Information 24/7 – If you have questions about a ticket, suspension, or revocation on your Missouri driver record, you may now call our new interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407 - available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

In accordance with 303.040, RSMo, you may file an accident report if:

  • The accident happened less than one year ago,
  • The accident involved an uninsured motorist, AND
  • The accident caused property damage costing more than $500, or someone was injured or killed.

NOTE: If the accident did not cause $500 in property damage or personal injury or death, you may still file an accident report if there was an uninsured motorist involved. The bureau will only be able to take action under 303.041, RSMo (see below).

NOTE: You may not file this action against any type of animal.

You may print the Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form 1140)from your computer, or you may obtain a copy from:

  • Your insurance company;
  • The Missouri Department of Revenue central office; and/or
  • Any Missouri license office.

Mail completed forms to:

Missouri Department of Revenue
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 200
Jefferson City MO 65105-0200

There are several ways a person’s driver license can be suspended under the Mandatory Insurance Law. Outlined below are the reasons a person can be suspended and the reinstatement requirements.

Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment (Missouri) - If you have been suspended because you were involved in an accident in Missouri and a judgment was rendered against you in court for failing to pay for the damages, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • A court approved installment (payment) plan or certified document from the court indicating that you have paid for the damages in full. If you do not settle (pay) the judgment, your driver license will remain suspended for a 10-year period.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.
  • Proof of insurance. The most commonly used proof of insurance is an SR-22 filing. It must be kept for two years from the starting date of your suspension.

Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment (Out-of-State) - If you have been suspended because you were involved in an accident in another state and a judgment was rendered against you in court for failing to pay for the damages, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • Reinstatement or clearance letter from the other state.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.
  • Proof of insurance. The most commonly used proof of insurance is an SR-22 filing. It must be kept for two years from the starting date of your suspension.

Motor Vehicle Accident - Failure to File an Accident Report - If you were involved in an accident that included a motor vehicle that may not have been insured, you may receive notice from the department to file an accident report. You have 10 days from the mail date shown on the notice to file the accident report. If you fail to do so, your driver license and/or motor vehicle registration will be suspended. If you have been suspended for failing to file an accident report, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • A completed Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form 1140). If you do not submit this completed form, you must serve a one-year driver license suspension before you can be reinstated.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

Motor Vehicle Accident - Failure to Pay for the Damages - If you have been suspended because you were the person at fault in an accident and failed to pay the other person(s) in the accident for the vehicle/property damage or personal injuries, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • Proof that you have paid or settled the accident with the other person(s). You will need to submit a notarized installment agreement showing that you are making payments for the accident or you can submit a notarized release of liability if paid in full. You may also submit a deposit of security. If you do not submit this proof, you must serve a one-year driver license suspension before you can be reinstated.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

False Insurance - If you have been suspended because you showed false insurance to a police officer or the Department of Revenue, your driver license and/or motor vehicle registration will be suspended for one year. You must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau prior to the end of the suspension period before your driver license can be reinstated on the eligibility date:

  • Proof of liability insurance (copy of your insurance identification card). Proof of insurance must be kept for three years from the date you became eligible to be reinstated.
  • $150 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

Mandatory Insurance - Failure to Show Proof of Insurance When Requested by Department of Revenue - If you have been suspended because the Department of Revenue notified you to show proof of your insurance and you did not have any insurance in effect, OR because you were not maintaining insurance on the vehicle you owned and/or operated, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • Proof of liability insurance (copy of your insurance identification card). NOTE: If an accident was involved, you must submit an SR-22 insurance filing as the insurance identification card will not be accepted. The most commonly used proof of insurance is an SR-22 filing. Proof of insurance must be kept for three years from the date you became eligible to be reinstated.
  • Appropriate reinstatement fee as follows. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.
    • $20 if it is your first offense.
    • $200 if it is your second offense.
    • $400 if it is your third or subsequent offense.

Out-of-State Accident - If you have been suspended because you were involved in an accident in another state and you did not have any insurance in effect at the time of the accident, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • Reinstatement or Clearance Letter from the state where you were involved in the accident.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

Failure to Maintain Liability Insurance - If you have been suspended because you have failed to keep your insurance in effect for the three-year period required by law, you must send the following items to the Driver License Bureau before you can be reinstated:

  • Proof of insurance. The most commonly used proof of insurance is an SR-22 filing. The SR-22 filing is required if you were originally suspended because of a motor vehicle accident. If not, you can file proof of insurance by providing a copy of your insurance identification card. Proof of insurance must be kept for the remainder of the three-year period that you were originally required to maintain an SR-22 filing.
  • $20 reinstatement fee. Money order or personal check is acceptable. Please include your full name, address, date of birth, and driver license number.

It is a form from your insurance company that shows your motor vehicle has liability insurance. (Sample of SR-22 form) You must contact an insurance company to obtain the liability insurance and the SR-22 form.

If you were suspended for a Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment (Missouri or Out-of-State), you must maintain insurance on file with the Driver License Bureau for two years from the starting date of the suspension.

If you were suspended for False Insurance or Mandatory Insurance, you must maintain insurance on file with the Driver License Bureau for three years from the date you were eligible to reinstate. If the Mandatory Insurance suspension involved an accident, proof of insurance must be in the form of an SR-22 filing.

You should mail your reinstatement documents to:

Missouri Department of Revenue
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 200
Jefferson City MO 65105-0200

Yes, you may fax the SR-22 insurance filing. Our fax number is (573) 522-6062.

We have received documents stating that everyone was not insured in the accident you were involved in. The accident report gives you a chance to tell how the accident happened and to show insurance verification. Missouri law requires that we verify everyone in the accident was insured.

Reinstatement Fee - The reinstatement fee may be paid by telephone using a debit or credit card, or by submitting a money order or personal check (by mail or in person) to the address below.

To pay your reinstatement fee by telephone, call 573-751-1887 (during business hours) and use one of the following debit or credit cards:

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Discover, or
  • American Express

Damages - The payment for damages caused in a motor vehicle accident must be submitted as a money order or personal check (by mail or in person) to the following address:

Missouri Department of Revenue
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 200
Jefferson City MO 65105-0200

The money order or personal check must be made payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

You cannot pay your reinstatement fee at a local license office. You must submit the fee to the Central Office address shown below:

Missouri Department of Revenue
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 200
Jefferson City MO 65105-0200

Yes, liability insurance must be maintained on all vehicles being operated in Missouri. Your driving privilege may be suspended if you operate a vehicle in Missouri without insurance.

If you still have questions, please check out other Driver Licensing FAQs.