How to Report an Unsafe Driver in Missouri FAQs
To report a driver who may be unable to operate a motor vehicle safely and responsibly, you should submit a completed Driver Condition Report (Form 4319). You may print the form from your computer, or you may obtain a copy at any Missouri license office. You can also submit an online request to have a copy of the form mailed to you.
You must have personally observed or know the information about the driver you are reporting.
The law provides a list of persons who may report unsafe drivers, such as:
- registered nurses;
- law enforcement personnel;
- social workers;
- professional counselors;
- physical or occupational therapists;
- emergency medical technicians, and
- immediate family of the driver.
(Immediate family members consist of spouse, parent, child, grandparent, sibling, grandchild, great grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or great grandchild. In-laws are excluded as immediate family members).
However, if the director has good cause to believe a driver may be unsafe to operate a motor vehicle, from any source, the director may further investigate and, if necessary, require appropriate testing or license restrictions.
Identification: You must provide information to help the director identify the driver you are reporting such as: name, date of birth, driver license number, current address and license plate number for the vehicle being operated.
Unsafe Driving Behavior: You must provide as many details as possible about how the driver is unsafe such as: any traffic violations, accidents and dangerous driving habits.
Condition of Driver: You must report any conditions the driver has that may affect safe driving such as:
- problems moving legs, arms or head;
- losing consciousness;
- dementia or mental confusion;
- vision problems; or,
- any problems with alcohol and drug use.
Yes, you must identify yourself. However, this information will be kept confidential and will not be released except if required by a court.
There is immunity from liability if the report is made in good faith. If the report is deliberately made with false knowledge, it is a class A misdemeanor.
No. The law requires that the report must be in writing.
You should send the report to:
Missouri Department of Revenue
ATTN: Driver Review
PO Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105-0200
The director will examine all the information provided in the report and, if necessary, investigate further to get additional information needed to determine what testing or restrictions should apply. For example, if the information indicates the driver may have a physical condition that interferes with driving, a physical examination may be required. If there has been a loss of mobility, a driving test to evaluate appropriate restrictions may be required.
The driver is notified by certified mail of the required test(s) and given 30 days to complete the test(s) and return the results to the Department of Revenue.
The director may allow the driver to keep his/her license, revoke, suspend or deny the license, or may require additional restrictions.
The driver may appeal any revocation, suspension, or denial to the circuit court in the county of residence within 30 days of the date of mailing of the notice.
If you still have questions, please visit other Driver Licensing FAQs.