Department of Revenue News Release
April 16, 2020Save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances during the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, April 19-25
Consumers in Missouri can save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances during the annual Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, which begins at 12:01 a.m. on April 19 and ends at midnight April 25. During this event, qualifying appliances are exempted from Missouri’s state sales tax law.
“Even during challenging times like these, household appliances will need to be replaced,” said Director of Revenue Ken Zellers. “The Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday is always a great opportunity to save a little money on new energy-efficient appliances. The Department wants to remind consumers who decide to take advantage of this tax holiday to continue following social distancing guidelines and choose curbside pickup when available.”
Consumers who buy ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances in Missouri during the holiday will save a minimum of 4.225 percent off their purchase. The reduced price represents the elimination of the state’s sales tax from the purchase. The exemption is limited to qualifying ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances, up to $1,500 per appliance.
Many local jurisdictions are also participating in this year’s sales tax holiday. Qualifying appliances purchased in these locations will be exempt from the state sales tax, as well as the sales tax of any participating county, city or district.
For complete listings of participating jurisdictions and frequently asked questions, visit dor.mo.gov/business/sales/taxholiday/green/.