Department of Revenue News Release
February 04, 2009Department of Revenue Waives Penalties for Southern MO Residents Affected By Ice Storms
JEFFERSON CITY – Gov. Jay Nixon and Director of Revenue Karen King Mitchell today announced that penalties normally assessed for late transactions at local license offices will be waived for customers of certain offices affected by the recent ice storms.
“The people of southern Missouri have courageously battled through one of the most devastating storms in recent years,” Gov. Nixon said. “I’m focused on helping these Missourians recover and get back to work, and the last thing they need to worry about is paying a penalty for not being able to get to their local license office.”
The waiver only applies to people who were unable to get to one of the specified offices from January 26 to February 4, or who can’t get to an office between today and February 6. Customers of the specified offices that were completely shut down during this same time period are also eligible for the penalty waiver. Customers who were already late with their transactions before January 26 are not eligible for the waiver.
The offices covered by the director’s waiver are in Alton, Caruthersville, Chaffee, Charleston, Dexter, Doniphan, Gainesville, Kennett, Malden, Mountain View, New Madrid, Poplar Bluff, Sikeston, Thayer, Van Buren, West Plains and Willow Springs.
Because of the ongoing consequences of the storm, Mitchell said local office managers can apply for penalty waivers for next week if they feel there is still a need.
The penalty for not renewing a vehicle’s license plates on time is $5. The penalty for not obtaining a vehicle’s title within 30 days of the vehicle’s purchase is $25 and an additional $25 for each month thereafter. There is no financial penalty for a late renewal for a driver’s license, but a person who does not renew his or her license within six months of the expiration date must retake the state’s driving and written examinations.