Titling and Registration


I just bought a motor vehicle. What should I do now?

When you purchase a motor vehicle (new or used), you are required to pay the applicable taxes and apply for title in your name within 30 days of the purchase date. This is true regardless of the condition of the vehicle.

If you wish to drive the vehicle, you must also obtain valid registration (license plates).

Please click here for complete instructions, including the necessary links.

back to top


I am a new Missouri resident. How do I title and license my motor vehicle in Missouri?

You have 30 days from the date of becoming a Missouri resident to title your vehicle. Please click here for complete instructions, including the necessary links.

back to top


I just moved from one Missouri address to another Missouri address. How do I change the address shown on my records with the Department of Revenue?

You may click here for the information you will need to update your address in our files.

back to top


I just moved from Missouri to another state. What should I do with my old Missouri license plates?

To prevent unlawful use of your unexpired plates, you may destroy and recycle them where you are, or you may return them to any Missouri license office to be destroyed and recycled.

If you wish to mail them to our central office to be destroyed and recycled, please use the following address:

Missouri Department of Revenue
ATTN: License Plate Surrender
301 West High Street – Rm 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

If you happen to receive a renewal notice for those plates, you may simply disregard the notice.

Unfortunately, Missouri statute does not authorize a refund of registration fees for unexpired plates.

back to top


Can I renew my vehicle registration (license plates) online?

You can renew your vehicle registration (license plates) with the online system, if a Personal Identification Number (PIN) is recorded on your renewal notice. Renew your vehicle registration (license plates) online, visit www.plates.mo.gov.

back to top


How do I renew my Missouri vehicle registration (license plates) if I am temporarily out of state?

For complete instructions (including the necessary forms), please click here.

back to top


How do I apply for a duplicate title?

Complete and sign an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) (or Application for Duplicate Title (Form 93) for a boat title), pay an $8.50 duplicate title fee and a $2.50 processing fee. Mark the "Duplicate" checkbox on the form, and indicate the reason you are applying for a duplicate title. The form must be notarized.

The application may be processed at any Missouri license office, or you can mail the notarized application and fee to the following address:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street - Room 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

NOTES:

back to top


I just changed my name (due to marriage / divorce / etc.). How do I update my title?

In order to change your name on your title, you must bring the current title, a completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108), and proof of your legal name change to any Missouri license office.  The fee for the duplicate (adding a name) title is $11.

If you have not already named a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary on the vehicle title, you should do so at the same time.

back to top


What is a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary?

A Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary is a simple way to transfer ownership of a vehicle after the titled owner has died. By naming a TOD beneficiary on your title application, you will avoid the need for the vehicle to go through probate upon your death.

If you choose to assign a different TOD beneficiary at a later date, you may do so by completing a new title application. There is no ownership benefit for the TOD beneficiary until the titled owner(s) have died.

back to top


I am the surviving spouse (or the unmarried minor child) of a deceased vehicle owner. Can I title the vehicle in my name and/or sell it?

Even if no Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary was named on the title, a surviving spouse or unmarried minor child may transfer ownership of a vehicle (limited to one vehicle) titled in the deceased owner's name without obtaining a probate order. The surviving spouse or unmarried minor child must obtain title in their name before assigning ownership to a purchaser.

For the purpose of this process, "minor" refers to a child who is under the age of 18.

To apply for title, the surviving spouse or unmarried minor child must submit the following items:

back to top


I am handling the sale or transfer of a vehicle on behalf of the estate of the deceased owner who did not designate a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary on the title record. How should I proceed?

If the deceased owner of a vehicle had not designated a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary, the vehicle must go through probate before a transfer of ownership can occur.

When applying for a Missouri certificate of title accompanied by Letters of Administration, Letters Testamentary, or a Small Estate Certificate/Affidavit, the following items must be submitted:

The administrator, executor, or personal representative (except a creditor with Letters of Refusal) may give the vehicle as a gift if the decedent paid taxes on the vehicle and a gift affidavit is presented. If the vehicle is transferred as a gift, no sales tax is due.

If the administrator, executor, or personal representative applies for title in their name, no sales tax is due.

Application for title may be made in person at any Missouri license office, or the paperwork and fees can be mailed to our central office for processing:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street – Room 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

back to top


How do I obtain a duplicate registration receipt?

To obtain a duplicate registration receipt, you must submit a completed, signed, and notarized form Application for Duplicate Title/Registration Receipt (Form 2519) with a check for $12.00, payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue.  You may complete the application at any Missouri license office, or mail the application to our central office using the address on the back of form.

back to top


How can I receive a sales tax allowance when I sell one vehicle and buy a different vehicle to replace the one I sold?

