NOTE: This information is based on current statute requirements and is subject to change.

Missouri Resident Titling Requirements

You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and pay sales tax on your newly purchased vehicle. If you do not title the vehicle within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $200.

To title a motor vehicle in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following:

  1. The Certificate of Title, properly signed over to you (see instructions), or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO);
  2. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108);
  3. An identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection, if ownership of the motor vehicle was transferred to you on a title issued by another state or country. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A safety inspection, not more than 60 days old, will satisfy this requirement;
  4. An Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 3019), if applicable; and
  5. A notarized Lien Release (Form 4809), if applicable;
  6. Additional documentation may be requested at the time of titling.

You will pay:

  • State tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes you will pay;
  • The $8.50 title fee and the $6.00 processing fee.

To title and register (obtain license plates for) a newly purchased motor vehicle, please refer to the Buying a Vehicle page of our website.

New Resident Titling & Registration Requirements

New Resident Titling Checklist

Registration Checklist

You have 30 days from the date of becoming a Missouri resident to title your vehicle.

If your lienholder is currently in possession of your out-of-state title, please complete the owner and vehicle/unit information sections of the Owner Out-of-State Title Request (Form 5834). Mail, email, or fax the completed form to your lienholder to request the original out-of-state title. If the lienholder is unable to release the out-of-state title to you, the lienholder may complete and notarize the bottom section of the form and return the completed form along with acceptable proof of ownership documents (as outlined below) to you. Once you have received the out-of-state title or acceptable proof of ownership documents, you may apply for Missouri title and registration.

To obtain a Missouri title and registration (license plates) on a motor vehicle currently titled in another state, you must submit the following:

  1. Original title, or proof of ownership in accordance with the laws of your previous state where the vehicle is currently titled in your name;
  • If there is a lien on the vehicle, and your lienholder is in possession of your title, you will need to obtain the title from the lienholder to submit with your application. The lien will remain in force, and when the Missouri title is issued, the lien will appear on the face of the title. Missouri titles are mailed to the vehicle owner unless a request is made to have the title mailed to the lienholder;
  • If your lienholder currently holds the out-of-state title and you are unable to obtain the title from the lienholder, the following must be submitted to apply for title and a one-year registration:
    • A written statement from your lienholder on letterhead refusing to release the out-of-state title; and
    • One of the following:
      • A copy of the front and back of the out-of-state title held by the lienholder, indicating your name as the owner, and your lienholder's name as the lienholder; or
      • Out-of-state title receipt indicating your name as the owner and your lienholder’s name as the lienholder when the out-of-state title is from an electronic titling state; or
      • A statement from your lienholder declaring the out-of-state title is held by an electronic titling state.
  • If the original title or out-of-state ownership document is not surrendered at the time of application, you will be issued a one-year registration. A letter will be printed and mailed, emailed, or faxed to your lienholder requesting the title be submitted to the Department. You will not receive a Missouri Certificate of Title and your one-year registration will not be eligible for renewal until the out-of-state title has been received.

    NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact the titling agency of your previous state of residence for information to obtain a replacement title or ownership document.

  1. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108) PDF Document;
  2. Identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection. All motor vehicles previously titled in another state must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification number and odometer reading of the vehicle. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A Missouri safety inspection will satisfy this requirement;
  3. Additional documentation may be requested at the time of titling;
  4. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility;
  5. Statement of non-assessment from your Missouri county of residence (or City of St. Louis) assessor's office showing you do not owe personal property taxes in the county (or City of St. Louis). If you are in the military and do not claim Missouri as your state of residence, you must submit a recent Leave and Earning Statement indicating your state of residence in place of obtaining a statement of non-assessment. Visit the State Tax Commission for a list of assessors;
  6. *A Missouri safety inspection not more than 60 days old;
  7. *An emissions inspection not more than 60 days old, if you reside in St. Louis City or the following counties: Franklin, Jefferson, St. Charles, or St. Louis, if applicable.

* Even model year vehicles must be safety and emissions inspected (unless exempt) in even calendar years, and odd model year vehicles must be inspected (unless exempt) in odd calendar years.

NOTE: Effective August 28, 2019, motor vehicles for the first ten years following the model year of manufacture, and having less than 150,000 miles on the odometer are exempt from the safety inspection requirement. Example: For a 2015 vehicle where the mileage continues to be less than 150,000 miles at the time of registration or registration renewal, the vehicle would be exempt from the safety inspection through 2025.

You will pay:

  • $8.50 title fee and $6.00 processing fee;
  • $2.00 electronic transmission fee may be collected, if applicable;
  • Registration (license plate) and processing fees, based on either taxable horsepower or vehicle weight; and
  • State and local taxes if applicable:
    • If the vehicle has been owned and operated in another state for at least 90 days prior to titling and registering in Missouri, no additional sales tax is due;
    • If the vehicle has been owned for less than 90 days and the sales tax paid to another state is less than the amount of Missouri State and local taxes, you will be required to show proof of payment of those taxes and also pay the difference of the two amounts. Sales tax is collected at the rate of state tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes due.

Military Personnel Stationed Out of State Titling and Registration Requirements

To obtain a Missouri title and registration (license plates) on a motor vehicle, you must submit the following:

  1. The Certificate of Title, properly signed over to you, a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO) or proof of ownership in accordance with the laws of the other state or country;
    NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact a license office for additional information and assistance.
    NOTE: If there is a lien on the vehicle, you should obtain the title from the lienholder to submit with your application. The lien will remain in force. When the Missouri title is issued, the lien will appear on the face of the title. Missouri titles are mailed to the vehicle owner. If you are unable to obtain the title, please contact us at (573) 526-3669 or you can Ask Motor Vehicle!
  2. A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108);
  3. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility;
  4. Either a statement of non-assessment from your Missouri county (or City of St. Louis) collector's office showing you do not owe property taxes or, if your home of record is not Missouri, a Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) to verify military status and state of residency. Two year registrations require statements from the prior two years. Visit the State Tax Commission for a list of assessors;
    NOTE: If the LES shows Missouri as the state of residency, you will need to show personal property tax receipt or statement of non-assessment.
  5. Identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection. All motor vehicles previously titled in another state or country must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification number and odometer reading of the vehicle. A signed statement from a commissioned officer of the United States Armed Forces verifying the vehicle's identification number and odometer reading may be submitted; and
  6. A General Affidavit (Form 768) stating the vehicle has been out of state for more than 60 days.
    NOTE: Upon returning to Missouri the vehicle must be safety inspected within 10 days. The vehicle must also be emissions inspected within 10 days, if applicable.

You will pay:

  • State tax of 4.225 percent, plus your local sales tax on the purchase price, less trade-in allowance, if any. Our online sales tax calculator may help you estimate the taxes and fees you will pay;
    NOTE: If the vehicle has been owned and operated in another state for at least 90 days prior to titling and registering in Missouri, no sales tax is due. Owners who have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days and paid sales tax to another state, less than the amount of Missouri State and local taxes, will be required to show proof of payment of those taxes and also pay the difference of the two amounts.
  • The $8.50 title fee and the $6.00 processing fee; and
  • Registration (license plate) and processing fees, based on either taxable horsepower or vehicle weight.