Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products


What are the requirements to obtain a Missouri cigarette tax and other tobacco products license?

A completed application, surety, cash bond, or letter of credit and $100 license fee must be submitted.

back to top


How long does it take to process my application?

Approximately one week to 10 days if the application is properly completed.

back to top


How can I find a list of certified tobacco manufacturers authorized to sell cigarette and roll-your-own brands in the State of Missouri?

The Department of Revenue maintains a Tobacco Directory. This directory includes tobacco manufacturers certified to sell cigarette and roll-your-own brands in the State of Missouri.

back to top


I submitted a cigarette tax decal order. When will I receive the decals?

Orders received in the morning are shipped the same day via UPS. Orders received in the afternoon are shipped the next day. Wholesalers may request decals to be shipped by express mail, next day air, etc., if they furnish their shipping account number.

back to top


I wish to sell cigars in Missouri, do I need to be licensed?

Yes, if you are a wholesaler. You are also required to be licensed if you are a retailer and purchase from unlicensed out-of-state suppliers.

back to top


Once I become a licensed wholesaler, where can I purchase cigarettes?

You may purchase un-stamped products from the manufacturer or a licensed first importer.

back to top


How much is the cigarette tax in Missouri?

The state portion is $.17 per pack of 20 or $.2125 per pack of 25.

back to top


What is considered other tobacco products?

Other tobacco products include: cigarette papers, cigars, smokeless tobacco, smoking tobacco, other forms of tobacco products, or products made with tobacco substitute containing nicotine.

back to top


How much is the tax on other tobacco products?

Other tobacco products are taxed at a rate of 10 percent of the manufacturer's invoice price before discounts and deals.

back to top


If I purchase cigarettes or other tobacco products from the Internet, are the taxes still due?

Yes, you would be required to report your purchases to the department and pay applicable cigarette or other tobacco product tax and state and local sales/use taxes.

back to top


Is sales tax applicable on cigarettes and other tobacco products?

Cigarettes:

The retail sale of cigarettes is subject to Missouri sales tax. However, sales tax does not apply to that portion of the price charged for cigarettes that represents the Missouri cigarette tax, because the state cigarette tax is imposed on the consumer and therefore is not part of the seller's gross receipts. In addition sales tax does not apply to that portion of the price which represents the St. Louis County or Jackson County cigarette tax, because these two taxes are administered under the same statutes as the state cigarette tax.

Sales tax does apply to the portion of the retail price charged for cigarettes that represents the federal cigarette tax, even if it is stated separately to the consumer. The federal tax is not imposed on the ultimate purchaser but rather on the manufacturer, and therefore is part of the seller's gross receipts upon which sales tax applies.

Sales tax also applies to city business license taxes imposed on businesses selling cigarettes. The city business taxes are not directly imposed on consumers, they are a cost of doing business and are subject to sales tax, even if they are separately stated to the consumer.

Other Tobacco Products:

Sales tax applies to the entire sales price charged for other tobacco products including the federal tax and the Missouri other tobacco tax portion of the price.

back to top


If you still have questions, please check out other Business Tax FAQs.


Can't find an answer to your question(s)? Email us! We look forward to hearing from you!