Home » News » News Item

April 12, 2011

Appliance Shoppers Can Save During Green Sales Tax Holiday April 19-25

Missouri's sales tax holiday that provides an opportunity to save on energy-efficient appliances will soon begin.  The Third Annual Show-Me Green Sales Tax Holiday will take place Tuesday, April 19 through Monday, April 25.

People who purchase new ENERGY STAR®-qualified appliances in Missouri during the holiday will save at least 4.225 percent off the purchase.  The reduced price represents the elimination of the state's sales tax from the purchase. 

Several local governmental entities have also opted to participate in the holiday.  This fact means that some purchases will be exempt not just from the state sales tax, but also city, county and special district sales taxes.  Nine counties, 43 cities and 14 special districts (all listed below) have opted to participate in the holiday.

The actual purchase of the appliance must take place during the tax holiday for the sales tax savings to be realized.  Any qualified appliance must have the ENERGY STAR® label on it.  ENERGY STAR®-labeled appliances that qualify for the sales tax exemption are:

          *Clothes washers
          *Water heaters
          *Air conditioners
          *Heat pumps

The sales tax exemption only applies to the first $1,500 on each appliance. If an appliance costs more than $1,500, the regular sales tax rate is in effect for any of the purchase price above $1,500.

Examples of appliances NOT eligible for the sales tax exemption are clothes dryers, trash compactors, conventional ovens, ranges and stoves. Lighting fixtures, office equipment, home electronics and other non-appliance ENERGY STAR®-labeled products are also not eligible for the sales tax exemption.

Out-of-state purchasers can benefit from sales tax holiday by shopping in cities that lie on the state's border.

The nine counties that will participate in the holiday and waive their county sales taxes on qualified purchases are:  Adair, Cass, Gasconade, Johnson, Macon, Moniteau, Nodaway, Ste. Genevieve and Washington.

The 43 participating cities are:  Airport Drive, Belton, Bethany, Bowling Green, Brookfield, Butler, Cottleville, Desloge, Dexter, Fenton, Fredericktown, Gladstone, Hannibal, Hazelwood, Hillsboro, Ironton, Jackson, Kahoka, Kansas City, Kirksville, Lee's Summit, Lexington, Macon, Maryville, Memphis, Osceola, Overland, Park Hills, Perryville, Platte City, Raymore, Republic, Rock Hill, Rock Port, Salisbury, St. Charles, St. Elizabeth, Ste. Genevieve, Sunset Hills, Tarkio, Town & Country, Union and Washington.

The 14 participating special districts are:  370/Missouri Bottom Road/Taussig Transportation Development District (TDD) (Hazelwood and Bridgeton), Antioch Center Community Improvement District (CID) (Kansas City), Belton Town Centre TDD, Central Jackson (County) Fire Protection District, Columbia Mall TDD, Douglas Square TDD (Lee's Summit), Douglas Station TDD (Lee's Summit), Kingsmill TDD (O'Fallon), Richardson Crossing CID (Arnold), Strother Interchange TDD (Lee's Summit), Tori Pines Commons CID (St. Louis County), Town Plaza CID (Cape Girardeau), U.S. Highway 65 & Truman Dam Access Road TDD (Warsaw) and Victoria Crossing CDD (St. Louis County).

Frequently asked questions about the Show-Me Green Sales Tax Holiday are answered at http://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/taxholiday/green/faq.php.  General information about sales taxes and the Missouri Department of Revenue is available at www.dor.mo.gov.  

The Show-Me Green Sales Tax Holiday will begin the day after this year's deadline to file federal and state individual income tax returns.  The federal government extended its deadline to April 18 this year, and the state of Missouri followed suit to make the deadlines consistent.


The Missouri Department of Revenue is now on Twitter!  To follow the Department on Twitter, go to http://twitter.com/MoRevenue