Home » News » News Item

February 27, 2009

Revenue Dept. To Extend Tax Deadlines for Southern MO Citizens Affected By Ice Storms

CAPE GIRARDEAU – Karen King Mitchell, director of the Missouri Department of Revenue, today announced that the deadlines to pay certain state taxes have been extended to help people and businesses cope with the recent ice storms and power outages that ravaged southern Missouri.

“A wide portion of southern Missouri was devastated by the ice storms in January,” Mitchell said.  “I know that many people went days or weeks without electrical power, and that their lives were disrupted in a major way.  Because of these conditions, the department has decided to give people additional time to pay certain taxes they might owe.”

Mitchell made the announcement this morning at Marquette Tower in downtown Cape Girardeau.

The deadline extension applies to state sales and income taxes due between January 22, 2009 and March 20, 2009.  The deadline to pay the taxes has been extended to March 30, 2009.

Examples of taxes covered by the department’s extension include:

  • Missouri Sales Tax
  • Corporate Income and Franchise Tax
  • Missouri Employer Withholding Tax

The department has also decided to waive any penalties or interest connected with the late filing of fuel and cigarette taxes that businesses were required to remit to the state.

Taxpayers submitting returns past their original due dates should write “LATE DUE TO ICE STORMS” at the top of their return.  Taxpayers that have already filed their taxes past the original due date should write a letter to the department explaining their taxes were filed past the due date as a result of the recent ice storms and request a waiver from any interest and penalties due to the late filing.

The department’s directive does not apply to any federal or local taxes not collected by the department.  It also does not change the April 15 deadline for paying Missouri income taxes due for Tax Year 2008. 

Ctizens and businesses located in the 20 Missouri counties included in President Barack Obama’s Feb. 17 disaster declaration are covered by the Department of Revenue’s extension.  The counties are Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Howell, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney and Wayne.