When you apply for a title, you must submit a bill of sale or Notice of Sale (Form 5049) for the vehicle that you sold and the purchase (or contract to purchase) and sale dates must be within 180 days of one another. You do not have to purchase a "like" vehicle to qualify for a sales tax allowance.

Example: You can buy a car and sell a boat and receive a sales tax allowance for the car, but the two events must occur within 180 days of one another.

back to top


How can I receive a sales tax allowance when my vehicle was declared a total loss by the insurance company and I buy a replacement vehicle?

The purchaser of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor may deduct the amount of a total loss claim settlement received from an insurance company plus the owner's deductible from the purchase price of another like unit that is purchased or contracted to purchase after the total loss occurs, but within 180 days before or after the date of the total loss claim settlement. The applicant must present a notarized statement from the insurance company indicating the year, make, and identification number of the “total loss” unit, the date the insurance company pays the settlement, the amount of the insurance settlement, and the amount of the insurance deductible, if applicable. If the insurance agent certifies that the information in the statement is true and accurate, the form does not have to be notarized.

The total loss statement can be in anyone’s name; however, at least one of the owners of the total loss vehicle must be the same on the application for title on the newly acquired vehicle. Example: John and Jane Smith have a vehicle titled in their name that is declared a total loss. Brenda Smith insured the vehicle and receives a certified total loss claim from the insurance company. As long as John or Jane’s name is listed as an owner or co-owner on the new vehicle, the total loss credit in Brenda’s name may be used.

In addition, the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, vessel (watercraft), or outboard motor, that was replaced because of theft or casualty loss, who does not have insurance coverage on the unit, may receive a tax credit on the fair market value of the unit being replaced. The applicant must present the original or copy of the accident report completed by law enforcement agent showing the year, make, and identification number of the total loss vehicle, and the date of accident or loss accompanied by two appraisals listing the fair market value of the total loss vehicle.

The fair market value of the unit is determined on the pre-wrecked condition of the vehicle based on the Kelly Blue Book, NADA Used Car Guide, Abos Blue Book, or the average of two appraisals from licensed motor vehicle or boat dealers. The fair market value is deducted from the purchase price of the replacement unit. The replacement unit must be purchased or contracted to purchase within 180 days after the date of loss as certified by a law enforcement agency on the accident report.
To receive a tax credit on a total loss vehicle, the vehicle being replaced must be a like unit, i.e., a motor vehicle must be replaced by a motor vehicle, a trailer replaced by a trailer, etc..

NOTE: If you have already paid sales tax on your replacement vehicle you may apply for a refund by sending a completed Motor Vehicle Refund Request Application (Form 426) with all supporting documentation to the Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division , PO Box 87, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0087.

back to top


How much does vehicle registration (license plates) cost in Missouri?

Passenger registration fees are based on the taxable horsepower (which is different from actual engine horsepower) of your vehicle.

Truck license plates are based on the gross weight of the vehicle plus the maximum load to be carried or pulled at any one time and distance. Local license plates are issued to trucks that will not be driven beyond a 50-mile radius of the owner's registered address. Beyond local license plates are issued in all other cases. Annual passenger and truck registration fees and processing fees are listed below.

Passenger Vehicles

Taxable Horsepower 1-Year Fee 1-Year
Processing Fee
2-Year Fee 2-Year
Processing Fee
UNDER 12 HP $18.25 $3.50 $36.50 $7.00
12 - 23 HP $21.25 $3.50 $42.50 $7.00
24 - 35 HP $24.25 $3.50 $48.50 $7.00
36-47 HP $33.25 $3.50 $66.50 $7.00
48 - 59 HP $39.25 $3.50 $78.50 $7.00
60 - 71 HP $45.25 $3.50 $90.50 $7.00
72 HP + $51.25 $3.50 $102.50 $7.00

Trucks

Gross Weight Plus Load 1-Year Fee 1-Year
Processing Fee
2-Year Fee 2-Year
Processing Fee
Local 6,000 lbs. $15.75 $3.50 $31.50 $7.00
Local 12,000 lbs. $18.25 $3.50 $36.50 $7.00
Beyond Local 6,000 lbs. $25.75 $3.50 $51.50 $7.00
Beyond Local 12,000 lbs. $38.25 $3.50 $76.50 $7.00

back to top


How much does trailer registration (license plates) cost in Missouri?

