Overview of Rule Making
The Department of Revenue’s mission is to enhance the lives of Missourians by anticipating their tax, motor vehicle, and driver licensing needs. We are dedicated to helping the businesses and citizens of Missouri comply with their responsibilities by providing rules that are easy to understand. The Department of Revenue welcomes your participation in the rule making process.
The information on this web page summarizes the following elements:
- Rule Making Process
- Missouri Code of State Regulations (CSR) - Numbers Explained
- Rules in Process
- Official and Final Rules
- How to Participate
- Additional Resources
Laws passed by the Missouri Legislature and codified in the Missouri Code of State Regulations (CSR) govern the Department of Revenue and its programs. The Missouri Secretary of State (SOS) and the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR) are the official administrators of the Missouri Code of State Regulations.The Department drafts and adopts rules to implement new state laws, provide detail for the laws passed, and to provide additional guidance so taxpayers understand their tax reporting responsibility. Pursuant to Section 536.026, RSMo., the public has the right to comment on any rule the Department intends to adopt, amend, or repeal. The rule making process provides several opportunities for the public to comment on proposed rules prior to adoption.
- When the Department determines a rule may need to be adopted, a copy of the pending rule is announced by adding it to the Department's Website. The website will have a first draft of the pending rule. At this time the comment period is open and comments may be submitted by the public.
- The Department will complete the pending rule, taking into consideration public comments. The pending rule will be finalized and drafted into the required format (Proposed Rule) for filing at the JCAR and SOS.
- At this time the Rule is starting its formal journey to becoming law. Comments are encouraged and the Department will address most of the concerns mentioned. Citizens who submitted a comment should receive a response to the comment on the rule. All comments must be received within 30 days after the date the rule is published in the Missouri Register the first time.
- After all comments have been addressed the rule is filed at the JCAR and the SOS for the order of rulemaking step.
- The rule is then published in the Missouri Register for a second time.
- Thirty (30) days after it is published the second time it is published in the Missouri Code of State Regulations.
- Thirty (30) days after the rule is published in the Missouri Code of State Regulations, it becomes law.
- Emergency rules are effective 10 days after filing at the SOS and JCAR.
- They are published in the Missouri Register as soon as practicable after filing and are effective for 180 days after the filing date.
This list identifies rules that have made it fully through the rulemaking process and are now implemented by the Department.
Comments may be submitted using the following methods:
- Electronically via the online form (Refer to proposed rules.)
- Mail to::
Missouri Department of Revenue
301 W High Street - Room 218
Jefferson City, MO 65101