Pursuant to section 306.127, RSMo, every person born after January 1, 1984, operating a vessel on the lakes of the state shall carry a valid photo identification document and the Boating Safety Education Card issued by the Missouri State Water Patrol. The Missouri State Water Patrol will also accept a driver license or nondriver license with the Boater Identification indicator in lieu of carrying a photo ID and the Boating Safety Education Card.

Any resident of Missouri who possesses a valid Boating Safety Education Card issued by the Missouri State Water Patrol may apply for a Boater Identification indicator on a driver license or nondriver license. The indicator is placed on the back of the driver or nondriver license. The issuance of a boater identification indicator on a driver license or nondriver license is optional.

Applicants may apply for the Boater Identification indicator at their local license office by presenting the following:

  • Proof of name, date of birth, place of birth, residence address and social security number as applicable. Check here for a list of acceptable documents.
  • A valid “Missouri State Water Patrol Boating Safety Education Card” as proof of successful completion of a boating safety course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and certified by the Missouri State Water Patrol.
  • Applicable driver license or nondriver license document and processing fees and $1.00 to add the Boater Identification indicator.

Every person born after January 1, 1984, or as required pursuant to section 306.128, RSMo, who operates a vessel on the lakes of this state shall possess, on the vessel, a Boating Safety Education Card issued by the Missouri State Water Patrol or its agent pursuant to section 306.127, RSMo. The Missouri State Water Patrol will also accept a driver license or nondriver license with the Boater Identification indicator in lieu of carrying a photo ID and the Boating Safety Education Card.

For more information regarding the mandatory boater education law go to Missouri State Water Patrol's website.

No, you will not have to pay again upon subsequent driver license transactions. The same would apply for a nondriver license and subsequent nondriver license transactions. However:

  • If you added the Boater Identification indicator to your driver license and now request to add the Boater Identification indicator to a nondriver license you will be required to pay the cost of $1.00 to add the initial indicator to the nondriver license.
  • If you added the Boater Identification indicator to your nondriver license and now request to add the Boater Identification indicator to a driver license you will be required to pay the cost of $1.00 to add the initial indicator to the driver license.

No, you only have to present your Boating Safety Education Card upon initial application for the Boater Identification indicator. You do not have to present the card to retain the Boater Identification indicator on future transactions. However:

  • If you had added the Boater Identification indicator to a driver license and now want to add the Boater Identification indicator to a nondriver license, you must again present the Boating Safety Education Card for verification.
  • If you had added the Boater Identification indicator to a nondriver license and now want to add the Boater Identification indicator to a driver license, you must again present the Boating Safety Education Card for verification.

Yes, for purposes of obtaining the new Boater Identification indicator, the Department of Revenue will only accept the current plastic card format. You may request a new card through the Missouri State Water Patrol as long as you still have the old card and pay a $10.00 replacement fee. For instructions on how to order a replacement Boating Safety Education Card go to: Mandatory Boater Education Law FAQs.

No, applicants must obtain a Missouri Boating Safety Education Card to be eligible for the Boater Identification indicator.

The Boater Identification indicator will be displayed as an image of a ship's wheel, located at the bottom left-hand corner on the back of the license. Refer to the image, below.

Boater Identification Indicator

If you still have questions, please visit other Driver Licensing FAQs.