Type of Trailer License 1-Year Fee 1-Year
Processing Fee
3-Year Fee 3-Year
Processing Fee
Regular $7.50 $3.50 22.50 $3.50
Permanent* $52.50 $3.50 - -

*Note: A permanent trailer license can only be issued to trailers that are attached to a towing vehicle by a fifth wheel and kingpin assembly. Trailers coupled to towing vehicles with a ball or bumper type hitch cannot be issued permanent trailer license plates.

back to top


How much tax do I pay when I buy a vehicle?

You must pay the state sales tax AND any local taxes of the city or county where you live (not where you purchased the vehicle).The state sales tax rate is 4.225 percent and is based on the net purchase price of your vehicle (price after rebates and trade-ins). Use the tax calculator to estimate the amount of tax you will pay when you title and register your new vehicle.

If you bought your vehicle out-of-state and paid taxes on the vehicle to that state, that tax will be credited toward the amount of tax due in Missouri. You must provide proof of the amount of tax you paid in the other state. If the amount of tax paid in the other state is less than the amount owed in Missouri, you will be assessed the difference. If the vehicle was titled in your name in another state for more than 90 days, no Missouri sales tax will be assessed.

back to top


Can I pay my sales tax and fees with a check or credit card?

Payment may be made by cash or money order at Department of Revenue license offices. Personal checks, credit cards (Discover, American Express, and Master Card only), and debit cards are accepted at some license offices. Please contact your local office for payment options.

The Department's central office accepts cash, personal check, cashier's check, money order, credit cards (Discover, American Express, and Master Card only), and debit cards. Personal checks must be made payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue. Personal checks must be preprinted with the check writer's name, address, bank code, and account number. The personal check must also include the following information regarding the check writer:

The Missouri Department of Revenue may electronically resubmit checks returned for insufficient or uncollected funds.

Credit / Debit Card Transactions - The "convenience fee" charged by the credit/debit card vendor for transactions up to $33.00 is $1.00. For transactions over $33.00, please see the table below.

Transaction Amount Convenience Fee
$0.00 - $33.00 $1.00
$33.01 - $100.00 3.00 %
$100.01 - $250.00 2.95 %
$250.01 - $500.00 2.85 %
$500.01 - $750.00 2.85 %
$750.01 - $1,000.00 2.80 %
$1,000.01 - $1,500.00 2.75 %
$1,500.01 - $2,000.00 2.70 %
$2,000.01 or more 2.60 %

back to top


How do I apply for a Disabled Person Placard?

Submit an Application for Disabled Person Placard (Form 2769), and Physician's Statement for Disabled License Plates/Placard (Form 1776) from your licensed physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, advanced practice registered nurse, or optometrist stating that you qualify for a Disabled Person Placard either by mail to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105, or in person at any Missouri license office. There is no fee required to obtain a Permanent Disabled Placard.

If you are temporarily disabled, your licensed physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, advanced practice registered nurse, or optometrist can indicate on the Physician's Statement for Disabled License Plates/Placard (Form 1776) that you will need the Disabled Person Placard for a specific length of time not more than 180 days.

For more information about Placards, click here.

back to top


Is equipment purchased to modify a vehicle, so that it can be used by an individual with disabilities, exempt from sales tax?

Yes. The applicant must present an invoice or other documentation showing the vehicle and equipment price separately in order for the equipment to be exempt. Specifically, 144.030.2(18), RSMo provides an exemption for “items used solely to modify motor vehicles to permit the use of such motor vehicles by individuals with disabilities".

back to top


How do I apply for disabled license plates?

In addition to any other standard registration requirements, you may submit one of the following, either by mail to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, PO Box 100, Jefferson City, MO 65105, or in person at any Missouri license office:


NOTE: Renewal applicants or new applicants who are already disabled placard holders and 75 years old or older are exempt from the physician’s statement requirement but must submit proof of their age one time, as outlined in Section V.

back to top


Am I required to submit a new physician's statement when renewing a disabled person placard or plate?

You must submit a new Physician's Statement for Disabled License Plates/Placard (Form 1776) every four years when renewing a disabled person placard or plate. The statement must be dated within 90 days of your renewal application. Disabled veterans and persons 75 years of age are not required to submit a new physician's statement when renewing a disabled person placard or plate.

back to top


What should I do to renew my vehicle registration (license plates) if I did not receive a renewal notice in the mail?

If you did not receive your registration renewal notice, you may renew by mail or at any Missouri license office. Please click here for information about the documents and fees required to renew your registration.

