All-terrain Vehicles

An all-terrain vehicle (ATV) is defined as "Any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-highway use with an unladen dry weight of 1,500 pounds or less, traveling on three, four or more non-highway tires, with either:

  • A seat designed to be straddled by the operator and handlebars for steering control; or
  • A width of 50 inches or less, measured from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim, regardless of seating or steering arrangement."

You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and pay sales tax on your newly-purchased ATV.  If you do not title the ATV within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penalty increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $200. Our online sales tax calculator may help you calculate the taxes and fees you will pay.

  • No sales tax is due on a used ATV purchased from an individual for less than $3,000.
  • There is no exemption from paying sales tax on an ATV purchased for “farm use”.

To title and register an ATV in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following:

How can I title and register an ATV?

There are two convenient options:

To title and register an ATV you will pay:

  • State sales tax of 4.225 percent and any local sales tax due on the net purchase price (the purchase price less trade-in allowance or other allowance, if any). Local sales tax is based on the rate where you live, not where you bought the ATV.
  • $8.50 title fee
  • $10.25 registration (decal) fee; and
  • $6 processing fee.

You will be issued a registration (decal) that must be renewed every three years. 

What do I need to renew my ATV registration (decal)?

To obtain information regarding your ATV registration (decal) renewal requirements, you may visit the Department's Renewal Requirements Inquiry system.

To renew an ATV registration (decal), the owner must submit the following:

  • Proof of ownership/registration, including one of the following:
    • Registration Renewal Notice; or
    • Copy of previous registration receipt.

How can I renew my ATV registration (decal)?

There are four convenient renewal options:

  • Phone: Call 573-751-1957 to see if you are eligible to renew over the phone. This service is available Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.;
  • Online: You may be eligible to renew online if a Personal Identification Number (PIN) appears on your Registration Renewal Notice;
  • Mail: You may renew by mail following the instructions on your Registration Renewal Notice; or
  • In Person: You may visit any Missouri license office.

For an ATV registration (decal) renewal you will pay:

  • $10.25 registration fee; and
  • $6 processing fee.

NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your ATV registration (decal) after the expiration date.

For questions regarding equipment requirements, restrictions, and regulations regarding operation of an ATV, please refer to Sections 307.198 and 304.013, RSMo.

 

Utility Vehicles

A utility vehicle is defined as “Any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-highway use which is more than 50 inches but no more than 80 inches in width, measured from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim, with an unladen dry weight of 3,500 pounds or less, traveling on 4 or 6 wheels, to be used primarily for landscaping, lawn care, or maintenance purposes."

  • A utility vehicle does not meet the definition of a motor vehicle or ATV, and will not be titled and registered.
  • A utility vehicle cannot be operated upon the highways of this state unless it is:
    • Owned and operated by governmental entity for official use,
    • Operated for agricultural or industrial on-premise purposes, or
    • Operated by a handicapped person for short distances on secondary roads.
  • The operator of a utility vehicle must have a valid driver license, but does not have to be motorcycle qualified.
  • Cities and counties are allowed to issue special permits for utility vehicles to be used on county roads within the county or on highways within the city to licensed drivers for a fee of $15. The fee is to be kept by such city or county.
  • The seller of utility vehicles is responsible for collecting and remitting all applicable state and local tax on new utility vehicles.
  • The purchaser of a utility vehicle may qualify for a “farm use” sales tax exemption.

Recreational Off-highway Vehicles

A recreational off-highway vehicle is defined as "Any motorized vehicle manufactured and used exclusively for off-highway use which is more than 50 inches but no more than 80 inches in width, measured from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim, with an unladen dry weight of 3,500 pounds or less, traveling on 4 or more non-highway tires and which may have access to ATV trails."

  • A recreational off-highway vehicle does not meet the definition of a motor vehicle or ATV, and will not be titled and registered.
  • The seller of recreational off-highway vehicles is responsible for collecting and remitting all applicable state and local tax on new recreational off-highway vehicles.