About the Missouri Department of Revenue

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Revenue is to facilitate the proper functioning of state and local government by accurately and efficiently collecting and distributing state and local revenues, and to support public safety by effectively administering the laws related to motor vehicle sale and registration, and driver licensing. The Department accomplishes this mission by following the law; fostering innovation in its operations; developing cooperative relationships with other public and private entities; clearly communicating with the public; and treating everyone fairly and with respect.


The Missouri Department of Revenue was created in 1945 by the Missouri Constitution to serve as the central collection agency for all state revenue. The primary duties of the Department are to collect taxes, title and register motor vehicles, and license drivers.

In 2009, the Department began the process of offering for bid all license offices, eliminating the era of license office patronage in Missouri. The Department also improved the functionality of the online vehicle registration system.

The Department of Revenue consists of four divisions and the director’s office.

Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division

The Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division administers Missouri’s laws that relate to titling and registration of motor vehicles, trailers, all-terrain vehicles, manufactured homes, and marine craft, and licensing drivers. This division consists of three bureaus.

Taxation Division

The Taxation Division administers Missouri’s tax laws. It processes and administers forms and reports for the collection of revenue due the state and local taxing jurisdictions. This division has four bureaus.

Administration Division

The Administration Division provides administrative support to all other areas of the Department. This division includes two bureaus:

Legal Services Division

The Legal Services Division ensures the Department’s compliance with law and internal policies.

Director’s Office

The Director’s Office includes the director, deputy director, and key administrative staff responsible for the overall guidance and direction of the Department.