NOTE: Even if you do not receive a computer-generated renewal notice from the Motor Vehicle Bureau, you are still responsible for renewing your license plates before they expire.  There is a $5 late penalty if you fail to renew by the last day of the month of expiration.

back to top


What are the titling and registration requirements for motor scooters or mopeds (under 50cc)?

Titling and registration for a scooter or moped depends on whether the vehicle meets the definition of a motorized bicycle. The Missouri statute definition of a motorized bicycle is as follows:

"Any two-wheeled or three-wheeled device having an automatic transmission and a motor with a cylinder capacity of not more than fifty (50) cubic centimeters, which produces less than three (3) gross brake horsepower, and is capable of propelling the device at a maximum speed of not more than thirty (30) miles per hour on level ground."

A motorized bicycle does not have to be registered with the Missouri Department of Revenue. However, you must have a valid driver license to operate a motorized bicycle (though no motorcycle endorsement is required).

Missouri statute does not require a helmet to be worn when operating a motorized bicycle. Please contact your local law enforcement agencies for any county/municipal codes that deal with helmets and motorized bicycles.

Keep in mind that no motorized bicycle may be operated on any public thoroughfare located within this state that has been designated as part of the federal interstate highway system.

back to top


How do I title and register a motorcycle?

Titling and registration requirements for a motorcycle are generally the same as for any other motor vehicle, except that all motorcycles are exempt from emissions inspection.

For more information, visit our main Motor Vehicle Titling & Registration page.

back to top


Can I apply for a refund of my unused registration?

Missouri law does not allow for a refund of registration fees. However, an owner may apply the unused portion of a registration to a new Missouri registration.

back to top


Do I have to display two license plates on my vehicle (front and rear)?

Under Missouri law (301.130.5, RSMo) most Missouri motor vehicle registrations require two license plates to be displayed on the vehicle (front and rear). The exceptions include motorcycles, vehicles with historic Year of Manufacture registrations, and commercial vehicles registered for 18,000 lbs or above. However, applicants registering a commercial vehicle for 18,000 lbs or above are given the option of obtaining two license plates. If you are issued two plates for your vehicle registration, you must display both plates (front and rear) as required by Missouri law.

back to top


I have a truck registered for 18,000 pounds (or above), and I travel through many states. How can I get a second plate to display on my vehicle?

Effective August 28, 2013, the owner of a commercial motor vehicle registered for 18,000 lbs or above may be issued a second license plate for the rear of the vehicle.  The second plate will have the same configuration as the initial (front) license plate, but will bear a “2” sticker indicating that it is for the rear of the vehicle.

If you wish to apply for a second license plate, you must submit:

The transaction may be processed at the time of renewal or at any time during the registration period at any Missouri license office.  The second plate will be mailed directly to your address (as specified on the application).

back to top


Am I eligible to obtain a two-year registration for my motor vehicle?

There are two guidelines for obtaining a two-year registration:

back to top


How do I add a co-owner to a vehicle that I currently have titled in my name in Missouri?

You must sign and print your name as "seller", and the other person (who is being added) must sign and print their name as "purchaser". Leave the "purchase price" blank because this is not a complete change of ownership.

Either one of you may then apply and pay ($11) for a new title in both names. You must complete an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) and submit the application by mail or at any Missouri license office. This is also a good time to add a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary.

Lienholder authorization is required to add or remove a name from a title if an outstanding lien exists. The Notice Of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization To Add/Remove Name From Title (Form 4809) should be used.

back to top


I just got divorced. How do I drop my ex's name from my vehicle title if it is currently in both our names?

Your ex must sign and print his/her name as "seller", and you must sign and print your name as "purchaser". Leave the "purchase price" blank because this is not a complete change of ownership.

If the title has been lost or stolen or you cannot reach your ex, but you were awarded the vehicle in the divorce, the divorce decree may be presented in lieu of the properly assigned title.

You may then apply and pay ($11) for a new title in your name alone (or you may add a different co-owner). You must complete an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) and submit the application by mail or at any Missouri license office. This is also a good time to add a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary.

Lienholder authorization is required to add or remove a name from a title if an outstanding lien exists. The Notice Of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization To Add/Remove Name From Title (Form 4809) should be used.

back to top


How do I drop the co-owner's name from my vehicle title (for any reason other than divorce)?

The person who's name is being removed must sign and print their name as "seller", and you must sign and print your name as "purchaser". Leave the "purchase price" blank because this is not a complete change of ownership.

Or, if the co-owner is now deceased, proof of death is required (i.e. copy of death certificate, newspaper clipping, funeral home card) with the unassigned title.

