CDL Permit Rule Requirements
CDL Medical Certification Requirements
Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT)
- Requirements for Hazardous Materials (HazMat) Endorsement Applicants
- Hazardous Materials Endorsement FAQs
Getting your Commercial Driver License (CDL)
To obtain an initial Missouri CDL, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Have a valid Missouri operator’s license.
- Meet lawful status eligibility:
- Be a US Citizen or a non-US Citizen with lawful permanent resident status; or
- Meet the State and Federal eligibility provisions for immigration status and employment for a nonresident CDL.
- Meet Missouri identity, lawful status, and social security number and residence address (domicile) verification requirements.
- Meet Missouri minimum vision standards. (At least 20/40 vision in each eye with or without glasses).
- Meet CDL Medical Certification self-certification of non-excepted or excepted transportation status category, and if applicable submit a valid medical examiner certificate
- Study in advance by reading the CDL manual.
- Complete required knowledge testing for the class and endorsements you require for training and skills testing
- Bring you completed knowledge test and required verification documents from the List of Acceptable Documents for a REAL ID-Compliant or Non REAL ID-Compliant Commercial Driver License to any Missouri contract license office.
- Be prepared to pay the $41.00 fee for the commercial learners permit (CLP) (Fee includes a $25 written examination test fee, $10.00 permit transaction fee and $6.00 office processing fee) by credit card, check, or cash. After issuance of the CLP
- After issuance of the CLP
- EFFECTIVE 2/7/22: Prior to taking your skills test for your CDL or any endorsements, you must complete Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider listed on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry. ELDT compliance must be met and be verified by the examiner electronically prior to skills testing.
- You must have an appointment to take your skills test. For a list of CDL Skills Test locations visit the Missouri State Highway Patrol site at https://apps.mshp.dps.mo.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/DVSD/DE/index.html
- CLP holders must hold the permit and training for a minimum of 14 days before being eligible to take the skills test.
- Take your CDL skills test.
- Unless an applicable exemption applies a new CDL applicant must have completed an FMCSA approved ELDT program for the class and endorsements you are applying for and the examiner must be able to verify such completion in the Training Provider Registry electronically.
- After passing your CDL skills test with the Missouri State Highway Patrol, or a certified Missouri Third Party Tester, take the completed examination to a Missouri Department of Revenue contract license office and present your current license, current CLP and required verification documents from the List of Acceptable Documents for a REAL ID-Compliant or Non REAL ID-Compliant Commercial Driver License to complete the application for a Missouri CDL.
- Driver history and other eligibility checks conducted. Additional evaluation criteria apply to school bus endorsement applicants per provisions of Missouri law §302.272 RSMo. and State regulation 12 CSR 10-24.160
- Applicable fees will apply. Most first time CDL applicants with a valid CLP, will be required to pay approximately $77 (fee includes $25 skills test fee, $40 3-6 year term license transaction fee and $12 office processing fee). Fees may differ based on term of issuance and if additional knowledge testing completed or credited fees applied.
- Applicable Restrictions added to the license based on age, self-certification of operation status, vision, and vehicle class and type used for skills testing.
- CDL written knowledge testing may be completed at any Missouri State Highway Patrol Driver Examination Station. Pursuant to §302.720.2(1) RSMo, the written testing shall only be administered in English and no translators shall be allowed for applicants taking the knowledge test. The Missouri Commercial Driver License Manual is available online, in any MSHP Driver Examination office, or any Missouri license office.
- CDL skills testing is available to the public by appointment only at defined Missouri State Highway Patrol CDL Test Sites. CDL skills test applicants must have completed applicable knowledge testing and have held a Commercial Learner’s Permit (CLP) a minimum of 14 days prior to skills testing.
- Reasonable testing accommodations for CDL applicants with disabilities, including persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, will be made in accordance with current State and Federal guidelines. Applicants may request consideration of accommodation by contacting the Missouri State Highway Patrol Driver and Vehicle Safety Division at 573-751-2341.
- Applicants that wish to operate in a non-exempted interstate or non-exempted intrastate commerce are required to obtain a DOT Medical Examiner's Certificate prior to the issuance of a CLP or CDL. Drivers with physical impairments that may affect their ability to safely operate a CMV, must obtain a “variance” form issued through the Missouri Department of Transportation (MODOT) or the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). For example, such “variance”, often a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE), is required for drivers with impaired or missing limbs, and must be carried with the Medical Examiner's Certificate at all times.
- Information from FMCSA regarding medical requirements can be found at www.FMCSA.dot.gov.
- Information regarding Missouri Department of Transportation’s variance or waiver application program may be found:
CDL Skills Test Modernization
Over the last decade, vehicle technologies and components to include braking, steering, and suspension systems have continued to evolve at a fast pace.
In 2018, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) and AAMVA jointly decided to evaluate the existing vehicle inspection (VI) and basic control skills (BCS) tests. The Modernized tests were evaluated using drivers and examiners with various experience levels and a broad range of commercial vehicle types.
FMCSA approved the modernized CDL Skills Test and the new AAMVA CDL Testing Model was released in August of 2022. In October 2023, the Missouri State Highway Patrol, in collaboration with the Department of Revenue, will begin training all State and Third Party CDL skill test examiners and preparing to complete test site upgrades.
All current test sites will continue to schedule appointment and administer skills testing under the current test version until the final transition to the modernized skills test model.
Missouri will adopt the CDL Skills Test Modernization for all tests administered on, or after, December 4, 2023.
What’s New as of December 2023
The Missouri CDL Driver Manual, with focus on sections 11M and 12M, amended to reflect the changes incorporated in the new test model.
For persons scheduled or planning to test on, or after, December 4, 2023, access the new 2017 CDL Manual Version with the modernized components referenced in Sections 11M and 12M.
Persons testing prior to December 4, 2023, will use the current CDL manual version for training and testing standards. Both versions will be available on the Department of Revenue website. Ensure you are selecting the correct manual for the date of testing.
CDL Skills Test Modernization FAQ
The ELDT rules will still require ELDT curricula to teach maneuvers associated with the 2017 version of the exam, other than different order for the inspection and basic control skills front stop box and forward offset tracking maneuvers, the modernized testing covers the same elements as the current 2017 version.
Yes. The vehicle inspection and the basic controls components are required to be administered in the same test version. If one component has a failed result in the prior test version and testing was rescheduled December 4, 2023 or after, both must be taken in the modernized version.
- Military CDL Skills Test Waiver – Missouri law allows active-duty or retired service member to complete an application for waiver of skills testing to obtain a commercial driver license (CDL). You must have been regularly employed within 90 days prior to waiver application date in a job requiring operation of a commercial motor vehicle and have operated the commercial vehicle for the military for at least 60 days during the 2 years immediately preceding application date.
- Military CDL Even Exchange Knowledge and Skills Test Waiver –
Missouri allows a current or former military service member to complete an application for waiver of knowledge and skills testing to obtain a CDL. A military applicant who is or was employed or designated as one of the following MOS ratings may be eligible to apply for such waiver:
- U.S. Army; 88M, 14T, or 92F;
- U.S. Air Force; 2T1, 2F0, or 3E2;
- U.S. Marine Corps; 3531; or
- U.S. Navy; E.O.
You must have been regularly employed, within one year prior to the waiver application date, in a job requiring operation of a commercial motor vehicle and must have operated the commercial vehicle for the military for at least the two years immediately preceding separation from the military. A completed Application for Military CDL Even Exchange (Form 5800) must be submitted, along with all other required documentation, at the time of application at any Missouri license office. Please take care to complete the Form 5800 accurately. Failure to do so may result in the loss of eligibility of the waiver.
In lieu of the Missouri CDL skills test, you must submit a completed Application for Military CDL Skills Test Waiver (Form 5140), along with all other required documentation. Please take care to complete the Form 5140 accurately. Failure to do so may result in the loss of eligibility of the waiver.
You must still complete the required knowledge examinations (at a Missouri State Highway Patrol (MSHP) driver examination station) for the commercial driver license class applied for.
You may then apply and pay for the new CDL at any Missouri license office, and the written test results must not be more than 6 months (180 days) old at the time of application.
Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act (MCSIA)
Commercial Driver License or Commercial Learner’s Permit - State of Domicile
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulation 49 CFR 383.5, defines “State of Domicile” as the state where a person has his or her true, fixed and permanent home and principal residence at which he or she has the intention of returning whenever absent.
In compliance with the Federal regulation and Missouri State Code of Regulation 12 CSR 10-24.405, all commercial driver license or commercial learner’s permit applicants must submit two acceptable documents as proof of Missouri residency as part of any new, renewal, duplicate or address change transaction.
Utilize the Department's interactive guide to ensure you have the documents required to apply for your REAL ID.
School Bus (S) Endorsement
Commercial Endorsements and Restrictions
Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) Registration Fees
- Motor Carrier Services - This website is your gateway to Missouri state requirements, forms, and information for businesses and individuals interested in commercial operations of trucks, tractor-trailers, buses, limousines, or other commercial motor vehicles, on public highways in Missouri.