Department of Revenue News Release
April 18, 2019Consumers in Missouri can save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances beginning Friday
Consumers in Missouri can save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances during the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, which begins at 12:01 a.m. on April 19 and ends at midnight April 25. During this annual event, qualifying appliances are exempted from Missouri’s state sales tax law.
“Whether that old washing machine has been having some issues or you’re wanting to get a new AC before the hot summer months arrive, the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday is a great opportunity to purchase new energy-efficient appliances at a reduced cost,” said Ken Zellers, acting director of the Missouri Department of Revenue.
Consumers who buy ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances in Missouri during the holiday will save a minimum of 4.225 percent off their purchase. The reduced price represents the elimination of the state’s sales tax from the purchase. Under Missouri law, qualifying appliances include clothes washers, refrigerators, freezers, dishwashers, water heaters, furnaces, air conditioners and heat pumps.
The exemption is limited to qualifying ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances, up to $1,500 per appliance.
Many local jurisdictions have also chosen to participate in this year’s sales tax holiday. This means qualifying appliances purchased in these locations will be exempt from the state sales tax, as well as the sales tax of any participating county, city or district. For 2019, 12 counties, 53 cities and 18 districts are participating.
Additional information about the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, including complete listings of participating jurisdictions and frequently asked questions, can be found at dor.mo.gov/business/sales/taxholiday/green/. For more information about the ENERGY STAR® program, visit energystar.gov.