You may then apply and pay ($11) for a new title in your name alone (or you may add a different co-owner). You must complete an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) and submit the application by mail or at any Missouri license office. This is also a good time to add a Transfer on Death (TOD) beneficiary.

Lienholder authorization is required to add or remove a name from a title if an outstanding lien exists. The Notice Of Lien, Lien Release, Or Authorization To Add/Remove Name From Title (Form 4809) should be used.

back to top


I just bought a vehicle, and the seller did not provide me with a properly assigned title. What can I do?

Missouri law requires that a motor vehicle must be titled (within 30 days of the purchase date) before it is either registered for highway use or transferred to another individual. If you do not have a properly assigned title (or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin), you have no clear legal right to the vehicle.

If you did not receive a properly assigned ownership document (e.g., certificate of title) at the time of purchase, and the seller is not available to make proper assignment, you may wish to seek the advice of a legal professional.

back to top


I just noticed a typo on my vehicle title (name misspelled, incorrect VIN, etc.). How can I get that fixed?

You must complete an Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) and submit it, with the incorrect title, for a corrected title to be issued. This transaction may be processed at any Missouri license office, or by mail through our central office.

Depending on the nature of the error, additional documents and/or fees may be required. If you have additional questions, contact our staff by e-mail at mvbmail@dor.mo.gov.

back to top


What address should I use when mailing my transaction paperwork and fees the Department of Revenue for processing?

Click here to visit our Motor Vehicle licensing contact information page.

back to top


I received a registration renewal notice for a vehicle that I sold. What should I do?

You may simply disregard the notice. If you still have the unexpired license plates from the car, and you do not plan to apply for transfer of the plates to another vehicle titled in your name, you may surrender the plates at any Missouri license office, or you may mail the plates (with a note explaining the surrender) to our central office:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street – Room 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

back to top


I paid off the loan for my vehicle. How can I remove the lien from my title?

You may apply for a new title at any Missouri license office. You must submit the notarized lien release (copy or original), your current title (if in your possession) and pay the $11 fee. The new title (in your name, without the lien) should issue within 3-5 business days, and will then be mailed to you.

If you would prefer to submit your application by mail (address below), you must submit the documents and fees listed above, plus a completed and signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108). Your signature on the Form 108 must be notarized if you are not in possession of your current title. The average turnaround time for a mail-in title application to be processed is 4-6 weeks.

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street – Room 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

Note: You should keep the original notarized lien release (or a copy) for your personal records. The copy that is submitted with your application will not be returned to you.

back to top


I have a cotton module transporter. Am I required to title and register it?

No. Cotton module transporters are exempt from titling and registration and are allowed to operate on dyed fuel.

back to top


What can I show to law enforcement as proof that my truck (registered for 18,000 lbs or above) requires only one plate displayed on the front of the vehicle?

The single-plate provision for truck registrations of 18,000 lbs (or above) comes directly from Missouri law:

"All property-carrying commercial motor vehicles to be registered at a gross weight in excess of twelve thousand pounds... shall be registered with the director of revenue... or with the state highways and transportation commission... but only one license plate shall be issued for each such vehicle."

"The applicant for registration pursuant to this section shall affix the registration plate issued to the front of the vehicle in accordance with the provisions of section 301.130..."

You may print a copy of each of the above statutes, and keep the copies in the truck for presentation to law enforcement, as needed.

back to top


Where can I get information about purchasing apportioned plates for my commercial motor vehicle?

Apportioned plates are issued by the Missouri Department of Transportation. Please visit their website at http://www.modot.org/mcs/faq.htm.

back to top


Bronze Star Placard

What is the Bronze Star placard and how do I apply?

A "Bronze Star placard" may be used by a qualified veteran to park his or her motor vehicle (weighing not more than 6,000 pounds) -- without charge -- in a metered parking space. Use of the placard is contingent upon approval of local authorities.

To obtain the placard, the applicant must submit:

There is no fee charged for the placard.

The application must be submitted to our central office for processing:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Motor Vehicle Bureau
301 West High Street – Room 370
Jefferson City MO 65105-0100

Before using the placard, it is the placard holder's responsibility to contact local authorities to verify that the Bronze Star placard is accepted in that jurisdiction.

back to top


Still need help? You can also submit your motor vehicle title and licensing questions to our staff by email. Your email will be forwarded to the appropriate area for reply. Some inquiries can be responded to more quickly than others depending on the issue and amount of time needed for research. Please make sure your computer will accept our email response.