Department of Revenue News Release
April 19, 2021Save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances during the Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, April 19-25
Consumers in Missouri can save on ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances during the 2021 Show Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, which runs from today, April 19, to midnight April 25. During this annual event, qualifying appliances are exempted from Missouri’s state sales tax law.
Clothes washers, clothes dryers, dishwashers, air conditioners and refrigerators are just some of the items that are exempt from state sales tax during the holiday, provided they are ENERGY STAR® certified.
Consumers who buy ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances in Missouri during the holiday will save a minimum of 4.225 percent off their purchase. The reduced price represents the elimination of the state’s sales tax from the purchase. The exemption is limited to qualifying ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances, up to $1,500 per appliance.
Many local jurisdictions are also participating in this year’s sales tax holiday. Qualifying appliances purchased in these locations will be exempt from the state sales tax, as well as the sales tax of any participating county, city or district.
For complete listings of participating jurisdictions and frequently asked questions, visit dor.mo.gov/business/sales/taxholiday/green/.