Driver Licensing Law Changes (2008)
NOTE: The information presented below is for historical purposes only, and may be out of date.
Effective August 28, 2008 - Senate Bills 930 & 947
School Bus Endorsements
- Applicants age 70 and over renewing a CDL or Class E license with an “S” endorsement will have the license and skills test fees waived (the $2.50 office processing fee will still apply).
- The driver must still submit proof of completion of a school bus skills test at the time of renewal.
- Defines “utility vehicle” as “any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-highway use which is sixty-three inches or less in width, with an unladen dry weight of 1,850 pounds or less, traveling on four or six wheels, to be used primarily for landscaping, lawn care, or maintenance purposes.”
- Provides that utility vehicles cannot be operated upon the highways of this state unless they are:
- Owned and operated by governmental entity for official use,
- Operated for agricultural or industrial on-premise purposes, or
- Operated by handicapped person for short distances on secondary roads.
- The operator must have a valid driver license, but does not have to be motorcycle qualified.
- Allows cities to issues special permits for utility vehicles to be used on county roads within the county to licensed drivers for a fee of $15. The fee is to be kept by such county.
- States that the seller is responsible for collecting and remitting all applicable state and local tax on new utility vehicles.
- Utility vehicle owners may qualify for a “farm use” tax exemption.
Instate Failure to Appear Suspensions
- Requires that upon compliance and applicable reinstatement fees, “Instate Failure to Appear Suspensions” be removed from a driver’s record.
Effective August 28, 2008 - Senate Bill 1139
First Person Consent/Organ and Tissue Donor Registry
- The Missouri Organ and Tissue Donor Registry is now a first person consent registry, making the applicant’s decision final and family consent no longer required.
- If the applicant responds “Yes” giving his/her consent, the license verification sheet will include a new affidavit statement for the applicant to review and certify to when signing the verification sheet.
- Upon printing, the permit, driver or nondriver license will include a new symbol (red heart with green banner and the word DONOR above the heart) in the bottom-left corner of the license. It will post to the bottom-right corner for those less than 21 years of age.
You can obtain additional information from the Missouri Organ and Tissue Donor website.
Effective August 28, 2008 - House Bill 1549
CDL Written Test
- Requires that the commercial driver license written test must only be administered in English, and that translators will not be allowed for applicants taking the test.