- What form do I use to file a Missouri Fiduciary Income Tax Return?
- When is the Missouri Fiduciary Income Tax Return due?
- What is a nonresident estate or trust?
- How do I extend the time to file a Missouri Fiduciary Income Tax Return (Form MO-1041)?
- What are additions to tax and interest charges?
- Do I need to make estimated tax payments?
- How does Missouri treat Electing Small Business Trusts?
- How do I get a Missouri tax identification number?
A fiduciary return is due on the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the calendar or fiscal year.
An estate or trust would be considered a nonresident estate or trust if it does NOT meet one of the following:
- The estate of a decedent who at death was domiciled in Missouri;
- A trust that was created by a will of a decedent who at death was domiciled in Missouri and has at least one income beneficiary who, on the last day of the taxable year, was a resident of Missouri;
- A trust that was created by, or consisting of property of, a person domiciled in Missouri on the date the trust or portion of the trust became irrevocable and has at least one income beneficiary who, on the last day of the taxable year, was a resident of Missouri.
If you receive an extension of time to file your Federal Fiduciary Income Tax Return, you will automatically be granted an extension of time to file your Missouri Fiduciary Income Tax Return. Attach a copy of your filed federal extension, Form 7004, to your Missouri return.
If you expect to owe tax, file an Application for Extension of Time to File (Form MO-60) with your payment by the original due date of the return. An extension of time to file does not extend the time to pay. A 5 percent additions to tax penalty will apply if the tax is not paid by the original due date, provided your return is filed by the extension due date.
Additions to tax are imposed for failure to file or failure to pay. Additions to tax are imposed for failure to file by the due date at the rate of 5 percent per month, not to exceed 25 percent of the unpaid balance. Additions to tax are imposed for failure to pay by the original due date at the rate of 5 percent of the unpaid balance.
Interest is imposed on the portion of your Missouri tax liability that is not received on or before the due date. Simple interest is charged on all delinquent taxes. Click here to obtain current or previous interest rates.
Missouri does not require estimated tax payments for estates or trusts.
Missouri follows the Internal Revenue Service guidelines for Electing Small Business Trusts (ESBT), with the following exceptions:
- Deductions created from ESBT income can only be used to offset ESBT income;
- The ESBT income is taxed through the normal tax rate table.
Missouri does not issue tax identification numbers for estates or trusts. The Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) issued by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) is also used for the filing of a Missouri Fiduciary Income Tax Return. You can request a TIN by completing an Application for Employer Identification Number (Form SS-4) on the IRS website.
Can't find an answer to your question(s)? Email us! firstname.lastname@example.org