Home » News » News Item

March 03, 2009

Barry County Added To List of Counties Eligible for Extended Tax Deadlines

JEFFERSON CITY – Karen King Mitchell, director of the Missouri Department of Revenue, today announced that businesses and citizens in Barry County will be eligible for an extended deadline to pay some taxes.

“A wide portion of southern Missouri, including Barry County, suffered because of the ice and snow storms in late January,” Mitchell said.  “I know that some people went long periods without electrical power and that their lives were disrupted in a major way.  Because of these conditions, the department has decided to give people and businesses in Barry County additional time to pay certain taxes they might owe.”

The deadline extension applies to state sales and income taxes due between January 22, 2009 and March 20, 2009.  The deadline to pay the taxes has been extended to March 30, 2009.

Examples of taxes covered by the department’s extension include:

  • Missouri Sales Tax
  • Corporate Income and Franchise Tax
  • Missouri Employer Withholding Tax

The department has also decided to waive any penalties or interest connected with the late filing of fuel and cigarette taxes that businesses were required to remit to the state.

Businesses and taxpayers submitting returns past their original due dates should write “LATE DUE TO ICE STORMS” at the top of their return.  Taxpayers that have already filed their taxes past the original due date, or that have received a “late notice” for unpaid taxes during the aforementioned time period, should write a letter to the department explaining their taxes were filed past the due date as a result of the recent ice storms and request a waiver from any interest or penalties.

The department’s directive does not apply to any federal or local taxes not collected by the department.  It also does not change the April 15 deadline for paying Missouri income taxes due for Tax Year 2008.

The Department of Revenue’s original directive applied only to businesses and citizens located in the 20 Missouri counties included in President Barack Obama’s Feb. 17 disaster declaration.  The Federal Emergency Management Agency later added Barry County to the list of counties covered by the presidential declaration, and this triggered the department’s addition of Barry County.  The 20 other counties affected by the department’s extension are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne.