What do I need to renew my license plates?

To obtain a list of the renewal requirements for your specific registration, you may visit the Department's Renewal Requirements Inquiry system.

Missouri Resident

To renew your license plates, you will need:

  1. Your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice. If you did not receive this notice in the mail, you may complete and print a copy of the Application for Motor Vehicle License (Form 184) from your computer;
  2. A Missouri safety inspection and/or emissions inspection certificate not more than 60 days old, if applicable;
  3. Verification of personal property tax for the previous year (if the registration you are renewing was a one year registration) or the previous two years (if the registration you are renewing was a two-year registration):
  4. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility; and
  5. The correct registration (license plate) and processing fee.

Click here for a list of options for submitting your renewal.

NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date.

Temporarily Residing Out of State

For a checklist and additional information, click here.

Your renewal notice will not be forwarded to an out of state address.

To renew your license plates, you will need:

  1. Your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice. If you did not receive this notice in the mail, you may complete and print a copy of the Application for Motor Vehicle License (Form 184) from your computer;
    • In lieu of the vehicle safety or emissions inspection (if applicable), mark the box in the "Signature and Certification" portion of the application to indicate if the vehicle has been out of state for more than 60 days.
  2. Verification of personal property tax for the previous year (if the registration you are renewing was a one year registration) or the previous two years (if the registration you are renewing was a two-year registration):
  3. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility; and
  4. The correct registration (license plate) and processing fee.

Click here for a list of options for submitting your renewal.

NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date.

NOTE: Upon returning to Missouri, the vehicle must be safety inspected (and emissions inspected, if applicable) within 10 days.

Military Personnel Stationed Out of State

To renew your license plates, you will need:

  1. Your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice. If you did not receive this notice in the mail, you may complete and print a copy of the Application for Motor Vehicle License (Form 184) from your computer;
    • In lieu of the vehicle safety or emissions inspection (if applicable), mark the box in the "Signature and Certification" portion of the application to indicate if the vehicle has been out of state for more than 60 days.
  2. Verification of personal property tax for the previous year (if the registration you are renewing was a one year registration) or the previous two years (if the registration you are renewing was a two-year registration):
    • If you are a Missouri resident, you will present:
    • If you are not a Missouri resident, you will present:
      • Your current LES (showing your non-Missouri home of record) to verify military status and state of residency.
  3. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility; and
  4. The correct registration (license plate) and processing fee.

Click here for a list of options for submitting your renewal.

NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date. This fee may be waived if the military applicant submits official orders from the appropriate military authority as evidence of military service and the date of discharge. The renewal must be processed within 60 days after completion of military service, and the vehicle may not be operated during the period the registration is expired.

NOTE: Upon returning to Missouri, the vehicle must be safety inspected (and emissions inspected, if applicable) within 10 days.

 

How can I renew my license plates?

Missouri license plates may be renewed up to six months before expiration and must be renewed by the last day of the expiration month. There are four convenient renewal options:

  • Phone: Call 573-751-1957 to see if you are eligible to renew over the phone. This service is available Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.;
  • Online: You may be eligible to renew online if a Personal Identification Number (PIN) appears on your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice;
  • Mail: You may renew by mail following the instructions on your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice; or
  • In Person: You may visit any Missouri license office.

Because it’s easy to put things off, the busiest time in license offices is near the end of each month. If you plan ahead and visit any Missouri license office earlier than that, you will have a quicker visit. Make sure you read your renewal notice and have your paperwork ready to go, and your license office visit will run smoothly.

NOTE: You may only obtain two year-registration for an even model year vehicle in an even calendar year, or for an odd model year vehicle in an odd calendar year.