicles.  The department is 

amending the purpose and deleting section (1) and renumbering as necessary.  

PURPOSE:  This amendment establishes the cost of the optional second license plate for a 

commercial motor vehicle. 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes how the Department of Revenue [will distinguish the optional 

second license plate for commercial motor vehicles and] sets the fee authorized by section 

301.130, RSMo [Supp. 2013].  

[(1) When a person registers a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle licensed in excess of 

twelve thousand (12,000) pounds and requests two (2) license plates, the director of revenue 

shall issue a second plate to be attached to the rear of the vehicle. The rear plate shall contain a 

sticker in the upper right corner to distinguish the difference between the front and rear plate 

and to alert law enforcement that the owner is required to have two (2) license plates.] 

[(2)] (1) The fee for the optional second license plate for a commercial motor vehicle is eight 

dollars and fifty cents ($8.50).  

AUTHORITY: section 301.130, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2024.* Emergency rule filed Aug. 19, 2013, 

effective Aug. 29, 2013, expired Feb. 27, 2014. Original rule filed Aug. 19, 2013, effective Feb. 

28, 2014. Filed June X, 2025. Amended: Filed Aug. 18, 2025. 

*Original authority: 301.130, RSMo 1939, amended 1947, 1949, 1951, 1969, 1977, 1981, 1983, 

1986, 1987, 1993, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2013. 

Public Cost: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions 

more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

Private Cost: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five hundred 

dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition 

to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Department of Revenue, Legislative Office, 301 

West High Street, Room 218, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments must 

be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No 

public hearing is scheduled. 


