Notice of Sale (NOS) FAQs
In February 2006, the Department began issuing a title document with a tear-off Notice of Sale (DOR-5049A) form for vehicle owners to use in reporting a vehicle sale.
The sale of a vehicle by an authorized personal representative, receiver, trustee, sheriff, or other representative or successor must also be reported.
Missouri licensed dealers who do not file their sales reports electronically must submit a completed Notice of Sale (DOR-5049 or tear-off DOR-5049A) for each retail sale made to a Missouri resident. Click here for dealer reporting requirements.
Which sales are exempt from reporting to the Department?
A seller is not required to submit a NOS form on the following units:
- A vehicle with a salvage title or junking certificate;
- A repossessed vehicle (at the time the repossession title is obtained);
- A vehicle awarded by a declaratory judgment;
- A vehicle sold to a dealer;
- A vehicle sold to an out of state purchaser;
- A vehicle transferred to a transfer on death (TOD) beneficiary. If the TOD beneficiary assigns the title to another purchaser, the sale must be reported;
- A vehicle transferred to beneficiaries named in a trust or from an individual to their trust;
- A manufactured home;
- A vessel or outboard motor; and
- A vehicle transferred to an insurance company due to a total loss claim.
What are the penalties for failure to report the sale of a vehicle?
A seller who fails to report the sale of a required vehicle is guilty of an infraction and subject to a fine of up to $200.
If the failure to report the sale was done to assist the purchaser avoid applying for title, paying applicable registration fees, or other fraudulent purposes, the seller shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor and subject to a fine of up to $300.
Prompt notification will help protect you from possible liability.
What will the Department do with the Notice of Sale information?
If the vehicle purchaser does not apply for a title within 60 days of purchase, the Department will notify the purchaser of their titling obligation and the amount of taxes, penalties, and fees that are due. It is important that the net price be provided on each NOS form.
If the Department receives an inquiry regarding ownership of the vehicle and the inquirer has authorization to receive personal information under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, the pending purchaser reported on the NOS as well as the last titled owner will be disclosed. The seller remains the last titled owner of record until the purchaser applies for title and registers the vehicle in his or her name.
NOS records are also provided to County Collectors and Assessors.
Can a Notice of Sale be used for the same purposes as a Bill of Sale?
An NOS (original or copy) is acceptable in lieu of a bill of sale for purposes of:
- Obtaining a 180-day replacement/subsequent vehicle tax allowance;
- Obtaining a temporary permit; and
- Substantiating the purchase price of the unit.
If the seller rescinds the sale after the NOS is submitted to the Department, what procedure must be followed?
The seller should submit a copy of the original NOS that was submitted to the Department and record “Rescinded Sale”, sign and date the copy, and submit it to the Department at the address provided on the NOS form.